Guides: 2023 Plummer Library New Resources: March 2023

Nursing/Allied Health

Evidence-Based Practice in Action: comprehensive strategies, tools, and tips from University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics "Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a process of shared decision-making between clinicians and patients based on research evidence, the patients experiences and preferences, and the clinicians clinical expertise. We are now well beyond the Institute of Medicine (IOM) goal that 90% of healthcare be evidence-based by 2020 (IOM, 2010), and a gap persists. The need for EBP is more crucial than ever and must consider value-based care; patient preferences; diversity, equity, and inclusion; regulatory standards; costs; and implementation science. EBP in Action addresses the need for a clear EBP process along with precise, accurate, and effective selection of implementation strategies and resources to promote adoption and sustainability of EBP recommendations. In this book, we will inspire you to use the EBP process, think creatively, and engage patients in EBP co-design for improved outcomes"--
Call Number: RT51 .E895 2023x
Fast Facts: Dementia and Augmentative and Alternative Communication The purpose of this book is to offer medical, health, and social care professionals who work in acute, medical, long-term, or community care settings insights into the impact of dementia on an individual's communication interactions and how augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) strategies could enhance these interactions. The first half of the text sets the scene for understanding the nature of dementia and its impact particularly on an individual's social and emotional life and their language and communication; the second half introduces AAC and what it offers as a set of techniques to support and maintain conversational autonomy in those living with dementia. Table of Contents: * Section 1: The nature and impact of dementia * A description of dementia * Social and emotional impact of dementia * Language and cognitive-communication assessment and approaches to intervention * Section 2: Interventions mediated through augmentative and alternative communication * Augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) * Developing AAC interventions: A participatory assessment and intervention process * Communication partner AAC training and support * What everyone should know about dementia, AAC, and conversational partner training
Call Number: RC521 .M87 2022x
First-Year Nurse: advice on working with doctors, prioritizing care, and time management An indispensable guide for first-time nurses on working with doctors, the joys of the night shift, and facing mistakes! You've completed the necessary education, passed the exams, and you're finally ready for your first year as a professional nurse. But there is still trepidation, accompanied by many unanswered questions. A true first year of nursing 101 guide, this book covers topics like managing feedback, working with doctors, working night shift, and recovering from a mistake. Writer and nursing professional Beth Hawkes draws from her own experiences to offer expert tips for first-timers venturing into this important discipline. Writing in a manner that's digestible and including illustrative anecdotes along the way, Hawkes will put readers at ease with her clear advice and directives--many of which can be applied in professional settings outside of nursing. She offers rookie nurses sample questions to help guide them on how they should be communicating with preceptors and colleagues, from morning to night.  The perfect gift for nurses just entering the field!
Call Number: RT82 .H39 2020
Health Promotion: translating evidence to practice Take an evidence-based approach to health promotion across the lifespan and clinical specialties. Written for NPs and advanced practitioners, this text provides coaching in how to read, evaluate, and apply the best evidence to health promotion plans for individuals and their families to help them prevent or manage chronic and acute diseases and disorders. Step-by-step, a who's who of educators, researchers, and practitioners explore the models and skills you need to help your patients, including those with multiple co-morbidities, while evaluating medical evidence that changes rapidly, or may be unclear. You'll also be prepared for the health promotion questions on certification exams.
Call Number: RC969.H43 F746 2021x
Making Sense of Evidence-based Practice for Nursing: an introduction to quantitative and Qualitative research and systematic reviews This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to challenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involved in accessing, appraising, and synthesizing good quality research. Providing a basic introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research, Debra Evans explores how to find out “what works best”, the impact of something, and what requires more research. Readers will also learn the basic rules used in study design and statistics presented in research articles and systematic reviews. Each simply written chapter includes relevant theory, diagrams and tables, case studies, exercises, boxed summaries, and further reading. Packed with examples from practice across the nursing fields and at different levels, this book is essential for nurses – both student and qualified – who want to increase their confidence when it comes to research appraisal and evidence-based practice processes.
