Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review If you are studying for the adult-gerontology primary care nurse practitioner certification exam, Maria T. Codina Leik's highly acclaimed Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review is a must-have resource. Lauded for its concise, well-organized format, this fourth edition has been significantly revised and updated to feature key information about the new AANPCB and ANCC certification exams, all new end-of-chapter review questions, and new full-color images. Leik's Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Certification Intensive Review, fourth edition also features four practice tests with hundreds of new questions and rationales―800 questions in total. Extensive test-taking techniques and question dissection and analysis chapters help you identify the best clues during the problem-solving process so that you can strategically master the certification exam.
Designed to help AGNP candidates boost their confidence through intensive review and high-quality questions, the fourth edition continues to provide succinct, precisely targeted “need-to-know” details of diseases and classic presentations you can expect to see in practice in patients across the life span. Organized by body system, chapters are consistently formatted to include Danger Signals, Normal Findings, Lab Findings, Benign Variants, and Disease Review topics. Each chapter features valuable Exam Tips and Clinical Pearls that highlight key considerations and information likely to be encountered on the exam, ideal for a last-minute refresher before test day. Ensure success by making this essential adult-gerontology nurse practitioner resource―praised by thousands for helping them pass their certification―a key part of your exam prep study regimen.
Call Number: RT82.8 .C62 2021
Advancing Practice Nursing: exploring roles and opportunities for clinicians, educators and leaders Make sure your students get a good grasp of how to apply what they learn in the classroom to the real world of advanced practice nursing. Advancing Nursing Practice: Exploring Roles and Opportunities for Clinicians, Educators, and Leaders eases them into the world of professional practice, discussing what it means to be successful in clinical roles such as a CRNA, CNM, CNS, or NP/DNP. But it doesn't just cover clinical roles--students will discover how they can use their practice in nursing education and administration. This practical guide helps you focus students' attention on the topics that matter most: core competencies aligned to AACN essential competencies, best practices, reimbursement, and what it means to be a leader. In addition to a clear and conversational writing style--well-suited to the quick absorption of material--this brand-new textbook features videos, numerous illustrations, and, more importantly, interviews with real-life advanced practice nurses. Readers will get a clearer picture of what it's like day to day interacting with patients and their families, physicians and other healthcare practitioners, and management. Easy-to-understand descriptions of a variety of roles: clinical--CRNAs, CNMs, CNSs, and NPs/DNPs--as well as educational and administrative positions Compresses a range of material into a practical, no-nonsense compendium for instructors pressed for time Interviews with real-life APNs--on video and or in the text--tell students what it's really like Succinct, conversational writing style is designed to appeal to students juggling multiple courses Comprehensive coverage of professional competencies, best practices, leadership, and other core elements of each role Numerous illustrations bring concepts and principles to life for all students Alignment with AACN core competencies underscores the book's adherence to the highest industry standards
Call Number: RT89 .A383 2022x
CNOR Exam Prep Book: CNOR test prep and practice exam questions Test Prep Books' CNOR Exam Prep Book: CNOR Test Prep and Practice Test Questions [3rd Edition] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the CNOR certification exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Test-Taking Strategies Introduction Preoperative Patient Assessment and Diagnosis Preoperative Plan of Care Intraoperative Care Communication Transfer of Care Instrument Processing and Supply Management Emergency Situations Management of Personnel, Services, and Materials Professional Accountability Practice Questions Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Disclaimer: *CNOR is a registered trademark of the Competency & Credentialing Institute (CCI), which was not involved in the production of, and does not endorse, this product. Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits: Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual CNOR nurse test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. You interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns.
