Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
ABG Interpretation for Nurses: everything you need to know to interpret arterial blood gases Great Resource for Nurses, MDs, and RRTs: Arterial blood gases (or ABGs) are some of the more difficult lab tests to understand in all of medicine. Sure, there are normal results given along with the test values, but it doesn't end there. What does a certain pH in the blood mean? Where does the bicarbonate level come from? These components, along with other values, need to be understood so you can interpret them. Basically, the ABGs are a test of the arterial blood that check the oxygen levels, the carbon dioxide levels, the acidity (or pH) of the blood, the oxyhemoglobin saturation, and the bicarbonate. If you have a fancy blood gas analyzer, you can get a methemoglobin level, a carboxyhemoglobin level, and sometimes just a hemoglobin level. Each of these lab tests reveal crucial values that are important in caring for patients in the intensive care unit (ICU) and other hospital settings. If you do not know what oxyhemoglobin saturation means (or any of these values), never fear By the time you finish this guide, you will be an old pro In this book, you will learn: The Science of Arterial Blood GasespH, Buffers, and the Kidneys Normal ABG ValuesSimple Acid-Base Disorders Deep dive into understanding ABGs in the Clinical Sense ABG Collection and Sources of Error Helpful study tools we recommendPractice Questions / Case Studies Get Yours Today by Scrolling Up & Ordering Now
Call Number: RB45.2 .A24 2020x
ATI TEAS Study Manual 2020-21 for the Test of Essential Academic Skills The official 2020-2021 ATI TEAS study manual written by the creators of the TEAS exam. This study manual directly aligns with the TEAS exam blueprint, giving you the preparation you need to achieve the highest score possible. Features:* Only TEAS study manual mapped to the ATI TEAS exam blueprint* Covers 4 subjects: Reading, Mathematics, Science, English + Language Usage* Full-length, comprehensive practice test with official scoring table* 325 end-of-section quiz questions* 4 full-length, end-of-unit quizzes* Practice problems with examples, images and explanatory answer keys* Key terms defined throughout manual* Test-taking tips and prep strategies to pass the TEASThe ATI TEAS study manual is designed to work in conjunction with our other TEAS exam prep products including the ATI TEAS SmartPrep tutorial and the ATI TEAS Online Practice Assessments. Visit www.atitesting.com/teas-prep for more information on these products.
Call Number: LB2353.7.T35 A85 2020x
Concept Analysis in Nursing: a new approach Concept analysis is an established genre of inquiry in nursing, introduced in the 1970s. Currently, over 100 concept studies are published annually, yet the methods used within this field have rarely been questioned. In Concept Analysis in Nursing: A New Approach, Paley provides a critical analysis of the philosophical assumptions that underpin nursing’s concept analysis methods. He argues, provocatively, that there are no such things as concepts, as traditionally conceived.
Drawing on Wittgenstein and Construction Grammar, the book first makes a case for dispensing with the traditional concept of a ‘concept’, and then provides two examples of a new approach, examining the use of ‘hope’ and ‘moral distress’. Casting doubt on the assumption that ‘hope’ always stands for an ‘inner’ state of the person, the book shows that the word’s function varies with the grammatical construction it appears in. Similarly, it argues that ‘moral distress’ is not the name of a mental state, but a normative classification used to bolster a narrative concerning nursing’s identity.
Concept Analysis in Nursing is a fresh and challenging book written by a philosopher interested in nursing. It will appeal to researchers and postgraduate students in the areas of nursing, health, philosophy and linguistics. It will also interest those familiar with the author’s previous book, Phenomenology as Qualitative Research.
Call Number: RT41 .P35 2021
Essentials for Nursing Research: appraising evidence for nursing practice The world's most widely used nursing research textbook, Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition equips students with everything they need to confidently apply research to nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck clarify the language of nursing research and instill a practical understanding of nursing research fundamentals and the research process for both quantitative and qualitative studies -- including design principles; sampling and data collection; criteria for assessing data quality; appraising the quality, rigor, and trustworthiness of studies; and approaches to understand the statistical results. This updated edition incorporates the latest clinical insights and approaches to research to familiarize students with increasingly important considerations in today's nursing practice, including the involvement of patients and stakeholders in translating research evidence to local settings; the appraisal of not only the rigor of research designs and methods but also the relevance and applicability of practice-based evidence; and the effective use of research in local quality improvement (QI) projects. UPDATED! New organization simplifies the presentation of complex topics and better facilitates the use of research evidence in nursing practice. Clear, approachable writing makes difficult ideas easily digestible, even to students with no prior knowledge of technical terms. Critical Appraisal Guidelines walk students through studies and highlight aspects amenable to evaluation by research consumers. Research Examples and Critical Thinking Exercises emphasize important points and sharpen students' critical thinking skills. Tips help students confidently translate abstract notions of research methods into concrete applications. Colorful tables, figures, and examples engage students' attention and reinforce their understanding. Chapter Objectives emphasize essential information in each chapter. Key Terms familiarize students with common research terms. Bulleted Summary Points highlight key takeaways at a glance. Ensure a mastery of essential nursing skills and equip students for success throughout the nursing education continuum with the complete Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition solution: Lippincott® CoursePoint Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition
Call Number: RT81.5 .P63 2022
Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review If you are studying for the family nurse practitioner certification exam, Maria T. Codina Leik's highly acclaimed Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review is a must-have resource. Lauded for its concise, well-organized format, this fourth edition has been significantly revised and updated to feature key information about the new AANPCB and ANCC certification exams, all new end-of-chapter review questions, and new full-color images. Leik's Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review, fourth edition also features four practice tests with hundreds of new questions and rationales―800 questions in total. Extensive test-taking techniques and question dissection and analysis chapters help you identify the best clues during the problem-solving process so that you can strategically master the certification exam.
