Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse As a Prescriber THE ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE AS A PRESCRIBER THE ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE AS A PRESCRIBER The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse as a Prescriber is an authoritative reference guide designed for students and practicing APRNs alike--delivering the evidence-based information required for informed and ethical prescribing of medication in various clinical settings. It assists the reader to identify and avoid common prescribing mistakes and pitfalls whilst presenting specific strategies to respond appropriately to an array of typical clinical experiences.This revised second edition includes new and expanded chapters with information on authorizing medical marijuana, prescription monitoring programs, electronic prescribing, prescribing globally and issues surrounding controlled substance prescribing and prescribing for opioid use disorder. This leading single-volume resource: Addresses the opportunities, challenges and responsibilities that APRNs face as prescribers Covers the laws, regulations, and professional issues that affect prescribing Discusses global approaches to registered nurse and APRN prescribing such as task sharing, formularies, and independent authority Guides APRNs through difficult clinical situations such as patients seeking controlled substances and requesting inappropriate care Navigates the multiple facets of prescribing controlled substances Examines the role of the APRN in states with medical marijuana laws Serves as a resource to engage in advocacy for fully autonomous prescribing The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse as a Prescriber is essential reading for APRN and pharmacotherapeutics students, registered nurses transitioning to the role of APRN prescriber, and all APRNs including Nurse Practitioners (NP), Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS), and Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA).
Call Number: RT82.8 .B768 2021x
CNOR® [Certified Nurse Operating Room] Exam Prep, Second Edition Designed by the professionals who administer the CNOR exam, the CNOR Exam Prep, Second Edition, is a comprehensive resource for CNOR test preparation. Featuring insights and targeted review of all seven subject areas, this user-friendly guide makes it easy to prepare for the exam with confidence: test breakdown by subject area, 200 exam-formatted practice questions with answers, how to create a study plan, explanation of the test question structure, and test-taking strategies to lessen anxiety
Call Number: RD32.3 .C66 2020x
Counseling the Nursing Mother a Lactation Consultant's Guide with Navigate Essentials Written from a teaching perspective, Counseling the Nursing Mother: A Lactation Consultant's Guide, Seventh Edition presents practical suggestions and evidence-based information for the lactation consultant to provide the nursing mother. Thoughtfully updated, it includes new information on social media trends, blood sugar protocols, changes in Baby-Friendly NICU and the Ten Steps, donor milk in the healthy newborn nursery and effects on exclusivity, and more timely and relevant topics. Expanded discussions on dominant culture, implicit bias, cultural humility, and health equity, as well as additional case studies and a more global focus of human lactation, make this new edition an invaluable resource for all lactation consultants.Additionally, this unique book also serves as a significant teaching tool for students, interns, and other healthcare professionals. With an extensive glossary and bulleted lists at the end of each chapter, it is an ideal study guide for International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC) certification and practice.
Call Number: RJ216 .L354 2021
The DNP Professional: translating value from classroom to practice The DNP Professional: Translating Value From Classroom to Practice is a collection of exemplars from DNP (Doctor of Nursing Practice) -prepared experts across various advanced practice nursing roles and settings. The content illustrates the application of the DNP Essentials, quantifies successful DNP-prepared practitioner outcomes, and describes the overall impact of the nursing practice doctorate. Each chapter is written by a different expert and focuses on how the DNP Essentials relate to that author's role, including business planning, evidence-driven decision making, data analytics, and interprofessional collaboration. These leaders demonstrate how to implement lessons learned in a DNP program and translate them into everyday practice, with plenty of pearls to pass along. Editor Linda A. Benson has divided the book into sections based on roles and settings: Nurse practitioner Clinical nurse specialist Certified registered nurse anesthetist Nurse midwife Nurse executive Academia Population health Informatics Legislative activity When performing at their peak, DNPs can affect clinical, satisfaction, and cost outcomes, as well as provide preceptorship and mentoring. With exemplars from across the continuum of practice sites and roles, The DNP Professional: Translating Value From Classroom to Practice enables both students and DNP graduates to optimize the curricular Essentials in the practice setting.
Call Number: RT41 .D536 2021
Improving Nurse Retention and Healthcare Outcomes: innovating with the IMPACT model Nurse retention is a key focus for healthcare organizations-particularly the retention of clinical nurses, who provide direct patient care. Each percent change in nurse turnover (or retention) will cost (or save) the average hospital hundreds of thousands of dollars per year. But nurse turnover doesn't just have financial implications. It also has a direct impact on the remaining clinical nurses themselves, which then trickles down to patient care. To address the long-term impact of turnover at our hospital, we opted to create a program to motivate nurses to remain as frontline staff. We envisioned a proactive program that would enable us to empower nurses, engage them, and ultimately retain them. We had long observed that empowerment and engagement were closely linked-and that a lack of empowerment created a lack of engagement. This in turn caused a vicious cycle that ultimately led clinical nurses to leave the organization or the nursing profession altogether.We designed the IMPACT Program to stimulate empowerment and professional growth. Simply put, we wanted our clinical nurses to thrive in their role. We wanted them to know that they had not only made a difference in their day-to-day shift but also had an effect on the future care of patients they serve. That's what the IMPACT Program is all about.This book outlines what the IMPACT Program is, how it works, and what it has achieved. No matter your role-whether you are an executive or a clinical nurse-this book will resonate with you. If you are a clinical nurse, you will gain a clear understanding of how you can elevate your practice as a frontline direct patient care provider. You will be inspired to create change-not only in your unit or area but across your organization. Your job will be about being empowered to improve patient care and your work environment, and helping lead your organization into the future of healthcare. If you are an executive/leader, this book will open your eyes to a new way of approaching clinical nurse retention that will also positively influence your strategic initiatives.
