Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Achieving Distinction Nursing Education Achieving Distinction in Nursing Education, based on the National League for Nursing (NLN) Hallmarks of Excellence in Nursing Education Model, provides in-depth discussions of the eight core elements for superior nursing education: Engaged Students Diverse, Well-Prepared Faculty Culture of Continuous Quality Improvement Innovative, Evidence-Based Curriculum Innovative, Evidence-Based Approaches to Facilitate and Evaluate Learning Resources to Support Program Goal Attainment Commitment to Pedagogical Scholarship Effective Institutional and Professional Leadership This book also presents accompanying indicators to assist nurse educators in assessing the strengths of their programs and identifying areas for further development. Featuring contributions from 15 recognized experts and thought leaders in nursing education, administration, and research, this innovative resource is designed to challenge and inspire you to advance toward unparalleled outcomes for your career and your institution.
Call Number: RT71 .A32 2022x
Called to Care: a christian vision for nursing Nursing is a vocation: a calling from God to care for others. The role of the nurse originally grew out of a holistic Christian understanding of humans as created in the image of God. Yet as nursing and healthcare continue to change, the effects have proven disorienting to many. Now more than ever, we need nurses who are committed both to a solid understanding of their profession and to caring well for patients and their families.For over twenty years, Called to Care has served as a unique and essential resource for nurses. In this third edition Judith Allen Shelly and Arlene B. Miller, now joined by coauthor Kimberly H. Fenstermacher, present a definition for nursing based on a historically and theologically grounded vision of the nurse's call:Nursing is a ministry of compassionate and restorative care for the whole person, in response to God's grace, which aims to promote and foster optimum health (shalom) and bring comfort in suffering and death for anyone in need.Focusing on the features of the nursing metaparadigm--person, health, environment, and nursing--they provide a framework for understanding how the Christian faith relates to the many aspects of a nurse's work, from theory to everyday practice.This new edition of Called to Care is thoroughly revised for today's nurses, including updated examples and new content on topics such as cultural competency, palliative care, and the current state of healthcare and nursing education. Each chapter features learning objectives, discussion questions, case studies, and theological reflections from Scripture to help readers engage and apply the content. For educators, students, and practitioners throughout the field of nursing, this classic text continues to provide clarity and wisdom for living out their calling.
Call Number: RT85.2 .S538 2021
Collaborative Learning in Practice: coaching to support student learners in healthcare Cited in the 2015 Willis review on nurse education as an exemplary system-wide approach for supporting learning in practice, Collaborative Learning in Practice (CLiP) is an innovative coaching model that empowers students to take the lead in their practice through creating positive learning cultures. Collaborative Learning in Practice provides a detailed description of the CLiP model and explains how coaching can be integrated into a range of learning conversations. Written by an experienced team of practitioners, this unique text describes the theoretical basis of the CLiPmodel, highlights potential pitfalls and successes, and offers practical guidance on implementation. A wealth of real-world case studies demonstrates how the CLiPmodel works in a range of professional and practice settings, considering healthcare education, research and leadership. This authoritative book: Provides an overview of the innovative CLiP model of practice-based learning, linked to the NMC standards for student supervision and assessment Offers numerous real-life examples of how to implement and evaluate CLIP in practice Explores the use of reverse mentoring to update and share knowledge collaboratively Discusses how coaching approaches such as GROW and OSCAR can enhance learning experiences Includes access to online learning tools including self-assessment tests, additional practical scenarios and case studies, and links to further reading Developing practitioner knowledge and skill through an accessible, reader-friendly approach, Collaborative Learning in Practice is an essential resource for nursing and allied healthcare educators, nursing and healthcare students, and practice mentors, supervisors, and assessors in clinical environments.
Call Number: RT71 .L57 2021
Evaluation of Quality in Health Care for DNPs Now in its third edition, this award-winning text work is the only advanced practice nursing text to present effective, systematic, and in-depth evaluations of all aspects of health care quality. Comprehensive in scope, it distills best practice information from numerous sources to facilitate utmost competency for APN and DNP graduates. The third edition keeps pace with the rapidly evolving healthcare market by presenting a more comprehensive range of evaluation strategies for analyzing quality, safety, and value in healthcare practice and programs. It provides a completely new chapter on evaluation of simulation programs to improve clinician competency and patient care technology.An increased focus on the application of quality improvement is woven throughout, including the quality improvement-research continuum and an emphasis on interdisciplinary collaboration and teamwork. New case studies, specific examples from a variety of QI projects, and content specifically geared to improve teamwork also add to the book's outstanding value. The text also delves into the theoretical basis of evaluation and its application as an integral part of contemporary practice. It includes evaluation models that enable nurses to address economic and financial viability, and guides readers through the translation of outcomes from evaluation into health care policy. Additionally, the text now includes PowerPoints for instructors. New to the Third Edition: New chapter: Evaluation of Simulation to Support Ongoing Competency in the HC Workforce Additional case studies and specific examples from QI projects Increased focus on teamwork and collaboration Enhanced discussion of theoretical foundations of evaluation approaches New focus on program evaluation and dissemination of findings Key Features: Addresses AACN competencies and scope of practice Helps students integrate best and evidence-based practices into care Provides guidance on practical methods and tools for Quality Improvement Project Presents evaluation models enabling nurses to address economic and financial viability Includes evaluations of organizations, systems, standards for practice, health care redesign, and the challenges of electronic medical records
Call Number: RT85.5 .E82 2022
Family Nurse practitioner Certification Review Book: FNP examination secrets study guide, full length practice test Mometrix Test Preparation's Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Book - FNP Examination Secrets Study Guide is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their Nurse Practitioner Exam. The exam is extremely challenging, and thorough test preparation is essential for success. Our study guide includes:
Practice test questions with detailed answer explanations
Step-by-step video tutorials to help you master difficult concepts
Tips and strategies to help you get your best test performance
A complete review of all NP test sections
Mometrix Test Preparation is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners.
