Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Adult CCRN Review Book: CCRN study guide with practice test questions Test Prep Books' Adult CCRN Review Book: CCRN Study Guide with Practice Test Questions [5th Edition Exam Prep] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the Adult CCRN exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Clinical Judgement Pulmonary Endocrine/Hematology/Gastrointestinal/Renal/Integumentary Musculoskeletal/Neurology/Psychosocial Professional Caring & Ethical Practice Practice Questions Practice makes perfect! Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits: Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual CCRN Nurse test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Anyone planning to take this exam should take advantage of this Test Prep Books study guide. Purchase it today to receive access to: Adult CCRN review materials Adult CCRN practice questions Test-taking strategies
Call Number: RT120.I5 A32 2021x
Beginners Guide to Reflective Practice in Nursingg What is reflective practice and why is it important?How do I write my first reflection?Learn how to carry out reflective practice quickly and easily with this beginner's guide for nurses. Written for nursing students and registered nurses, this book helps build confidence in writing reflectively by using clear step-by-step guidance, insightful case studies, learning activities, and by addressing commonly asked questions from nurses and nursing students.The book has three sections; the first starts with a simple model to help students practice a first reflection and explains how to use reflection as part of assessed work at university. The second section focuses on reflecting in practice and finding the time to do it in busy work situations. The final section helps students to think more deeply about models and theories of reflection, to develop the skills they will need to pass the final year of their course.Essential reading for any nursing student new to reflective practice or registered nurse wanting to improve their reflective writing skills.
Call Number: RT86.7 .D48 2021x
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation how to write your nursing dissertation How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation provides nursing and healthcare students with authoritative information on developing, writing, and presenting an evidence-based practice healthcare dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment. Written by experienced healthcare professionals, this comprehensive textbook offers clear and straightforward guidance on sourcing, accessing, and critically appraising evidence, helping students develop their clinical research and writing skills. The authors address the common difficulties encountered throughout the process of writing a dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment, and offer expert tips and practical advice for managing time, developing study skills, interpreting statistics, publishing aspects of the work in a journal or at a conference, and more. Now in its second edition, this bestselling guide presents relatable and engaging scenarios to illustrate the setting of standards, explore legal and ethical frameworks, examine auditing and benchmarking, and demonstrate how evidence is applied to real-world problems. Covering the entire dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment process from a nursing and healthcare perspective, this innovative textbook: Helps students develop and appropriately answer a clear dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment Addresses the fundamental aspects of evidence-based practice in an accessible and readable style Features new and updated content on mini dissertations, final assessments, and evidence-informed decision-making projects that many healthcare institutions now require Presents up-to-date information that meets the needs of new healthcare roles, such as the Nursing Associate and Healthcare Assistant Includes access to a companion website containing downloadable information, an unabridged dissertation sample, and links to additional resources How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation is a must-have guide for nursing and healthcare students, trainees, other healthcare students required to complete an evidence-based practice project, and anyone looking to strengthen their critical appraisal and assignment writing skills.
Call Number: R119 .H693 2021
Midwifery and Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide Midwifery & Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide, Fifth Edition is a comprehensive review designed to help midwives and women's health nurse practitioners prepare for their certification exams. Based on the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) and the National Certification Corporation (NCC) test blueprints, it contains numerous questions with answers and rationales representing those found on the exams. Completely updated and revised with the most current evidence and practice standards, the Fifth Edition incorporates expanded content on pharmacology, coverage related to LGBTQ+ individuals and racial minorities, more discussions of health disparities, and more practice questions and images throughout.Midwifery & Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide, Fifth Edition is published in partnership with the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) and the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH).
Call Number: RG951 .M53 2021
Nurse Executive Exam Secrets Study Guide - Ancc Nurse Executive Certification Review Book, Exam Practice Questions, Detailed Answer Explanations Mometrix Test Preparation's Nurse Executive Exam Secrets Study Guide is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their Nurse Executive Board Certification Test. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes: Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance A complete review of all Nurse Executive test sections Structures and Processes Professional Practice Leadership Knowledge Management Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners. The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your Nurse Executive exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam. The Structures and Processes section covers: Federal and state laws Basic financial and budgeting principles Legal issues Emergency planning and response The Professional Practice section covers: Healthcare delivery models and settings Laws, regulations, and accrediting bodies Professional practice models Conflict management The Leadership section covers: Leadership concepts, principles, and styles Strategic planning principles Ethical principles Advocating for the nursing profession The Knowledge Management section covers: Systems theory Culture of safety Evaluating and prioritizing outcomes of care delivery Clinical practice innovation ...and much more! Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix Nurse Executive study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language. Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of Nurse Executive practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear. We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our Nurse Executive Exam Secrets Study Guide is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the Nurse Executive review you need to be successful on your exam.
Call Number: RT89 .N8744 2019x
Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition The Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition, is an essential document for every nurse practicing in the United States. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels.\n\nThe product of extensive thought work by many registered nurses, this new edition provides:\n\nA revised and contemporary definition of nursing\nAn extensive discussion of respect, equity, inclusion, and social justice\nThe new ANA Professional Nursing Model and the revised Model Representing Regulation of Professional Nursing Practice\nAn expanded discussion of the application of ethics in nursing\nA complete picture of the dynamic and complex practice of nursing and its membership and evolving boundaries.\n18 national standards of practice and professional performance and their accompanying competencies\nThis premier professional resource informs and guides nurses in their vital work providing safe, quality, and competent care. It is a must\-have for every registered nurse.
