Need Assistance?
If you require additional assistance, please contact the Library.
Document Delivery: All Mayo staff with LAN IDs and passwords can use Document Delivery to receive copies of journal articles and book chapters.
Newer Books in the Library
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner by
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner: A Case-Based Approach Studying for AGACNP/DNP certification, or looking to strengthen your adult-gerontology acute care skills? Grab the know-how, support, and practical guidance you need, with Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. This clearly written, evidenced-based guide offers best practices for providing patient- and family-centered care for young adults, older adults, and elderly patients facing complex acute and/or chronic health conditions. From foundational advanced practice knowledge and skills to informed clinical judgment, this is an indispensable reference for preparing for AGACNP/DNP certification, and a clinical road map for all adult-gerontology acute care nurse practitioners. Upgrade your acute care nursing knowledge and clinical skills, with: Highly rated, student-approved case-based learning approach demonstrates concepts, skills, and patient-based care via real-life care scenarios Nursing experts' views on history and professional issues, including: A brief history of the acute care nurse practitioner role, skills, and impact on patient outcomes Acute care nurse practitioner as leader, innovator, and nursing systems change agent Acute care nurse practitioner role across the continuum of care -- quality indicators and healthcare payment models Demonstration of evidence-based foundational skills Patient- and family-centered care during diagnosis and choosing treatment options -- steps for effective communication, responding to emotion, supporting shared decision-making, family engagement, aiding physical comfort and emotional support, learning cultural sensitivity Choosing and interpreting diagnostic tests Hospital care and preventing complications Building a strong basis for sound clinical judgment Psychosocial health - diagnosis and management Management of body systems and functions, including handling emergencies and immediate interventions -- hematologic; endocrine; dermatological; ophthalmological; ear, nose and throat; neurological; musculoskeletal; cardiovascular; respiratory; gastrointestinal; genitourinary; and oncologic management Care of the trauma patient Disaster planning and management Chapter features include: Clinical Pearls - Expand on important concepts Key Points - Highlight key characteristics of family- and patient-centered care in different clinical situations Tables - Demonstrate clinical steps and procedures, condition risk factors, treatment phases, and more Case Studies - Illustrate actual patient care scenarios and optimal clinical decision-making End-of-Chapter Review Questions - Multiple choice questions support learning and retention About the Clinical Editors Paula McCauley, DNP, ACNP-BC, CMC, CSC, FAANP, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner of Cardiology/Cardiothoracic Surgery at the University of Connecticut Health Center in Farmington, Connecticut, and Associate Professor at the University of Connecticut School of Nursing in Storrs, Connecticut. She is the former Adult Geriatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Track Director. Angela Starkweather, PhD, ACNP-BC, CNRN, FAAN, FAANP, is Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at the University of Connecticut School of Nursing in Storrs, Connecticut.
Call Number: RC954 .A385 2022x
Advanced Practice Nursing by
The 5th Edition of an AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Survive and thrive as an APN! Meet all the challenges of professional practice--whatever your specialty or environment. Noted nursing professionals and educators explore all of the non-clinical roles and responsibilities of an Advanced Practice Nurse and chart a course that enables you to meet them successfully. You'll follow the evolution of the APN's role from a historical perspective to the present and examine the issues and challenges you'll encounter in the future. Access more online. Redeem the code inside new, printed texts to gain access to 26 learning exercises and reference resources. Updated, Revised & Expanded!Thoroughly reviewed to reflect advanced practice today New!Learning exercises to engage students and promote active learning New & Expanded Coverage! Difference between a PhD dissertation and the DNP Scholarly Project as the terminal requirement for the DNP degree Availability/requirements for internships, externships, and residencies and the differences among them The status of nurses and nursing education across the globe, especially in countries where the APN role is expanding Recent gains/changes in securing prescriptive authority, and the influence of the consensus model and the multi-state compact The impact of Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs), "Medical Homes," and similar organizations on multidisciplinary practice. The role of the APN as patient advocate and the role of the patient as decision-maker "Cultivated intuition" as the backbone of case management and the role of case management in Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs) and "Medical Homes" The role of the nurse as coach Update to interventions, including aromatherapy, guided imagery, acupressure, acupuncture, yoga, Taiichi, reiki, and therapeutic touch, and their relationship to regulated nursing practice and the consensus model Covers all APN specialties, including nurse educator and nurse administrator. Provides the foundational content for all advanced practice nursing students in a course on professional role development. Presents practical information balanced with theory. Addresses important topics, including evidence-based practice, the mechanics of teaching, applying the concepts of role theory, serving culturally diverse clients, and effective business practices. Links content to the AACN/NONPF core curriculum recommendations.Features figures, tables, and boxes to make reference easier.
