Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
CFRN Exam Secrets Study Guide: your key to exam success ***Includes Practice Test Questions*** CFRN Exam Secrets helps you ace the Certified Flight Registered Nurse Exam, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive CFRN Exam Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. CFRN Exam Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to CFRN Exam Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; Comprehensive sections including: Cardiopulmonary Emergencies, Basic Steps in Pericardiocentesis, Performing Defibrillation, Signs of Pericardial Tamponade, Stages of Hypoxia, True and False Aneurysms, Four Types of Cardiovascular Trauma, Signs of Respiratory Failure, Risk Factors for Bradycardia, Recommended Treatments for Atrial Tachycardia, Three Types of Angina, LOCK Protocol Steps, Complications Related to Breach Presentation, Tocolytic Therapy, Managing Preeclampsia, Supplying Oxygen to a Neonate, Inserting a Nasogastric Tube, Nine Types of Fractures, Principles of Splinting, Diagnosing Compartment Syndrome, Assessing Cranial Nerve Function, Performing a Spinal Immobilization, Assessment Criteria for Seizures, Three Ways of Monitoring Intracranial Pressure, and much more...
Call Number: RC1099 .C47 2017x
Core Curriculum for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care Nursing From the experts at the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) comes the definitive resource for critical care certification and clinical practice. This new seventh edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the current state of high acuity, progressive, and critical care nursing practice and includes expanded coverage of pain management, palliative care, and end-of-life care; transplantation; and key AACN initiatives. It also reflects the most current literature, national and international guidelines, clinical studies, and of course, the newest content on the CCRN#65533; exam. Authored by the experts at the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), this is the definitive guide to critical care nursing certification and clinical practice. NEW! Significantly updated content corresponds to the most recent CCRN#65533; examination blueprint and reflects the most current literature, national and international guidelines, clinical studies, AACN/ANA scope of practice, and ECCO 3.0. NEW! Expanded coverage of key content reflects the healthcare needs of today's patients, including pain management, palliative care, and end-of-life care; nutritional support; transplantation; and key AACN initiatives. Concise outline format is organized by body system to make information easy to digest. NEW! Clinical Pearls and Key Concepts boxes highlight key content and serve as a convenient quick reference. NEW! Improved navigation includes printed index tabs to help distinguish chapters and find information fast. Basic to advanced levels of coverage, with an emphasis on clinical nursing practice, prepare you for the full range of knowledge you will encounter on the CCRN exam and in practice. Coverage of the AACN Synergy Model is featured in the new opening chapter. Professional Care and Ethical Practice is integrated into the Core Curriculum series framework. A new chapter on Critical Care Patients with Special Needs includes bariatric and geriatric patients in critical care, as well as high-risk obstetric patients. Features new content on chest tubes, liver transplantation for acute liver failure, spirituality, and spiritual aspects of care. Integrates pain as the 5th vital sign and includes JCAHO, HCFA, and AHCPR guidelines relating to pain management. Features AHRQ evidence-based practice guidelines as reference sources for practice interventions. New organization for Patient Care presents patient problems, needs, etc. in order of clinical priority. Expanded Nursing Interventions includes considerations related to patient/family education, patient transfer, and discharge planning. Web-based resources for CDC, AHA, NINR, National Guideline Clearinghouse, NIH Consensus Conference Proceedings, ADA.