Call Number: RT89 .T466 2021x
Leading Ancillary and Support Departments to Higher Performance When we think about who provides patient care at hospitals and health systems, physicians and nurses are often the first people who come to mind. But what about the myriad ancillary and support staff who assist--directly and indirectly--with patient care? These departments play an essential role in ensuring patient safety and shaping the patient experience. Leading Ancillary and Support Departments to Higher Performance: The New Service Imperative for Patient Care examines the key principles for effectively and efficiently leading ancillary and support teams throughout a healthcare system. Best practices from direct patient care, as well as from diagnostic, therapeutic, and nonclinical services, offer real-world methods for measuring performance and making course corrections when needed. The book's opening chapters provide a broad overview of various departments and highlight the importance of these departments to the overall healthcare infrastructure. The following chapters are written by accomplished healthcare experts who identify the strategies they have employed to optimize results in their specific ancillary and support areas. Each of these chapters begins with a description of an ancillary department and then explores its structure, key services, customers, and more. The book also offers: Insights on measuring productivity and implementing staffing models An innovative framework for improving departmental performance Guidance on identifying key work units and performance metrics Best practices in leadership and communication for ancillary and support departments Strategies for applying the Baldrige framework to these areas Ancillary and support departments are essential partners in ensuring that a healthcare organization achieves its patient safety and experience goals. To be successful, healthcare leaders must understand these departments and how to optimize their performance.
Call Number: RA971 .L45 2021x
Nursing 2022 Drug Handbook THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians...always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding features: Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring 3,500 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format NEW! 32 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including the COVID-19 drug remdesivir--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "NEW DRUGS" section for easy retrieval NEW! Thousands of clinical updates--new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, genetic-related information, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns Photoguide insert with images of 439 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules Plus FREE online companion Toolkit Monthly FDA updates featuring newly approved drugs, indications, and warnings Pharmacology videos, audio pronunciation guide, and English-Spanish translator Equianalgesic dosing guidelines for opioid drugs Mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs NCLEX®-style questions, free CE tests, plus bonus discounts...and more!
Call Number: RM301.12 .N87 2022
Nursing and Healthcare Ethics Now in its sixth edition, this highly popular text covers the range of ethical issues affecting nurses and other healthcare professionals. Authors Simon Robinson and Owen Doody take a holistic and practical approach, focused in the dialogue of ethical decision making and how this connects professional, leadership and governance ethics in the modern healthcare environment. This focuses on the responsibility of professionals and leaders, and the importance of shared responsibility in the practice of healthcare. With a foreword by the eminent medical ethicist Alastair Campbell, the revised edition includes contemporary topics, such as the duty of candour, recent cases, such as the Mid Staffs scandal, and ethical perspectives on vulnerable groups, such as; persons with intellectual/learning disability, dementia and those with an enduring mental illness. It builds on professional identity and personal development as part of ongoing learning, individual and organizational, and provides interactive ways that helps the reader to develop reflective ethical practice. This text aims to enable ethical engagement with the ever changing healthcare environment, and is a must-have for anyone serious about ethics in healthcare. Holistic and practice relevant approach New perspectives on vulnerable groups, such as persons with intellectual/learning disability, dementia and those with an enduring mental illness Descriptive (including moral psychology) as well as normative ethical theory Promoting dialogue and engagement with practice, practitioners, patients and families Development of professional ethical skills Connecting professional ethics to leadership, governance and social ethics Highly accessible format Case studies/Scenarios presented within chapters and pause for thought exercises to promote dialogue and engagement ? Suitable for pre/post registration nurses, students, health care professionals
Call Number: RT85 .T476 2022
The Nuts and Bolts of Nursing Leadership: your toolkit for success Transitioning into a nursing leadership role has never been more challenging. The health care environment is characterized by volatility, uncertainty, complexity, and ambiguity. The recent crisis with COVID-19 has heightened awareness of the vital need for nurse leaders who can balance the organization's needs with advocacy for staff. Yet, nurses are often promoted into leadership without the tools they need to be successful. Moving from a clinical role into leadership requires a different mindset and new knowledge, skills, and abilities. Both nursing staff and leaders in healthcare organizations have high-performance expectations of nurses who step up to become leaders. Knowing what to do and what not to do in leadership today can be challenging, especially for novices. The author, a nationally known leadership expert, breaks down the nuts and bolts of nursing leadership today. The essential knowledge, skills, and leadership behaviors are discussed using leadership examples. The book includes actionable strategies that can immediately be applied and help you move from feeling overwhelmed to feeling confident. The Nuts and Bolts of Nursing Leadership gives you tools and ideas to become an effective nurse leader, whether you are just beginning the journey or have years of experience. Let it be your toolkit and practical guide to a successful leadership career regardless of your clinical setting.
Call Number: RT89 .S44 2021x
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing The fifth edition of this award-winning text continues to be the only advanced practice nursing resource to focus exclusively on outcome assessment, an integral aspect of quantifying the effectiveness of care, both clinically and financially. Written by expert practitioners, educators, and researchers, this text analyzes the foundations of outcome assessment, provides guidelines for selecting assessment instruments and measuring results, and discusses design and implementation challenges. It also covers specialty areas of practice and specialty-specific considerations for outcome evaluation.
This revision provides APRN students, educators, and administrators with the most up-to-date resources and information on measuring outcomes of practice. The fifth edition has a strong focus on practice-specific quality metrics and covers a recent national collaborative project that showcased outcomes of nurse-led initiatives as part of the Choosing Wisely Campaign. Additionally, the fifth edition now includes an outcome assessment template to aid in the application of content.