Call Number: RT85.5 .A47 2021
Online Nursing Education: a Collaborative Approach The increase of online nursing education programs has furthered the need for nursing faculty to have specific preparation for online teaching. Drawing from the authors' extensive experience teaching online nursing education programs, Online Nursing Education: A Collaborative Approach is unlike any other text. It was written and designed for faculty teaching online post-licensure students in a nursing education degree program, post-master's certificate program, advanced practice program, or other advanced education-related degree programs. This unique text takes a theoretical approach and includes practical examples as well as sample curriculum, course design, and policies. Topics covered include strategies for teaching online, learning through writing in an online classroom, experiential learning in online programs, generational differences in online learning, and more practical discussions backed by evaluation studies and qualitative research.This timely resource fills a gap in nursing education with an approach and content that are driven by educational theory, best practices in online education, and learner needs as opposed to technology and cost as drivers of online education. Online Nursing Education: A Collaborative Approach will ensure nurse educators and graduate students in nursing education programs have the required knowledge, training, and mentorship to effectively teach online and develop high quality online education programs.
Call Number: RT73 .R63 2022x
Patient and Person: interpersonal skills in nursing Patient and Person: Interpersonal Skills in Nursing offers guidance on the skills needed to interact with patients as people - an essential component of building an effective therapeutic relationship and providing quality care. Author Jane Stein-Parbury explains key concepts in simple language, without assuming any prior knowledge. The book includes empathy, dealing with challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient. Nurses will learn to build trusting relationships and support patients in their health journey. The seventh edition of this highly regarded text has been fully updated to incorporate the most current literature relating to interpersonal skills in nursing. Narratives and stories to explain practical application of theoretical concepts Forty-two learning activities to enable students to understand the content and practise skills in a focused manner Person-centred approach throughout Online scenario-based videos to demonstrate the use of specific skills An eBook included in all print purchases Additional resources on Evolve eBook on VitalSource Instructor resources: Scenario videos + transcripts Interview videos + transcripts Discussion activities for scenario videos All theoretical concepts mapped against Australian Registered Nurse Standards for Practice and Australia National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards Fully updated with latest research evidence Focus on t the importance of interdisciplinary interactions in maintaining quality and safety in health care Renewed emphasis about the importance of reflection in culture care Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing for Patient and Person, 7e, included in all print purchases. Corresponding chapter-by-chapter to the core text, EAQ prepares students for tutorials, lectures and exams, with access to hundreds of exam-style questions at your fingertips
Call Number: RT86.3 .S74 2021
PCCN Study Guide 2021-2022 : PCCN Review + 375 questions and detailed answer explanations for the Progressive Care Certified Nurse Exam Imagine if test-takers could get all of the practice they need from one study guide and score very high on the Progressive Care Certified Nurse Exam.
This PCCN Review + Study Guide combines theory and practice questions so that students are fully prepared before writing the exam. While other guides only provide around 100 questions, this guide has 375 questions along with answer explanations. There are 3 full-length tests included so that test-takers will have enough practice before attempting the real exam.
About Newstone Test Prep
Newstone Test Prep provides students with up-to-date test questions so that they are well prepared before taking the exam. We take pride in our guides because they combine both theory and test questions. At Newstone Test Prep, we do not just compile test questions; we compile the same number of questions as the real exams, in the same format. This has been a great help for past students because they were able to simulate the real exam while studying.
Thousands of students have scored higher on their exams after using our study guides.
Table of Contents:
Chapter 1: About the PCCN Exam
Chapter 2: Cardiovascular System
Chapter 3: Pulmonary System
Chapter 4: Endocrine System
Chapter 5: Gastrointestinal System
Chapter 6: Renal
Chapter 7: Hematology and Musculoskeletal System
Chapter 8: Nervous System
Chapter 9: Behavior
Chapter 10: Multisystem Diseases
Chapter 11: Synergy Model
Chapter 12: Critical Care
Chapter 13: Systems Thinking
Chapter 14: Advocacy/Moral Agency
Chapter 15: Clinical Inquiry
Chapter 16: Caring Practices
Chapter 17: Response to Diversity
Chapter 18: Clinical Judgment
Test 1: Questions
Test 1: Answers & Explanations
Test 2: Questions
Test 2: Answers & Explanations
Test 3: Questions
Test 3: Answers & Explanations
Call Number: RT120.P76 P33574 2021x
Practical Statistics for Nursing and Health Care Now in its second edition, Practical Statistics for Nursing and Health Care provides a sound foundation for nursing, midwifery and other health care students and early career professionals, guiding readers through the often daunting subject of statistics 'from scratch'. Making no assumptions about one's existing knowledge, the text develops in complexity as the material and concepts become more familiar, allowing readers to build the confidence and skills to apply various formula and techniques to their own data. The authors explain common methods of interpreting data sets and explore basic statistical principles that enable nurses and health care professionals to decide on suitable treatment, as well as equipping readers with the tools to critically appraise clinical trials and epidemiology journals. Offers information on statistics presented in a clear, straightforward manner Covers all basic statistical concepts and tests, and includes worked examples, case studies, and data sets Provides an understanding of how data collected can be processed for the patients' benefit Contains a new section on how to calculate and use percentiles Written for students, qualified nurses and other healthcare professionals, Practical Statistics for Nursing and Health Care is a hands-on guide to gaining rapid proficiency in statistics.
