Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Mindfulness-Oriented Interventions for Trauma: integrating contemplative practices Grounded in research and accumulated clinical wisdom, this book describes a range of ways to integrate mindfulness and other contemplative practices into clinical work with trauma survivors. The volume showcases treatment approaches that can be tailored to this population's needs, such as mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), mindfulness-based cognitive therapy (MBCT), and mindful self-compassion (MSC), among others. Featuring vivid case material, the book explores which elements of contemplative traditions support recovery and how to apply them safely. Neurobiological foundations of mindfulness-oriented work are examined. Treatment applications are illustrated for specific trauma populations, such as clients with chronic pain, military veterans, and children and adolescents.
Call Number: RD93 .M56 2015
Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! Confidently handle the complexities of critical care nursing, with the fully updated Critical Care Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, 4th edition. Part of the award-winning Incredibly Easy series, this fun-to-read text is full of fun humor and illustrations, offering plenty of down-to-earth, expert advice and direction on crucial areas such as assessments, diagnostics, imaging, monitoring, pre- and post-operative care, and more. This comprehensive reference is a must-have for class use and NCLEX or certification exam preparation¡ªand an invaluable on-the-spot clinical guide. Learn the basics of critical care nursing or refresh your skills with brand new content on: o moderate sedation, drug overdose interventions, and pressure ulcer management o specialized areas such as rapid response teams and advanced life support methods o caring for elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients Critical Care Nurisng Made Incredibly Easy will help you master the basicswith easy-to-follow guidance on . . . - Up-to-date science and step-by-step directions on nursing procedures for basic, holistic, and system-based critical care, including pain assessment and management, drug administration, dealing with cardiac arrest, assessing brain death, equipment preparation and use, diagnostic testing, ongoing monitoring and evaluations, data collection, nonsurgical treatments, and much more - Flow charts and diagrams lead you through determining symptoms, conditions, causes, tests, treatment, emergency situations, and more - Practice pointers provide practical tips for areas such as dealing with patient and family issues, cultural considerations, ethical issues, end-of-life decisions, and more - Numerous illustrations and words of wisdom from'Nurse Joy' throughout each chapter - Illustrated quick guides to moderate sedation, CPR, emergency cardiac care, treating shock, preventing complications in the critically obese patient, and interventions for drug overdoses and poisoning - Includes special features to help accelerate learning comprehension: o Just the facts An outline of content at start of every chapter o Advice from the experts Practical tips from experienced practitioners o Take charge! What to do in potentially lethal situations o Handle with care Procedures for elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients o Ages and stages Issues where the patient¡'s age impacts critical care o Write it down Tips on critical care documentation o Quick Quiz NCLEX-style questions (and answers) after every chapter o Memory joggers Simple tricks for remembering complex concepts
Call Number: RT120.I5 C766 2016
Motivational Interviewing in Diabetes Care People with diabetes often struggle to make healthy choices and stay on top of managing their illness. Filling a vital need, this is the first book to focus on the use of motivational interviewing (MI) in diabetes care. The uniquely qualified authors--physician Marc P. Steinberg has devoted much of his career to diabetes care, and renowned clinical psychologist William R. Miller is the co-developer of MI--present proven counseling techniques that can make any conversation with a patient more efficacious and motivating. Numerous sample dialogues illustrate specific ways to elicit patients' strengths and help them overcome barriers to change in such areas as eating habits, physical activity, medication use, insulin treatment, substance abuse and psychological issues, and more.
