Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Review Book: NP certification secrets and study guide, full length practice test Mometrix Test Preparation's Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Review Book: NP Certification Secrets Study Guide is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their Nurse Practitioner Exam. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes:
Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations
Step-by-step video tutorials to help you master difficult concepts
Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance
A complete review of all NP test sections
Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners.
The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your NP exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam.
The Core Competencies section covers:
Advanced Physical Assessment
The Clinical Practice section covers:
Health Promotion and Disease Prevention
Diagnostic Testing and Procedures
Organ System Diagnostics
Organ System Procedure and Interventions
Organ System Pharmacology
Alternative, Complementary, and Non-Pharmacologic Interventions
The Professional Role section covers:
Scope and Standards of Professional Practice
Health Care Policy and Systems
Quality Improvement Processes
Research and Evidence-Based Practice
Educational Strategies and Health Literacy
...and much more!
Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix NP study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language.
Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of NP practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear.
Many concepts include links to online review videos where you can watch our instructors break down the topics so the material can be quickly grasped. Examples are worked step-by-step so you see exactly what to do.
We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Review Book: NP Certification Secrets Study Guide is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the NP review you need to be successful on your exam.
Call Number: RC954 .A384 2021x
A Caring Advanced Practice Nursing Model: theoretical perspectives and competency domains This book introduces readers to the basics of Advanced Practice Nursing (APN), which offers expanded clinical competence that can help improve the quality of health and care services. The book offers a range of perspectives on APN, APN models, APN education, challenges in the implementation of APN in new countries, as well as a description of the APN role, including areas of expertise. These core areas of the Caring APN model (clinical nursing practice; ethical decision-making; coaching and teaching; consultation; collaboration; case management; leadership; research and development) are described, together with the role of APN in acute care and primary healthcare service contexts. The book also explores the connection between epistemology, a three-dimensional view of knowledge (epistêmê, technê and phronesis) and a care perspective, as well as central theoretical aspects of nursing, e.g. health, holism and ethics/ethos. All research should be grounded in theoretical perspectives, and here we highlight the value of a caring and person-centered philosophy in advanced practice nursing. Through its specific focus on the central, generic theoretical features of nursing science that deepen the role of APN and the scope of practice and APN research and education, the content presented here will help any researcher, teacher or student understand the importance of epistemological issues for research, education and clinical practice in this field. Moreover, it can be used when designing Master's programs in Advanced Practice Nursing, making the book a valuable resource for the international nursing community.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W355 2021x
Caring Science As Sacred Science "In this continuing work, I have allowed myself to incorporate personal material...for my own caring-healing processes ...So, in some ways, writing about caring and sacred science may not be tolerated in academic circles and scholarly work, but if there was ever a time to converge personal and professional authentic ethical efforts for living/being/doing/becoming scholarly, spirit-filled and scientific, it is NOW." Jean Watson Written by the leading expert in Caring Science Dr Jean Watson, this updated newly revised text offers a moral and philosophical foundation for all health professionals. This moral/ethical framework offers the reader a way to work and view life through a caring and healing lens. The author discusses a new paradigm for mind-body-spirit nursing, medicine and healthcare. You will gain core knowledge of caring as it relates to both education and the practice of compassionate, professional human caring and healing. This new edition includes Watson's most recent writings on the Seven Sacred Sutras as well as her 10 Caritas Processes(R), a foundational, values-based guide in which to base your life and work.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W355 2021x
CCM Certification Study Guide: CCM prep book and 3-full-length exams for the Certified Case Manager test Test Prep Books' CCM Certification Study Guide: CCM Prep Book and 3 Full-Length Exams for the Certified Case Manager Test [Practice Questions Include Detailed Answer Explanations] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the CCM exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Care Delivery and Reimbursement Methods Psychosocial Concepts and Support Systems Quality Outcomes Evaluation and Measurements Rehabilitation Concepts and Strategies Ethical, Legal, and Practice Standards Practice Questions Practice makes perfect! Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits: Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual CCM test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Anyone planning to take this exam should take advantage of this Test Prep Books study guide. Purchase it today to receive access to: CCM review materials CCM practice questions Test-taking strategies
Call Number: RA975.5.C36 C336 2021x
Clinical Nurse Leaders Beyond the Microsystem: a practical guide In today's rapidly changing healthcare landscape, a concise and comprehensive guide focused on preparing advanced clinical nurses to assume a leadership role is critical to improving the quality of patient care. Clinical Nurse Leaders Beyond the Microsystem: A Practical Guide, Fourth Edition is a core resource for CNLs which imparts the competencies necessary to lead improvement teams, analyze data, and ensure delivery of quality, safety, and value-based care in any healthcare setting.The Fourth Edition continues to highlight the contributions that the CNLs bring to community-based population health by integrating concepts related to social determinants of health, population health, and global impact. Another keen focus of this text is on the collection, analysis, and dissemination of data and the role of the CNL in the new digital world. Lastly, the authors explore the practice of self-care and the importance of the CNL role in promoting this concept within their practice and across their teams.New to the Fourth Edition: Big data's influence on the effectiveness and sustainability of the CNL roleMeasuring the impact CNLs have on patient and family wellness and the teams they lead Analysis of the competency-based structure in nursing education on the CNL track
Call Number: RT82.8 .I555 2022
Core Curriculum for the Hospice and Palliative APRN The Core Curriculum is an essential tool for the Hospice and Palliative APRN. The Core Curriculum offers information in all aspects of hospice and palliative advanced practice registered nursing. It reflects evidence-based practice and the 4th edition of the National Consensus Project For Quality Palliative Care Clinical Practice Guidelines. To best prepare for the ACHPN examination, this third edition has been reorganized by the 5 domains of the 2020 HPCC’s ACHPN Detailed Content Outline.
