Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: ? Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines ? Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used ? Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing? Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article? Write a letter to the editor or write a book review? Work with and manage contributors when writing a book? Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more
Call Number: RT24 .S28 2021
Cardiac Electrophysiology: a Visual Guide for Nurses, Techs, and Fellows, Second Edition A practical, hands-on pictorial guide that illustrates the essential concepts of clinical cardiac electrophysiology for allied health personnel, fellows, and those new to the EP lab.
More than 85 high-quality tracings, diagrams, fluoroscopic images, and electroanatomic maps, accompanied by detailed discussions of each image, offer a fundamental understanding of cardiac electrophysiology equipment, principles, and procedures:
Catheter placement, hardware connections, and intracardiac signals
Normal electrogram sequences associated with sinus rhythm
Methodologies used to uncover the mechanisms of common clinical tachycardias
Authored by a team of experts, Cardiac Electrophysiology: A Visual Guide for Nurses, Techs, and Fellows, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for a complex technology, providing superb guidance in acclimating new trainees and personnel to the EP laboratory and empowering them with the knowledge and skills needed to practice clinical electrophysiology.New to the Second Edition:
A new unit―Cardiac Electrical Axis
16 video clips with a focus on electrogram sequences
An illustrated glossary and abbreviations list
Full color interior in landscape format.
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 P878 2021x
CCM Certification Study Guide - Certified Case Manager Exam Secrets, Full-Length Practice Test, Step-By-Step Review Video Tutorials Mometrix Test Preparation's CCM Certification Study Guide - Certified Case Manager Exam Secrets is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their Certified Case Manager Exam. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes: * Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations * Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance * A complete review of all CCM test sections * Care Delivery and Reimbursement Methods * Psychosocial Concepts and Support Systems * Quality and Outcomes Evaluation and Measurements * Rehabilitation Concepts and Strategies * Ethical, Legal, and Practice Standards Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners. The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your CCM exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the Commission for Case Manager Certification (CCMC) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam. The Care Delivery and Reimbursement Methods section covers: * Managed care healthcare delivery system * Long-term care cases * Case management * Challenges presented by HIV/AIDS patients The Psychosocial Concepts and Support Systems section covers: * Chronic illness and disability * Support programs * Cultural competence * Successful and unsuccessful negotiations The Quality and Outcomes Evaluation and Measurements section covers: * Quality improvement * AHRQ * Performance improvement * Adjusted Clinical Group system The Rehabilitation Concepts and Strategies section covers: * Rehabilitation delivery systems * Short-term and long-term disability plan * Assistive device The Ethical, Legal, and Practice Standards section covers: * Ethical issues * HIPAA's main objectives * Case management accreditation requirements * Changes taking place in the healthcare field ...and much more! Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix CCM study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language. Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of CCM practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear. We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our CCM Certification Study Guide - Certified Case Manager Exam Secrets is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the CCM review you need to be successful on your exam.
Call Number: RT90.7 .C35 2020x
Concepts for Nursing Practice Learn the core concepts of nursing care and apply them to the clinical setting! Concepts for Nursing Practice, 3rd Edition uses a simplified, intuitive approach to describe 57 important concepts relating to all areas of nursing practice. For easier understanding, this book also makes connections among related concepts and links you to other nursing textbooks. Exemplars for each concept provide useful examples and models, showing how concepts are successfully applied to practice. New to this edition are updated research evidence and a new Population Health concept. Written by conceptual learning expert Jean Giddens, this text will help you build clinical reasoning skills and prepare confidently for almost any clinical nursing situation. Authoritative content written by expert contributors and meticulously edited by concept-based learning expert Jean Giddens sets the standard for the rapidly growing concept-based curriculum movement. A total of 57 important nursing concepts are clearly defined and analyzed, spanning the areas of patient physiology, patient behavior, and the professional nursing environment. Case studies in each chapter make it easier to apply knowledge of nursing concepts to real-world situations. UNIQUE! Featured Exemplars sections describe selected exemplars related to each nursing concept, covering the entire lifespan and all clinical settings, and help you assimilate concepts into practice. UNIQUE! Logical framework of concepts by units and themes helps you form immediate connections among related concepts --- a key to conceptual learning. UNIQUE! Interrelated Concepts illustrations provide visual cues to understanding and help you make connections across concepts. NEW! UPDATED content reflects the latest research evidence and national and international practice guidelines. NEW! Population Health concept reflects the future of nursing, in which health care organizations learn to deliver care that is high in quality, patient-centered, cost-effective, and evidence-based. NEW! Featured Exemplars sections provide a brief explanation of some of the most important exemplars. NEW! Discussion questions in case studies reinforce your understanding of each concept. NEW! UPDATED exemplar links connect you to concept exemplars in other RN- and LPN/LVN-level Elsevier nursing titles.
Call Number: RT42 .C598 2021
Critical Care Nursing DeMYSTiFieD: hard stuff made easy Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A fun, streamlined way to learn the major concepts and theories of critical care nursing - and how to apply them to real-world patient situations Valuable to professional nurses who wants to transition into critical care nursing or students seeking to excel in their advanced studies, Critical Care Nursing Demystified, Second Edition is the book they need to quickly and easily understand the key concepts and advanced trends of this specialty. In order to make the learning process as quick and effective as possible, each chapter contains lesson objectives, key terms, NCLEX®-style Q&A, and vignettes of nursing situations you are likely to encounter in the workplace. You will also find a comprehensive final exam and coverage that includes overviews of basic anatomy and physiology of target organ systems, detailed health assessments using the body systems approach, diagnostic studies utilized to confirm an illness, common critical procedures performed, current medications used in the treatment of the critical care patient, and implementation of the nursing process to identify and solve patient concerns. Simple enough for students but challenging enough for professional nurses considering a switch from their current field to this specialty, Critical Care Nursing Demystified is the book you need to make your transition or entry into the field as smooth and painless as possible.