New to the Fifth Edition:
Discusses a recent national collaborative project showcasing outcomes of nurse-led initiatives as part of the Choosing Wisely Campaign
A new outcome assessment template to aid in the practical application of content
New exemplars demonstrating practical application in a variety of settings
Includes examples of APRN roles and impact resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic
Increased coverage of DNP competencies and scope of practice
Covers updates on NP competencies and their impact on care
Covers specialty areas of practice and specialty-specific considerations for outcome evaluation
Offers guidelines for selecting assessment instruments and measuring the results
Describes potential pitfalls of design and implementation
Includes an instructor's manual including algorithms and teaching tools
Call Number: RT82.8 .O89 2022
Practice Questions for CNML & NE-BC Review [ Certification for Nurse Managers & Leaders/Nurse Executive Certification] Practice Questions for CNML & NE-BC Review Book are a great way to practice answering test questions while reviewing important nursing management and leadership content. This book contains 300 practice questions complete with answers and rationales to assist you in your preparation for taking the CNML or NE-BC Exam. Taking practice test questions is an essential part of preparation for a certification exam. Practice Questions for CNML & NE-BC Review Book is the only place you will find this many high-quality practice questions for nursing management and leadership certification review.
Call Number: RT89 .P73 2020x
Practice Questions for RNC-MNN Review [Registered Nurse Certification-Maternal Newborn Nurse] Practice Questions for Maternal Newborn Nursing Certification (RNC-MNN) Review are a great way to practice answering test questions while reviewing important nursing content. This book contains more than sufficient practice questions complete with answers and rationales to assist you in your preparation for taking the Maternal Newborn Nursing Certification (RNC-MNN) exam. Taking practice test questions is an essential part of preparation for a certification exam. Practice Questions for Maternal Newborn Nursing Certification (RNC-MNN) Review is the only place you will find this many high-quality questions for Maternal Newborn Nursing Certification (RNC-MNN)
Call Number: RT89 .P73 2020x
(Wests) Pulmonary Pathophysiology: the Essentials Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Reflecting the trusted expertise of Dr. John B. West and Dr. Andrew M. Luks, West's Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials, Tenth Edition offers accessible explanations of disease processes that affect the respiratory system. This best-selling companion to West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11th Edition, has served generations of students and practitioners who work with respiratory patients, presenting vital knowledge in a concise, straightforward manner that's easy to understand. Building on this legacy of success, the tenth edition is updated throughout with the latest clinical perspectives, new images, clinical vignettes, and enhanced USMLE-style review questions to help students excel in today's changing healthcare practice. UPDATED! Clinical Vignettes with open-ended questions demonstrate the real-world application of basic science and strengthen students' self-assessment. UPDATED! Radiographs, CT images, and color histopathologic sections clarify diagnostic and therapeutic approaches. UPDATED! USMLE-style multiple-choice questions, with answers, at the end of each chapter reveal areas requiring further study and boost students' test-taking confidence. Clinical features/notes boxes provide efficient, bulleted review for key diseases. End-of-chapter Key Concepts reviews reinforce essential chapter information at a glance. Appendices provide fast access to symbols, units, and normal values; further readings; and answers to multiple-choice and Clinical Vignette questions. Online video lectures, available via YouTube, engage students in the material and clarify challenging textbook concepts. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Call Number: RC711 .W469 2022
2020 Handbook of Emergency Cardiovascular Care for Healthcare Providers by The 2020 edition of the Handbook of ECC incorporates the latest science and treatment recommendations from the 2020 AHA Guidelines for CPR and ECC. This pocket-sized reference tool provides quick and convenient access to the latest resuscitation science and treatment information. Features: It has been updated to reflect new science in the 2020 American Heart Association Guidelines for CPR & ECC. Highly-popular among healthcare professionals. Provides convenient, quick access to the latest resuscitation science and treatment information. It is organized by basic, advanced adult and pediatric life support, and newborn resuscitation. It provides algorithms, protocols, sequences, drug dosages, and much more. This handbook is intended for use by AHA and other instructors and students; personnel in emergency, intensive care, or critical care departments; emergency medical care providers; and regulators and policy makers.
Call Number: RC675 .E43 2020
ASE's Comprehensive Echocardiography Edited by a team of leading echocardiography experts and endorsed by the American Society of Echocardiography, ASE'S Comprehensive Echocardiography, 3rd Edition, covers the full spectrum of sonography of the heart in one succinct, authoritative resource. This highly regarded text provides must-know information on everything from basic foundations and principles to clinical application, written and edited by ASE members with expertise in each specific area. Case studies, numerous tables, high-quality images and videos highlight the latest uses of echocardiography, including the most recent 2D and 3D advances. Discusses all the latest methods to assess cardiac chamber size and function, valvular stenosis/regurgitation, cardiomyopathies, coronary artery disease, complications of myocardial infarction, and other cardiac pathologies. Covers recent advances in critical care echocardiography, cardio-oncology, structural heart disease, interventional/intraoperative echocardiography, strain imaging of left and right heart chambers, multimodality imaging in systemic diseases, and novel 3D techniques. Contains more than 1,200 updated images: echocardiograms (including 2D, 3D, and Doppler), diagrams, anatomic drawings, algorithmic drawings, and more. Provides access to nearly 600 full-motion echocardiography video clips. Keeps you up to date with the latest echocardiography practice guidelines and advanced technologies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC683.5.U5 D96 2022 & E-book
Bailey and Scott's Diagnostic Microbiology Perfect your lab skills with the essential text for diagnostic microbiology! Bailey & Scott's Diagnostic Microbiology, 15th Edition Is known as the #1 bench reference for practicing microbiologists and as the preeminent text for students in clinical laboratory science programs. With hundreds of full-color illustrations and step-by-step methods for procedures, this text provides a solid, basic understanding of diagnostic microbiology and also covers more advanced techniques such as matrix-assisted laser desorption time-of-flight mass spectrometry. Written by noted CLS educator Dr. Patricia Tille, Diagnostic Microbiology has everything you need to get accurate lab test results in class and in clinical practice. More than 800 high-quality, full-color illustrations help you visualize concepts. Expanded sections on parasitology, mycology, and virology allow you to use just one book, eliminating the need to purchase other microbiology textbooks for these topics. Hands-on procedures show exactly what takes place in the lab, including step-by-step methods, photos, and expected results. Case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to diagnostic scenarios and to develop critical thinking skills. Genera and Species boxes provide handy, at-a-glance summaries at the beginning of each organism chapter. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide measurable outcomes to achieve by completing the chapter material. A glossary defines terms at the back of the book and on the Evolve companion website. New! Updated content includes infectious disease trends and new illustrations such as culture plate images of real specimens, complex gram stains, lactophenol cotton blue microscopy, and more. NEW COVID-19 information has been added. UPDATED topics include the Human Microbiome Project, expanded MALDI-TOF applications and molecular diagnostics in conjunction with traditional microbiology, additional streps, and significant news in mycology. EXPANDED glossary defines terms on the Evolve companion website.