Call Number: R726.8 .H676 2020x
Cultural, Ethnic, and Religious Reference Manual for Health Care Providers The Cultural, Ethnic, and Religious Reference Manual for Health Care Providers is authored by a nurse intimately aware of the challenges faced by healthcare providers as they attempt to deliver culturally congruent care and better understand patient diversity in the face of frenzied schedules and an ever-changing health care environment. This fifth edition of the manual maintains the highly successful conciseness of prior editions while building the content upon the most recently available health care-related research, data, and statistics for each group included. This fifth edition contains over 30 chapters addressing frequently encountered religious, cultural, and ethnic groups. The contents of each chapter provide the reader with a quick overview of common cultural norms, common health beliefs and practices, kinship factors, etc. while reminding the reader that each individual is unique in the practices of their culture or religion.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 A53 2021x
FNP and AGNP Certification Express Review: improve retention with this high-speed review for test day success! Improve retention with this high-speed review for test-day success! Designed as a last-minute gut-check before exam day, this guide is written by primary care nurse practitioners who have your back, providing you with quick, digestible nuggets of the most pertinent topics on the FNP and AGNP certification exams. Use this small but mighty book during the last month of your preparation to strengthen your knowledge and tackle the AANPCB or ANCC exam with confidence! Organized by body system, this guide covers the key 120+ conditions on the exam, with essential information on signs and symptoms, differential diagnoses, labs and other diagnostic testing, treatment, patient education, and important lifespan and special population considerations. The pharmacology review provides a succinct recap of the most important drug classes you will need to know. Also included are brief summaries of pediatric growth and development and geriatric topics such as geriatric syndromes, frailty, and polypharmacy. Key Features: Offers a succinct, rapid review of the key 120+ conditions on the exam Includes a separate pharmacology review of select drug classes Summarizes pediatric and geriatric concerns, such as growth and development, immunizations, and frailty Provides important alerts, complications, pearls, and pop quiz questions to highlight extra-important information and test your knowledge Offers full digital access on Springer Publishing Connect, which includes essential images, such as need-to-know ECG tracings and photos of skin disorders
Call Number: RT120.F34 F56 2022x
The Future of Nursing 2020-2030: charting a path to achieve health equity The decade ahead will test the nation's nearly 4 million nurses in new and complex ways. Nurses live and work at the intersection of health, education, and communities. Nurses work in a wide array of settings and practice at a range of professional levels. They are often the first and most frequent line of contact with people of all backgrounds and experiences seeking care and they represent the largest of the health care professions. A nation cannot fully thrive until everyone - no matter who they are, where they live, or how much money they make - can live their healthiest possible life, and helping people live their healthiest life is and has always been the essential role of nurses. Nurses have a critical role to play in achieving the goal of health equity, but they need robust education, supportive work environments, and autonomy. Accordingly, at the request of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, on behalf of the National Academy of Medicine, an ad hoc committee under the auspices of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine conducted a study aimed at envisioning and charting a path forward for the nursing profession to help reduce inequities in people's ability to achieve their full health potential. The ultimate goal is the achievement of health equity in the United States built on strengthened nursing capacity and expertise. By leveraging these attributes, nursing will help to create and contribute comprehensively to equitable public health and health care systems that are designed to work for everyone. The Future of Nursing 2020-2030: Charting a Path to Achieve Health Equity explores how nurses can work to reduce health disparities and promote equity, while keeping costs at bay, utilizing technology, and maintaining patient and family-focused care into 2030. This work builds on the foundation set out by The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health (2011) report.
Call Number: RT86.7 .F88 2021x
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care Trust Lehne's to make pharmacology more approachable! Known for its clear explanations of drug prototypes and how they work, Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 11th Edition provides a solid understanding of key drugs and their implications for nursing care. A perennial student favorite, this book simplifies complex pharmacology concepts, using large and small print to distinguish need-to-know drug content from the material that's merely nice to know. It also includes in-depth coverage of physiology, pathophysiology and drug therapy. Written by noted nursing educators Jacqueline Rosenjack Burchum and Laura Rosenthal, this text helps you understand and apply pharmacology principles as opposed to simply memorizing drug facts. Clear, engaging writing style simplifies complex concepts, making difficult pharmacology content not only understandable but actually enjoyable. Prototype Drugs approach focuses on representative drugs that characterize all members of a given drug group, so that you can apply your understanding to related drugs currently on the market as well as drugs that will be released in the future. Nursing implications of drug therapy are integrated throughout the text to reinforce the integral relationship between drug therapy and nursing care, and also summarized in Summary of Major Nursing Implications sections at the end of chapters. Special Interest Topic boxes examine the everyday impact of pharmacology with vignettes including Medication Overuse Headache: Too Much of a Good Thing and Antibiotics in Animal Feed: Dying for a Hamburger and Chicken Nuggets. Large print highlights essential, need-to-know information, and small print indicates nice-to-know information. Safety Alerts call out important safety concerns related to contraindications, adverse effects, and more. Patient-Centered Care Across the Life Span tables highlight safe and appropriate care for patients throughout their lives, from infancy to older adulthood. Concise drug summary tables present key information for individual drugs, including drug class, generic and trade names, dosages, routes, and indications. NEW! Thoroughly updated drug content reflects the latest FDA drug approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, with revisions to the corresponding nursing content. NEW chapters include Genetic and Genomic Considerations, Muscarinic Antagonists, and Complementary and Alternative Therapy.
