Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Library News Archive: 2006

Library News Archive - contains library news from years past. Links and content may no longer work. Content is not updated.

2006 Library News

DXplain: Diagnostic Decision Support Tria (posted December 19, 2006)

DXplain is a computer assisted diagnostic decision support system that can generate a differential diagnosis for a patient and is used primarily as a medical education and reference system. As a medical textbook the system can be used to find descriptions and references for over 2200 diseases and differential diagnosis for approximately 4900 clinical findings. The interface is designed to provide quick, easy access to a large database of signs and symptoms of different diagnoses, and to remind users of disorders which might, in part, explain a set of clinical features entered into the system by the user. Used in a case analysis mode, the interactive format collects clinical information and will produce a ranked list of diagnoses based on the clinical information entered. DXplain will be available on the Mayo intranet for approximately one year in support of an ongoing research collaboration to evaluate the software between Mayo Clinic and Massachusetts General Hospital, the publisher of the database.

Medical Bookstore closed January 22-26 (posted January 11, 2007)

The Medical Bookstore will be closed January 22-26 due to Library renovation. The Bookstore will re-open Monday January 29th in a temporary location on the 12th floor of the Plummer Building behind the elevators in room 12-08.

Mayo Authors Database searching class offered on January 24 (posted January 11, 2007)

This class offers tips on searching for Mayo Authored publications, including how to limit searches to specific publications types, narrow results down to a range of years, and much more. Please read the class description for more information and to register for the class. If you have other questions, or wish to enroll, please call 4-0227 between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Improved SFX linking for Lancet backfile articles (posted November 29, 2006)

SFX linking for pre-1990 Lancet articles now connects to Elsevier's Lancet page where all issues are available to browse. Previously, due to a difference between print and online volume numbering, SFX linking for these years resulted in an error message. For Lancet articles from 1990 to present, direct article linking via SFX is available.

Library Quaterly Newsletter Now Available (posted October 18, 2006)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries has been published and is available on the Library's website
(see: http://library.mayo.edu/newsletters/documents/summer-2006-newsletter.pdf.) This issue includes the following feature stories:

  • RSS in a Nutshell: Learn about using a powerful web technology to keep up to date in your subject area. RSS (really simple syndication) readers look for changes in the websites you've subscribed to and alert you automatically via e-mail to new information that has been added.
  • New Interface for Micromedex Drug Information System: Highlights of the new and improved interface are presented with links to additional learning opportunities for this important clinical tool.
  • Resource Roundup: Key changes in a selection of online resources are presented including Natural Medicines, e-Facts (Drug Facts & Comparisons), UpToDate, Health Reference Center, and Scopus.
  • Mystery Readers Alert: Read a selection from the transcript of a recorded interview with mystery writer Jonathan Kellerman, well-known novelist of psychological thrillers. Kellerman reflects on his use of libraries for research and the element of mystery in scientific research and fiction writing.

Plummer renovation impacts journal browsing availability (posted October 17, 2006)

Plummer Library Users:
Please know that Plummer Library in Rochester is currently undergoing major renovation. The journals that will be available for browsing and shelved in the Plummer 11 and 12 floors will be print journals in the 1995-current range. In the meantime, older journals will be moved off-site and will be available for article scanning or journal volume borrowing.

Please note that clinical, research and education journals published from the 1800's to 1994 will still be available to you via this homepage from the forms called "Send me an Article" or "Send me a Book."

Keep in mind that our digital library of thousands of journals and books is available 24/7 from this website from any Mayo computer terminal. Please call 284-2061 with any questions about the renovation project or accessing our digital library.

New EED's on Plummer 11 (posted October 16, 2006)

Plummer Library has added 2 new EED's (computers with clinical applications) and a printer on Plummer 11. They are located on the ledge by the windows behind the bookstore, next to the 2 Winterms (for checking the Library catalog). You can reach this area via stairs on Plummer 12.

Journal Title Changes for 2007 (posted October 2, 2006)

A full list of journal title changes for the Mayo Clinic Libraries is now available for 2007. This includes titles to be added, those moving to online-only format, and titles to be cancelled.

Micromedex interface update coming on September 29th (posted September 28, 2006)

The new release of Micromedex previously due on October 16th has been moved to September 29th. This new release of the software includes an enhanced screen interface and additional features. In the works for more than four years, this enhanced version will offer software improvements while maintaining user friendliness. The Mayo Library encourages Micromedex users to become familiar with the new version available at http://mdx2.mayo.edu/hcs/librarian.