Designed to help FNP candidates boost their confidence through intensive review and high-quality questions, the fourth edition continues to provide succinct, precisely targeted “need-to-know” details of diseases and classic presentations you can expect to see in practice in patients across the life span. Organized by body system, chapters are consistently formatted to include Danger Signals, Normal Findings, Lab Findings, Benign Variants, and Disease Review topics. Each chapter features valuable Exam Tips and Clinical Pearls that highlight key considerations and information likely to be encountered on the exam, ideal for a last-minute refresher before test day. Ensure success by making this essential family nurse practitioner resource―praised by thousands for helping them pass their certification―a key part of your exam prep study regimen.
Call Number: RT82.8 .C63 2021
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: practice essentials for clinical subspecialties The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas.Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the life span. Hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology/oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology are addressed. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies to manage ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Call Number: RT82.8 .A58 2021
NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: definitions and classification The quintessential guide to nursing diagnoses from NANDA-I experts in new updated edition Fully updated and revised by editors T. Heather Herdman, Shigemi Kamitsuru, and Camila Takáo Lopes, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification, 2021-2023, 12th Edition is the definitive guide to nursing diagnoses, as reviewed and approved by the NANDA International (NANDA-I) Diagnosis Development Committee (DDC). In this new edition of a seminal text, the editors have revised all introductory chapters, providing critical information needed for nurses to understand assessment, its link to diagnosis and clinical reasoning, and the purpose and use of taxonomic structure for nurses at the bedside. Researchers will also find new recommendations to improve the terminology. Additional Key Updates 46 new nursing diagnoses and 67 revised diagnoses Changes to 17 nursing diagnosis labels, ensuring they are consistent with current literature and reflect a human response Refinement of the vast majority of the nursing diagnosis related/risk factors Standardization of diagnostic indicator terms (defining characteristics, related factors, risk factors) to further aid clarity for students and clinicians Coding of all terms for those using electronic versions of the terminology Web-based resources include reference lists for new and revised diagnoses New chapter on revised Level of Evidence Criteria for diagnosis submission Rigorously updated and revised, the new edition of this acclaimed text is a must-have resource for all nursing students, professional nurses, nurse educators, nurse informaticists, nurse researchers, and nurse administrators. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RT48.6 .N67 [2021-2023]
The PEACE Model Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses "Nurses are in charge of the patients and their families throughout the hospital and health system experience. They assist patients through illness to achieve higher levels of health. They coordinate the care throughout the patients' experiences with the healthcare system. Nurses are the leaders of patient care at the bedside and beyond. It is important that as clinical leaders, nurses have the most accurate, most up-to-date, and evidence-based information available so that they can always do the right thing. The PEACE model develops clinical nurses as leaders in care of both patients and their families. Clinical nurses, those at the point of care, have embraced this model for guiding their practice. The PEACE model helps clinical nurses solve challenging problems through a rigorous evidence-based practice process-from problem identification to evaluation and dissemination. The crux of the PEACE model is the mnemonic that simplifies the evidence-based practice (EBP) process for clinical nurses. The PEACE model is used across New York-Presbyterian (NYP), one of the nation's most comprehensive academic healthcare delivery systems. NYP is composed of 10 hospitals in New York and employs more than 11,000 nurses across the enterprise. One striking advantage of the model is that it emerged from the work of clinical nurses who were struggling to find a way to remember and apply the components of other EBP models. The mnemonic PEACE promotes understanding and application by clinical nurses, providing a way to easily remember the EBP component stages. The uniqueness of the PEACE model is its simplicity. This relevance leads to continued application in day-to-day nursing practice. As we strive for peace at many levels of our lives and work, the mnemonic is easy to remember. The PEACE model may be adapted to any setting where nurses practice"--
Call Number: RT41 .R58 2021x
Quick Reference to Critical Care Need help to recall information about any ICU procedures, disease processes, formulas, lab values? Need to brush up on your ICU skills? New to ICU, or a veteran? Get immediate on-the-job answers, with the popular and fully updated Quick Reference to Critical Care, 6th Edition. This indispensable pocket guide addresses a broad range of critical care patient topics, divided by body system and organized alphabetically within each chapter for quick access. Disease processes, disorders, medications, and titration, tests, lab results, formulas, ICU equipment and treatment strategies and goals are discussed. Each well-illustrated entry explains the latest evidence-based procedures and stabilization practices in a convenient, quick-read outline, making it the ideal quick reference for following proven protocols. Up-level your critical care expertise and confidence, with: NEW and completely updated content that offers current information on cutting edge critical care topics NEW full-color images throughout NEW extensive abbreviations list that explains unfamiliar abbreviations found in progress notes, surgical reports and other medical documents Ideal on-the-spot quick reference - Read-at-a-glance bulleted outline format that helps you grasp ideas quickly and take immediate action More than 350 illustrations - figures, algorithms, photos, drawings and tables that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions of key terms Chapters for each body system - expert nursing guidance on evaluating and treating the neurologic, cardiovascular, pulmonary, gastrointestinal and urinary, renal, endocrine, hematologic and immune systems Each chapter offers an alpha-organized list of disorders and injuries pertaining to that topic or body system Vital direction for on-the-unit action - includes sections on labs, imaging and miscellaneous items not covered in other sections Expert direction on areas such as body system structures and functions, anatomy, diagnostic tools, surgical methods, signs and symptoms, treatments, monitoring, drug administration, catheters and electrode procedures, waveforms and more The quick-reference format offers: Extensive cross-referencing - leads to related information Tables and charts - vital info on medication, dosing, conversions, compatibilities, and more "Troubleshooting" feature - practical guidance for solving technical problems or complications "Key Point" feature - offers important points on signs and symptoms of a disorder or condition and what to review before or after testing About the Clinical Editor Nancy H. Diepenbrock, RN, CCRN, has worked in healthcare for more than 30 years. Her book Quick Reference to Critical Care was voted as Lippincott's Book of the year in 2008 by the American Journal of Nursing. Zale Lipshy University Hospital nominated for her "Nursing Excellence" and as one of the "Great 100" nurses in Dallas, Texas.