Call Number: RM301 .P457 2022
LPN to RN Transitions LPN to RN Transitions, 5th Edition makes it easy for you to advance in your nursing career with all of the essential information you need to pursue your RN degree and practice as a registered nurse. This new edition includes practical information on role transition, cultural competency, delegation, interprofessional collaboration, professional writing, and more. Plus, newly revised and updated chapters provide the latest information for one complete, indispensable resource to help you succeed in everything from the classroom to clinical practice! Clear, succinct coverage helps you understand the issues that an RN must address for a successful practice. Respect for the accomplishments of the LPN is emphasized throughout the text. Engaging design and thoughtful exercises keep you focused on key concepts and learning objectives. Critical thinking questions at the end of every chapter reinforce your understanding of important content. Patient scenarios and Application to Practice boxes challenge you to apply your knowledge to real-world clinical situations. FYI boxes encourage you to think about how your day-to-day interactions will change as an RN. Key Terms and Key Points help you learn vocabulary words and concepts related to the topic being discussed. NEW! Interprofessional collaboration coverage prepares you to work effectively with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Information on trauma-Informed care prepares you to deliver care with a person-centered approach, which promotes a collaborative, trusting, respectful, and emotionally supportive care environment. NEW! Coverage of competencies for the RN gives you a clear vision of what skills registered nursing encompasses and how they differ from practical or vocational nursing. UPDATED! Next Generation NCLEX®-style content prepares you for the upcoming changes to the NCLEX-RN® exam. EXPANDED! Additional information on key topics enhances coverage of time management, preparing for class, self-care, prioritization, outcomes and cost containment, mandatory reporting, and case management for chronic illness across all settings, including home care.
Call Number: RT82 .C552 2022
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice. Known as a comprehensive handbook for graduate nursing students and advanced practice nurses alike, the text incorporates middle range practice theory as well as interdisciplinary and nursing theories. Students will find a wealth of information to draw from for graduate projects, while APRNs will find research useful for patient care. New to the Fourth Edition:New chapter on public health theory related to pandemics, disaster nursing and environmental health crisesContent related to health disparities and gender theory Revised case studies New comprehensive grid provides suggested applications for philosophies and theories in in research and clinical practice
Call Number: RT84.5 .P56 2022
3D Printing: applications in medicine and surgery New technologies in 3D printing offer innovative capabilities in surgery, from planning complex operations through to educational purposes and providing alternatives to traditional training with more cost-effective outcomes. This hot topic title synthesizes the most up-to-date information on 3D printing and its application into surgical specialties including, hebatobilliary and pancreatic surgery, vascular surgery, orthopedic surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, cardiovascular and thoracic surgery, and more. Discusses challenges and opportunities of 3D printing across surgical sub-specialties. Covers 3D printing and its application in major surgical specialties, as well as dentistry, transplantation, global surgery, and diagnostic and interventional radiology. Consolidates today's available information on this burgeoning topic into a single convenient resource.
Call Number: E-Book
Advanced Studies in Experimental and Clinical Medicine: modern trends and latest approaches This volume, Advanced Studies in Experimental and Clinical Medicine: Modern Trends and Approaches, provides a selection of chapters on new developments in various areas of clinical medicine, including dental, surgery, and general practice. These scientific papers and chapters analyze the diagnostic processes and inform of new and novel diagnostic techniques. This book is divided into two sections; the first section contains review papers and includes an overview of experimental and clinical medicine, explaining its history from ancient medicine to modern medicine. The second section presents a selection of original research papers from respected authors on a variety of topics. This book is recommended to immunologists, physiologists, and medical practitioners.
