New Books in the Library
Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor by
This quick-access guide for novice nurse preceptors walks through, step-by-step, how to successfully orient new nurses to the hospital environment. Preceptors are key to staff retention, job satisfaction, improved quality of care, patient safety and transition to practice. For the busy novice nurse preceptor who believes they do not have the time or preparation to be a nurse preceptor, Fast Facts for the Nurse Preceptor, Second Edition explains all the requisites for demonstrating, guiding, and mentoring new nurses through the process of delivering safe, evidence-based, patient-centered care. The second edition builds upon the foundation of the first to address more complicated challenges preceptors face. While reviewing the basics like shift organization, prioritization, communication, delegation, and conflict resolution, this orientation guide delineates the essential qualities of a competent preceptor and their primary responsibilities. It discusses the knowledge and skills a successful preceptor must impart to new nurses while acclimating to a variety of teaching and learning styles. Chapters discuss how to recognize the warning signs of a struggling preceptee, work through a preceptee's 'transition shock,' and help new nurses to develop critical thinking skills. Abundant case studies highlight common and challenging precepting situations. New to the Second Edition: Updated with FIVE completely new chapters: Selection, Education, and Retention of the Preceptor Preceptee Learning and Preceptor Teaching Styles The Challenging Student Precepting the Accelerated BSN and Advanced Practice Nurse (APRN) The Unsafe Preceptee and How to Avoid 'Failure to Fail' Key Features: Helps preceptors to serve as excellent role models, mentors, and teachers for new nurses Offers quick-access, step-by-stop guidance with short paragraphs and bulleted information Uses case studies to highlight both common and challenging precepting scenarios Includes evidence-based content throughout Contains competency assessment and evaluation forms
Call Number: RT42 .C56 2021
The Art and Science of Nurse Coaching by
The nurse-client relationship is at the core of quality nursing care. Nurse Coaching is a structured, relationship-centered approach which promotes achievement of client goals. This book teaches RNs how to interact with clients in a skilled, purposeful, and results-oriented way.
Call Number: RT76 .P76 2021x
The Nurse Leader CoachCall Number: RT89.3 .S44 2019x
Mastering Precepting: a nurse's handbook for successCall Number: RT74.7 .M37 2019
Contact the Library
If you require additional assistance, please contact the Library.
Library Contact
Additional Books in the Library
Mentor, Coach, Lead to Peak Professional Performance
When it comes to leadership, no one is purely self-sufficient. Healthcare leaders do their best work when they are surrounded by wise people who support them, share power and influence, and give them honest feedback from a place of objectivity.Mentor, Coach, Lead to Peak Professional Performance explains why it is important to build a network of advisors and pay it forward by extending advice and support to others. Author Laurie K. Baedke provides practical guidance on how to build relationships that foster both individual development and organizational success. Readers will learn the distinctions between mentoring, sponsoring, and coaching partnerships and will understand which circumstances are most suited for each type of collaboration. The book is filled with tips and tools on how to make the most of these powerful connections.Healthcare leaders may need the advice, expertise, and listening ear of others many times throughout their career. Readers of this book will be better equipped to both seek out and provide the invaluable gifts of guidance and support.
Call Number: HD57.7 .B3347 2023
Supervision and Mentoring in Healthcare
This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an E-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.
This bestselling textbook introduces the theories, evidence and research that define supervision, mentoring, learning and student assessment in healthcare today. It combines an evidence-based approach that supports critical analysis with a sharp focus on how to provide effective supervision in everyday practice.
Key features of the book include:
A companion website with a video from the author, a test yourself glossary and free SAGE journal articles to support you during your mentorship course and in practice
Example templates for you to use with students, such as learning contracts, lesson plans and professional development plans.
Activities and reflection points which enhance your understanding and help you to develop your own approach to mentoring.
Interprofessional in its scope, with reference to both the NMC and HCPC, it is essential reading for anyone taking on a supervisory, mentoring role across nursing, midwifery, social care and the allied health professions.