The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your NP exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) and American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam.
The Assessment section covers:
Health Promoting and Screening
Screening and Social Determinants of Health
Comprehensive History and Physical Assessment
The Diagnosis section covers:
The Clinical Management section covers:
The Professional Role section covers:
Healthcare Infomatics and Technology
Scope and Standards of Practice
...and much more!
Our guide is full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing your exam. Concepts and principles aren't simply named or described in passing, but are explained in detail. The Mometrix NP study guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language.
Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of NP practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear.
Many concepts include links to online review videos where you can watch our instructors break down the topics so the material can be quickly grasped. Examples are worked step-by-step so you see exactly what to do.
We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals. We've done this by setting high standards for Mometrix Test Preparation guides, and our Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Book - FNP Examination Secrets Study Guide is no exception. It's an excellent investment in your future. Get the NP review you need to be successful on your exam.
Call Number: RT120.F34 F342 2021x
Fast Facts for Wound Care Nursing: practical wound management Simplifies the wound care process with clear, succinct information and the newest treatment protocols Freshly updated with the newest evidence-based techniques and protocols, this practical clinical resource distills the fundamentals of wound care for novice nurses and nurses new to wound care. This guide walks through the common, complex and atypical wounds nurses see and includes abundant full-color images. Chapters have been thoroughly revised and now contain critical updates in technological advances in wound care, dramatic changes in documentation and new Medicare and reimbursement guidelines. Fast Facts for Wound Care Nursing, Second Edition is an invaluable companion for the day-to-day care of wound patients, reinforcing knowledge needed in acute care, critical care, long-term care, homecare, operating room and outpatient settings. Written concisely in easy-to-access bulleted format with brief paragraphs, each chapter explains, step-by-step, the essential principles of wound care. Part I defines and describes the spectrum of wounds and the fundamentals of wound healing while Part II discusses how to assess, document and photograph wounds. Part III presents the newest treatments and protocols for wound care, and Part IV concludes with legal issues and regulations guiding safe and cost-effective wound care. New to the Second Edition: Updated with key technological advances and treatments in wound care including stem cell and ionized silver products Four new chapters! The Phases of Wound Healing and Types of Wound Closure Acute Wounds Pressure Injuries Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Covers new Medicare and reimbursement guidelines Addresses qualifications and certification for wound care and faculty accreditation Key Features: Written in succinct, easy-access format with bulleted information and brief paragraphs Includes "Fast Facts" to highlight key concepts for essential care Contains abundant information on wound care treatments and protocols to promote wound care accountability and clinical confidence Provides full color images of different types of wounds Helps nurses to provide optimal wound care cost-efficiently
Call Number: RD94 .K54 2022
Low Risk Neonatal Certification Review for RNC This book provides a comprehensive collection of 350 practice exam questions, enough for two full length practice exams. The questions were written by a practicing neonatal nurse practitioner with over 10 years of experience in neonatology.The neonatal low risk RNC exam is designed for NICU nurses looking to becoming certified in their field. By becoming certified, nurses demonstrate commitment to their patients and a desire to take their knowledge to the next level.For more information, visit neobabyreview.com.
Call Number: RJ253 .W6635 2020x
Med Surg Certification Review Book: CMRSN study guide and medical surgical exam prep with practice test questions Test Prep Books' Med Surg Certification Review Book: CMSRN(R) Study Guide and Medical Surgical (RN-BC(R)) Exam Prep with Practice Test Questions [5th Edition] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the Med Surg exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Pulmonary Cardiovascular/Hematological Diabetes (Types 1 & 2)/Other Endocrine/Immunological Urological/Renal Musculoskeletal/Neurological/Integumentary Practice Questions Practice makes perfect! Detailed Answer Explanations Figure out where you went wrong and how to improve! Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits: Disclaimer: *CMSRN(R) and MSNCB(R) are registered trademarks of the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board, which neither sponsors nor endorses this product. Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual Med Surg nursing test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns. Anyone planning to take this exam should take advantage of this Test Prep Books study guide. Purchase it today to receive access to: Med Surg review materials Med Surg practice questions Test-taking strategies
Call Number: RD99.25 .M437 2021x
OCN Exam Study Guide, Review OCN Certification Question Book 2021 The OCN Exam Practice Questions in this book are the latest set of questions for the year 2021. Answers along with a clear and detailed explanation is given for all the questions.
Going through a lot of practice questions improves domain knowledge and gives 100% confidence. The questions in this OCN Questions Book is prepared and reviewed by Oncology Experts considering the latest curriculum for the year 2021.
The OCN questions in this book are prepared on the basis of the following curriculum as specified by ONCC®.
I. Care Continuum - 19%
II. Oncology Nursing Practice - 17 %
III. Treatment Modalities - 19%
IV. Symptom Management and Palliative Care - 23%
V. Oncologic Emergencies - 12%
VI.Psychosocial Dimensions of Care - 10%
Frequently asked questions are provided in this book. More number of questions are given for domains with more weightage.
Around 300 OCN Practice Questions with answers and explanation are provided to make the reader gain confidence and have the OCN subjects at finger ends.
Taking OCN Exam Practice test will make you aware of the type of questions and format of the questions being asked in the exam. It is a self-assessment before appearing for the exam. If you are able to answer the questions and get a good score in the practice tests , you will surely clear the exam with ease.
This OCN review book 2021 will be a great guide and support to you to crack the ONCC Oncology Certified Nurse Exam. ‘Study, Practice Questions, Repeat’ , this will be the OCN secret to clear the exam. In today’s words OCN Nurses are more in need and well paid. OCN Certification adds value to your career.
Oncology Nurse Certification Review provides a clear review of the Oncology subjects in the form of OCN Multiple choice questions(MCQ’s). OCN ebook will also be helpful for online readers.