Call Number: RD32.3 .C567 2020bx
Conceptual Nursing Care Planning Plan effective patient care using standardized interprofessional clinical problems and a concept-based approach! Conceptual Nursing Care Planning shows you how to identify clinical problems, determine expected outcomes, and choose interventions - all grounded in a logical, concept-based framework. The focus on concepts gives you the big picture, helping you recognize similarities in nursing care based on physiologic concepts, as well as differences based on the needs of individuals. Written by noted nursing educators Mariann Harding and Debra Hagler, this new book demonstrates how the use of a concept-based approach and standardized clinical problems language makes it easier to plan effective care and to communicate with other members of the interprofessional team. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. 73 conceptual nursing care plans are based on Giddens concepts. Logical format for conceptual nursing care plans includes a definition of the concept, clinical problems, common causes, manifestations, outcomes, interventions, related concepts, and related clinical problems. Guidance for prioritized care planning organizes interventions in an assess-intervene-teach format, to help identify the most important priority interventions for patients. Use of standardized nursing language conveys concepts and clinical problems in easily understandable language that is commonly used in clinical settings, organizing care plans around terminology recognized by the American Nurses Association and easily understood by other healthcare professionals. UNIQUE! Wide-ranging approach covers concepts that are not addressed in other texts, such as health disparities, risk in pregnancy, impaired immunity, substance use, sensory deficits, continuity of care, and the dying process. Introduction opens the book by explaining the components of a conceptual nursing care plan and how to use the book to create patient-centered nursing care plans. Conceptual Care Map Creator?on the Evolve website helps document care planning projects and clinical assignments. Expert authors Mariann Harding and Debra Hagler are nursing thought leaders and editors of the bestselling Lewis's Medical Surgical Nursing: Assessment and Management of Clinical Problems.
Call Number: RT49 .H37 2022x
Health Assessment for Nursing Practice Make the most of your study time and maximize your health assessment skills! Health Assessment for Nursing Practice, 7th Edition focuses on what you need to know, providing easy-to-understand guidelines for an effective physical examination as well as preparation for the Next Generation NCLEX® Examination (NGN). New to this edition is a greater emphasis on normal findings and less on abnormal findings, new LGBTQ+ Considerations boxes, and new NGN Exam-style case studies. Written by noted nursing educators Susan Fickertt Wilson and Jean Foret Giddens, this book has everything you need to conduct and document an accurate assessment, succeed on the NGN, and prepare for clinical practice. Binder-Ready Edition: This loose-leaf copy of the full text is a convenient, accessible, and customizable alternative to the bound book. With this binder-ready edition, students can personalize the text to match their unique needs! Straightforward, easy-to-understand coverage gives you the essential knowledge and confidence to perform an effective health assessment and physical examination. Clear differentiation between basic skills and advanced skills helps you separate basic procedures from those that would be performed by an advanced practitioner or only in special circumstances. Proven two-column format links assessment techniques with normal and abnormal findings. Full-color photos?and illustrations demonstrate how to perform key assessment techniques. UNIQUE! Concept Overview boxes present core concepts in the context of health assessment. UNIQUE!?Clinical Reasoning boxes provide insight by explaining the thought process of an experienced nurse making a clinical decision. Patients with Situational Variations sections address special circumstances or needs of patients who are hearing impaired, in wheelchairs, or have other limitations. Documenting Expected Findings sections demonstrate how to chart normal findings, including documentation in the electronic health record. Case Studies at the end of each chapter give subjective and objective data about a patient and ask you to use clinical judgment skills to answer questions. Health Assessment Across the Life Span unit contains four chapters that cover the examination of patients of different ages, including older adults, pregnant patients, infants, children, and adolescents. Synthesis and Application of Health Assessment unit provides guidelines for combining the body system assessments into one comprehensive examination, for communicating the findings to other health care professionals, and for adapting the assessment to patients in a hospital setting. NEW! NGN-style case studies provide optimal preparation for the Next Generation NCLEX® Examination. NEW! LGBTQ+ Considerations boxes summarize special assessment considerations for LGBTQ+ clients. NEW! Updated coverage of signs of abuse, neglect, and human trafficking equips you to become a mandatory reporter of these growing health problems. NEW! Updated, high-quality illustrations accurately represent assessment techniques and the latest examination equipment. NEW! Increased emphasis on normal findings is incorporated into the text along with a reduced emphasis on uncommon findings. NEW emphasis in the Adapting Health Assessment chapter describes how to adjust your care for patients with a variety of conditions or limitations, such as patients with IVs, casts, and catheters. NEW! Updated information on cultural and religious preferences and practices describes how these factors can have an impact on health assessment. NEW! UPDATED coverage addresses the latest evidence-based guidelines on pain assessment. NEW! Enhanced Review Questions prepare you for the NCLEX exam, with cognitive levels raised from "remembering" and "understanding" levels to "applying" and above to prepare you for clinical practice.