Call Number: RC86.8 .D54 2021
Saunders Q and a Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination Practice makes perfect with Saunders Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 8th Edition. This popular review offers more than 6,000 test questions, giving you all the Q&A practice you need to pass the NCLEX-RN examination! Each question enhances review by including a test-taking strategy and rationale for correct and incorrect answers. Questions are organized to match the Client Needs and Integrated Processes found in the most recent NCLEX-RN test plan. Q&A practice is also provided on the Evolve companion website, with many study and testing options - including an option to select practice questions by health problem/medical diagnosis. From the most trusted names in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri and Angela Silvestri, this resource is part of the popular Saunders Pyramid to Success. Detailed test-taking strategies for each question provide clues for analyzing and selecting the correct answer. Comprehensive rationales are provided for both correct and incorrect answer options. Chapters organized by Client Needs reflect the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. Evolve companion website includes more than 6,000 questions with robust study and self-testing options. A 75-question pre-test generates a study calendar to guide your exam preparation. Questions on the Evolve companion site may be sorted by cognitive ability, NCLEX client needs area, content area, integrated process, health problem, priority concept, strategy, or alternate item format to help you focus on the question types you find most difficult. A 75-question post-test helps you evaluate your progress. All alternate item question types are represented, including multiple response, prioritizing/ordered response, fill-in-the-blank, illustration/hot spot, chart/exhibit questions, graphic option, questions incorporating audio, case studies, and Next-Generation NCLEX-style question types. A Priority Nursing Tip for each question highlights need-to-know patient care information. Introductory chapters cover preparation guidance for the NCLEX-RN and the computerized adaptive testing (CAT) format, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, and the NCLEX-RN from a new graduate's perspective. Three audio reviews on the Evolve companion website cover acid-base balance, fluids and electrolytes, and pharmacology. Appropriate for all test takers in the US and Canada - includes metric, SI, and imperial units, as applicable. Questions written at higher cognitive levels (applying, analyzing, synthesizing, evaluating, and creating) correspond to the NCLEX, where most items are written at the application level or higher. NEW! Thoroughly updated questions reflect the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment Situations include unfolding Next-Generation NCLEX-style case studies and question types with answer guidelines on the Evolve companion website. NEW! Clinical Judgment/Cognitive Skills labels help you recognize the new clinical judgment thought process behind Next-Generation NCLEX-style questions. NEW and UNIQUE! A tear-out bookmark insert allows you to cover the answer column and includes a list of the top 10 test-taking strategies.
Call Number: RT55 .S487 2021
Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator: the complete guide to best practices in teaching, evaluation and curriculum development This all-inclusive text for Nurse Educators delivers comprehensive, evidence-based guidance on the essential components of teaching, including learning theories, teaching methods, new technologies for teaching, curriculum development, evaluation and testing, and accreditation. The text delivers the full scope of knowledge necessary for novice and experienced faculty to become competent teachers in nursing. This third edition features new content on the transition from clinician to educator. There is also a new chapter on nursing professional development and teaching in clinical settings and updated teaching strategies for active learning, clinical judgment, and online teaching. The text is designed to help educators prepare for the certification exams. The text also addresses varied learning styles and how to accommodate them, new developments in simulation, standardized patients, OSCEs, clinical teaching, interprofessional education, and evidence-based teaching. New to the Third Edition: Chapter on the transition from clinician to educator, plus expanded content throughout on becoming a nurse educator Addresses inclusivity and developing an inclusive learning environment for people with different learning styles Strategies to promote active learning, clinical judgment, and higher level learning, and teaching online Updated content on simulations, the use of standardized patients, OSCEs, clinical teaching, and clinical evaluation Chapter on accreditation of nursing programs and developing a systematic program evaluation plan Chapter on nursing professional development and teaching in a clinical setting Written by experts who seamlessly integrate evidence-based research and practical strategies Serves as a thorough study guide for nurse educator certification exams Covers practical teaching strategies, simulation, online education, technology, interprofessional education, clinical teaching and evaluation, and test construction Includes case examples and other examples to support content and how-to tips Includes a high quality online course ready for an instructors use: sample syllabus, PowerPoints.