Call Number: RT81.5 .R448 2018
Core Curriculum for Pain Management Nursing Learn how to successfully work with patients in pain with The Core Curriculum for Pain Management Nursing, 3rd Edition. Written by the American Society for Pain Management Nursing (the primary nursing organization in pain management), this easy-to-read text covers the entire scope of pain management in a very user-friendly outline format. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest standards and scope of practice put forth by the ASPMN. Yet, it still retains its strong nursing focus as it explores the nurse's role as a patient advocate in pain management and how that role changes from a Registered Nurse to a Clinical Nurse Specialist to a Nurse Practitioner. Both pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic methods of pain management are discussed, as is a wide variety of patient subsets beyond the traditional pediatric, adult, and geriatric patient. If you're looking to pass the ASPMN credentialing exam and work successfully with all types of patients in pain, then this is the perfect text for you! Content written by the ASPMN (American Society for Pain Management Nursing), the primary nursing organization in pain management, ensures the material is authoritative and timely. UNIQUE! Expansive patient coverage addresses not only adults, pediatric and geriatric patients, but also key subsets of patients - such as those who have concomitant addiction, those who have cancer, those who are under sedation for a procedure, and more. Comprehensive coverage discusses important topics - such as the disparities in pain management, gender differences in pain and analgesia, the effect of depression on pain perception and management, the use of research, various theories of pain management, and more - to fully prepare you for your ASPMN credentialing exam and professional practice. UNIQUE! Strong nursing focus thoroughly explores the nurse's role as a patient advocate in pain management and how that role changes from a Registered Nurse to a Clinical Nurse Specialist to a Nurse Practitioner. Unique outline format makes the text an accessible and easy-to-read reference. NEW! Coverage of both pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic pain interventions has been updated to keep you abreast of the latest methods for both types of pain management. NEW! Thoroughly updated information reflects the latest standards and scope of practice as well as the blueprint for the ASPMN credentialing exam. NEW! Additional information on pain management in bariatric patients highlight important considerations that you need to know when caring for this specific patient population. NEW! Added illustrations and figures throughout the text make difficult concepts easier to understand.
Call Number: RT87.P35 C673 2018
Emergency Nursing Core Curriculum Emergency Nursing Core Curriculum, 7th Edition, presents a clear, concise, and thorough overview of emergency nursing. Authored by the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA), this new edition includes updated information on cancer guidelines, diabetes, HIPAA information and more! Building upon the strengths of previous editions, new photographs and illustrations make content more accessible, bringing essential concepts to life This edition provides nurses with an invaluable resource for certification review. Used by practicing emergency nurses at all levels, this highly-respected resource is essential for gaining knowledge, developing practice standards, and improving quality of care. Authored by ENA, you can rely on this text to be the most authoritative and up-to-date resource available. The text's outline format and alphabetical listing of the Clinical Emergencies chapters mean you can find the information you need - fast! NEW! Updated content incorporates the latest information about: New types of insulin Cancer statistics Stroke guidelines HIPAA information Healthy People 2020 Sepsis protocols Forensic Aspects of Emergency Nursing Violence in the ED Palliative care ENA-authored ensures text is the most authoritative and up-to-date resource available. NEW! Reorganized unit on trauma emergencies makes facts more easy to find. Updated outline and alphabetical listing of the Clinical Emergencies chapters makes information quickly accessible. NEW! Additional illustrations and tables enhance your understanding of key information.
Call Number: RT120.E4 E456 2018x
Essential Health Assessment Conduct a thorough, patient-focused, health assessment...every time. This practical, real-world approach provides all of the how-tos, what-tos, when-tos, and why-tos you need to master the art and science of assessment in a well-organized, well-illustrated text that makes the material easier to learn now and reference later. The book simplifies the approach to assessment in two ways. First, it focuses on the normal and the normal variants of the adult, child, elderly, and pregnant patients that you'll see most frequently in practice. Then, when a finding falls outside of those parameters, you'll be able to identify it as abnormal. Second, assessment is presented as a linear and consistent process; so you are able to undertake the same steps in the same order to ensure that you don't miss anything. An access code inside new printed texts unlocks your DavisPlus Premium online resources, including your Davis Digital eBook, the complete text online, for study anytime, anywhere, and a wealth of learning tools and references.
Call Number: RT48 .T56 2018x
Financial Management for Nurse Managers: merging the heart with the dollar Financial Management for Nurse Managers: Merging the Heart with the Dollar, Fourth Edition is a unique text that addresses the financial management issues faced by nurse leaders in a variety of settings, including hospitals, ambulatory/outpatient clinics, long-term care facilities, and home care. With an evidence-based and practical approach, it covers a wide-range of financial information, including healthcare finance, economics, budgeting, reimbursements, accounting, and financial strategies. Completely updated and revised, the Fourth Edition features a new, streamlined structure that concentrates on core financial management topics while condensing supplemental material. As a result, the text is organized into three parts: * Healthcare, the Economy, and Value-Based Purchasing * Budget Principles * Financial Strategies and Accounting Issues The Fourth Edition also focuses on bringing financial concepts to life for students with real-life applications in nursing practice. For instructors, it offers invaluable resources, such as staffing and budgeting practice activities.