Call Number: RC660 .S72 2015
Guidelines for Nurse Practitioners in Gynecologic Settings, 11th Edition A "one-stop" comprehensive guide to women's health--updated with new evidence-based guidelines and timely topics The 11th edition of this classic guide for assessment and management of common gynecologic conditions by advanced practice nurses is updated with cutting-edge topics, new evidence-based guidelines, and current patient teaching materials to enhance excellence in clinical practice. This edition features a completely updated chapter on the well-woman annual exam, including issues about the care of older women, and extensive revisions throughout regarding contraceptive methods, CAMs, medical abortion, HIV/AIDS, HPV screening and vaccine recommendations, and much more. Guidelines reflect "best-practice" standards of care culled from literature on evidence-based practice that help ensure improved patient outcomes. Expert contributors include prominent specialists from all areas of gynecologic health. Complete guidelines are presented in a format that includes definition, etiology, history, physical exam, laboratory exam, differential diagnosis, treatment, complications, consultation/referral, and follow-up. New to the 11th Edition: Enhanced mental health chapter detailing the discontinuation of SSRIs/SNRIs Guidelines for management of cytological abnormalities and cervical intraepithelial neoplasia New information on menopause and osteoporosis Updated information on contraception based on patients' individual profiles and clinical data Revised information on natural family planning from an expert educator New data on the long-term effects of hormone replacement therapy Additional data-based evidence on over-the-counter remedies and nonprescription supplements New data on screenings for breast cancer New Pap smear guidelines across the life span Physical assessment of pelvic floor integrity and dysfunction Helpful techniques for difficult examinations Information on lesbian, bisexual, and transgender health concerns Key Features: Reflects best-practice standards of care empirically demonstrated to improve patient outcomes Presents guidelines in a concise, consistent outline format to ensure quick and easy access to clinical information Written by a highly respected and experienced team of authors Provides valuable patient teaching information, also available online
Call Number: RG105 .H368 2016
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care helps nursing students transform their thinking so they develop into culturally competent nurses capable of safe, thoughtful, and ethical care of individuals, families, groups, and communities of diverse backgrounds. Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care takes a life span approach to describe cultural variations in lifestyle, habits, beliefs, and life process; and in doing so, provides a framework that will improve health and nursing care to minority, underrepresented, disenfranchised, and marginalized populations. Rather than just covering specific cultures and expected behaviors/beliefs of that culture, the authors provide students the tools they will need as nurses to effectively perform cultural assessments and incorporate their findings into their interventions. With more culture specific examples in this edition, the text offers the knowledge needed to provide culturally competent and contextually meaningful care for all clients. Fully updated in its seventh edition, this unique resource creates an interdisciplinary knowledge foundation reflecting the cultural changes in the clinical nursing environment.
Call Number: RT86.54 .A53 2016
Becoming a Helper Ideal for anyone embarking on or considering a career in the helping professions, BECOMING A HELPER, Seventh Edition, provides an overview of the stages of the helping process while teaching readers the skills and knowledge they need to become successful helping professionals. Drawing on their years of experience, Corey and Corey focus on the struggles, anxieties, and uncertainties often encountered on the road to becoming effective helpers. They also emphasize self-reflection on a number of professional issues. Finally, the authors help readers decide if a career in the helping professions is right for them by asking them to take a candid look at the demands and strains they'll face in the field.
