The Employee Performance Handbook: smart strategies for coaching employeesMaximize employee performance--whether your workers are on-site or remote Confronting employees about poor performance is an ordeal dreaded by managers and HR pros everywhere. The possibility of emotional outbursts--and the specter of a lawsuit--leaves even many experienced managers at a loss. The Employee Performance Handbook is a complete how-toguide for managing employee performance. Packed with practical and legal advice, this book offers smart strategies that will help get the most out of your employees and avoid legal trouble. You'll learn how to: identify problems early on decide when discipline is necessary choose the right response to a problem engage employees in improving performance fire employees when necessary protect against wrongful termination lawsuits, and manage a remote workforce effectively. With downloadable forms: You can download sample policies, sample forms, checklists, skills-building exercises, and more, (details inside).
Call Number: HF5549.5.L3 M33 2021
The Heart of Laser-Focused Coaching: a revolutionary approach to masterful coachingWhat would it mean for your coaching if you got right to the heart of the matter - every time? You can. Learn rarely taught tips and concepts that will immediately elevate your coaching while avoiding the common pitfalls. New and experienced coaches alike will benefit greatly from the detailed strategies and wisdom shared from Marion's years of experience. -Cheryl Richardson, NYTimes Bestselling author of Take Time for Your Life Marion Franklin, the Coach's Coach, has been training and mentoring coaches for more than 20 years. Every student she has mentored or taught who sought ACC, PCC, or MCC has gotten their credential using the material in this book designed for all levels of coaches. No matter where you are in your coaching journey, this book has something for you. This book is different because it: Includes brilliant tools for beginner-to-seasoned coachesOffers advanced techniques for developing powerful questions without any listsProvides principles of human behavior that help you quickly identify what's really going onContains the 25 Themes that underlie every coaching situation and make coaching and questioning much simplerShares a step-by-step, easy to follow, way to create a shift in perspectivePresents 17 strategies that clients unknowingly use that actually work against, not for them Begin using even one or two of the concepts and principles in this book and notice your coaching immediately elevate to a new level. Your clients will notice the difference You will experience this innovative approach to masterful coaching with two full laser-coaching sessions with commentary - much like eavesdropping in on the mind of a master coach. Marion shares unprecedented concepts that will help new coaches and even the most experienced coaches gain new insights and ideas, including a deeper understanding of what they already know.Automatically improve your coaching by applying one rarely known principle.Never feel stuck around what question to ask.Feel more confident by quickly identifying what's really going on.Know exactly what to listen for in every conversation.Discover a simple "2 inquiry" approach that instantly enables you to deepen your curiosity. This book will not only boost your confidence and mastery as a coach, it will enable you to produce sustained results for your clients. I designed this book to not only show you what laser-focused coaching looks, sounds, and feels like, but to show you HOW TO coach for permanent, life-altering change. When using the Laser-Focused approach, you'll be able to: avoid getting seduced by the storyask questions that get right to the heart of the matterhave the client do all of the summaryknow how to create the shift and what to do afterwardsrecognize the client's underlying pattern and know how to address it and so much more The HeART of Laser-Focused Coaching -- A revolutionary, unprecedented approach makes coaching easier while also enhancing your ability to help clients create deep and profound change. Transform your coaching into something so powerful and life-changing that your coaching consistently flows and becomes effortless.