Call Number: QR67 .B37 2022
The Basic Science of Oncology Complete coverage of the basis of cancer and molecular biology - from globally recognized experts Basic Science of Oncology is an accessible and thorough introduction to cancer causation, cancer biology, and the biology underlying cancer treatment. You'll find everything you need to know about the latest critical thinking in oncology, as well ready to apply information about state-of-the-art science and therapeutic applications. Written by leading oncology researchers and clinicians, this is an essential resource for health professionals, students, advanced undergraduates and graduates in biological sciences, and clinicians needing an understanding of cancer cells. Presented in full-color, The Basic Science of Oncology reflects the latest research and developments in the field. Features NEW chapters: Epigenetics and Principles of Genome Regulation and Targeted Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment Thoroughly revised content, with expanded coverage of key topics such as immune system and immunotherapy, tumor growth and metabolism, vaccine development, methods of molecular analysis, tumor environment, and more The most current, evidence-based oncology primer--one that encapsulates the science of cancer causation, cancer biology, and cancer therapy Key insights into molecular and genetic aspects of cancer familiarize you with cancer biology as applied to prognosis and personalized cancer medicine In-depth focus on the discovery, evaluation, and biology of anti-cancer drugs, immunotherapy, and molecularly-targeted agents Up-to-date coverage of the basic science of radiation therapy
Call Number: RC261 .B37 2021
Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice, 2-Volume Set A practical, dynamic resource for practicing neurologists, clinicians and trainees, Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice, Eighth Edition, offers a straightforward style, evidence-based information, and robust interactive content supplemented by treatment algorithms and images to keep you up to date with all that's current in this fast-changing field. This two-volume set is ideal for daily reference, featuring a unique organization by presenting symptom/sign and by specific disease entities-allowing you to access content in ways that mirror how you practice. More than 150 expert contributors, led by Drs. Joseph Jankovic, John C. Mazziotta, Scott L. Pomeroy, and Nancy J. Newman, provide up-to-date guidance that equips you to effectively diagnose and manage the full range of neurological disorders. Covers all aspects of today's neurology in an easy-to-read, clinically relevant manner. Allows for easy searches through an intuitive organization by both symptom and grouping of diseases. Features new and expanded content on movement disorders, genetic and immunologic disorders, tropical neurology, neuro-ophthalmology and neuro-otology, palliative care, pediatric neurology, and new and emerging therapies. Offers even more detailed videos that depict how neurological disorders manifest, including EEG and seizures, deep brain stimulation for PD and tremor, sleep disorders, movement disorders, ocular oscillations, EMG evaluation, cranial neuropathies, and disorders of upper and lower motor neurons, as well as other neurologic signs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC346 .N4535 2022 & E-book
Breastfeeding: a guide for the medical profession Written and edited by leading physicians, Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, 9th Edition, offers comprehensive, dependable information and guidance in this multifaceted field. Award-winning author and co-founder of the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Dr. Ruth Lawrence, and her son, Dr. Rob Lawrence, ensure that you're brought fully up to date on everything from basic data on the anatomical, physiological, biochemical, nutritional, immunological, and psychological aspects of human lactation, to the problems of clinical management of breastfeeding-all in a highly readable, easily accessible desk reference. Helps you make appropriate drug recommendations, treat conditions associated with breastfeeding, and provide thoughtful guidance to the breastfeeding mother according to her circumstances, problems, and lifestyle. Includes numerous charts and tables throughout, with an emphasis on the scientific, chemical, and physiological underpinnings of breastfeeding. Appendices contain additional charts and tables, including the complete collection of clinical protocols on breastfeeding and human milk from the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine. Features new chapters on breast conditions and their management in the breastfeeding mother, breastfeeding and chest-feeding for LGBTQ+ families, breastfeeding during disasters, and establishing a breastfeeding practice or academic department. Provides significant updates on physiology and biochemistry of lactation; medications and herbal preparations in breast milk; transmission of infectious disease through breast milk; allergy and its relationship with breastfeeding, exposure, and avoidance; premature infants and breastfeeding; and practical management of the mother-infant nursing couple. Offers authoritative and fresh perspectives from new associate editors: neonatologist Dr. Larry Noble, obstetrician Dr. Alison Stuebe, and pediatrician and lactation specialist Dr. Casey Rosen-Carole. Covers patient-centered counseling, the cellular composition of human breast milk, microbiota of the breast and human milk, and the multifunctional roles of human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RJ216 .L358 2022 & E-book
Cecil Essentials of Medicine Known for its concise, easy-to-read writing style and comprehensive coverage, Cecil Essentials of Medicine has been a favorite of students, residents, and instructors through nine outstanding editions. This revised 10th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with a focus on high-yield core knowledge of key importance to anyone entering or established in the field of internal medicine. Fully revised and updated by editors Edward J. Wing and Fred J. Schiffman, along with other leading teachers and experts in the field, Cecil Essentials remains clinically focused and solidly grounded in basic science. New focus on high-yield, core knowledge necessary for clerkships or residencies in medicine, with concise, complete coverage of the core principles of medicine and how they apply to patient care. Each section describes key physiology and biochemistry, followed by comprehensive accounts of the diseases of the organ system or field covered in the chapters. Full-color design enhances readability and retention of concepts, while numerous imaging videos cover cardiovascular disease, endoscopy, sphincterotomy, and more. Superb images and photographs vividly illustrate the appearance and clinical features of disease. New chapters cover Women's Cancer and Transitions in Care from Children to Adults with Pulmonary Disease. Student Consult features include web-only extras, additional figures and tables, clinical photos, radiologic images, video procedures, imaging studies, and audio recordings. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC46 .C42 2022 & E-book
