Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
An Educator's Guide to Humanizing Nursing Education Delivers specific guidelines for implementing human caring within teaching practices along with a wealth of examples Grounded in the belief that translating caring science within teaching practices will humanize nursing education, this important book emphasizes the ways in which teachers can translate Human Caring and Caritas in order to include strategies for establishing authentic caring pedagogical relationships with their students. It aims to strengthen Human Caring as the basis for humanitarian teaching and to infuse the learning environment with caring practices for both students and teachers. The work provides an antidote for the continuous dominant biomedical and behavioral paradigm in nursing education. It includes specific guidelines for implementing Human Caring ethics, ontology, and epistemology throughout the teaching-learning community and describes how to translate caring values and assumptions into living Caritas as the nurse teachers' moral ideal and praxis of authentic caring pedagogical relationships. Pragmatic examples provided by administrators, teachers, and students illustrate the value of a humanitarian caring science paradigm for nursing education and caring praxis. Key Features: Delivers an internationally renowned scholars' perspective on teaching grounded in Human Caring Includes exemplars of educators' lived teaching experiences guided by their caring pedagogical praxis Provides examples of students' lived learning experiences within a caring- teaching environment Offers reflective practice exercises for nurse teachers to enhance their caring pedagogical relationships with students Provides guided caring artistic activities to promote ways of knowing, doing, being, and becoming in nursing education Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT71 .C375 2021
Gerontological Nurse Certification Review, Third Edition This unrivalled resource contains all of the information every RN needs to successfully prepare for the Gerontological Nurse Certification Exam (GNCE). It provides a thorough review of key content that reflects the exam blueprint, proven test-taking strategies, and over 500 examination-style Q&As with in-depth rationales. The third edition is completely updated to reflect the most current clinical information. It includes new and expanded information on standardized patients and assessments, safety and security issues, hospice and palliative care, updated drug data, and test-taking and exam preparation tips. With everything you need to pass the GNCE in one place, this resource promotes success through clear and concise content summaries and bulleted information, abundant tables and charts that reinforce knowledge, and more Q&As than any other GNCE resource. With the increasing elder population, the GNCE certification is essential to the availability of a nursing workforce educated in assessing and meeting the needs of older adults. New to the Third Edition: New and updated information in every chapter! Demographics; population trends; and safety, security, and ethical issues Developmental stages including Maslow, Erickson and Kubler Ross New standardized patient assessments Physical, psychological, and spiritual principles of end-of-life care Major acute and chronic illnesses by body system All new drug information Time-tested exam strategies for success Critical thinking strategies and helpful memorization aids Content available digitally via ExamPrepConnect for study on the go ExamPrepConnect Features: All the high-quality content from the book Personalized study plan based on exam date 500 questions and answers with rationales-study by topic to identify your strengths and weaknesses Lessons on key information and updated medications Discussion board to connect with the gerontological nursing exam-prep community Games to make studying fun See access details inside book.
Call Number: RC954 .K75 2021
Motivational Interviewing for Health Care Professionals -Two new chapters address the human brain and social threat, and how to know what MI skills to use -Provides a practical, step-by-step approach to the use of MI skills and tools in all practice settings -Includes multiple dialogues between HCPs and patients to illustrate the use of MI skills and tools -Case studies vividly demonstrate the application of MI through extensive dialogues with video links -Review questions at the end of each chapter underscore key concepts
Call Number: RC480.5 .B47 2020x
Professional and Therapeutic Communication Professional and Therapeutic Communication, second edition, provides students with a comprehensive understanding of communication as they enter complex and diverse multidisciplinary healthcare environments. It guides students through concepts fundamental to both the professional andtherapeutic elements of the caring relationship and all aspects of interpersonal interaction that are essential to safe, high-quality healthcare.The book is updated with rich pedagogical features to support student learning and includes additional content focusing on the important use of "self" in communication, extending into concepts of reflection and practice. It promotes skills development throughout with an emphasis on providing contentfor healthcare students from all health disciplines so they can effectively communicate with patients, clients and consumers in contemporary healthcare contexts.