Call Number: R853.C55 A39 2021x
Biochemistry Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Praised by faculty and students for more than two decades, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry. This best-selling text helps students quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information, with unparalleled illustrations that bring concepts to life. Like other titles in the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Review Series, this text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, video tutorials, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Call Number: QP514.2 .C48 2022
Cardio-Obstetrics: a practical guide to care for pregnant cardiac patients Cardiac disease is one of the leading causes of maternal morbidity and mortality. Catastrophic outcomes typically encountered are due to gaps in knowledge and communication between health care providers. There is a great need for a standardized approach for care of this very high-risk group of pregnant women. The book encompasses detailed obstetrics and cardiology perspectives that are crucial in the management of the commonly encountered cardiac conditions in pregnancy. This text aims to provide guidance to the whole team caring for a pregnant cardiac patient consisting of obstetricians, maternal-fetal medicine, hospitalists, cardiologists, obstetric anaesthesiologists, emergency physicians, primary care providers and nurses. Features: Cardio-Obstetric team organization Preconception counselling and family planning considerations Cardiovascular disease screening and risk stratification of a pregnant cardiac patient Management of a wide spectrum of cardiovascular diagnoses through use of checklists and algorithms in a simple format Essential key points for each cardiac diagnosis
Call Number: RG580.H4 C37 2020
A Concise Guide to Continuity of Care in Midwifery "Continuity of care in midwifery - the most traditional way of practising - has been overlooked for much of the last century but is re-emerging as an evidence-based model of care, one which is known to benefit women. This book is a vital companion to students and qualified midwives as continuity of care is integrated into midwifery education and services. Including vignettes from students, qualified midwives, and women and their partners, this book is designed for anyone new to practising midwifery continuity of care"--
Call Number: RG950 .C63 2022
The Esophagus THE ESOPHAGUS The Esophagus investigates the anatomy, physiology, and pathology of the esophagus. This sixth edition, revised and updated throughout, also explores the diagnosis and treatment of various esophageal conditions. It includes treatment guidelines approved by the two largest gastroenterology societies, the ACG and AGA, as befits a work co-edited by two former presidents of those organizations. Advancements in diagnostics are presented, as are developments in the surgical and drug therapies. Presented in full colour, and boasting an unrivalled team of editors and contributing authors, The Esophagus Sixth Edition will find a home wherever the anatomy, physiology, and pathology of the esophagus are studied and taught. This book is accompanied by a website containing all the figures from the book in PowerPoint format. www.wiley.com/go/richter/esophagus6e Praise for the Fifth Edition: "There is absolutely no doubt that this edition of the textbook will maintain its status as the go-to reference for esophageal conditions, and will remain a highly utilized and clinically useful resource for novice and experienced physicians and surgeons alike." (Gastroenterology, 1 July 2013)
Call Number: RC815.7 .E763 2021
Eureka: Clinical Skills, Diagnostics and Reasoning How to undertake key clinical tests, make effective diagnoses and develop logical clinical reasoning. Clinical Skills, Diagnostics and Reasoningprovides detailed coverage of the history and examination of all major body systems. It will be an essential resource as you start on the wards. Key features: an engaging and authoritative style- with everything you need in one place realistic clinical cases- these show how skilled clinicians work through a presentation, and put disease and biomedical principles into context extensive range of photographs- superb clinical photos show exactly how to undertake a broad range of examinations and tests starter questions- stimulating questions and answers to test your knowledge and highlight the level of detail you need study boxes- these highlight tips, tricks and key learning points Designed to take you from the lecture theatre to the ward - from anatomy and physiology to typical clinical cases and how they are assessed. By fully integrating basic science and clinical medicine,Clinical Skills, Diagnostics and Reasoningwill equip you with the core knowledge and skills you will need for exams and placements!
Call Number: RC71 .L68 2020x
Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 2-Volume Set Offering the comprehensive, authoritative information needed for effective diagnosis, treatment, and management of sick and premature infants, Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 6th Edition, is an invaluable resource for board review, clinical rounds, scientific research, and day-to-day practice. This trusted two-volume text synthesizes recent advances in the field into definitive guidance for today's busy practitioner, focusing on the basic science needed for exam preparation and key information required for full-time practice. It stands alone as the most complete text available in this complex and fast-changing field, yet is easy to use for everyday application. Offers definitive guidance on how to effectively manage the many health problems seen in newborn and premature infants. Contains new chapters on Pathophysiology of Genetic Neonatal Disease, Genetic Variants and Neonatal Disease, and Developmental Biology of Lung Stem Cells, as well as significantly revised chapters on Cellular Mechanisms of Neonatal Brain Injury, Neuroprotective Therapeutic Hypothermia, Enteric Nervous System Development and Gastrointestinal Motility, and Physiology of Twin-Twin Transfusion. Features 1,000 full-color diagrams, graphs and anatomic illustrations, 170+ chapters, and more than 350 global contributors. Includes chapters devoted to clinical correlation that help explain the implications of fetal and neonatal physiology, as well as clinical applications boxes throughout. Provides summary boxes at the end of each chapter and extensive cross-referencing between chapters for quick reference and review. Allows you to apply the latest insights on genetic therapy, intrauterine infections, brain protection and neuroimaging, and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RG610 .F46 2022
Handbook of Diabetes The Handbook of Diabetes provides concise and efficient coverage of the diagnosis, epidemiology, and management of diabetes and its complications. Containing hundreds of attractive colour diagrams, illustrations, and clinical photographs, this popular quick-reference guide focuses on the management and measurement of diabetes mellitus with highly visual references. Now in its fifth edition, this market-leading book aligns with the most recent guidelines from the American Diabetes Association (ADA), the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD), Diabetes UK, and the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE), presenting authoritative clinical coverage of diabetes in an accessible format with rich pedagogical features. Five new chapters provide detailed coverage of liver disease, diabetes education, bariatric surgery, diabetes and cancer, and the use of incretin-based therapies and SGLT2 Inhibitors in the management of Type II diabetes Updated and expanded topics include the relation between hypoglycaemia and dementia, anxiety and depression, the NICE Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF), and the impacts of diabetes to self-care, mental health, and decision-making Provides a wealth of pedagogical features such as vignettes and case histories, important learning points, summaries of key clinical trials, and links to further readings Handbook of Diabetes, remains the essential practical companion for all health professionals involved in managing patients with diabetes, and an up-to-date reference for diabetes and endocrinology researchers, scientists, and academics.