Call Number: RT48 .W55 2022
Med Surg Study Guide: CMSRN review book and medical surgical nursing certification prep RN-BC with practice test questions Test Prep Books' Med Surg Study Guide: CMSRN Review Book and Medical Surgical Nursing Certification Prep (RN-BC) with Practice Test Questions [4th Edition] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the Med Surg exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Pulmonary Cardiovascular/Hematological Diabetes (Types 1 & 2)/Other Endocrine/Immunological Urological/Renal Musculoskeletal/Neurological/Integumentary Practice Questions Practice makes perfect! Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits: Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual Med Surg nursing test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Anyone planning to take this exam should take advantage of this Test Prep Books study guide. Purchase it today to receive access to: Med Surg review materials Med Surg practice questions Test-taking strategies
Call Number: RD99.25 .M4377 2020x
Motivational Interviewing in Social Work Practice, 2/e The definitive text on motivational interviewing (MI) written by and for social workers has now been updated and expanded with 60% new material, including a revised conceptual framework, cutting-edge applications, and enhanced pedagogical features. Melinda Hohman and her associates demonstrate what MI looks like in action, how it transforms conversations with clients, and how to integrate it into social work practice in a wide range of settings. Extensive new case examples and annotated sample dialogues bring the concepts to life, helping readers build their own repertoires of MI skills. The book also summarizes the research base for MI and shares expert recommendations for teaching, training, and professional development. New to This Edition *Expanded and restructured around the current four-process model of MI (engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning). *Content is explicitly linked to the Council on Social Work Education's Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) and the Grand Challenges for Social Work. *Chapter on MI through the lens of critical race theory. *Chapter on innovative applications in the areas of trauma, food insecurity, and environmental justice. *Additional pedagogical features--"Voices from the Field" boxes written by social workers in a variety of roles, and end-of-chapter reflection questions. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
Call Number: HV40 .H629 2021
Nursing Care Plans: diagnoses, interventions & outcomes Get everything you need to create and customize effective nursing care plans, now with evidence-based ICNP® diagnoses! Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, Gulanick & Myers' Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 10th Edition features more than 200 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols. It also features highlighted QSEN competencies and a clear differentiation of nursing and collaborative interventions. New to this edition are ICNP® diagnoses, care plans on LGBTQ health issues and on electrolytes and acid-base balance, and a new Online Care Planner that makes it easier than ever to customize care plans. Written by noted educators Meg Gulanick and Judith L. Myers, this #1 care planning book will help you learn to think like a nurse! 61 patient problem care plans include the most common/important patient problems, providing the building blocks for you to create your own individualized care plans. 164 disorder care plans cover virtually every common medical-surgical condition, organized by body system. Patient problem care plan format includes a definition/explanation of the diagnosis, related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions. Disorder care plan format covers synonyms for the disorder (for ease in cross referencing), a definition, common related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions for each relevant nursing diagnosis. Prioritized care planning guidance internally organizes care plans from "actual" to "risk" diagnoses, from general to specific interventions, and from independent to collaborative/interprofessional interventions, to help you select the most important, priority interventions for your particular patients. NEW! Updated care plans are now based on the evidence-based, complete, and internationally accepted International Classification of Nursing Practice (ICNP®) nursing diagnoses. NEW! 19 all-new care plans are featured in this edition. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most current evidence-based practice and national and international guidelines. NEW! Online Care Planner on the Evolve website allows you to easily generate customized care plans based on the book's content. NEW! Improved focus on core content includes several care plans that have been moved from the book's Evolve website.
