Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Library News Archive: 2011

Library News Archive - contains library news from years past. Links and content may no longer work. Content is not updated.

2011 Library News Archive

New guide on copyright for instructors and education coordinators (posted 6-Oct-11)

The Libraries created a new guide to help instructors and education coordinators navigate when permissions are needed for distributing copyrighted or licensed material. The guide is called Copyright Compliance in Mayo Student Coursework and Staff-Development.

Micromedex 1.0 interface retires on December 15 (posted 16-Nov-11)

The Micromedex drug information system is one of the most relied upon databases for clinical care at Mayo Clinic. Starting Thursday, December 15, 2011, the original (1.0) interface will be going away, and the 2.0 interface will be the only access available. If you use the 1.0 version, please plan now to become comfortable with 2.0 for drug and patient information by early December. To gain familiarity with the 2.0 interface, we recommend:

  1. Access 2.0 now -- use the 2.0 interface to find the answers you need for patient care or patient education. Through December 14th, you'll still have access to the 1.0 version as a back up.
  2. Pharmacists -- please watch the 16 minute tutorial on the 2.0 interface
  3. Nurses -- please watch the 12 minute 2.0 tutorial
  4. Requests for training (webinar or onsite training) will be accommodated by Thomson-Reuters trainers; please contact your Mayo library to arrange this.

For additional information about the 2.0 implementation date and retirement of Micromedex version 1.0 please feel free to contact Dawn Littleton via email or by phone: (77) 6-5185.

Medical Bookstore closed for inventory October 27-28 (posted 20-Oct-11)

The Mayo Clinic Medical Bookstore on Plummer 11 will be closed for inventory on Thursday, October 27 through Friday, October 28. There will be no medical bookstore sales during inventory, however the Cyber Café will remain open. Bookstore sales will resume on Monday October 31 at 9:00 a.m.

Direct questions to the Mayo Clinic Medical Bookstore at 284-2279.

Updated and enhanced Current Awareness Service (posted 6-Jul-11)

The Mayo Clinic Libraries recently updated and enhanced the Current Awareness Service. Keep current by receiving Table of Contents e-alerts from journals as they are published. Access Current Awareness from the library’s homepage under "Quick Links," and login to sign up for your journal alerts.

Use the Current Awareness Service to:

  • receive contents pages of your favorite journals delivered to your e-mail
  • link to full-text articles if available or request articles from the library
  • see a subject list of journals and view the current contents pages
  • discover new journals in your subject areas of interest
  • link to journal web pages to sign up for RSS feeds, view publishing information for authors, and find other journal information

Preview more library web site changes (posted 11-May-11)

The Library is making a few minor changes to the home page in coming days. The current "I know what I want" and "I know what I need" areas (see image below) will be modifed with a new look and feel, though the same functionality will remain.

Current Library Home Page Design 

In the new design, the center of the library home page has a Quick Links section with two areas, requesting materials and getting research help (see image below). Newly featured on the library home page are links to the Current Awareness system, a tool for receiving tables of contents of new journals, and a link to manage a Celsus account. Celsus is the system the library uses to process your requests and deliver them to you; you can use Celsus to track which requests are in process and which are completed, as well as to access any full text articles the Library has sent.

New Library Home Page Design 

To see the full new home page design, preview this image. For more information about the other recent library web site changes, see the Library's previous news notes:

Library web site changes (posted 2-May-11)

The Library is using a new online system called CampusGuides for its online help and tutorials, subject guides, Hot Topics, and individual library web pages. The new content will be fully integrated into the old web site, and popular library web pages that are migrating to the new system will be redirected to make it more convenient for you to find what you need. In addition, the new content is searchable through the intranet search engine.

Take a look at some of the new pages:

Changes to the library web site mean more ways to customize your library home page (posted 19-Apr-11)

Over the next few weeks, you may notice minor changes to the library home page and the library web site. One of the most exciting changes is that you can now customize your library home page with more topics and guides.

The "Resources for" area of the library home page now includes "Hot Topics," including behavioral interviewing, performance appraisals, nurse theorists, goal setting, and many more.

If you'd like to customize your library home page to always display links to any of these subject guides, take a look at the video or written instructions.