Cellular and Molecular Immunology Well-written, readable, and superbly illustrated, Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 10th Edition, continues the tradition of excellence established through multiple editions of this bestselling text. Offering an unparalleled introduction to this complex field, it retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. It's an ideal resource for medical, graduate, and undergraduate students, as well as a trusted reference for physicians and scientists. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout. Employs a highly accessible writing style that makes difficult concepts easier to understand, and provides clear implications of immunologic science to the management of human disease and clinical practice. Features updates from cover to cover, including new information on intracellular sensors of innate immunity, therapeutic use of monoclonal antibodies, regulation of migration events during T cell-B cell interactions, regulatory and transcriptional events in germinal center formation, immunology of infectious diseases including coronaviruses, human immunodeficiency disorders, and immunology of HIV. Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program, including many new and extensively revised illustrations. Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions. Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access multiple-choice questions that correspond to each chapter, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC954 .L577 2020x
Gray's Anatomy Review With the most extensive, comprehensive collection of anatomy multiple-choice questions in strict, current USMLE format, Gray's Anatomy Review, 3rd Edition, is an easy-to-use study tool that helps you relate anatomy to clinical practice and pass your exams. Whether used as a companion to Gray's Anatomy for Students or as a stand-alone resource, this medical textbook is your indispensable review book for both in-course examinations and the USMLE Step 1. Includes more than 1,400 high-yield questions, mirroring the USMLE Step 1 and complete with answers and rationales, that challenge your grasp of anatomical knowledge and the anatomical basis of disease. Features a new neuroanatomy chapter containing approximately 100 all-new questions that cover key concepts and relate them to clinical practice. Groups questions more logically within chapters for more effective study, first within topic areas and then from easy to more difficult. Provides specific, updated page references to current editions of Gray's Anatomy for Students, plus key answers and explanations to Gray's Basic Anatomy and Gray's Atlas of Anatomy for additional review. Helps you visualize key concepts with updated radiographic and ultrasound images and extensive use of photographs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access interactive quizzes, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: QM32 .L68 2022
Hoppenfeld's Rehabilitation and Treatment of Fractures Written by leading orthopaedists and rehabilitation specialists, the second edition of Hoppenfeld's Rehabilitation and Treatment of Fractures presents sequential treatment and rehabilitation plans for fractures of the upper extremity, lower extremity, and spine. The book demonstrates how to treat each fracture--from both an orthopaedic and a rehabilitation standpoint--at each stage of healing. Introductory chapters review the fundamentals of fracture management--bone healing, treatment modalities, biomechanics, assistive devices and adaptive equipment, gait, splints and braces, therapeutic exercise and range of motion, and determining when a fracture is healed. Subsequent chapters focus on management of individual fractures. Each chapter on an individual fracture is organized by weekly post fracture time zones, from the day of injury through twelve weeks. For each time zone, the text discusses bone healing, physical examination, dangers, x-rays, weight bearing, range of motion, strength, functional activities, and gait/ambulation.
Call Number: RD101 .H67 2022
A Rational Approach to Clinical Infectious Diseases: a manual for house officers and other non-infectious diseases clinicians Written specifically for non-infectious disease specialists in both inpatient and outpatient settings, A Rational Approach to Clinical Infectious Diseases provides concise, practical guidance that mimics the decision-making process and reasoning employed by an ID physician. Using clear, understandable language, Dr. Zelalem Temesgen and his esteemed colleagues at the Mayo Clinic present the art and the context of infectious diseases together with the science, helping non-specialists apply a rational approach to the diagnosis and treatment of infectious conditions. Clearly explains the rationale of opting for one particular treatment or length of course over another in order to arrange appropriate management and follow-up. Provides focused ID decision support to questions such as: What diagnostic test should I order? What is the correct antibiotic for this patient/geographical region? Are IV or oral antibiotics most appropriate? How long should the antibiotic course be and when should it be de-escalated? What special considerations should be taken in immunocompromised patients? How often should complex infections be followed up? Uses a succinct, easy-to-read writing style, following a consistent format: Important characteristics/epidemiology; Clinical related data; Rash characteristics; Ancillary diagnostic studies; Treatment; and Other. Provides visual and quick-reference support with dozens of figures and tables throughout the text. Contains invaluable guidance to help non-specialists provide the best care for patients, stem antibiotic misuse and resistance, avoid adverse drug events, and avoid unnecessary costs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC113.3 .T46 2022x & E-book
Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques 2-Volume Set Schmidek and Sweet has been an indispensable reference for neurosurgery training and practice for nearly 50 years, and the 7th Edition of Operative Neurosurgical Techniques continues this tradition of excellence. A new editorial board led by editor-in-chief Dr. Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, along with more than 330 internationally acclaimed contributors, ensures that readers stay fully up to date with rapid changes in the field. New chapters, surgical videos, and quick-reference features throughout make this edition a must-have resource for expert procedural guidance for today's practitioners. Discusses indications, operative techniques, complications, and results for nearly every routine and specialized procedure for brain, spinal, and peripheral nerve problems in adult patients. Covers the latest techniques and knowledge in deep brain stimulation for epilepsy, movement disorders, dystonia, and psychiatric disorders; surgical management of blast injuries; invasive electrophysiology in functional neurosurgery; and interventional management of cerebral aneurysms and arterio-venous malformations. Includes new chapters on bypass techniques in vascular disease, previously coiled aneurysms, CSF diversion procedures, surgical management of posterior fossa cystic and membranous obstruction, laser-ablation techniques, and brain stem tumors. Explores hot topics such as wide-awake surgery and ventriculo-peritoneal, ventriculoatrial and ventriculo-pleural shunts. Provides detailed visual guidance with more than 1,600 full-color illustrations and 50 procedural videos. Contains quick-reference boxes with surgical pearls and complications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD593 .O63 2022 & E-book