Make use of this OCN terst prep and crack the exam easily.
ALL THE BEST MY FUTURE ONCOLOGY CERTIFIED NURSES!!
Call Number: RC266 .C376 2020x
Primary Care Pediatrics for the Nurse Practitioners: a practical approach Distinguished by its reader-friendly, streamlined presentation of essential information, this comprehensive text delivers all of the core content covered in the Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Primary Care curriculum. With a focus on practical application of knowledge and the development of sound diagnostic reasoning, this text emphasizes health supervision and promotion, and disease prevention and management from the standpoint of the nurse practitioner. Information mirrors the Pediatric Nurse Certification Board test blueprint--including an exam chapter map linking content areas to the exam outline--to ensure mastery of all components of evidence-based care.Organized in four units, each chapter within a unit is structured similarly to ease the learning process for the reader. Beginning with a section on the foundations of child health, the content progresses through growth and development during the pediatric lifespan, child health promotion and wellness visits, into the final section on pediatric disease management presented in SOAP format. Current evidence-based guidelines, useful decision-making algorithms, procedures, and resources for families and nurse practitioners are referenced throughout the text. A comprehensive ancillary resource bundle includes an instructor's manual with WHAT-WHY-APPLY case studies, a test bank including certification exam style questions, PowerPoints, and a color image bank, as well as student resources containing an online prescribing guide for the top 10 pediatric disorders, and patient education downloads. Key Features: Designed in user-friendly, accessible style with brief paragraphs and bulleted lists. Chapters include student learning outcomes, an introduction, a CPNP-PC exam content chapter map, Pro Tips and Alerts, and summarizing key points. Provides distinct sections on health promotion/prevention and disease diagnosis/management. Presents separate coverage of acute and chronic disorders and their necessary referrals. Offers user-friendly algorithms for differential diagnosis. Contains resource links to Bright Futures and Mass General Pediatric symptom checklists, CDC immunization schedules, and other tools. Ancillary resource bundle includes an instructor's manual, test bank, PowerPoints, image bank, online prescribing guide, and patient education downloads.
Call Number: RJ245 .P75 2022x
Proposal Writing for Clinical Nursing and DNP Projects Update includes content to help students complete the DNP Project!Now in its third edition, this bestselling text is a concise, step-by-step proposal writing guide that has helped thousands of students produce quality project proposals. For the first time, this new edition includes content to help students move beyond the proposal phase. Two new chapters will help students complete the DNP Project and create the final report. The third edition is extensively revised with new information about ongoing clinical scholarship opportunities and an Instructor's Manual full of suggestions to engage students and help them progress through this demanding process. This edition continues the "Advice from DNP Students segment," along with new tips for getting started, introductory objectives and final summary points in each chapter to help students hone their skills. New to the Third Edition: Delivers two completely new chapters on Finalizing Your Proposal and Project: Moving Your Project Proposal to Completed Project Moving your Project to Written Final Report Instructor's Manual that includes chapter objectives, overviews, questions and teaching tips to consider, and student activities, all designed to help the student progress. Key Features: Student checklists Examples of successful Quality Improvement projects Sample Proposal Abstracts Unique Project Triangle to provide structure to student work Interactive exercises to keep students engaged, including reflective questions, writing prompts, and self-assessments Sample "student problems and resolutions" boxes to help students deal effectively with roadblocks And much more!
Call Number: RT73 .B65 2022x
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse: a how-to guide for evidence-based practice The leading textbook on psychotherapy for advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students. Award-winning and highly lauded, Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse is a how-to compendium of evidence-based approaches for both new and experienced advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students. This expanded third edition includes a revised framework for practice based on new theory and research on attachment and neurophysiology. It advises the reader on when and how to use techniques germane to various evidence-based psychotherapy approaches for the specific client problems encountered in clinical practice. The skillful therapist knows how to respond, engage, and accurately assess the problem to formulate a treatment plan. This textbook guides the reader in accurate assessment through a comprehensive understanding of development and the application of neuroscience to make sense of what is happening for the patient in treatment. Contributed by leaders in the field, chapters integrate the best evidence-based approaches into a relationship-based framework and provides helpful patient-management strategies, from the first contact through termination. This gold-standard textbook and reference honors the heritage of psychiatric nursing, reaffirms the centrality of relationship for psychiatric advanced practice, and celebrates the excellence, vitality, depth, and breadth of knowledge of the specialty.
Call Number: RC440 .W47 2022
Stop Nurse Burnout: what to do when working harder isn't working STOP NURSE BURNOUT – What to do when working harder … isn’t working
The first step-by-step manual for any nurse in any specialty to stop nurse burnout, build a more ideal career and a more balanced life.
Chart your course from Nurse Burnout to Your Ideal Career using this first comprehensive stress-reduction resource for practicing nurses. You can be a modern nurse and have an extraordinary life when you implement the simple tools in this book.
Does this feel even remotely familiar?
“I’m not sure I can go on like this for much longer!”
“There is no one I can talk to—no one who would understand!”
“This is crazy…am I crazy?”
Use this book to STOP the downward spiral of nurse burnout with field-tested, nurse-approved techniques discovered through thousands of hours of consulting with nurses facing career-threatening burnout.
