Nursing Instruments & Measurements
Books, chapters, and web resources to help you locate nursing instruments and questionnaires.
Nursing and Health Assessments
Measuring Capacity to Care Using Nursing Data by
Measuring Capacity to Care Using Nursing Data presents evidence-based solutions regarding the adoption of safe staffing principles and the optimum use of operational data to enable health service delivery strategies that result in improved patient and organizational outcomes. Readers will learn how to make better use of informatics to collect, share, link and process data collected operationally for the purpose of providing real-time information to decision- makers. The book discusses topics such as dynamic health care environments, health care operational inefficiencies and costly events, how to measure nursing care demand, nursing models of care, data quality and governance, and big data. The content of the book is a valuable source for graduate students in informatics, nurses, nursing managers and several members involved in health care who are interested in learning more about the beneficial use of informatics for improving their services.
Call Number: RT50.5 .H69 2020x
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences by
The only text to contain a broad range of validated instruments to measure caring. This text is the only comprehensive and accessible collection of validated and reliable instruments for care measurement in clinical and educational nursing and health professions research. These measurements address quality of care; patient, client, and nurse perceptions of caring; and caring behaviors, abilities, and efficacy. The third edition is updated throughout and includes a comprehensive literature review of the research and measurement of caring. It features several new tools and instruments, and updates all established tools and instruments to reflect how each has been used in the past ten years. The third edition also presents a new chapter on assessing and measuring caring in digital/cyberspace settings, discusses global developments in assessing and measuring caring, and provides an updated section dedicated to the challenges and future directions of caring measurement. Each tool/instrument is presented according to a standard framework for ease of use. This framework includes a description of each tool/instrument and its origin, its development and use, key citations for its use, and its theoretical origin and access. New to the Third Edition: Includes a comprehensive literature review of the research and measurement of caring Updates all instruments and tools to reflect how each has been used in the past ten years Presents new instruments including "Student Perceptions of Caring Online" Offers an updated section dedicated to challenges and future directions of the measurement of caring Provides new chapter on assessing and measuring caring in digital/cyberspace settings Updates references to reflect new literature Discusses global developments in assessing and measuring caring Key Features: Contains a broad range of validated instruments to measure caring in an expanding array of health care settings including clinical, academic, and community Serves as a valuable resource for PhD, DNP, and other graduate students to support their dissertations and projects Constitutes a key resource in clinical settings where clinicians have opportunities to measure caring among nurses, patients, and interdisciplinary colleagues Aids health care institutions applying for Magnet Status
Call Number: RT42 .W38 2019
The Measurement and Development of Empathy in Nursing by
This title was first published in 2000: Empathy is known to be crucial to helping relationships, but professional helpers, including nurses, do not normally display much empathy as it has not been measured in clients' terms and accordingly taught. This text examines a study in which a client-centred empathy scale was developed - the client-centred measure of empathy was found to be reliable and valid and a course designed to teach nurses to offer empathy in clients' terms was effective. The findings of the study have implications for the future design of nurse eduction and the goals of the health service.
Call Number: RT86.3 .R48 2018x
Measuring Health: a review of subjective health, well-being and quality of life measurement scales
An invaluable resource for health professionals and students engaged in research. Analysis, validity and evidence of each scale is provided. Scoring and measurement is explained. This new version provides a new look making scales easier to locate. Further research and evidence provides a greater critique of the measures. Useful source information helps you access each measurement with permission. Also there are new scales introduced and expanded material on functional independence and and assessment measures.
