Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Dossey and Keegan's Holistic Nursing: a Handbook for Practice with Navigate 2 Advantage Access Dossey & Keegan's Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Eighth Edition covers basic and advanced concepts of holism, demonstrating how holistic nursing spans all specialties and levels. This text is distinguished by its emphasis on theory, research, and evidence-based practice essential to holistic nursing. Students and professionals alike need a comprehensive, up-to-date text to guide them in learning holistic nursing concepts and how to integrate those concepts into clinical practice and their daily lives. This approach prepares students and professionals to incorporate a holistic philosophy in both their work and personal lives to better communicate with patients and provide whole-person patient care. - Sections are aligned with the American Holistic Nurses Association (AHNA) Core Values to guide the reader through foundations of holistic nursing. - Include updates related to the 3rd edition of AHNA/ANA Holistic Nursing Scope and Standards (2019)- Expanded content on self-reflection and self-care - Revised chapter on "Professional Development Across the Lifespan" expands on the integration of holism into education and practice- "Advanced Practice Nursing" section will include additional topics such as leadership and approaches for chronic health challenges to encourage continued holistic practice by advanced practice nurses.- Case studies incorporated throughout chapters help readers make the connections to put holistic theories and concepts into practice.
Call Number: RT42 .H65 2022
Emotional Intelligence in Nursing The first book on emotional intelligence (EI) written for nurses, this comprehensive resource delivers both the theoretical knowledge and practical skills to improve patient outcomes. Authored by one of the foremost experts in EI and nursing, the text discusses the foundations of EI and shows how EI skills can and should be applied to any practice setting in nursing. Using core concepts of EI and evidence-based research, this publication discusses the implications of EI on key nursing challenges such as burnout, patient safety, staff retention, conflict management, ethical decision-making, quality and safety, and wellness. Emotional Intelligence in Nursing addresses the application of EI skills in various arenas of clinical practice and in advanced practice nursing roles. Each chapter contains one or two case studies featuring a nurse or care team at a crossroads event. Sometimes the clinicians in the case studies use EI skills; sometimes they do not. The case study is then analyzed through the lens of the four basic EI abilities, highlighting key practical takeaways for the reader to absorb and incorporate into their own practice to provide better care for themselves, their care team, and their patients. Key Features: Demonstrates how the implementation of EI results in superior patient outcomes Provides a foundation in EI concepts and demonstrates its application in a variety of nursing practice settings Discusses implications of EI for teaching, burnout/thriving, staff retention, conflict management, and ethical considerations Presents real-life scenarios through case studies Address the needs of all nurses, from students to educators, from new nurses to nurse executives
Call Number: RT41 .C63 2021
Essentials of Nursing Informatics, 7th Edition Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. From a leading pioneer in nursing informatics--the most current and authoritative information for mastering this increasingly important topic With contributions from the world's top experts, Nursing Informatics, Seventh Edition provides the information and insights you need to excel in data management for academic and career success. This fully updated and revised edition covers the use of computers to nursing administration, education, and research; electronic medical records and personal health records; coding; and government, clinical, and private sector system requirements. You'll learn about all the latest changes in technology, administration, policy, and their effects on healthcare informatics in the U.S. and you'll get current information about computer systems, information theory, continuum of care information technology systems, educational applications, and research applications. And you'll find international perspectives not found in other texts, including Europe, Canada, South America, Pacific Rim, Asia, and South Africa.