Sex Differences in Cardiac Diseases Significant biological differences exist between men and women that contribute to sex-specific differences in cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk factors, pathophysiology, presentation, response to therapy, and prognosis. It is essential for clinicians to be cognizant of these sex-specific differences in order to reduce the disparity in diagnosis and management of cardiovascular diseases in both genders. Sex Differences in Cardiac Disease provides a timely review of the contemporary data on these sex-specific differences in pathophysiology, clinical presentation, diagnostic evaluation, and management of cardiovascular diseases that fills a void for clinicians in practice and training. With contributions from renowned experts in the field and guideline writers, the text provides a state-of-the-art review of each topic encompassing the full spectrum of CVD in men and women. Sex-specific guideline-based recommendations are highlighted when available. Tailored to meet the needs of the busy clinicians and researchers, this text provides concise practical data to care for men and women at risk for or with CVD. The book serves as an essential resource for researchers, cardiologists, obstetricians, gynecologists, internists, family practitioners, nurse practitioners and physician assistants, and respective trainees who treat men and women with CVD.
Call Number: RC682 .S48 2021x
Surgical Anatomy and Technique This book continues the tradition of providing a concise, accessible, and generously illustrated refresher for both novice and experienced clinicians. It contains thoroughly revised chapters and dozens of new richly colored illustrations, which make it much easier to follow the technique and better appreciate the anatomy. This fifth edition now includes robotic techniques for each relevant chapter. All the existing chapters have been updated to reflect current surgical approaches and instrumentation as well as a section on anatomical complications. Three new chapters on sports hernia, ablative techniques for venous disease, and on the kidney and ureter have also been added to help surgeons learn more about these structures. The fifth edition of Surgical Anatomy and Technique: A Pocket Manual provides the gold standard in correlating clear, practical anatomy with the correct technique in the pursuit of the best possible patient outcomes and remains a "must have" for every resident and general surgeon.
Call Number: RD32 .S598 2021
Management/Employee Development Books
Build Your Cultural Agility: the nine competencies of successful global professionals The investment in global collaboration technology now exceeds US$45 billion. Professionals who work across cultures face some of the most cognitively, psychologically and emotionally difficult challenges, regardless of whether they work virtually or in person. And they often face these challenges without the help of a corporate guide. Build Your Cultural Agility is that guide. This book offers strategies to help you develop into a successful global professional, one who can comfortably and effectively work in and with people from different cultures. This book helps you leverage your natural strengths while providing suggestions for developing cultural agility competencies. Build Your Cultural Agility focuses on nine specific competencies that comprise cultural agility: three self-management competencies (tolerance of ambiguity, curiosity and resilience), three relationship-management competencies (humility, relationship-building and perspective-taking) and three task-management competencies (cultural minimization, cultural adaptation and cultural integration). Within each chapter, the author provides a case example of that competency in action, explains why the competency is critical for success, offers a self-awareness exercise to help you determine your level of proficiency and concludes with suggestions for self-development.
Call Number: HF5386 .C24 2021x
The Culture Code NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The author of The Talent Code unlocks the secrets of highly successful groups and provides tomorrow's leaders with the tools to build a cohesive, motivated culture. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BLOOMBERG AND LIBRARY JOURNAL Where does great culture come from? How do you build and sustain it in your group, or strengthen a culture that needs fixing? In The Culture Code, Daniel Coyle goes inside some of the world's most successful organizations--including the U.S. Navy's SEAL Team Six, IDEO, and the San Antonio Spurs--and reveals what makes them tick. He demystifies the culture-building process by identifying three key skills that generate cohesion and cooperation, and explains how diverse groups learn to function with a single mind. Drawing on examples that range from Internet retailer Zappos to the comedy troupe Upright Citizens Brigade to a daring gang of jewel thieves, Coyle offers specific strategies that trigger learning, spark collaboration, build trust, and drive positive change. Coyle unearths helpful stories of failure that illustrate what not to do, troubleshoots common pitfalls, and shares advice about reforming a toxic culture. Combining leading-edge science, on-the-ground insights from world-class leaders, and practical ideas for action, The Culture Code offers a roadmap for creating an environment where innovation flourishes, problems get solved, and expectations are exceeded. Culture is not something you are--it's something you do. The Culture Code puts the power in your hands. No matter the size of your group or your goal, this book can teach you the principles of cultural chemistry that transform individuals into teams that can accomplish amazing things together. Praise for The Culture Code "I've been waiting years for someone to write this book--I've built it up in my mind into something extraordinary. But it is even better than I imagined. Daniel Coyle has produced a truly brilliant, mesmerizing read that demystifies the magic of great groups. It blows all other books on culture right out of the water."--Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Option B, Originals, and Give and Take "If you want to understand how successful groups work--the signals they transmit, the language they speak, the cues that foster creativity--you won't find a more essential guide than The Culture Code."--Charles Duhigg, New York Times bestselling author of The Power of Habit and Smarter Faster Better
Call Number: HD66 .C675 2018
Emotional Intelligence : Improve Your EQ for Business and Relationships - Unleash the Empath in You Do you want to build meaningful relationship bridges in both your work and personal life? It is definitely easier when you have some help along the way, and by the way How does communicating effectively with people to avoid conflicts and get what you want from life sound to you? Many times we might have been in situations where a work promotion or a favorable outcome might have hinged on the words and phrases that are used. Or times when you just intuitively felt something was amiss and wished that you had the tools to figure out the situation Well look no further, because this book Emotional Intelligence will provide that blueprint and solution to improving your social awareness as well as increasing your EQ to better the relationships in both your personal and work life! In this book, you will learn how to Do that one thing which will instantly help out in improving EQ The two different crucial ideas which helps to avoid socially awkward situations Do these 5 practices and instantly become the favorite Star in your workplace Improve or even rescue any relationship you wish with these 5 working tips Learn how to manage toxic and stressful work environments through our 8 step process Improve and Enhance Empathy. See yourself growing in confidence and emotional intelligence Instantly boost your social awareness and master your relationships with the actionable strategies available in the book. Connect naturally with others in a more productive way, and easily navigate through interpersonal relationships to be able to get the most out of life! Get used to creating positive outcomes in both work and personal situations when you have a better grasp of the ins and outs of emotional intelligence. Master your emotions and really unleash the empath in you! Scroll to the top of the page and click the Add To Cart button to get this book Now!