Call Number: RT49 .N87 2022
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Fifth Edition is a foundational text for teaching nursing students the core concepts of knowledge management while providing an understanding of the technology tools and applications where a certain level of proficiency is required. A practical guide for understanding how to leverage modern technology, the text teaches students how to acquire, process and disseminate knowledge. Grounded in the Foundation of Knowledge Model, the authors leverage this framework throughout as an organizational structure by which to teach and learn nursing informatics. The Fifth Edition gives nurses the tools and knowledge they need to succeed in the information age. Each chapter has been carefully updated to reflect the most current advances in technology, healthcare and reimbursement services. The authors also highlight the timely and impactful contribution of informatics to quality improvement, interprofessional collaboration, and the pandemic response. Finally, a thought-provoking chapter ties all of the elements of informatics together and asks students to consider the future impact of technology on the patient care experience by examining care bots, cyborgs and artificial intelligence.
Call Number: RT50.5 .N8693 2022
Clinical Immunology and Serology: a laboratory perspective Full-color line drawings and photographs of assay results Coverage of external defenses and inflammation, human microbe relationships, bacterial virulence factors, the role of B and T cells in the adaptive immune response, the immune mechanisms involved in humoral antibody production and cell-mediated immunity, tumor markers, and immune mechanisms Chapter-based learning modules that encompass theoretic principles, illustrations, definitions of relevant terminology, and questions and case studies to evaluate learning Consistent pedagogical structure for each chapter, featuring ...chapter outlines, key terms, objectives, multiple-choice review questions with answer keys, case studies, and chapter summaries Case studies that make topics more relevant and help to explain the "big picture" "Connections" and "Clinical Correlation" boxes that recall information from the previous chapters and bridge theory with real-world clinical diagnosis and testing
Call Number: RB46.5 .S73 2021
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls Minimize risk for your surgery-bound patient with this concise high-yield clinical reference Ideal for hospitalists, internists, family physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners and others involved in the perioperative period, Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities undergoing surgical procedures. It provides preoperative validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for identified comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and challenging perioperative cases. Features *Includes only the top references for each topical area streamlining the search for key literature *Tables throughout convey massive amounts of information for quick access *Provides need-to-know evidence-based clinical decision making informatio
Call Number: RD49 .D43 2021x
Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases, Volume 1 : treatments for heart failure and valvular disorders The increasing pace of advances in cardiology throughout the last few decades has fundamentally altered the natural course of heart patients. In the last few years, available therapies have been revolutionized completely by new transcatheter therapeutic approaches, novel ventricular assist devices, and new drugs. Also, molecular biology and genetics have a rapidly growing impact on cardiovascular diseases, enabling the field of regenerative medicine to become increasingly closer to routine clinical implementation. Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases was conceived to cover the recent extensive literature on current and novel therapeutic options for cardiac patients. The first volume is dedicated to heart failure and valvular disorders, and the second covers myocardial ischemia and arrhythmias. The clinical topic is addressed in several chapters divided according to the therapeutic approach (mechanical or electrical device-based, or cell and gene-based). Each of the 46 chapters focuses on clinically available solutions, new therapies currently under evaluation in clinical trials, promising preclinical technologies, and emerging concepts and innovations that have not yet been tested in a preclinical model. Also, the book discusses future challenges and opportunities for clinical implementation. Lessons learned from abandoned experimental practices are also covered, giving the readers the widest possible perspective of current therapeutic dilemmas. Overall, this textbook was designed for physicians who want to stay up-to-date with current therapies and those of the future, for biomedical companies, and for those who wish to broaden their knowledge of new cardiovascular therapeutic options.
