Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High, Third Edition by Emily Gregory; Joseph Grenny; Kerry Patterson; Ron McMillan; Al SwitzlerThe 4 MILLION+ bestseller that revolutionized business communications--updated for today's workplace. Keep your cool and get the results you want when faced with crucial conversations. This New York Times bestseller and business classic has been fully updated for a world where skilled communication is more important than ever. The book that revolutionized business communications has been updated for today's workplace. Crucial Conversations provides powerful skills to ensure every conversation--especially difficult ones--leads to the results you want. Written in an engaging and witty style, the book teaches readers how to be persuasive rather than abrasive, how to get back to productive dialogue when others blow up or clam up, and it offers powerful skills for mastering high-stakes conversations, regardless of the topic or person. This new edition addresses issues that have arisen in recent years. You'll learn how to: · Respond when someone initiates a crucial conversation with you · Identify and address the lag time between identifying a problem and discussing it · Communicate more effectively across digital mediums When stakes are high, opinions vary, and emotions run strong, you have three choices: Avoid a crucial conversation and suffer the consequences; handle the conversation poorly and suffer the consequences; or apply the lessons and strategies of Crucial Conversations and improve relationships and results. Whether they take place at work or at home, with your coworkers or your spouse, crucial conversations have a profound impact on your career, your happiness, and your future. With the skills you learn in this book, you'll never have to worry about the outcome of a crucial conversation again.
Call Number: BF637.C45 C78 2022
Beginner's Guide to Reflective Practice in Nursing by Catherine Delves-YatesWhat is reflective practice and why is it important?How do I write my first reflection?Learn how to carry out reflective practice quickly and easily with this beginner's guide for nurses. Written for nursing students and registered nurses, this book helps build confidence in writing reflectively by using clear step-by-step guidance, insightful case studies, learning activities, and by addressing commonly asked questions from nurses and nursing students.The book has three sections; the first starts with a simple model to help students practice a first reflection and explains how to use reflection as part of assessed work at university. The second section focuses on reflecting in practice and finding the time to do it in busy work situations. The final section helps students to think more deeply about models and theories of reflection, to develop the skills they will need to pass the final year of their course.Essential reading for any nursing student new to reflective practice or registered nurse wanting to improve their reflective writing skills.
Call Number: RT86.7 .D48 2021x
Critical Conversations (Volume 2): Moving from Monologue to Dialogue by Susan Gross Forneris; Mary Kohl FeyWith the field of nursing in the midst of an unprecedented transformation, nurse educators seek new approaches to classroom teaching and learning that prepare students to confront the complexities of practice and confidently solve problems in clinical settings. Building on the foundation of Critical Conversations: The NLN Guide for Teaching Thinking, this second volume in the NLN's Critical Conversations series delivers specific examples and expert direction -- grounded in knowledge from learning science and models of experiential, situated, and constructivist learning -- that nurse educators can use to engage students in active thinking as they work together to determine the best approaches to clinical situations. Structured around the "three Cs" of context, content, and course, this approachable text enhances the teacher-learner relationship and emphasizes clinically focused, authentic dialogue to help nurse educators provide the realistic problem-solving experiences essential for preparing tomorrow's nurses for practice. "The value of this second volume in the NLN's Critical Conversations series is in the specific guidance it offers to nurse educators. Based on evidence from learning science, constructivist and experiential learning theories, and the science and philosophy of situated cognition, the authors use examples and offer specific instructions to assist nurse educators in all settings to develop the skills they need to transform their teaching and maximize learning." Lisa Day, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN, ANEF Professor, Clinician Educator University of New Mexico College of Nursing
Call Number: RT90 .C75 2021
Think Lead Disrupt by Peter NicholDo you wonder how innovative leaders generate world-class ideas? How do these cutting-edge leaders continually envision the future? Where do they go for their sources of inspirational ideas? The disruption of business models, products, and interactions isn't random-a disruptive mindset is deliberate. Executives, leaders, and business managers search for the best ideas every day, leveraging the best minds. What they discover is that a small percentage of individuals generate the majority of unique ideas-not all ideas, but ideas on the fringe of normal. How is it possible these same leaders continually generate the best and most remarkable ideas? The ideation of original ideas is a process-a process you can learn.In THINK LEAD DISRUPT, author Peter B. Nichol provides insights into how innovators can continually redesign products, services, and experiences in new and unique forms. Innovative companies don't just hatch. These disruptive companies evolve as a result of individual ideas, beliefs, and values. Individuals working together transform companies with original ideas. Nichol illuminates the mindset of innovative executives and explores how ideas lead to disruption. Based on his experience as a CIO, as the author of three books, and as a digital expert, Nichol captures how you can be part of the idea revolution. This book explains the growth of original ideas and how strategies are linked to successful executions by exploring these questions: How do you generate great ideas? Where do the best ideas originate? Why can the best leaders always envision a new strategy for business differentiation? You'll learn:? How innovators think differently? How original ideas are formed to create disruption? How predicting innovation affects outcomes? How to look for inspiration from outside? This book also includes how ideas serve as catalysts for innovation and how concepts such as robotic process automation, data science, and strategy drive disruptive business execution.THINK LEAD DISRUPT is the definitive book to finally learn how to continually generate and execute world-class ideas-by thinking like an innovator.