Call Number: RA409 .F68 2021x
Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society Core Curriculum: Ostomy Management Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society Core Curriculum: Ostomy Management, 2nd Edition Based on the curriculum blueprint of the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing Education Programs (WOCNEP) and approved by the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society(tm) (WOCN®), this practical text for ostomy care is your perfect source for expert guidance, training and wound, ostomy, and continence (WOC) certification exam preparation. Full of expert advice on ostomy care, Core Curriculum Ostomy Management, 2nd Edition is one of the few nursing texts to cover this practice area in detail. Chapter features include: Objectives at the start of each chapter, Key Points that expand on important concepts, Tables that offer clinical guidelines and care strategies, Case Studies that optimize clinical decision-making, and End-of-Chapter Review Q&A''s -- multiple choice questions followed by answers and rationales. This is essential content for those seeking WOC certification; nursing students in ostomy programs; nurses caring for patients with an ostomy; nurses in gastroenterology, urology and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students and nursing faculty. From the pathology basics to vital on-the-job skills, this evidence-based content is your complete map to gaining WOC certification -- and to providing safe, optimal patient care. Upgrade your ostomy nursing knowledge and skills and prepare for certification: NEW chapter on professional practice NEW chapter on surgical management of inflammatory bowel disease NEW "How to Pouch Over a Bridge" guide Highly rated case-based learning approach that demonstrates concepts, skills and patient-based care Easy-to-follow format that breaks down pathology, physiology and patient management topics into easy-to-remember terms Step-by-step instruction on the latest procedures and management, including: Pre- and post-op management for patients undergoing fecal or urinary diversion New surgical procedures and pouching techniques Patient education and rehabilitation issues Fecal and urinary stoma construction, and managing stoma and peristomal complications Diseases that lead to a fecal stoma - colorectal cancer Management of Crohn''s disease and ulcerative colitis Selection of pouching system Pediatric patient assessment and management Fistula management - etiologic factors, medical management, containment strategies, nutritional support, and more Detailed how-to on procedures such as fistula pouch changes, isolating a fistula for NPWT, and focused assessments Your purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook. The eBook includes powerful search tools, the ability to annotate content, videos, and additional resources. It can be downloaded to three devices, and easily converted to an audiobook. About the Clinical Editors Jane E. Carmel, MSN, RN, CWOCN has been Program Co-Director of Harrisburg Area Wound, Ostomy, Continence Nurse Program (WOCNEP) and is on the faculty of Cleveland Clinic - R. B. Turnbull, Jr. MD WOC Nursing Education Program. She is also a consultant for home care and hospice agencies and has presented at regional and national conferences. Janice C. Colwell, APRN, CWOCN, FAAN is a former President of the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society(tm) (WOCN®). She has practiced as an Advanced Practice Nurse at the University of Chicago Medicine in both the inpatient and outpatient areas, providing and supervising care to patients with ostomies. She has presented nationally and internationally, and published extensively in this field and is a past President of Friends of Ostomates Worldwide USA. Margaret T. Goldberg, MSN, RN, CWON is a former President of the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society(tm) (WOCN®). She has chaired the WOCN guidelines task force and is a past President of the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel. She consults to Delray Wound Treatment Center, an outpatient center in Delray Beach, Florida.
Call Number: RD540 .W68 2022
Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society Core Curriculum: Wound Management Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society Core Curriculum Wound Management, 2nd Edition Based on the curriculum blueprint of the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing Education Programs (WOCNEP) and approved by the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society(tm) (WOCN®), this practical text for wound assessment and management is your perfect source for expert guidance, training and wound, ostomy, and continence (WOC) certification exam preparation. Written by expert clinicians, Core Curriculum Wound Management, 2nd Edition is one of the few nursing texts to offer the basic pathology, physiology and current clinical skills required for high-level wound care. Chapter features include: Objectives at the start of each chapter, Key Points that expand on important concepts, Tables that offer clinical guidelines and care strategies, Case Studies that optimize clinical decision-making, and End-of-Chapter Review Q&A''s -- multiple choice questions followed by answers and rationales. This is essential content for those seeking WOC certification, including nursing students in wound care programs; nurses involved in wound care; nurses in gastroenterology, urology, and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students and nursing faculty. Incorporating the latest developments in clinical practice, this evidence-based content is your complete map to gaining WOC certification -- and to providing safe, optimal patient care. Follow evidence-based best practices with this top-level nursing guide to wound care ... NEW chapter on professional practice NEW chapter on incontinence-associated dermatitis (IAD) Easy-to-follow format that breaks down pathology, physiology and patient management topics into easy-to-remember terms Numerous illustrations, full-color photos and tables Evidence-based guidelines that address all crucial facets of wound care nursing, including: General principles of wound management - goal-setting and systemic support Wound cleansing and dressing selection Skin and wound care for various populations - neonatal and pediatric, geriatric, bariatric, spinal cord-injured patients Management of surgical wounds Nutritional strategies Pathology and management of venous, arterial and neuropathic wounds Principles and guidelines for wound debridement Assessment and management of wound-related infections and traumatic wounds Prevention and management of moisture-associated skin damage, medical adhesive-related skin injury and skin tears Pressure injury prevention Fistula management Your purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook. The eBook includes powerful search tools, the ability to annotate content, videos, and additional resources. It can be downloaded to three devices, and easily converted to an audiobook. About the Clinical Editors Laurie McNichol, MSN, RN, CNS, GNP, CWOCN, CWON-AP, FAAN is a Clinical Nurse Specialist and WOC nurse at Cone Health in Greensboro, North Carolina. She was Co-Editor of the Core Curriculum Wound Care, first edition. She is a past President of the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses SocietyTM (WOCN®) and the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel (NPIAP®). She has authored numerous key publications and is a well-known lecturer in the areas of wound, ostomy and continence management, and professional practice for the WOC nurse. Catherine R. Ratliff, PhD, RN, GNP-BC, CWOCN, CFCN, FAAN is a Geriatric Nurse Practitioner with more than 25 years of wound care experience and research. A former Program Director for a WOCNEP offering graduate credits at the UVA School of Nursing, she is widely published in the field of wound and ostomy care and serves as Ostomy Section Editor for the Journal of Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing (JWOCN®). Stephanie S. Yates, MSN, RN, ANP-BC, CWOCN is an Adult Nurse Practitioner and WOC Nurse at Duke University Hospital Cancer Center. She previously practiced in acute care and outpatient wound care. She is a past President of the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society TM (WOCN®). She has lectured locally, regionally and nationally, and published wound care-related articles in peer-reviewed journals.
Call Number: RD93 .W68 2022
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare: getting it right Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout. The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide: Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication.
