Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Library News Archive: 2010

Library News Archive - contains library news from years past. Links and content may no longer work. Content is not updated.

2010 Library News

Test the new Mayo Authors database before its official release (posted 1-Dec-10)

The Mayo Clinic Libraries is in the process of redesigning the Mayo Authors database to provide an easy-to-use search interface, including simplified access to any particular Mayo author's bibliography. You are invited to take a sneak peek at the new Mayo Authors, now available at http://mayoauthors.

To get introduced to the search features in the new Mayo Authors database, the Libraries have prepared a number of brief online video tutorials demonstrating the major features:

  • Mayo Authors List: Best Practice Searching in Mayo Authors (1 mn 39 s)
  • Basic Search: Mayo Authors Database (2 mn 8 s)
  • Advanced Search: Department and Location (2 mn 34 s)
  • Advanced Search: Searching for Several Authors (1 mn 27 s)
  • Advanced Search: Combining Searches (1 mn 50 s)
  • Finding a Specific Citation (1 mn 49 s)
  • Statistics: Publications by Type and Year (1 mn 56 s)
  • Managing Results: Marking, Emailing, and Saving to EndNote (3 mn 12 s)
  • Saved Searches and Email Updates (2 mn 37 s)

Over the next month, the Libraries will continue to make improvements in the database. The current Mayo Authors database, hosted on the Ovid platform, will be available through December 31, 2010, after which it will be replaced by the new interface. Those with email alerts or saved searches in the current Ovid version should begin the process of switching their searches to the new system.

Your feedback is encouraged. Please email hawthorne.dottie@mayo.edu or wentz.mark@mayo.edu with your comments, suggestions, or questions.

Celebrating America's Women Physicians -- October 28 broadcast from University of Minnesota (posted 22-Oct-10)

A special exhibit created by the National Library of Medicine celebrating the many contributions of women physicians both nationally and internationally is on display at the University of Minnesota. The exhibit is called the "Changing the Face of Medicine -- Celebrating America's Women Physicians". The exhibition opening on Thursday, October 28, 2010 at the University of Minnesota will feature Mayo Clinic physicians, Dr. Judith Salmon Kaur (Oncology) and Dr. Patricia Simmons (Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology), and University of Minnesota women physicians as speakers. Mayo Clinic will broadcast the exhibit opening originating from the University on October 28, 2010 from 4:00 - 5:30 p.m. in Gonda Room 14-102.

Mayo Libraries catalog down for maintenance beginning 8:30 pm (CDT) Monday, October 25th (posted 20-Oct-10)

The Mayo Libraries catalog will be unavailable for 10 hours starting Monday, October 25th at 8:30 pm (MN), 9:30 pm (FL), and 6:30 pm (AZ). The online catalog is used for finding library materials in Mayo Libraries locations at all MGP and MHS sites. Please perform your searches for books and journal titles prior to 8:30pm Monday, October 25th. If you have questions, please call 507 284-2061. All other online resources such as PubMed and Up-to-Date will be unaffected.

Medical Bookstore closed for inventory November 1-2 (posted 20-Oct-10)

The Mayo Clinic Medical Bookstore on Plummer 11 will be closed for inventory on Monday November 1 through Tuesday November 2. There will be no medical bookstore sales during inventory, however, the Cyber Café will remain open. Bookstore sales will resume on Wednesday, November 3 at 9:00 am

Direct questions to the Mayo Clinic Medical Bookstore at 284-2279.

Libraries enhance document delivery tracking on Monday, October 18th (posted 15-Oct-10)

A new request and delivery system will be released by Mayo Libraries on Monday, October 18th. This new web-based document system called Celsus will provide you with the ability to track the progress and history of your book, chapter, article, or DVD requests. Celsus fits seamlessly with existing library resource portals. Just use your usual method (e.g., “Send me an Article” on the library home page) of requesting articles, and you will be asked to logon with your LAN ID and password. After submitting your requests, you can instantly verify that they have been received by the Library, and, through Celsus features, you can follow their progress until completion. Watch for release of the new features on October 18th and remember that Mayo Clinic Library staff will be more than happy to answer questions and assist if necessary. Contact us at library.plummer@mayo.edu.

Library catalog will be down for maintenance Monday, October 18, 8:30 pm-10:30 pm CDT (posted 14-Oct-10)

The Mayo Clinic Library catalog will be down for scheduled maintenance on Monday, October 18th from 8:30 pm - 10:30 pm. Please perform your searches for books and journal titles prior to 8:30pm, or after 10:30pm. If you have questions, please call 507 284-2061. All other resources such as PubMed and Up-to-Date will be unaffected.

Change to SFX OpenURL for EndNote users (posted 8-Oct-10)

If you use the full text finding feature within EndNote, you will need to update the EndNote Preferences OpenURL Path to http://sfxhosted.exlibrisgroup.com/mayo.

Please consult the Finding Full Text in EndNote X How Do I for further instructions.

