Gastroenterology and Hepatology: Preventive Medicine

Dietary Interventions in Gastrointestinal Diseases: Foods, Nutrients, and Dietary Supplements by Ronald Ross Watson; Victor R. Preedy, 2019 Dietary Interventions in Gastrointestinal Diseases: Foods, Nutrients and Dietary Supplements provides valuable insights into the agents that affect metabolism and other health-related conditions in the gastrointestinal system. It provides nutritional treatment options for those suffering from gastrointestinal diseases including Crohn's Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Ulcerative Colitis and Allergies, among others. Information is presented on a variety of foods, including herbs, fruits, soy and olive oil, thus showing that changes in intake can change antioxidant and disease preventing non-nutrients and affect gastrointestinal health and/or disease promotion. This book serves as a valuable resource for biomedical researchers who focus on identifying the causes of gastrointestinal diseases and food scientists targeting health-related product development.

Dietary Interventions in Liver Disease: Foods, Nutrients, and Dietary Supplements by Ronald Ross Watson; Victor R. Preedy, 2019 Dietary Interventions in Liver Disease: Foods, Nutrients, and Dietary Supplements provides valuable insights into the agents that affect metabolism and other health-related conditions in the liver. It provides nutritional treatment options for those suffering from liver disease. Information is presented on a variety of foods, including herbs, fruits, soy and olive oil, thus illustrating that variations in intake can change antioxidant and disease preventing non-nutrients that affect liver health and/or disease promotion. This book is a valuable resource for biomedical researchers who focus on identifying the causes of liver diseases and food scientists targeting health-related product development.

Gastrointestinal Diseases and Their Associated Infections by Guy D. Eslick, 2019 Many bacteria, viruses, protozoa, and fungi play key roles in the development of gastrointestinal diseases, and this practical reference brings you up to speed with this increasingly important area. Covering a broad range of GI diseases and cancers, this resource provides an expert overview of the field, ideal for all gastroenterologists and infectious disease physicians. Covers infections associated with gastroesophageal reflux disease and Barrett's esophagus, gallbladder disease, acute pancreatitis, small intestinal bacterial overgrowth, irritable bowel syndrome, inflammatory bowel disease, appendicitis, Whipple Disease, Crohn's Disease, and more. Discusses esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, cholangiocarcinoma, hepatocellular carcinoma, and colorectal cancer. Includes chapters on gut microbiome, fecal transplants, and the molecular pathgenesis of gastrointestinal infections. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource.

Gluten-Related Disorders by Mohammad Rostami-Nejad, 2021 Gluten-related disorders are prevalent worldwide, especially in developing countries. These diseases have similar clinical manifestations. Although they are characterized by a specific pathophysiological response to ingestion of gluten, differential diagnosis of these disorders is very challenging. Failure to diagnose and treat these disorders at an early stage, can lead to irreparable health and cost damages. Gluten-Related Disorders: Diagnostic Approaches, Treatment Pathways, and Future Perspectives solves this problem by reporting up-to-date scientific findings that allow for faster, more accurate diagnosis of gluten-related disorders as well as guidance on treatment options. By identifying the distinctive features of each of the gluten-related disorders, the chapters lead readers to optimal diagnosis and treatment options as well as better research designs for future research studies on the pathogenesis of these disorders. This reference provided by experts in the field is perfect for researchers, scientists, and medical practitioners who are involved in addressing gluten-related disorders.

The Gut-Brain Axis, 2d ed. by Niall Hyland; Catherine Stanton, 2023 The Gut-Brain Axis: Dietary, Probiotic, and Prebiotic Interventions on the Microbiota, Second Edition presents the most advances on how the gut microbiome influences central nervous system and brain function introduced in the first edition. The book also describes how environmental influences which affect the microbiota, including, diet, exercise, and early-life, impact on the gut-brain axis. The second edition contains new chapters on metabolomics and the gut-brain-axis; dietary factors in the maintenance of a healthy brain ; the role of gut microbes in neurodegenerative disorders; the link between exercise and the gut-brain-axis; and infant Nutrition, the microbiome and neurodevelopment. In addition, the second edition presents coverage of mechanisms underlying neurological disease; approaches to investigate the role of the microbiome in brain and behavior, and 'next generation' probiotics and prebiotics. The Gut-Brain Axis: Dietary, Probiotic, and Prebiotic Interventions on the Microbiota, Second Edition continues to be the "go-to" resource for further exploration of the microbiota. Includes five new chapters focused on metabolomics and the gut-brain axis; dietary polyphenols to maintain healthier brain measures and cognitive function; the role of gut microbes in neurodegenerative disorders, exploration of exercise and the gut-brain axis, and coverage of infant nutrition, the microbiome, and neurodevelopment Addresses the role of the microbiota in several significant disorders characterized by disruption of the gut-brain axis Focuses on specific ways by which the microbiota can be manipulated to influence gut-brain communication Examines common mechanisms and pathways by which the microbiota may influence brain and behavior and how environmental factors influence the microbiome Discusses strategies to explore the contribution of the microbiome to the gut-brain axis; methods to enhance therapeutic strategies targeted toward the microbiota; and regulatory consideration