Call Number: R118 .P764 2020x
Transcultural Nursing: assessment and intervention Provide quality care for clients from culturally diverse backgrounds! Transcultural Nursing, 8th Edition shows you how to apply assessment and intervention strategies to individuals from a variety of different cultures. Based on Giger and Davidhizer's unique transcultural model, this text helps you design culturally sensitive care with use of the six key aspects of cultural assessment: communication, time, space, social organization, environmental control, and biologic variations. Written by nursing educators Joyce Newman Giger and Linda G. Haddad, Transcultural Nursing shows how an understanding of cultural variations and individual patient needs will help you provide safe and effective care. UNIQUE! The six key aspects of cultural assessment each receive a full chapter of coverage, allowing you to also apply the Transcultural Assessment Model?to cultures not covered in the text. Case studies and critical decision-making questions help you apply the assessment framework to practice. 23 chapters on specific cultural groups apply this assessment model to the clients most commonly encountered in United States health care settings, with nearly all chapters written by contributors who are part of that ethnic group. Client care plans in culture-specific chapters show how to apply principles to the needs of individuals. Review questions reinforce your understanding of cultural principles, with answers found in the back of the book. Discussions of spirituality?throughout the text provide a holistic, integrated approach to culture, beliefs, and assessment. NEW co-author Dr. Linda Haddad is an internationally recognized cultural scholar who has taught nursing around the globe, has acted as an advisor and coordinator for the World Health Organization, and has published over 30 scholarly articles on nursing with a focus on understanding the cultural implication to care. UPDATED! Cultural chapters are completely revised to reflect the shifting experiences of cultural groups in our society.
Call Number: RT86.54 .T73 2021
ABSITE Slayer Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ace the ABSITE with the most rigorous, high-yield exam review available Focusing specifically on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination, ABSITE Slayer reduces pre-test anxiety and provides the knowledge and confidence you need to pass the exam. Packed with critical, up-to-date information, this powerful study aid provides a complete framework for your exam preparation and is highly efficient for last-minute review, as well. You'll find everything you need to ace the exam in one comprehensive package--from full-color illustrations to "make or break" tips--delivered by expert authors who know exactly what it takes to succeed. What makes ABSITE Slayer the leading study aid on the market? 450+ multiple-choice and 1,000+ quick-hit single answer questions Test-taking tips that can make the difference between success and failure Full-color illustrations of must-know anatomy Valuable clinical pearls Easy-to-retain concise text Logical organ-based organization Chapters on pharmacology, anesthesia, cell biology, and fluids/electrolytes/nutrition
Call Number: RD37.2 .A283 2021x
Biophysical Agents: theory and practice Illustrated, user-friendly design helps you think more critically as a therapist and strengthen the concepts that are critical to your success. Content focuses on functional outcomes and the importance of documentation. Case studies and checklists for application procedures foster decision-making skills. Patient scenarios outline utilization of the physical agent, and include documentation, safety features, information about the patient that would alter treatment, what should be done after the physical agent, and where the physical agent fits into the treatment plan. Guided lab activities demonstrate how to apply theory to practice. Terminology reflects the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice. Indications and contraindications for each physical agent provide a resource you can use in specific situations. Quick reference section features commonly used abbreviations and acronyms, units of measure, and conversion charts. Sample assignments for implementing evidence-based practice into the study of biophysical agents incorporate clinical instructors into the discussion. Sample discussion points show you how to approach clinicians who are hesitant to accept biophysical agents into their clinical practice or discuss the potential for its use with their patients.