Call Number: RC683.8 .E64
Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases, Volume 2: treatments for myocardial ischemia and arrhythemias The increasing pace of advances in cardiology throughout the last few decades has fundamentally altered the natural course of heart patients. In the last few years, available therapies have been revolutionized completely by new transcatheter therapeutic approaches, novel ventricular assist devices, and new drugs. Also, molecular biology and genetics have a rapidly growing impact on cardiovascular diseases, enabling the field of regenerative medicine to become increasingly closer to routine clinical implementation. Emerging Technologies for Heart Diseases was conceived to cover the recent extensive literature on current and novel therapeutic options for cardiac patients. The first volume is dedicated to heart failure and valvular disorders, and the second covers myocardial ischemia and arrhythmias. The clinical topic is addressed in several chapters divided according to the therapeutic approach (mechanical or electrical device-based, or cell and gene-based). Each of the 46 chapters focuses on clinically available solutions, new therapies currently under evaluation in clinical trials, promising preclinical technologies, and emerging concepts and innovations that have not yet been tested in a preclinical model. Also, the book discusses future challenges and opportunities for clinical implementation. Lessons learned from abandoned experimental practices are also covered, giving the readers the widest possible perspective of current therapeutic dilemmas. Overall, this textbook was designed for physicians who want to stay up-to-date with current therapies and those of the future, for biomedical companies, and for those who wish to broaden their knowledge of new cardiovascular therapeutic options.
Call Number: RC683.8 .E64
Goodman's Basic Medical Endocrinology Goodman's Basic Medical Endocrinology, Fifth Edition, has been student tested and approved for decades. This essential textbook provides up-to-date coverage of rapidly unfolding advances in the understanding of hormones involved in regulating most aspects of bodily functions. It is richly illustrated in full color with both descriptive schematic diagrams and laboratory findings obtained in clinical studies. This is a classic reference for moving forward into advanced study.
Call Number: QP187 .G589 2022 - E-BOOK only
Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Toxicities Early recognition and management of adverse effects of cancer treatments are essential for optimal care of patients with cancer, and drastically different approaches are required for different physiologic reactions. Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Symptoms and Toxicities is a focused, one-stop resource that enables clinicians to quickly find up-to-date, reliable information needed at the point of care. The high-yield approach prioritizes the most common toxicities associated with cancer treatment, and concise, templated chapters offer fast access to information needed in day-to-day practice. Presents a user-friendly overview of cancer treatment-related symptoms and toxicities management in a practical, easy-to-use format, allowing you to quickly find information in one convenient, concise resource. Covers systemic and radiation therapies, including chemotherapy, immunotherapy, targeted therapies, and radiation therapy, detailing symptoms of each toxicity to confirm your diagnosis. Overviews pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic approaches to symptom management. Offers recommendations for mitigating toxicities in high-risk patients. Discusses key topics such as management of infusion reactions, when the need for biopsy is warranted, and the unique challenges posed by novel immunotherapies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC271.C5 V45 2022x - E-BOOK only
Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination Offering a thorough, highly illustrated review of the musculoskeletal physical exam, this practical guide covers relevant anatomy, pathoanatomy, and special tests using the well-known art of Dr. Frank H. Netter as well as clinical photographs. Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination: An Evidence-Based Approach, 4th Edition, provides the information you need to assess the reliability and diagnostic utility of musculoskeletal physical exams and incorporate evidence into your clinical decision making. Summary tables and carefully selected references highlight best available evidence, providing a practical resource for the busy student and clinician. Provides up-to-date, actionable summaries of available evidence so you can quickly evaluate the effectiveness of clinical tests, review recent studies, and determine which test will best predict a specific diagnosis. Includes more than 25 videos showing movement for select tests, helping you get the most clinically significant information from the orthopaedic examination. Presents classic Netter artwork and anatomy/biomechanics tables that enhance your understanding of the orthopedic anatomy and pathology of each joint. Uses a practical, tabular format that provides quick access to test reliability and diagnostic utility, study quality, anatomy and biomechanics, and summary recommendations for applying evidence in practice. Features an assessment of study quality (QUADAS) appendix and color-coded icons identifying study quality that draw your attention to top-quality studies and help you understand why some studies were included and others omitted. Adds a scale to reliability tables, making it easy to focus on approaches and tests with the highest reliability, and includes QAREL (Quality Appraisal for Reliability Studies) checklists for each reliability study. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD734.5.P58 C59 2022 & E-book
The Neuroscience of Dementia The Neuroscience of Dementia brings together different fields of dementia research into a single book, covering a wide range of subjects, including Alzheimer's disease, Lewy body dementia, mixed dementia, vascular dementia, physical activity, risk factors, mortality, biomarkers, SPECT, CT, MRI, questionnaires, nutrition, sleep, delirium, hearing loss, agitation, aggression, delusions, anxiety, depression, hallucinations, psychosis, senile plaques, tau and amyloid-beta, neuroinflammation, molecular biology, and more. This foundational, comprehensive book compiles the latest understanding on all forms of dementia and their common features in a single source. It is an invaluable resource for neuroscientists, neurologists, and anyone in the field.