Call Number: HD53 .N53 2021x
Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment: a practical approachDevelop the critical thinking and reasoning skills you need to make sound clinical judgments! Alfaro-LeFevre's Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment: A Practical Approach, 7th Edition brings these concepts to life through engaging text, diverse learning activities, and real-life examples. Easy-to-understand language and a "how-to" approach equip you to become a sensible, resilient critical thinker with the clinical reasoning skills you need to think think through complex issues and make sound clinical decisions. This edition emphasizes readiness for clinical practice and the Next Generation NCLEX exam, with a focus on systems thinking, interprofessional practice, nursing skills for the 21st century, and Quality and Safety for Nursing Education (QSEN) competencies. Clear, straightforward approach and motivational writing style provides vivid examples, memorable anecdotes, and real-life case scenarios to make content come alive. Focus on application ("how to") with supporting rationales (theory) makes difficult concepts easy to learn. Critical Thinking Indicators feature evidence-based descriptions of behaviors that foster critical thinking in nursing practice. Highlighted features and sections that promote deep learning include: This Chapter at a Glance, Learning Outcomes, Key Concepts, Guiding Principle boxes, Critical Moments boxes, Other Perspectives features, Think-Pair-Share activities, H.M.O. (Help Me Out) cartoons, real-life clinical scenarios, Key Points, Critical Thinking Exercises, and more! Cultural, spiritual, and lifespan content explores the nurse's role in hospitals, long-term care settings, and entire communities, presenting a broad approach to critical thinking. Inclusion of ethics- and standards-based professional practice reflects the increased demand for accountability in today's professional climate. Timely coverage of the latest in nursing education and critical thinking includes concept-based learning; QSEN and IOM standards; problem-focused versus outcome-focused thinking; prioritization and delegation; developing a culture of safe, healthy work environments; expanding roles related to diagnosis and management; improving grades and passing tests the first time; NCLEX exam preparation; ensuring that documentation reflects critical thinking; communication and interpersonal skills; strategies for common workplace challenges; and more. NEW! Spotlight on systems thinking teaches you to consider how things are related, while coverage of conceptual thinking helps you focus on big ideas first. NEW! Information on effective clinical simulations encourages learning through practice and debriefing. NEW! Clinical reasoning principles are highlighted throughout to ensure you are practice ready. NEW! Current critical judgment models are illustrated and explained in a clear, engaging style. NEW! Expanded content on growing nursing trends addresses competency assessment, electronic charting (informatics) and "thinking beyond the EHR," clinical evaluation, and preceptor and learner strategies. NEW! Strong emphasis on interprofessional collaboration includes new content on its growing importance in health care.
Call Number: RT86 .A34 2020
Concept Mapping by Pamela McHugh SchusterLooking for an easier path to care planning? Create a map! Concept mapping is a clear, visual, and systematic model for gathering and categorizing relevant assessment data, identifying patient problems, and developing patient goals, interventions, and outcomes for each nursing diagnosis. A concept map is your guide to nursing care in any clinical setting. You'll also find a wealth of care planning resources, including a concept map generator online.