Call Number: RA407 .B69 2017
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition by
Praise for the Previous Edition: "This is a valuable resource for readers seeking basic to advanced information on measurement. It should be on the bookshelf of all researchers, and a requirement for graduate nursing students." Score: 100, 5 stars -- Doody's Medical Reviews "...this book is a wonderful shelf reference for nurse researcher mentors and investigators who may need to explore content or use content to design, test, select, and evaluate instruments and methods used in measuring nurse concepts and outcomes." --Clinical Nurse Specialist "Presents clearly the methodological principles for research planning in nursing with examples that facilitate the understanding of them. Excellent." 5.0 out of 5 stars --Nursing Research This highly popular resource--written in an easy-to-read style and format-- delivers everything nurses and other health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measurement in nursing. The Fifth Edition features the most current content, strategies, and procedures available with direct applicability to nurses and health researchers engaging in interprofessional research, collaboration, education, and evidence-based practice. Five new chapters focus on challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science. The book gives particular attention to measurement issues resulting from changes in nursing, health research, and the increased emphasis on and undertaking of interprofessional research and evaluation. Presenting the material in step-by-step format, the book is designed for readers with little or no experience in measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issues. It focuses on increasing the reader's ability to use measures that are operationalized within the context of theories and conceptual frameworks, derived from sound measurement principles and practices and adequately tested for reliability and validity. Additionally, the text provides a pragmatic account of the processes involved in all aspects of measurement. Studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settings illustrate the measurement processes. New to the Fifth Edition: Thoroughly updated and revisedDelivers new and emerging strategiesReflects recent changes to nursing, health research, and emphasis on interprofessional researchIncludes five completely new chapters addressing challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science Key Features: Easy-to-read content and formatAssumes no prior knowledge of measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issuesProvides studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settingsOffers a pragmatic account of the processes involved inn all aspects of measurement
Call Number: RT81.5 .W36 2017
Health Measurement Scales: a practical guide to their developmen and use
Clinicians and those in health sciences are frequently called upon to measure subjective states such as attitudes, feelings, quality of life, educational achievement and aptitude, and learning style in their patients. This fifth edition of Health Measurement Scales enables these groups toboth develop scales to measure non-tangible health outcomes, and better evaluate and differentiate between existing tools. Health Measurement Scales is the ultimate guide to developing and validating measurement scales that are to be used in the health sciences. The book covers how the individual items are developed; various biases that can affect responses (e.g. social desirability, yea-saying, framing); variousresponse options; how to select the best items in the set; how to combine them into a scale; and finally how to determine the reliability and validity of the scale. It concludes with a discussion of ethical issues that may be encountered, and guidelines for reporting the results of the scaledevelopment process. Appendices include a comprehensive guide to finding existing scales, and a brief introduction to exploratory and confirmatory factor analysis, making this book a must-read for any practitioner dealing with this kind of data.
Call Number: RA408.5 .S77 2015
Measurement and Evaluation for Health Educators by
Measurement and Evaluation for Health Educators prepares health educators for the responsibilities of conducting evaluations within their field. It includes psychometric, statistical, political, managerial and public health perspectives to measurement and evaluation. Written for the undergraduate or beginning graduate student, as well as practicing professions, this text will help readers choose and develop instruments for evaluation, and discusses the basics for carrying out evaluations to gauge the effectiveness of health education and health promotion programs. Measurement and Evaluation for Health Educators also delves into the basics of measurement, steps in instrument development; reliability assessment, validity assessment, measurement errors, process evaluation, designs for quantitative evaluation, and much more.Key Features:- Student-friendly, accessible writing style- Each chapter closes with review questions and web references- Chapter objectives and key learning objectives are clearly defined- Includes skill building activities in every chapter- Boxed articles throughout the text highlight important issues in the field
Call Number: RA440.4 .S53 2014
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business by
Aus Wikipedia. Nicht dargestellt. Auszug: Rennertshofen is a municipality in the district of Neuburg-Schrobenhausen in Bavaria in Germany. ...http://booksllc.net/?l=de
Call Number: BF176 .T43 2008
Measuring Health by
Worldwide economic constraints on health care systems have highlighted the importance of evidence-based medicine and evidence-based health policy. The resulting clinical trials and health services research studies require instruments to monitor the outcomes of care and the output of thehealth system. However, the over-abundance of competing measurement scales can make choosing a measure difficult at best. Measuring Health provides in-depth reviews of over 100 of the leading health measurement tools and serves as a guide for choosing among them.LNow in its third edition, thisbook provides a critical overview of the field of health measurement, with a technical introduction and discussion of the history and future directions for the field. This latest edition updates the information on each of the measures previously reviewed, and includes a complete new chapter onanxiety measurement to accompany the one on depression. It has also added new instruments to those previously reviewed in each of the chapters in the book.LChapters cover measurements of physical disability, social health, psychological well-being, anxiety, depression, mental status testing, pain,general health status and quality of life. Each chapter presents a tabular comparison of the quality of the instruments reviewed, followed by a detailed description of each method, covering its purpose and conceptual basis, its reliability and validity and, where possible, shows a copy of theactual scale. To ensure accuracy of the information, each review has been approved by the original author of each instrument or by an acknowledged expert.