Call Number: RT24 .W75 2021
Acute Coronary Syndromes Acute Coronary Syndromes (ACS) are a growing global menace with patients increasing in developing countries where tobacco and food play a major role. Its treatment guidelines and research results have proliferated in the academia but practical world application lags. This book addresses this present void. Guidelines for treatment of ACS are in-depth at times for practicing cardiologists to read, thus preventing its clinical application. The book aims to appraise the readers with real world situations and suggestions to help them acquire up-to-date knowledge on ACS and diagnose, prognosticate and manage it effectively. Key Features Covers recent advances in ACS Management and Pharmacotherapy Discusses the guidelines for treatment of ACS for the professional cardiologists to apply to clinical practice Explores the topics with the help of case scenarios Follows a concise yet comprehensive approach Features a chapter on 'When to Transfer' which discusses how to spot unstable patients or those heading towards shock.
Call Number: RC685.C6 A288 2020
Anatomy: an Essential Textbook Third edition of acclaimed, richly illustrated textbook is the definitive resource for learning challenging anatomy! While the relevance of anatomy to medical diagnosis and treatment continually evolves, anatomical knowledge will always be instrumental to effective treatment of patients. Building on the tradition of the highly acclaimed prior editions, Anatomy: An Essential Textbook, Third Edition by Anne M. Gilroy features new learning components that leverage the Thieme companion, Atlas of Anatomy, Fourth Edition. Concise, bulleted text paired with large, detailed anatomic figures enhance visual learning and retention of knowledge. Organized by eight units, the book starts with basic concepts and a general overview of anatomic systems. Subsequent units focused on regional anatomy cover the Back, Thorax, Abdominal Wall and Inguinal Region, Pelvis and Perineum, Upper Limb, Lower Limb, and Head and Neck. Each unit includes a chapter on the practical application of regional imaging and extensive question sets with detailed explanations. A new ordering of chapters now mirrors the revised organization of the Atlas and sequence of dissections in most gross anatomy programs. More than 100 new images, updated illustrations, and revised versions of all autonomic schematics enhance understanding of anatomy New topics in clinical and developmental anatomy addressed throughout include clinically important vascular anastomoses, spinal cord development, and common anatomic anomalies Matching colored side tabs allow quick access to similar units in both books Over 50 of the new and previously included clinical and developmental correlations now feature descriptive images, radiographs, or schematics Self-testing sections in each unit have been expanded with over 40 new USMLE-style question sets with detailed explanations This is the quintessential resource for medical students to build anatomy knowledge and confidence as they progress in their medical careers. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: QM23.2 .G55 2021
Behavioral Medicine a Guide for Clinical Practice 5th Edition Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 guide to behavioral issues in medicine delivering thorough, practical discussion of the full scope of the physician-patient relationship "This is an extraordinarily thorough, useful book. It manages to summarize numerous topics, many of which are not a part of a traditional medical curriculum, in concise, relevant chapters."--Doody's Review Service - 5 stars, reviewing an earlier edition The goal of Behavioral Medicine is to help practitioners and students understand the interplay between psychological, physical, social and cultural issues of patients. Within its pages readers will find real-world coverage of behavioral and interactional issues that occur between provider and patient in everyday clinical practice. Readers will learn how to deliver bad news, how to conduct an effective patient interview, how to care for patients at the end of life, how to clinically manage common mental and behavioral issues in medical patients, the principles of medical professionalism, motivating behavior change, and much more. As the leading text on the subject, this trusted classic delivers the most definitive, practical overview of the behavioral, clinical, and social contexts of the physician-patient relationship. The book is case based to reinforce learning through real-world examples, focusing on issues that commonly arise in everyday medical practice and training. One of the significant elements of Behavioral Medicine is the recognition that the wellbeing of physicians and other health professionals is critically important to caring for patients.
Call Number: R726.5 .B46 2020 & E-book
Cardiac Pacing, Defibrillation and Resynchronization A practical and up-to-date guide to pacemaker technology and its clinical implementation As the field of cardiology continues to advance and expand, so too does the technology and expertise behind today's electrophysiological devices. Cardiac Pacing, Defibrillation and Resynchronization has been assembled by international specialists to give all those caring for patients with heart disorders a clear and informative guide to the pacemakers and clinical methods of today. Now in its fourth edition, this essential resource: Explains different methods of pacemaker implementation in a straightforward and easy-to-follow manner Explores the most common challenges faced by working clinicians Features more than 750 illustrative graphics Contains data on the efficacy and long-term outcomes of different device models Covers new technology and clinical trial data Written for cardiologists, cardiac pacing caregivers, and those preparing to take their electrophysiology board examinations, Cardiac Pacing, Defibrillation and Resynchronization offers a complete exploration of electrophysical devices and their vital role in modern-day cardiology.
Call Number: RC684.P3 H387 2021
Casarett & Doull's Essentials of Toxicology, Fourth Edition Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive toxicology text for students and early-career professionals--updated and revised to address new research and methods For more than 45 years, Casarett and Doull's Toxicology has set the standard for providing thorough, academic, and authoritative information in clear and engaging ways. Focusing only on what you need to know and written on a level you can easily understand, it provides a concise yet comprehensive look at the science and clinical field of medical toxicology. This new edition builds on the wide success of previous editions, with extensive updates that make the book more clinically relevant to students and beginners in toxicology, pharmacology, pharmacy, and environmental sciences. Chapter-ending self-assessment Q&As and other features make the learning process more effective and efficient.
Call Number: RA1211 .C298 2021
Hematologic Malignancies: case studies in cytogenetic and molecular genetics This book is a compendium of case studies in hematologic malignancies such as acute leukemias, myelodysplastic and myeloproliferative neoplasms, chronic leukemias and multiple myeloma covering cytogenetics (karyotyping Fluorescence in sitn hybridization (FISH)) and molecular studies in detail. The first few chapters describe the methodology employed for karyotyping, FISH and Real Time PCR technology conducive to establishment of these labs if required. Each case study is described in detail by including the clinical history of the patient, findings of peripheral blood, bone marrow aspirate and bone biopsy morphological details. This is then followed by flowcytometric immunophenotyping, cytogenetic and molecular observations leading collectively to a final diagnosis, A discussion follows based on the relevance of this data in informing the prognosis, treatment response and survival in these patients. Additionally, this data serves as a key determinant for clinical decision making involving evidence based rational management of patients including targeted therapy. For better understanding, each case study is accompanied by black and white or colour images as appropriate. This book is a source of learning and a valuable read for clinical hematologists, hematopathologists, medical oncologists, residents, interns, DM Hematology students and DNB Hematology students as well.