Call Number: RT90 .T4137 2022
Cannabis in Medicine: an evidence based approach Legalization of marijuana is becoming increasingly prominent in the United States and around the world. While there is some discussion of the relationship between marijuana and overall health, a comprehensive resource that outlines the medical literature for several organ systems, as well as non-medical societal effects, has yet to be seen. While all physicians strive to practice evidence-based medicine, many clinicians aren't aware of the facts surrounding cannabis and are guided by public opinion. This first of its kind book is a comprehensive compilation of multiple facets of cannabis recommendation, use and effects from a variety of different perspectives. Comprised of chapters dedicated to separate fields of medicine, this evidence-based guide outlines the current data, or lack thereof, as well as the need for further study. The book begins with a general overview of the neurobiology and pharmacology of THC and hemp. It then delves into various medical concerns that plague specific disciplines of medicine such as psychiatry, cardiology, gastrointestinal and neurology, among others. The end of the book focuses on non-medical concerns such as public health and safety, driving impairment and legal implications. Comprised of case studies and meta-analyses, Cannabis in Medicine: An Evidence-Based Approach provides clinicians with with a concise, evidence-based guide to various health concerns related to the use of marijuana. By addressing non-medical concerns, this book is also a useful resource for professionals working in the public health and legal fields.
Call Number: RM666.C266 C36 2020x
Clinical Guide to Antineoplastic Therapy: a chemotherapy handbook "The world of cancer treatment is changing almost daily. In 2018 alone, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration approved 19 new cancer drug treatments, and many more promising drugs are on the horizon. New therapies include targeted therapies, immunotherapy, drugs associated with cancer genetics, and nanotechnology. A developing treatment is CAR (chimeric antigen receptor) T-cell therapy, which includes the administration of new immunotherapy drugs used for adult patients with certain types of lymphoma and for children and young adults with acute lymphoblastic leukemia. Virtually every single chemotherapy drug comes with its own long list of symptoms, which are only confounded when more than one agent is used in a cancer regimen. Oncology nurses are almost always the providers who intervene when patients experience one or many symptoms; thus, these professionals must remain knowledgeable about the effects of all antineoplastic agents in use. Many of the newer medications have associated symptoms such as skin alterations and intense flu-like symptoms that, until recently, were not the usual mainstay. This handbook was written by a collection of expert oncology professionals to address every facet of antineoplastic therapy, from understanding biomarkers that influence treatment decisions, navigating cost and reimbursement issues, to supporting patients and their families throughout their treatment trajectory and survivorship. A team of nurses, pharmacists, advanced practice providers, social workers, and physicians have contributed to this text and reflects the collaborative nature of the delivery of care to patients. Chapters examine antineoplastic agent use and monitoring, from conventional cytotoxic chemotherapy to clinical trials and survivorship, and include detailed drug monographs for quick access to information. New perspectives and topics, such as biosimilars, help providers appreciate the nuances of the expanding categories of antineoplastic agent use. The approach of including scientific, operational, and psychosocial information across topics ensures the reader gains global information to ideally expand knowledge, increase curiosity, and aid in delivering exceptional care. Similarly, holistic topics, including support services, patient navigation, access devices, and legal concerns provide, a well-rounded approach to subject matter relevant to all disciplines involved in care. This edition of A Chemotherapy Handbook is a key resource for everyone from newly minted practitioners to seasoned veterans involved in oncology patient management"--
Call Number: RC271.C5 C545 2020
Diastology: clinical approach to heart failure with preserved ejection fraction Accounting for more than 40% of all heart failure problems, diastolic heart failure is a complex and often difficult diagnosis with rapidly evolving diagnostic management protocols. Diastology: Clinical Approach to Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction, 2nd Edition, brings you up to date and equips you to successfully diagnose and manage even the most challenging incidences of diastolic heart failure and their comorbidities. It incorporates the latest guidelines for the diagnostic evaluation of the patient with suspected or known diastolic dysfunction, provides a comprehensive review of clinical conditions associated with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction, and describes the complementary role of imaging modalities and novel therapeutic approaches. Keeps you current with recent extensive changes in the understanding of the mechanisms of diastolic heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF) that have resulted in dramatic changes in treatment guidelines. Covers the latest molecular, genetic, and cellular mechanisms behind diastolic heart failure as a basis for the latest clinical approaches, diagnosis, and treatment of common and uncommon pathological conditions such as hypertensive heart disease, cardiomyopathies, arterial and valvular diseases, pericardial diseases, congenital heart disease, diabetes mellitus, and metabolic syndrome. Features 50 video cases, new key summary points, new multiple-choice review questions, and six new chapters: Evaluation of Diastolic Function by Radionuclide Techniques; Diastology Stress Test; ASE/EACVI Diastolic Guidelines; Valve Disease; Perioperative Assessment of Diastolic Dysfunction; and Pulmonary Hypertension. Reviews new techniques and indices for assessing diastolic function, such as 3D echo, strain rate imaging, late gadolinium enhancement and T1-mapping by CMR, and novel nuclear scintigraphic methods - as well as the traditional indices of LV filling, LA function, and tissue Doppler indices. Covers emerging topics such as the role of neurohormones, global and regional systolic function of the left ventricle, chronotopic incompetence and pacing, aging, perioperative assessment, and more. Presents information in a quick-retrieval format, covering Epidemiology, Pathophysiology, Diagnostic Evaluation, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Future Directions. Helps you learn efficiently and prepare for self-assessment with key summaries and multiple-choice questions and answers for each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC685.C53 D53 2021
How Sex and Gender Impact Clinical Practice How Sex and Gender Impact Clinical Practice: An Evidence-Based Guide to Patient Care enables primary care clinicians by providing a framework to understand differences and better care for patients in their practice. Each chapter covers a subspecialty in medicine and discusses the influence of sex hormones on disease, along with sex and gender-based differences in clinical presentation, physical examination, laboratory results, treatment regimens, comorbidities and prognosis. Illustrative case examples and practical practice points help each chapter come alive. A special chapter on communication differences between men and women assists clinicians in their conversations with patients. This book fills an important need by applying years of research findings to sex and gender specific medical care and demonstrating that an individualized approach to patient care will lead to improved detection, treatment and prevention of disease.