Call Number: RT120.I5 T47 2021
EKG | ECG Interpretation Made Easy Over 300 Illustrations Inside - Special Launch Price! Electrocardiograms (or "ECGs") can seem very daunting when you first try to read them. There are so many squiggles, often visualized in six different "boxes" on the ECG interpretation page. You've been told that those squiggles mean something important about the heart-but what? In this guide, you will understand how ECGs are performed, what they represent about the heart, and what it means to see something you don't think is normal. Before you get into the hard stuff-the actual interpretation of ECGs, and what to do about what you've read-you'll study the source of the ECG, which is the heart. By reviewing what this important organ looks like and does every moment of your life, you'll see how those ECG lines get generated and what exactly they mean. Then we'll talk about how the ECG is generated and how you obtain an ECG. What is the difference between a "rhythm strip" and a 12-lead ECG, for example? What is a P wave or a QRS complex? After you learn these, you'll be ready to interpret what you see on an ECG reading. The rest of the guide gives you the tools to read any ECG and know what it means. We'll cover all sorts of arrhythmias as well as ECG evidence of ischemia and infarction. We'll also talk about what you need to know concerning how drugs and electrolyte abnormalities affect the heart, and what kind of ECG you'll see under such influences. Click the cover to see what's inside. Then get yours now by clicking the "Buy Now" button!
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 E33 2021x
Essentials of Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing Addressing the reproductive issues of women throughout the lifespan in a clear, practical approach, Essentials of Maternity, Newborn, and Women''s Health Nursing, Fifth Edition, equips students with the knowledge and clinical capabilities to excel on the NCLEX® and confidently care for women and their families in today''s evolving healthcare environment. Employing a nursing process focus, author Susan Scott Ricci takes students from concept to application by building on previously mastered material to help them make sound clinical choices at every stage of patient care. This new edition has been updated with the latest evidence-based research, reflecting the most current clinical practices, interventions and cultural considerations across the full spectrum of maternity, newborn, and women''s health nursing. Realistic case studies immerse students in real-world nursing scenarios to boost their caregiving skills and bridge the gap of limited clinical opportunities, giving students and practicing nurses alike the preparation they need to confidently succeed in today''s nursing practice. Create Your Ideal Course with These Additional Solutions! CoursePoint+ Turn classroom success into clinical excellence with simulated, real-world practice built directly into your CoursePoint+ tools. In CoursePoint+, the clinical scenarios in Essentials of Maternity, Newborn, and Women''s Health are joined by vSim® for Nursing scenarios and Lippincott® Advisor access, giving students a comprehensive, hands-on experience across a variety of patient diagnoses and situations, as well as unparalleled preparation for the following types of challenges they will face in the clinical setting: Lippincott® CoursePoint+ includes; Engaging course content provides a variety of learning tools to engage students of all learning styles. A more personalized learning approach gives students the content and tools they need at the moment they need it, giving them data for more focused remediation and helping to boost their confidence and competence. Powerful tools, including varying levels of case studies, interactive learning activities, and adaptive learning powered by PrepU, help students learn the critical thinking and clinical judgment skills to help them become practice-ready nurses. Unparalleled reporting provides in-depth dashboards with several data points to track student progress and help identify strengths and weaknesses. Unmatched support includes training coaches, product trainers and nursing education consultants to help educators, and students implement CoursePoint with ease. vSim® for Nursing | Maternity Designed to simulate real maternity nursing scenarios, vSim® for Nursing, co-developed by Laerdal® Medical and Wolters Kluwer, allows students to interact with virtual patients in a safe, realistic online environment, enhancing students'' critical thinking skills and promoting clinical confidence and competence. Amelia Sung Delivery with Risk of Shoulder Dystocia Amelia Sung Shoulder Dystocia Brenda Patton Group B Strep Positive Brenda Patton Unknown Group B Strep Status Carla Hernandez Preparation for C-Section due to Umbilical Cord Prolapse Fatime Sanogo Mild Postpartum Hemorrhage Fatime Sanogo Moderate Postpartum Hemorrhage Olivia Jones Mild Preeclampsia Olivia Jones Severe Preeclampsia Lippincott® DocuCare This leading educational EHR training solution readies your students for the clinical demands of practice by delivering realistic experience working with EHRs in a safe, true-to-life setting. Designed and refined by nurse educators, Lippincott DocuCare lets you interact with your students, track their progress and focus your teaching strategies -- all in one easy-to-use program.
Call Number: RG951 .R53 2021
INSPIREd Healthcare: a value-based care coordination model In today s environment where healthcare costs are outpacing the economy, healthcare systems are shifting from fee-for-service to value-based payment to deliver high-quality care while reducing costs. This shift presents nurses with the opportunity to take the lead in transforming care delivery and achieve the Triple Aim goals: improving patient experience of care, improving health of populations, and reducing per capita healthcare costs.
INSPIREd Healthcare follows author Billie Lynn Allard and her team of nurses as they successfully implement an accountable community of health in pursuit of the Triple Aim. The INSPIRE Model they follow provides an evidence-based blueprint for other healthcare systems hoping to solve the complicated problems surrounding care transitions and health promotion
Call Number: RT97 .A45 2020x
Leadership and Nursing Care Management Develop your management and nursing leadership skills! Leadership & Nursing Care Management, 7th Edition focuses on best practices to help you learn to effectively manage interdisciplinary teams, client needs, and systems of care. A research-based approach includes realistic cases studies showing how to apply management principles to nursing practice. Arranged by American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL) competencies, the text addresses topics such as staffing and scheduling, budgeting, team building, legal and ethical issues, and measurement of outcomes. Written by noted nursing educators Diane L. Huber and Maria Lindell Joseph, this edition includes new Next Generation NCLEX® content to prepare you for success on the NGN certification exam. UNIQUE! Organization of chapters by AONL competencies addresses leadership and care management topics by the five competencies integral to nurse executive roles. Evidence-based approach keeps you on the cutting edge of the nursing profession with respect to best practices. Critical thinking exercises at the end of each chapter challenge you to reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to a situation. Case studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management vignettes and illustrate how concepts can be applied to specific situations. Research Notes in each chapter summarize current research studies relating to nursing leadership and management. Full-color photos and figures depict concepts and enhance learning. NEW! Updates are included for information relating to the competencies of leadership, professionalism, communication and relationship building, knowledge of the healthcare environment, and business skills. NEW! Five NGN-specific case studies are included in this edition to align with clinical judgment content, preparing you for the Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination. NEW contributors - leading experts in the field - update the book's content.
