Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Library News Archive: 2004

Library News Archive - contains library news from years past. Links and content may no longer work. Content is not updated.

2004 Library News

Published Abstracts in Mayo Authors and RE-AIMS (posted December 20, 2004)

The Library identifies published abstracts (from meetings, symposia...) for the Mayo Authors Database and RE-AIMSusing the BIOSIS database. Thomson Scientific, owners of the Web of Science and Current Contents, recently purchased BIOSIS and a technology integration of the two companies has caused a six month delay in the indexing and availability of published abstracts. Further information will be posted as indexing resumes.

Phone outage 12-22-04 (posted December 22, 2004)

The Plummer Library is experiencing a temporary phone outage. To contact the Plummer Library, please send email tolibrary.plummer@mayo.edu. For urgent needs, contact the Colonial Library at 6-7425.

Mayo Foundation History of Medicine Society Lecture (posted January 12, 2005)

Mayo Foundation History of Medicine Society Lecture on January 18, by Dr. Sidney Blair, Emeritus Professor, Loyola Medical School. Presentation will be on the Drs. Beck of Chicago and their relationship with the Mayo family. Held in Phillips Hall, Siebens Building. Light buffet at 5:30 p.m., lecture begins at 6:00 p.m.

PubGene.com presentation (posted January 5, 2005)

A PubGene.com presentation on January 19, 2005 will occur at 1:00 p.m. in the Mayo Building 15th Floor Seminar Room (15-12). Featured will be the analysis of a microarray data set using a Mayo-licensed system for extracting and visualizing information on genes and proteins. PubGene is also used to gain quick access to comprehensive information on individual genes and proteins.

Library's Quarterly Online Newsletter Now Available (posted November 29, 2004)

The latest issue of e-knowledge.net: Quarterly Newsletter of the Mayo Clinic Libraries [pdf] is now available.

Leadership at Mayo Clinic (posted October 19, 2004)

Leadership at Mayo Clinic is the focus of Dr. Leonard L. Berry's recently published article in the October issue ofOrganizational Dynamics. Professor Berry performed an on-site study of Mayo's service culture during 2001-2002.