Call Number: RC521 .N487 2020x
Stroke: pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management Authored by the world's foremost stroke experts, this classic text brings you fully up to date with current research findings and management approaches for cerebrovascular disease. Stroke: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, and Management, 7th Edition, covers every aspect of this fast-moving field, and is an ideal resource for stroke specialists, general neurologists, and other medical professionals with an interest in stroke. You'll find expert clinical guidance, comprehensive pathophysiology coverage, data from recent trials, advances in diagnostic tests, full-color CT images, pathology slides, and much more, for a complete picture of today's stroke medicine. Helps you recognize the clinical manifestations of stroke, use the latest laboratory and imaging studies to arrive at a diagnosis, and generate an effective medical and surgical treatment plan. Keeps you abreast of the overwhelming volume of studies and guidelines in this dynamic field, providing clear summaries and practical evaluations of all relevant data. Contains updates throughout, including the latest clinical trials (thrombectomy, DAWN, DEFUSE), genetics research, prevention research, new therapies, and the new guidelines from the ASA. Includes new slides for lectures, covering basic science, case studies, and interventional treatment overviews. Features a Key Points summary at the beginning of each chapter so you can quickly find important information. Provides abundant full-color CT images and pathology slides that help you make efficient and accurate diagnoses. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC388.5 .S8528 2022 - E-BOOK only
Management/Employee Development Books
Choose Your WoW: a disciplined Agile delivery handbook for optimizing your way of working Hundreds of organizations around the world have already benefited from Disciplined Agile Delivery (DAD). Disciplined Agile (DA) is the only comprehensive tool kit available for guidance on building high-performance agile teams and optimizing your way of working (WoW). As a hybrid of all the leading agile and lean approaches, it provides hundreds of strategies to help you make better decisions within your agile teams, balancing self-organization with the realities and constraints of your unique enterprise context. The highlights of this handbook include: greatly improved and enhanced strategies with a revised set of goal diagrams based upon learnings from applying DAD in the field; a wealth of ideas for experimenting with agile and lean techniques while providing specific guidance and trade-offs for those "it depends" questions; and a perfect study guide for Disciplined Agile certification. Why "fail fast" (as our industry likes to recommend) when you can learn quickly on your journey to high performance? With this handbook, you can make better decisions based upon proven, context-based strategies, leading to earlier success and better outcomes.