Call Number: R834 .G67 2018
Tribe of Mentors: short life advice from the best in the world
Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek, shares the ultimate choose-your-own-adventure book--a compilation of tools, tactics, and habits from 130+ of the world's top performers. From iconic entrepreneurs to elite athletes, from artists to billionaire investors, their short profiles can help you answer life's most challenging questions, achieve extraordinary results, and transform your life. From the author: In 2017, several of my close friends died in rapid succession. It was a very hard year, as it was for many people. It was also a stark reminder that time is our scarcest, non-renewable resource. With a renewed sense of urgency, I began asking myself many questions: Were my goals my own, or simply what I thought I should want? How much of life had I missed from underplanning or overplanning? How could I be kinder to myself? How could I better say "no" to the trivial many to better say "yes" to the critical few? How could I best reassess my priorities and my purpose in this world? To find answers, I reached out to the most impressive world-class performers in the world, ranging from wunderkinds in their 20s to icons in their 70s and 80s. No stone was left unturned. This book contains their answers--practical and tactical advice from mentors who have found solutions. Whether you want to 10x your results, get unstuck, or reinvent yourself, someone else has traveled a similar path and taken notes. This book, Tribe of Mentors, includes many of the people I grew up viewing as idols or demi-gods. Less than 10% have been on my podcast (The Tim Ferriss Show, more than 200 million downloads), making this a brand-new playbook of playbooks. No matter your challenge or opportunity, something in these pages can help. Among other things, you will learn: * More than 50 morning routines--both for the early riser and those who struggle to get out of bed. * How TED curator Chris Anderson realized that the best way to get things done is to let go. * The best purchases of $100 or less (you'll never have to think about the right gift again). * How to overcome failure and bounce back towards success. * Why Humans of New York creator Brandon Stanton believes that the best art will always be the riskiest. * How to meditate and be more mindful (and not just for those that find it easy). * Why tennis champion Maria Sharapova believe that "losing makes you think in ways victories can't." * How to truly achieve work-life balance (and why most people tell you it isn't realistic). * How billionaire Facebook co-founder Dustin Moskovitz transformed the way he engages with difficult situations to reduce suffering. * Ways to thrive (and survive) the overwhelming amount of information you process every day. * How to achieve clarity on your purpose and assess your priorities. * And much more. This reference book, which I wrote for myself, has already changed my life. I certainly hope the same for you. I wish you luck as you forge your own path. All the best, Tim Ferriss
Call Number: BF637.S8 F47 2017
Mentoring in Nursing and Healthcare: supporting career and personal development
Mentoring in Nursing and Healthcare: Supporting career and personal development is an innovative look into mentoring within nursing, and its implications for career success. It provides an up-to-date review of the current research and literature within mentoring in nursing and healthcare, drawing together the distinctive challenges facing nurses and their career development. It proposes new directions and practical ways forward for the future development of formal mentoring programmes in nursing. Offering fresh insight into mentoring principles and how these can be used beyond pre-registration nurse education to support personal career development. This is an essential book for all those commencing, continuing or returning to a nursing career. Key features: Addresses mentoring as a career development tool Focuses on the individual benefits of being a mentee and mentor and how this can aid professional development Both theoretical and practical material is presented Features case studies throughout book Supports nurses to develop their careers It is sector specific but has transferability across disciplines A summary chapter draws together common threads or theoretical perspectives. The book concludes with strategies for future research and progress
Call Number: RT82 .W66 2017x
The Career Handoff by Call Number: RT86.5 .C37 2016
Mentorship in healthcare by Call Number: RT86.45 .M457 2015x
Scope and Standards of Practice for Preceptor Advancement
Preceptors have always been present in board rooms, clinical settings, schools, and work environments where onboarding and role transitions occur. They formally and informally engage in coaching and mentoring in varying degrees for a specific time period, working with students, new graduates, new employees, and individuals moving into new roles and responsibilities. Exceptional Preceptors inspire preceptees (sometimes called protégés) to excel, to explore their organizations, and to actively contribute to their own success. Effective Preceptors provide the grounding students and employees need to ensure a successful emersion into the culture and climate of their studies and work.However, for all the power Preceptors have to make or break a career depending on their motivation, preparation and support in any organization, there has been no standardization of competencies or practice for preceptoring until now. This work establishes a scope and standards of practice for advancing Preceptors in alignment with recognizing preceptoring as a specialty requiring a unique set of qualities and skills. It provides the definitions, values and beliefs, theoretical framework, scope of practice, standards of practice and competencies of preceptoring in health care as established by the American Academy for Preceptor Advancement (AAPA) Preceptor Certification Committee following an in-depth practice analysis of preceptoring in academic and healthcare facilities. This Scope and Standards of Practice for Preceptor Advancement is an essential text for practicing and aspiring certified Preceptors at every level of achievement.
Call Number: RT74.7 .S36 2014x
The Nurse Mentor's Companion by Call Number: RT71 .C73 2015x
Starting Strong by Call Number: HF5385 .Z334 2014
The Mentoring Manual by Call Number: BF637.M45 S73 2014
Creating a Mentoring Program by Call Number: HF5385 .R458 2014x
Successful Mentoring in Nursing by Call Number: RT86.45 .A88 2014x
Preceptor Program Builder: Essential Tools for a Successful Preceptor Program by
The Preceptor Program Builder provides professional development staff the keys to creating a successful preceptor program in the healthcare environment. In this essential package, you will find the core tools, best practices, processes, adaptable forms, and training materials for developing and evaluating preceptors, information for preparing preceptors for certification through portfolio-building, and a tested framework for preceptor programs. Use this resource to develop a preceptor program for any population, such as nurses or pharmacists. The book provides a core design for developing preceptors that can be applied to any program and discipline where preceptors orient or transition new employees, students, or persons transitioning into a new role or position. This work moves beyond previous editions' focus on single disciplines and invites all groups, disciplines, and professions to create a framework built on practical tools, definitions, principles, and concepts for training preceptors and building formal preceptorships.
Call Number: R837.P74 S83 2014x
HBR Guide to Getting the Mentoring You Need: attract sponsors, learn and move up, repay the favorCall Number: HF5385 .H34 2014