Call Number: RT82.8 .J64 2022
The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse As a Prescriber by
The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse as a Prescriber is an authoritative reference guide designed for students and practicing APRNs alike--delivering the evidence-based information required for informed and ethical prescribing of medication in various clinical settings. It assists the reader to identify and avoid common prescribing mistakes and pitfalls whilst presenting specific strategies to respond appropriately to an array of typical clinical experiences.This revised second edition includes new and expanded chapters with information on authorizing medical marijuana, prescription monitoring programs, electronic prescribing, prescribing globally and issues surrounding controlled substance prescribing and prescribing for opioid use disorder. This leading single-volume resource: Addresses the opportunities, challenges and responsibilities that APRNs face as prescribers Covers the laws, regulations, and professional issues that affect prescribing Discusses global approaches to registered nurse and APRN prescribing such as task sharing, formularies, and independent authority Guides APRNs through difficult clinical situations such as patients seeking controlled substances and requesting inappropriate care Navigates the multiple facets of prescribing controlled substances Examines the role of the APRN in states with medical marijuana laws Serves as a resource to engage in advocacy for fully autonomous prescribing The Advanced Practice Registered Nurse as a Prescriber is essential reading for APRN and pharmacotherapeutics students, registered nurses transitioning to the role of APRN prescriber, and all APRNs including Nurse Practitioners (NP), Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS), and Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA).
Call Number: RT82.8 .B768 2021x
Clinical Consult to Psychiatric Mental Health Management for Nurse Practitioners, Second Edition by
Convenient, practical, and portable.Revised and updated, the second edition of this practical resource remains the only advanced practice guide to provide an overview of the major DSM-5 disorders across the lifespan and complete clinical guidelines for their psychopharmacologic management. Compiled by expert practitioners in psychiatric care and pharmacy, it is designed specifically for use by nurse practitioners and other primary caregivers in clinical practice. Organized for quick access to key information, the resource includes the clinical features of each disorder and symptoms and information about the most current and effective drugs for its management. Tables delineate the first and second lines of drug therapy along with adjunctive therapies for each disorder. Drugs are organized according to classification and include the essential information needed to safely prescribe and monitor a patient's response to a particular drug. Brand and generic names, drug class, customary dosage, side effects, drug interactions, pharmacokinetics, precautions, and management of special populations are also addressed. Convenient, practical, and portable, this guide will be a welcome and frequently used resource. Key Features: Delivers psychopharmacological treatment guidelines for major DSM-5 disorders and parameters for drug use Prioritizes drugs according to their clinical efficacy and recommended treatment algorithms Includes brand and generic names, dosages, side effects, drug interactions, pharmacokinetics, precautions, and management of special populations Provides easy-to-read tables for quick clinical consultation Offers information on clinical algorithms, lab evaluation, and preventive services Addresses medical and legal pitfalls Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RC440 .R46 2021
Clinical Rotation Manual for the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Student by
"Welcome to the Clinical Rotation Manual for the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Student. This book is designed to prepare the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner student for those complicated and complex clinical situations you may not have yet explored fully in the didactic part of your program. When I was an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Student myself, I recognized there were not resources specifically designed for the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. As I began my practice and began to precept, I noticed that no new resources had been developed. And after several years of precepting nurse practitioner students, I received a lot of feedback that certain disease processes had not yet been covered in their course work, often leading to frustration and difficulty working through complex differential diagnoses during clinical rotations"--
Call Number: RC86.7 .M55 2022
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant by
A comprehensive, systematic approach to 12-lead EKG interpretation covering all relevant topics you'll encounter in clinical practice including treatment options!Delivering clear and concise explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, no-nonsense approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The third edition retains the book&'s systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating EKG tracings. After working through this book, you'll gain a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation and will no longer need to memorize EKG strips. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With over 75 figures and tables and more than 260 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything you need to provide expert, quality care to your patients. NEW to the THIRD EDITIONn Treatment options included for premature atrial and ventricular contractions, atrial and ventricular arrhythmias, ischemia and infarction, and heart block 14 in-depth chapter case scenarios to further challenge you and increase your proficiency in EKG interpretation 60 new EKG tracings, providing you with more than 260 tracings throughout the book Evidence-based approaches to differentiate between similar EKG patterns New high-risk EKG descriptions, including multiple types of high-grade heart block and Wellen's syndrome for acute myocardial infarction Risk stratification techniques for heart block, acute coronary syndromes, and supraventricular and ventricular arrhythmias utilizing the EKG KEY FEATURES Addresses EKG interpretation using a systematic, physiologic approach, eliminating the need for memorization Uses the patient's presenting clinical symptoms as a starting point to teach critical thinking Includes more than 75 figures and tables and 260 EKG tracings to further illustrate concepts Offers 140 end-of-chapter review questions to help solidify your knowledge Includes 70 case studies with EKG tracings and teaching points at the end of the book, plus additional case studies in each chapter, to connect key concepts with real-world learning