Elizabeth Scala MSN/MBA, RN, creator of the annual “Art of Nursing” National Nurse's Week conference will show you:
~ Nurse burnout symptoms, effects, and complications
~ Nurse burnout pathophysiology and four main causes
~ How to bypass the invisible nurse “Mind Trash” that gets in the way of your recovery from nurse burnout
~ The three step process to ensure you are always building a more ideal career
~ 14 proven burnout prevention techniques and FREE access to an additional 8 techniques on our Power Tools web page—a private resource library only for book purchasers like you
~ How to know when it is time to quit this job and conduct a nurse job search
~ How to know when it is time to actually retire and how to do that will skill and grace
~ Three case studies of real nurses and the way they put these burnout prevention tools to use
Stop Nurse Burnout is unlike any nurse burnout book in existence. It contains a step-by-step method to build a more Ideal Career and a more balanced life whether or not you are suffering from nurse burnout at the moment
Call Number: RT86 .S33 2016x
Textbook of Palliative Medicine and Supportive Care "This new edition provides the essential clinical guidance both for those embarking upon a career in palliative medicine and for those already established in the field. A team of international experts here distil what every practitioner needs to know into a practical and reliable resource"--
Call Number: R726.8 .T464692 2021
The APIC/JCR Infection Prevention and Control Workbook, 4th Edition This brand-new 4th edition of a JCR bestseller is the must-have title for infection preventionists in your health care organization. Co-published by JCR and APIC, featuring information from IC experts at APIC as well as The Joint Commission, this workbook covers all health care settings and offers authoritative guidance, best practices, practical tools, valuable checklists, and more. This workbook also explains Joint Commission accreditation standards and their applicability and relevance, particularly important in today's challenging health care environment. This title has been designated a Doody's Core Title for 4 years in a row--a designation that identifies it as an indispensable addition to your IC library.
Designing and Managing An Effective Infection Prevention and Control Program
The Role of Leadership in Infection Prevention and Control
Planning for and Managing Infectious Disease Emergencies
Implementing Clinical Strategies to Reduce Infection Risk
Cleaning, Disinfection and Sterilization of Medical Devices and Equipment
Integrating Infection Prevention and Control into Patient Safety and Performance Improvement
A wealth of infection prevention and control strategies for standards compliance, performance improvement, and patient safety
Expert advice from infection preventionists from The Joint Commission, Joint Commission Resources (JCR), Joint Commission International (JCI) and the Associations for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology(APIC)
A variety of tools, forms, and checklists, available in the text and as writable, customizable, and downloadable versions
Coverage of all health care settings accredited by The Joint Commission
Infection preventionists in all health care settings, including domestic and international
Patient safety officers
Performance and quality improvement staff
Clinical staff involved in infection prevention and control
Call Number: RA969 .A65 2021
Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics Still the most widely used comprehensive resource in orthopaedic surgery, Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics is an essential reference for trainees, a trusted clinical tool for practitioners, and the gold standard for worldwide orthopaedic practice. Unparalleled in scope and depth, this 14th Edition contains updated diagnostic images, practical guidance on when and how to perform every procedure, and rapid access to data in preparation for surgical cases or patient evaluation. Drs. Frederick M. Azar and James H. Beaty, along with other expert contributors from the world-renowned Campbell Clinic, have collaborated diligently to ensure that this 4-volume text remains a valuable resource in your practice, helping you achieve optimal outcomes with every patient. Features evidence-based surgical coverage throughout to aid in making informed clinical choices for each patient. Covers multiple procedures for all body regions to provide comprehensive coverage. Keeps you up to date with even more high-quality procedural videos, a new chapter on biologics in orthopaedics, and expanded and updated content on hip arthroscopy, patellofemoral arthritis and more. Follows a standard template for every chapter that features highlighted procedural steps, high-quality illustrations for clear visual guidance, and bulleted text. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: E-book
Clinical Neurophysiology Clinical neurophysiologic testing plays a critical role as a complement to the clinical assessment in patients who are being evaluated for a variety of neurologic symptoms. Many different techniques and methods of assessment can be used to evaluate the function of the nervous system, includingelectroencephalography, electromyography, evoked potentials, movement disorder studies, and sleep studies. An accurate understanding of the role of these tests and reliable technical performance and interpretation of these studies is critical in clinical practice. This new edition in theContemporary Neurology Series remains an essential resource for physicians and technologists learning or utilizing clinical neurophysiology in their training or practice.This fifth edition updates the basic concepts underlying each of the techniques used in clinical neurophysiology and provides detailed descriptions of the methods, findings, studies, and value of the wide range of electrophysiologic testing available for patients with epilepsy and spells,neuromuscular diseases, movement disorders, demyelinating diseases, sleep disorders, autonomic disorders, and those undergoing orthopaedic and neurosurgical procedures in the operative setting. The role of each type of study, the interpretation of findings, and the application of the studies todifferent types of clinical problems are detailed throughout the text. It is a practical textbook for neurologists, physiatrists and clinical neurophysiologists in clinical or research practice or in training.
Call Number: RC386.6.E43 C585 2021
Comprehensive Gynecology With its trademark clear, concise writing style and evidence-based focus, Comprehensive Gynecology, 8th Edition, remains your #1 choice for practical, in-depth coverage of any women’s health issue you’re likely to encounter. It covers all key issues in gynecology, now fully updated to include new information on topics such as laparoscopy and innovations in robotic surgery, reversible contraception, and advancements in treating endometriosis. For residents, specialists, primary care doctors, and other healthcare providers, Comprehensive Gynecology is an easy-to-access source of trusted information for everyday practice.
Includes helpful features such as key references and terms, key points at the end of each chapter, summary boxes for quick reference, and new bolded text to highlight the most important concepts.
Features newly improved artwork; a more cohesive, easy-to-navigate design throughout; and more clinical algorithms.
Contains hundreds of illustrations and tables, anatomical figures, radiographs, and photographs, as well as 20 videos that address topics such as Pap smear techniques, hysteroscopic metroplasty, and endometriosis of the bladder.
Brings you up to date with the latest applications in diagnostic and interventional ultrasound, issues in infertility, the latest research in menopause, and other essential aspects of today's practice.
Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: E-book
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis Evidence-based insights into physical signs have evolved and progressed greatly over the past few years, further defining how physical findings identify disease, solve clinical problems, and forecast patient outcomes. Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis, 5th Edition, is an up-to-date, authoritative resource for guidance on interpreting physical signs, enabling you to determine the most appropriate physical finding to confirm a diagnosis. Incorporating more than 200 new studies, this definitive text helps you glean the most from what you hear, see, and feel at the bedside-information that, combined with modern technologic testing, will grant clinicians the keys to outstanding patient care. Emphasizes the most important physical signs needed to determine the underlying condition or disease. Internationally renowned author Dr. Steven McGee shows readers how to pare down the multiple tests needed to confirm a diagnosis, saving both the physician and patient time and money. Features a reader-friendly outline format, including dozens of "EBM boxes" and accompanying "EBM ruler" illustrations. Contains thorough updates from cover to cover, including new evidence on the scientific value of the Romberg test (spinal stenosis); oximeter paradoxus (cardiac tamponade); platypnea (liver disease); pupil size in red eye (acute glaucoma); hum test (hearing loss); and many more. Begins each chapter with a list of Key Teaching Points, intended for readers desiring quick summaries and for teachers constructing concise bedside lessons. Features a unique evidence-based calculator online that enables you to easily determine probability using likelihood ratios.
Call Number: E-book
Fetal and Neonatal Physiology Offering the comprehensive, authoritative information needed for effective diagnosis, treatment, and management of sick and premature infants, Fetal and Neonatal Physiology, 6th Edition, is an invaluable resource for board review, clinical rounds, scientific research, and day-to-day practice. This trusted two-volume text synthesizes recent advances in the field into definitive guidance for today’s busy practitioner, focusing on the basic science needed for exam preparation and key information required for full-time practice. It stands alone as the most complete text available in this complex and fast-changing field, yet is easy to use for everyday application.
Offers definitive guidance on how to effectively manage the many health problems seen in newborn and premature infants.
Contains new chapters on Pathophysiology of Genetic Neonatal Disease, Genetic Variants and Neonatal Disease, and Developmental Biology of Lung Stem Cells, as well as significantly revised chapters on Cellular Mechanisms of Neonatal Brain Injury, Neuroprotective Therapeutic Hypothermia, Enteric Nervous System Development and Gastrointestinal Motility, and Physiology of Twin-Twin Transfusion.
Features 1,000 full-color diagrams, graphs and anatomic illustrations, 170+ chapters, and more than 350 global contributors.
Includes chapters devoted to clinical correlation that help explain the implications of fetal and neonatal physiology, as well as clinical applications boxes throughout.
Provides summary boxes at the end of each chapter and extensive cross-referencing between chapters for quick reference and review.
Allows you to apply the latest insights on genetic therapy, intrauterine infections, brain protection and neuroimaging, and much more.
Call Number: E-book
Fundamentals of Frontline Surgery "Fundamentals of Frontline Surgery is an easy to read text, written by world class faculty, that provides clinicians with succinct and didactic information about what to do in high intensity, resource limited situations.With global conflicts and humanitarian emergencies on the rise, there has been a dramatic uptake in the number of volunteers for both military and humanitarian operations. This manual aids best practice and fast decision making in the field"--
Call Number: RD31 .F86 2021x
Genetic Disorders and the Fetus: diagnosis, prevention and treatment Explore the latest edition of the definitive resource on prenatal genetic diagnosis In the newly revised eighth edition of Genetic Disorders and the Fetus, authors and acclaimed medical doctors, Aubrey and Jeff Milunsky, deliver a thorough and comprehensive reference perfect for academicians, students in post-graduate specialization courses, and working medical professionals. This book incorporates the knowledge, wisdom, perspectives, and recommendations from a renowned team of contributing authors, drawing upon their extensive experience in prenatal genetic diagnosis to present the definitive reference work used routinely around the world. In addition to fundamental information on established prenatal diagnosis and exhaustively referenced coverage of new techniques, you'll find new chapters on preconception genetic counselling, preimplantation genetic diagnosis, advances in fetal imaging, and gene therapy. Genetic Disorders and the Fetus is authored by a global team of internationally recognized contributors, all of whom are leading voices in the field The eighth edition also contains: A thorough discussion of the public policy and ethics of embryo editing, including mitochondrial replacement treatment, and gene patents, prenatal diagnosis, and polygenic disease risk prediction An exploration of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, pharmacogenetics and prenatal diagnosis, and whole genome sequencing A treatment of genetic disorders and pharmacologic therapy, including spinal muscular atrophy and fragile X syndrome A discussion of legal issues, including the fetus as plaintiff and the increasing liability of physicians due to advances in genetics Perfect for obstetricians, clinical geneticists, molecular and biochemical geneticists, and pediatricians, Genetic Disorders and the Fetus will also earn a place in the libraries of neonatologists, genetics counsellors, ethicists, radiologists, and professionals working in public policy and health departments.
Call Number: RG628 .G46 2021
Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: a case based approach Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach, 7th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout. This highly regarded text uses a consistent format and an enjoyable writing style to keep you informed, engaged, and up to date in this increasingly important field. Uses a case study format that is ideal for learning, retention, and rapid recall. All case studies are thoroughly up to date with current references. Features an interdisciplinary perspective to provide team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. Contains a new chapter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Medicine in Older Adults, as well as completely revised or rewritten chapters on rehabilitation, infectious disease, and urinary incontinence. Provides up-to-date information on key topics such as opioid management and polypharmacy, the "geriatric emergency room,? cultural humility in the care of older adults, and the five signs of problematic substance abuse. Includes key learning objectives and USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Online extras include dizziness, gait, and balance video resources, a dermatology quiz, and a Cognitive Status Assessment with tests and patient teaching guides. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: E-book
Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics This sixth edition of the acclaimed and award-winning ‘Sunflower book’ comprehensively covers the undergraduate curriculum in paediatrics and child health. Topics are made accessible with numerous colour images, diagrams and case studies, and revision is facilitated by key points and summary boxes. This has made the book a firm favourite of medical students as well as trainees approaching clinical speciality exams, both in the UK and internationally.