Call Number: RT81.5 .E93 2022
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Practice Q&A Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Includes 6 months' free ExamPrepConnect digital access with print purchase! Prepare for your Certified Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (CMSRN(R)) or Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification (MEDSURG-BC(TM)) exam with Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Practice Q&A. With 600 high-quality questions and comprehensive rationales based on the most recent MSNCB and ANCC exam blueprints, this essential resource is designed to help you study your way: sharpen your specialty knowledge with practice Q&A organized by exam topic or strengthen your test-taking skills with two 150-question practice exams. Combined, it gives you everything you need to pass the first time, guaranteed. Know that you're ready. Know that you'll pass with Springer Publishing Exam Prep. Key Features: Includes 600 questions with in-depth rationales that address both correct and incorrect answers Offers two study options--by exam topic area or full 150-question practice exams Provides key information about the MSNCB and ANCC certification exams Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee Offers on-the-go digital access with ExamPrepConnect ExamPrepConnect--the digital study platform that guides you confidently through your exam prep journey. With this score-boosting study tool, you can: Review all the high-quality content from the book Get organized by using the personalized study plan based on your exam date Study by topic to identify your strengths and weaknesses Strengthen your knowledge with 300 practice questions and detailed answer rationales Prepare for exam day with two 150-question timed practice exams Connect and chat with fellow test takers using the discussion board Play games to make studying fun See access code details inside the book. CMSRN(R) is a registered trademark of the of the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB), and MEDSURG-BC(TM) is a registered trademark of the of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). MSNCB and ANCC do not endorse this resource, nor do they have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing Company.
Call Number: RT55 .M4378 2022x
Nephrology Nursing Certification Review Guide The 2021 edition of the Nephrology Nursing Certification Review Guide, Sixth Edition, is an excellent resource to assist professionals in preparing for the Certified Nephrology Nurse (CNN), the Certified Dialysis Nurse (CDN), and the Certified Nephrology Nurse - Nurse Practitioner (CNN-NP) exams. The review guide includes comprehensive case studies and more than 275 questions covering multiple areas within the specialty, a practice test answer key with rationale, as well as references and additional readings, and sections on critical thinking related to test taking. Focus areas include Concepts of Kidney Disease (new in this edition), Chronic Kidney Disease, Hemodialysis, Peritoneal Dialysis, Transplantation (expanded in this edition), Acute Care, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (expanded in this edition). This resource can be used in conjunction with other primary sources, such as the Core Curriculum for Nephrology Nursing, Seventh Edition, as a study guide for the nephrology nursing certification exams.
Call Number: RC903 .N47 2021
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice continues to provide a solid ethical foundation for nursing students in an updated sixth edition. This comprehensive, easy-to-read text covers ethics across the nursing curriculum, making it a perfect fit for any undergraduate course.Logically divided into three parts, Nursing Ethics, Sixth Edition underscores how ethics is interwoven with nearly every aspect of professional nursing practice. It guides students through the foundations of ethics in nursing, ethical considerations across the lifespan, and ethical considerations for areas such as leadership and public health. Engaging learning features, including case studies, legal perspectives, and research notes bring concepts to life and serve to remind students that ethics really does sit at the heart of professional nursing practice and quality patient care.The Sixth Edition features information on current mainstream topics as related to nursing ethics, including:* Updated content on the status of abortion;* Updated content reflecting and referencing the overturning of Roe v. Wade by the Supreme Court;* Updated content related to women's rights/pro-life arguments;* Contains new information and a case study surrounding the RaDonda Vaught case;* Updated content related to HPV and the.
Call Number: RT85 .B78 2023
Practice Questions for AMB-BC Review: questions, answers and rationales for Ambulatory Nursing Certification Nurse Builders Practice Questions for AMB-BC Review are a great way to practice answering test questions while reviewing important ambulatory nursing content. This book contains almost 200 practice questions complete with answers and rationales to assist you in your preparation for taking the AMB-BC exam. This book contains detailed information about the exam content outline. Questions are organized by exam content area to promote an organized approach.
Call Number: RT120.T73 T87 2022x
Practice Questions for PCCN Review: questions, answers and rationales for nursing Professional Development Exam Review Nurse Builders Practice Questions for PCCN Review are a great way to practice answering test questions while reviewing important ambulatory nursing content. This book contains almost 200 practice questions complete with answers and rationales to assist you in your preparation for taking the PCCN exam. These review questions are a great way to practice answering test questions while reviewing important nursing content. This book contains almost 200 practice questions complete with answers and rationales to assist you in your preparation for taking the Progressive Care exam. Questions are organized by subject area for your convenience.