Call Number: RC643 .B43 2021x
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods For more than 100 years, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods has been recognized as the premier text in clinical laboratory medicine, widely used by both clinical pathologists and laboratory technicians. Leading experts in each testing discipline clearly explain procedures and how they are used both to formulate clinical diagnoses and to plan patient medical care and long-term management. Employing a multidisciplinary approach, it provides cutting-edge coverage of automation, informatics, molecular diagnostics, proteomics, laboratory management, and quality control, emphasizing new testing methodologies throughout. Remains the most comprehensive and authoritative text on every aspect of the clinical laboratory and the scientific foundation and clinical application of today's complete range of laboratory tests. Updates include current hot topics and advances in clinical laboratory practices, including new and extended applications to diagnosis and management. New content covers next generation mass spectroscopy (MS), coagulation testing, next generation sequencing (NGS), transfusion medicine, genetics and cell-free DNA, therapeutic antibodies targeted to tumors, and new regulations such as ICD-10 coding for billing and reimbursement. Emphasizes the clinical interpretation of laboratory data to assist the clinician in patient management. Organizes chapters by organ system for quick access, and highlights information with full-color illustrations, tables, and diagrams. Provides guidance on error detection, correction, and prevention, as well as cost-effective test selection. Includes a chapter on Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring that discusses the necessity of testing for therapeutic drugs that are more frequently being abused by users. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RB37 .C54 2022 & E-book
Immunology: a short course Immunology: A Short Course provides an overview of the physiology of the immune system and the pathophysiology of a broad range of immune-mediated diseases, offering accessible and comprehensive guidance to the basic concepts and clinical approaches in the discipline. Now in its eighth edition, this bestselling textbook has been fully updated to reflect our expanded knowledge of how the immune system develops and functions, and the ways in which these physiological phenomena can fail or be compromised. New chapters examine cells and organs of the immune system, organization and expression of lymphocyte antigen receptor genes, experimental systems and methods, and B- and T-cell development activation. Helping students gain an integrated understanding of immunology, this textbook: Offers substantial new and revised material, expanded clinical coverage, enhanced pedagogical features, and updated figures, tables, and references Features recent research advances and therapeutic successes in the field of immunology Includes a companion website containing multiple choice questions, electronic flashcards, downloadable figures, PowerPoint slides, and sample cases Can be supplemented with the Clinical Cases in Immunology companion book The eighth edition of Immunology: A Short Course is an ideal resource for life and health science students, dental and nursing students seeking a short course text, and basic scientists and clinical researchers looking to refresh their knowledge in the subject.
Call Number: QR181 .C7152 2021
Merritt's Neurology For more than 60 years, Merritt's Neurology has remained a trusted landmark text in clinical neurology, providing unparalleled guidance on neurologic protocols, treatment guidelines, clinical pathways, therapeutic recommendations, and imaging. The fourteenth edition reflects the state of today's practice, with fully updated content and timely new sections and chapters. With this edition, Dr. James Noble joins Drs. Elan Louis and Stephan A. Mayer as co-editor, all of whom trained at Columbia University where Dr. H. Houston Merritt wrote the initial editions of this book. Lauded for its comprehensive coverage, colorful and dynamic visual style, readability, and ease of use, this up-to-date reference is ideal for neurologists, primary care physicians, and residents alike. Contains more than 150 succinct chapters that offer essential information on signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, and neurologic disorders of all etiologies. Includes a new section on the global burden of neurological disease, coverage of neurological implications of COVID-19, and new chapters covering: Addiction Sepsis associated encephalopathy New treatment modalities of previously incurable disorders, including inherited neuromuscular diseases New treatments with improved efficacy and tolerability in acute stroke and multiple sclerosis, among others Incorporation of new emerging and established biomarkers into practice Helps you quickly navigate the text and easily visualize neurologic topics with a vivid, highly illustrated, full-color format throughout. Many figures and tables have been incorporated throughout the text for quick reference. Electronic versions of the book will feature a series of new "Need to Know Neurology" video clips that focus on key take-home messages. The textbook can also be bundled with Merritt's Neurology Board Review, a forthcoming companion book with over 500 sample board review questions and answers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC346 .M4 2022
Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: scientific principles & practice Newly streamlined and focused on quick-access, easy-to-digest content, Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice, 7th Edition, remains an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. This gold standard text balances scientific advances with clinical practice, reflecting rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques in today's surgical care. New lead editor Dr. Justin Dimick and a team of expert editors and contributing authors bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Presents the science that underpins the practice of surgery alongside practical clinical content. Features newly streamlined and condensed information with a clear, concise focus, as well as additional tables, procedural summaries of key steps, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Contains 2,100 full-color illustrations, anatomic drawings, and intraoperative photographs that visually support the text and make complex concepts easier to grasp. Chapters begin with Key Points and decision-making algorithms are listed in the front of the book for quick reference. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Question Bank with nearly 900 questions.