Virtual Coaching to Improve Group Relationships: process consultation reimagined"Process consultation, invented by Edgar Schein, is both a skill and an Organization Development change effort. As a skill, process consultation means the ability to observe and provide feedback about small group dynamics to a work group about how well group members interact and how to improve that interaction. Just as facilitators devote their time to (in one word) asking, process consultants devote their time to (in one word) watching-at an expert level. As a change effort, process consultation is a concerted effort to help members of a group work together more effectively. For that reason, the word process in this context should be interpreted to mean "interpersonal interaction in small groups." Historically, process consultation has focused attention on face-to-face groups and their group dynamics. But times are changing. More work is done online or in blended (online and onsite) groups than face-to-face alone. A 2017 survey of over 25,000 workers in 12 countries revealed that 62 percent of the global workers are now working flexibly-with some residential work and some virtual work. The same survey found that workers believe that flexible work arrangements make them more productive and that 48 percent of survey respondents reported that their virtual interactions include representatives of other cultures. It is true that, for workers who can discipline themselves and manage distractions at home, virtual work can be more productive when commuting time is eliminated and workplace distractions are minimized. Virtual work has the advantage of reducing the need for childcare, slashing work wardrobe costs, and cutting unproductive, stressful commuting time. Despite how modes of working together have changed over the years-ranging from face-to-face to some degree of virtual (videoconference, audioconference, print-only collaboration, and many blended combinations) -and the growing need for finding ways to help people work together more effectively, there has been no practical guideline of process consultation in a virtual or mixed work setting since Schein's process consultation initially focused on group dynamics in face-to-face settings. Therefore, this book aims to provide practical approaches to process consultation, helping group members discover more effective ways of working together in blended virtual/residential and cross-cultural settings. Essentially, this book provides a practical, how-to guide for virtual coaching, using step-by-step procedural approaches, cases, and helpful platforms/technologies and tools. It also provides information about how to use technology to support the process of improving virtual or mixed group relationship"--
Call Number: HD66 .V5558 2021
Performance Conversations: how to use questions to coach employees, improve productivity & boost confidenceThere are three universal truths about traditional performance management. They are widely used, universally despised, and are known to be ineffective. These reasons are cited in the recent spate of announcements from dozens of major corporations who have abandoned their appraisal systems. As a result, many organizations are grappling with what to do instead. They have adopted many interesting and innovative practices, but most are a random collection of activities that are not bound together by a sound theoretical framework. This new approach is built upon a sound theoretical foundation, uses proven management techniques, and offers a novel framework and tool for managers for regulating and enhancing the performance of their staff. Dozens of ready-to-use templates and accompanying tools help make good management practice more accessible, practical, and effective. Just as important, the new approach is both millennial- and remote worker-friendly as it incorporates features that speak to how they work.
Call Number: HF5549.5.C6 L383 2021
Coaching for Results: the 5 tips that drive performanceWe are all looking for answers to the challenge of building talent in our organizations and enhancing the performance of our team members. Finding the solution to this complex puzzle begins with Coaching for Results and the Coaching TIPS²¿ Model developed by CMOE. Whether you are in the private or public sector, or work in a for-profit or not-for-profit organization, leaders are essential in engaging people, unleashing their motivation, and helping them live up to their potential. Coaching for Results demystifies coaching by immersing you in the specific skills that are required of all world-class coaches and explains what you need to do to get started on enhancing your own coaching skills. It offers simple and timeless truths about how leaders and managers should talk to their team members, employees, or colleagues about business results and job performance. The basis for this book, CMOE's Coaching TIPS²¿ Model, is a proven process for coaching others effectively in the workplace. The Model developed out of years of research on the habits and behaviors of the most successful coaches working in challenging job environments. Drawing on our decades of inquiry and investigation, we designed our Coaching TIPS²¿ Model to be a concise, easy-to-understand, highly applicable guide for navigating through all kinds of coaching interactions. Coaching for Results is a compact read with sound and practical advice for today's fast-paced world. If you are uncomfortable coaching others or feel confused about how and who to coach (and what to coach on), the examples, case studies, and specific, actionable steps contained within this book will leave you feeling more at ease and motivated to begin the coaching process with your team members. Some of the coaching principles explored in this book will validate what you already do well in your coaching interactions; others may surprise and enlighten you. Regardless of your position in the organization or the industry in which you work, you will be able to clearly see the path to success by coaching others to improve their performance and results using Coaching for Results and CMOE's Coaching TIPS²¿ Model.