Call Number: RM725 .B37 2021x
Publication Date: 2020-09-29
Core Topics in Cardiac Anaesthesia This fully-updated third edition provides a practical and concise guide to all aspects of the perioperative care of cardiac surgical patients. Produced by recognised leaders from world-renowned cardiac centres, this is the authoritative text for residents and fellows in anaesthesia and cardiac surgery, clinical perfusionists, and critical care nurses. Updated chapters include regional anesthesia, paediatric cardiac anaesthesia, and anaesthesia for specific procedures such as aortic valve surgery and cardiac transplantation. An entire section is dedicated to transoesophageal echocardiography (TOE) in recognition of the increasing demand for basic TOE training. The book also includes an expanded chapter on the applications and anaesthetic implications of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). The text focuses on clinical practice and the basic science and pharmacology underpinning cardiac anaesthesia, ensuring the reader can easily apply the knowledge gained to real-life situations.
Call Number: RD87.3.H43 C67 2020
Dysphagia Following Stroke After a stroke, one of the basic needs for a patient is to be able to swallow in order to eat and then to have the motor skills to resume speaking. Daniels (speech pathology, Baylor School of Medicine) and Huckabee (communication disorders, University of Canterbury, NZ) give therapists and clinicians a thorough training manual covering assessment, examinations and treatment options. While intended for professionals, the writing is clear enough for concerned family members and friends of the patient to find it helpful.
Call Number: RC815.2 .D36 2019
Essentials of Human Diseases and Conditions Enhance your patient care with a basic knowledge of pathology and disease! Essentials of Human Diseases and Conditions, 7th Edition is an invaluable handbook for healthcare providers in any healthcare setting. It profiles hundreds of diseases and disorders in a way that is easy to understand and easy to use, following the progression of a patient's experience from signs and symptoms to screening, diagnosis, treatment options, and patient education. This edition adds new coverage of the opioid crisis, cancer treatment, and other emerging issues. From noted educators Margaret Schell Frazier and Tracie Fuqua, this reference prepares you for success in the classroom, on board exams, and as a medical assistant or health professional. More than 500 vibrant illustrations and detailed photos clarify difficult concepts and depict medical conditions. Critical thinking and real-life application is promoted through Challenge scenarios with questions, Critical Thinking questions (in the print book and on the Evolve website), and Enrichment boxes. Student workbook includes a wealth of exercises to reinforce your understanding of important concepts from the text. Available separately. ICD-10 codes with each disease are included for practice in locating the appropriate insurance codes. Clear, approachable writing style makes it easier to learn and understand the material. Alert boxes provide clinical tips, including safety precautions and best practices. Concise, consistent monograph-style presentation describes hundreds of medical diseases and conditions. NEW content keeps you current with the latest in cancer treatment, mental health, grief, suicide, HPV, contraception, aging, memory care, the opioid crisis, and more. NEW clinical photos and updated illustrations show concepts, processes, and medical conditions. UPDATED case studies provide additional opportunities to apply concepts to the clinical setting. EXPANDED focus on A&P and medical terminology makes learning easier for beginning students. NEW chapter quiz questions prepare you for success on classroom and credentialing exams.
Call Number: RC46 .F79 2021
Flexible Bronchoscopy In this fourth edition of the popular Flexible Bronchoscopy, which has been revised and updated throughout, the world's leading specialists discuss the technical and procedural aspects of performing diagnostic and therapeutic bronchoscopy. Four new chapters have been added, taking into account new developments in EBUS and electromagnetic navigation.