Call Number: RT50.5 .E87 2021
Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery Now in its sixth edition, Robert M. Bojar's??Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery??remains the go-to practical guide for all of those involved in the care of the cardiac surgery patient. Written in outline format, it provides a comprehensive, detailed, and clearly explained review of cardiac surgical disease and perioperative management that is of value to practicing cardiac surgeons as well as to cardiologists, residents, fellows, advanced practice providers, critical care and floor nurses, perfusionists, and medical students. Extensively rewritten with updated references to incorporate the latest concepts, guidelines, protocols, and medications used in cardiac surgical practice, this classic text retains the pragmatic features that have made it the gold standard reference that clinicians have used worldwide for the past 30 years. Highlights include: Full coverage of cardiac surgical diseases, including pathophysiology, indications for surgery per guidelines, and figures of operative procedures and diagnostic techniques, with a panoply of examples Chronologic evaluation of patients from preoperative assessment to intraoperative considerations to postoperative care for each procedure Extensive chapters discussing organ system management in the ICU, followed by a discussion of later postoperative management and problems Incorporation of newer techniques (TAVR, Mitraclip, etc.) within the chronologic format Easy access to information using an outline format, markers on the free edges to identify chapters, synopsis pages at the beginning of each chapter, and a comprehensive index to provide easy referencing within the text Updated references throughout that are available from on-line resources 21 appendices summarizing order sheets, protocols, commonly used drug doses, body mass index, and other important information?? Praise for the fifth edition: "Surgeons are frequently asked to recommend a text that can be used to guide the care of their patients. This comprehensive text is the standard by which any other text should be judged." --Critical Care Medicine "It remains a classic and a must have for anyone involved in cardiac surgery." --Perfusion.com
Call Number: RD598 .B64 2021
Measuring Capacity to Care Using Nursing Data Measuring Capacity to Care Using Nursing Data presents evidence-based solutions regarding the adoption of safe staffing principles and the optimum use of operational data to enable health service delivery strategies that result in improved patient and organizational outcomes. Readers will learn how to make better use of informatics to collect, share, link and process data collected operationally for the purpose of providing real-time information to decision- makers. The book discusses topics such as dynamic health care environments, health care operational inefficiencies and costly events, how to measure nursing care demand, nursing models of care, data quality and governance, and big data. The content of the book is a valuable source for graduate students in informatics, nurses, nursing managers and several members involved in health care who are interested in learning more about the beneficial use of informatics for improving their services.
Call Number: RT50.5 .H69 2020x
Medical-Surgical Nursing: concepts for interprofessional collaborative care NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a full nursing-process format and extra depth to help prepare you for the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Emphasis on NGN preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions and new chapter-ending Mastery Questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach to care views medical and nursing management through the lens of the nursing process and the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and aligns with the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on Evolve are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid use disorder is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. Consistent use of interprofessional terminology promotes interprofessional collaboration through the use of a common healthcare language, instead of using isolated nursing-specific diagnostic language. UNIQUE! Enhanced conceptual approach to learning integrates nursing concepts and exemplars, providing a foundation in professional nursing concepts and health and illness concepts, and showing their application in each chapter. Unparalleled emphasis on clinical reasoning and clinical judgment helps you develop these vital skills when applying concepts to clinical situations. Emphasis on QSEN and patient safety focuses on safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alert, Critical Rescue, and Action Alert boxes. Direct, easy-to-read writing style features concise sentences and straightforward vocabulary. Emphasis on health promotion and community-based care reflects the reality that most adult health care takes place in environments outside of high-acuity (hospital) settings. NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a nursing-process format and depth to help prepare you for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on the companion Evolve website are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid misuse is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency. NEW! Simplified and streamlined chapters make the book easier to use and information easier to find.
Call Number: RT41 .I36 2021 - 2 Vol. set