Call Number: RT86.7 .D855 2018
Learning IOM/HMD: implications of the Institute of Medicine and Health & Medicine Division Reports for Nursing Education This new companion book to Teaching IOM: Implications of the Institute of Medicine Reports for Nursing Education brings the IOM reports to life for learners. The easy to follow guidance helps students conceptualize how the reports influence and affect modern nursing practice. It introduces the concept of integrating the IOM reports on nursing practice into the educational setting and beyond. Nursing is a practice profession: nursing education and staff development need to reflect this in every aspect. Many IOM reports relevant to nursing, especially those on quality issues, are the platforms for improvements throughout health care practice, policy and education. This book is based in large part on the author's ongoing, first-handed conversations and collaborations with nurse educators, staff developers, and clinicians. It takes a real-world approach to implementing the IOM reports into modern nursing practice. Highlights of Learning IOM/HMD •Summaries and analyses of the 26 most recent nursing-pertinent reports and the implications for nursing education, professional development, and practice. •A section on the connections between the IOM reports and ANA's current nursing scope and standards and the Code of Ethics for Nurses •Full coverage of the 65 nursing-relevant IOM reports •Shows students how to analyze any IOM report
Call Number: RT71 .F455 2017x
Leddy and Pepper's Conceptual Bases of Professional Nursing Now in a full color, visually improved design, Leddy & Pepper's Professional Nursing, 9th Edition provides an easy to read, highly practical, broad overview of the nursing profession, addressing philosophical, developmental, sociocultural, environmental, political, health care delivery, and leadership issues vital for career enhancement. The author covers professional nursing roles and client care issues and presents strategies to deal with the emotional and ethical dimensions of professional practice. Appealing to today's learners, this edition features videos and interactive resources in the accompanying ancillary package. For online or hybrid, this textbook is also integrated into Lippincott RN to BSN Online. Lippincott RN to BSN Online, a full curriculum online course solution aligned to the guiding nursing curriculum standards The Essentials of Baccalaureate Education for Professional Nursing Practice and the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses Competencies, uniquely features self-paced multimedia modules that foster experiential, active learning. KEY FEATURES - Real-life Reflections - poses a real life situation related to information contained in each chapterCapture interest and hopefully connect the content to RN work experiencesStart of chapter just following the key terms & concepts and learning outcomes -Professional Building Blocks - Blocks of content key elements to -consider in clinical practiceApply theory to practiceScattered -throughout the text and placed appropriately in the body of a chapter. (See 8th ed.) -Learning, Knowing & Growing - Boxes of content for self-assessmentGive learners the opportunity for self-assessment and determine if there are any ways to improve professional performance or provides key strategies for developing a specific skill (e.g. Lobbying)Scattered throughout the text and placed appropriately in the body of a chapter. (See 8th ed.) -Concepts in Practice - Content boxes providing an example of how chapter content can be used in clinical practiceProvide readers with an example of how to use concepts and theory in professional practice. Scattered throughout the text and placed appropriately in the body of a chapter. (See 8th ed.) -Focus on Research - Block of content highlighting a research study, its findings and how to incorporate findings into professional practice Development of evidence-based practice using research findings Scattered throughout the text and placed appropriately in the body of a chapter. (See 8th ed.) - Professional Prototypes - Boxes of content offering suggestions or actual documents for use in professional practice Provide readers with specific guidelines of how to implement and use concepts to improve professional practice Scattered throughout the text and placed appropriately in the body of a chapter. (See 8th ed.) NEW Nurse As Author - Brief writing assignment based on chapter content for short written assignments or discussion board postings Development of professional writing skills.