Call Number: RC660 .W49 2021
Localization in Clinical Neurology Anatomical localization skills based in physical examination are essential for any clinician caring for patients with neurologic disease processes. Now fully revised and up to date, Localization in Clinical Neurology, 8th Edition, uses easy-to-read descriptions, full-color illustrations and videos to help readers understand and locate the source of a patient's signs and symptoms. This gold standard text now features dozens of clinical videos that help clinicians improve diagnostic accuracy and avoid unnecessary testing. Offers comprehensive coverage of all brain regions as well as cranial, spinal, and peripheral nerves. Provides detailed discussions of relevant anatomy and of lesions related to each anatomic feature. Includes nearly 100 NEW clinical videos designed to help pinpoint the source of patients' signs and symptoms. Features numerous high-quality line drawings and 100 useful tables that help you quickly grasp important aspects of this challenging area of clinical neurology. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC348 .B73 2022
Neurological Care and the COVID-19 Pandemic Offering a comprehensive review of the neuropathology of SARS-CoV-2, Neurological Care and the COVID-19 Pandemic provides up-to-date coverage of the wide array of the pathogen's neurological symptoms and complications. Drs. Ahmad Riad Ramadan and Gamaledin Osman discuss the neuropathology of SARS-CoV-2, its neurological manifestations, and the impact the pandemic has had on the care of patients with pre-existing neurological conditions. The authors also offer an overview of emerging treatments and vaccines, as well as ways healthcare systems have reorganized in order to respond to the pandemic. Offers a thorough discussion of the impact the virus has had on the care of patients with neurological ailments, accompanied by recommendations on how to care for these patients. Covers the impact of COVID-19 on patients with cerebrovascular diseases, seizures, demyelinating diseases, neuromuscular disorders, movement disorders, headache disorders, cognitive disorders, and neuro-oncological disorders. Includes a detailed case study of how one healthcare system hit hard by COVID-19 successfully transformed itself to respond to the challenges imposed by the pandemic. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
Call Number: RA644.C67 N48 2021x & E-book
NMS Surgery Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Now in a portable pocket-sized format packed with high-yield information, updates, and revisions that reflect the current practice of surgery, NMS Surgery, Seventh Edition, is an ideal guide for effective study and review. The new edition retains the elements that have made it a dependable, go-to resource for a generation of medical students and a quick review resource for practitioners preparing for recertification. Featuring new study aids, full-color illustrations, concise, high-yield coverage, and USMLE-format questions, the new edition helps students successfully complete their clerkship and prepare for the shelf/end-of-rotation exam. In addition, this valuable resource is packaged with access to the interactive eBook version with an online quiz bank at no additional cost. Compact and portable--easily fits into a lab coat for quick, high-yield review. A standardized at-a-glance outline format makes it easy to navigate from chapter to chapter when reviewing for the rotation shelf exam. More carefully integrated features, including Chapter Cuts (approach to disease), Quick Cuts (pearls), and Critical Surgical Associations, facilitate different levels of topic review. New Trusted Sources boxes highlight the best, most trusted resources for surgical guidelines to further clinical knowledge. A new Cut to Casebook feature provides handy cross-referencing to cases in the NMS Surgery Casebook, 3rd Edition. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Call Number: RD37.2 .S96 2022
Pathophysiology Develop the strong foundation in pathophysiology you need to guide your patient care! Exploring the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, and treatment of diseases and disorders, Pathophysiology, 7th Edition focuses on the major alterations in the homeostasis of body systems to provide you with a unifying framework. Current scientific findings and relevant global research are integrated throughout the book, with chapters organized by body system, beginning with an illustrated review of anatomy and normal physiology. Each chapter includes a discussion of the disease processes and abnormalities that may occur, with a focus on the pathophysiologic concepts involved. Practical learning resources emphasize critical thinking and help simplify this rigorous subject. Updated, full-color illustrations and photos throughout enable you to visualize disease and disease processes and gain a clearer understanding of the material. Easy-to-read style is simplified by input from readability experts, and includes many tables, boxes, and figures to highlight key content. Thorough content updates include the latest information on new treatment advances, over 100 new figures for improved clarity, and much more throughout the text. Global Health Care boxes highlight global healthcare concerns such as COVID-19, HIV/AIDS, Ebola, and more, with information on prevalence, mechanism of disease, and transmission. User-friendly learning resources in the text include chapter outlines, bolded key terms, key questions, Key Points boxes, Clinical Judgment challenges, and chapter summaries. Pediatric and Geriatric Considerations boxes include brief analyses of age-related changes associated with specific body systems. More than 1,000 illustrations help clarify complex pathophysiological concepts and make the book visually appealing. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN)-style case studies on the companion Evolve website help strengthen your clinical judgment skills in preparation for the new item types on the exam. NEW! COVID-19 coverage includes the most current scientific findings, prevalence, mechanism of disease, transmission, and treatment implications.
Call Number: RB113 .P45 2022
Pediatric Dermatology Designed for everyday use in the clinic, Bernard A. Cohen’s Pediatric Dermatology, 5th Edition, is a visually stunning, practical reference for anyone who treats children with skin disorders. Diagnostic algorithms, high-quality illustrations, and concise, easy-to-navigate text written by a leading authority in the field set this text/atlas apart, making it ideal for clinical use as well as board exam preparation.
Contains nearly 1,000 superb photographs (100 are new or updated) balanced by clear and succinct text.
Keeps you up to date with the most current knowledge and latest advancements in the field, including new variants of conditions for infantile hemangiomas and vascular malformations and approaches and findings for treating pigmented lesions in infants and children.