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 K54 2021
The Family Nurse Practitioner by
The Family Nurse Practitioner provides essential guidance and information for understanding how to diagnose and manage typical (and some atypical) patient cases. With contributions from noted experts on the topic, this new edition contains updated cases to reflect today's patient-centered approach, and includes the most recent advances in patient care. From neonatal to geriatric, all the cases demonstrate real-life scenarios and present appropriate solutions on a case-by-case basis to reflect the nuance required in practice. The revised edition emphasizes pharmacological management, with a new section on mental health care and additional cases on chronic conditions. Greater consideration is given to race, gender, ethnicity and their impact on management options. Contains more than 70 case studies Offers new cases on pelvic pain, substance abuse, food allergies, celiac disease, child abuse, pre-conception planning, and dermatology Includes discussion questions to help develop understanding Written for students and academics of nursing and nurse practitioners, The Family Nurse Practitioner is the ideal text for developing and expanding one's knowledge and comprehension of the diagnosis and management of patient care.
Call Number: RT82.8 .C55 2021x
Family Practice Guidelines, Fifth Edition by
This bible of family practice for primary care clinicians and students provides current national practice guidelines for professional standards of care across the life span. Concise and clearly organized, this resource features detailed, step-by-step instructions for physical examinations and diagnostic testing in the outpatient setting, information on health promotion, care guidelines, dietary information, information on culturally responsive care, patient resources, and abundant patient-education handouts. Now in color with abundant images and illustrations, this fifth edition features thoroughly updated guidelines and recommendations to reflect latest in practice, as well as many new guidelines. Each of the diagnoses includes definition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, signs/symptoms, subjective data, physical exam and diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis, and a care plan.Key Features: Presents information for disorders in consistent format for ease of use Highlights key considerations with Practice Pointers Provides individual care points for pediatric, pregnant, and geriatric patients Includes 138 printable Patient Teaching Guides Offers 18 procedure guidelines and routine health maintenance guidelines Features appendices that provide guidelines on normal lab values, special diets, Tanner's Sexual Maturity Stages, and teeth Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT120.F34 F357 2021
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas.Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the life span. Hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology/oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology are addressed. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies to manage ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Call Number: HD58.8 .A679 2021
Field Guide to Telehealth and Telemedicine for Nurse Practitioners and Other Healthcare Providers by
Delivers key insights on the nuts and bolts of starting a telehealth practice or incorporating it into an existing oneThis timely reference guide for beginning and aspiring telemedical and telehealth NPs and other healthcare providers is the first to consolidate essential information on these practices into one convenient resource. Written by an NP who implemented a telemedicine program inside of a large practice from the ground up during COVID-19, this guide delivers vital insights into how to establish and maintain a telehealth practice that effectively supports patients and is fiscally successful. Field Guide to Telehealth and Telemedicine outlines step-by-step how to set up and manage a telemedical practice or incorporate it into an existing one. Chapters include information on workflows, staffing, formats and limitations, online etiquette for an optimal patient experience, legal and safety issues, and essential techniques for assessment and remote care. Numerous tables help identify state-specific limitations and clarify the ins-and-outs of billing and reimbursement for remote visits. Additionally, a section specifically devoted to COVID-19 outlines key considerations regarding care of these patients. Of special interest is the author's compelling story of building his digital health care practice amid Covid-19. Yearly digital updates are included with the book's purchase to keep readers apprised of rapid changes in the field. Key Features: Includes all the essentials NPs need to launch their digital healthcare practice or align their current digital health approach with best telehealth practice. Provides yearly digital updates to readers via Connect to keep telehealth considerations current. Presents a case study of a real-life issues and solutions in setting up and running a digital healthcare practice. Compiles and simplifies hard-to-find information related to common legal and reimbursement issues. Includes the author's experience ramping up his digital healthcare practice in the midst of COVID-19.