Call Number: RT41 .H66 2018
LPN to RN Transitions LPN to RN Transitions, 4th Edition makes it easy for you to take the next step in your nursing career with all of the essential information you need to pursue your RN degree and practice as a registered nurse. This new edition includes practical information on role transition, cultural competency, delegation, classroom study habits, professional writing, and more. Plus, newly-revised chapters provide the latest information for one complete, indispensable resource to help you succeed in everything from the classroom to clinical practice! Improved organization gives you a clear vision of what the profession of nursing encompasses and ends with a career-affirming review of the path you must travel to reach the goal of registered nurse. Critical thinking questions give you practice applying the critical-thinking skills you will need on the job. Clear, succinct coverage helps you focus on the issues that an RN must address for a successful practice. FYI boxes encourage you to think about how your day-to-day interactions will change as an RN. Additional illustrations create a more engaging reading experience. Revised table of contents helps you quickly locate information. Casual writing style makes it easier to read the text and gain practical advice. Key Terms and Key Points help you learn vocabulary words central to the topic discussed. Learning objectives in each chapter orient you to the broad range of topics that will be emphasized in the RN curriculum. NEW! Information on Role Transition prepares you to begin working in a clinical practice environment. NEW! Cultural Competency information covers how to work with a diverse set of patients. NEW! Prepare Now to Pass NCLEX#65533; chapter provides strategies to use throughout the ADN curriculum to help you prepare a study plan tailored for success on the NCLEX-RN exam. NEW! Additional case studies demonstrate how the concepts discussed apply to real-life patients and colleagues. NEW! Math and Calculations content streamlined online for quick access.
Call Number: RT82 .C552 2018
Nursing Professional Development Quick Guide Series: a set of 6 booklets The NPD Quick Guide Series consists of six booklets dedicated to specific topics in Nursing Professional Development. The series, written by content experts in NPD, is the NPD practitioner's go-to for flawlessly executing educational activities. The booklets in this series include:
1. Learning Needs Assessment Guide
2. Educational Content Development
3. Educational Design Process: logistical Planning
4. Evaluation of Educational Activities
5. Objectives and Outcomes
6. Teaching Strategies
Call Number: Pamphlet
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing Research: methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Call Number: RT81.5 .N8665 2018
Nursing Theorists and Their Work A classic text is back with fresh, comprehensive nursing theories, critiques, and philosophies. Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 9th Edition provides you with an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. This new edition has been updated with an improved writing style, added case studies, critical thinking activities, and in-depth objective critiques of nursing theories that help bridge the gap between theory and application. In addition, the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) are graphically depicted throughout the book to help you understand the context of the various theories. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm their comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter directs you to assets available for additional information. Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information for further study. NEW! Improved writing style and increased use of subheadings make the narrative more concise, direct, and accessible. NEW! Updated research and findings incorporate new content along with more examples and clinical correlations. NEW! History of Nursing Science chapter emphasizes nursing science updates UNIQUE! Graphical depiction of the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) helps you to understand the context of the various theories.
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2018
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses: from evidence to practice The third edition of this award-winning text delivers the full treasury of tools that graduate nursing students and advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) need to translate clinical research into practice. In the current health care landscape, APRNs are challenged to provide patient-centered care that is effective, safe, efficient, equitable, and evidence based. Building knowledge and skills in evidence-based practice (EBP) is imperative to successfully meet this challenge and improve patient outcomes. The text describes essential ways to implement EBP in clinical practice, including how to search for and evaluate various forms of evidence, design questionnaires and data-collection forms, and analyze qualitative and quantitative data. The authors offer guidelines for evaluating research articles and a variety of EBP activities and protocols that show how to integrate EBP into multiple clinical settings suitable for all APRN areas of practice. Step-by-step instruction walks readers through the process of finding relevant evidence, appraising evidence, and translating evidence into practice to improve patient care and outcomes. The authors continue the great work of Magdalena Mateo, who created the earlier editions upon which this revision is based. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Expands information about practice scholarshipProvides new strategies for program evaluationDescribes frameworks for implementation science and EBPOffers practical steps and tools for seeking, appraising, and applying evidence into practice KEY FEATURES: Integrates EBP concepts related to patient careIdentifies the requisite knowledge and skills for practice scholarshipDescribes practical strategies and tools for seeking and appraising evidence and applying it in practiceIntegrates clinically relevant examples that highlight the application of evidence into practice to improve outcomes
Call Number: RT81.5 .R448 2018
Teaching and Learning in a Concept-Based Nursing Curriculum: a how-to best practice approach Teaching and Learning in a Concept-Based Curriculum: A How-To Best Practice Approach provides specific, practical tools and strategies for teaching and evaluating students in the concept based curriculum model. The text includes sample lesson plans and study guides to show how a concept is taught in the classroom, clinical teaching activities that connect classroom and clinical learning, and clinical evaluation tools to assess student competence in a concept-based curriculum. KEY FEATURES * Chapter learning outcomes * Forms, lesson plans, and other examples of specific tools * Key points at the end of each chapter * Highlighted priorities, tips, and pitfalls
Call Number: RT73 .I36 2019
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2016, 2015, 2014.
