Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment: a practical approach Develop the critical thinking and reasoning skills you need to make sound clinical judgments! Alfaro-LeFevre's Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment: A Practical Approach, 7th Edition brings these concepts to life through engaging text, diverse learning activities, and real-life examples. Easy-to-understand language and a "how-to" approach equip you to become a sensible, resilient critical thinker with the clinical reasoning skills you need to think think through complex issues and make sound clinical decisions. This edition emphasizes readiness for clinical practice and the Next Generation NCLEX exam, with a focus on systems thinking, interprofessional practice, nursing skills for the 21st century, and Quality and Safety for Nursing Education (QSEN) competencies. Clear, straightforward approach and motivational writing style provides vivid examples, memorable anecdotes, and real-life case scenarios to make content come alive. Focus on application ("how to") with supporting rationales (theory) makes difficult concepts easy to learn. Critical Thinking Indicators feature evidence-based descriptions of behaviors that foster critical thinking in nursing practice. Highlighted features and sections that promote deep learning include: This Chapter at a Glance, Learning Outcomes, Key Concepts, Guiding Principle boxes, Critical Moments boxes, Other Perspectives features, Think-Pair-Share activities, H.M.O. (Help Me Out) cartoons, real-life clinical scenarios, Key Points, Critical Thinking Exercises, and more! Cultural, spiritual, and lifespan content explores the nurse's role in hospitals, long-term care settings, and entire communities, presenting a broad approach to critical thinking. Inclusion of ethics- and standards-based professional practice reflects the increased demand for accountability in today's professional climate. Timely coverage of the latest in nursing education and critical thinking includes concept-based learning; QSEN and IOM standards; problem-focused versus outcome-focused thinking; prioritization and delegation; developing a culture of safe, healthy work environments; expanding roles related to diagnosis and management; improving grades and passing tests the first time; NCLEX exam preparation; ensuring that documentation reflects critical thinking; communication and interpersonal skills; strategies for common workplace challenges; and more. NEW! Spotlight on systems thinking teaches you to consider how things are related, while coverage of conceptual thinking helps you focus on big ideas first. NEW! Information on effective clinical simulations encourages learning through practice and debriefing. NEW! Clinical reasoning principles are highlighted throughout to ensure you are practice ready. NEW! Current critical judgment models are illustrated and explained in a clear, engaging style. NEW! Expanded content on growing nursing trends addresses competency assessment, electronic charting (informatics) and "thinking beyond the EHR," clinical evaluation, and preceptor and learner strategies. NEW! Strong emphasis on interprofessional collaboration includes new content on its growing importance in health care.
Strategies, Techniques, and Approaches to Critical Thinking: a clinical reasoning workbook for nurses Develop the clinical nursing judgment you need to become a safe, competent clinician! Strategies, Techniques, & Approaches to Critical Thinking: A Clinical Reasoning Workbook for Nurses, 6th Edition uses a case-based, workbook format to help you build clinical reasoning skills. The clear, step-by-step approach helps you learn and apply essential knowledge, guiding you through increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking, priority-setting, and decision-making. More than 100 realistic case studies reflect the scenarios commonly encountered in clinical practice. Written by noted nursing educator Sandra Luz Martinez de Castillo, this edition adds coverage of emerging topics such as QSEN, interprofessional collaboration, and nursing leadership and delegation. UNIQUE! Step-by-step approach builds your skills in critical thinking, clinical decision-making, and clinical reasoning, walking you through the author's research-based critical thinking model. More than 100 true-to-life cases demonstrate how cases progress and complications arise, helping you develop increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking. Emphasis on prioritization helps you prepare for nursing practice and for the NCLEX® Examination. Integrated NCLEX Examination review helps you apply critical thinking skills to test questions and prepares you for the state boards. NEW! Expanded coverage of the Safety and Patient-Centered Care competencies of the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative, with distinctive icons highlighting this content. NEW and UNIQUE! Coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice includes integration of interactions with other professions into relevant cases (especially in the cases involving leadership), incorporation of the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice set forth by the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), and inclusion of SBAR communication as a tool for interprofessional collaboration. NEW! Increased emphasis on delegation, leadership, and collaborative learning promotes professional practice and team-based learning. NEW! UPDATED content reflects changes in clinical practice and the latest NCLEX® Examination test plan, featuring new examples of EHR charting, the use of only generic drug names, and the exclusion of medical diagnoses from questions unless absolutely necessary.