Call Number: RT89 .H83 2022
Legal Nurse Consulting Principles and Practices Legal Nurse Consulting Principles and Practices, Fourth Edition, provides foundational knowledge on the specialty nursing practice of legal nurse consulting. Legal nurse consulting is defined, and essential information about the practice is discussed (history, certification, scope and standards of practice, and ethical and liability considerations). The essentials of the law and medical records are explored. Analysis of the various types of legal cases on which legal nurse consultants work is provided, as are other practice areas for legal nurse consultants. The various roles and skills of legal nurse consultants are explored, and the textbook concludes with discussion of the ways in which legal cases are adjudicated. This volume allows nurses to bridge the gap from their clinical experience to the unfamiliar territory of the legal world, with practical advice on topics including tactics for being cross-examined in the courtroom and investigative and analytical techniques for medical records. Individual chapters by subject-matter experts focus on the full range of legal, medical, and business issues that new or experienced legal nurse consultants and nurse experts will encounter in their work. A nuanced look at the realities and complexities of toxic torts, medical malpractice cases, civil rights in correctional healthcare, ERISA and HMO litigation, and other practice areas is offered. Suitable for experienced nurses studying for certification as legal nurse consultants, and for expert witnesses, practitioners seeking to expand their current legal nurse roles, and other healthcare and legal practitioners.
Call Number: KF2915.N8 L349 2020
The Nation of Nurses: a manual for revolutionizing healthcare Inspires nurses to envision themselves as leaders, innovators, and agents of changeFirmly grounded in the digital age, this unique and innovative book focuses on the challenges and opportunities for nurses in the 21st century. The author, one of nursing's fastest-rising influencers, focuses on the power dynamic between nurses and the healthcare system-which often impedes opportunities for nurses to manage and lead effectively-and offers contemporary solutions that help nurses to mobilize and completely revolutionize healthcare as we know it. Based on the author's extensive experience with digital and online trends, communities, and spaces, the book offers practical strategies whereby nurses can assert themselves within the healthcare and education systems to make positive change on institutional, regional, and national levels. Focusing on nurse self-advocacy, the book offers concrete strategies to ameliorate a top concern for nurses: a perceived lack of power and respect in the workplace. It features step-by-step processes for empowering and mobilizing nurses as change agents at a systemic level, demonstrates how nurses can alter cultural norms and perceptions of their profession, and illustrates how nurses can maximize their influence and impact on institutional and government policy. Woven throughout is the author's extraordinary personal story of rising from a Certified Nursing Assistant to CEO of the largest nurse-run online community. Key Features: Delivers contemporary strategies to help nurses powerfully assert themselves within the healthcare and education systems toward effecting positive change Discusses how nurses can significantly impact healthcare on institutional, regional, and national levels Addresses a top concern for nurses: a perceived lack of power and respect in the workplace Accessibly written for all nurses with step-by-step instructions for implementing the book's concepts and strategies Demonstrates how to use social media platforms to expand the influence of nurses in the healthcare system
Call Number: RT82 .J64 2022x
Nurse Executive Study Guide 2021-2022: new outline + 300 questions, full-length practice tests Imagine if students could get all of the practice they need from one study guide and score very high on the Nurse Executive Exam.
This Nurse Executive study guide combines theory and practice questions so that students are fully prepared before writing the exam. While other guides only provide around 80 questions, this guide has 300 questions along with answer explanations. There are 2 full-length tests included so that test takers will have enough practice before attempting the real exam.
About Newstone Test Prep
Newstone Test Prep provides students with up-to-date test questions so that they are well prepared before taking the exam. We take pride in our guides because they combine both theory and test questions. At Newstone Test Prep, we do not just compile test questions; we compile the same number of questions as the real exams, in the same format. This has been a great help for past students because they were able to simulate the real exam while studying.
Thousands of students have scored higher on their exams after using our study guides.
Table of Contents:
Chapter 1: What the Nurse Executive Exam Entails
Chapter 2: Human Resource Management – Knowledge
Chapter 3: Human Resource Management – Skills
Chapter 4: Quality and Safety – Knowledge
Chapter 5: Quality and Safety – Skills
Chapter 6: Business Management – Knowledge and Skills
Chapter 7: Health Care Delivery – Knowledge
Chapter 8: Health Care Delivery – Skills
Chapter 9: Legal Matters and Health Care Delivery
Chapter 10: Nursing Practice Models and Staff Development
Chapter 11: Strategic Planning & Visioning
Chapter 12: Summary of the Nurse Executive Position
Test 1 Questions
Test 1 Answers
Test 2 Questions
Test 2 Answers
Call Number: RT89 .N847 2021x
Clinical Contact Dermatitis: a practical approach This book is intended as a manual and offers an essential tool for practicing and occupational dermatologists, for postgraduates training in dermatology and allergo-immunology, and for allergologists and occupational physicians. Moreover, the authors include information from the world literature, addressing the needs of those who work in industrial fields and are concerned about the dermatological safety of products. The book provides a handy update on this complex, rapidly evolving research area, and in particular, an in-depth analysis of its clinical aspects. It will enable dermatologists to recognize the various clinical manifestations of the condition, make a prompt diagnosis and choose the most effective treatment. Contact dermatitis, a vast and fascinating field of study, has a high frequency of occurrence worldwide in both children and adults of both sexes, and during their daily routine, dermatologists invariably encounter many patients with this disease. To ensure the proper management of these patients it is necessary first of all to formulate a clinical diagnosis on accurate morphological grounds, since it is the most clinically polymorphic disease in dermatology and hence very demanding in terms of differential diagnosis. Then, to achieve properly targeted prevention for each patient, it is essential to isolate the causes among the numerous etiological chemical agents present in both working and leisure time activities and environments. The aim of this book is therefore two-fold: firstly to provide information on the various clinical features of contact dermatitis and review their differential diagnosis, and secondly to provide a comprehensive etiological overview. Particular attention has been paid to the methodologies and importance of patch tests and other diagnostic tools, as well as to the principles of prognosis, treatment and rehabilitation, together with considerations on some preventive aspects underlying contact dermatitis. A wealth of color clinical images, as well as tables and explanatory diagrams, round out the book.