Call Number: RA408.5 .M38 2006
Instruments for Clinical Health-Care Research by
2004 AJN BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNER!This text facilitates researching clinical concepts and will enhance the focus on linking clinical variable assessments with routine measurement of everyday clinical interventions. With this book, students will be able to: review available instruments that measure select clinical phenomena; review selected studies employing each tool; identify an instruments strengths and weaknesses; and develop instruments for cross-cultural research.
Call Number: RT81.5 .I57 2004
Measurement Tools in Patient Education by
Named a 2013 Doody's Core Title This book provides a compendium of patient teaching tools for use in all areas of health care practice. They can be used for: Assessment of patient's educational needs Evaluation of effectiveness of patient teaching Tracking effectiveness of patient care Improving quality of care by using outcomes to improve interventions Each chapter provides a brief description of tool, its purpose, administration and scoring guidelines, information on research and validity, and the tool itself. Since the first edition was published in 1998, the number of instruments has nearly doubled -- this edition has 89 tools rather than the 52 in the first edition. Instruments included in the first edition were updated. If they had not been further developed or used in the past 5 years they were not included again. Health care professionals in virtually any setting will find this an important resource for patient care and research. A sampling of the 37 new tools in 2nd edition: The Diabetes Self Management Profile Asthma Knowledge Questionnaire Cardiac Patient Learning Needs Inventory Stroke Care Information Test Breastfeeding Self-Efficacy Scale English/Spanish Self-Efficacy Scale for Breast Self-Examination Chronic Pain Self-Efficacy Scale Osteoporosis Questionnaire Eating Styles Questionnaire HIV Knowledge Questionnaire
Call Number: R727.4 .M4 2003
Measures of Religiosity by Call Number: BR110 .M43 1999- Measurement of nursing outcomes by Call Number: RT85.5 .M434Publication Date: V.1 1988, V.2 1988, V.3 1990, V.4 1990
- Instruments for measuring nursing practice and other health care variables by Call Number: RT81.5 .I577 1979x
Psychological Assessments
The Mental Status Examination Handbook by
The ability to effectively assess cognitive and other behavioral functions is an essential skill for neurologists, psychiatrists, geriatricians, nurses, and other clinicians who perform clinic and bedside examinations. Unique in the field, The Mental Status Examination Handbook is a user-friendly, comprehensive resource that provides practical guidance on cognitive assessment, clarifies mental status testing procedures, and assists with decision making for neuropsychological referrals. This detailed manual draws from the full history of behavioral neurology testing, making the complex and challenging area of cognitive assessment accessible for both students and practitioners. Offers guidance on how to choose and perform a large number of mental status tests, with information on selected test materials and normative values. Covers the bedside evaluation of arousal, attention, memory, language, perception, executive abilities, and other cognitive and behavioral areas. Provides an authoritative assessment and compendium of commonly used mental status scales, inventories and questionnaires. Describes relevant correlations with formal neuropsychological testing, neuroimaging, and neuropsychiatric disease. Explains how to weigh, use, and understand mental status scales and neuropsychological instruments. Discusses the meaning of cognitive symptoms and signs, and their neuroanatomical and neuropathological correlations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC386.6.M44 M46 2022x
Handbook of Assessment and Treatment Planning for Psychological Disorders, Third Edition by
This authoritative clinical reference and text--now revised and updated with 50% new content--presents the assessment tools and strategies that every evidence-based psychotherapy practitioner needs. Unlike most assessment texts, the volume is organized around specific clinical problems. It explains how to select and use the best measures to assess clients' symptoms, generate diagnoses, plan appropriate treatments, and monitor progress. Clinician- and student-friendly features include tables comparing and contrasting relevant measures, sample forms, and case examples. Every chapter addresses considerations for primary and managed care settings. New to This Edition *Chapters on new topics: assessment of well-being and transdiagnostic assessment. *New chapters on core topics: eating disorders, personality disorders, and insomnia. *Updated throughout with DSM-5 diagnostic changes, new and updated instruments, current research, and increased attention to transdiagnostic concerns. *Expanded coverage of obsessive-compulsive and related disorders. See also Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Sixth Edition, edited by David H. Barlow, which presents evidence-based treatments step by step.