The Rebel Nurse Handbook: inspirational stories by shift disruptions Mentorship from an array of Nurse Innovators "As you will read the stories ahead of the incredible, rock star Rebel Nurses who each have challenged the status quo and chosen the road less traveled, remember that each journey has its own period of self-doubt, fear of failure and uncertainty of success - but they persevered. We hope that these stories will inspire you to believe in yourself and aim a little higher each day." --From the Foreword Molly K. McCarthy MBA, BSN, RN-BC National Director, US Provider Industry and Chief Nursing Officer Microsoft US Health and Life Sciences SONSIEL is recognized as an Associate Member of The Conference of Non-Governmental Organizations (CoNGO) to the United Nations. This compilation of stories from more than 40 diverse nurse leaders, innovators, and entrepreneurs portrays the winding and demanding paths that every nurse has braved in order to improve themselves, their patients' care, and the healthcare of today. These Rebel Nurses push the boundaries of their profession by demanding a seat at the table of healthcare innovation, lobbying on Capitol Hill, expanding their horizons to fix the broken healthcare systems around the world, and valuing the humanity of the inevitable moments of life's end. The inspiring innovation and entrepreneurship of these nurse leaders ranges from the incorporation of informatics or design communities and the implementation of artificial intelligence, to the creation of New York's Silicon Valley or nationwide adolescent programs that focus on school shootings--consistently disrupting the status quo through implementing life-changing procedures and policies. Readers will be inspired to transform today's era of healthcare by improving communities, implementing proactive care, and enhancing the environment of health and healing through research and policy application. Key Features/BenefitsDevelop a personalized plan for success by using the Motivational Introductions, Rebel Nurse's Progress Notes, Thought-Provoking Questions, and Online Resources.Helps nurses at all career levels embrace and develop leadership potential to effect change in healthcareDraws on the leadership expertise of internationally recognized nurse innovators, entrepreneurs, and leaders to mentor and inspire the readerProvides powerful tools to help nurses evolve in their roles of innovationExplains the "Five 'Rights' of Healthcare Innovation" and other innovative methodologies to spur creative problem-solvingAppendix includes a list of dynamic resources authored by SONSIEL members for further insight and professional development
Call Number: RT42 .L68 2021x
Toxic Nursing: managing bullying, bad attitudes, and total turmoil Today's nurse managers--tasked with a wide array of responsibilities from staffing and budgeting to promoting safe and effective patient care--face unprecedented demands in their role as leaders of the largest healthcare workforce in the industry. They must be clinically competent, relationally savvy, and administratively gifted--and find the time to create and sustain a healthy work environment. In addition to those demands, the lopsided aging of the population has had a double impact: More nurses are retiring from the profession at the same time as elderly baby boomers require increasingly complex and costly care. As nursing workforce retirements increase, a continued push for effective leadership will be critical to healthcare outcomes in the coming decades. As workforce shortages continue, it will be critical to educate managers who can advocate for, support, and empower staff. Healthcare organizations have a duty to provide nurse managers with the tools and support needed to manage effectively. Toxic Nursing is an integral part of that education. Each chapter begins with an overview of particular areas where nurse toxicity often arises. Following that is a section titled "Clearing Toxicity: Scenarios, Insights, and Reflections." Here there are scenarios based on real-life accounts, with insight and advice from nurse leaders--a group of 31 experts in nursing management who were asked to respond to the narratives from the perspective of preventing, addressing, or minimizing the consequences of conflict. Experts were asked to avoid citing references and rely on their own experiences and intuitive skills to provide practical advice about the situation. Following the "Nurse Leader Insight" section are "Reflections" with prompts to help readers explore the issues presented. At the end of each chapter is a section called "Fostering Cultural Change" that can help guide you as you explore with your staff methods to decrease toxicity and promote a healthier and more satisfying work environment. Toxic Nursing, Second Edition helps nurses--from bedside nurses to charge nurses to nurse managers--navigate the nuances and gray areas of toxic behavior.
Call Number: RT89.3 .D455 2021
Cardiac Catheterization Angiography and Intervention The leading comprehensive reference on cardiac catheterization through eight outstanding editions, Grossman & Baim's Cardiac Catheterization, Angiography, and Intervention, Ninth Edition, continues to keep you up to date with every facet of this fast-changing field. Designed for quick access and easy reference, this text offers expert overviews of the theoretical and practical aspects of clinical issues, with emphasis given to hemodynamic data and tracings and interventional procedures. An impressive multimedia library with new videos and cases make this reference even more valuable for cardiologists and interventional cardiologists at all levels of experience. Features clear, succinct text highlighted by summary tables, graphs, illustrations, and real-life images that illustrate procedures, complications, and bailout methods. Includes new chapters on non-valvular interventions for structural heart disease; percutaneous therapies for aortic and pulmonic valvular heart disease; and percutaneous therapies for mitral and tricuspid valvular heart disease, and more. Provides fully updated content throughout, additional cases and videos online. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC683.5.C25 C38 2021