Call Number: RT42 .S38 2020
LeMone and Burke's Medical-Surgical Nursing by Paula Gubrud; Gerene Bauldoff; Margaret CarnoFor courses in medical-surgical nursing. The novice nurse's guide to whole-patient care LeMone and Burke's Medical-Surgical Nursing: Clinical Reasoning in Patient Care offers the skills and knowledge needed to provide safe, evidence-based care for the diseases and disorders the new nurse will most likely encounter, based on incidence and prevalence data. The theme is that patient care should address the whole person, not just the malfunction of body systems. Rather than memorize medical conditions, readers build the clinical reasoning skills they need to safely perform simple to complex tasks. The 7th edition has a new section on transitions of care and a new chapter linking sleep and health. It is now organized with a more consistent chapter structure for easier navigation. Also available with MyLab Nursing By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN ® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Nursing does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Nursing, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Call Number: RT41 .M493 2020
Critical Reasoning Cases in Nursing by Mariann M. Harding; Julie S. SnyderHone your ability to make sound clinical nursing judgment via a conceptual approach to teaching and learning with Harding & Snyder's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing, 7th Edition. This time-tested case study approach is highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking cases. With each adoption, you'll be able to tap into 150 unique case studies covering all four clinical practice areas: medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric nursing, all newly organized to facilitate a conceptual approach to teaching and learning. Each case covers a common patient problem, drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts. Cases include integrated content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to encourage you to think critically about all aspects of patient care. The 7th edition features a new concept-based organization, an enhanced focus on interprofessional collaboration and QSEN, 20 all-new case studies, and updated content throughout to reflect the most current standards of clinical practice. Comprehensive assortment of 150 case studies draws from actual clinical experiences in medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric clinical areas to help you think critically, prioritize, and deliver proactive nursing care. Critical thinking approach helps you learn to identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning to help you gradually develop more and more expertise. NEW & UNIQUE! Concept-based organization mirrors the growing use of concept-based curricula and conceptual approaches to teaching and learning in nursing education. NEW! 20 all-new cases and four extensively-revised cases that address important contemporary healthcare issues and allow for better coordination with Giddens, HESI, and other exemplar lists. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based clinical practice, including national and international treatment guidelines. NEW! Enhanced focus on interprofessional collaboration identifies opportunities for interprofessional collaboration are discussed. NEW! Greater consistency with the NCLEX Exam includes revisions like the elimination of most drug trade names and the inclusion of Canadian lab values. Enhanced QSEN safety emphasis is highlighted with a "target" icon to communicate "caution" or "safety." NEW! Increased emphasis on sepsis and antibiotic resistance throughout that addresses the growing problem of sepsis (a new Joint Commission "core measure") and antibiotic resistance where appropriate throughout. NEW! Improved answer spacing ensures that space left for answers reflects what is actually needed.
Call Number: RT55 .N56 2020
Additional Books in the Library
Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions by Joy Higgs (Editor); Gail M. Jensen (Editor); Stephen Loftus (Editor); Nicole Christensen (Editor)Clinical reasoning lies at the core of health care practice and education. Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions, therefore, occupies a central place in the education of health professionals, the enhancement of professional decision making of individuals and groups of practitioners with their clients, and research into optimal practice reasoning. Key themes presented: Clinical reasoning as a composite of encultured capabilities Clinical reasoning embedded within situated practice including the wider socio-economic and political contexts, the practitioner's and the client's contexts, and shared goals such as promoting health communities The importance of narratives, language and culture in clinical decision making Changing reasoning practices linked to increasing autonomy of practitioners working without the requirement of medical referrals Clinical reasoning as an increasingly team-based practice, including shared decision making with clients The need for sound strategies and tools to facilitate the expanding collaborations in health care across disciplines and with clients and carers Advanced education approaches promoting expansion and enhancement of reasoning strategies The importance of building good practices for learning clinical reasoning into curricula and into students' own practice development approaches Strengthening links between orthodox and complementary medicine reasoning practices New to this edition: All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators. This is a book for teachers and learners, practitioners, practice leaders, researchers and curriculum managers. Indeed, it is a valuable resource for educators seeking to ground their teaching practices in educational theory, sound knowledge of clinical reasoning and practice-based evidence, and researchers seeking to expand their research horizons. All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators.
Call Number: R723 .C57 2019
Reflective Practice in Nursing by Philip EsterhuizenReflective practice enables nursing students to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences they have each day and ifnurtured properly can provide skills that they will come to rely on throughout their nursing careers. Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies, the new fourth edition of this bestselling book shows readers what reflection is, why it is so important and how they can use it to improve their nursing practice.Key features include:*All chapters linked to the new 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses *Updated learning features such as activities and case studies to help students apply the theory to practice.
