Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases to search
Here are some databases that specifically deal with complementary/alternative therapies - search them to find articles & other types of information:
Search for articles in this EBSCO database.
Use PubMed to find articles from the biomedical literature.
Need help getting the full-text or need more articles? Contact the Library!
New Books in the Library!
Contact the Library to have any of these books sent to your work location!
Complementary Therapies in Nursing: promoting integrative care The ninth edition of this acclaimed resource is completely updated to deliver the newest evidence-based research and practice guidelines for commonly used complementary therapies in nursing. The book delivers new and expanded international content including information highlighting indigenous culture-based therapies and systems of care. It features many recent advances in technology including digital resources facilitating effective delivery, monitoring, and measurement of therapy outcomes. This resource presents evidence for using complementary therapies with populations experiencing health disparities and describes a new approach to use of complementary therapies for nurses and patients self-care. State-of-the-art information also includes expanded safety and precaution content, updated legal concerns in regulation and credentialing, a discussion of challenges and strategies for implementing therapies and programs, and a completely new chapter on Heat and Cold Therapies. The ninth edition continues to provide in-depth information about each complementary therapy, as well as the scientific basis and current evidence for its use in specific patient populations. Consistent chapter formats promote ease of access to information, and each therapy includes instructional techniques and safety precautions. New to the Ninth Edition: Expanded information related to technology and digital resources to foster effective delivery, monitoring, and measuring therapy outcomes New and expanded international content highlighting indigenous culture-based therapies and systems of care New information on integrating therapies in practice with abundant case examples Examples of institution-wide or organization-wide complementary therapy programs New chapter on Heat and Cold Therapies All new content on the use of therapies for Self-Care Key Features: 80 prominent experts sharing perspectives on complementary therapies from over 30 countries Chapters include a practice protocol delineating basic steps of an intervention along with measuring outcomes Consistently formatted for ease of use Presents international sidebars in each chapter providing rich global perspectives
Call Number: RT41 .I53 2023
Aromatherapy for Health Professionals Now entering its 5th?edition Aromatherapy for Health Professionals?is an essential read for any professional wishing to practice aromatherapy in a clinical setting. It covers the theory and practice of essential oil science and the application of aromatherapy for specific conditions, giving an evidence based and in-depth presentation of the subject. Written by a highly experienced team of aromatherapists it is an authoritative guide for those wishing to use essential oils in a modern health care setting.? Contains an A-Z of essential oils including their chemistry and properties, allowing therapists to select the most effective oils for use in a clinical situation. Includes a table giving the appropriate essential oils for different health conditions Includes case studies to help the reader understand how to put the theory into practice. The text is fully referenced and evidence based for use in a clinical setting.
Call Number: RM666.A68 P76 2020
Complementary and Alternative Medicine: Evidence-Based Approach by This book on complementary and alternative medicine discusses topics related to energy harnessing and nutritional value that is related to alternative medical practices. Alternative medical diagnosis and medication consider the overall well-being and fitness of a patient while treating disease. This book discusses the fundamentals as well as modern approaches of this field. It consists of contributions made by international experts. It strives to provide a fair idea about this discipline and to help develop a better understanding of the latest advances within this field. In this book, using case studies and examples, constant effort has been made to make the understanding of the difficult concepts of alternative medicine as easy and informative as possible, for the readers.
Call Number: R733 .C653 2017x
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing, Eight Edition by Now in its eighth edition, this highly acclaimed, newly revised and expanded text continues to deliver innovative practice guidelines for evidence-based complementary and alternative therapies that can easily be incorporated into curriculum and applied directly to practice. The book describes holistic treatments that are culturally appropriate for clients across the life span and NCLEX(R)-relevant content appropriate for preparation of advanced practice nurses. The eighth edition reflects an expanding interest in these therapies worldwide and features numerous sidebars by international contributors who provide a global perspective that builds readers' understanding of the cultural derivations and uses of complementary therapies. The new edition also highlights digital and technical advances, provides key updates to foundations for practice, and describes cutting-edge research. Included is a description of the evolution and establishment of the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) and its current national agenda. Updated legal information regarding regulation and credentialing, enlarged safety and precaution content, and the inclusion of a broad range of therapies add to the utility of this new edition. The only book about complementary and alternative therapies written specifically for nurses that focuses on essential evidence for practice, the text uses a consistent format to present a definition and description of each therapy, a summary of how it evolved, and a rationale for its use. The scientific basis and research evidence for use of each therapy in a variety of specific patient populations is emphasized. Sidebars in each chapter describe the use of various therapies in different settings worldwide. All chapters provide practical guidelines for using the therapies to promote health and comfort while increasing patients' well-being and satisfaction with care. New to the Eighth Edition: Updated research-based content, including new cutting-edge referencesExpanded content about technology and digital resourcesNew Foreword and endorsements by prominent scholarsDescribes key steps in evolution of the NCCIH and its current national agendaHighlights indigenous culturally based therapiesNew chapter: "Systems of Care: Sowa Rigpa--The Tibetan Knowledge of Healing"New chapter: "Independent Personal Use of Complementary Therapies"New chapter: "Afterword: Creating a Preferred Future--Editors' Reflections"Updated information on legal concerns, regulation, and credentialingEnlarged safety and precaution contentHelpful tips for selecting practitionersUse of therapies for nurses' and patients' self-careStrategies for initiating institution-wide therapies and programs Key Features: Delivers comprehensive and current guidelines for therapy useWritten by highly respected nurse expertsEmploys a consistent format for ease of useDescribes instructional techniques and safety precautions for each therapyProvides a strong international focus
Call Number: RT41 .I53 2018
Mindfulness a Step-by-Step Beginners Guide: living your everday life with peace and happiness by becoming stress free This Book Will Allow You to Uncover the Secrets of Happiness and Free Yourself from Anxiety and Stress!This Beginners Guide Incorporates Teachings from over 2,000 Years AgoAre you tired? Are you stressed? Do you constantly find yourself filled with worry and anxiety? Are you consumed with everything you must get done, everything that is happening, and everything that has happened? Are you ready to make a change and start an adventure that will help you live in the present moment, stop your worries, and make your life more meaningful? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, then you are ready to take on a life of mindfulness. Give it a shot; read this book and try your hand at mindfulness for a few days. I promise you won't regret it. Whether you decide to totally transform your life to one of mindfulness and peace, or you simply want to add a few mindful moments into your day, you will see an improvement. Mindfulness has been proven as a stress reducer and life improver, take your shot now.10 Benefits of Mindfulness: 1. Increased Happiness2. Reduced Stress3. Better Social Relationships4. Weight Loss5. Emotional Intelligence 6. Less Anxiety7. Reduced Depression8. Improved Health9. Increased Focus 10. New Experiences
Call Number: Pamphlet