Dale's Pharmacology Condensed Covering the essential basic science and principles of pharmacology using concise text and diagrams, Dale's Pharmacology Condensed, 3rd Edition, presents the key facts and concepts that are key to understanding how drugs work and their underlying pathophysiological processes. Each chapter provides an organized, consistent approach to efficient learning and retention of complex information. This concise text is an ideal companion volume to Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, as well as a stand-alone condensed textbook or review book for exams. All content has been thoroughly revised and updated, with new coverage of fast-moving therapeutic areas such as the development of biologics, new therapeutics for cancer treatments, dermatology and immune mediated diseases, and new advances in pharmacological principles such as biased agonism. Each chapter condenses key information to provide the necessary core knowledge, as well as essential therapeutic information. Written by experienced teachers who provide a clear focus on what today's students need to know. Ideal for exam preparation with explanatory diagrams throughout, important drugs identified with bold type, and multiple choice questions for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RM300 .P355 2021x
Essentials of MRI Safety Essentials of MRI Safety is a comprehensive guide that enables practitioners to recognise and assess safety risks and follow appropriate and effective safety procedures in clinical practice. The text covers all the vital aspects of clinical MRI safety, including the bio-effects of MRI, magnet safety, occupational exposure, scanning passive and active implants, MRI suite design, institutional governance, and more. Complex equations and models are stripped back to present the foundations of theory and physics necessary to understand each topic, from the basic laws of magnetism to fringe field spatial gradient maps of common MRI scanners. Written by an internationally recognised MRI author, educator, and MRI safety expert, this important textbook: Reflects the most current research, guidelines, and MRI safety information Explains procedures for scanning pregnant women, managing MRI noise exposure, and handling emergency situations Prepares candidates for the American Board of MR Safety exam and other professional certifications Aligns with MRI safety roles such as MR Medical Director (MRMD), MR Safety Officer (MRSO) and MR Safety Expert (MRSE) Contains numerous illustrations, figures, self-assessment tests, key references, and extensive appendices Essentials of MRI Safety is an indispensable text for all radiographers and radiologists, as well as physicists, engineers, and researchers with an interest in MRI.
Call Number: RC78.7.N83 M38 2020
Goodman's Medical Cell Biology Goodman's Medical Cell Biology, Fourth Edition, has been student tested and approved for decades. This updated edition of this essential textbook provides a concise focus on eukaryotic cell biology (with a discussion of the microbiome) as it relates to human and animal disease. This is accomplished by explaining general cell biology principles in the context of organ systems and disease. This new edition is richly illustrated in full color with both descriptive schematic diagrams and laboratory findings obtained in clinical studies. This is a classic reference for moving forward into advanced study.
Call Number: QH581.2 .M43 2021
Handbook of Special Tests in Musculoskeletal Examination Despite growing reliance on imaging, clinical examination remains the bedrock of diagnosis of the musculoskeletal patient. Special tests have widespread utility particularly in sport?and can often?help to elucidate a patient's presentation where the lesion is subtle and?otherwise difficult to detect?and, in turn,?guide management?and treatment.?Special Tests in Musculoskeletal Examination 2nd Edition is a pocketbook guide to over 100?peripheral tests. It includes: a fully illustrated step-by-step guide to each test giving clinicians all the?information they need at their fingertips. a focussed review of the latest evidence and how this applies to practice. use of clinical tips and expert opinion to allow clinicians to select the most?appropriate test and interpret the results meaningfully. Full review of the evidence integrated into the entire text. New clinical context section at the start of each section making it easy to?find and providing advanced background knowledge to extend the readers knowledge. Brand new colour photography to show each test clearly throughout. Additional tests included allowing readers to extend their knowledge and?understanding.
Call Number: RC925.7 .H38 2020
Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology The new and fully updated edition of the definitive haematology textbook for undergraduate and postgraduate students and trainees Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology is widely regarded as the most authoritative introduction to the subject available, helping medical students and trainee doctors understand the essential principles of modern clinical and laboratory haematology for nearly four decades. Now in its eighth edition, this market-leading textbook introduces the formation and function of blood cells and the diseases that arise from dysfunction and disruption of these processes. Beautifully presented with over 300 stunning colour illustrations, the new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect recent advances in knowledge of the pathogenesis of blood diseases and their diagnosis and treatment. This new text: Describes disorders and diseases of the blood such as the various anaemias and white cell disorders, leukaemias, lymphomas and myeloma, as well as bleeding and thrombotic disorders Incorporates the latest World Health Organization (WHO) classification of haematological neoplastic diseases Reviews contemporary application of multiparameter flow cytometry, DNA sequencing and other technologies in evaluating patients with suspected haematological disease Discusses the therapeutic use of chimeric antigen T-cells, mono- and bi-specific monoclonal antibodies, inhibitors of intracellular signalling pathways and direct orally acting anticoagulants Includes sections on blood transfusion and the haematological aspects of systemic diseases, pregnancy and the neonate Hoffbrand's Essential Haematology is a vital resource for all students and trainees, and a valuable reference for practicing specialists wishing to update their knowledge.