Call Number: RC734.B7 F54 2020
Laboratory Management, Principles and Processes Laboratory Management Principles and Processes Fourth Edition Denise M. Harmening, Ph.D MT(ASCP) Redefining the standard for laboratory management, Denise Harmening, along with 40 contributors, provides insight and guidance into the principles of laboratory operations. Key features include chapter outlines, educational objectives, opening case studies, study guide questions, key terms, summary charts, and problem-based learning activities. Twenty chapters are divided into four major areas: Principles of Laboratory Management, Human Resource Management, Financial Management, and Operations. Unique to this book are chapters on Quality Management in the Laboratory, Education and Training, the Cost of Quality, Laboratory Safety and Ethical Issues in Laboratory Management and a glossary. Appropriate whether you are a student or an experienced manager, using this text for teaching or as a reference, Laboratory Management contains a thorough coverage of the principles and processes of management. Quality Management in the Laboratory Organizational Structure: A Look at Concepts and Models Principles of Leadership: Past, Present, and Future Management Functions Managerial Decision-Making and Process Improvement Human Resource Guidelines and Regulations Job Analysis, Work Descriptions, and Work Groups Performance Evaluation and Development Education & Training: Practical Tips for Educators and Trainers Fundamentals of Financial Management Cost/Benefit Analysis Effective Budgeting in the Laboratory: Practical Tips The Cost of Quality Healthcare Reimbursement Compliance Issues The Regulations Laboratory Safety Process Designs Workflow & Staffing Laboratory Information Systems: Flexibility Is the Key to Modernization Marketing Concepts Ethical Issues in Laboratory Management A Laboratory Management CyberCourse TM is available online and includes: Chapter PowerPoints, Discussion Board Case Histories, Learning Units, Exams and a Sample Syllabus.
Call Number: RB36.3.F55 L332 2021
Management/Employee Development Books
Authentic Diversity: how to change the workplace for good The nation has transformed. The calls for racial equity are loud and insistent and they are now being listened to. And yet, companies across the country are still far behind when it comes to equity in the workplace. For decades, we've heard variations on the same theme on how to increase diversity and inclusion and we have still not moved. If we want equity to matter inside and outside the workplace, if we want to be real allies for change, then we need a new approach. We need to stop following trends. We need to lead change.
In Authentic Diversity, culture change expert and diversity speaker, Michelle Silverthorn, explains how to transform diversity and inclusion from mere lip service into the very heart of leadership. Following the journey of a Black woman in the workplace, leaders learn the old rules of diversity that keep failing her and millions like her again and again, and the new rules they must put in place to make success a reality for everyone. A millennial, immigrant, and Black woman in America, Michelle will show you how to lead a space centered on equity, allyship, and inclusion and how together we can build a new organization, and nation, centered on justice.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 S55 2021x
Global Healthcare: Issues and Policies with Navigate 2 Advantage Access Global Health Care: Issues and Policies, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive resource for nursing students focused on critical and timely global health topics. Written by academic authors, scientists and health practitioners, the Fourth Edition provides students with a foundational knowledge of health policy issues from various geographical regions. The goal of this text is to impart a well-rounded perspective to how certain areas around the globe are oftentimes significantly impacted by world events. * New coverage of global infectious diseases and non-communicable diseases* Zika virus and the World Health Organization's fight against Ebola in the Congo* New chapter on Native American health issues* New content on global neurological health issues with specific coverage of pain management * Overview of the United Nation's Sustainable Development Goals * Expanded content on child maltreatment and abuse * Updated content on Occupational health
Call Number: RA441 .G573 2022
Information Technology for Healthcare Managers, Ninth Edition Though healthcare is largely technology driven, the deployment of health information technology (HIT) has occurred in waves rather than a steady flow, and usually in response to government mandates. This emergent HIT strategy has culminated in highly complex and dynamic systems crafted over many years using products from multiple vendors. Healthcare organizations are now focused on big data aggregated from myriad data-producing applications both in and beyond the enterprise. Healthcare leaders must position themselves to leverage the new opportunities that arise from HIT's ascendance and to mine the vast amount of available data for competitive advantage. Where can they turn for insight? With the unique advantage of both academic and real-world experience in HIT leadership, the authors of Information Technology for Healthcare Managers blend management theory, cutting-edge tech knowledge, and a thorough grounding in the healthcare applications of technology. Opinions abound on technology's best uses for society, but healthcare organizations need more than opinion--they need knowledge and strategy. This book will help leaders combine tech savvy with business savvy for sustainable success in a dynamic environment.