The Critical Thinking ToolKit: fostering critial thinking skills in the front line Advisory Board Company/Nurse Executive Center has published this new resource. This toolkit contains 16 targeted exercises to enhance bedside nurse performance on five core components of critical thinking. The exercises are designed for nurses at every career stage-tenured nurses as well as new graduates.
Critical Thinking: tools for clinical excellence and leadership effectiveness Critical Thinking: Tools for Clinical Excellence and Leadership Effectiveness Paula S. Forte, PhD, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CWCN Critical thinking remains a key issue for nurses and nurse managers. When asked what nurse managers struggle with the most, a lack of critical thinking consistently ranks near the top of the list. Critical Thinking: Tools for Clinical Excellence and Leadership Effectiveness provides the tools for nurses to help themselves and their staff improve their thinking and communication skills with both colleagues and patients. This new book is geared toward mid-career nurses, newly promoted nurse managers, and nurses who are at a critical point in their career. This book will help you: Help nurses improve their staff's thought habits as well as their own Present evidence-based best practices for critical thinking Provide tools to increase critical thinking skills that will improve patient safety Provide foundations for leadership-oriented critical thinking skills
Critical Thinking Tactics for Nurses: achieving the IOM competencies
Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing by 
Reflective Practice in Nursing
The Art of Thinking: a guide to critical and creative thought
Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment: a practical approach
Introduction to Concept Mapping in Nursing: critical thinking in action
Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing : Crtiical Thinking Cases in Nursing
Concept Mapping : a critical thinking approach to care planning
Teaching for Critical Thinking by Elevating frontline critical thinking : best nursing practices for overcomeing task-focused tunnel vision by The critical thinking toolkit : fostering critical thinking skills in the front line by 
Critical Thinking to Achieve Positive Health Outcomes by Acquiring Critical Thinking Skills. Marilyn Meltzer and Susan Marcus Palau. W.B. Saunders Co. [RT73 .M394 1996]
Applying Nursing Process: A Tool for Critical Thinking. 6th ed. Rosalinda Alfaro-LeFevre. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.[RT51 .A6255 2006]
Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher. Stephen D. Brookfield. Jossey-Bass. [LB2331 .B677 1995]
Clinical Decision Making and Judgement in Nursing. Edited by Carl Thompson and Dawn Dowding. Churchill Livingstone. [RT42 .C593 2002]
Clinical Reasoning: The Art and Science of Critical and Creative Thinking. Daniel J. Pesut and JoAnne Herman. Delmar. [RT48.6 .P47 1999]
Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions. Edited by Joy Higgs and Mark Jones. Butterworth-Heinemann. [R723 .C57 2000]
Comprehensive Tool Kit and Reference Library on Systems Thinking and Learning. Volume VIII. Centre For Strategic Management. [HD58.82 .C73797 2000x]
Concept Mapping: A Critical-Thinking Approach to Care Planning. Pamela McHugh Schuster. F.A. Davis Co. [RT42 .S38 2008]
Conversations in Critical Thinking and Clinical Judgment. Edited by Marilynn Jackson, Donna D. Ignatavicius, and Bette Case. Pohl Publishing Inc. [RT84.5 .C65 2004x]
Critical Reading for the Reflective Practitioner: A Guide for Primary Care. Robert Clarke and Peter Croft. Butterworth-Heinemann. [R723.5 .C53 1998x]
Critical Thinking about Research: Psychology and Related Fields. Julian Meltzoff. American Psychological Association. [BF76.5 .M45 1998]
Critical Thinking Activities for Nursing. Marilyn Smith-Stoner. Lippincott. [RT84.5 .S575 1999]
Critical Thinking: An Interactive Tool for Learning Medical-Surgical Nursing. Eleanor Varsen Vanetzian. F.A. Davis. [RT84.5 .V36 2001x]
