Contact the Library to have a book delivered to your work location!
The Elements of Resume Style by Scott BennettBuilding your résumé should be one of the easier parts to the whole job-interview process. But instead it's becoming increasingly stressful as well! What kind of résumé will spark the employer's interest? Which kind most often get passed over? How far back are we supposed to go? How can we best explain those time gaps in between jobs? Are the rules different for online résumés? There are so many vital questions when it comes to building a résumé today, but only one way to be assured you're getting the right answers--by asking a hiring expert.Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand the insights that will catch an employer's eye, as well as what dangers to avoid if you want to survive the first cut. In The Elements of Résumé Style, Bennett shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted résumés and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition that includes social media and online-application tips, readers will be provided:* More than 1,400 action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience* Hundreds of words, phrases, and vague claims to avoid* Advice for handling employment gaps, job-hopping, and requests for salary history and requirements* Sample résumés, response letter, inquiry letter, informational interview request letter, references, and more* Surprising tips for acing the interviewIn today's ultra-competitive environment, competition is intense no matter the field or position. And the often-overlooked first hurtle to jump over is no doubt the résumé. This candid book's time-tested tools will make sure yours stands out--helping to get you the job you deserve!
Call Number: HF5383 .B423 2014
How to Write an Impressive CV and Cover Letter: a comprehensive guide for jobseekersYour CV, cover letter and LinkedIn profile are your first communication with a prospective employer. As the job market is more competitive than ever, grabbing an employer's attention and making the right first impression has never been more important. If you compromise on the quality of your CV, cover letter and LinkedIn profile, you reduce your chances of winning an interview. This book, which will appeal to anyone from entry level to board level, is a step-by-step guide on how to approach job hunting and achieve a killer competitive advantage by producing an impressive CV, cover letter and LinkedIn profile. Invaluable views and advice from senior HR and industry professionals, who are often the first point of entry, are provided throughout the book. How to Write an Impressive CV and Cover Letter will support jobseekers through the entire job-hunting process. It offers access to practical, real-life examples of CVs and cover letters that have secured interviews and helped individuals win their dream job. Readers will gain access to these documents, together with valuable templates, as part of the book.
Call Number: HF5383 .W45 2021x
How to Write the Perfect Resume: Stand Out, Land Interviews, and Get the Job You Want by Dan ClayLearn the tested and proven resume writing formula that's landed jobs at Google, Salesforce, LinkedIn, and other world-class companies! Picture a scenario: You're sitting at your kitchen table scrolling through job listings when you see one that catches your eye. As you read through the job description, your excitement builds as you realize that the job is a perfect fit! Not wasting another second, you fill out the application, attach your resume, and hold your breath as you hit "Apply." Then you wait. And wait. And wait some more. Weeks go by without hearing so much as a peep, and before long you've given up hope on what seemed like a match made in heaven. Sound familiar? You're not alone! On average there are 250 resumes submitted for every job opening, which means that 99.6% of applicants will fail to land the jobs they apply for. To get the job you want, you don't just need a great resume--you need an outstanding resume, one that puts you in the top 1% of candidates for the job. That means ditching the same old advice you've been following with little results and adopting a tried-and-true process for getting your resume noticed in even the most competitive situations. In this book, Dan Clay breaks down the exact method he's carefully developed over a period of ten years and provides a precise, step-by-step set of instructions for crafting the perfect resume, down to the last period. Unlike the dime-a-dozen recruiters turned career coaches who have never had to put themselves on the line in today's brutally competitive job market, Dan offers practical, real-world experience gained from applying for and getting job offers from some of the most prestigious, competitive companies in the world. And when it comes to something as important as your career, don't you deserve to learn from someone who's actually succeeded at doing what you're hoping to do? Of course you do! Here are some of the things you'll learn about how to transform your resume from average to awe-inspiring: How to handle tricky pitfalls like extended time off or unemployment and have your resume come out as strong as ever How to make your accomplishments sound dramatically more impressive without having to tell a single lie How to remove the guesswork about what to include in your resume and build it to the exacting specifications of your target job's requirements How to pass the four tests that companies will put your resume through with flying colors How to strike the perfect composition of content, white space, and page length to accentuate and differentiate your strengths How to avoid the common (and not so common) resume mistakes that leave your resume dead on arrival How to tell a powerful story that demonstrates your capabilities in a way that will knock the socks off anyone reading it How to stand out without resorting to cheap tricks that come off as cheesy or over-the-top PLUS, you'll also gain access to a free companion website containing fully editable resume templates, a perfect resume checklist, and other bonus materials to give you everything you need to create a stunning resume that will get you noticed and land you interviews. Whether you're a new graduate looking for your first job, a career veteran angling for your next move, a recent victim of a layoff, or someone looking to dip their toes back into the workplace after taking a few years off, this comprehensive guide aims to be the best--and last--resume writing book you'll ever need for your career. What are you waiting for? Scroll to the top of the page and select the buy now button to start crafting your perfect resume today!