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
Management/Employee Development Books
Act Like a Leader, Think Like a Leader You aspire to lead with greater impact. The problem is you’re busy executing on today’s demands. You know you have to carve out time from your day job to build your leadership skills, but it’s easy to let immediate problems and old mind-sets get in the way. Herminia Ibarra--an expert on professional leadership and development and a renowned professor at INSEAD, a leading international business school--shows how managers and executives at all levels can step up to leadership by making small but crucial changes in their jobs, their networks, and themselves. InAct Like a Leader, Think Like a Leader, she offers advice to help you: * Redefine your job in order to make more strategic contributions * Diversify your network so that you connect to, and learn from, a bigger range of stakeholders * Become more playful with your self-concept, allowing your familiar--and possibly outdated--leadership style to evolve Ibarra turns the usual "think first andthen act” philosophy on its head by arguing that doing these three things will help you learn through action and will increase what she calls youroutsight--the valuable external perspective you gain from direct experiences and experimentation. As opposed to insight, outsight will then help change the way you think as a leader: about what kind of work is important; how you should invest your time; why and which relationships matter in informing and supporting your leadership; and, ultimately, who you want to become. Packed with self-assessments and practical advice to help define your most pressing leadership challenges, this book will help you devise a plan of action to become a better leader and move your career to the next level. It’s time to learn by doing.
Call Number: HD57.7 .I35 2015
Change Rx for Healthcare: your prescription for leading change Everywhere you look in healthcare, disruptive changes are emerging, yet the pressure to keep productivity up is ever-present. There are ways to minimize disruption and make adoption stick. Change Rx for Healthcare: Your Prescription for Leading Changeshowcases a case study of a large, transformational change implementing an electronic health record platform, as well as a collection of best-practice tools for leading through change or adopting change successfully. The author also includes hints on how to take learning and applying the contents to the next level and provides a detailed review of the science and profession of change adoption. This book will help any executive, physician, leader, consultant, project member, or change management professional become more familiar with the science of change and tools that make it faster and easier.
Call Number: RA971 .K48 2017
Dare to Matter: choosing an unstuck and unapologetic life of significance Make a Bigger Impact With 6 Simple Steps.
What if there was a way to know with certainty that who you are and what you do matters? What if you could elevate your performance, become more empowered, increase your confidence, and strengthen your relationships in your personal and professional life?
Bestselling author, Pete Smith, reveals the findings of his self-described "obsession" with what it takes to live a life of significance. Interviewing and studying the lives of those who are making a difference in the word today - including stories from people you may or may not know - and sharing lessons learned from his own near-death experience, Smith answers the question that burns deep within us all: how will I know I mattered?
In this book, you will learn:
- Why focusing on six key aspects produces the best results (and why we should ignore everything else)
- How to become more confident and empowered, even if you're broke and homeless
- How to generate new behaviors to stay off the emotional rollercoaster
- How to finally move beyond fear, self-doubt, and insecurity in three steps
- How to excel, advance and thrive without taking more on
- How to crush complacency and uncover the internal reason why many people stay stuck
- How to make an impact in the lives of others, without breaking the bank to do so
- BONUS: Dare to Matter Resource Guide to help you work THROUGH the book and apply the concepts directly to your life
- BONUS: Stories from authors, athletes, and media experts reveal how they have applied these keys to their own lives
Call Number: BF774 .S65 2016x
Health Organizations: theory, behavior, and development Organizations are complex human systems that have evolved over time and continue to do so in an increasingly globalized, information enriched, technology intensive era such as the 21st century. This is especially so following the Affordable Care Act legislation and regulations in the U.S. The new Second Edition of Health Organizations: Theory, Behavior, and Development addresses these changes by integrating new content throughout every chapter and topic area. Health organizations are comprised of highly credentialed professionals who function under considerable scrutiny within many prescribed guidelines. The challenge of managing in this environment is great with the basis of any level of effectiveness coming from an understanding of individual, group, and organization behavior. Additionally, health organizations are not static, tasking leaders to facilitate and manage the change that is inevitable in modern organizations. This book will help the student and practitioner put to use theories of organization and knowledge of organization behavior in ways that foster change in productive and sustainable ways resulting in better outcomes. Students will learn systematic planned approaches for organization development and team building and by examining power, influence, conflict, motivation, and leadership in the context of health service delivery. The overall framework of the Second Edition remains the same as the first book with the following three sections: * Part I - Organization Theory Past and Present * Part II - Organization Dynamics and Human Behavior * Part III - Organization Development and Sustainability The Second Edition introduces new elements including: chapter overviews; film learning exercises; key terms; case studies; chapter discussion questions; in-class exercises; online learning activities; key interviews with leaders and managers; appendix; study guide; and other supporting ancillaries.