Call Number: RL244 .C55 2021x
Complications in Endovascular Surgery As devices, technologies, and imaging techniques continue to evolve, today's endovascular surgical techniques have increased in both number and complexity. Complications in Endovascular Surgery provides a unique focus on potential complications encountered in the operating room, preparing you to anticipate the unexpected, identify the risk factors in individual procedures, and take steps to successfully manage complications when they occur. Helps you manage the surgical complications associated with image-guided interventional techniques used when treating patients with vascular disease, with clear descriptions of how to prevent problems and how to prevent catastrophic problems once a simple problem occurs. Provides a practical guide to device-specific tips and tricks from experts in the field, making this unique resource ideal for surgeons at all levels of training and practice. Features highly illustrated, consistent instructions that explain how to avoid and manage both common and uncommon complications. Covers EVAR, TEVAR, FEVAR, and other complex aortic work; as well as CAS, TCAR, complex LE endovascular procedures, and venous intervention-lysis/stenting. Includes tip boxes with key facts and technical recommendations, warning boxes that highlight safety precautions, and a troubleshooting guide for each procedure that helps you get back on track if things don't go exactly as planned. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RD598.5 .C656 2022x & E-book
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Occupational & Environmental Medicine, 6th Edition This comprehensive guide builds your understanding of OEM complexities while providing practical information you need for daily care Concise yet fully comprehensive, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Occupational & Environmental Medicine, Sixth Edition is the definitive guide to diagnosing, treating, preventing, and remediating common occupational and environmental illnesses. It provides valuable insights into the role of non-physician health and safety professionals, how they interact with physicians, and the value of team collaboration. Providing quick access to critical information, this thorough guide also covers important legal aspects of occupational and environmental medicine. Extra materials for your day-to-day needs include workers comp specs by state/region, physical exam guidelines (photos, videos), pain scales, OSHA/NIOSH questionnaires, screening questions, AOEC/NAICS/SOC information, blood/urine toxicology values, pain management guidelines, and more.
Call Number: RC963 .C87 2021x & E-book
Dermatology for the Primary Care Provider Designed for today's busy family physicians, Dermatology for the Primary Care Provider is an easy-to-use reference covering the diagnosis and management of commonly seen dermatologic conditions. It provides practical, everyday guidance for quick reference at the point of care, including management pitfalls, clinical warning signs, specific treatment recommendations, and much more. Packed with need-to-know information, this unique resource is invaluable both when you are confident in your diagnosis and need guidance on next steps, or when you need step-by-step assistance on initial management in the absence of a definitive diagnosis. Highlights common management pitfalls, how to rule out acutely dangerous entities, and clinical warning signs requiring urgent referral. Provides specific treatment recommendations including which level of therapy is necessary, clear instructions on how to prescribe, and what to watch for. Includes numerous treatment algorithms throughout, as well as a differential diagnosis overview list in every chapter with cross-references to the corresponding page. Contains helpful information on patient education as well as answers to commonly asked patient questions. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RL71 .W353 2022x E-book
Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics Long recognized as a leading textbook in this fast-moving field, Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics offers current, complete information with a strong basis in practical clinical genetics and genomics for medical school and beyond. The 16th Edition of this award-winning text has been thoroughly updated throughout and includes case-based and multiple-choice questions, end-of-chapter summaries, an extensive glossary, and convenient online access, making it an ideal choice for all medical undergraduates as well as postgraduates seeking to improve their understanding and knowledge. Includes new case-based studies with questions and answers throughout, in addition to multiple-choice self-assessment questions for study and review. Covers key topics such as pharmacogenetics, personalized medicine, prenatal testing, reproductive genetics, and ethical and legal issues in medical genetics. Divides the text into three easy-to-use sections: The Scientific Basis of Human Genetics, Genetics in Medicine and Genomic Medicine, and Clinical Genetics, Counseling and Ethics Features full-color illustrations and other images that help readers visualize the appearance of genetic disorders and assist with the understanding of complex genetic structures. Contains learning features such as summary boxes, an extensive glossary of terms, online hyperlinks to important genetics websites and clinical databases, and more. Presents the extensive knowledge and experience of distinguished editors Peter D. Turnpenny and Sian Ellard, as well as new editor Ruth Cleaver. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RB155 .E5 2022 & E-book
Emotion in the Clinical Encounter The foundational knowledge and practical actions you need to effectively address your patients' emotions--and manage your own emotions Medical schools acknowledge that emotional well-being and clinical outcomes are connected, but the research that should inform emotion management is scattered. Emotion in the Clinical Encounter brings together theory and research on this important topic. In addition, to revealing how emotion processing affects clinician wellness, it links clinician response to patients' affective cues to care outcomes--making this book unique among health provider "burnout books." Emotion in the Clinical Encounter builds your understanding of the science of emotion and delivers practical insights for recognizing, acknowledging, and responding to patients' emotions, as well as your own. It provides in-depth coverage of the evolutionary and social function of emotion, the role of emotion in illness, the culture of medicine and its relationship to emotional management, and the neuroscience of emotion as it pertains to clinical medicine.
Call Number: R727.3 .E46 2021 E-book
Fundamentals of Aerospace Medicine Encompassing all occupants of aircraft and spacecraft--passengers and crew, military and civilian--Fundamentals of Aerospace Medicine, 5th Edition, addresses all medical and public health issues involved in this unique medical specialty. Comprehensive coverage includes everything from human physiology under flight conditions to the impact of the aviation industry on public health, from an increasingly mobile global populace to numerous clinical specialty considerations, including a variety of common diseases and risks emanating from the aerospace environment. This text is an invaluable reference for all students and practitioners who engage in aeromedical clinical practice, engineering, education, research, mission planning, population health, and operational support. Features eight new chapters including Precision Medicine, Musculoskeletal System and Performance, Human Spaceflight Mishaps and Incidents, and Crew Escape and Survival Systems. Covers important approaches to Human System Integration and Risk Management, as well as Aeromedical Certification. Addresses important aeromedical issues involving agricultural aviation, military aviation, long-duration spaceflight, and commercial spaceflight. An excellent review tool for the American Board of Preventive Medicine - Aerospace Medicine certification exam and Continuing Certification, with outstanding contributions from a team of expert scientists and medical providers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC1062 .F86 2022
Huppert's Notes: pathophysiology and clinical pearls for internal medicine Bridge the gap between pathophysiology and clinical medicine in a succinct outline of core internal medicine topics!