Call Number: HF5549.5.C53 S76 2019x
Leading with Mastery and Heart: the coaching companion for thriving nurse leadersLeading with Mastery and Heart: The Coaching Companion for Thriving Nurse Leaders provides expert, on-the-spot coaching for nurses who lead. Content centers on topic-specific columns that feature an easy-to-read, personable writing style not found in any other leadership title. Just a few of the hot topics covered in this collection are: how to stay centered and positive in the midst of highly stressful situations; how to manage resistance and negativity; how to provide inspiration along with direction; and how to combat limiting circumstances and beliefs. With its wealth of proven, real-world advice, Leading with Mastery and Heart: The Coaching Companion for Thriving Nurse Leaders is perfect for any current or aspiring nurse manager or executive looking to quickly and effectively hone their leadership skills. Well-organized collection of over 60 columns on leadership excellence for nurses covering topics such as the challenges of being new on the job, what change really means, managing resistance, developing others in challenging times, and coaching your boss Practical advice based on real circumstances in real healthcare organizations offering true to life examples and successful solutions that apply to nurse leaders at all levels. Emphasis on self-awareness reflecting the extensive research validating that the more self-aware we are, the better leaders we become Concrete and immediate solutions providing uncommon insight and guidance for even the most intractable challenges
Call Number: RT89 .R635 2021x
Helping People Change: coaching with compassion for lifelong learning and growthYou're trying to help--but is it working? Helping others is a good thing. Often, as a leader, manager, doctor, teacher, or coach, it's central to your job. But even the most well-intentioned efforts to help others can be undermined by a simple truth: We almost always focus on trying to "fix" people, correcting problems or filling the gaps between where they are and where we think they should be. Unfortunately, this doesn't work well, if at all, to inspire sustained learning or positive change. There's a better way. In this powerful, practical book, emotional intelligence expert Richard Boyatzis and Weatherhead School of Management colleagues Melvin Smith and Ellen Van Oosten present a clear and hopeful message. The way to help someone learn and change, they say, cannot be focused primarily on fixing problems, but instead must connect to that person's positive vision of themselves or an inspiring dream or goal they've long held. This is what great coaches do--they know that people draw energy from their visions and dreams, and that same energy sustains their efforts to change, even through difficult times. In contrast, problem-centered approaches trigger physiological responses that make a person defensive and less open to new ideas. The authors use rich and moving real-life stories, as well as decades of original research, to show how this distinctively positive mode of coaching--what they call "coaching with compassion"--opens people up to thinking creatively and helps them to learn and grow in meaningful and sustainable ways. Filled with probing questions and exercises that encourage self-reflection, Helping People Change will forever alter the way all of us think about and practice what we do when we try to help.
Call Number: BF637.P36 B69 2019
Co-Active Coaching: the proven framework for transformative conversations at work and lifeThe definitive edition - updated and expanded, with access to an online toolkit. 'The bible of coaching guides...No other book gives you the tools, skills, and the fundamentals needed to succeed in these delicate relationships.' Stephen R. Covey, Author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People Co-Active Coaching offers current and aspiring coaches, leaders and managers in organisations and anyone wanting to strengthen interpersonal relationships, a practical, yet transformative communication process called the Co-Active Model. Since its creation by the authors more than 25 years ago, the Co-Active Model and the book have formed the foundation of the authors' six-part coach training program delivered globally to tens of thousands of individuals each year through the authors' training institute, CTI. With its origins in the coaching profession, the Co-Active Model also applies to work and interpersonal relationships because it is based on principles of effective communication backed by current scientific research. In this highly-anticipated new edition, the universal applicability of the the Co-Active Model is emphasised. It goes beyond the one-on-one coach/coachee structure to include guidance for leaders and managers on how they can add a coaching competency to their professional skill set. New to this edition: · Every chapter has been updated for relevance and direct application to coaching in all of its forms, including in the workplace · New material covering: current neuroscience research, Co-Active approaches to leadership development and working with groups and teams · More examples drawn from the authors' first-hand experiences, especially in workplace settings · More examples of the Co-Active Model applied internationally · Updated/fine-tuned glossary (less jargon)
Call Number: BF637.S4 W484 2018
Coaching for Performance: the principles and practice of coaching and leadershipCoaching for Performance is the #1 book for coaches, leaders, talent managers and professionals around the world. This is the definitive, updated and expanded edition. "The proven resource for all coaches and pioneers of the future of coaching." Magdalena N. Mook, CEO, International Coach Federation (ICF) An international bestseller, featuring the powerful GROW model, this book is the founding text of the coaching profession. It explains why enabling people to bring the best out of themselves is the key to driving productivity, growth, and engagement. A meaningful coaching culture has the potential to transform the relationship between organizations and employees and to put both on the path to long-term success. Written by Sir John Whitmore, the pioneer of coaching, and Performance Consultants, the global market leaders in performance coaching, this extensively revised and extended edition will revolutionize the traditional approach to organizational culture. Brand new practical exercises, corporate examples, coaching dialogues, and a glossary, strengthen the learning process, whilst a critical new chapter demonstrates how to measure the benefits of coaching as a return on investment, ensuring this landmark new edition will remain at the forefront of professional coaching and leadership development. "Shines a light on what it takes to create high performance." John McFarlane, Chairman, Barclays, Chairman, TheCityUK
Call Number: HD58.82 .W47 2017
Mastering Coaching: mindfulness, neuroscience, expert performance, positive psychology, experiential learningCoaching is one of the most sought-after leadership skills - vital for anyone who wants to develop a team of people who will perform effectively, but are also motivated and relish working together. It's also a dynamic discipline which, in recent years, has developed and grown to embrace theory and practice from a wide range of other disciplines, frameworks and models. Mastering Coaching starts by asking what skills an effective coach must now possess to boost the performance of their coachees. In response, it summarises the most important research in areas such as neuroscience, sports psychology and mindfulness, positive psychology, mastery and goal-setting and offers a clear, simple and practical guide to how this new thinking can help coaches and managers to develop their own coaching practice. Written by Max Landsberg, executive coaching and professional development expert and author of the perennial bestseller The Tao of Coaching, Mastering Coaching goes beyond the basics of coaching by providing insights which offer a proven route map to coaching success. Practical and jargon-free, the book will equip readers with the techniques and tools necessary to take their coaching to the next level.