Call Number: R119.95 .S67 2022x
Guidelines for Nurse Practitioners in Ambulatory Obstetric Settings, Third Edition by
Praise for the First Edition: This is a concise, yet comprehensive book. I would recommend that any advanced practice nurse working in obstetrics have it on the bookshelf. It could also be used as a protocol manual for small practices. Score: 100, 5 Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews Now in its third edition, this remains the only comprehensive source of current, evidence-based information for busy nurse practitioners and related professionals who provide preconception, prenatal, and postpartum care in outpatient settings. This resource encompasses essential clinical topics and practice standards in an easy-to-read, outline format with a convenient spiral binding. The third edition presents important new information on Thyroid Disorders in Pregnancy, COVID-19 during Pregnancy and Lactation, Rural Maternity Services, Utilization of Telehealth Services in Pregnancy, Adverse Child Experiences, LGBTQ Considerations, Genetic Counseling, and more. Additionally, unique topics of emerging clinical relevance address the complex and evolving nature of prenatal care in the 21st century, such as the latest trends in preterm labor prevention, disaster planning, managing exposure to the Zika virus, obesity, dermatoses, and HIV in pregnancy. New to the Third Edition: New chapters on Thyroid Disorders in Pregnancy and COVID-19 during Pregnancy and Postpartum Updated sections on rural maternity services, telehealth services, adverse childhood experiences, nutrition, and LGBTQ considerations Clinical updates on genetic screening and testing, nausea and vomiting, use of low-dose aspirin to prevent complications, HIV prevention, using PrEP, breastfeeding, avoidance of non-medically indicated early-term delivery, use of marijuana and heroin Greatly expanded section on options for noninvasive prenatal testing for aneuploidy New information from the FDA on drug labeling New recommendations on anemia screening in pregnancy Updated imaging recommendations New and updated guidelines from Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses; American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; American Academy of Pediatricians; American College of Nurse Midwives; National Certification Corporation; National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health; the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the US Preventive Services Task Force Two new appendices covering Telehealth Resources, Best Practice Guides, and LGBTQIA+ resources Key Features: Ensures speedy access to clinical information through clear organization, outline format, and spiral-bound text Presents complete guidelines for each topic in consistent format Provides guidelines on identifying complications and when to refer for specialist care Offers detailed information on genetic counseling, health promotion and assessment, lactation issues, and medications during pregnancy Includes downloadable patient teaching guides
Guidelines for Nurse Practitioners in Gynecologic Settings by
Delivers the latest evidence-based guidelines you need to ensure excellence in clinical practice!Now in its Twelfth Edition, this authoritative resource continues to represent the gold standard for nursing management of common gynecological conditions for women throughout the lifespan. It includes contributions from prominent specialists focusing on specific areas of gynecological health, in addition to the vanguard contributions of three new lead authors with decades of experience in varied healthcare settings. The Twelfth Edition is substantially updated with pivotal topics, current evidence-based practice guidelines, real-life case studies, and improved patient teaching materials that foster translation of information to practice. Clinical guidelines, appendices, and bibliographies are extensively revised to reflect the most current evidence-based information, research, and consensus from national health organizations. New PowerPoint slides and a transition guide for the twelfth edition are included for ease of use in educational programs. New and Revised Chapters: New section on Women's Health: Adolescents, Sexual and Gender Minority Persons, and Individuals with Mental Health Considerations Updated Breast and Cervical Cancer Screening Guidelines Acute and Chronic Gynecologic Conditions STIs, Prevention and Management of HPV-Associated Cancers Perimenopause and Postmenopausal Care Key Features: Evidence-based guidelines empirically proven to improve patient outcomes Outline format ensures quick and easy access to essential information Updated bibliography for each guideline including relevant websites with additional resources Nine Appendices presenting updated clinical resources, case studies, assessments, screening tools, and EMR educational templates New PowerPoint Slides for ease of use by instructors Transition guide to assist Instructors in incorporating new edition content into their courses
Call Number: RG105 .H368 2021
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide by
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition is a must-have resource for every new or current nurse practitioner (NP). Drawing from the author's extensive experience as an NP followed by nearly 30 years as a practicing attorney focused on the many and varied legal issues affecting NPs, it is unlike any other text. This unique resource explains and analyzes the legal issues relevant to NPs in a straightforward and easy-to-read approach. The Seventh Edition discusses NP competencies, how the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree relates to NPs, the differences in primary care and acute care NPs, definitions of medical bio-ethics terminology, malpractice cases and the lessons to learn from them, emerging issues in health policy, guidelines around prescribing opioids and controlled drugs, clinical performance measures, electronic health records, and other relevant and practical topics specific to NPs.In how many states can NPs write prescriptions? What can an NP do if an insurance company refuses to pay the bill for a patient's visit? What should be covered in an employment contract? What is involved, legally, when starting a private practice? How does an NP know when to consult a physician? Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition answers these questions and more, making it an indispensable resource for practicing NPs, students, those employing NPs, and attorneys representing NPs or the medical facilities in which NPs are employed.