Call Number: QA76.76.D47 A42525 2020
HBR Guide to Remote Work: be more productive, set boundaries, connect with your team Get your best work done, no matter where you do it. Video calls from your couch. Project reports in a coffee shop. Presentations at your kitchen table. Working remotely gives you more flexibility in how and where you do your job. But being part of a far-flung team can be challenging. How can you make remote work work for you? The HBR Guide to Remote Work provides practical tips and advice to help you stay productive, avoid distractions, and collaborate with your team, despite the distance that separates you. You'll learn to: Create a regular work-from-home routine Identify the right technology for your needs Run better virtual meetings Avoid burnout and video-call fatigue Manage remote employees Conduct difficult conversations when you can't meet in person Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, with the most trusted brand in business. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
Call Number: HD2336.3 .H37 2021x
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy, Sixth Edition is the ultimate 'how to' guide for learning the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. This text is an outstanding resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice. The hallmark of this text is the inclusion of the Matrix Method developed by the author which outlines one of the many ways to approach a literature review. This method is a practical, easy-to-use structure and process for reviewing research literature, particularly in the health sciences and nursing. Updates on PRISMANew content on predatory publishing"How-to" format, step-by-step instructions and practical examplesTemplates and interactive web resourcesNavigate Companion Website, including learning objectives and additionalresources on the use of data visualization in health literature reviews
Call Number: R118.6 .G37 2022
It's All in the Delivery: improving healthcare starting with a single conversation One of the greatest and most common criticisms of modern medicine is that physicians and healthcare providers communicate poorly with their patients. Based on decades of research, practical experience and interviews with real patients, Dr. Orsini uses his unique storytelling skills to provide practical communication techniques that help medical providers quickly build rapport and form relationships with patients and families even in the most difficult times. Developed by a practicing physician to help doctors better communicate with patients in any situation, It's All in The Delivery provides healthcare professionals with the tools necessary to: Deliver Tragic News in the most compassionate mannerBuild Rapport with patients and families instantlyNavigate through difficult conversations such as discussing medical errors Improve patient satisfaction scoresAvoid professional burnoutIt's All in The Delivery is a must-read for healthcare providers as well as any patient who wants to learn how to navigate through a sometimes complex healthcare system.
Call Number: R727.3 .O78 2020x
Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice: a guide to professional resilience and personal well-being The mental and physical health of caregivers impacts more than just that individual worker. It affects the health of their patients, it impacts their families, it shapes communities, it influences politics, and it plays into international relations.Medical and nursing professionals working in today's health care settings must be prepared to offer support in dangerous times despite staffing shortages, financial pressures, and complex legal requirements. The nature of this work puts these professionals in harm's way not only physically, but atgreater risk for secondary stress, trauma, burnout and other emotional impacts exacerbating the need for self-care.There is no better time to revisit the problem of secondary stress among caregivers than on the heels of the COVID-19 pandemic. Times of challenge and change test health care professionals' self-care insights, strategy, and reserves. New learnings and ways of maneuvering through difficultprofessional practice situations and life in general can become permanent elements in our self-care cache. This book will enrich the reader's insights and strategies with respect to secondary stress leading to enhanced resilience of mind, body and spirit. This second edition draws on content in thefirst edition and information from classic literature and research findings about the phenomenon of secondary stress experienced by nurses, physicians and physician assistants.This book highlights the importance of interprofessional communication and support in ameliorating the stressors of clinical work, an effort enhanced by interdisciplinary co-authorship. Educators and front line clinicians have come to the realization that the recognition and self-management ofsecondary stress and burnout will contribute to a high functioning, caring health care delivery system in the future that prevents attrition and major health problems for those in clinical careers. Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice is an indispensable resource for medicaland nursing professionals, students, and the counselors and therapists who work with them.
Call Number: R707 .W535 2021
Planning Programs for Adult Learners: a practical guide Strengthen your adult education program planning with this essential guide Planning Programs for Adult Learners: A Practical Guide, 4th Edition is an interactive, practical, and essential guide for anyone involved with planning programs for adult learners. Containing extensive updates, refinements, and revisions to this celebrated book, this edition prepares those charged with planning programs for adult learners across a wide variety of settings. Spanning a variety of crucial subjects, this book will teach readers how to: Plan, organize, and complete other administrative tasks with helpful templates and practical guides Focus on challenges of displacement, climate change, economic dislocation, and inequality Plan programs using current and emerging digital delivery tools and techniques including virtual and augmented reality Planning Programs for Adult Learners provides an international perspective and includes globally relevant examples and research that will inform and transform your program planning process. Perfect for adult educators and participants in continuing education programs for adults, the book will also be illuminating for graduate students in fields including education, nursing, human resource development, and more.