Call Number: HF5385 .L35 2015x
The Coaching Manager: developing top talent in businessThe Coaching Manager provides guidance, tools, and examples needed to develop leadership talent and inspire performance through an innovative coaching model that the authors have researched and tested among thousands of managers through the renowned Babson College Coaching for Leadership and Teamwork Program. Unlike coaching books that focus on performance problems, The Coaching Manager presents a developmental coaching methodology that managers can use to guide employees to achieve higher levels of skill, experience greater engagement with organizations, and promote personal development. Key Features Covers the concept, processes, and strategies involved in developmental coaching, providing real-world strategies for developing people in any organization. Offers self-assessment tools to prompt students and managers to explore their existing notions of coaching and to what extent they or their organizations might be prepared or ready to create and sustain a coaching environment. Twenty real-world cases illustrate coaching in action across different organizations and environments. Action checklists to deepen skills and provide experiential learning opportunities in the classroom and on the job.
Call Number: HF5385 .H86 2017
The Coaching Solution by Renee RobertsonBased on the author's firsthand experience during the merger of telecom giants MCI and Verizon, and the implosion of WorldCom, this book teaches how internal coaching programs, when executed properly, can retain and develop talent in the face of rapid change and many unknowns.Part autobiography, part how-to manual and workbook, The Coaching Solution provides corporate managers, executives and coaches with a highly personalized, step-by-step approach to building an effective coaching program. As a former talent management executive, Robertson shares her best practices and lessons learned. Her goal is to promote coaching inside organizations and to guide those interested in building high-performance employees, teams and organizations.
The Completely Revised Handbook of Coaching: a developmental approachWhen the first edition of The Handbook of Coaching was published in 1999 it was an innovative resource that offered a compendium of basic information about the then burgeoning field of adult coaching. Written for experienced and aspiring coaches, as well as for executives and human resource professionals interested in this expansive profession, this thoroughly revised and updated edition describes the essential underpinnings of successful coaching and includes a comprehensive, annotated list of books, articles, and other resources. The second edition also contains chapters that focus on how coaches can facilitate transformative change and explores how transitions create opportunity for development. This new edition also incorporates new advances in and research on coaching and adult development pulling together data that is available online and new information that cannot be found anywhere else.
A Nurse Coach Implementation Guide: your crash course to an effective values conversationNurse Coaching is a specialty role in nursing that is transforming care delivery. Like many roles in health care, it is not being implemented to the fullest extent due to real barriers that exist for clients to receive services. This is an interesting time period to work in health care, as we are in the midst of a large restructuring and overhauls - some effective, some not. Amidst the discourse, Nurse Coaches can navigate various value sets and have a place at the table. Nurse coaching restores the humanizing force of nursing to its original luster, and seeks to do so collaboratively with other professionals. Nursing education programs have not yet gone far enough to educate the workforce on how an autonomous nursing profession creates access outside of the hospital setting. Breeching these barriers to access is exactly the kind of persistent positive disruption that is in order, and the vision that is embraced in the Nurse Coaching Values Conversation. In the new health care era, Nurse Coaches stand separate but equal with other health care collaborators as a non-diagnostic, professional partner.This book contains first-hand accounts of barriers that the author has experienced in attempting to make holistic health coaching interventions available to the public, as well as prospects and opportunities to overcome these barriers. Nurse Coaches pursue lifestyle factors with specific Nurse Coaching competencies to enhance their clients quality of life, as well as nursing self-development. Nurse Coaching is sustainable inasmuch as it is cost effective, quality care. Now it is time to clear the way for access to these services in independent community practices, contracts with private and federally-qualified health care homes, consultants for redesigning systems for human-centered care, and as community stakeholders for healthy communities.