Call Number: RT86.73 .B87 2021
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Fourth Edition provides an essential foundation of nursing models and interdisciplinary theories for nurses to build their own nursing philosophies. This text is beneficial for students who need an introductory understanding of philosophy as it explains how theory is constructed and is also suitable for learners and nurses seeking to analyze and apply that theory to advanced practice. Known as a comprehensive handbook for graduate nursing students and advanced practice nurses alike, the text incorporates middle range practice theory as well as interdisciplinary and nursing theories. Students will find a wealth of information to draw from for graduate projects, while APRNs will find research useful for patient care. New to the Fourth Edition:New chapter on public health theory related to pandemics, disaster nursing and environmental health crisesContent related to health disparities and gender theory Revised case studies New comprehensive grid provides suggested applications for philosophies and theories in in research and clinical practice
Call Number: RT84.5 .P56 2022
Primary Care Pediatrics for the Nurse Practitioner by
Distinguished by its reader-friendly, streamlined presentation of essential information, this comprehensive text delivers all of the core content covered in the Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Primary Care curriculum. With a focus on practical application of knowledge and the development of sound diagnostic reasoning, this text emphasizes health supervision and promotion, and disease prevention and management from the standpoint of the nurse practitioner. Information mirrors the Pediatric Nurse Certification Board test blueprint--including an exam chapter map linking content areas to the exam outline--to ensure mastery of all components of evidence-based care.Organized in four units, each chapter within a unit is structured similarly to ease the learning process for the reader. Beginning with a section on the foundations of child health, the content progresses through growth and development during the pediatric lifespan, child health promotion and wellness visits, into the final section on pediatric disease management presented in SOAP format. Current evidence-based guidelines, useful decision-making algorithms, procedures, and resources for families and nurse practitioners are referenced throughout the text. A comprehensive ancillary resource bundle includes an instructor's manual with WHAT-WHY-APPLY case studies, a test bank including certification exam style questions, PowerPoints, and a color image bank, as well as student resources containing an online prescribing guide for the top 10 pediatric disorders, and patient education downloads. Key Features: Designed in user-friendly, accessible style with brief paragraphs and bulleted lists. Chapters include student learning outcomes, an introduction, a CPNP-PC exam content chapter map, Pro Tips and Alerts, and summarizing key points. Provides distinct sections on health promotion/prevention and disease diagnosis/management. Presents separate coverage of acute and chronic disorders and their necessary referrals. Offers user-friendly algorithms for differential diagnosis. Contains resource links to Bright Futures and Mass General Pediatric symptom checklists, CDC immunization schedules, and other tools. Ancillary resource bundle includes an instructor's manual, test bank, PowerPoints, image bank, online prescribing guide, and patient education downloads.
Call Number: RJ245 .P75 2022x
Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner by
Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner, Third Edition is an integral text that guides students in their transition from the role of registered nurse to nurse practitioner. The text provides a comprehensive framework for interactive discussions on the role of the nurse practitioner, giving students a full understanding of the skills and knowledge needed for this dynamic profession. The Third Edition employs a variety of nurse practitioner real-world stories to illustrate important points and to assist in the transition from RN to NP. It is also the only role development textbook specific for nurse practitioners interested in entering primary care, providing a great amount of detail to the unique issues of nurse practitioners and NP students. The text also offers assignments for student role development seminars, as well as discussion questions and case examples. Key Features:This textbook is used to enhance family theory, evidence-based practice, quality improvement, population health and role transition courses.
