Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library
Contact the Library to have books delivered to your work location!
Health Behavior Change: a guide for practitioners Based upon a tried and tested framework of intervention, Health Behavior Change, third edition, brings together the field of communication, the study of motivation and how people change, and insights derived from listening to and observing patients over many years, to provide a helpful source of advice on how to encourage individuals to embrace behaviour change and then maintain it. This popular paperback is written in a friendly and accessible writing style, and contains an abundance of 'real-life' clinical cases, sample interviews, and the latest evidence-base regarding best practice. The book also contains information on learning the necessary techniques, overcoming personal barriers to success, and how to use the techniques in a wide variety of settings. Learning aids include 'Useful Questions' boxes, to help learners structure consultations, 'Key Points' boxes, to summarise the crucial 'take home' message, and 'What to Avoid' boxes, which give the benefit of extensive experience. The new edition now comes with an EVOLVE© website which contains a helpful video demonstration of a successful interview, an explanatory transcript of which is given within the book, and downloadable Patient Worksheets. Suitable for a wide-ranging readership ranging from primary care physicians and nurses to physiotherapists and sports therapists, this book will be perfect for use in the primary care setting, inpatient or outpatient departments, community health projects, the A&E department, leisure facilities and occupational health clinics. Perfect for brief consultations in the healthcare and sports setting Abundance of practical examples - showing both good and bad practice - illustrate how the techniques can be used to optimum effect even with patients who are 'difficult to reach' Useful 'dialogue' between practitioner and patient illustrate points of theory Contains a chapter on how to learn the technique, including potential barriers to success Discusses the frustrations encountered in practice and provides practical tips on how to control emotion Ideal for use in the primary care setting, inpatient or outpatient departments, community health projects, the A&E department, leisure facilities or occupational health clinics Fully updated throughout with the latest research and evidence base for best practice Updated clinical examples reflect recent developments in public health Now available with an EVOLVE© website containing a helpful video demonstration of the techniques being used and downloadable Patient Worksheets
Call Number: RA776.9 .M37 2019
Motivational Interviewing, Third Edition by This is the authoritative, bestselling guide that professionals and students turn to for a complete introduction to motivational interviewing (MI), the powerful approach to facilitating change. The book elucidates the four processes of MI – engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning – and vividly demonstrates what they look like in action. A wealth of vignettes and interview examples illustrate the "dos and don'ts" of successful implementation in diverse contexts. Highly accessible, the book is infused with respect and compassion for clients. The companion Web page provides additional helpful resources, including reflection questions, an extended bibliography, and annotated case material. New to This Edition: reflects major advances in understanding and teaching MI fully restructured around the new four-process model all chapters now authored by Miller and Rollnick additional case examples and counseling situations reviews the growing evidence base and covers ways to assess MI fidelity.
Publication Date: 2012
RN Health Coaching by Levearage your skills as a Registered Nurse and become a RN Health Coach
Publication Date: 2012
The Nurse Coach by Discover the role of Nurse Coaching and how it can help others achieve wellness. This book is a practical look into the art of coaching for nurses who desire to become a nurse coach and expand their career through coaching practice. The expansive field of life coaching reaches into the field of nursing bringing health and wellness to all those wanting to improve their lives.
Publication Date: 2010
Wellness Coaching for Lasting Lifestyle Change by For the first time the principles of wellness promotion and personal life coaching are brought together in one volume. Wellness Coaching for Lasting Lifestyle Change teaches coaches and wellness professionals how to work with their clients to help them find motivation and achieve actual behavioral change in their lifestyle. The positive connection between the coach and the person who wants to make a change empowers the individual to recognize and draw on his or her own abilities and resources to make lasting changes for better health. This book is the guide you need to make that connection to your clients.
Publication Date: 2009
Your Book Suggestions
Please contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book on coaching. We appreciate your recommendations!