Call Number: RT41 .H69 2019x
Critical Conversations: the NLN Guide for Teaching Thinking by Susan Gross Forneris; Mary Kohl FeyWith today's health care systems demanding not only capable nurses but also reflective practitioners, nurse educators are challenged more than ever to engage students in making sense of their experiences and responding thoughtfully to diverse situations. Critical Conversations helps nursing educators discover how better listening can lead to better learning with insightful guidance on the conversations that drive effective understanding for both instructors and students. Applying The NLN Guide for Teaching Thinking, this monograph helps nursing educators practice and implement the most effective strategies for fostering critical conversations across simulation, classroom, and clinical learning environments. From conceptualizing learning as meaning making to the cognitive strategy of being critical and engaging learners through purposeful learning conversations, straightforward exemplars throughout the text offer a support structure to guide educators in helping students learn to think deeply and critically in any setting.
Call Number: RT90 .C75 2018
Strategies, Techniques, and Approaches to Critical Thinking by Sandra Luz Martinez de CastilloDevelop the clinical nursing judgment you need to become a safe, competent clinician! Strategies, Techniques, & Approaches to Critical Thinking: A Clinical Reasoning Workbook for Nurses, 6th Edition uses a case-based, workbook format to help you build clinical reasoning skills. The clear, step-by-step approach helps you learn and apply essential knowledge, guiding you through increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking, priority-setting, and decision-making. More than 100 realistic case studies reflect the scenarios commonly encountered in clinical practice. Written by noted nursing educator Sandra Luz Martinez de Castillo, this edition adds coverage of emerging topics such as QSEN, interprofessional collaboration, and nursing leadership and delegation. UNIQUE! Step-by-step approach builds your skills in critical thinking, clinical decision-making, and clinical reasoning, walking you through the author's research-based critical thinking model. More than 100 true-to-life cases demonstrate how cases progress and complications arise, helping you develop increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking. Emphasis on prioritization helps you prepare for nursing practice and for the NCLEX® Examination. Integrated NCLEX Examination review helps you apply critical thinking skills to test questions and prepares you for the state boards. NEW! Expanded coverage of the Safety and Patient-Centered Care competencies of the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative, with distinctive icons highlighting this content. NEW and UNIQUE! Coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice includes integration of interactions with other professions into relevant cases (especially in the cases involving leadership), incorporation of the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice set forth by the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), and inclusion of SBAR communication as a tool for interprofessional collaboration. NEW! Increased emphasis on delegation, leadership, and collaborative learning promotes professional practice and team-based learning. NEW! UPDATED content reflects changes in clinical practice and the latest NCLEX® Examination test plan, featuring new examples of EHR charting, the use of only generic drug names, and the exclusion of medical diagnoses from questions unless absolutely necessary.
Critical Thinking by Paula S. FortéCritical Thinking: Tools for Clinical Excellence and Leadership Effectiveness Paula S. Forte, PhD, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CWCN Critical thinking remains a key issue for nurses and nurse managers. When asked what nurse managers struggle with the most, a lack of critical thinking consistently ranks near the top of the list. Critical Thinking: Tools for Clinical Excellence and Leadership Effectiveness provides the tools for nurses to help themselves and their staff improve their thinking and communication skills with both colleagues and patients. This new book is geared toward mid-career nurses, newly promoted nurse managers, and nurses who are at a critical point in their career. This book will help you: Help nurses improve their staff's thought habits as well as their own Present evidence-based best practices for critical thinking Provide tools to increase critical thinking skills that will improve patient safety Provide foundations for leadership-oriented critical thinking skills
Call Number: RT89 .F67 2016x
Critical Thinking and Writing for Nursing Students by Bob Price; Anne HarringtonThis book is a clear and practical guide to help students develop critical thinking, writing and reflection skills. It explains what critical thinking is and how students should use it throughout their nursing programme. This new edition also provides an innovative new framework that helps students appreciate different levels of critical thinking and reflection to help nursing students appreciate the requirements of degree level study. The book demonstrates the transferable nature of critical thinking and reflection from academic contexts to the real practice of nursing.Key features Clear and straightforward introduction to critical thinking directly written for nursing students, with chapters relating the subject to specific study and practice contexts Student examples and scenarios throughout, including running case studies from four nursing students and further annotated examples of student's work on the website Each chapter is linked to the new NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Call Number: RT24 .P75 2016
Reflective Practice in Nursing by Lioba Howatson-JonesWould you like to develop some strategies to manage knowledge deficits, near misses and mistakes in practice?Are you looking to improve your reflective writing for your portfolio, essays or assignments? Reflective practice enables us to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences we have each day and if nurtured properly can provide skills that will you come to rely on throughout your nursing career. Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies the third edition of this popular and bestselling book shows you what reflection is, why it is so important and how you can use it to improve your nursing practice. Key features: · Clear and straightforward introduction to reflection directly written for nursing students and new nurses · Full of activities designed to build confidence when using reflective practice · Each chapter is linked to relevant NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Call Number: RT41 .H69 2016x
Contact the Library
All Mayo staff with LAN IDs and passwords can use Document Delivery to receive copies of journal articles and book chapters.