Features numerous summary tables and differential diagnosis algorithms to help simplify diagnosis.
Offers a comprehensive bibliography at the end of each chapter for further study.
Includes European drug names when appropriate.
Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: E-book
Surgical Exposures in Orthopaedics: the Anatomic Approach For nearly 40 years, Surgical Exposures in Orthopaedics: The Anatomic Approach has helped orthopaedic surgeons enhance their anatomic knowledge, increase safety, and improve patient outcomes. The fully revised sixth edition carries on the legacy of Dr. Stanley Hoppenfeld (1934-2020), whose ideas have influenced orthopaedic surgical care worldwide. Coauthored by Piet de Boer and Dr. Richard Buckley, this bestselling reference provides a clear view of orthopaedic anatomy from the surgeon's perspective using easy-to-follow descriptions and hundreds of superb full-color illustrations. Brings you up to date with recent changes in the field, using a highly relevant anatomic approach that has become increasingly important as approaches become smaller. Details the techniques and pitfalls of each surgical approach, gives a clear preview of anatomic landmarks and incisions, and highlights potential dangers of superficial and deep dissection. Contains 21 new surgical approaches, including fixation of rib fractures, the suprapatellar approach for tibial nail insertion, a minimally invasive approach to the clavicle, the posterior triceps-on approach to the distal humerus, three new approaches to the distal femur, as well as several others. Includes expanded content on the anteromedial approach to the elbow and new surgical approaches to the talus, cuboid, navicular, and Lisfranc's joint. Features fully revised content throughout, including changes to the trochanteric osteotomy required to perform surgical hip dislocation, updated content on external fixation, and new references where appropriate. Provides access to numerous high-quality procedural videos from every relevant angle, including a split screen with diagrams. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD732 .H66 2022
Management/Employee Development Books
Better Data Visualizations: a guide for scholars, researchers and wonks Now more than ever, content must be visual if it is to travel far. Readers everywhere are overwhelmed with a flow of data, news, and text. Visuals can cut through the noise and make it easier for readers to recognize and recall information. Yet many researchers were never taught how to present their work visually. This book details essential strategies to create more effective data visualizations. Jonathan Schwabish walks readers through the steps of creating better graphs and how to move beyond simple line, bar, and pie charts. Through more than five hundred examples, he demonstrates the do's and don'ts of data visualization, the principles of visual perception, and how to make subjective style decisions around a chart's design. Schwabish surveys more than eighty visualization types, from histograms to horizon charts, ridgeline plots to choropleth maps, and explains how each has its place in the visual toolkit. It might seem intimidating, but everyone can learn how to create compelling, effective data visualizations. This book will guide you as you define your audience and goals, choose the graph that best fits for your data, and clearly communicate your message.
Call Number: QA76.9.I52 S393 2021
Beyond Collaboration Overload: how to work smarter, get ahead, and restore your well-being A plan for conquering collaborative overload to drive performance and innovation, reduce burnout, and enhance well-being. Most organizations have created always-on work contexts that are burning people out and hurting performance rather than delivering productivity, innovation and engagement. Collaborative work consumes 85% of employees' time and is drifting earlier into the morning, later into the night, and deeper into the weekend. The dilemma is that we all need to collaborate more to create effective organizations and vibrant careers for ourselves. But conventional wisdom on teamwork and collaboration has created too much of the wrong kind of collaboration, which hurts our performance, health and overall well-being. In Beyond Collaboration Overload, Babson professor Rob Cross solves this paradox by showing how top performers who thrive at work collaborate in a more purposeful way that makes them 18-24% more efficient than their peers. Good collaborators are distinguished by the efficiency and intentionality of their collaboration—not the size of their network or the length of their workday. Through landmark research with more than 300 organizations, in-depth stories, and tools, Beyond Collaboration Overload will coach you to reclaim close to a day a week when you: Identify and challenge beliefs that lead you to collaborate too quickly Impose structure in your work to prevent unproductive collaboration Alter behaviors to create more efficient collaboration It then outlines how successful people invest this reclaimed time to: Cultivate a broad network—not a big one—for innovation and scale Energize others—a strong predictor of high performance Connect with others to reduce micro-stressors and enhance physical and mental well-being Cross' framework provides relief from the definitive problem of our age—dysfunctional collaboration at the expense of our performance, health and overall well-being.
Call Number: HF5548.85 .C76 2021
A Career in Healthcare: tools, resources, and questions to prepare you for what's next According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, some of the fastest projected job growth will occur in the healthcare, healthcare support and personal care fields which accounts for almost one third of the total employment growth by 2020. Analysts suggest that the healthcare field is growing because of the long-term trends of an aging population and improved diagnosing and treatment options. Additionally, technology advances in telemedicine and telehealth are allowing elderly patients to remain in their homes as they age even though their health needs are increasing. All these advances and changes to payment structures are fueling the employment growth opportunities in healthcare. This book is intended for someone curious to learn more about a career in healthcare, but not certain if it is right for them, or if the industry would be a good fit for them. For the person who is already interested in pursuing a career in healthcare, it provides added excitement to continue on this path. For the person who is less certain, it explores in a narrative format, the unique opportunities that are available in healthcare, and career options that are not obvious to the general public. It is designed to provide added insights and stories that will inspire one to learn more about the field of healthcare and the many opportunities to consider. It will encourage readers to explore ways to gain hands-on experience to determine what is the best approach for them to take to start this journey. This book is also intended for those who currently work in healthcare but may be considering a different job in the field.