Call Number: RT120.P76 T87 2022x
The Secret Language of the Nursing Interview: a Step-by-Step Guide to Help You Get the Job This book will guide you through the steps of preparing for an interview. If you have ever left an interview feeling like you didn't really communicate your value, then this is the book you need. You will learn: What to include (and what not to include) in your personal statement How to predict what questions you will be asked How to sound sincere when you talk about your greatest weakness What to wear - and what not to wear!
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 D46 2022x
Ulrich and Canale's Nursing Care Planning Guides: prioritization, delegation, and clinical reasoning 8th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I® Updates Confidently plan individualized care for clients in acute care, extended care, and home care environments with Ulrich & Canale's Nursing Care Planning Guides: Prioritization, Delegation, and Clinical Reasoning, 8th Edition. This in-depth nursing care planning guide features 31 detailed nursing diagnosis care plans and 63 disease/disorder care plans that are keyed to specific expected outcomes and interventions. With updated content and the most recent NANDA-I(R) nursing diagnoses, NIC(R) interventions, and NOC(R) outcomes, it reflects the latest nursing taxonomies and evidence-treatment protocols. You'll also receive access to a popular Online Care Planner that allows you to edit and print standardized nursing diagnosis care plans.The most in-depth care plans of any nursing care planning book foster clinical reasoning and promote effective clinical decision-making.31 nursing diagnosis care plans provide detailed interventions with rationales and documentation guidelines for the most common NANDA-I(R) nursing diagnoses.63 in-depth disease/disorder care plans serve as a complete reference for the most common disorders in acute care, extended care, and home care settings.UNIQUE Care plan format with a focus on prioritized nursing interventions, interventions that can be delegated, and documentation criteria, as well as differentiation between independent and collaborative nursing actions, provides a comprehensive and practical care planning tool.Online Care Planner on Evolve allows you to customize each of the 31 nursing diagnosis care plans.In-depth patient teaching content, with each disorder care plan, concluding with a Deficient Knowledge diagnosis with extensive discharge teaching information, serves as a guideline for planning client education.A complete discussion of caring for older adult clients and changes that occur with aging helps you understand the unique considerations of caring for this growing population group.Nursing and collaborative diagnoses are linked to actions and rationales.Animations, additional care plans, and skills videos on Evolve offer additional help in care planning.Body system organization makes content easy to locate.NEW and UNIQUE A completely new chapter on nursing-sensitive indicators features care plans devoted to measures and indicators that reflect the structure, processes and outcomes of nursing care (American Nurses Association, 2004), as well as financial implications for healthcare organizations.NEW The most recent NANDA-I(R) nursing diagnoses, NIC(R) interventions, and NOC(R) outcomes reflect the most up-to-date nursing taxonomies.NEW Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-treatment protocols and national and international guidelines.
Call Number: RT49 .U47 2022x
The Ultimate Guide to Competency Assessment in Health Care Move your competency assessment process beyond meeting regulations and standards to creating excellence.The Ultimate Guide to Competency Assessment in Health Care, third edition is packed with ready-to-use tools designed to help you develop, implement and evaluate competencies. More than that, you will find a new way of thinking about competency assessment ? a way that is outcome-focused and accountability-based. This book focuses on why competency assessment is so important: it ultimately helps us provide safe, excellent care to our patients, residents and other customers and achieve stunning survey scores.
Call Number: RT85.5 .W75 2021x
Wound Care Nursing: a person centered approach A must have for any nurse wanting to expand their knowledge in this area of wound care. Wound Care Nursing 3rd edition introduces a person-centred approach to wound care practice across the lifespan. The books is fully illustrated with colour photographs and illustrations throughout, and including extensive case studies to demonstrate the practical applications of the most recent research in this area. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. New content covering pressure ulcers, incontinence associated dermatitis, venous leg ulcers and palliative wound care. Uniquely it uses a lifespan perspective addressing the care of wounds in all patients from birth to old age. All chapters have been fully updated to reflect the current evidence base. Nursing theory is used throughout instead of a traditional medical approach, making the material more applicable to nursing practice. Links current nursing theory to practice using extensive case studies. High quality full colour photographs and illustrations throughout.