Call Number: RA971 .H398 2019
How to Be Happy at Work "I’m working harder than I ever have, and I don’t know if it’s worth it anymore.” If you’re a manager or leader in today’s high-speed, high-stress economy, these words have probably run through your mind, maybe more than once. Many people in management positions are feeling fed up, burned out, and unhappy at work: the constant pressure and stress, the unending changes, the politics . . . People are feeling they can’t give much more, and their performance is suffering. But it’s work, after all, right? Should we even expect to be fulfilled and happy at work? Annie McKee answers with a definitive yes. She makes the most compelling case yet that happiness--and the full engagement that comes with it--is more important than ever in today’s workplace. Based on extensive research and decades of experience with leaders, this book sheds new light on the powerful relationship of happiness to individual, team, and organizational success. McKee’s research reveals that there are three essential elements that people must have in order to be happy at work: * A sense of purpose and the chance to contribute to something bigger than themselves; * A vision that is powerful and personal, creating a real sense of hope; and * Resonant, friendly relationships The book is organized around these essential elements and shows how leaders can create and sustain them in the face of ongoing stress and pressure, as well as how to create a healthy, positive climate for their teams and other groups within their companies. How to Be Happy at Work will transform and enrich our understanding of what it means to be happy at work, and it will provide clear, practical advice and instruction for how to achieve this.
Call Number: HD6955 .M365 2017
The Interprofessional Health Care Team: leadership and development "This book provides excellent information for healthcare teams to work effectively together and ultimately provide the best care for clients. This book is valuable to all healthcare team members..." - Yvonne M. Randall, EdD, OTR/L, FAOTA (Touro University Nevada), for Doody's Review Service The Interprofessional Health Care Team: Leadership and Development, Second Edition provides the much-needed knowledge base for developing a relational leadership style that promotes interdisciplinarity, interprofessionalism, and productive teamwork. It describes possibilities and options, theories, exercises, rich references, and stimulating questions that will inspire both novices and experts to think differently about their roles and styles as leaders or members of a team. The authors provide many tools to empower readers and facilitate the fostering of productive teamwork. It is an inspiring book with easily operational principles. It is written for many audiences and to achieve many goals all centered on best practices to attain quality care, particularly during this time of reinventing and transforming health care. In response to increasingly complex healthcare challenges, models for interprofessional practice and education have received global acceptance as prerequisites for improving population health, improving per capita costs and improving the health care experience. The second edition of The Interprofessional Health Care Team: Leadership and Development reinforces the concepts presented in the first edition, such as: the importance of a strong understanding of group dynamics and group development for team productivity, the relationship of emotional and social intelligence and leadership behaviors and how affiliative environments can encourage creative problem solving in the complex and often chaotic healthcare arena. SECOND EDITION UPDATES The concept of healthcare as a VUCA environment (volatile, uncertain, complex and ambiguous) system is expanded in Chapter 1 In Chapter 3, the influence of information and communication technology (ICT) and electronic health record (EHR) on team work, along with examples of how it is used, is introduced as a factor that must be taken into account when examining communication in interprofessional health care teams. How interprofessional healthcare teams can mitigate unconscious bias and leverage diversity to facilitate innovation and best practice is covered in Chapter 7 Strength-based and self-organizing practices that can support the development and sustainability of collaborative cultures are addressed in Chapter 9
Call Number: RA971 .W454 2018