Originally created and road-tested by a resident and then updated by a team of resident authors, Huppert’s Notes succinctly organizes the foundational science covered early in medical school and the clinical approaches encountered in clerkships and beyond. This marriage of pathophysiology and clinical medicine provides a framework for how to approach internal medicine concepts mechanistically, rather than through memorization.
You’ll find concise descriptions of common medical conditions with diagnostic and management pearls, as well as high-yield diagrams and tables to emphasize key concepts. Covering all internal medicine subspecialties, each Huppert’s Notes chapter is organized in an intuitive and consistent outline format for rapid access:
Anatomy & Physiology
Approaches & Chief Complaints
Diseases & Pathophysiology
Key Medications & Interventions
Key Clinical Trials & Publications
Space for your personal notes
Call Number: RC46 .H87 2021 E-book
Orthotic Intervention for the Hand and Upper Extremity Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes lifetime access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Companion to the Fabrication Process Manual for Orthotic Intervention for the Hand and Upper Extremity, now published as a separate text. This comprehensive text is the perfect resource for use in the classroom, during labs, and in clinical practice for both occupational and physical therapists. Additionally, it is a great reference for those studying to become a Certified Hand Therapist (CHT). Orthotic Intervention for the Hand and Upper Extremity: Splinting Principles and Process superbly highlights anatomical and mechanical principles; discusses associated indications and precautions; and promotes clinical reasoning skills by presenting various patient examples, therefore allowing you to confidently utilize techniques in clinical practice. This updated third edition is divided into the following sections: fundamentals necessary for successful orthotic fabrication, additional intervention methods, and orthoses for specific diagnoses and patient populations. Now with a larger format for more generous pattern appreciation, as well as incorporated and revised evidence-based content from an expanded list of contributing authors, it remains the go-to resource for every level of usage. New Chapters on Relative Motion Orthoses, Prosthetics, Orficast,Delta-Cast, and Tendon & Nerve Transfers. Fabrication Process Manual is now a separate supplemental resource including comprehensive step-by-step directions for more than 60 orthoses in addition to dozens more orthosis options included within the Clinical and Expert Pearls. Full-color photographs of actual patients provide hundreds of new clinical examples demonstrating the direct link to clinical practice. Larger Format of textbook allowing for larger images and additional content. Addition of Expert Pearls generously shared by dozens of hand therapy experts from around the world including unique orthotic ideas, tips, and material usage. Field Notes written by chosen clinical experts highlighting a unique perspective on that chapter''s content. FAQs list common questions therapists have related to orthotic fabrication and other intervention strategies for a specific patient population. Respected Surgeons contributed their thoughts highlighting the important collaborative relationship between a surgeon and hand therapist. Lippincott® Connect features: Lifetime access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, such as interactive diagrams, video tutorials, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Call Number: RD559 .O77 2022
A Practical Guide to Joint and Soft Tissue Injection Featuring highly illustrated, evidence-based information along with high-quality videos, A Practical Guide to Joint & Soft Tissue Injection is the definitive guide to effective injection procedures that can be performed with simple equipment in a variety of settings. Expanded and updated for the fourth edition, this practical, award-winning guide thoroughly explains the rationale and step-by-step technique for each procedure, helping you offer patients immediate relief from pain and discomfort. Covers a full range of musculoskeletal disorders, chalazions, keloids, warts, and occipital neuralgia, as well as the use of corticosteroids, viscosupplementation, and dry needling. Contains new sections on Orthobiologics, Musculoskeletal Ultrasound, and Advanced and Adjunctive Techniques. Includes all-new content on facial/head nerve blocks, treatment of intersection syndrome, hamstring tendon/ischial bursa, gluteal pain syndrome, Baker's cyst, and midfoot joint injections. Features new coverage of auricular battlefield acupuncture, barbotage, tendon brisement, fenestration, nerve hydrodissection, capsular hydrodilatation/hydroplasty, and percutaneous tenotomy with debridement. Includes 25% more video content, with all videos shown from the operator's viewpoint. Features full-color illustrations and photographs that help you identify landmarks and determine exactly how to proceed. Discusses anatomy and landmarks, when to refer, indications and contraindications, special medical conditions, equipment, complications, coding and billing, and much more. Provides helpful appendices with consent forms, aftercare handouts, and information on documentation. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC932 .M29 2022
Robbins and Cotran Review of Pathology Unsurpassed in authoritative, focused content, Robbins Cotran Review of Pathology, 5th Edition, covers all major topics in general pathology and organ system pathology, effectively preparing you for coursework and examinations. Part of the highly regarded Robbins Cotran family of texts, this easy-to-use review contains 2,000 multiple-choice questions and answers to help you master the most important principles and facts in pathology. Questions and answers have been written, reviewed, updated, and explained by experts in the field, ensuring that your knowledge is up to date, thorough, and clinically relevant. Contains 1,500 vignette-style questions in print that reinforce clinical applications and incorporate key patient care and diagnostic strategies (history, physical examination, laboratory testing, and radiologic imaging). Online, 500 additional interactive questions cover more challenging topics and less common conditions. Uses single-best-answer and extended-matching formats to reflect levels of difficulty that prepare you for examinations. Questions are written in the style of USMLE and MCCQE questions that you will encounter for qualifying examinations. Covers the fundamentals of gross and microscopic pathology as well as the latest findings in molecular biology and genetics. Answers and detailed explanations for every question are found at the end of each chapter. Incorporates recent changes in the understanding of the pathophysiology underlying disease processes as well as the approach to workup and diagnosis of disease conditions. Reflects the breadth of content in the leading Robbins Cotran textbooks Pathologic Basis of Disease and Basic Pathology, following the chapters for guided review and referencing them for further study. Helps you visualize key pathologic concepts and conditions with over 300 full-color images. Provides a final comprehensive exam of over 75 USMLE-style questions covering the range of topics from across the book. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RB119 .K56 2022
Systems Immunology and Infection Microbiology Systems Immunology and Infection Microbiology provides a large amount of biological system models, diagrams and flowcharts to illustrate development procedures and help users understand the results of systems immunology and infection microbiology. Chapters discuss systems immunology, systems infection microbiology, systematic inflammation and immune responses in restoration and regeneration process, systems' innate and adaptive immunity in infection process, systematic genetic and epigenetic pathogenic/defensive mechanism during bacterial infection on human cells is introduced, and the systematic genetic and epigenetic pathogenic/defensive mechanisms during viral infection on human cells. This book provides new big data-driven and systems-driven systems immunology and infection microbiology to researchers applying systems biology and bioinformatics in their work. It is also invaluable to several members of biomedical field who are interested in learning more about those approaches.