Call Number: RD93 .W684 2021

Medicine

PET/CT Imaging The aim of this book is to provide concise information and quick reference on the basics and practice of PET/CT for beginners. The chapters are written by Nuclear Medicine experts from different countries with enormous experience in PET/CT practice. Starting with the basics of PET/CT describing physics and the use of radiopharmaceuticals in PET/CT,  the book explores the principle of PET/CT in radiotherapy planning. The last five chapters explore normal variation, pitfalls and artefacts commonly seen with various routinely used PET radiotracers. The text is enriched by tables and highlighted clinical cases for better understanding. This book will be of interest mostly to nuclear medicine physicians and radiologists, but it may be appealing also to a wider medical community including oncologists and radiotherapists.
Call Number: RC78.7.T62 P48 2022x
ISBN: 9783030754754
The Mayo Clinic Diet: reshape your life with science-based habits Eat well. Enjoy life. Lose weight!   Now in its third edition, The Mayo Clinic Diet is a practical, no-nonsense approach to weight loss. Designed to help individuals lose weight and, most importantly, keep it off, The Mayo Clinic Diet, 3rd edition, offers expert advice to help you kick-start and stay on track in your fitness journey.   This revised edition of the #1 New York Times bestselling book offers a simple, time-tested, no-nonsense approach to losing weight and keeping it off. The Mayo Clinic Diet isn't a fad diet - it's an approach that draws on years of research from thousands of individuals seeking to lose weight. It's a plan for a sustainable lifestyle, not just a diet.   By giving you concrete tools--like daily activity planners, delicious recipes, and tips for finding nutritious ingredients at the grocery store--this book will help you craft a tailored weight-loss plan that works best for your body. New to this edition, you'll find recipes and meal plans to fit a variety of eating styles, including keto, the Mediterranean diet, vegetarian and higher protein. Step by step, you'll learn the habits, tips and tricks that will help you lose weight and keep it off for good.    The Mayo Clinic Diet is organized into three sections: Section One outlines Lose It!, a two-week quick-start program designed to help you lose 6 to 10 pounds in a safe and healthy way, jump-starting your weight loss journey. Lose It! prompts you to add 5 habits, break 5 habits, and try 5 bonus habits, all of which are proven to help people maintain a healthy weight. Section Two outlines Live It!, a long-term maintenance plan developed to help you stay on track and continue to lose 1 to 2 pounds a week until you reach your goal. Along the way, you'll learn key behaviors that will help you maintain a healthy weight for life. Section Three offers bonus content like detailed meal plans, easy-to-make recipes, food lists to make grocery shopping a breeze, and tried-and-tested tips for overcoming weight-loss challenges. Along with the accompanying food and activity planner, The Mayo Clinic Diet Journal, and the Mayo Clinic Diet online platform, this invaluable resource will help you meet every one of your fitness goals while forever changing your mindset around weight loss. When it comes to diets, one size does not fit all. Instead of promising unattainable results that can harm your body, the Mayo Clinic Diet offers a simple and customizable approach to weight loss--a healthy diet you can live with for life!
Call Number: RM222 .M3863 2023x

Management/Employee Development Books

101 Team Building Exercises: a matching video for each excercise The Best 101 Team Building Activities with a video for each exercise! This book contains 101 of the best team building exercises to improve cooperation and communication. Some exercises are fun team building games, and others are profound communication exercises. Each exercise includes two pages of step-by-step instructions, explained clear and precisely. For each exercise you will find an explanation of why it would be beneficial to perform. By telling this to the group you work with, they will have a clear understanding of why they should perform the exercise. A matching YouTube video for each Team Building Exercise! Each exercise comes with a QR code. You can scan this code with your smartphone or tablet. This will direct you to the corresponding YouTube video that shows an animated instruction of the exercise. These belonging videos will make it even more clear how the exercise can be performed. Point the camera of your phone to the QR code and you will be directed to the belonging video. Multiple variations You will find several variations for each exercise. This is helpful for adjusting the exercise to the needs of the group you are working with. Who will benefit from the exercises Whether you are a teacher, trainer, coach, manager, director, conductor, or football coach, these exercises are suitable for anyone working with groups.
Call Number: HD30.26 .O88 2020x
Change Your World: how anyone, anywhere can make a difference Whatever the desires of your heart, Change Your World will guide you through the entire process to take action and start making an impact today right where you are. You can bring about positive, lasting change in the world and you don't have to be rich and famous or lead a big organization to do it. Global leadership icons and bestselling authors John C. Maxwell and Rob Hoskins provide the inspiring and practical roadmap to get started being the change you want to see - in your community and beyond. Learn from the firsthand experiences shared by the authors from their work helping to transform communities, businesses, and millions of lives around the world. In Change Your World, Maxwell and Hoskins will show you how to: Identify your cause Live out the values that make a difference Become a catalyst for change Join the right team or recruit one of your own Work together with others to make a difference Measure your impact and keep improving For many of us, the world we live in feels broken yet change is easier than we think. You'll not only be encouraged to make a difference based on the needs you see around you, but you'll be equipped to implement change immediately.