Critical Thinking and Clinical Judgment: A Practical Approach. Rosalinda Alfaro-LeFevre. Saunders. [RT86 .A34 2004]
Critical Thinking & Nursing Diagnosis: Case Studies & Analyses. Margaret Lunney. North American Nursing Diagnosis Association. [RT48.6 .C75 2001x]
Critical Thinking Applied to Nursing. Mary A. Miller and Dorothy E. Babcock. Mosby. [RT84.5 .M54 1996]
Critical Thinking in Nursing. Elsie L. Bandman, Bertram Bandman. Appleton & Lange. [RT84.5 .B36 1995]
Critical Thinking in Nursing: A Cognitive Skills Workbook. Saundra K. Lipe and Sharon Beasley. Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. [RT84.5 .L565 2004]
Critical Thinking in Nursing: A Practical Approach. 2nd ed. Rosalinda Alfaro-LeFevre. Saunders. [RT86 .A34 1999]
Critical Thinking in Nursing: An Interactive Approach. M. Gaie Rubenfeld and Barbara K. Scheffer. Lippincott.[RT84.5 .R83 1999]
Critical Thinking: Strategies for Decision Making. Daniel A. Feldman. Crisp Learning.[BF441 .F35 2002]
Critical Thinking Tactics for Nurses: Achieving the IOM Competencies. M. Gaie Rubenfeld and Barbara K. Scheffer. Jones and Bartlett. [RT42 .R78 2010]
Critical Thinking TACTICS for Nurses: Tracking, Assessing, and Cultivating Thinking to Improve Competency-Based Strategies. M. Gaie Rubenfeld and Barbara K. Scheffer. Jones and Bartlett. [RT42 .R78 2006]
Critical thinking to achieve positive health outcomes : nursing case studies and analyses. Edited by Margaret Lunney. NANDA International ; Wiley-Blackwell. [RT48.6 .C75 2009]
Current issues and enduring questions : a guide to critical thinking and argument, with readings. Edited by Sylvan Barnet, Hugo Bedau.BC177 .C86 2005x
Developing Critical Thinkers; Challenging Adults to Explore Alternative Ways of Thinking and Acting. Stephen D. Brookfield. Jossey-Bass. [BF441 .B79 1987]
Developing Professional Judgement in Health Care: Learning through the Critical Appreciation of Practice. Edited by Della Fish, Colin Coles. Butterworth-Heinemann.[R723.5 .D48 1998]
Facts and Values: An Introduction to Critical Thinking for Nurses. Stan van Hooft, Lynn Gillam and Margot Byrnes. MacLennan & Petty. [RT84.5 .V354 1995x]
Medical-Surgical Nursing: Critical Thinking in Client Care. Edited by Priscilla LeMone and Karen M. Burke. Prentice Hall Health. [RT41 .M493 2004]
Nursing Health Assessment: A Critical Thinking, Case Studies Approach. Patricia M. Dillon. F.A. Davis. [RT48 .D54 2003]
Nursing Process and Critical Thinking. Judith M. Wilkinson. Prentice Hall. [RT41 .W57 2007]
Smart Thinking for Crazy Times: The Art of Solving the Right Problems. Ian Mitroff. Berrett-Koehler Publishers. [BF449 .M6 1998]
Strategies, Techniques, & Approaches to Thinking: Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing. 4th ed. Sandra Luz Martinez de Castillo. Saunders/Elsevier. [RT42 .M246 2010]
Systems Thinking Basics: From Concepts to Casual Loops. Virginia Anderson and Lauren Johnson. Pegasus Communications. [HD30.19 .A53 1997]
Thinking. Gary R. Kirby and Jeffery R. Goodpaster. Prentice Hall. [BF441 .K49 2002]
The Thinking Manager's Toolbox: Effective Processes for Problem Solving and Decision Making. William J. Altier. Oxford University Press. [HD30.29 .A48 1999]
Thinking Strategies for Nursing Practice. Marsha E. Fonteyn. Lippincott. [RT42 .F65 1998]
Thought & Knowledge: An Introduction to Critical Thinking. Diane F. Halpern. Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. [BF441 .H25 2003]
Transforming Critical Thinking: Thinking Constructively. Barbara Thayer-Bacon. Teachers College Press. [BC177 .T45 2000]
Using Your Head to Land on Your Feet: A Beginning Nurse's Guide to Critical Thinking. Bonnie Raingruber and Ann Haffer. F.A. Davis Co. [RT86 .R35 2001]
Winningham and Preusser's Critical Thinking in Medical-Surgical Settings: A Case Study Approach. Barbara A. Preusser. Elsevier Mosby. [RD99.25 .W56 2005x]
Writing Nursing Diagnoses: A Critical Thinking Approach. Idolia Cox Collier, Katheryn E. McCash and Joanne Marino Bartram. Mosby. [RT48.6 .C65 1996]
Contact the Library!
Want a book delivered to your work location? Contact the Library!