Made for Amazing: an instrumental journal of authentic leadership transformation Can You Hear Your Music? Are you longing for more joy and fulfillment? Are you desperate to find deeper meaning and purpose? Are you determined to live the life of your dreams? Then . . . Tune In. Unlock Your Gifts. Live from the Heart. Transform Your LIFE. In Made for Amazing, Mark Nation tells the story of Joshua Lynk, a troubled young man with an extraordinary musical talent. Josh's father deserts him at an early age, leaving his grandfather to serve as his primary mentor and source of wisdom. Choosing fame and fortune over his grandfather's advice, Josh neglects the deeper, spiritual part of himself. In the excitement of playing to crowds and seeking to imitate others, Josh forgets his true music. A rise to success that ends in sorrow leaves Josh in a crisis of self-doubt and pity. Recalling his grandfather's advice to "Head for Ap Jack," Josh returns to his grandfather's cabin on the mountain and transforms his life, leading him to a deeper sense of purpose, joy, and professional fulfillment. Made for Amazing serves as your guide on the journey to create a legacy of success and a life of significance. Filled with convincing portrayals of a musician's life and relationships, this inspiring self-help parable will empower you to seek your own deeper meaning in life and reach your fullest potential. Josh's story and the thought-provoking Questions for Reflection and Discussion will help you to unlock your giftedness, embrace your passion, and discover your authentic leadership purpose.
Call Number: HD57.7 .N375 2017x
The Mood Elevator: take charge of your feelings, become a better you Mood swings are a common, almost universal experience--especially in a world as full of unpredictable, uncontrollable changes and chances as ours. People know they have good and bad moods, but most have never thought of them as an emotional elevator they ride, nor have any influence over. Perhaps they've even tried to suppress their moods, and refuse to acknowledge the ride at all. Larry Senn implores readers to take our changing moods seriously, and ride the mood elevator, which can help us all be more effective leaders and greatly impact our personal lives. At the top floors, we find ourselves to be grateful, wise, creative, resourceful and hopeful. At the bottom, we can be depressed, angry, stressed, judgmental and defensive. The Mood Elevator provides a framework and a series of simple pointers and illustrative stories that help readers see that without taking the full ride, we can't access the top floor moods without remembering that we have to build up from the bottom. The Mood Elevator shows us that we create our own moods through our own thinking and, in the end, have control over the direction we head. The book provides simple steps for anyone to quickly change their thinking to create better emotional states based on their environments.
Call Number: BF161 .S375 2017
The New Leadership Literacies: thriving in a future of extreme disruption and distributed everything A rapid and massively disruptive shift from centralized to distributed organizations has already begun. But current leadership practices were designed for large centralized organizations, making them increasingly obsolete. Bob Johansen, who has been projecting future trends from Silicon Valley since 1968, outlines five literacies leaders need to develop to cope with this brave new world. Johansen says leaders need the literacy of projecting themselves into the future and "looking backwards" to make sure they are preparing for potential new developments. They have to cultivate the literacy of voluntarily engaging with their fear in a safe way, using simulations and gaming, so they can immerse themselves in the things they're worried about and deal with them. Distributed leadership is a third vital literacy--leaders need to know how to guide organizations that have no center, grow from the edges, and can't be controlled. In a globalized world they must master multimedia leadership--the literacy of having presence and influence even when they're not physically present. And finally, to stay on top of all this they need the literacy of creating positive energy: leaders have to be extremely fit, physically and mentally, to keep their own energy and that of their organizations high to cope with this era of extreme disruption. Johansen presents dramatic and mind-expanding examples of how forward-looking organizations are developing these literacies and offers readers sage advice on how to cultivate them.
Call Number: HD57.7 .J6353 2017
Person-Centred Healthcare Research Person-Centred Healthcare Research provides an innovative and novel approach to exploring a range of research designs and methodological approaches aimed at investigating person-centred healthcare practice within and across healthcare disciplines. With contributions from internationally renowned experts in the field, this engaging resource challenges existing R&D methodologies and their relevance to advancing person-centred knowledge generation, dissemination, translation, implementation and use. It also explores new developments in research methods and practices that open up new avenues for advancing the field of person-centred practice. Person-Centred Healthcare Research: Enables students, practitioners, managers and researchers to gain a solid understanding of the complexity of person-centred thinking in research designs and methods. Explores the theories and practices underpinning a topical subject within current healthcare practice. Is edited by an internationally recognised team who are at the forefront of person-centred healthcare research.