Highly illustrated with hundreds of colour images and diagrams to assist learning.
Case studies to explain important or complex clinical problem
Key learning points: the editors identify the most clinically relevant facts.
Summary boxes to aid revision.
Call Number: E-book
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests Understanding and performing tests, interpreting lab results, and performing patient teaching are made easier with Mosby's® Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests, 7th Edition. This one-stop resource provides clear, concise, and consistent coverage of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests. Valuable in academic and clinical settings alike, it is beloved for its full-color design, user-friendly organization, and illustrations that help clarify key concepts. Updated content with new tests and images ensures you have the most current and relevant information available. Comprehensive and consistent presentation of tests follows a sequence that best simulates priorities in clinical practice. UNIQUE! Clinical Priorities boxes emphasize priorities and procedure considerations specific to understanding and performing tests. UNIQUE! Test Results and Clinical Significance sections describe the significance of the test findings and discuss the pathophysiology of the disease process and how it relates to the test result. UNIQUE! Related Tests sections list additional tests related to the main test, including tests that provide similar information, confirmatory information, and other tests used to evaluate the same organ, disease process, or symptom complex. UNIQUE! Critical Values sections indicate test values of particular significance. UNIQUE! Home Care Responsibilities boxes focus on post-test factors for consideration. UNIQUE! Icons indicate drugs that increase or decrease test values and patient teaching priorities. Age-Related Concerns boxes address pediatric and geriatric priorities. Results are provided in SI units in addition to others, when applicable. NEW! Common Reference Range section on the inside front cover provides quick access to this essential information. NEW! More than 25 new tests focus mainly on the areas of blood studies and x-ray studies. NEW! Quick Tips for Using this Manual section in the front matter helps you use this manual easily and efficiently. UNIQUE! Diagnostic Testing for Most Common Diseases section highlights the integration of medical testing as it relates to a specific disease, clinical syndrome, or medical condition. UPDATED! New images throughout the manual reflect the latest developments in the field.
Call Number: RB38.2 .P34 2022
Operative Techniques in Shoulder and Elbow Surgery Derived from Sam W. Wiesel and Todd J. Albert's four-volume Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery, this single-volume resource contains a comprehensive, authoritative review of operative techniques in shoulder and elbow surgery. In one convenient place, you'll find the entire Shoulder and Elbow section, as well as relevant chapters from the Hand, Wrist, and Forearm and Sports Medicine sections of Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery. Superb full-color illustrations and step-by-step explanations help you master surgical techniques, select the best procedure, avoid complications, and anticipate outcomes. Written by global experts from leading institutions, Operative Techniques in Shoulder and Elbow Surgery, Third Edition, clearly demonstrates how to perform the techniques, making this an essential daily resource for residents, fellows, and practitioners. Includes new procedures and comprehensive updates throughout with visually stunning, consistently rendered medical illustrations and intraoperative photographs that present how to perform each technique step by step. Provides new procedural videos and a newly streamlined eBook for on-the-go reference. Uses consistent, easy-to-follow chapter templates and extensive bulleted lists and tables for quick reference and review. Discusses each clinical problem using the same concise format: definition, anatomy, physical exams, pathogenesis, natural history, physical findings, imaging and diagnostic studies, differential diagnosis, nonoperative management, surgical management, pearls and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, and complications. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD557.5 .O637 2022
Primary Care Medicine: office evaluation and management of the adult patient Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Long regarded as "the book" in the field for in-depth learning as well as decision support at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine, 8th Edition, continues its tradition as a comprehensive, evidence-based, action-oriented information resource. Presented in companion electronic format updated quarterly, its problem-based orientation spans the full spectrum of problems encountered in adult primary care practice. Chapters address screening, diagnosis, prevention and management, including indications for referral and approaches to patient education and shared decision making. Clear, practical, bulleted recommendations and an extensive annotated bibliography of best references follow detailed discussions of pathophysiology, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and strategies for workup and treatment. Now with its 40th-anniversary edition, this exceptional text is a must-have resource for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, students, and residents- offering the most complete and up-to-date resource available for primary care education and practice. Included interactive eBook incorporates quarterly updates featuring critically reviewed important new evidence as well as a study guide for students and tables for shared decision making. Fully updated chapter content based on nearly 4,000 new references and real-world advice in bulleted form at the end of each chapter ensure current, easily accessible, evidence-based point-of-care decision support. Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, highlighted by more than 400 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Best evidence is integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience, and patient preference. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC46 .G56 2021
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology: neuroscientific basis and practical applications Long established as the preeminent source in its field, the eagerly anticipated fifth edition of Dr Stahl's essential textbook of psychopharmacology is here! With its use of icons and figures that form Dr Stahl's unique 'visual language', the book is the single most readable source of information on disease and drug mechanisms for all students and mental health professionals seeking to understand and utilize current therapeutics, and to anticipate the future for novel medications. Every aspect of the book has been updated, with the clarity of explanation that only Dr Stahl can bring. The new edition includes over 500 new or refreshed figures, an intuitive color scheme, fourteen new uses for older drugs and eighteen brand new drugs, coverage of Parkinson's Disease Psychosis, behavioural symptoms of dementia, and mixed features in major depressive episodes, and expanded information on the medical uses of cannabis and hallucinogen assisted psychotherapy.
Call Number: RC483 .S67 2021
Transgender and gender diverse health care: the Fenway guide The first case-based comprehensive textbook to address the unique health care needs of transgender and gender diverse adults
Demand for state-of-the-art health care services for transgender and gender diverse communities is rapidly increasing. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide offers a roadmap for clinicians to provide culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adult patients.
With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides guidance on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, this invaluable resource offers a foundation for clinicians when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities.