Call Number: RC633 .H627 2020
Pharmacology: an Essential Textbook The perfect pharmacology study tool for the classroom and examinations! Pharmacology: An Essential Textbook, Second Edition by Mark Simmons covers pharmacology facts and concepts necessary for success in the classroom and on board examinations. The clear and concise text presents important, clinically relevant pharmacology knowledge and concepts students must master. The updated edition includes the addition of new drugs, a chapter on water and fatsoluble vitamins, a greater number of clinical questions, and a fresh design. Key Features Hundreds of full-color illustrations, beautiful infographics, and summary tables provide visual depictions of important concepts The succinct, bullet-point format focuses on must-master information Flow charts used to delineate drug effects make complex interactions between different cells and organs easier to comprehend Sidebars build on and integrate learning across the basic sciences and apply it to the clinical setting Over 400 board-style and factual self-testing questions with explanatory answers are ideal for exam practice An additional 200 questions and answers are available online at MedOne via the scratch-off code in the book This is an invaluable resource for medical and nursing school pharmacology courses, pharmacy school students, other health professionals studying pharmacology, and advanced undergraduate courses in pharmacology or pharmaceutical sciences. This book provides robust test prep for the USMLE® Step 1, COMLEX Level 1, NAPLEX, NCLEX and other licensing exams. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RM301.13 .S56 2021
Management/Employee Development Books
Advancing Online Teaching: creating equity-based learning environments The goal ofteaching online is fundamentally the same as teaching face-to-face:facilitating the learning of allstudents to the greatest extent possible. This book differs from other books ononline teaching in that, in the process of offering guidance on course designand planning, developing outcomes and appropriate engaging activities, managingthe workload and assessment, the authors pay explicit attention throughout tothe distinct and diverse needs of students and offer effective strategies toaccommodate them in a comprehensive and inclusive way by using the principlesof Universal Design for Learning. By following thoseprinciples from the outset when planning a course, all students will benefit,and most particularly those whom the research shows have the greatest achievementgaps when taking online courses -- males, first generation and low incomestudents, those from underrepresented minority groups, the academicallyunderprepared, students with disabilities, and those with limited online accessor lacking readiness for online learning. Beyond goodplanning and design, Kelly and Zakrajsek offer ideas for creating inclusivecourse environments and activities, such as using culturally appropriate contentand making it accessible in multiple formats. They also share methods to fosterfaculty-learner interaction and increase personal connections with students,and among students, through group activities or learning communities, which areso critical to motivation and success. Faculty new toonline teaching as well as more experienced readers will find a wealth ofpractical guidance on developing and honing both fully online and blendedcourses and, as importantly, a wealth of proven ideas to help the newgeneration of students with diverse needs to succeed.
Call Number: LB1044.87 .K468 2021
Data-Driven Quality Improvement and Sustainability in Healthcare: an interprofessional approach Data-Driven Quality Improvement and Sustainability in Health Care: An Interprofessional Approach provides healthcare leaders and administrators of all disciplines with a solid understanding of data and how to leverage data to improve outcomes, fuel innovation, and achieve sustained results. It sets the stage by examining the current state of the healthcare landscape; new imperatives to meet policy, regulatory, and consumer demands; and the role of data in administrative and clinical decision-making. It helps the reader identify the methods and tools that support thoughtful and thorough data analysis and offers practical application of data-driven processes that determine performance in healthcare operations, value- and performance-based contracts, and risk contracts.Misuse or inconsistent use of data leads to ineffective and errant decision-making. This text highlights common barriers and pitfalls related to data use and provide strategies for how to avoid these pitfalls. In addition, chapters feature key points, reflection questions, and real-life interprofessional case exemplars to help the reader draw distinctions and apply principles to their own practice. Chapters also outline core competencies and skills required for leaders to master use of data and steer their teams to success. Key Features: Provides an understanding of the role of data in the current healthcare landscape and how to leverage data to drive innovative and sustainable change Offers frameworks, methodology, and tools to support quality improvement measures Demonstrates the application of data and how it shapes quality and safety initiatives through real-life case exemplars Outlines core competencies and skills required for leaders to achieve results Highlights common barriers and pitfalls related to data use and provide strategies for how to avoid these pitfalls Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: R859.7.D35 D383 2021