Call Number: RD31 .S922 2022
Neuroscience for Clinicians: basic processes, circuits, disease mechanisms, and therapeutic implications Neuroscience for Clinicians is a comprehensive and clinically relevant survey of emerging concepts on the organization and function of the nervous system and neurologic disease mechanisms. By emphasizing how genetic, molecular, and cellular processes and their interactions control the functionof the nervous system, the work will help clinicians understand emerging concepts about the mechanisms of neurologic disorders including neurodegeneration, channelopathies, and synaptic dysfunction that provide potential therapeutic targets.This single-authored textbook utilizes ample figures and tables throughout in order to facilitate retention of the core concepts presented. Divided into 5 sections, the first section includes chapters focused on basic cellular processes. Section 2 includes chapters focused on cell communicationwhile Section 3 focuses on the neuronal microenvironment. The fourth section focuses on the organization and interactions of circuits in the cortex, thalamus, and brainstem, underlying behavioral states such as sleep, sensory processing, and motor control. The fifth section addresses mechanisms ofpain and neural control of survival. And the final section covers concepts on mechanisms of emotion, social behavior, memory, language, and executive functions with emphasis on dementia and behavioral disorders.
Call Number: RC346 .B463 2021x
Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery Offering a comprehensive, authoritative review of today's orthopaedic surgery procedures, Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery, Third Edition, provides lavishly illustrated, expert guidance for virtually any orthopaedic procedure you're likely to perform. This highly acclaimed reference focuses on mastery of operative techniques while also providing a thorough understanding of how to select the best procedure, how to avoid complications, and what outcomes to expect. More than 1,000 global experts take you step by step through each procedure, and 13,000 full-color intraoperative photographs and drawings clearly demonstrate how to perform the techniques, making this an essential daily resource for residents, fellows, and practitioners. Includes new procedures and comprehensive updates throughout all four volumes. Provides new procedural videos and a newly streamlined eBook for on-the-go reference. Covers all subspecialty areas including sports medicine, pediatrics, the spine, and orthopaedic oncology. Uses consistent, easy-to-follow chapter templates and extensive bulleted lists and tables for quick reference and review. Discusses each clinical problem using the same format: definition, anatomy, physical exams, pathogenesis, natural history, physical findings, imaging and diagnostic studies, differential diagnosis, non-operative management, surgical management, perils and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, and complications. Features visually stunning, consistently rendered medical illustrations and labelled photographs that present how to perform each technique step by step. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD731 .O647 2022, 4 Vols.
Pre-Operative Assessment: a case based approach This book uses a case-based approach to provide current information on a range of medical issues with the goal of enhancing preoperative evaluation and optimization. It meets the market need for a resource that concisely encapsulates current knowledge on the medical management of specific topics in a setting relevant to the preoperative clinic. In so doing the book aims to improve patient care and safety, enhance resource use, facilitate appropriate and timely management of preexisting conditions and diminish patient concerns. Organized into sections according to body system, each section consists of chapters delineating a specific disorder. Each chapter starts with a clinical vignette followed by a question-and-answer style investigation of the relevant issues. These questions attempt to address commonly encountered clinical dilemmas where opinion often differs between, and occasionally within, medical sub-specialties. Expertly written chapters are also supplemented by a number of chapters which address special considerations such as the frail patient and chronic opioid use. Preoperative Assessment: A Case-Based Approach is an invaluable reference for all physicians involved in preoperative assessment including anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, family doctors and residents in these fields. Nurse practitioners and other allied heath professionals involved in preoperative evaluation may also find this a book a valuable and timely resource.
Call Number: RD50 .P74 2021x
Management/Employee Development Books
The Infinite Game The New York Times-bestselling author of Start With Why, Leaders Eat Last, and Together Is Better offers a bold new approach to business strategy by asking one question: are you playing the finite game or the infinite game?
In The Infinite Game, Sinek applies game theory to explore how great businesses achieve long-lasting success. He finds that building long-term value and healthy, enduring growth - that playing the infinite game - is the only thing that matters to your business.
Call Number: HD57.7 .S54866 2020
Behavioral Interview Questions and Answers: how to face the behavioral interview with preparation, to relax, and overcome the job interview. If you know the answers, the questions won't be a problem If you want to know every questions and answers of a Behavioral Interview, then keep reading Not sure which questions you can usually find in a behavioral interview? Without knowing what the questions might be, you wouldn't know how to face a behavioral interview? Does the very idea of not knowing how to respond make you feel uncomfortable? Would you like to prepare yourself on the answers but you have no idea what is better to say and what not? Maybe you don't know what is best to ask when it's up to you to ask the questions, you will not have time enough at your disposal and you will want to know how you can take advange by asking the right questions. The main part of a behavioral interview is to know the correct answers to all the questions that can be asked. If you are not aware of the right answers the mistake and therefore the refusal to a behavioral interview is assured. Thanks to this book you will be able to find out what are the questions you will receive at a behavioral interview and all the answers to be given in the correct way. You will completely manage the behavioral interview It will help you find the job you want You'll find out which are the most common mistakes to avoid Find all possible questions Know how to answer questions about your past experiences Learn what to say about interactions with other people Tricks to show the best of your personality Find the right questions you can ask when it's your moment You will be able to move the focus to the right place Use your skills in the best way And much more... Even if you have already tried to give the right answers to behavioral interviews and failed, knowing all the questions and the correct answers will help you pass your next behavioral interview. Buy this book right now!
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 B57 2020x
The Employee Performance Handbook: smart strategies for coaching employees Maximize employee performance--whether your workers are on-site or remote Confronting employees about poor performance is an ordeal dreaded by managers and HR pros everywhere. The possibility of emotional outbursts--and the specter of a lawsuit--leaves even many experienced managers at a loss. The Employee Performance Handbook is a complete how-toguide for managing employee performance. Packed with practical and legal advice, this book offers smart strategies that will help get the most out of your employees and avoid legal trouble. You'll learn how to: identify problems early on decide when discipline is necessary choose the right response to a problem engage employees in improving performance fire employees when necessary protect against wrongful termination lawsuits, and manage a remote workforce effectively. With downloadable forms: You can download sample policies, sample forms, checklists, skills-building exercises, and more, (details inside).