Call Number: R690 .L44 2021x
The Compassion Fatigued Organization: restoring compassion to helping professionals There is a crisis in the Human Service industry. Helping professionals are bearing the weight of repeated exposure to secondary trauma and chronic stress. Though compassion fatigue and the need for self-care is gaining attention, efforts often ignore one key factor. Compassion fatigue is not just a problem of the individual. Organizations, too, suffer from compassion fatigue, creating a culture that can leave the helping professional feeling as if there is a void of compassion.The good news is that compassion is renewable.The Compassion Fatigued Organization offers a path for helping professionals to combat compassion fatigue and help restore a culture of compassion to their organizations. Drawing on research in trauma, compassion, and neuroscience, as well as decades of experience providing trauma-informed training and consultation to Human Service organizations, author Michelle Graff provides insight into the compassion fatigue phenomenon. She reveals the reason behind our responses and offers practical ways to build resiliency and cultivate compassion.
Call Number: HD4904.5 .G73 2020x
A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research For students and researchers new to mixed methods, A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research 2e by renowned author John W. Creswell provides a brief and practical introduction to mixed methods. Many graduate students and researchers in the social, behavioral and health sciences may not have the time or resources to read long treatises or stacks of journal articles on mixed methods research. This text quickly describes the basics of setting up and conducting a study using this methodology. Chapters are short and follow the process of research, from ensuring skills for conducting research, acknowledging the steps in planning a study, designing studies with increasing complexity, planning sampling strategies and integration, and writing up the results of your study. New chapters separate basic and advanced mixed methods designs for more depth, while a reorganization of chapters better align with the research process. Useful templates throughout allow readers to concretely design and organize their studies. Get started in mixed methods quickly with this brief primer.
Call Number: H62 .C69618 2022
Developing Cultural Humility: embracing race, privilege & power In Developing Cultural Humility: Embracing Race, Privilege, and Power, Editor Miguel Gallardo invites a group of psychologists who represent various cultural backgrounds but identify as "White" to share their individual journeys toward recognizing, understanding, and embracing their unique cultural identities and experiences. Contributing authors discuss the challenges and triumphs involved in the pursuit of integration of multicultural and social justice concerns in their personal and professional lives. They share how they remain engaged in the continual practice of self-discovery while remaining culturally responsive and humble. Each chapter centers on a journey of self-discovery by a White psychologist with a reflective commentary from a BIPOC psychologist. The commentaries give voice to the personal journeys of individuals from historically dehumanized communities and also offer them the opportunity to react to and comment on the stories of White psychologists. Together, the chapters provide a model for pushing discussions, re-centering dialogues, and building stronger, more respectful relationships. An exemplary resource to stimulate meaningful dialogue about race, privilege, power, and intentional self-reflection, Developing Cultural Humility is well suited for graduate-level courses in psychology, especially those with emphasis on multiculturalism and culturally responsive practice. Check out the accompanying video! Hosted by Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company, the Developing Cultural Humility: Understanding How to Engage in Difficult Dialogues video demonstrates how to generate more authentic and genuine multicultural conversations and relationships. Preview a sample of the video.
Call Number: HM753 .D49 2022
Digital Body Language: how to build trust & connection no matter the distance Digital Body Language
How to Build Trust and Connection, No Matter the Distance
The book we all read right now: the definitive guide to communicating and connecting wherever you are.
Email replies that show up a week later. Video chats full of ‘oops sorry no you go’ and ‘can you hear me?!’ Ambiguous text-messages. Weird punctuation you can’t make heads or tails of. Is it any wonder communication takes us so much time and effort to figure out? How did we lose our innate capacity to understand each other?
Humans rely on body language to connect and build trust, but with most of our communication happening from behind a screen, traditional body language signals are no longer visible – or are they? In Digital Body Language, Erica Dhawan, a go-to thought leader on collaboration and a passionate communication junkie, combines cutting edge research with engaging storytelling to decode the new signals and cues that have replaced traditional body language across genders, generations, and culture. In real life, we lean in, uncross our arms, smile, nod and make eye contact to show we listen and care. Online, reading carefully is the new listening. Writing clearly is the new empathy. And a phone or video call is worth a thousand emails.
Digital Body Language will turn your daily misunderstandings into a set of collectively understood laws that foster connection, no matter the distance. Dhawan investigates a wide array of exchanges―from large conferences and video meetings to daily emails, texts, IMs, and conference calls―and offers insights and solutions to build trust and clarity to anyone in our ever changing world.