Call Number: RC469 .H356 2020
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, provides scholarly overviews of the major areas of psychological assessment, including test development, psychometrics, technology of testing, and commonly used assessment measures. Psychological assessment is included for all ages, with new coverage encompassing ethnic minorities and the elderly. Assessment methodology discussed includes formal testing, interviewing, and observation of behavior. The handbook also discusses assessment of personality and behavior, including intelligence, aptitude, interest, achievement, personality and psychopathology. New coverage includes use of assessments in forensic applications.
Call Number: BF176.5 .H367 2019x
Positive Psychological Assessment by
This book is a primer for practitioners and researchers striving to incorporate the assessment of human strengths, resources, and fulfillment into their work. Contributors examine the scientific underpinnings and practical applications of measures of hope, optimism, self-efficacy, problem-solving, locus of control, creativity, wisdom, courage, positive emotion, self-esteem, love, emotional intelligence, empathy, attachment, forgiveness, humor, gratitude, faith, morality, coping, well-being, and quality of life. Vocational and multicultural applications of positive psychological assessment are also discussed, as is the measurement of contextual variables that may facilitate the development or enhancement of human strengths. This second edition includes a fully-updated research base, and extensive case studies that offer concrete examples of how clinical readers can use these tools in their practice.
Call Number: BF176 .P67 2019
Rating Scales in Mental Health by
An extensive and up-to-date collection and analysis of mental health ratings scales. Rating Scales in Mental Health is ideal for mental health clinicians and researchers who use psychometric instruments in their practice. The updated edition of this highly regarded compendium describes and analyzes 116 scales arranged in 20 categories, including anxiety, bipolar disorder, depression, eating disorders, geriatrics, psychosis, sexual disorders, substance abuse, and suicide risk. Material on each rating scale consists of * an overview * general applications * selected psychometric properties * references and copyright information * time needed to complete scale * a representative study Samples of many scales are included, as are tables in a quick-reference format.
Call Number: RC473.P78 S245 2012
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures by
The Handbook of Psychiatric Measures offers a concise summary of key evaluations that you can easily incorporate into your daily practice. The measures will enhance the quality of patient care assisting you, both in diagnosis and assessment of outcomes. Comprising a wide range of methods available for assessing persons with mental health problems, the Handbook contains more than 275 rating methods, from the Abnormal Involuntary Movement Scale to the Zung Self-Rating Depression Scale. In this fully revised edition, more than 40 measures have been added both to the book and to the accompanying CD-ROM. The Handbook features: * Thoroughly examined and revised measures that provide the most relevant and timely information for clinicians. * New measures that empirically provide better patient evaluation* Updated costs, translations, and contact information for each measure This handy compendium includes both diagnostic tools and measures of symptoms, function and quality of life, medication side effects, and other clinically relevant parameters. It focuses on measures that can be most readily used in either clinical practice or research. Most of the measures are designed to improve the reliability and validity of patient assessment over what might be accomplished in a standard clinical interview. The measures also demonstrate that the use of formal measures can improve the collection, synthesis, and reporting of information as compared with the use of unstructured examinations. Seventeen disorder-specific chapters, organized in DSM-IV-TR order, include measures for: * Disorders of childhood and adolescence* Cognitive disorders* Sexual dysfunction* Eating disorders* Sleep disorders * Aggression and much more. The discussion of each measure includes goals, description, practical issues, psychometric properties, and clinical utility, followed by references and suggested readings. This revised edition includes updated measure descriptions, new measure variants and research, and newly selected measures particularly appropriate to the domain of discussion. As a clinical tool, this book * Describes how, when, and to what purpose measures are used* Points out practical issues to consider in choosing a measure for clinical use* Addresses limitations in the use of measures including ethnic, cultural, and socioeconomic factors that influence their interpretation Use of this special resource is further enhanced by a CD-ROM containing the full text of more than 150 of these measures--an invaluable aid for reference and clinical decision-making.
Call Number: RC473.P78 A46 2008- Major psychological assessment instruments by Call Number: BF176 .M35 1989x