Call Number: RT82.8 .R65 2023
Additional titles:
ACUTE and CRITICAL CARE NURSE PRACTITIONER: CASES in DIAGNOSTIC REASONING by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The ultimate, case-based guide for learning and teaching the art of diagnostic reasoning for acute and critical care nurse practitioners A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Written by experienced nurse practitioners working in acute and critical care settings,and endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), Acute & Critical Care Nurse Practitioner:Cases in Diagnostic Reasoning presents a wide range of acute and critical care patient cases focusing on diagnosis and management. This authoritative book is designed to help nurse practitioners and students learn how to proceed from a broad differential diagnosis to a specific management plan through expert analysis of patient data. While reconstructing the course of real-life clinical cases, the authors "think out loud" and reveal how they identify pertinent positives and significant negatives to support or refute items on their differential diagnoses list, and further incorporate laboratory and diagnostic testing results to establish a medical diagnosis. Each case includes a description of the management for the identified diagnosis. INCLUDES: · 71 cases based on real-life clinical scenarios · Analysis questions and case discussions to enable learners to actively participate ininductive and deductive reasoning · Cases that can be used to support course work, certification review, and job training The first of its kind, Acute & Critical Care Nurse Practitioner: Cases in Diagnostic Reasoning is an essential learning and teaching resource for students, clinicians, and clinical faculty to master the art of diagnostic reasoning.
Call Number: RT48 .B875 2016x
Advanced Practice Nursing Procedures by
Here is an illustrated, easy-to-reference handbook with step-by-step instructions for the procedures most commonly performed by primary care clinicians in office, hospital, and other outpatient settings. Organized by major body systems, each section reviews the diagnostic procedures for that system, followed by all of the information you need to perform the procedure. Begin with an overview and a list of methods for performing the procedure, followed by rationales, indications and contraindications. The procedure section lists the required equipment and provides step-by-step instructions for performing the procedure. You'll also have CPT coding guidelines and health promotion and safety prevention tips for client teaching as well as post-procedure care.
Call Number: RT82.8 .A386 2020x
Behavioral Pediatric Healthcare for Nurse Practitioners by
Delivers strategic, evidence-based measures for recognizing and treating abnormal behaviors in children in the content of primary care practice Written for practicing pediatric and family nurse practitioners, and PNP and FNP students, this pediatric primary care text expands on the crucial role of the healthcare provider to assess, identify, and intercept potential behavioral health problems. All parents want to see their child become a socially and emotionally healthy adult, but this cannot be the outcome for every family. When children miss their anticipated milestones, parents and the family dynamic is upset--parents question their parenting skills and their ability to raise a socially and emotionally healthy child. The content in this book is built on strategic, evidence-based measures to evaluate and treat behavioral health during each well-child visit across the pediatric life span and restore order to their patients and their families. Behavioral Pediatric Healthcare for Nurse Practitioners is organized by developmental stages: infancy, toddlers, preschool-age, school-age, and adolescence. Each of these stages contains common behavioral problems and details their assessment, screening, intervention, and treatment. Chapters also include measurable standards for behavioral health and special topics in pediatric behavioral health and chronic medical conditions as they impact development. Every section features a case study that fosters critical thinking and demonstrates exemplary practices. Key Features: Focuses on the intercept of development and the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of behavioral problemsAddresses early identification and treatment of disorders for best outcomeProvides proven, case-based strategies for assessment, screening, intervention, and treatmentIncludes contributions from highly qualified PNPs and PMHSsHighlights cutting-edge research from pediatric primary care expertsPresents strategies for working with parentsFosters critical thinking for making a correct diagnosis
Call Number: RJ245 .B39 2019x
Clinical Decision Making for Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners by