Call Number: RB212 .H68 2021x
Let's Talk Vaccines: a clinicians guide to addressing vaccine hesitancy and saving lives Engaging, accessible, and filled with practical communication advice, Let's Talk Vaccines helps you educate patients on the importance of life-saving vaccines using a patient-centered and empathetic approach. Covering everything from the science of vaccine safety to the psychology of risk communication, this essential guide includes real-life examples and thoughtful, evidence-based techniques that will help patients understand vaccines and make informed decisions. Ideal for primary care providers, pediatricians, family physicians, nurse practitioners, and public health advocates, it provides an excellent framework for how to approach difficult discussions, with the goal of improving the health of each patient as well as the community at large. Directly addresses the increasing trend of parents choosing not to vaccinate their children, including the history and psychology of the anti-vaccine movement. Examines the issues underlying vaccine hesitancy, answering the common questions and concerns that vaccine-hesitant patients may raise during office visits. Helps you dispel myths and fears that many patients have, with particular attention paid to misinformation and skepticism on social media. Covers the anti-vaccine movement's assertions about autism, autoimmune illnesses and allergies, toxic ingredients, overwhelming the immune system, conspiracies, and more - bringing you up to date with the most common issues and effective approaches to the vaccine discussion. Provides practical tips on approaching the vaccine-hesitant parent and how anti-vaccine patients change their minds, with a focus on remaining a positive partner in your patients' care and finding greater success in your vaccination efforts. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: QR189 .L37 2020
Modern Epidemiology Now in a fully revised 4th Edition, Modern Epidemiology remains the gold standard text in this complex and evolving field, offering unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the principles and methods of epidemiologic research. Featuring a new, full-color design, updated models, and a new format allowing space for margin notes, this edition continues to provide authoritative information on the methodologic issues crucial to the wide range of epidemiologic applications in public health and medicine.
Call Number: RA652.2.M3 R67 2021
The Neuroscience of Parkinson's Disease The Neuroscience of Parkinson's Disease (two volume set) provides a single source of material covering different scientific domains of neuropathology underlying this condition. The book covers a wide range of subjects and unravels the complex relationships between genetics, molecular biology, pharmaceutical chemistry, neurobiology, imaging, assessments, and treatment regimens. The book also fills a much-needed gap as a "one-stop" synopsis of everything to do with the neurology and neuroscience related to Parkinson's disease--from chemicals and cells to individuals. It is an invaluable resource for neuroscientists, neurologists, and anyone in the field.