Training opportunities include:

  • DVDs of the September 13th presentation available for checkout from all branch libraries
  • Streaming Web video from the webcast archives
  • Live Web meetings, which will be announced as they are scheduled
  • A Library "How do I" link to the Micromedex training information (http://library.mayo.edu/help/mdx-update.html)
  • Access to a Micromedex Healthcare Series Demo (http://library.mayo.edu/viewlets/mdx/). Press "Start Demo" to see a list of available demonstrations.

The list of new enhancements is available online (http://library.mayo.edu/help/documents/mdx-improved-features.pdf). Direct questions to Dave Brown at brown.davids@mayo.edu or at 4-2461.

Micromedex interface update coming in October (posted August 29, 2006)

Micromedex has substantially modified their user interface in the next release of their software, due at the beginning of the 4th Quarter 2006. The new look and features, a culmination of over four years of work by Micromedex, improve the overall user experience while maintaining the intuitive nature of the product. Since there are changes, the Library strongly encourages users to become familiar with the new Micromedex before October. (http://mdx2.mayo.edu/hcs/librarian)

On September 13th, Mayo Clinic Rochester staff and students will have an opportunity to meet with a Micromedex trainer for a short overview session. Anyone who uses Micromedex is invited to attend. These walk-in sessions will be 45 minutes long and consist of a basic overview of the updated interface and a review of new features. No pre-registration is required.

Micromedex training - September 13th, 2006

Medical Sciences Building, Room 106, Mann Hall     7:00am - 7:45am
Medical Sciences Building, Room 106, Mann Hall      11:15am - 12:00pm
Alfred Building, Main floor, Room 459, Mayo Lecture Hall      2:15pm - 3:00pm
Medical Sciences Building, Room 106, Mann Hall      4:45pm - 5:30pm

  • All sessions will be broadcast on staff cable channel 74 in Rochester.
  • live webcast will be available for all users during the 11:15am and 2:15pm sessions only (Central time)

Additional training opportunities will be available and include:

  • DVD's of the presentation available for checkout from all branch libraries.
  • Streaming web video that will be available from the webcast archives
  • Live Web Meetings will be scheduled before the final conversion. These times will be announced as soon as they become available.
  • A Library "How do I" with links to the Micromedex training information.
  • Micromedex Healthcare Series Demo - Press "Start Demo" to see a list of available demonstrations.

Other information

For interested staff unable to attend at these times, several live Web Meetings will be scheduled before the final conversion. These times will be announced as soon as they become available.

If you have any questions or concerns, contact Dave Brown (dbrown@mayo.edu) at (77)4-2461.

Ovid ceases support for telnet interface (posted August 29, 2006)

Quoted from Ovid news note:

Attention Mayo users: Ovid will no longer be supporting the telnet interface after September 28th 2006. Please use the links from the Library home page (http://library.mayo.edu) for access to Ovid resources. If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact Dave Brown (dbrown@mayo.edu).
Thank you!

New "How do I" available (posted August 25, 2006)

The Library Education and Training committee (LET) is happy to present a new resource: How do I create an RSS feed from a PubMed search?

LET serves the Mayo community by improving library and information literacy. We provide library-sponsored and invited demonstrations on any topic of information and library literacy - Contact us for additional information.

Library's Quarterly Online Newsletter Now Available (posted July 13)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries has been published and is available on the Library's website. This issue includes the following feature stories.

  • Efficient worldwide delivery of knowledge resources to physicians and other employees serving in Iraq or attending international meetings is featured in an article entitled "The Library -- We Deliver!"
  • The special collections and related resources of the Mayo Clinic are highlighted including the History of Medicine Library, the Mayo Medicine Collection, and the resources of Historical Archives which document the history of Mayo Clinic
  • Complementing the article on special historical or legacy collections is an account of the evolution of two important medical indexes: Index Catalogue and Index Medicus
  • A Newsbytes and library staff news section includes: National Library of Medicine update; gift to the Patients Libraries; Library staff activities

Complete Lancet archives now available electronically (posted June 26)

The Library is pleased to announced that The Lancet is now available online from Volume 1, 1823 via Elsevier ScienceDirect. The Lancet backfile contains 390,000 articles, all fully searchable, and includes such seminal papers as Joseph Lister's 1867 On the antiseptic principle in the practice of surgery.

Welcome new Residents & Fellows - Library orientation and training available (posted June 14)

Mayo Clinic Libraries warmly welcomes new residents and fellows. A full range of library services including expert literature research and electronic document delivery are available to you. Use the "How Do I" section to begin your review of library services. Orientations to library facilities, services, collections, and to the Mayo Digital Library are available at most library locations and also at your department location. In Rochester contact Dottie Hawthorne (4-3240) for department orientations to library services. The libraries also offer a variety of training opportunities and links to online tutorials.