If you require additional assistance, please contact the Library.
Additional Books in the Library
Critical Thinking TACTICS for Nurses Achieving the IOM Competencies by M. Gaie Rubenfeld; Barbara SchefferCritical Thinking TACTICS for Nurses: Achieving IOM Competencies, Third Edition is a user-friendly and practical manual focusing on the day-to-day realities of doing, learning, and evaluating critical thinking in nursing. With clear examples of both the parts and the whole of this complex process, each chapter includes action learning activities to promote critical thinking: Tracking, Assessing, and Cultivating Thinking to Improve Competency-based Strategies or TACTICS. Issues addressed include critical thinking language and awareness enhancement, the impact of critical thinking on quality care, mentoring the critical thinking of staff and students, and designing performance criteria for critical thinking. Based on the authors' research in both defining and assessing critical thinking in nursing, this text also draws from their years of refining critical thinking teaching and learning methods. Completely updated and revised, the new edition offers critical thinking components combined with the Institute of Medicine's (IOM) five core competencies: patient-centered care, interdisciplinary team work, evidence-based practice, informatics, and quality improvement. New to this edition are updated case studies, new illustrations, new content on how to facilitate synthesis of high level critical thinking, additional content on critical thinking within the nursing process, increased TACTICS, and new appendices to assist with the assessment of critical thinking.
Call Number: RT42 .R78 2015
Applying Nursing Process by Rosalinda Alfaro-LeFevreBecause principles of nursing process are the building blocks for all care models, the nursing process is the first model nurses need to learn to "think like a nurse." This trusted resource provides the practical guidance needed to understand and apply each phase of the nursing process, with an increased emphasis on developing both critical thinking and clinical reasoning skills. With an easy-to-follow and engaging writing style, the author provides strategies, tools, and abundant examples to help nurses develop the skills they need to thrive in today's complex health care setting.
Introduction to Concept Mapping in Nursing Critical Thinking in Action by Patricia SchmehlIntroduction to Concept Mapping in Nursing provides the foundation for what a concept map is and how to create a map that applies theory to practice. This excellent resource addresses how students will think about applying nursing theory as it relates to concept mapping. This book is unique because it focuses on a broad application of concept mapping, and ties concept mapping closely to critical thinking skills. Furthermore, this book will prepare nursing students to learn how to map out care plans for patients as they talk with patients.Key Features & Benefits* Demonstrates how students can think through every aspect of care by using compare and contrast tactics, critical thinking skills, and experiences a nursing student may encounter * Includes thought-provoking questions to guide the reader through the text * Provides a section on nursing theory complete with exercises and rationales that include concept maps so that students can understand how theory is applied to practice* Written for students with various learning styles, so a broad range of learning activities are included to help readers understand the material
Call Number: RT73 .S354 2014x
Reflective Practice in Nursing by Chris Bulman (Editor); Sue Schutz (Editor)From reviews of previous editions: 'This excellent book provides useful guidance on the use of reflection in practice.... a helpful addition to any nursing library.' Primary Health Care '...an excellent investment in any nurses' library portfolio.' Journal of Advanced Nursing 'An extremely welcome addition to nursing's literature on thoughtful, knowledgeable practice.' Nursing Times 'This is an excellent practical guide to reflective practice...I would highly recommend this book to all practice teachers and students.' Journal of Practice Nursing The ability to reflect on practice has become a competency demanded of every healthcare professional in recent years. It can be a daunting prospect- but this practical and accessible text guides the way, using the latest research and evidence to support the development of skills in reflective practice and provides help and advice on how to get started, how to write reflectively and how to continue to use reflective practice in everyday situations. This fifth edition of Reflective Practice in Nursing is an indispensable guide for students and practitioners alike who wish to learn more about reflective practice, as well as containing essential information for teachers and lecturers.
Call Number: RT84.5 .R455 2013
The Art of Thinking by Vincent R. RuggieroAccessible and engaging, this text offers concrete, practice strategies for critical and creative thinking and includes many opportunities for practising these fundamental skills.