Call Number: QR182.2.M36 C44 2021x
Vitreous Microsurgery Written by a world-renowned pioneer in vitreoretinal surgery, Vitreous Microsurgery, 6th Edition, is an up-to-date, comprehensive how-to guide to all vitreoretinal procedures. Dr. Steve Charles, along with Drs. Stephen Huddleston and Jonathan Brugger, takes readers step by step through the decision-making process for evaluating the best course of treatment, and describes in detail clinically proven methods of managing the anterior and posterior segment vitreous surgery patient in a systematic manner. Numerous algorithms assist with intraoperative decision making, relying on knowledge of physical principles and performed in the order of ascending risk. Presents material in a systematic, building block approach with general methodology preceding its application to specific disease states. Includes significant updates to all existing chapters, as well as new coverage of 3D visualization, endoscopy, intraoperative OCT, anti-VEGF for ROP in addition to of laser, 2-needle in-office silicone emulsification removal, 2-needle in-office PFO droplet removal, and macular patch graft. Discusses alternative approaches for surgical treatments as well as their pros and cons. Features more than 180 3-dimensional, full-color illustrations--many by the Charles Retina Institute's renowned graphic artist, Byron Wood--for clear visualization of techniques, as well as new OCT images and new photographs. Offers unparalleled instruction, pearls, and tips from Dr. Steve Charles, a pioneering leader in the development of vitreoretinal surgical techniques and instruments. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RE501 .C48 2022
Management/Employee Development Books
The Adult Learner: the definitive classic in adult education and human resource development How do you tailor education to the learning needs of adults? Do they learn differently from children? How does their life experience inform their learning processes? These were the questions at the heart of Malcolm Knowles' pioneering theory of andragogy which transformed education theory in the 1970s. The resulting principles of a self-directed, experiential, problem-centred approach to learning have been hugely influential and are still the basis of the learning practices we use today. Understanding these principles is the cornerstone of increasing motivation and enabling adult learners to achieve. The 9th edition of The Adult Learnerhas been revised to include: Updates to the book to reflect the very latest advancements in the field. Addition of two new chapters on: diversity and inclusion in adult learning, and on andragogy and the online adult learner. An updated supporting website: This website for The Adult Learner9th Edition will provide basic instructor aids. For each chapter there will be a PowerPoint presentation, learning exercises, and added study questions. Revisions throughout to make it more readable and relevant to your practices. If you are a researcher, practitioner or student in education, an adult learning practitioner, training manager, or involved in human resource development, this is the definitive book in adult learning you should not be without.
Call Number: LC5225.L42 K56 2020
How Innovation Works: and why it flourishes in freedom Building on his national bestseller The Rational Optimist, Matt Ridley chronicles the history of innovation, and how we need to change our thinking on the subject. Innovation is the main event of the modern age, the reason we experience both dramatic improvements in our living standards and unsettling changes in our society. Forget short-term symptoms like Donald Trump and Brexit, it is innovation that will shape the twenty-first century. Yet innovation remains a mysterious process, poorly understood by policy makers and businessmen alike. Matt Ridley argues that we need to see innovation as an incremental, bottom-up, fortuitous process that happens as a direct result of the human habit of exchange, rather than an orderly, top-down process developing according to a plan. Innovation is crucially different from invention, because it is the turning of inventions into things of practical and affordable use to people. It speeds up in some sectors and slows down in others. It is always a collective, collaborative phenomenon, involving trial and error, not a matter of lonely genius. It happens mainly in just a few parts of the world at any one time. It still cannot be modeled properly by economists, but it can easily be discouraged by politicians. Far from there being too much innovation, we may be on the brink of an innovation famine. Ridley derives these and other lessons from the lively stories of scores of innovations, how they started and why they succeeded or failed. Some of the innovation stories he tells are about steam engines, jet engines, search engines, airships, coffee, potatoes, vaping, vaccines, cuisine, antibiotics, mosquito nets, turbines, propellers, fertilizer, zero, computers, dogs, farming, fire, genetic engineering, gene editing, container shipping, railways, cars, safety rules, wheeled suitcases, mobile phones, corrugated iron, powered flight, chlorinated water, toilets, vacuum cleaners, shale gas, the telegraph, radio, social media, block chain, the sharing economy, artificial intelligence, fake bomb detectors, phantom games consoles, fraudulent blood tests, hyperloop tubes, herbicides, copyright, and even life itself.
Call Number: HC79.T4 R54 2021x
Human Resources in Healthcare: Managing for Success, Fifth Edition The unprecedented events of 2020 exposed many of the hidden flaws in the healthcare system that harm not only patients but also healthcare employees and their well-being. Anti-racism movements demanded that healthcare organizations reframe their diversity and inclusion initiatives. The COVID-19 pandemic forced systems to respond to worker strain, stress, and burnout. These events and others have reinforced the need for a dynamic and constantly evolving approach to human resources in healthcare. Human Resources in Healthcare: Managing for Success addresses the key realities and trends in healthcare human relations. The topics explored provide readers with a solid foundation for working effectively with people in healthcare organizations. The book's aim is to equip managers with the conflict management and problem-solving skills necessary to apply sound human resources policies. This fifth edition includes three new chapters based on recent developments. One explores burnout and worker well-being in the changing healthcare landscape and in the face of a pandemic. Another focuses on diversity, inclusion, and belonging, offering problem-based cases and a tool for diversity strategy development. The third addresses worker retention, as millennials and Generation Z become a larger share of the workforce. Other changes in this edition include: updates on the increasing use of technology and its effect on the employer-employee relationship; vignettes in each chapter that challenge students with difficult ethical dilemmas; human resources metrics that support a diversity strategy and effectiveness in retention and hiring; and expanded instructor resources that include teaching notes for ethical scenarios and discussion questions. Recognizing change in the healthcare workforce is only the first step. This book elevates managers to the next step: expertly adapting and succeeding in the face of change.