New "How do I" available (posted June 2, 2006)

The Library Education and Training committee (LET) is happy to present a new resource: How do I get a foreign language article translated into English?

LET serves the Mayo community by improving library and information literacy. We provide library-sponsored and invited demonstrations on any topic of information and library literacy - Contact us for additional information.

Library's Quarterly Online Newsletter Now Available (posted April 12, 2006)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries [pdf] has been published and is available on the Library's website. This issue includes the following feature stories:

  • Selected metrics on Mayo employee and student use of the Mayo Digital Library for 2005 including the most highly used systems and electronic resources
  • Enhancements to the ISI Web of Knowledge: Navigation, Additional Resources, New Features
  • Using Google Scholar and Elsevier's Scopus Database for Cited Reference Searching
  • Image is Everything: Finding and Using Medical Images on the Web
  • Library Quality Survey: Perspective from Consultants

Newsbytes: National Library of Medicine Update; Library Centennial Planning; History of Medicine Lecture Series; Library Staff News; Contributors to Mayo Clinic Libraries in 2005

Colin Powell presentation available as webcast; no DVD or VHS (posted May 17, 2006)

The Colin Powell presentation was not video taped; permission was not granted. However it can be viewed by webcast until May 30, 2006.

From the webcast archives, select Ozmun Lecture Series, and then the Colin Powell presentation.

Upcoming classes offered in Rochester (posted May 2, 2006)

Google Power Searching
May 10
8:30 - 11:30 am

Google Scholar
May 16
9:00 - 11:00 am

Classes are held in Plummer 1440
Call 4-0227 to register or for more information

Mayo's SPARC Innovation Program (posted April 12, 2006)

As seen in This Week at Mayo Clinic, the SPARC Program is featured in April's "FastCompany" magazine. Full-text is available online or in print at Colonial and Saint Marys Staff Libraries.

New Nature titles available (posted March 17, 2006)

The Library has added 8 new Nature Clinical Practice titles, including: Cardiovascular Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Nephrology, Neurology, Oncology, Rheumatology, and Urology.

UpToDate version 14.1 now available (posted March 1, 2006)

The new release includes evidence-based graded recommendations. The grading system was developed in collaboration with UTD's Evidence-Based Medicine Advisory Group, which includes Dr. Victor Montori of the Mayo Clinic.

Melissa Rethlefsen receives MLA Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences (posted February 24, 2006)

Melissa Rethlefsen, MLS, a Librarian at the Mayo Clinic and a member of the MLA's Core Public Health Journal Projecteditorial team has received the 2006 MLA Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences. Melissa is serving on the oversight Committee and was a primary developer for the Occupational Health and Safety 2.0 list. Congratulations!

Updated Resources for Molecular Biology now available (posted February 23, 2006)

Resources for Molecular Biology has been re-organized. Cleaner and comprehensive, it includes links to Mayo resources, genomics resources, educational materials, and other pathfinders.

Improved Resources for Molecular Biology now available (posted February 23, 2006)

The Resources for Molecular Biology page has been recently updated and re-organized. Clean and comprehensive, it includes links to Mayo resources, genomics resources, educational materials, and other pathfinders.

New or improved online access (posted February 23, 2006)

New or improved online access available for these titles: Alzheimer's & Dementia, Annals of Family Medicine, Cell Metabolism, Gastroenterology, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, Hematology: the Education Program of the American Society of Hematology, Journal of the American Society of Echocardiography, and Obesity Management.

UpToDate unavailable (posted February 23, 2006)

On February 23 at 8:30, UpToDate began experiencing difficulties. We are working diligently with UTD, and hope to have the problem resolved shortly.

New Library classes available (posted January 17, 2006)

Three new classes are being offered starting in February: Google Power SearchingMayo Authors Database Searching, and Google Scholar. A complete class list is also available.

Ovid bug fixed (posted January 9, 2006)

The recent errors caused by using the browser "Back" button while searching have been resolved.

NCI Clinical Advisory (posted January 9, 2006)

NCI Clinical Advisory: National Cancer Institute issues clinical announcement for preferred method of treatment for advanced ovarian cancer.

Library's Quarterly Online Newsletter Now Available (posted January 4, 2006)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries [pdf] is now available.

UpToDate unavailable!! Due to an error at the vendor, UpToDate is currently unavailable. It will be fixed as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.