Humanocracy: creating organizations as amazing as the people inside them A Wall Street Journal Bestseller In a world of unrelenting change and unprecedented challenges, we need organizations that are resilient and daring. Unfortunately, most organizations, overburdened by bureaucracy, are sluggish and timid. In the age of upheaval, top-down power structures and rule-choked management systems are a liability. They crush creativity and stifle initiative. As leaders, employees, investors, and citizens, we deserve better. We need organizations that are bold, entrepreneurial, and as nimble as change itself. Hence this book. In Humanocracy, Gary Hamel and Michele Zanini make a passionate, data-driven argument for excising bureaucracy and replacing it with something better. Drawing on more than a decade of research and packed with practical examples, Humanocracy lays out a detailed blueprint for creating organizations that are as inspired and ingenious as the human beings inside them. Critical building blocks include: Motivation: Rallying colleagues to the challenge of busting bureaucracy Models: Leveraging the experience of organizations that have profitably challenged the bureaucratic status quo Mindsets: Escaping the industrial age thinking that frustrates progress Mobilization: Activating a pro-change coalition to hack outmoded management systems and processes Migration: Embedding the principles of humanocracy—ownership, markets, meritocracy, community, openness, experimentation, and paradox—in your organization's DNA If you've finally run out of patience with bureaucratic bullshit . . . If you want to build an organization that can outrun change . . . If you're committed to giving every team member the chance to learn, grow, and contribute . . . . . . then this book's for you. Whatever your role or title, Humanocracy will show you how to launch an unstoppable movement to equip and empower everyone in your organization to be their best and to do their best. The ultimate prize: an organization that's fit for the future and fit for human beings.
Call Number: HM806 .H36 2020
Inclusify: the power of uniqueness and belonging to build innovative teams Wall Street Journal Bestseller In this groundbreaking guide, a management expert outlines the transformative leadership skill of tomorrow--one that can make it possible to build truly diverse and inclusive teams which value employees' need to belong while being themselves. Humans have two basic desires: to stand out and to fit in. Companies respond by creating groups that tend to the extreme--where everyone fits in and no one stands out, or where everyone stands out and no one fits in. How do we find that happy medium where workers can demonstrate their individuality while also feeling they belong? The answer, according to Stefanie Johnson, is to Inclusify. In this essential handbook, she explains what it means to Inclusify and how it can be used to strengthen any business. Inclusifying--unlike "diversifying" or "including"-- implies a continuous, sustained effort towards helping diverse teams feel engaged, empowered, accepted, and valued. It's no use having diversity if everyone feels like an outsider, she contends. In her research, Johnson found common problems leaders exhibit which frustrate their attempts to create diverse and cohesive teams. Leaders that underestimated the importance of group coherence and dynamics often have employees who do not feel like they belong; leaders that ignore the benefits of listening to different perspectives leave some people feeling like they cannot be their authentic selves. By contrast, leaders who Inclusify can forge strong relationships with their teams, inspire greater productivity from all of their workers, and create a more positive environment for everyone. Having a true range of different voices is good for the bottom line--it allows for the development of the best, most innovative, and creative solutions that are essential to success. Inclusify reveals the unexpected ways that well-intentioned leaders undermine their teams, explains how to recognize the myths and misperceptions that drive these behaviors, and provides practical strategies to become an Inclusifyer. By learning why uniqueness and belonging are so imperative, leaders can better understand what makes their employees tick and find ways to encourage them to be themselves while ensuring they feel like they are fully part of the group. The result is a fully engaged team filled with diverse perspectives--the key to creating innovative and imaginative ideas that drive value.