Call Number: BF637.C4 M379 2020
A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research For students and researchers new to mixed methods, A Concise Introduction to Mixed Methods Research 2e by renowned author John W. Creswell provides a brief and practical introduction to mixed methods. Many graduate students and researchers in the social, behavioral and health sciences may not have the time or resources to read long treatises or stacks of journal articles on mixed methods research. This text quickly describes the basics of setting up and conducting a study using this methodology. Chapters are short and follow the process of research, from ensuring skills for conducting research, acknowledging the steps in planning a study, designing studies with increasing complexity, planning sampling strategies and integration, and writing up the results of your study. New chapters separate basic and advanced mixed methods designs for more depth, while a reorganization of chapters better align with the research process. Useful templates throughout allow readers to concretely design and organize their studies. Get started in mixed methods quickly with this brief primer.
Call Number: H62 .C69618 2022
Conversations Worth Having in Healthcare: boost satisfaction & quality using appreciative inquiry Based on Berrett-Koehler's bestseller, Conversations Worth Having: Using Appreciative Inquiry to Fuel Productive and Meaningful Engagement, this book focuses on the kinds of conversations people receiving and delivering healthcare have with one another. This approach is grounded in emerging research in neurophysiology, positive psychology, mindfulness, and wellbeing. Drawing upon decades of experience in the field, we illustrate the power of using two simple communication practices--generative questions and positive framing--to foster conversations worth having in any healthcare situation. If you're looking to improve satisfaction and quality of care, along with your own wellbeing, this book is a must read.
Call Number: BF724.3.I58 W37 2022x
The Culture Question: how to create a workplace where people like to work Workplace culture is the most significant factor that influences employee engagement, work relationships, and job satisfaction. Culture determines whether your organization will succeed – or even survive. It profoundly affects both the quality of the products or services you provide and the lives of those who work in your organization. The good news is that culture is something we can influence. The authors of this book believe that people should be able to like where they work. When employees like the places they work, it’s not only good for their mental health and well-being, it’s also good for their organizations – both financially and otherwise. When we purposefully create respectful and inspiring workplace cultures, employees are happier, more productive, and more engaged. By exploring six key elements that make up a healthy workplace culture, The Culture Question answers two fundamental questions: “How does your organization’s culture impact how much people like where they work?” and “What can you do to make it better?” Discover how to create a workplace where people like to work by focusing on these six elements of healthy workplace culture: Communicating Your Purpose and Values. Employees are inspired when they work in organizations whose purpose and values resonate with them. Providing Meaningful Work. Most employees want to work on projects that inspire them, align with what they are good at, and allow them to grow. Focusing Your Leadership Team on People. How leaders relate to their employees plays a major role in how everyone feels about their workplace. Building Meaningful Relationships. When employees like the people they work with and for, they are more satisfied and more engaged in their work. Creating Peak Performing Teams. People are energized when they work together effectively because teams achieve things that no one person could do on their own. Practicing Constructive Conflict Management. When leaders don't handle conflict promptly and well, it quickly sours the workplace. This book includes survey feedback from over 2,400 leaders and employees and resources for putting these ideas into action.
Call Number: HD58.7 .G75 2019x
The Data Literacy Cookbook Today's students create and are confronted with many kinds of data in multiple formats. Data literacy enables students and researchers to access, interpret, critically assess, manage, handle, and ethically use data. The Data Literacy Cookbook includes a variety of approaches to and lesson plans for teaching data literacy, from simple activities to self-paced learning modules to for-credit and discipline-specific courses. Sixty-five recipes are organized into nine sections based on learning outcomes: Interpreting Polls and Surveys Finding and Evaluating Data Data Manipulation and Transformation Data Visualization Data Management and Sharing Geospatial Data Data in the Disciplines Data Literacy Outreach and Engagement Data Literacy Programs and Curricula  Many sections have overlapping learning outcomes, so you can combine recipes from multiple sections to whip up a scaffolded curriculum. The Data Literacy Cookbook provides librarians with lesson plans, strategies, and activities to help guide students as both consumers and producers in the data life cycle.