Call Number: R727.3 .P47 2017
Principles of Healthcare Leadership In healthcare, strong leadership is crucial. Today s volatile and ever-changing environment calls for a new set of leadership skills. As cost reduction, quality improvement, and management of scarce resources become increasingly important, healthcare leaders must know how to build a positive culture, manage change and conflict, establish trust, promote creativity and innovation, and empower every staff member in their organization to succeed.
Principles of Healthcare Leadership provides complete coverage of the topics most vital to the success of a healthcare leader. Beginning with foundational leadership theory, including a discussion of power and influence, the book then explores distinct leadership styles and skills, the importance of organizational culture building, and strategies for leading people in healthcare delivery.
Additional key topics include:
Creativity and innovation
Change and conflict
Leadership development and trends
End-of-chapter summaries and discussion questions allow students to review and apply each chapter s concepts while they learn. Five comprehensive leadership case studies provide opportunities to integrate and apply skills featured in the book. The future of healthcare is now, and this book will guide leaders, current and future, as they manage daily change and growth in their redesigned healthcare organization.
Call Number: RA971 .H3835 2018
Umiker's Management Skills for the New Health Care Supervisor Today's healthcare supervisors are continually faced with smaller budgets, fewer workers, and greater responsibilities. The seventh edition of Umiker's Management Skills for the New Health Care Supervisor continues to provide valuable information for future healthcare managers and supervisors who must address these challenges daily. Written primarily for those who have little to no management training, Umiker's offers practical suggestions for improving effectiveness, both as a supervisor and as an organization. Ideal for students in undergraduate, community, and career college programs, author Charles R. McConnell maintains Dr. William Umiker's clear, jargon-free writing style. The Seventh Edition includes a new chapter on "Supervising in a Union Environment" that explores why employees turn to unions, how supervisors must act during union organizing, and how a supervisor's role is affected when it becomes necessary to interact with a union on a day-to-day basis. This revision also offers new examples, case scenarios, or expanded information on many topics including: basic management functions, the origins of performance standards, the interview process, workplace safety, motivational theory, chronic absenteeism, stress and decision making, the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, and the Affordable Care Act of 2010.
Call Number: RA971.35 .M33 2018
Why We Sleep: unlocking the power of sleep and dreams A New York Times bestseller The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert--Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab--reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better. Sleep is one of the most important but least understood aspects of our life, wellness, and longevity. Until very recently, science had no answer to the question of why we sleep, or what good it served, or why we suffer such devastating health consequences when we don't sleep. Compared to the other basic drives in life--eating, drinking, and reproducing--the purpose of sleep remained elusive. An explosion of scientific discoveries in the last twenty years has shed new light on this fundamental aspect of our lives. Now, preeminent neuroscientist and sleep expert Matthew Walker gives us a new understanding of the vital importance of sleep and dreaming. Within the brain, sleep enriches our ability to learn, memorize, and make logical decisions. It recalibrates our emotions, restocks our immune system, fine-tunes our metabolism, and regulates our appetite. Dreaming mollifies painful memories and creates a virtual reality space in which the brain melds past and present knowledge to inspire creativity. Walker answers important questions about sleep: how do caffeine and alcohol affect sleep? What really happens during REM sleep? Why do our sleep patterns change across a lifetime? How do common sleep aids affect us and can they do long-term damage? Charting cutting-edge scientific breakthroughs, and synthesizing decades of research and clinical practice, Walker explains how we can harness sleep to improve learning, mood, and energy levels; regulate hormones; prevent cancer, Alzheimer's, and diabetes; slow the effects of aging; increase longevity; enhance the education and lifespan of our children, and boost the efficiency, success, and productivity of our businesses. Clear-eyed, fascinating, and accessible, Why We Sleep is a crucial and illuminating book.
Call Number: QP425 .W44 2017
What's New in Current Awareness?