Call Number: HF5549.5.L3 M33 2021
The Heart of Laser-Focused Coaching: a revolutionary approach to masterful coaching What would it mean for your coaching if you got right to the heart of the matter - every time? You can. Learn rarely taught tips and concepts that will immediately elevate your coaching while avoiding the common pitfalls. New and experienced coaches alike will benefit greatly from the detailed strategies and wisdom shared from Marion's years of experience. -Cheryl Richardson, NYTimes Bestselling author of Take Time for Your Life Marion Franklin, the Coach's Coach, has been training and mentoring coaches for more than 20 years. Every student she has mentored or taught who sought ACC, PCC, or MCC has gotten their credential using the material in this book designed for all levels of coaches. No matter where you are in your coaching journey, this book has something for you. This book is different because it: Includes brilliant tools for beginner-to-seasoned coachesOffers advanced techniques for developing powerful questions without any listsProvides principles of human behavior that help you quickly identify what's really going onContains the 25 Themes that underlie every coaching situation and make coaching and questioning much simplerShares a step-by-step, easy to follow, way to create a shift in perspectivePresents 17 strategies that clients unknowingly use that actually work against, not for them Begin using even one or two of the concepts and principles in this book and notice your coaching immediately elevate to a new level. Your clients will notice the difference You will experience this innovative approach to masterful coaching with two full laser-coaching sessions with commentary - much like eavesdropping in on the mind of a master coach. Marion shares unprecedented concepts that will help new coaches and even the most experienced coaches gain new insights and ideas, including a deeper understanding of what they already know.Automatically improve your coaching by applying one rarely known principle.Never feel stuck around what question to ask.Feel more confident by quickly identifying what's really going on.Know exactly what to listen for in every conversation.Discover a simple "2 inquiry" approach that instantly enables you to deepen your curiosity. This book will not only boost your confidence and mastery as a coach, it will enable you to produce sustained results for your clients. I designed this book to not only show you what laser-focused coaching looks, sounds, and feels like, but to show you HOW TO coach for permanent, life-altering change. When using the Laser-Focused approach, you'll be able to: avoid getting seduced by the storyask questions that get right to the heart of the matterhave the client do all of the summaryknow how to create the shift and what to do afterwardsrecognize the client's underlying pattern and know how to address it and so much more The HeART of Laser-Focused Coaching -- A revolutionary, unprecedented approach makes coaching easier while also enhancing your ability to help clients create deep and profound change. Transform your coaching into something so powerful and life-changing that your coaching consistently flows and becomes effortless.
Call Number: BF637.C53 F72 2019x
The Joy of Work: 30 ways to fall in love with your job again ‘Bruce Daisley is on a mission to change the world of work.’ The Times
From the creator of hit podcast Eat Sleep Work Repeat comes a revolutionary re-envisioning of how to enjoy your job.
In the course of a career that has taken him from some of the world's biggest media companies to Twitter, via Google and YouTube, Bruce Daisley has become fascinated by what makes great companies tick. And in his hugely popular podcast Eat Sleep Work Repeat, he has dug right into the DNA of work, talking to leading experts about how we can make our jobs more fulfilling, more productive – and much more enjoyable.
Now, in The Joy of Work, he shares the fruits of his discoveries in 30 succinct tips that range across all aspects of 21st-century office life and that combine inspiration, empirically tested insight and down-to-earth practical answers in equal measure. Are lunch breaks for wimps, or do they actually make us more productive? Is it true that you can improve team performance simply by moving the location of the kettle or coffee machine? Why are meetings so often a waste of time, and how can they be fixed? And what are Monk Mode Mornings and Hack Weeks, and why do people swear by them?
If you’re not happy with the status quo, if you want to find out how things could be done better, if you’re seeking greater fulfilment at work and a life that is less fraught, The Joy of Work will point the way.
"This is a warm, wise and funny book which provides a terrific summary of some of the science - and stories - behind what makes work a positive part of people’s lives. From the importance of lunch to the value of laughter, this book gives witty and practical advice. I loved it and I’ve already started changing some of the things I do at work, as a result!" - Professor Sophie Scott
"Don't quit yet! In this book, Bruce shares remarkable advice that may well have you laughing while you work and truly loving your job." - Biz Stone, Twitter co-founder
“Bruce Daisley’s The Joy of Work is a joy to read. It translates the best of workplace psychology research into practical ways of establishing creative and liveable cultures at work―a must read for all of us 9-5ers!” - Professor Sir Cary Cooper, ALLIANCE Manchester Business School, University of Manchester
“Bruce’s The Joy of Work is an important reminder of simple everyday practices to improve how we all work together, which will lead to greater team and individual happiness and performance. Great results will follow.” - Jack Dorsey, CEO of Twitter and Square
"With just 30 changes, you can transform your work experience from bland and boring (or worse) to fulfilling, fun, and even joyful. Bruce Daisley has pulled together threads of research and woven them into a tapestry of strategies that actually work, and that don't depend on the CEO's sign-off for implementation. You can begin changing your work culture today at the individual, team, and organisational levels with these tactics that increase creativity, productivity, and satisfaction.” - Daniel Pink, author of WHEN and DRIVE
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 D35 2020
Leadership is Language: the hidden power of what you say, and what you don't Few of us realize that our language in the workplace inhibits creative problem-solving and escalates uncertainty and stress. In both high-pressure situations and everyday scenarios, in each meeting and email, we have the opportunity to empower our colleagues by using the right words.
In Say Less, Lead More, Former US navy captain David Marquet expands on his bestselling leadership book Turn the Ship Around! and shows managers and leaders the next step in their development: how to enable their team through communication.
Marquet outlines a set of principles and tools that help leaders inspire their people to take responsibility and address challenges without waiting to be told what to do, highlighting how small changes in language can lead to dramatic changes in a team's success and happiness.