Call Number: HD57.7 .J645 2020
Measures of Success: react less, lead better, improve more STOP REACTING TO NOISE. START RESPONDING TO SIGNALS. Measures of Success shows business leaders how. A PRACTICAL GUIDE FOR HOW TO MANAGE YOUR METRICS Organizations depend on metrics for their business. Question is, are they helping people do the right things? Or, encouraging them to overreact to every uptick, downturn, and change? In other words, reacting to noise. Noise is present in every metric. But, it's our reaction to noise that causes waste and stress. Too often, people don't recognize this. Like feeling stuck on a rollercoaster you no longer enjoy. We do and explain things that don't help us improve. At the cost of doing things that do. No need to be jittery about every change in a metric. Not by a long shot. Measures of Success shows a better way to chart and manage your metrics, in any organization or setting. For your business processes and activities, you need to know what's working, what's not, and what to change. And why. Then, you can determine what to stop doing, what to start doing, what to keep doing. So you can... Jump off the metrics rollercoaster, by responding to signals. Systematically. Sustainably. Learn how to identify meaningful signals in a metric. To respond just right. Or perhaps, not at all. You'll learn how with methods easy to understand, making it obvious what activities to do next. Loads of vivid stories and clear examples from healthcare, software companies, and more. With compelling case studies from the news and personal lives, too. "What gets measured gets managed." We've all heard that. But did you ever learn how to manage a metric? This ain't about gaming the system or fudging the numbers. This is about delivering real value, understood by everyone, and proven with data. Learn a better way to manage your measures. AFTER READING MEASURES OF SUCCESS ...you'll be able to answer three critical questions for your business. 1) Are we achieving our target? And, how often? Occasionally? Consistently? 2) Are we improving? And, can we predict our future performance? 3) How do we improve? And, when do we react? When do we ignore? When do we improve? ...AND HOW CAN WE PROVE WE'RE IMPROVING? How would you feel if you could answer these questions for your business? Measures of Success shows you how. PROCESS BEHAVIOR CHARTS This book teaches you a proven method for filtering out noise, so we can identify signals. This means we waste less time chasing our tail and more time responding to signals that really matter, heading off small problems before they become big, or showing that we've boosted performance in in significant and sustainable ways.
Call Number: HF5386 .G6325 2019x
What's Your Problem? To solve your toughest problems, change the problems you solve "The author makes a compelling case that we often start solving a problem before thinking deeply about whether we are solving the right problem. If you want the superpower of solving better problems, read this book." -- Eric Schmidt, former CEO, Google Are you solving the right problems? Have you or your colleagues ever worked hard on something, only to find out you were focusing on the wrong problem entirely? Most people have. In a survey, 85 percent of companies said they often struggle to solve the right problems. The consequences are severe: Leaders fight the wrong strategic battles. Teams spend their energy on low-impact work. Startups build products that nobody wants. Organizations implement "solutions" that somehow make things worse, not better. Everywhere you look, the waste is staggering. As Peter Drucker pointed out, there's nothing more dangerous than the right answer to the wrong question. There is a way to do better. The key is reframing, a crucial, underutilized skill that you can master with the help of this book. Using real-world stories and unforgettable examples like "the slow elevator problem," author Thomas Wedell-Wedellsborg offers a simple, three-step method - Frame, Reframe, Move Forward - that anyone can use to start solving the right problems. Reframing is not difficult to learn. It can be used on everyday challenges and on the biggest, trickiest problems you face. In this visually engaging, deeply researched book, you'll learn from leaders at large companies, from entrepreneurs, consultants, nonprofit leaders, and many other breakthrough thinkers. It's time for everyone to stop barking up the wrong trees. Teach yourself and your team to reframe, and growth and success will follow.
Call Number: HD30.29 .W434 2020
Work Together Anywhere: a handbook on working remotely successfully for individuals teams & managers "An excellent guide on how teams can effectively work together, regardless of location."--STEPHANE KASRIEL, former CEO of Upwork IN TODAY'S MODERN GLOBAL ECONOMY, companies and organizations in all sectors are embracing the game-changing benefits of the remote workplace. Managers benefit by saving money and resources and by having access to talent outside their zip codes, while employees enjoy greater job opportunities, productivity, independence, and work-life satisfaction. But in this new digital arena, companies need a plan for supporting efficiency and fostering streamlined, engaging teamwork. In Work Together Anywhere, Lisette Sutherland, an international champion of virtual-team strategies, offers a complete blueprint for optimizing team success by supporting every member of every team, including: EMPLOYEES advocating for work-from-home options MANAGERS seeking to maximize productivity and profitability TEAMS collaborating over complex projects and long-term goals ORGANIZATIONS reliant on sharing confidential documents and data COMPANY OWNERS striving to save money and attract the best brainpower Packed with hands-on materials and actionable advice for cultivating agility, camaraderie, and collaboration, Work Together Anywhere is a thorough and inspiring must-have guide for getting ahead in today's remote-working world.
Call Number: HD2336.3 .S88 2020
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2020, 2019,
What's New in Current Awareness?