Call Number: HV10.5 .C67 2016
Pediatric Telephone Protocols: office version Enhance phone-care quality and efficiency with this newly revised AAP best seller. Authored by telehealth pioneer Dr Barton D. Schmitt, it features more than 140 tested decision-support protocols spanning 98% of everyday pediatric complaints. Here's how to assess everything from diarrhea and influenza exposure to food reactions, spider bite, and trauma. Expanded and optimized for efficient, on-target triage 16 ALL-NEW PROTOCOLS Abdominal injury Neck injury Psychosocial problems Strep follow-up call Whooping cough exposure Finger or toe injury Penis-scrotum symptoms Vaginal bleeding Vaginal symptoms or discharge Back injury Chest injury Dizziness Fire-ant sting Foreskin care Measles exposure Menstrual period - missed or late NEW CONTENT UPDATES-more than 90% of all protocols revised, many extensively NEW TABBED FORMAT-speeds access to sections on Infants Exposures Emergencies Injuries OTC meds A-Z (all protocols) Handle calls with complete confidence... Highlighted assessment questions Home care instructions Medication questions, dosages, and recommendations Detailed user's guide Reproducible log sheets Quality assurance checklist "
Call Number: RJ48 .S453 2016
Manual of Critical Care Nursing: nursing interventions and collaborative management The compact ---, yet comprehensive ---, Manual of Critical Care Nursing: Nursing Interventions and Collaborative Management, 7th Edition is your students'a go-to reference forto help you provide safe, high-quality nursing care in the clinicalcritical care settings. Written in an abbreviated outline format, this easy-to-use Manual presents essential information on more than 75 disorders and conditions, as well as concepts relevant to caring for all critically ill patients and functioning in the critical care environment. Award-winning clinical nurse specialist Marianne Baird separates the content first by body system and then by disorder, with each disorder including a brief description of pathophysiology, assessment, diagnostic testing, collaborative management, nursing diagnoses, desired outcomes, nursing interventions, and patient teaching and rehabilitation. With the latest NANDA-I nursing diagnoses and new sections on Bariatric Considerations and Caring for the Elderly, this practical manual is designed to help critical care nurses and nursing students better care for any critically ill patient. Coverage of more than 75 disorders most commonly seen in critical care units. Consistent, easy-to-use format facilitates quick reference so you can find information exactly where you expect it to be. Portable size makes it ideal for use in the unit or bedside, and is also easy to carry on campus. Research Briefs boxes present abstracts of selected research studies and emphasize the use of evidence to guide care recommendations. NANDA-approved diagnoses are marked with an icon to familiarize you with NANDA terminology. Chapters mirror a practicing nurse's approach to patient care, making it quicker and easier to find information. Diagnostic Tests tables highlight the definition, purpose, and abnormal findings for each test. Collaborative Management tables concisely summarize relevant performance measures while incorporating the best available patient care guidelines. Safety Alert! and High Alert! icons call attention to issues important to a patient's safety. Chapter outlines display major heads, care plans, and their respective page numbers - and provide easy access to disorders. NEW! Bariatric Considerations section added to assessment sections to help you assess, and prevent complications and improve care in, overweight and obese patients. NEW! Section on Caring for the Elderly added to assessment sections to provide you with tips and guidelines unique to elderly patients, including recognizing differences in measuring pain, providing appropriate nutritional support, improving communication, and preventing infection. NEW! Updated content throughout keeps you current in the field of critical care nursing. NEW! Geriatric icon highlights considerations relating to the care of older adults. NEW! The latest NANDA-I nursing diagnoses ensure you stay up-to-date.
Call Number: RT120.I5 M3644 2016
Routledge International Handbook of Qualitative Nursing Research Qualitative research, once on the fringes, now plays a central part in advancing nursing and midwifery knowledge, contributing to the development of the evidence base for healthcare practice. Divided into four parts, this authoritative handbook contains over forty chapters on the state of the art and science of qualitative research in nursing. The first part begins by addressing the significance of qualitative inquiry to the development of nursing knowledge, and then goes on to explore in depth programs of qualitative nursing research. The second section focuses on a wide range of core qualitative methods, from descriptive phenomenology, through to formal grounded theory and to ethnography, and narrative research. The third section highlights key issues and controversies in contemporary qualitative nursing research, including discussion of ethical and political issues, evidence-based practice and Internet research. The final section takes a unique look at qualitative nursing research as it is practiced throughout the world with chapters on countries and regions from the UK and Europe, North America, Australasia, Latin America, to Japan, China, and Korea. With an international selection of established scholars contributing, this is an essential overview and will help to propel qualitative research in nursing well into the twenty-first century. It is an invaluable reference for all nursing researchers.