Clinical Decision Making for Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners provides a unique approach to clinical decision making for a wide variety of commonly encountered primary care issues in adult and geriatric practice. This text combines guidelines for the ANP/GNP role and case studies with real life practice examples, as well as a series of practice questions to help reinforce learning. The text is designed for both the Nurse Practitioner student as well as the newly practicing NP to help increase confidence with application of assessment skills, diagnostic choices and management approaches. The theory behind this text is to enable students to learn a systematic approach to clinical problems as well as apply evidence-based guidelines to direct their management decisions. Clinical Decision Making for Adult -Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners is also appropriate for Nurse Practitioners preparing to take the ANP/GNP certification exam as it features summaries of evidence-based guidelines. Faculty may also use the text to incorporate a case study approach into their courses either for classroom discussion or as assignments to facilitate clinical decision making. The inclusion of "real life" cases simulate what NPs will actually encounter in their clinical practice environments. Key Features:Chapter ObjectivesCase StudiesReview Questions Summaries of newest evidence-based guidelinesClinician Resources such as tool kits for evaluation and
Call Number: RC954 .T43 2017
Clinical Leadership for Physician Assistants and Nurse Practitioners by
This groundbreaking text focuses on the practical knowledge and skills that both physician assistants (PAs) and nurse practitioners (NPs) need to be effective health care leaders in a multidisciplinary environment. Written by a recognized expert in physician assistant leadership, this engaging text helps PA and NP professionals--increasingly called upon to lead in a variety of clinical and administrative environments--to navigate the unique challenges they encounter. With an emphasis on concrete application of leadership principles, this text highlights interprofessional communication and the skills associated with becoming an effective leader in a variety of health care settings. Thought-provoking case studies provide real-world application of concepts throughout the text. Useful exercises throughout the chapters and appendices bring further clarity to the theoretical topics examined in the book. Key Features: Focuses on leadership for NPs and PAs in team-based health care--the only text to do soEmphasizes interprofessional, multidisciplinary interactions, often at the level of direct patient careAddresses important issues including power and influence, leadership traits and behaviors, followership, change strategies, burnout, ethical considerations, and moreProvides chapter-opening questions to guide the learner in discovering effective principles of leadershipIncludes chapter summaries and leadership exercises to provide context to the concepts discussed, as well as useful online worksheetsApplies real-world scenarios to key leadership concepts through thought-provoking case studies
Call Number: R697.P45 H83 2018
Practice Guidelines for Family Nurse Practitioners by
The latest evidence-based guidelines to prepare you for FNP practice! Practice Guidelines for Family Nurse Practitioners, 5th Edition provides essential, information on the latest national and international guidelines and evidence-based protocols for primary care patients of all ages. Key details are easy to find with the book's concise, outline-style guidelines and abundant summary tables and charts. Content highlights now include the use of bold type for "not-to-be-missed" content, bold italic type for non-urgent/non-emergent interprofessional referrals, and bold italic type plus an eye-catching icon for urgent/emergent interprofessional referrals. In addition to coverage of the most common conditions seen in outpatient settings, this edition includes the latest information on topics such as jaundice, fever of unknown origin, and unexpected weight loss. Plus, the popular Practice Pearls boxes have been expanded throughout the book. Current, evidence-based guidelines for patients of all ages provide the latest guidance for management of disorders commonly seen by FNPs in primary care settings. Concise outline format makes it easy to locate essential information quickly. Quick-reference tables and charts include pediatric conditions charts, comparative charts for similar disorders, and health maintenance guidelines charts. Full-color photos of common clinical manifestations provides an illustrated, quick reference to common skin disorders. Need-to-know coverage of the most common disorders seen in family practice helps familiarize you with situations you'll often encounter in practice. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international guidelines and evidence-based protocols. NEW! Expansion of the book's popular Practice Pearls features throughout the book provides more consistent expert insights based on years of clinical experience. NEW! Additional full-color illustrations provide an expanded reference to common clinical manifestations, especially skin findings. NEW! Enhanced index includes terms most likely to be searched by FNPs for improved access to key information. NEW and UNIQUE! Content highlights include the use of bold type for "not-to-be-missed" content, bold italic type for non-urgent/non-emergent interprofessional referrals, and bold italic type plus an eye-catching icon for urgent/emergent interprofessional referrals. NEW! Content added on jaundice, fever of unknown origin, and unexpected weight loss reflects the latest treatment guidelines for these common clinical situations.
Call Number: RT120.F34 F46 2020
Review Resources
Please see Nurse Specialties:
- Emergency Nursing
- Family-Adult Nursing
- Gerontology-Adult Acute Care Nursing
- Obstetric, Gynecologic, Maternal, Neonatal Nursing
- Pediatric Nursing
- Psychiatric Nursing