Praise for Turn the Ship Around!:
'I don't know of a finer model of this kind of empowering leadership than Captain Marquet. And in the pages that follow you will find a model for your pathway' Stephen R. Covey, author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People
'To say I'm a fan of David Marquet would be an understatement... I'm a fully fledged groupie. He is the kind of leader who comes around only once a generation. He is the kind of leader who doesn't just know how to lead, he knows how to build leaders. His ideas and lessons are invaluable to anyone who wants to build an organization that will outlive them' Simon Sinek, optimist and author of Start with Why
Call Number: HD57.7 .M392445 2020
Lead the Way in Five Minutes a Day: sparking high performance in yourself and your team You can't prepare for every situation, but you can be prepared to lead. When the next challenge arises, the right approach will help you rise to the occasion and guide your team to success. How do you achieve that? This book will spark your leadership potential and show you the way to high performance. Lead the Way in Five Minutes a Day skips the complex theories and jargon and gets right to practical solutions. You will learn how to develop skills that can be applied immediately to meet any challenge. Although this book can be read from cover to cover, its handy organization by topic allows for a quick read of battle-tested tips. Think of it as a fully stocked leadership toolbox, ready as needed. Eleven chapters cover every-day, real-life topics like communication, diversity, and workplace culture. Each chapter begins with a self-assessment guide so you can identify relevant strengths to develop and address opportunities for growth. Throughout the book, you will find: Coaching tips to get the most from your team Reflection questions to help you explore fresh approaches to current situations Ideas for sharing strategies with colleagues to help them grow as leaders with you What you will not find in this book is the one way to lead. Most likely, that skill is already in you. All you need is a way to spark your thinking and push you to discover how you truly want to lead--and now you can do that in just five minutes a day.
Call Number: HD57.7 .P744 2021
The Long-Distance Teammate: stay engaged and connected while working anywhere What does it mean to "go to work" when you're not actually leaving the house? This is the ultimate guide for remote workers who want to stay engaged as team members, maintain robust work relationships, and keep an eye on their long-term career goals. Remote work is growing at nearly 30 percent per year in major economies worldwide, meaning there are millions of people who once worked at a central location every day and are now finding themselves facing an entirely new way of working. This book is the best single resource for remote workers for getting work done effectively, building relationships that are both productive and satisfying, and maintaining a career trajectory when they are not in constant close contact with their employer or the organization. The Long-Distance Teammate aims to tackle three important issues- the dynamics of remote work, the understanding of virtual strengths and vulnerabilities, and the necessary steps to creating appropriate processes and communication skills. This is a practical guide for both individual workers who want to regain some control over their work and those inside organizations responsible for the ongoing development of their most important resource- people.
Call Number: HD66 .E35 2021
Quantum Leadership Creating Sustainable Value in Health Care with Navigate 2 Premier Access Quantum Leadership: Creating Sustainable Value in Health Care, Sixth Edition focuses on the issue of leadership within the shifting landscape of health care. With clarity and depth of detail, the text features theories about contemporary leadership within today's increasingly complex and diverse healthcare delivery system. It works from a model of complexity leadership, in which leadership is not limited to those with certain titles but an attribute that every healthcare worker can develop for success in fast-moving, information-overloaded organizations.The Sixth Edition focuses on supporting high levels of interdisciplinary teamwork as a key leadership strategy to further advance the skills necessary to lead complex, cross-departmental teams. The unique hallmark of this text is its focus on the postindustrial, complex and highly mobile modern healthcare system. The authors emphasize the importance of the characteristics, elements, and role of leaders in guiding individuals and teams in these new models.Key FeaturesExplores both the value and role of social media in leadership and how to leverage this platform for awareness and communication Leadership succession planning Addresses the generational considerations leaders encounter in the modern healthcare work environment Integrates requirements for Quality Matters certification for online coursesNavigate Premier Access
Call Number: HD57.7 .P666 2022
Reducing Secondary Traumatic Stress: skills for sustaining a career in the helping professions "Reducing Secondary Trauma presents a model for supporting emotional well-being in workers who are exposed to the effects of secondary trauma. The book provides helping professionals with a portfolio of skills that support emotion regulation and recovery from secondary trauma exposure and also that enhance the experience of the helping encounter. Each chapter presents evidence-informed skills that allow readers to regulate distressing emotions and to foster increased empathy for those suffering from trauma. Reducing Secondary Trauma goes beyond the usual discussion of burnout to talk in specific terms about what we do about the very real stress that is produced by this work"--
Call Number: RC451.4.M44 M55 2022
Strategic Marketing for Health Care Organizations: building a customer-driven health system A thorough update to a best-selling text emphasizing how marketing solves a wide range of health care problems There has been an unmet need for a health care marketing text that focuses on solving real-world health care problems. The all new second edition of Strategic Marketing for Health Care Organizations meets this need by using an innovative approach supported by the authors' deep academic, health management, and medical experience. Kotler, Stevens, and Shalowitz begin by establishing a foundation of marketing management principles. A stepwise approach is used to guide readers through the application of these marketing concepts to a physician marketing plan. The value of using environmental analysis to detect health care market opportunities and threats then follows. Readers are shown how secondary and primary marketing research is used to analyze environmental forces affecting a wide range of health care market participants. The heart of the book demonstrates how health management problems are solved using marketing tools and the latest available market data and information. Since the health care market is broad, heterogenous, and interconnected, it is important to have a comprehensive perspective. Individual chapters cover marketing for consumers, physicians, hospitals, health tech companies, biopharma companies, and social cause marketing - with strategies in this last chapter very relevant to the Covid-19 pandemic. Each chapter gives readers the opportunity to improve marketing problem-solving skills through discussion questions, case studies, and exercises.
Call Number: RA410.56 .K69 2021
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Eighth Edition Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted and comprehensive guide to the healthcare system--fully updated with the latest changes and trends A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the healthcare system's nuances and complexities, work more effectively with other members of healthcare teams, and identify areas in need of change. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in healthcare policy, this peerless guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. healthcare system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. The authors carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you're a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our healthcare system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone. Features * Covers every aspect of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement * Delivers updated information on the Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation * Provides new insights into the role of social determinants in patient health * Clinical vignettes highlight key policy issues and clarify difficult concepts
Call Number: RA395.A3 U474 2020 & Ebook
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2020, 2019, 2018