Call Number: RT81.5 .R68 2016
Communicating Quality and Safety in Health Care In response to the growing emphasis on clinicians' capacity to practise effective communication, Communicating Quality and Safety in Healthcare provides real-time communication scenarios and interprofessional case studies. The book engages healthcare trainees from across medicine, nursing and allied health services in a comprehensive and probing discussion of the communication demands that confront today's healthcare teams. This book explains the role of communication in mental health, emergency medicine, intensive care, and a wide range of other health service and community care contexts. It emphasises the ways in which patients and clinicians communicate, and how clinicians communicate with one another. The case studies explain why and how communication is critical to good care and healing. Each chapter analyses real-life practice situations, encourages the learner to ask probing questions about these situations, and sets out the principal components and strategies of good communication.
Call Number: R118 .C613 2015
Meeting the Need for Psychosocial Care in Young Adults with Cancer Meeting the Need for Psychosocial Care in Young Adults With Cancer describes what is known about the psychosocial needs of young adults with cancer and addresses how healthcare professionals can help them overcome the challenges of cancer at this stage of life. It is designed to help the multidisciplinary team delivering medical, nursing, and psychosocial care for these young people provide comprehensive, evidence-based care that takes into account their unique needs and stage of life.
Call Number: RC271.M4 K37 2015
Transitions in Nursing: preparing for professional practice Now in its fourth edition, Chang and Daly's Transitions in Nursing continues to offer fresh insights and discussions around the issues and challenges faced by senior nursing students when making the transition to nursing practice. Transitions in Nursing, 4th Edition is divided into three sections that reflect the transitional changes common to nursing students: Section 1: From Student to Graduate Section 2: Skills for Dealing with the World of Work Section 3: Organisational Environments Featuring contributions from a range of leading academics and clinicians, Chang and Daly's Transitions in Nursing, 4th Edition provides students with a number of strategies that can be tested and applied in practice. Its accessible and practical approach will appeal to nursing students while offering a valuable resource for practising nurses, nurse educators and administrators. Chang and Daly's Transitions in Nursing, 4th Edition will continue to challenge, motivate and support all nursing students as they transition to practising, registered nurses. Chang and Daly's highly respected text assists students when preparing for their first nursing role by addressing key issues such as: Team work Organisational culture Stress management Communication skills Professional development strategies Self-care. NEW chapters: - Evidence-based practice/knowledge translation: a practical guide; - Establishing and maintaining a professional identity: portfolios and career progression; - Transition into practice: the regulatory framework for nursing Stronger focus on organisational culture, clinical reasoning, conflict resolution, skills and competencies, and requirements of professional portfolios Updated Recommended Readings and revised Case Study Reflective Questions All chapters have been updated to reflect current practice.
Call Number: RT86.7 .T73 2016x
Created & Called: a journey to and through nursing Have you ever wondered: What are my gifts? What exactly is God calling me to do with my life? Although the profession of nursing can provide a comfortable income, it is more than just a salary. Eternal rewards are reflected when a nurse aids in the alleviation of a patient's pain, leads a dying patient in a prayer of salvation, or has the opportunity to assist in the welcoming of a new life into this world. I challenge you to keep your heart and mind open to this possibility for your life as you:
•Discover the physical, emotional, and spiritual sacrifice of nurses, and how a nurse can offer himself or herself in service to aid patients in vulnerable states of life
•Read real life examples of sound nursing in action and the amazing impact you can have on patients and their families
•Learn the differences between a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN), and more!