Microbiome Therapeutics by Nar Singh Chauhan; Suneel Kumar, 2023 Microbiome Therapeutics: Personalized Therapy Beyond Conventional Approaches addresses the current knowledge and landscape of microbiome therapeutics, providing an overview of existing applications in health and disease as well as potential future directions of microbiome modulations and subsequent translation to the global industry and market. This important reference provides the most current status of microbiome therapeutics as well as possible future perspectives through coverage of topics including the application of microbiome therapeutics; various additive, subtractive and modulatory approaches; microbiome composition of health and diseases, insights into live bio-therapeutics and the clinical data supporting their efficacy. Case studies are provided throughout the book to further define, describe and evaluate microbiome therapeutics success and failure.

Natural Plant Products in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases by Ana Paula Da Fonseca Machado; Alba Rodriguez-Nogales; Raquel Franco Leal et al, 2023 Natural Plant Products in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases: Preventive and Therapeutic Potential organizes all evidence to understand which natural products are the first steps of investigation and which have strong evidence of their effects in inflammatory bowel diseases, have been tested in clinical trials, and have received approval to be officially used. In addition to providing information regarding the research with natural products in inflammatory bowel diseases, this reference will also highlight the molecular mechanisms behind the effects of natural products in inflammatory bowel diseases with the aid of figures, video animations and dynamic tables. Compiled from research group members from different parts of the world and specialized in inflammatory bowel diseases and related topics, this important reference will be useful to health professionals, researchers, professors, and industry managers as it provides helpful information on the subject, with the potential to inspire health care, relevant research and product innovation.

Novel Approaches to Colorectal Cancer by Franklin G. Berger; C. Richard Boland, 2021 Novel Approaches to Colorectal Cancer, Volume 151 in the Advances in Cancer Research series, is composed of 11 reviews covering state-of-the-art research relating to the etiology, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of colorectal cancer. The book's chapters were written by recognized experts in the field, and include sections on molecular biomarkers in diagnosis and therapy, the interplay of diet, lifestyle, and the microbiome, early-age onset disease, mutational signature analysis, challenges in early detection, immunotherapy, organoid technology, the role of epigenetic alterations, disparities in minority populations, field carcinogenesis, and cancer as an evolutionary process. Each of these topics provides novel insights and concepts on various aspects of the nature of colorectal cancer, offering new opportunities for the management of a major source of cancer incidence and mortality.

Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Abdominal Obesity, 2nd e. by Ronald Ross Watson, 2019 Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Abdominal Obesity, Second Edition focuses on the important role that exercise, dietary changes and foods play in promoting and reducing visceral fat. Nutritionists, dieticians and healthcare providers seeking to address the abdominal obesity epidemic will find this book to be a valuable resource in their long-term goal of preventing chronic diseases, especially heart, vascular and diabetic diseases. Chapters define a range of dietary approaches to reduce risk for the associated chronic diseases. In addition, discussions of the importance of dietary approaches to reduce abdominal obesity, along with clinical approaches, are discussed, including costs and risks.

Outpatient Nutrition Care: GI, Metabolic and Home Nutrition Support, 2nd ed. by Carol Ireton-Jones, 2024 As the number of patients receiving home care nutrition support increases, proper assessment and management of this therapy is crucial, and clinicians need to practice at an advanced level. This new edition provides practical nutrition care information for professionals working with individuals outside of the hospital including registered dietitians, nurses, pharmacists, and physicians. It covers screening, assessing, and treating malnutrition; out-patient nutrition care in diabetes, cardiovascular disease, gastrointestinal disease, and home enteral and parenteral nutrition. Each chapter describes the disease process as well as the management of the disease or therapy. Key Features: Presents practical information on proper nutrition care of individuals in the outpatient setting and those receiving home nutrition support. New information on GI tests and procedures; gastroparesis/pancreatitis, parenteral lipids, and bariatric surgery. Expanded chapter on short bowel syndrome chapter and malabsorptive disorders. Additional information on feeding options including an overview of oral, oral supplements, enteral and parenteral nutrition. Teaches the user additional information on diseases processes and as well as the management of the disease or therapy.