Call Number: RC382 .N487 2020x
Opie's Cardiovascular Drugs: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease Authoritative, portable, and up to date, Opie's Cardiovascular Drugs, 9th Edition, is the definitive reference for quick access to frequently used drugs in all phases of care for cardiac patients. Now a part of the Braunwald family of renowned cardiology references, this compact title provides crucial information in an easily accessible format-ideal for cardiologists, residents, cardiology fellows, medical students, nurses, and other cardiac care providers. Updated to include the latest guidelines and evidence-based implications, it offers clear and concise explanations and pertinent clinical facts for all classes of cardiac drugs, as well as all the latest clinical trial results and evidence for the pharmacologic treatment of heart disease. Uses a new, consistent format for each drug class: overview and guidelines for use, mechanisms of action, differences among drugs in class, data for use, side effects, and drug interactions. Covers key topics such as new ESC and NLA guidelines, advances in lipid-lowering therapy, new diabetes drugs that improve cardiovascular outcomes, obesity drugs and cardiovascular and metabolic effects, drugs targeting inflammation, and combinations of antithrombotic therapies with analysis of risk-benefit. Provides guidance on how to effectively manage comorbid diseases. Contains dozens of unique "Opiegram" diagrams that demystify complex mechanisms of action and other drug processes-many updated to reflect current pathologic understanding of mechanisms. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RM345 .D784 2021x & online
Rosen's Breast Pathology Widely recognized as the gold standard reference in the field, Rosen's Breast Pathology provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on diseases of the breast from renowned experts at four leading medical centers, masterfully edited by Dr. Paul P. Rosen. The revised fifth edition covers the latest advances in immunohistochemical, pathobiological, and molecular aspects of benign and malignant breast diseases, helping you reach an accurate diagnosis with confidence. It's an ideal reference for all physicians and medical personnel who require a thorough knowledge of breast pathology, including pathologists, surgeons, oncologists, radiologists, and radiation oncologists. Covers clinical and radiological presentation, epidemiology, gross pathology, microscopic pathology, treatment, and prognosis (when relevant) for each disease entity. Addresses surgical and oncological aspects of various diseases wherever appropriate. Thoroughly updated throughout to reflect the latest advances in this dynamic area of practice. Features more than 2,000 high-quality images that highlight key diagnostic features, including hundreds of new illustrations. Stresses the role of pathology in the multidisciplinary management of breast diseases. Emphasizes histopathological features of breast diseases. Recommends appropriate management for specific breast diseases. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC280.B8 R67 2021
Turner Syndrome Comprehensive and practical, this is a unique and multidisciplinary resource for the clinician caring for the girl or woman with Turner syndrome. Although approximately one in 2000 women are affected, many have not been diagnosed; as the advent of prenatal genetic testing becomes more prevalent, the diagnosis of Turner syndrome will be made much more frequently. There is therefore a greater need for this single source that provides the clinician with the information required to care for this multifaceted disorder. The opening chapters discuss the biology, genetics and current standard of care for females with Turner syndrome in order to provide proper background and context for the remaining chapters. The main section of the book, taking a body system approach, is comprised of chapters written by an expert in his or her subspecialty and will discuss pathophysiology and diagnosis, as well as therapeutic options. Reproductive, cardiac, renal, endocrine, neurologic, musculoskeletal, and sensory issues and symptoms associated with Turner syndrome are all covered in detail. Additional chapters describe current resources available to both caregiver and patient as well as future directions for research and management. Currently, there are no similar books on the market that take an all-inclusive, multidisciplinary approach in the care of individuals with Turner syndrome. As such, this book should be the standard of care for management of this challenging and multifaceted condition.
Call Number: RJ520.T87 T875 2020x
Management/Employee Development Books
APA Style Simplified: writing in psychology, education, nursing and sociology Master the fundamentals of 7th Edition APA style with this newly updated one-step resource The newly and thoroughly revised Second Edition of APA Style Simplified: Writing in Psychology, Education, Nursing, and Sociology delivers a concise but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. It incorporates fresh guidelines from the Seventh Edition of the APA publication manual. Distinguished psychologist, academic, and author Dr. Bernard C. Beins walks readers through how to write objective scientific research papers using engaging prose. He explains how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly. The book also describes the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each one. APA Style Simplified: Writing in Psychology, Education, Nursing, and Sociology 2nd Edition goes beyond mere structural conventions and teaches readers the importance of choosing effective wording, the right and wrong times to use technical language, and avoiding commonly encountered mistakes in word and sentence selection. The author also includes sections on: How to write an engaging and informative introduction, including an interesting hypothesis How to describe your chosen experimental method, including participants and subjects, materials and apparatus selection, procedure, and design How to effectively communicate statistics and statistical concepts by keeping your mind on the point you're trying to make How to show your results and relate them back to your hypothesis, including a few points about how to present your results to others Perfect for students pursuing psychology, education, nursing, or sociology programs at any level, from undergraduate to postgraduate, APA Style Simplified also belongs on the bookshelves of working professionals in the same fields who hope to sharpen their APA-style writing, communication, and presentation skills.
Call Number: BF76.7 .B447 2021
How to Be an Agile Business Analyst How to be an agile business analyst is about applying your business analysis skills in an agile manner. You’ll still see the term agile business analyst, but the agile here describes how you approach business analysis.This book helps business analysts be an effective member of a team working in an agile fashion. It explains how to add value to your team and how to apply your business analysis skills. It will help you understand how you can use your business analysis skills to make sure your team builds the right thing.Read the book to discover the five characteristics of an agile business analyst and how to adopt those characteristics: You are an agile business analyst when you consider your context so that you use appropriate techniques. You are an agile business analyst when you help your team focus on outcomes over outputs and use that outcome to define success and measure progress. You are an agile business analyst when you use tried and true business analysis techniques to build and maintain a shared understanding of the problem your team is trying to solve. You are an agile business analyst when you make sure decisions get made, whether you have the responsibility for deciding or not. You are an agile business analyst when you use short feedback cycles to learn about your users needs and adjust your product accordingly.How to be an agile business analyst also explains the roles and responsibilities you may experiences and explores the impact an agile approach has on a common business analysis process.How to be an agile business analyst helps you demonstrate to teams in your organization why they should have you on their team. At the end of the day, isn’t that really what matters?