Invitation to special lecture by David Levy, PhD, "No Time to Think," October 11 at 9:30 am CDT (posted 6-Oct-10)

Invitation for special lecture:
Monday, October 11, 2010
9:30 – 11:00 (Q&A: 10:30 – 11:00) CDT 
Special Lecture (Geffen Auditorium, Gonda Subway)
“No Time to Think” (David M. Levy, PhD, University of Washington, Seattle)

Dr. Levy’s lecture “No Time to Think” will address the area of information overload in our technology centric society and explore his belief that today’s information overload requires not just better management of information but the creation of space and time for thinking and reflection. A technologist by training, Dr. Levy holds a PhD in computer science from Stanford University. His experience includes 15 years as a researcher in the Xerox Palo Alto Research Center (PARC) where he focused on the nature of documents and tools used to create them. His 2001 book Scrolling Forward: Making Sense of Documents in the Digital Age explored the nature and cultural significance of the transition from paper to digital formats. In 2005-2006 he was the Papamarkou Chair in Education and Technology at the Library of Congress where his research focused on information and the quality of life. He is currently Professor, University of Washington School of Information.

Libraries closing early today, Friday September 24th (posted 24-Sep-10)

  • LRC (Mitchell Student Center) will close at 2:30pm today and will reopen 10am Saturday
  • Venables (Siebens 10) will close at 4pm today and will reopen Monday. (No Sunday hours)
  • Plummer (PL 12) will close at 5pm today and will reopen 8am Saturday

2011 resource subscription changes (posted 31-Aug-10)

A full list of resource subscription changes for the Mayo Clinic Libraries is now available for 2011. This includes titles to be cancelled, and titles moving to online-only format.

Libraries' hours for Labor Day weekend, Saturday, Sept. 4 through Monday, Sept. 6 (posted 30-Aug-10)

Hours listed below are exceptions to the normal hours for each library. If a day listed below does not mention a library's hours, the library will be open as regularly scheduled.

Saturday, September 4

  • Learning Resource Center closed
  • Saint Marys Staff Library closed

Sunday, September 5

  • Learning Resource Center closed

Monday, September 6

  • All Mayo Clinic Libraries closed

DynaMed trial under way at Mayo Clinic (posted 17-Aug-10)

DynaMed is a respected point-of-care evidence-based clinical reference tool in use in many hospitals and academic health centers. Mayo Clinic Libraries has obtained trial access to the system through September 30. We invite you to test drive the tool and provide us your feedback. Please note that consideration is not being given for replacement of existing clinical reference tools such as UpToDate or MDConsult. DynaMed would complement rather than replace existing tools should it prove clinically valuable in the Mayo Clinic environment and funding is available.

Please evaluate DynaMed for specific patient care clinical questions. There is no limit on the number of times you can useDynaMed through September 30, nor is there a limit on the number of times you can provide feedback to us. Access is available at all Mayo sites.

As you use DynaMed for clinical information, please consider the questions in the survey and send us comments via email or through this anonymous survey tool link. Please contact your campus site librarian with any questions or comments about this evaluation.

Do not email or download citations from Ovid databases until further notice (posted 6-Aug-10)

Ovid is experiencing major problems with downloading and emailing citations. Citations are randomly dropped from downloads and email, jumping from citation 1 to citation 16 without any warning.

To save citations from your Ovid searches, save the search history. If you do not have a personal account, you will be prompted to create one. See below for more information on the new Ovid interface.

DynaMed trial under way at Mayo Clinic (posted 6-Aug-10)

DynaMed is a point-of-care evidence-based clinical reference tool in use by many hospitals and academic health centers. Mayo Clinic Libraries has obtained trial access to the system through Sept. 10 and is inviting employees to help test the tool and provide feedback.

You can help evaluate DynaMed’s specific patient care clinical questions. There is no limit to the number of times you can use DynaMed through Sept. 10, nor is feedback limited. Access is available at all Mayo campuses, and comments can be made anonymously online.

Direct questions to your Mayo Clinic campus librarian.

Libraries require visible Mayo ID badge (posted 30-Jul-10)

As per Mayo Policy, the Mayo Clinic Libraries require that all staff and students wear their Mayo ID badge when using the libraries. Beginning on August 15th, Mayo staff and students who arrive without their ID will need to check in at the Circulation Desk for verification of Mayo status and be given a temporary pass to wear while in the Library. The staff of the Mayo Clinic Libraries appreciates everyone's cooperation in maintaining the Libraries as a safe environment for needed study and research.

New OvidSP design and personal accounts coming August 2 (posted 30-Jul-10)

As of August 2, Mayo Clinic users of the Ovid databases will be able to create their own Personal User Account. The account is completely user defined. Users will be able to save searches, annotations, PDFs, and current awareness alerts. Current individual accounts will be migrated automatically.

The new OvidSP interface features a cleaner look, with more intuitive placement for selecting citations, and downloading results. Two new features: My Workspace and My Projects, where users can save citations, PDFs, text, and resources. The user can also group frequently used databases for easy access. Once you have a personal user account, you can take full advantage of the new features.