Call Number: BF576 .C63 2018x
The Essential Wooden: a Lifetime of Lessons on Leaders and Leadership The acclaimed guide to leadership excellence and competitive success from one of America's greatest coaches: John Wooden "Talent to spare, or spare on talent," Wooden writes, "a leader's goal remains the same, namely, getting the very best out of the people in your organization." In The Essential Wooden he tells readers how to do this and achieve championship results, whether you lead a small team or run a corporation. When it came to managing a group of individuals and achieving world-class results, no one did it better than Coach John Wooden. This landmark leadership manual presents Wooden's own hand-picked directives and opinions to help you build a dedicated and driven team that performs under pressure. Coach Wooden unpacks his famous Pyramid of Success and offers new perspectives on achieving Competitive Greatness, filling the entire book with his no-nonsense approach and keen insights on human nature. From Wooden's earliest days as a leader through his historic UCLA dynasty, The Essential Wooden distills a lifetime of learning into the leadership playbook for the 21st century.
Call Number: HD57.7 .W664 2018x
The Hospitable Leader: create environments where people and dreams flourish Successful leaders today don't dictate; they invite. They don't dismiss; they welcome. They don't neglect; they care. Now more than ever we must pay attention to the soft side of leadership if we want hard results. As leaders--from parents to CEOs--we must learn gracious leadership to truly, positively, change our spheres of influence. In this passionate, powerful book, pastor and leadership mentor Terry Smith fleshes out five vital principles you need to become a hospitable leader. He shows that this type of leadership is not superficial niceness or allowing people to do whatever they want. Hospitable leadership is result-oriented because it's motivated by genuine love. It's how you create environments where people and dreams can thrive, where vision turns to action, and where great things happen regularly. Here is everything you need to become the type of leader people want to follow.
Call Number: BV4597.53.L43 S66 2018
Humanizing Healthcare: Hardwire Humanity into the Future of Health From a top healthcare futurist, frontline innovator, and Deloitte consultant comes a road map to Humanizing Healthcare--hardwiring humanity at every point of care--a cultural transformation that is good for people and good for business. Without meaning to do so, the healthcare industry continues to injure people--patients and clinicians--physically, emotionally, mentally, financially, spiritually, and socially. There have been numerous efforts to overhaul the system, but nothing has yet cured healthcare of its illnesses. Paramedic-turned-physician executive and Deloitte consultant Summer Knight helps top healthcare and life sciences organizations create patient-centric, consumer-oriented healthcare delivery systems. She not only provides a guide for how the industry can transform to embody a more human perspective, using data and technology, she also illustrates how using Humanizing Healthcare as a collective North Star will positively impact all stakeholders: consumers, providers, caregivers, staff, executives, shareholders, and the government alike. In this book, she: Defines the core problem in the healthcare ecosystem Clarifies the 3+1 key drivers disrupting healthcare Presents the 7 trends transforming healthcare Introduces a new vernacular for healthcare Reveals the 9 requirements that hardwire humanity at every point of care Describes new models for care, removing barriers while engaging and activating consumers to optimize their health, even when burdened by chronic conditions Discusses the 9 cultural changes for Humanizing Healthcare Identifies the evolving macro-level transformations in healthcare She shows healthcare leaders what is possible when you create high-quality, compassionate therapeutic alliances that deliver consumer-driven care with value to all industry stakeholders. Humanizing Healthcare is the future of healthcare.
Call Number: RA394 .K58 2021
Increase Learning and Development's Impact Through Accreditation: how to drive-up training, quality, employee satisfaction and ROI This book provides a guide to the process of accrediting training programs, sets out how to achieve consistent measurement of the results of training, and explains why accreditation is critical for capturing and developing today's workers' skills, aiding retention, and boosting strategic organizational credibility with millennials. Workplace and executive training is a multi-billion dollar industry and yet an enormous percentage of that budget is spent on programs that have never been rigorously examined to ensure that they are fit for purpose and deliver value for the money. If you're signing off on that budget, or asking your people to spend time on training programs, shouldn't that concern you? Training accreditation offers vital quality assurance, ensures global consistency of results and delivers accountability for learning and performance outcomes. Apart from delivering better results and greater ROI, organizations can differentiate themselves from their competitors in the employment marketplace by offering accredited proprietary training. After all, digital natives, and indeed all of today's most talented potential employees, expect (and increasingly demand) the high quality, engaging and transferable employee development that only accredited programs can deliver. Aligning with the standards set by the International Association of Continuing Education and Training (IACET) - today's premier accreditation body for training programs - the authors offer principles for quality program structure, delivery, and improvement needed to achieve accreditation. They share practices used by high quality training program managers today, covering business alignment and program administration along with the planning, design, delivery and evaluation of learning systems.