Call Number: HD69 .B87 M333 2020
Introduction to Disciplined Agile Delivery: a small agile team's journey from scrum to discipline DevOps - Second Edition How does a small development team in an established enterprise apply Disciplined Agile (DA) strategies to successfully improve their agility and provide real value to their stakeholders? Find out how in Introduction to Disciplined Agile Delivery-- Second Edition. This guide to Disciplined Agile Delivery (DAD) provides the foundation from which to scale agile and lean software development strategies, enabling teams to succeed in the unique situations they face--remembering that context counts. Starting with a Scrum-based approach, we'll show you how the team learns from their experiences and evolves into a lean life cycle, then to a continuous delivery life cycle within a DevOps environment. We begin with an overview of DAD and work through a case study that describes a team's learnings through several releases of a mission-critical solution. You'll find out how DAD: gives you the flexibility to use various approaches while covering gaps not addressed by mainstream agile practices; describes proven strategies that show how programming, design, testing, architecture, analysis, deployment, and many more aspects of solution delivery fit together in a streamlined whole; and shows you how to turn the agile software development dial all the way up!
Call Number: HD66 .V5558 2021
Introduction to the Practice of Statistics Now available with Macmillan's new online learning tool Achieve, Introduction to the Practice of Statistics, 10th edition, prepares students for the application of statistics in the real world by using current examples and encouraging exploration into data analysis and interpretation. The text enforces statistical thinking by providing learning objectives and linked exercises to help students master core statistics concepts and think beyond the calculations. Achieve for Introduction to the Practice of Statistics integrates outcome-based learning objectives and a wealth of examples with assessment in an easy-to-use interface. Students are provided with rich digital resources that solidify conceptual understanding, as well as homework problems with hints, answer-specific feedback, and a fully worked solution.
Call Number: QA276.12 .M65 2021
Jonas' Introduction to the U. S. Health Care System, Ninth Edition This revised ninth edition of the best-selling introductory text to the U.S. health care system is fully updated to reflect changes to health care services, delivery, and financing resulting from new policies affecting the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Valued for its concise and balanced survey of the U.S. health care system, this book describes how the American health care system currently functions, the major factors that led to its present day structure, and a forecasting of how the industry is likely to change over the course of the next few years. This practical text highlights an array of influences shaping the future of health care, such as the use of big data and analytics, new policies and trends tied to pharmaceuticals and medical devices, and innovations to mental health and substance abuse. With an emphasis on policy development, the authors underscore the fluidity of the system and examine the debates and conflicts that have shaped health care changes and influenced American values and belief systems.This accessible text defines the most essential elements of the health care system, including its components, organization, services, and financing. An ideal text for undergraduate courses, graduate survey courses, and courses introducing the subject to medical students, it describes the ongoing evolution of the system, taking into consideration future directions given proposed changes to the ACA and other health laws by Congress, the Trump Administration and the political landscape in general Organized to facilitate an understanding of concepts at work, Jonas' Introduction to the U.S. Health Care System equips public health and health administration students as well as medical, nursing and allied health professionals with a deeper understanding of the field in which they will practice, so they can position themselves to navigate upcoming changes that affect healthcare quality, value, and access. New to the 9th Edition: Updated to address changes to health care services, delivery, and financing in United States An expanded section on future trends in health care A full description of the health care reform politics under the Obama and Trump administrations and those being promoted in political campaigns New chapter on medicines, devices, and health care technology Increased coverage of mental health and substance abuse, long-term care and other institutionalized populations
Call Number: RA395.A3 J665 2021
Longest's Health Policymaking in the United States, Seventh Edition Future healthcare leaders: Do you have an obligation to serve the common good? If your answer to this ethical question is yes, then you need a working knowledge of health policy. An understanding of how policy decisions are made gives healthcare leaders a knowledge base from which they can turn what once appeared to be limitations or obstacles into opportunities to facilitate better access to care, improve the quality of care, and more effectively manage costs. Leaders who have a firm grasp on the policymaking process can advocate for their patients, their organizations, and their communities. This revamped version of the classic textbook originally authored by Beaufort B. Longest, Jr., links policy concepts to practical applications and real healthcare outcomes. It covers formulation, implementation, and modification of health policymaking at both the federal and state levels, while giving readers insight into real-life political results and details of on-the-ground policy decisions. Highlights include: a new chapter on federalism and the role of the states; Policy Snapshots at the beginning of each of the book's sections that offer brief, true stories of a significant policy event or an opportunity for students to envision their future selves as health advocates; a thoroughly revised and updated chapter on how the courts shape health policy; a rich array of new or updated examples drawn from actual policymaking events, in addition to new graphics and sidebars; updated appendixes reorganized to provide easy access to examples germane to the topic at hand; and an epilogue highlighting federal and state policy challenges posed by the coronavirus pandemic of 2020. Let author Michael R. Meacham guide you through health policy as a process. With a background in policy, law, healthcare leadership, and academia, he enables students to understand both the big picture and the small, but important, details.