Call Number: HF5383 .C58 2018x
A Killer Resume by Riley Rose'A Killer Resume' is a bestseller with tons of downloads! Create "a killer professional resume" to give you the edge you need to gain access past the scrutinizing gatekeepers who screen your resume and select the candidates' resumes that contains the language they seek. "You can create your own killer resume," right now.
Call Number: HF5383 .R67 2013x
Knock 'em Dead Resumes: a killer resume gets more job interviews!Expert advice on building a resume to get the job you want! Your resume is the most important financial document you'll ever create. When it works, so do you. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, bestselling author Martin Yate shows you how to write a dynamic, effective resume that: Stands out in a resume database Builds a strong personal brand employers will want on their team Passes recruiters' six-second scan test Speaks to exactly what employers are looking for The new edition of this classic guide includes dozens of sample resumes as well as cutting-edge advice on resume-writing tactics. With Knock 'em Dead Resumes, 12th Edition, you'll grab employers' attention--and score the job you want.
Call Number: HF5383 .Y38 2016
Nurses, Jobs and Resumes by Carmen Kosicek"Healthcare is changing, and therefore, your resume for a career in healthcare needs to change too. Welcome to the guide that will show you how to fuse your knowledge of healthcare together with your insights in business for a big bucks healthcare resume."-Innovative Insights by Carmen Kosicek, RN, MSN
Call Number: RT86.7 .K67 2014x
Real-Resumes for Nursing Jobs by Anne McKinneyEven within the nursing field, there are a variety of positions, and this book shows samples of resumes and cover letters that worked for real people. This title will be a valuable resource to nursing professionals who seek clinical nursing or administrative positions. Newly minted nurses and newcomers to the field will learn how to show off their clinical rotations to best advantage. Nurses often change fields, too, and the book includes resumes of nurses who have successfully transitioned into pharmaceutical sales and other areas. A "bonus" of the book is that it includes samples of paperwork involved in obtaining federal government jobs: there are specialized resumes as well as the "resumix" and KSAs often required for federal positions. This book will show nursing professionals how to maximize their career potential, get federal nursing positions, and change fields if they want to.A word of advice from Anne McKinney, editor: "As the world gets increasingly specialized, the career-minded need resume books which are specifically targeted to their needs. If you want to enter or advance in the nursing field, you don't need just any resume book. You need an industry-specific book. Every resume and cover letter we put in a Real-Resumes Series book has been tested and proven in the real job market. Your choice of a resume book is one of the most important career decisions you will ever make."Praise for this book and other books in the Real-Resumes Series:"It is very specific to the medical industry, teaching a foundation of medical industry resume writing which is easy to tailor and customize to special needs. Cover letters demonstrate how to support the resume with a hard-hitting summary." - The Midwest Book Review"Distinguished by its highly readable samples." - Library Journal"These excellent new guides don't just provide the usual coverage on how to write a resume. They provide industry-specific examples, industry-specific tips and cautions, and industry-specific strategies based on real-world resumes. Since many technical types aren't writers, this comes as a special gift; select a winning format, plug in your background specs, and away you go. It's that easy--with Real-Resumes in hand."-- The Midwest Book Review"This thoughtful resource should come as a welcome and valuable tool." -Small PressTestimonials from people who have successfully used this book:"I wanted to transition from clinical nursing into pharmaceutical sales, and the Real-Resumes Series showed me how to sell my potential as well as my experience." L. Barzos"If you use a sample to create your resume, make sure you use a superior sample. All resumes in the Real-Resumes books have actually worked in real job campaigns." A. McHenry"Even when nursing jobs are plentiful, a great resume helps you improve your access to the best jobs, best schedules, best employers, and best salaries." J. Neligan"When I entered the nursing field, I was unsure about how to show off my clinical rotations for maximum impact. Even though I was fresh out of nursing school, I used Real-Resumes to emphasize my clinical rotations and the cover letter I used helped me get a prestigious fellowship." A. Santos
Call Number: RT86.7 .M425 2012x
ResumesPolish up that old resume--and land your dream job We've all been there: it's time to apply for a job or internship and you have to create or revise your resume. Many questions pop in your head. What do employers want? What skills should I highlight? How do I format this? How do I get noticed? But resume writing doesn't have to be a daunting task. The latest edition of Resumes For Dummies answers all of these questions and more--whether you're a resume rookie, looking for new tips, or want to create that eye-catching winning resume. In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing! Write effective resumes that will stand out in a crowd Understand Applicant Tracking Systems and how to adapt your resume Keep your resume up with the current culture Position a layoff or other career change and challenge with a positive spin Leverage tips and tricks that give your resume visual power In order to put your best foot forward and stand out in a pile of papers, it's important to have an excellent and effective resume--and now you can.