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide features essential information that includes the following topics and more:
The history and epidemiology of transgender and gender diverse health care
Primary, preventive, and specialty care considerations for transgender and
gender diverse patients
Hormonal, surgical and non-medical gender affirmation
Trauma-informed and gender-affirming care
Behavior health, eating disorders and body positivity
Reproductive health, obstetrical care, and family building
Treatment of HIV and sexually transmitted infections
Community building and advocacy and partnership
Call Number: E-book
Management/Employee Development Books
Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: a Systems Approach, Fifth Edition The COVID-19 pandemic exposed the flaws in patient care delivery in many healthcare organizations. Hospitals scrambled to deal with inadequate supplies of ventilators and personal protective equipment while simultaneously combating the inefficiencies inherent in their existing systems. Outpatient areas struggled to deliver care in an environment that was safe for both workers and patients. The pandemic was a reminder that a focus on comprehensive quality management is vital to the daily work of healthcare providers and those they treat. Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: A Systems Approach examines the real-world tools and techniques necessary for improving systems that affect patient care outcomes. Author Patrice L. Spath explains how to explore and modify interconnected systems to make lasting changes that benefit the entire organization. This updated edition features a new chapter on three organizational characteristics that advance success in quality management: continuous improvement, high reliability, and accountability. Throughout, the book emphasizes the role of leadership in all aspects of quality. Management concepts are supported by real-life examples from different settings to further readers' understanding. Other new content in this edition includes: strategies for creating an organizational culture that supports ongoing improvement; data measurement techniques for analyzing inpatient and outpatient performance; regulations affecting quality activities in hospitals and other healthcare facilities; and external forces, such as a pandemic, that require a greater focus on systems. Each chapter concludes with challenging exercises that give readers a chance to apply what they have learned. A practice lab at the end of the book offers 11 rigorous assignments for a deeper exploration of the concepts presented. Improving quality management processes is the first step toward providing better healthcare. Everyone--from senior leaders and department managers to supervisors and frontline workers--can benefit from these enhancements, leading to greater job performance and, ultimately, safer patient care.
Call Number: RA399.A1 .K455 2022
Better questioning for Better Learning: strategies for engaged thinking Learn how to ask deeper questions and develop better questioning habits with this important resource. Author Benjamin Stewart Johnson takes you step by step through the key considerations and brain- based research to keep in mind when developing questions. He begins with an overview of why it’s important to understand participants’ thought process when being asked questions. He then shows how to set expectations for virtual questions and face- to- face questions; how to plan authentic, higher- order questions; how to scaffold and differentiate questions; and how to avoid zombie questions. In addition, he debunks myths such as wait time and points out the best ways to help learners support their answers, use questions to check for understanding, and more. Each section concludes by helping you create an action plan to improve your skills in a given area. Appropriate for teachers, instructional coaches, training facilitators, and specialists, the book can be used independently or in schoolwide book studies to help educators of all subjects and grades improve the depth and quality of their questioning.
Call Number: LB1027.44 .J63 2022x
The Big Picture: How to Use Data Visualization to Make Better Decisions--Faster Not a data expert? Here's an engaging and entertaining guide to interpreting and drawing insights from any chart, graph, or other data visualization you'll encounter. You're a business professional, not a data scientist. How do you make heads or tails of the data visualizations that come across your desk--let alone make critical business decisions based on the information they're designed to convey? In The Big Picture, top data visualization consultant Steve Wexler provides the tools for developing the graphical literacy you need to understand the data visualizations that are flooding your inbox--and put that data to use. Packed with the best four-color examples created in Excel, Tableau, Power BI, and Qlik, among others, this one-stop resource empowers you to extract the most important information from data visualizations quickly and accurately, act on key insights, solve problems, and make the right decisions for your organization every time.
Call Number: HD30.215 .W49 2021
The Burnout Epidemic: the rise of chronic stress and how we can fix it In this important and timely book, workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces. We tend to think of burnout as a problem we can solve with self-care: more yoga, better breathing techniques, and more resilience. But evidence is mounting that applying personal, Band-Aid solutions to an epic and rapidly evolving workplace phenomenon isn't enough—in fact, it's not even close. If we're going to solve this problem, organizations must take the lead in developing an antiburnout strategy that moves beyond apps, wellness programs, and perks. In this eye-opening, paradigm-shifting, and practical guide, Jennifer Moss lays bare the real causes of burnout and how organizations can stop the chronic stress cycle that an alarming number of workers suffer through. The Burnout Epidemic explains: What causes burnout—and what organizations can do to prevent it Why traditional wellness initiatives fall short How companies can build an antiburnout strategy based on prevention, not perks How leaders can measure burnout in their own organizations What leaders can do to develop a healthier culture that prioritizes resilience and curiosity As the pandemic has shown, self-care is important, but it's not a cure-all for burnout. Employers need to do more. With fascinating research, new findings from the pandemic, and interviews with business leaders around the globe, The Burnout Epidemic offers readers insightful and actionable advice that will empower them to help themselves—and their employees—feel healthier and happier at work.
Call Number: RA785 .M69 2021x
Conflict Resolution: how to recognize different communication styles and effectively manage conflict Discover Expert Strategies and Conflict Resolution Techniques That Will Show You the Easiest Way To Manage Conflicts Effectively! Did you know that the most common cause of conflicts, wherever and whenever they happen, is because people communicate differently and sometimes they simply don't understand each other? When two people have very different communication styles and are only concerned with their benefits, reaching a resolution can be difficult at best. Still, when you learn to recognize different communication styles and work around them, use active listening, skills and convey solutions, you will be a natural at resolving conflict at work and home. With Conflict Resolution in your hands, you will learn a completely different approach to conflict resolution. You'll learn what character traits, skills, and experiences help people be more effective in finding solutions to conflict. You'll also learn about the five different styles of communication that most people use in their workplace interactions and how each impacts difficult situations. Finally, you will be given tools and techniques that you can use in practical, real-world situations.