Call Number: RA395.A3 L66 2021
Medical Statistics: a textbook for the health sciences The 5th edition of this popular introduction to statistics for the medical and health sciences has undergone a significant revision, with several new chapters added and examples refreshed throughout the book. Yet it retains its central philosophy to explain medical statistics with as little technical detail as possible, making it accessible to a wide audience. Helpful multi-choice exercises are included at the end of each chapter, with answers provided at the end of the book. Each analysis technique is carefully explained and the mathematics kept to minimum. Written in a style suitable for statisticians and clinicians alike, this edition features many real and original examples, taken from the authors' combined many years' experience of designing and analysing clinical trials and teaching statistics. Students of the health sciences, such as medicine, nursing, dentistry, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, and radiography should find the book useful, with examples relevant to their disciplines. The aim of training courses in medical statistics pertinent to these areas is not to turn the students into medical statisticians but rather to help them interpret the published scientific literature and appreciate how to design studies and analyse data arising from their own projects. However, the reader who is about to design their own study and collect, analyse and report on their own data will benefit from a clearly written book on the subject which provides practical guidance to such issues. The practical guidance provided by this book will be of use to professionals working in and/or managing clinical trials, in academic, public health, government and industry settings, particularly medical statisticians, clinicians, trial co-ordinators. Its practical approach will appeal to applied statisticians and biomedical researchers, in particular those in the biopharmaceutical industry, medical and public health organisations.
Call Number: R853.S7 C36 2021
Rita Mulcahy's PMP Exam Prep: accelerated learning to pass the Project Management Professional (PMP) exam Aligned with the PMBOK guide, 6th ed. and the 2021 Exam. content outline ECO for exams taken after Jan 2, 2021.
This book features:
- tricks o the trade
- what you really need to know to pass the exam
- agile content to improve understanding
- straightforward approach to complex material
- proven study techniques
- practice exams and exercises focused on essential concepts
More than 400 exercises and sample exam questions
Call Number: HD69.P75 M85 2020
The Scrum Fieldbook: a master class on accelerating performance, getting results and defining the future Based on years of work in the field with scores of companies, including Bosch, 3M, Schlumberger, and Rio Tinto, The Scrum Fieldbook delivers a hands-on, practical approach to rapidly delivering value for companies and organizations. Scrum is the secret weapon behind some of today's most successful companies. Businesses like Google, Facebook, Amazon, and Apple use Scrum to drive incredibly fast innovation, laser focus on customers, and continuous improvement, and to decrease decision times in order to reshape the world. Scrum is the most utilized Agile framework. In recent years, its use has exploded across the corporate world, far beyond its software and technology roots. J. J. Sutherland and the team at Scrum Inc. have dramatically improved performance at global banks, utility providers, medical device manufacturers, mining giants, and firms on the cutting edge of genetic science. Scrum has helped companies large and small thrive in the age of disruption. In Sutherland's first book, the national bestseller Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time, coauthored with his father, Jeff, the co-creator of Scrum, he laid out the Scrum framework used by almost all of today's leading technology companies. In The Scrum Fieldbook, he draws on his firm's extensive experience in the field to take leaders, managers, and employees deeper into the specific challenges and new opportunities organizations face in an Agile transformation. He shows how the Scrum framework can be successfully applied to any project in any industry, from automobile manufacturers in the U.S. and Europe to nonprofits in Africa, from home renovation contractors in Minnesota to gas exploration companies in South America, from fighter plane builders in Sweden to U.S. Navy Special Forces teams in regions of the world we can't mention.
Call Number: HD58.8 .S8826 2019
Virtual Coaching to Improve Group Relationships: process consultation reimagined "Process consultation, invented by Edgar Schein, is both a skill and an Organization Development change effort. As a skill, process consultation means the ability to observe and provide feedback about small group dynamics to a work group about how well group members interact and how to improve that interaction. Just as facilitators devote their time to (in one word) asking, process consultants devote their time to (in one word) watching-at an expert level. As a change effort, process consultation is a concerted effort to help members of a group work together more effectively. For that reason, the word process in this context should be interpreted to mean "interpersonal interaction in small groups." Historically, process consultation has focused attention on face-to-face groups and their group dynamics. But times are changing. More work is done online or in blended (online and onsite) groups than face-to-face alone. A 2017 survey of over 25,000 workers in 12 countries revealed that 62 percent of the global workers are now working flexibly-with some residential work and some virtual work. The same survey found that workers believe that flexible work arrangements make them more productive and that 48 percent of survey respondents reported that their virtual interactions include representatives of other cultures. It is true that, for workers who can discipline themselves and manage distractions at home, virtual work can be more productive when commuting time is eliminated and workplace distractions are minimized. Virtual work has the advantage of reducing the need for childcare, slashing work wardrobe costs, and cutting unproductive, stressful commuting time. Despite how modes of working together have changed over the years-ranging from face-to-face to some degree of virtual (videoconference, audioconference, print-only collaboration, and many blended combinations) -and the growing need for finding ways to help people work together more effectively, there has been no practical guideline of process consultation in a virtual or mixed work setting since Schein's process consultation initially focused on group dynamics in face-to-face settings. Therefore, this book aims to provide practical approaches to process consultation, helping group members discover more effective ways of working together in blended virtual/residential and cross-cultural settings. Essentially, this book provides a practical, how-to guide for virtual coaching, using step-by-step procedural approaches, cases, and helpful platforms/technologies and tools. It also provides information about how to use technology to support the process of improving virtual or mixed group relationship"--
Call Number: HD66 .V5558 2021
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?