Call Number: ZA3088.5.C65 D38 2022x
Don't Waste Your Talent: the 8 critical steps to discovering what you do best Revised Third Edition- Study after study reaches the same conclusion - in America today, it's not who you are but what you are. More and more CEO's are graduating from public universities instead of the Ivy League. But how do you know what you are? How do you know the talents you have? How do you determine what job or profession is right for you? Now, there's a book that gives you all the answers. Newly revised by Lazar Emanuel, lawyer and former CEO of the Highlands Co., a national performance improvement training company based in New York, and Tom Tavantzis,Ed.D., Director of Organizational Psychology Studies at St. Joseph's University, this seminal work tells you how to discover your hard-wired talents and move towards your ultimate goal - contentment, fulfillment and increased productivity. Every one of us is born with the ability to be great at something. The secret lies in identifying that ability and using it. McDonald and Hutcheson asked hundreds of successful people: what made you successful? Everyone's story was different, but one answer was the same for all - all successful people create and are guided by a clear personal vision - an accurate and precise picture of the work that expresses their talents best. This remarkable book holds the key to success - identify your natural talents and work where you can use them. Long-term research shows that when people focus on their natural abilities and follow a strategic plan based on a strong personal vision, they experience the profound and lasting benefits of reduced stress, more overall balance, decreased burnout and greater satisfaction. Don't Waste Your Talent provides the link to your niche in life. It opens doors to a more productive career and to the satisfaction of knowing that you're using your talents to the fullest. The Highlands Company offers assessments and seminars to help students and adults make strategic education and career decisions.
Call Number: HF5381.5 .M34 2017x
The Emotionally Intelligent Physician Leader In today's fast-paced world of healthcare, physicians require effective tools to help manage, adapt, and get ahead in their careers. As a physician leader, it's no secret that emotional intelligence (EI) and an emotional quotient (EQ) is critical to career and life success. Knowing how to use EI can improve relationships with your patients and interactions with your colleagues. Embracing emotional intelligence has become an essential aspect of contemporary culture. This well-written, concise, and practical book, The Emotionally Intelligent Physician Leader, serves as both an educational overview of EQ in healthcare, and a guide for physicians to follow in pursuit of achieving their fullest potential and balancing happiness with success. How does this book give you an advantage? Childs shares key lessons gleaned from her career to provide physician leaders with actionable information to improve their EQ, and build better relationships with patients, as well as others within their organizations. Here are some of the topics the author discusses in detail: Physicians and managing up The six primary emotions Inter-departmental logistics Delegation and practice efficiency Basics of body language When we have to say no to a patient Patients making independent decisions How to deal with difficult patients Set the stage to establish boundaries Shape patient satisfaction Questions for peer discussions The provider's role and relationships Communicating effectively with staff If you're a physician, The Emotionally Intelligent Physician Leader provides practical findings and insights with emphasis on how to employ your EQ in the most beneficial way.
Call Number: RA971 .C55 2022x
Extended Reality for Healthcare Systems: recent advances in contemporary research Extended Reality for Healthcare Systems: Recent Advances in Contemporary Research focuses on real world applications in medicine, also providing an overview of emerging technologies. The book includes case studies that break down the ways in which this technology has and can be used, while also taking readers through evidence, best practices and obstacles. Sections emphasize evidence, research-based practices and work. Content coverage includes Enhancing Medical Education with AR/VR, and XR: The Future of Surgery and Building Systems for Enhanced Health, and more. Readers will learn how to use this technology to improve existing systems by enhancing precision and reducing costs. Other sections cover extended reality in elderly care and remote monitoring of patients, building systems for enhanced health, including telehealth and telepsychiatry, using AR and VR in medical education, and designing technology for use in telesurgery.