"We need Erica Dhawan’s book more than ever." ―Sheryl Sandberg, COO of Facebook and founder of Lean In
“An indispensable guide to a business world turned upside down by video calls, group texts, and remote work." ―Daniel H. Pink, bestselling author of Drive
"This book is a breakthrough that will be read for years to come" ―Seth Godin, author of The Practice
Call Number: HD30.3 .D495 2021b
The Lean Sensei: go see challenge What is a lean sensei and what exactly do they do? That is the key question at the heart of this important new book sharing the secret of Lean thinking, which Dan Jones calls "the alternative business model for our age." Jones explains that "behind all the tools for operational excellence and the different management system needed to support their use, lies a much deeper challenge: to develop the human potential of everyone to create a culture of accelerating continuous improvement to meet today's changing circumstances. Learning is at the heart of lean." The Lean Sensei provides both a conceptual and hands-on toolkit for developing lean leaders-and becoming one yourself. It will challenge you to reflect on how you coach; share mindful questions that improve your awareness of what to look for; and keep both you and your students focused on the signs, symptoms, and syndromes that can slow your lean success. This book, written by six lean pioneers who have experienced and followed the path of the Sensei, shares a radical vision of how to flourish with this approach. They argue that Lean is a system of gaining competitiveness by continuously developing people, and as such, sensei play a vital role in helping others deepen their thinking every day. To be effective in transforming processes and the people who operate within them, any sensei "must first learn to transform yourself," they write. "No one can do lean for you. It is up to you. But you will also need a Sensei to help you discover new ways of seeing and acting, and to help everyone learn to adapt to a rapidly changing world. These lean pioneers discovered what Senseis really do. Learn from them before you search for your own Sensei." - Daniel T. Jones, co-author of The Machine That Changed The World, Lean Thinking, Lean Solutions and The Lean Strategy
Call Number: HD58.9 .B355 2019x
Motivational Interviewing for Leaders in the Helping Professions: facilitating change in organizations Written expressly for leaders in health care and the social services, this accessible book shows how motivational interviewing (MI) can transform conversations about change within an organization. The authors demonstrate powerful ways to use MI to generate solutions and get employees and organizations unstuck, whether mentoring a staff member in a new role, addressing performance problems, or redesigning procedures or programs. Readers are guided to skillfully and ethically apply the core MI processes--engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning--in the management context. User-friendly features include reproducible worksheets, end-of-chapter self-reflection exercises, and extended case vignettes. Purchasers get access to a companion website where they can download and print these materials in a convenient 8 ½" x 11" size. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
Call Number: BF637.I5 M365 2020
Navigating the Healthcare Workforce Shortage: How to Safeguard Your Organization's Most Important Asset Healthcare organizations have been beset by a series of harrowing storms. Environmental, market, and demographic conditions had already caused a significant workforce shortage when the COVID-19 pandemic added unprecedented challenges to the mix. Healthcare leaders cannot simply hope the storm will pass but must tackle these issues today. Navigating the Healthcare Workforce Shortage: How to Safeguard Your Organization's Most Important Asset provides simple, practical, and proven strategies for healthcare leaders to address one of the biggest workforce shortages in recent history. The ideas and plans presented are built on real-life examples of organizations that have successfully overcome their workforce challenges. Authors Tresha Moreland and Lori Wightman identify six key levers that healthcare leaders can use to address workforce shortages in their organization. The book delves deeply into the new problems posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and the creativity needed to persevere through them. The six levers covered in this book are: strengthening organizational resiliency; shaping a better workplace culture; improving employee retention rates; aligning care quality and organizational effectiveness; taking control of internal and external recruitment strategies; and preparing the workforce for the future. Confronting the healthcare workforce shortage will not be easy. But with some creative thinking, new approaches, and a commitment to change, healthcare organizations can experience a smoother voyage through the storm.
Call Number: RA971.35 .M67 2022
Physician Well-Being During Sustained Crisis: defusing burnout, building resilience, restoring hope AN ANTHOLOGY OF ESSENTIAL ESSAYSON PHYSICIAN WELL-BEING DURING SUSTAINED CRISISFatigue, isolation, worry, anxiety, depression, moral distress. These are the symptoms of physician burnout. The practice of medicine has never been easy. Years of demanding education. Long hours. Weekend call duty. Stress-laden procedures. Burgeoning regulatory requirements. Even a worldwide healthcare crisis. How is a physician to cope? This indispensable anthology of essential essays offers practical solutions.Physician Well-being During Sustained Crisis features over twenty authors-including active physician executives, counselors, and healthcare chaplains-addressing three core concepts related to the well-being of physicians: ? Section 1 explores the impact of severe and unremitting crisis-related stress on physicians and provides practical strategies and resources to ameliorate stress. ? Section 2 discusses the influence of organizational culture in sustaining professional wellness with initiatives designed to promote community and collegiality.? Section 3 delves into the unique role of spiritual support in defusing burnout and contributing to resilience.Discover support for clinicians who deal daily with long hours, stressful situations, and lack of opportunity for self-care. Learn from seasoned healthcare professionals working at the front lines as they tell their stories and offer counsel based on real-life experience.
Call Number: RC454 .P48 2021x
Transformative Healthcare: a physician-led prescription to save thousands of lives and millions of dollars WHAT IF EVERY PATIENT RECEIVED THE KIND OF FOCUSED PERSONAL ATTENTION DR. KUHLMAN USED WITH THREE U.S. PRESIDENTS? . . . KUHLMAN AND PEACH SHOW HOW YOU CAN PROVIDE THIS LEVEL OF CARE NOW. - Alan S. Frankel, MD, from the ForewordHealthcare in the United States is too expensive, and too many people die prematurely. Authors Kuhlman and Peach set out to address these issues. Their team: three people. Their budget: $0. Their purpose: to take better care of patients while lowering the cost of care.In one year, their innovations saved thousands of lives and millions of dollars in just a handful of hospitals. The results were published in The Lancet. Now, Kuhlman and Peach share their proven methodologies with you. Want to be inspired to create disruptive innovations in your organization? Transformative Healthcare will give you the inspiration and tools you need to begin.
Call Number: RA395.A3 K84 2021x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2020, 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?