Call Number: LC5225.A34 C34 2021
Principles of Health Interoperability: FHIR, HL7 and SNOMED CT This extensively updated fourth edition expands the discussion of FHIR (Fast Health Interoperability Resources), which has rapidly become the most important health interoperability standard globally. FHIR can be implemented at a fraction of the price of existing alternatives and is well suited for use in mobile phone apps, cloud communications and electronic health records. FHIR combines the best features of HL7's v2, v3 and CDA while leveraging the latest web standards and clinical terminologies, with a tight focus on implementation. Principles of Health Interoperability has been completely re-organised into five sections. The first part covers the core principles of health interoperability, while the second extensively reviews FHIR. The third part includes older HL7 standards that are still widely used, which leads on to a section dedicated to clinical terminology including SNOMED CT and LOINC. The final part of the book covers privacy, models, XML and JSON, standards development organizations and HL7 v3. This vital new edition therefore is essential reading for all involved in the use of these technologies in medical informatics.
Call Number: R858 .B46 2021x
Scrum Fundamentals: a beginner's guide to mastery of the scrum project management methodology Do you want to manage projects more effectively? Do you want to increase your team's productivity, collaboration, and deliver business value sooner? Scrum is the leading Agile methodology used by Fortune 500 companies and is transforming businesses everywhere. In this ever-changing world of customer expectations and new technologies, businesses need to be Agile to get ahead and stay there. With Scrum, you can be ready to adapt to the inevitable change. In this book, "Scrum Fundamentals - A Beginner's Guide to Mastery of The Scrum Project Management Methodology," you will learn: How to embrace the Agile mindset The different stages of Scrum How to break down a complex task and prioritize What a Scrum team looks like and how to build one How to run sprints, backed with real-world examples Common mistakes and how to avoid them Meaningful metrics to track progress Applications of Scrum outside of software development How to get started with Scrum and overcome any resistance And more... By the end of this book you will have the confidence to implement Scrum within your organization, how to run your first sprint, and bring others on board. Are you ready to start seeing results? Grab your copy today and transform the way you manage projects and teams. ★★ Buy the Paperback Version of this Book and get the Kindle Book version for FREE ★★
Call Number: QA76.76.D47 C64 2019x
The Standard for Earned Value Management by Earned value management (EVM) is considered by many to be one of the most effective performance measurement and feedback tools for managing projects. A central theme in this standard is the recognition that the definition for value in EVM has expanded. This book also integrates hybrid methodologies that blend together historical EVM concepts with the needs of the agile practitioner, all with an eye towards aiding the project team in enhancing overall project delivery. It provides insight and detailed explanations of the basic elements and processes of EVM, and demonstrates how to scale EVM to fit varying project sizes and situations. It also includes graphical examples and detailed explanations that will enable the reader to establish and implement EVM on projects in almost any environment and of almost every size. When used together with good project management principles, EVM methodology will provide a greater return on any project and results that will directly benefit your organization.
Call Number: HD69.P75 S734 2019
Virtual Teams Across Cultures: create successful teams around the world "Theresa has examined cultural diversity where it currently happens, in the virtual team. A masterpiece of research, stories and practical advice."- Fons Trompenaars, author of Riding the Waves of Culture.
As work becomes virtual, colleagues in many industries are increasingly collaborating online and across borders. Leading dispersed, cross-cultural teams requires a more aware and reflective approach to leadership, and Virtual Teams Across Cultures provides a blueprint for success for managers of multicultural virtual teams.
This book looks at what makes multicultural virtual teams tick – why they’re different and how to unlock their true potential. Drawing on 25 years of professional experience, academic research and interviews with team leaders around the world, Theresa Sigillito Hollema provides practical frameworks for understanding the dynamics of global teams. Full of real-life examples and actionable advice, this gives leaders a game plan for making sure remote, multicultural teams thrive in today’s connected business world.
Learn how to:
•become more confident working across cultures
•create a team environment where everyone is a valued contributor, regardless of where they are
•turn a team’s cultural diversity into its greatest asset
•focus on connecting people, rather than relying on technology
This book is an inspiring and comprehensive guide for reflective leaders who want to bring out the best in distributed, culturally diverse team
Call Number: HD66 .H655 2020x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?