Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Library News Archive: 2005

Library News Archive - contains library news from years past. Links and content may no longer work. Content is not updated.

2005 Library News

New "How do I" pages available (posted December 21, 2005)

The Library has created new quick help for Finding TutorialsCustomizing your Library Home Page, and Finding Mayo's Web Videos. This is in addition to all of the other great content.

Annual reload for MEDLINE scheduled (posted November 15, 2005)

November Week 3 will be the last update to Ovid MEDLINE for 2005, as NLM transitions to the 2006 version of MeSH. Ovid has additional information available.

Happy Holidays! (posted November 7, 2005)

With the holidays fast approaching, the Mayo Clinic Libraries would like to remind everyone of the holiday schedule.

IEEE Biomedical Library now available through Ovid (posted November 1, 2005)

Produced by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, IEEE Biomedical Library provides access to over 40,000 expertly selected documents from more than 130 journals, 200 unique conferences and 25 relevant IEEE standards in the fields of biomedical engineering and technology.

New "How do I" pages available (posted November 1, 2005)

The Library has created new quick help for Troubleshooting Electronic Document DeliveryGetting a Library Card, andFinding Impact Factors. This is in addition to all of the other great content, including information on customizing the library home page and class offerings.

Library's Quarterly Online Newsletter Now Available (posted October 3, 2005)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries [pdf] is now available.

Customize your Library Home Page! (posted October 3, 2005)

You can now create a customized environment for your information needs. By logging in with your Mayo LAN ID (pink box, right side) you can select favorite database, e-journal, and e-book links to be visible when browsing the Library home page. Get what you want when you want it!

Library Request Forms Updated (posted October 3, 2005)

By popular demand, our request forms have been updated. By creating and logging in to your customized library account, request forms will be pre-filled with your address and cost center information to make ordering books and articles even easier. Please contact Dave Brown for additional information.

Scopus now available (posted August 25, 2005)

Scopus, a multidisciplinary abstract and indexing database, is now available through the Library. It includes 27 million records from 14,000 peer-reviewed titles by more than 4,000 international publishers. Most references post-1996 contain full bibliographic information, abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications. See About Scopus for information on personalization and tutorials.

Cell Press Print Copies for Free (posted July 14, 2005)

Cell Press is offering free personal print-only subscriptions to anyone affiliated with an institution licensing Cell Online via ScienceDirect. Qualified individuals can order by contacting Cell Press customer service.

Library's Quarterly Online Newsletter Now Available (posted July 6, 2005)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries [pdf] is now available.

Ovid interface update (posted June 27, 2005)

Ovid will be updating their interface on July 12th. We encourage everyone to check out the new look, or read a short summary of the changes.

Libraries closed on July 4th (posted June 17, 2005)

The Mayo Clinic Libraries will be closed for the 4th of July holiday. Some libraries have additional changes in hours that are noteworthy.

NIH Public-Access Authors' Manual (posted May 27, 2005)

The NIH has released an Authors' Manual and a PowerPoint presentation (PDF version) on its public-access policy.

NEJM Perspective: Public Access to NIH-Funded Research (posted April 27, 2005)

NEJM Perspective: Public Access to NIH-Funded Research The April 28, 2005 issue contains a perspective on NIH's request to have investigators deposit an electronic copy of NIH-funded scientific reports to PubMed Central.

Library's Quarterly Online Newsletter Now Available (posted March 28, 2005)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries [pdf] is now available.

New NIH Policy (posted February 8, 2005)

A new NIH policy on enhancing public access to archived publications resulting from NIH-funded research has been issued and becomes effective on May 2, 2005.

National Library of Medicine (posted January 25, 2005)

Annually, the National Library of Medicine amends the indexing vocabulary used for PubMed MEDLINE by introducing new terms and other changes. The 2005 modifications to MeSH are summarized in the 2004 Nov/Dec NLM Technical Bulletin. Adjustments to Ovid MEDLINE resulting from NLM changes including updates to the "limit" feature and new fields have now been completed.

Pubmed Cubby will be retired on January 28 (posted January 21, 2005)

Pubmed Cubby will be retired on January 28th, replaced by My NCBI February 1st. New services of My NCBI include schedulable email updates for saved searches and a tab display of customizable filters. Current Cubby users do not need to re-register. Users will need to configure their account for new features to take effect.