More information:

Online tutorials:

Wiley Interscience downtime: 3:00 AM CDT Saturday, August 7 - 11:00 AM CDT Sunday, August 8 (posted 30-Jul-10)

Electronic access to Wiley journals, including those formerly published by Blackwell Science, will be unavailable during that time. The downtime will facilitate Wiley Interscience's transition to a new user interface which will be called Wiley Online Library.

When the new user interface is launched on Sunday August 8, access to the Library's subscribed electronic journals will now be indicated by the following icons:

My NCBI "My Bibliography" tool replaces eRA Commons for managing NIH Public Access Policy compliance July 23, 2010 (posted 22-Jun-10)

Beginning July 23, 2010, program directors and principal investigators must use My NCBI’s “My Bibliography” tool to manage their professional bibliographies. They will no longer be able to enter citations manually into eRA Commons. eRA Commons users can access My NCBI with their eRA Commons login information or link existing My NCBI accounts to an eRA Commons account. Using “My Bibliography" in My NCBI, users can maintain and manage a list of all types of their authored works, such as articles, presentations, and books.

For more information on how investigators should handle the upcoming changes, see notice number NOT-OD-10-103. Read the step-by-step guide on setting up a “My NCBI” account and using “My Bibliography.” You can also see the National Library of Medicine web cast, “Using My Bibliography to Manage Compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy,” for more details.

Ovid databases now display 50 results at a time by default (posted 29-Jun-10)

The default for the number of citations that display when viewing search results in the Ovid databases has been changed from 10 citations per page to 50 citations per page. If you’d prefer displaying a different number of citations on your search results pages, simply change the number on the “Results per Page” pull-down menu in the Ovid database that you are searching. Please contact the Library if you have questions about this change.

Five Centuries of Medicine and Art exhibit (posted 22-Apr-10)

Five Centuries of Medicine and Art
Rochester Art Center
April 24 through August 22, 2010

The Rochester Art Center will host this exhibit to coincide with the annual meetings of the American Association for the History of Medicine, the American Osler Society, and the Archivists and Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences. This show features more than 250 prints and engravings depicting a broad range of medical themes. Selected from one of the world’s largest collections on the subject, the works span five centuries: from a 1493 German woodcut The Dance of Death to Rosemary Covey’s 1998 wood engraving Antigenic Shift. Most of the prints in the exhibit were produced in the 18th and 19th centuries by artists and craftsmen who used various engraving, etching, or lithography techniques. They are grouped thematically with major sections devoted to anatomy, patients in various contexts, nurses, portraits of physicians, surgical treatment and other therapies, military medicine, caricatures, and patent medicine advertisements.

New "Resources for" page available: Understanding Race (posted 21-Apr-10)

Our new Resources For Understanding Race page was developed in conjunction with the Education Diversity Task Force in preparation of Mayo-related Race exhibit activities. If you would like to recommend additional resources, please let us know.

Library link for Micromedex returning to 1.0 version (posted 19-Apr-10)

Due to concerns regarding content discrepancies between Micromedex 1.0 and 2.0 versions, and user recommendations, the Library will be returning to Micromedex version 1.0 as our default link effective immediately.

CINAHL online tutorial now available (posted 8-Apr-10)

The CINAHL Online Tutorial is now available on our library web site. There are 4 modules that make up this tutorial: Constructing an effective search strategy, Searching a topic in CINAHL, Other types of searches in CINAHL, and Personalizing CINAHL. There is no need to log into the tutorial, but you do need to be on the Mayo network to access it.

Mayo Libraries Online Catalog has improved search interface (posted 8-Mar-10)

The Mayo Libraries online catalog now has a new look and feel. While library content will not change, access to the online and print content of the library will improve. You can now search for online and print journals, books, audiovisuals, and databases with tabbed searches for Keyword, Title, Author, Journal, DVD/Video and “Other”. “Other” includes the ability to use multiple advanced search features, including search for audio books; author/title; call number; course reserves; ISBN/ISSN; OCLC Number; and Subject headings. We will have a two week window of opportunity to make improvements to the new look and feel. When you use the new system please send all feedback to plummerlibrary@mayo.edu by March 22nd.

Mayo Libraries Online Catalog to have improved search interface (posted 4-Mar-10)

The Mayo Libraries online catalog will have a new look and feel starting March 8th, 2010. (You can use the new version before March 8th, at http://librarycatalog.mayo.edu:2082/.) While library content will not change, access to the online and print content of the library will improve. Starting March 8th, you will be able to search for online and print journals, books, audio-visuals and databases with tabbed searches for Keyword, Title, Author, Journal, DVD/Video and “Other”. “Other” includes the ability to use multiple advanced search features, including search for audio books; author/title; call number; course reserves; ISBN/ISSN; OCLC Number; and Subject headings. We will have a two week window of opportunity to make improvements to the new look and feel. When you use the new system please send all feedback toplummerlibrary@mayo.edu by March 22nd.