Call Number: RA971.23 .A976 2021
Just Medicine: a cure for racial inequality in American health care Offers an innovative plan to eliminate inequalities in American health care and save the lives they endanger Over 84,000 black and brown lives are needlessly lost each year due to health disparities: the unfair, unjust, and avoidable differences between the quality and quantity of health care provided to Americans who are members of racial and ethnic minorities and care provided to whites. Health disparities have remained stubbornly entrenched in the American health care system--and in Just Medicine Dayna Bowen Matthew finds that they principally arise from unconscious racial and ethnic biases held by physicians, institutional providers, and their patients. Implicit bias is the single most important determinant of health and health care disparities. Because we have missed this fact, the money we spend on training providers to become culturally competent, expanding wellness education programs and community health centers, and even expanding access to health insurance will have only a modest effect on reducing health disparities. We will continue to utterly fail in the effort to eradicate health disparities unless we enact strong, evidence-based legal remedies that accurately address implicit and unintentional forms of discrimination, to replace the weak, tepid, and largely irrelevant legal remedies currently available. Our continued failure to fashion an effective response that purges the effects of implicit bias from American health care, Matthew argues, is unjust and morally untenable. In this book, she unites medical, neuroscience, psychology, and sociology research on implicit bias and health disparities with her own expertise in civil rights and constitutional law. In a time when the health of the entire nation is at risk, it is essential to confront the issues keeping the health care system from providing equal treatment to all.
Call Number: RA448.4 .M38 2018
The Leader's Guide to Unconscious bias: how to reframe bias, cultivate connection and create high-performing teams Unconscious bias affects everyone. It can look like the disappointment of an HR professional when a candidate for a new position asks about maternity leave. It can look like preferring the application of an Ivy League graduate over one from a state school. It can look like assuming a man is more entitled to speak in a meeting than his female junior colleague.
Ideal for every manager who wants to understand and move past their own preconceived ideas, The Leader’s Guide to Unconscious Bias explains that bias is the result of mental shortcuts, our likes and dislikes, and is a natural part of the human condition. And what we assume about each other and how we interact with one another has vast effects on our organizational success—especially in the workplace. Teaching you how to overcome unconscious bias, this book provides more than thirty unique tools, such as a prep worksheet and a list of ways to reframe your unconscious thoughts.
According to the experts at FranklinCovey, your workplace can achieve its highest performance rate once you start to overcome your biases and allow your employees to be whole people. By recognizing bias, emphasizing empathy and curiosity, and making true understanding a priority in the workplace, we can unlock the potential of every person we encounter.
Call Number: HD57.7 .F855 2020x
Leadership and Diversity in Higher Education: communication and actions that work #1 NEW RELEASE, 5 STAR AMAZON DIGITAL BOOK REVIEWS - Cultural misunderstandings and violence plague campuses. This paperback covers leadership and diversity in higher education from a communication perspective. While diverse student numbers on campuses are growing, diverse administrators are not. Student retention is a huge problem. We are headed for a cultural precipice and need to act with urgency. Mini-cases and more than 150 action steps are included. Six ways to increase your leadership power, ten ways body language and environment impact diversity, five stages of conflict management, how to run successful job searches, and how to engage mainstream and diversity groups move us from woes to wins. "
Call Number: LB2341 .C35 2018x
Outcome Oriented Chaplaincy: perceptive, intentional, and effective caring Outcome Oriented Chaplaincy (OOC) is a method of chaplaincy care that emphasizes achieving, describing, measuring, and improving the outcomes that result from a chaplain's work, alongside the parallel framework of evidence-based healthcare. This book examines the underlying principles of OOC and incorporates first-hand accounts of chaplains who have made a measured difference to patients and their families.
Brent Peery draws on more than fifteen years of experience within the field of Outcome Oriented Chaplaincy, exploring its evolution and history within the complex culture of healthcare, and how its underlying principles of assessments, interventions, outcomes and documentation are most effectively put into practice. This practical guide will benefit chaplains interested in the approach of OOC, and identify a framework for providing the best spiritual care for those facing life's most difficult moments.
Call Number: BV4335 .P447 2021x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?