Joyce Travelbee
Founder of the Human-To-Human Relationship Model
CINAHL article citations
Articles by Travelbee
- WHAT'S WRONG WITH SYMPATHY?TRAVELBEE J.
American Journal of Nursing. 64:68-71, 1964 Jan. - What do we mean by rapport?.RAVELBEE J.
American Journal of Nursing. 63:70-2, 1963 Feb
Books
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice. Known as a comprehensive handbook for graduate nursing students and advanced practice nurses alike, the text incorporates middle range practice theory as well as interdisciplinary and nursing theories. Students will find a wealth of information to draw from for graduate projects, while APRNs will find research useful for patient care. New to the Fourth Edition:New chapter on public health theory related to pandemics, disaster nursing and environmental health crisesContent related to health disparities and gender theory Revised case studies New comprehensive grid provides suggested applications for philosophies and theories in in research and clinical practice
Call Number: RT84.5 .P56 2022
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2022
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice
Presents 25 major theories written by the original theorists or eminent scholars to help students understand the interrelationship between nursing theories and nursing practice. Covers the middle range theories and practice models that define the best outcomes and links theory to clinical practice. Addresses how to implement theory-based practice. Explores the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. Features in-depth coverage of the development of the theories that guide nursing practice.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N8793 2020
Theoretical Nursing: development and progress by
Inspire your students to be theoretical thinkers, innovative advocates, and agents for change. Focused on cultivating the next generation of scholars, this highly respected classic demystifies theory, charts strategies to use in developing and advancing theory, and provides tools and best practices in evaluating progress in the discipline. Based on the feedback of nursing students, this edition was updated to be more accessible without losing the necessary rigor to foster critical thinking. Meleis provides a developmental and historical review of theoretical nursing and helps readers develop analytic skills and integrate knowledge into a coherent whole. By embarking on the journey of nursing theory, practicing nurses will find ways to improve everyday practice, as well as develop theories that capture their expertise. Highlights of the Sixth Edition Key Topics - Paradigms that influenced nursing thought, such as feminism and post-colonialism - Nursing Theories, including need, interaction, and outcome theories - Social and health care transitions and their influence on advancing nursing knowledge - The most updated global definitions of the discipline of nursing and the future of nursing - Critical discussions on how different classifications of theories may lead to productive explorations and explanations of the process of clinical judgment and decision making Key Features - New online journal articles and case studies give students an opportunity to apply theory to practice. - Chapter-ending Reflective Questions expand students,, understanding of theory and its impact on nursing today. - Separate chapters covering Middle Range Theory and Situation-Specific Theory. This text is complemented by and frequently used with Peterson & Bredow,,s Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice. - A new two-column design that enhances readability.
Call Number: RT84.5 .M45 2018
Conceptual models for nursing practice by Call Number: RT84.5 .C663 1989- Travelbee's Intervention in psychiatric nursing by Call Number: RC440 .T74 1979
- Interpersonal aspects of nursing by Call Number: RT86 .T7 1971