Call Number: R857.7.V57 E98 2022x
Mindfulness for Beginners: a practical guide to finding peace and happiness in an anxious world Are you struggling with worry and anxiety? Is the amount of stress in your life causing you sleepless nights? Are you troubled by restlessness and frustration? Stress and anxiety in the world have reached epidemic proportions. People are trying to cope with feelings of anger, discontentment and despair. Mental health provision has not kept up with this unprecedented demand, leaving people isolated and alone. Graham Cann brings a wealth of experience to the knowledge and practice of mindfulness and meditation gained over 50 years to produce an excellent beginners’ guide. It is perfect for those with little or no knowledge of the subject who are seeking to improve their mental and physical well-being. He will be sharing how, in just a few minutes each day, you can relieve worry and stress and emerge as a new calmer, and more contented you! ‘Mindfulness for Beginners’ is an easy to read, step-by-step guide that empowers you to take control of your mind and bring peace to bear on your life even in the most trying of circumstances. By following the varied simple exercises within this book, you will be well on your way to finding more confidence and a passion for life! In ‘Mindfulness for Beginners’ you will discover: ◆ Scientifically proven techniques designed to help you break free from mental turbulence and insomnia ◆ What Mindfulness is and how it can transform your life ◆ How living in the present moment can heal your mind and body ◆ Easy mindfulness exercises to overcome stress and worry, enabling mental well-being ◆ Nine Mindful attitudes that complement your practice and keep you tuned in to the present moment ◆ Ways you can practice mindfulness at home, at work and in the great outdoors so that wherever you are, you will feel more alive ◆ How to overcome common obstacles on your way to a stress-free life. ◆ And so much more……. ‘Mindfulness for Beginners’ really is your go-to handbook for a new, enlightened outlook on life, full of hope and optimism. If the light you want to see is the light at the end of the tunnel, then you’ll love this!
Call Number: BF637.M56 C36 2021x
Physicians and Professional Behavior Management Strategies: a leadership roadmap and guide with case studies One of the most difficult tasks physician leaders regularly face is managing and mitigating unprofessional physician conduct complaints from patients, colleagues, nurses, and staff. Navigating the process well is usually a trial-by-fire exercise for most. Newly appointed physician leaders, especially, are nervous and uncomfortable confronting these issues with their colleagues. Physicians and Professional Behavior Management Strategies aims to assuage those concerns and instill confidence by providing practical advice and guidance on managing disruptive behavior with real-world case examples and in-depth discussion on the process. Case examples include: Sexual Harassment Physical Aggression Substance Abuse How to Have Difficult Conversations and Conduct Meetings with Proactive Follow Up Complementing the case discussions are strategies to reduce and mitigate disruptive behavior. Physician leaders often lack formal training on how to "manage" physicians engaged in unprofessional behavior. There are professional, personal, and legal pitfalls, and everyone engaged in the process is uncomfortable. Through Dr. Matthew Mazurek's leadership positions, he has had the opportunity to conduct dozens of investigations of unprofessional and disruptive conduct from the mundane to the serious. He offers practical advice and guidance on managing disruptive behavior, description and analysis of personal traits and disorders of disruptive physicians, and strategies to reduce the incidence of these behaviors. The Joint Commission, recognizing the need for hospitals and medical staffs to intervene, released a statement on how disruptive behavior harmed patients and lead to medical errors. Physicians and Professional Behavior Management Strategies through a variety of case examples, gives readers a roadmap on how to recognize and manage chronic disruptive behavior instead of looking the other way.
Call Number: HF5549.5.E42 M39 2022x
The Secrets to Happiness at Work: how to choose and create purpose and fulfillment in your work For working adults, business leaders, and HR professionals who want to lead a more fulfilling life, THE SECRETS TO HAPPINESS AT WORK shows how we can thrive at work by making empowered, wise choices about the kind of work we do, the people we work with, and the ways we manage our work-life boundaries. Perfect for readers of What Color is My Parachute?, expert Tracy Brower sets a foundation by making the case for joyful work and life, pointing to research on personal, family, and child health. From stress and sleep to marriage and child development, joyful work is a critical part of a healthy life. The book goes on to provide key touchpoints on fundamental human needs and compelling neuroscience that drive our understanding of experiences at work. In addition, the book debunks myths of work and life in order to provide the reader with new ways of thinking about work and life--even if you hate your job. THE SECRETS TO HAPPINESS AT WORK lays down fundamentals through descriptions of how to create purpose and meaning, and how to find the right match with a company's culture. Tracy emphasizes the power of relationships at work--and the importance of colleagues and coworkers--and how to foster the very best of trust, empathy, and work with others. THE SECRETS TO HAPPINESS AT WORK explains the growth mindset and how to say yes more often, learn from failure, embrace stress, and stretch to achieve fulfillment.
Call Number: HF5549.5.J63 B738 2021