Call Number: BF637.C45 W55 2021x
Finding Joy in Medicine Dr. Reza Manesh is a leading voice in medical education. But his journey wasn't easy. By learning and cultivating three important traits-humanism, humility, and hunger for growth-he has found joy in medicine.Through deeply personal stories from the front lines of medical training and practice, Reza shares how he developed a sense of purpose and found his passion in medicine.In this motivational memoir, Reza shares the wisdom he has gained from his teachers, his patients, and his beloved grandfather.
Call Number: R690 .M35 2021x
Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide) and the Standard for Project Management/PMI A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide ) - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the sixth edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge, including discussion of project management business documents and information on the PMI Talent Triangle and the essential skills for success in today's market.
Call Number: HD69.P75 G845 2021
HBR Guide to Collaborative Teams (HBR Guide Series) Break down the barriers to effective collaboration. For cross-functional projects to work, you need to bring together diverse ideas and resources from across your organization. But office politics, conflicting objectives, and lack of clear authority can get in the way. The HBR Guide to Collaborative Teams provides practical tips and advice to help you collaborate more effectively. Whether you're leading your own direct reports or building a talented group from disparate parts of your organization, you'll discover how to align others' goals and skills so you can solve problems as a team and deliver great results. You'll learn to: Develop a shared purpose Bust departmental silos Lead employees who don't report to you Overcome conflict and turf wars Prevent collaborative overload and fatigue Use the right tools for virtual information sharing Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, with the most trusted brand in business. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
Call Number: HD66 .H393 2021
Leading hArtfully: the art of leading through your heart to discover the best in others Most leadership development books teach readers "how to lead." But for acclaimed leadership coach and consultant Diane Rogers, that's not enough. In her debut book, Leading hArtfully: The Art of Leading Through Your Heart to Discover the Best in Others, Diane shines a light on what's missing from a leadership strategy that draws upon a conventional authoritarian "leader-as-expert" focus and offers the distinct opportunity to leverage the strengths and magnificence within your employees and colleagues. Diane shows you how to BE your best leader self - to bring out and discover the best in them.
Leading hArtfully is a book about the art and the heart (aka "hArt") of leadership. It's an invitation to bring your best self forward in transformative ways to discover and leverage the best in others - in your work and in your everyday life. Diane explains that, "Getting to the heart and art of leading, finding your flow, elevating the eloquence and grace within you, and connected - at the heart level - within each individual is an experience not to be missed. It holds the possibility of a most magnificent journey of leading others."
Call Number: HD57.7 .R64 2020x
Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic: Inside One of the World's Most Admired Service Organizations The leader's guide to building a service powerhouse using the approach that made Mayo Clinic the #1 healthcare system in America Mayo Clinic is among the best service organizations in the world. It fosters a culture that exceeds customer expectations and earns deep loyalty from both customers and employees. This classic business guide offers a rare, up-close look at the best practices that drive Mayo Clinic's success. By examining the operating principles that guide every management decision at this legendary institution, authors Leonard Berry and Kent Seltman: * Demonstrate how a great service brand evolves from the core values that nourish and protect it * Extrapolate instructive business lessons that apply outside healthcare * Illustrate the benefits of pooling talent and encouraging teamwork * Present a proven prescription for creating sustainable service excellence Learn how to apply the Clinic's winning methods to your own organization: business concepts that produce stellar results, effective organizational efficiency, and world-class interpersonal service.
Call Number: RA982.M6 B36 2017 & E-book
Root Cause Analysis (RCA) for the Improvement of Healthcare Systems and Patient Safety "The book follows a proven training outline, including real-life examples and exercises to teach healthcare professionals how to lead effective and successful Root Cause Analysis (RCA) to eliminate patient harm. This book discusses the need for Root Cause Analysis in the healthcare sector, providing practical applications for its facilitation. It also suggests how to construct an effective RCA action plan and when it is appropriate to employ an RCA. Real-examples and exercises are included. This book is intended for healthcare professionals as well as students who are interested in gaining more knowledge on the RCA process and how it relates to healthcare"--
Call Number: R729.8 .A447 2022
Taking Improvement from the assembly Line to Healthcare: the appliation of lean within the healthcare industry Quality healthcare is a cornerstone of any healthy society. In the U.S., we have access to sophisticated medical technology, world renowned physicians, highly trained nurses and hospital personnel, advanced pharmaceuticals, and innovations in diagnosis and treatment. But for all of our sophistication, serious problems afflict healthcare systems across the U.S. today – problems that cause severe hardship for families in communities large and small. Considering its impact on society, healthcare is arguably our most important industry. Good health is a key aspect of a productive and fulfilling life no matter what a person’s age, cultural background, social status or career. To live well and provide for ourselves and others, we all depend on a strong healthcare system that can help us prevent illness and access effective treatment when we need it. Needless to say, building and maintaining that robust healthcare system is no easy task. According to a report by the Institute of Medicine, up to 98,000 deaths per year occur in U.S. hospitals as a result of adverse events. In other words, errors in hospitals cause more annual deaths than acceptable and are totally preventable. With the healthcare system in such critical condition, Lean is the best possible treatment as it moves to eliminate waste and improve processes. The revised edition of Taking Improvement from the Assembly Line to Healthcare supplies step-by-step guidance on how to implement Lean methods to achieve world-class improvement with the healthcare industry. The updated edition of this Shingo award winner book provides specific examples of Lean implementation in emergency medicine, diagnostic imaging, orthopedic clinics, general internal medicine, administration, and community care. Highlighting quality, safety, and financial evidence as to why immediate change is both possible and essential, the book provides a firm foundation in Lean improvement and the tools used to deliver sustainable solutions. This revised edition presents new and updated client interviews and how the process has changed or been enhanced, what worked and what didn’t work. New case studies from U.S. and Canada provide readers with the real-world understanding needed to embark and sustain a successful improvement journey.
Call Number: RA410 .B47 2021
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2020, 2019, 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?