Call Number: RA971.35 .H864 2021
Leading Beyond Change: a practical guide to evolving business agility This guide shows readers how to transform a traditional organization into an evolutionary one with a framework and mindset that offer a new way of leading and approaching change. Now more than ever, society is demanding change, and organizations are being asked to shift into more conscious and agile business practices. Yet, most of what people believe about leadership, effective workplaces, and how to create lasting change is either incomplete or outright incorrect. And even if the desire to change is there, understanding of how to achieve it is elusive. This book holds the key. It introduces the Shift Evolutionary Leadership Framework (SELF), which helps leaders create the understanding and application needed to evolve high performance. At the core of the book are dozens of business patterns that cut across seven dimensions of organizational functioning. The traps of traditional organizations are contrasted with the high-performance practices of evolutionary organizations. Authors Michael Sahota and Audree Tata Sahota explain the steps of leading beyond change-evolving beyond servant leadership to make the inner shift needed to unlock the practical skills and techniques. Whether readers call this shift business agility, Teal Agility, evolutionary, or the future of work, it is possible to create high-performing organizations filled with energized people who are able to surf the waves of change.
Call Number: HD58.8 .S245 2021
Learning to Lead, Leading to Learn: lessons from Toyota leader ISAO Yoshino on a lifetime of continuous learning Refreshing, Timeless Lessons for Those Who Care to LeadIn Learning to Lead, Leading to Learn, leadership coach Katie Anderson and Toyota leader Isao Yoshino bring you a remarkable book about what it means to learn, to lead, and to care. Created through years of collaboration, this book offers their shared reflections on leadership and learning, providing readers an inspirational experience that defies generational and cultural divides."The only secret to Toyota is its attitude towards learning." -- Isao YoshinoWith a career that spanned nearly four decades at Toyota Motor Corporation, Isao Yoshino's stories help us understand how Toyota intentionally developed the culture of excellence for which it is renowned today, and how one person learned to lead so that he could lead to learn. Katie Anderson weaves together these heartwarming stories of personal discovery, and offers her own unique perspective on them, with the intention of helping you learn to lead and lead to learn.Reflection is the Key to LearningDive into Learning to Lead, Leading to Learn to discover the power of reflection as a source for learning. Uncover never-before-published "insider stories" from pivotal moments in Toyota's history and fascinating nuances that inspired the Toyota Way. And walk away with fresh insights and excitement about people-centered leadership, organizational excellence, and yourself.If you've ever been mentored -- in business or in life -- by someone whose words, experiences, and perspectives changed you for the better, you know that an entire book of honest reflection and deep wisdom can have a profound impact on the world. For today's business professionals -- dedicated to continuous learning and people-centered leadership -- this is that book.Learning to Lead, Leading to Learn is a beautiful, one-of-a-kind tapestry that will inspire both veteran and aspiring leaders to reflect and learn. It's a book for leaders of all levels, in any industry, anywhere in the world, who strive to create a culture of continuous learning and to lead with intention -- by helping others discover their best selves, while also developing themselves.
Call Number: HD58.7 .A47737 2020x
Novick and Morrow's Public Health Administration: principles for population-based management Under the direction of lead editors, Leiyu Shi and James A. Johnson, the Fourth Edition of Public Health Administration: Principles for Population-Based Management examines the many events, advances, and challenges - including the COVID-19 pandemic - in the United States and the world since the publication of the prior edition.With contributions from experts in areas ranging from workforce to community-based prevention to emergency preparedness, this timely and thorough revision offers detailed, comprehensive coverage of current, relevant issues for students as well as practicing public health administrators. This edition also addresses new perspectives of evidence-based public health, systems thinking, accountable care organizations, social entrepreneurship, integrated information management, disaster preparedness and response, and social media.Key Features:- Coverage of COVID-19 in select chapters (1, 4, and 27)- New chapter on Systems Thinking for Public Health- Streamlined chapters feature the addition of chapter objectives, more graphics, practitioners interviews, and chapter discussion questions.- Enhanced and expanded coverage on public health information, evaluation, and preparedness.- Exploration of new perspectives in the field through the lens of the CEPH competencies, including evidence-based public health; systems thinking; as well as accountable care organizations; social entrepreneurship- Accompanied by a complete package of Instructor Materials: TestBank, Instructor's Manual, and PowerPoint slides.
Call Number: RA425 .P83 2021
PHR Study Guide: exam prep with practice test questions for the professional in human resources certification Updated for 2021, Trivium Test Prep’s unofficial, NEW PHR Study Guide: Exam Prep with Practice Test Questions for the Professional in Human Resources Certification isn’t your typical exam prep! Because we know your time is limited, we've created a product that goes beyond what most study guides offer. With PHR Study Guide, you'll benefit from a quick but total review of everything tested on the exam with current, real examples, graphics, and information. These easy to use materials give you that extra edge you need to pass the first time.
HRCI was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product.
Trivium Test Prep’s PHR Study Guide offers:
A full review of what you need to know for the PHR exam
Practice questions for you to practice and improve
Test tips to help you score higher
Trivium Test Prep’s PHR Study Guide covers:
Business Strategy and Ethics
Leading and Communicating in the Workplace
Workforce Planning and Management
Total Rewards: Compensation and Benefits
Employee and Labor Relations
Learning, Development, and Evaluation
…and includes a FULL practice test!
About Trivium Test Prep
Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our test prep products based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our study materials are specifically tailored for your exact needs.