Call Number: HF5549.5.T7 R684 2020x
IT Business Partnerships: a Field Guide, Paving the way for business & technology convergence As a career CIO and founder of CIOMentor, Joseph Topinka draws on his own experiences implementing IT Business Partnership Programs to present an actionable, how-to field guide to true business technology convergence. "IT Business Partners: A Field Guide" will help you execute what many business leaders only buzz about. Within this guide you will learn the argument for business technology convergence via IT Business Partnerships, as well as the essential principles and strategies behind successful Partnership Programs. Insightful stories and real-life examples of what works and what doesn't are woven throughout, as are proven methods, tools, and templates to help you through the entire process. "IT Business Partners: A Field Guide" provides an actionable plan for you to implement an IT Business Partnership Program in your organization so that you, too, can achieve business technology convergence.
Call Number: T58.64 .T67 2014
Leading with Value: how to effectively communicate business value Do you know how to capture business value? Are you able to quantify your impact on the organization? Do your leaders clearly understand the value your team provides day over day? If your answer to any of these questions is no, fear not. You’re among the majority of leaders across the world. These same leaders are passionate about making a difference and are confused about how to communicate value in terms that executives understand and appreciate.In Leading with Value, author Peter B. Nichol provides access to secrets of how the best and most innovative companies tackle business value. His unique experience as a software engineer, architect, project leader, and CIO all synergize to provide you with clear, crisp, and actionable insights on how to capture and communicate business value. Based on his experience as a CIO, author of four books, and a data-science expert, Nichol captures the missing key for leaders struggling to quantify what impact they make and why it matters. Portfolio directors, business-relationship managers, program and project managers, agile change leaders, and business analysts are in the business of generating value. This book ensures that you’re speaking and communicating in terms that matter to executives. It explains how to capture, measure, and communicate business value and provides powerful examples that help answer questions for the novice and the practitioner alike: “Which value-based framework applies to what my team does? How can I use simple tools for the maximum impact? What’s the best method to capture financial savings and financial costs avoided?” Throughout the book, you’ll learn:• Why traditional PMOs are broken• Which value management approach works best• How to conduct a complete business-value exercise• Which leaders are in the best position to lead the value revolutionThis book also includes dozens of value-based analysis techniques for you to explore and covers a multitude of models that can be leveraged for the benefit of leaders across organizations to quantify outcomes and discover the real business value. Leading with Value is the go-to book for leaders who are serious about clearly communicating and quantifying business value—make your business the business of value!
Call Number: HD57.8 .N53 2021x
No Ego: how leaders can cut the cost of workplace drama, end entitlement, and drive big results The New York Timesbestselling author ofReality-Based Leadershiprejects the current fad of "engaging" employees and the emotional drama of "meeting their needs"--returning leadership to leaders and productivity to businesses. For years now, leaders in almost every industry have accepted two completely false assumptions--that change is hard, and that engagement drives results. Those beliefs have inspired expensive attempts to shield employees from change, involve them in high-level decision-making, and keep them happy with endless "satisfaction surveys" and workplace perks. But what these engagement programs actually do, Cy Wakeman says, is inflate expectations and sow unhappiness, leaving employees unpreparedto adapt to even minor changes necessary to the organization's survival. Rather than driving performance and creating efficiencies, these programs fuel entitlement and drama, costing millions in time and profit. It is high time to reinvent leadership thinking. Stop worrying about your employees' happiness, and start worrying about their accountability. Cy Wakeman teaches you how to hire "emotionally inexpensive" people, solicit only the opinions you need, and promote self-awareness in your whole team.No Egodisposes with unproven HR maxims, and instead offers a complete plan to turn your office from a den of discontent to a happy, productive place.
Call Number: HD57.7 .W33548 2017
Principles of Medical Professionalism The Geneva Declaration, a modern successor to the Hippocratic Oath, was recently revised to include the clause "I will attend to my own health, well-being, and abilities in order to provide care of the highest standard." As the practice of medicine enters the modern era, a combination ofdisruptive factors, including the increased use of electronic health records and changes to the US healthcare system, have left physicians struggling to find happiness in their careers.Principles of Medical Professionalism emphasizes an often-neglected aspect of medical professionalism: how and why physicians ought to focus on their self-care, happiness, and well-being as they advance through the process of socialization into the medical community of practice. This book will helpstudents manage their expectations about the profession while becoming more resilient to the disruptions in the field and equip health professionals of all levels with the practical knowledge and tools to integrate the values of medical professionalism into their professional identity. Ultimately,this book aims to empower physicians to transform their patient care in a way that incorporates an attention to healing, caring, and compassion while upholding a duty to serve the patient and society.
Call Number: R690 .M47 2021x
Teams That Work: the seven drivers of team effectiveness In the modern workplace, employees collaborate. Managers are expected to be effective team leaders and employees are expected to be valued teammates. But many teams struggle. Being part of a struggling team can be unpleasant, but it can also hurt your career and waste company resources.In Teams That Work, Scott Tannenbaum and Eduardo Salas present the seven drivers of team effectiveness and the clearest recommendations on what really makes teams great. Applying the lessons they've learned from working with high-stakes, high-risk team situations to any kind of organization, theywill dispel some of the most enduring myths (e.g., can you be both a star and a great team player?), feature the most useful psychological research, and share real-world illustrations of effective teams in action. Readers will find actionable, evidence-based tips for being an effective team leader,a great team member, a supportive senior leader, or an impactful consultant.
Call Number: HD66 .T364 2021
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?