New Effective Database Searching guide now available (posted 23-Feb-11)

The Library has developed a Guide to Effective Database Searching. Use this guide to develop and enhance your search skills for key library databases including PubMed, CINAHL, and Scopus. You'll find search tips, strengths and limitations, tutorials, and news items for each database. In addition, check out the Specialized Tools tab to assist you with finding such things as Journal Impact Factors and the h Index. Try out the Guide and give us your feedback by completing the survey found on each page of the Guide. Please email your comments, suggestions, or questions to:gerberi.danielle@mayo.eduhawthorne.dottie@mayo.edu, or larsen.karen@mayo.edu.

New Culture of Patient Safety guide now available (posted 16-Feb-11)

Find library books, videos, articles, and web resources to support the various dimensions of Mayo's Culture of Safety Survey on the new Culture of Patient Safety guide.

Celebrate the renovated Saint Marys Hospital Library and Knowledge Services February 22-25 (posted 16-Feb-11)

Library Blessing

Tuesday, February 22, 2011
1:00 p.m. CST

All are welcome to a Blessing of the newly renovated space for Saint Marys Hospital Library and Knowledge Services. For more information, phone (77)5-5647.

Marian Hall, First Floor

Saint Marys Hospital Library Open House

Wednesday, February 23 – Friday, February 25, 2011
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Visit the renovated Saint Marys Hospital Library and Knowledge Services for exhibits, treats and door prizes. For more information, phone (77)5-5647.

Marian Hall, First Floor

Nursing Reference Center trial available through May 2011 (posted 18-Jan-11)

The Mayo Clinic Libraries invite you to try out a nursing point-of-care information system called Nursing Reference Center. The database provides access for all Library users to disease information, including evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons, best practice guidelines, reference books, drug information, patient education information, and continuing education modules. Although the Library may not be able to fund this resource, it is important to remain aware of information products like this that are available in the marketplace.

This trial link is live and can be freely shared with other professionals at Mayo with the understanding that the link is temporary through May.

DynaMed evaluation extended to May 2011 (posted 13-Jan-11)

The trial evaluation of DynaMed, a respected point-of-care evidence-based clinical resource used in many hospitals and academic health centers continues to be evaluated at Mayo Clinic. We invite you to test drive the tool and provide feedback. DynaMed would complement rather than replace existing tools should it prove clinically valuable in the Mayo Clinic environment and if funding is available. (Consideration is not being given for replacement of clinical resources such as UpToDate or MDConsult).

Please evaluate DynaMed for specific patient care clinical questions. There is no limit on the number of times you can use DynaMed through May 2011, nor is there a limit on the number of times you can provide feedback to us. Access is available at all Mayo sites.

As you use DynaMed through May 2011, please consider the questions in this anonymous survey tool link. Please contact your campus site librarian with any questions or comments about this evaluation.

New Mayo Authors Database now available (posted 3-Jan-11)

The new Mayo Authors Database has now officially replaced the version formerly accessed through Ovid. Look for the new Mayo Authors icon (shown above) on the Library home page later this week. In addition to all of the great features previously available, the new Mayo Authors Database has built in statistics to easily trace numbers of publications per year, links to full text reprints of many classic articles from the original Mayo Clinic partners, and easy, one-click Mayo Authors' bibliographies.

For example, here are some things you can do:

  • Keep track of your bibliography (or any other Mayo author's bibliography from 1871 on), such as Dr. Will Mayo's
  • Find out how many articles Mayo Clinic has published on a given topic, such as vitamin K
  • View statistics about publication dates and type for any search, such as vitamin K
  • Sort the alphabetical list of Mayo Authors by number of publications
  • Explore the history of Mayo Clinic through historical article reprints--many from prior to 1923 are newly available online in full text

If you'd like more in depth information on the search features in the new Mayo Authors database, the Libraries have prepared a number of brief online video tutorials demonstrating the major features as well as help documentation. You may access Mayo Authors directly at http://mayoauthors.

Your feedback is encouraged. Please email hawthorne.dottie@mayo.edu or wentz.mark@mayo.edu with your comments, suggestions, or questions.