Call Number: RJ253 .W6635 2020x
Proving the Value of Soft Skills: measuring impact and calculating ROI A Step-by-Step Guide to Showing the Value of Soft Skill ProgramsAs organizations rise to meet the challenges of technological innovation, globalization, changing customer needs and perspectives, demographic shifts, and new work arrangements, their mastery of soft skills will likely be the defining difference between thriving and merely surviving. Yet few executives champion the expenditure of resources to develop these critical skills. Why is that and what can be done to change this thinking?For years, managers convinced executives that soft skills could not be measured and that the value of these programs should be taken on faith. Executives no longer buy that argument but demand the same financial impact and accountability from these functions as they do from all other areas of the organization.In Proving the Value of Soft Skills, measurement and evaluation experts Patti Phillips, Jack Phillips, and Rebecca Ray contend that efforts can and should be made to demonstrate the effect of soft skills. They also claim that a proven methodology exists to help practitioners articulate those effects so that stakeholders' hearts and minds are shifted toward securing support for future efforts.This book reveals how to use the ROI Methodology to clearly show the impact and ROI of soft skills programs. The authors guide readers through an easy-to-apply process that includes: * business alignment* design evaluation * data collection * isolation of the program effects * cost capture* ROI calculations* results communication. Use this book to align your programs with organizational strategy, justify or enhance budgets, and build productive business partnerships. Included are job aids, sample plans, and detailed case studies.
Call Number: HD53 .N53 2021x
Row the Boat: a never-give-up approach to lead with enthusiasm and optimism and improve your team and culture Learn to live and lead with enthusiasm and optimism, impact your team, and transform your culture In Row the Boat, Minnesota Golden Gophers Head Coach P.J. Fleck and bestselling author Jon Gordon deliver an inspiring message about what you can achieve when you approach life with a never-give-up philosophy. The book shows you how to choose enthusiasm and optimism as your guiding lights instead of being defined by circumstances and events outside of your control. Discover how to put the three key components of row the boat into practice in your life: The Oar: The energy. Only you can dictate whether your oar is in the water or whether you take it out and decide not to use it. The Boat: The sacrifice. The more you give, serve, and make your life about helping others, the better and more fulfilled your life will be, and the bigger your boat gets. The Compass: The direction. The vision you have for your life and the people you surround yourself with help create the dream of where you want to go. Perfect for athletes, coaches, business leaders, and anyone else who hopes to squeeze a little more enjoyment and productivity out of life, Row the Boat will propel leaders, teams, and organizations to greater heights than they have ever reached before.
Call Number: HD57.7 .G666743 2021
Think Lead Disrupt: how innovative minds connect strategy to execution Do you wonder how innovative leaders generate world-class ideas? How do these cutting-edge leaders continually envision the future? Where do they go for their sources of inspirational ideas? The disruption of business models, products, and interactions isn't random-a disruptive mindset is deliberate. Executives, leaders, and business managers search for the best ideas every day, leveraging the best minds. What they discover is that a small percentage of individuals generate the majority of unique ideas-not all ideas, but ideas on the fringe of normal. How is it possible these same leaders continually generate the best and most remarkable ideas? The ideation of original ideas is a process-a process you can learn.In THINK LEAD DISRUPT, author Peter B. Nichol provides insights into how innovators can continually redesign products, services, and experiences in new and unique forms. Innovative companies don't just hatch. These disruptive companies evolve as a result of individual ideas, beliefs, and values. Individuals working together transform companies with original ideas. Nichol illuminates the mindset of innovative executives and explores how ideas lead to disruption. Based on his experience as a CIO, as the author of three books, and as a digital expert, Nichol captures how you can be part of the idea revolution. This book explains the growth of original ideas and how strategies are linked to successful executions by exploring these questions: How do you generate great ideas? Where do the best ideas originate? Why can the best leaders always envision a new strategy for business differentiation? You'll learn:? How innovators think differently? How original ideas are formed to create disruption? How predicting innovation affects outcomes? How to look for inspiration from outside? This book also includes how ideas serve as catalysts for innovation and how concepts such as robotic process automation, data science, and strategy drive disruptive business execution.THINK LEAD DISRUPT is the definitive book to finally learn how to continually generate and execute world-class ideas-by thinking like an innovator.
Call Number: HD53 .N53 2021x
The Toyota Way: 14 Management Principles from the World's Greatest Manufacturer,2nd ed. A major update of the classic guide to learning from Toyota's legendary business philosophy and production system in any business--updated with important new research, frameworks, and approaches The very first book to help business managers and leaders understand and apply Toyota's powerful management principles and philosophy in their own business, The Toyota Way helped launch the continuous-improvement movement that continues unabated today. Now, Jeffrey Liker has fully updated and revised his bestselling classic. This fully revised edition builds on the original 14 management principles that have made it so popular, and includes new case examples from manufacturing and services. The new model places scientific thinking at the center and explains how Toyota and other companies develop scientific thinking in leaders and members at all levels of the organization. Deep observation and experimenting replace theorizing and assuming. In this book, the author delves below the surface of many lean six-sigma-agile programs to look at how you can align operational excellence with your business strategy by developing people who: Value challenges to energize improvement with a purpose View lean systems as exposing problems for continuous improvement, not solutions to implement Lead high-performance teams to achieve seemingly impossible challenges Do detailed planning to breakdown complex challenges into smaller problems to solve, then address those problems one by one Take a disciplined approach to learning through rapid experimentation and reflection Build a culture of excellence built on mutual trust For 17 years, The Toyota Way has been inspiring and instructing readers like you on how to learn from Toyota's remarkable success and develop your own way. By improving upon its classic content, this new edition provides invaluable insights you can adapt to our rapidly changing world and forge ahead to achieve your business goals.
Call Number: TL278 .L54 2021
Your Guide to a Stand Out Modern Resume YOU AREN'T BORING... WHY IS YOUR RESUME?
It’s time to make your resume reflect how AWESOME you are in real life.
If your resume suffers from:
An outdated format that you’ve used since high school (a LOT has changed!)
Generic one-size-fits-all-isms (to avoid redoing it for each job)
Buzzword and cliche overload (this isn’t making you sound smarter - trust me)
Job description cuts and pastes (just…. don’t)
It’s time to unborify your resume and stand out from the pile.
If you have ever wondered how to make your resume stand out and get seen in the sea of resumes, this is the guide for you.
Make your resume the one that stands out in the sea of sameness and puts you at the top of the “must interview” list.
Call Number: HF5383 .M674 2021x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?