Call Number: RT82 .H375 2015x
Wound Care Essentials: practice principles The newly expanded and updated Wound Care Essentials: Practice Principles, 4th edition is your go-to clinical guide to assessing and treating the full range of skin and wound conditions--from common to less common, simple to complex, and acute to chronic. This comprehensive, easy-read handbook provides practical guidance on the many aspects of wound care, including the legal, ethical, psychological, and social aspects. This is an essential guide for advanced practice nurses and nurse practitioners, nursing students, physician,,s assistants, dermatology physicians, family physicians, and physical therapists. Tap into these evidence-based skills and care strategies, and handle the complexities of wound care with confidence. Adopt wound care best practices with this fully illustrated, on-the-spot clinical guide - NEW more than 350 full-color photos and illustrations - NEW content on areas including: Chronic wound quality-of-life and self-management care models; wound care regulations; skin assessment and skin tears; fistula management; wound bioburden; adjunctant therapies; pressure ulcers; support surfaces; nutrition; palliative care guideline updates - NEW chapter featuring 36 photos of wounds with test questions, offering: - An essential visual aid for students - Crucial training aid for staff at wound centers and in every health care setting - Vital preparation for Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurse (WOCN) certification exam - Step-by-step directions and guidance on wound assessment, healing stages, treatment options, dressings, pain management, legal and ethical issues, coping patterns, medical documentation - Patient management strategies for all wound types, including: palliative wound care, sickle cell wounds, pressure ulcers, diabetic foot ulcers, surgical wounds, and more - Chapter features include: - Assessment Guidelines - Pre-Chapter Objectives; Post-Chapter Summaries - Practice Point boxes - Show What You Know - Chapter review questions (with answers at end of book) - Patient Teaching boxes
Call Number: RD94 .B374 2016
Core Curriculum of Addictions Nursing Prepping for certification? Core Curriculum of Addictions Nursing is your ticket to becoming a Certified Addictions Registered Nurse (CARN) or Certified Addictions Registered Nurse–Advanced Practice (CARN-AP).
Indispensable for all practice areas, this factual, practical aid will guide you to develop and expand the knowledge and clinical skills required for caring for patients with addictions. This is a must-read not only for acing the exam, but for practicing insightful, evidence-based addictions nursing.
This book is a revision of two previous addictions. The need is that this book can be utilized by RNs and APNs preparing to take the nursing certification board examinations in addictions nursing. This book can also be utilized by faculty developing a nursing curriculum in addictions nursing and substance use disorders.
It aims to help nurses achieve success on the basic and advanced addictions nursing certification examination by providing invaluable clinical guidance, current data, and evidence-based practices for all settings and practice areas, aiding with the development or expansion of knowledge of skills in caring for clients potentially or actually affected by addictive processes.
Call Number: RC564 .I57 2015x
Successful Nurse Communication: safe care, healthy workplaces & rewarding careers Develop the skills and techniques you need to communicate effectively with patients, families, and colleagues while examining the critical role communication plays in assuring the safe and ethical practice of nursing. You'll explore all of the critical ways your ability to communicate successfully can positively impact not only nurse-client, nurse-family, and colleague-colleague relationships, but also your ability to make the work environment less stressful and to manage professional and personal challenges. Redeem the Plus Code inside new, printed texts to access your DavisPlus resources, including your Davis Digital Version, your complete text online as well as skill-building interactive exercises.
Call Number: RT23 .B69 2016x
Complicated Grief: scientific foundations for health care professionals How can complicated grief be defined? How does it differ from normal patterns of grief and grieving? Who among the bereaved is particularly at risk? Can clinical intervention reduce complications? Complicated Griefprovides a balanced, up-to-date, state-of-the-art account of the scientific foundations surrounding the topic of complicated grief. In this book, Margaret Stroebe,Henk Schut and Jan van den Boutaddress the basic questions about the concept, manifestations and phenomena associated with complicated grief. They bring together researchers from different disciplines, providing a broad range of cultural and societal perspectives, to enable the reader to access the scientific knowledge base regarding complicated grief, on both theoretical and empirical levels. The book is divided into four main sections: An exploration of the nature of complicated grief Diagnostic categorizations Contemporary research on complicated grief Treament of complicated grief Illuminating the foundations and new innovations in research, Complicated Griefwill be essential reading for professionals working with bereavement such as clinical psychologists, health psychologists and psychiatrists, researchers, as well as graduate students of psychology and psychiatry. Margaret Stroebeis Professor at the Department of Clinical and Health Psychology, Utrecht University, and the Department of Clinical Psychology and Experimental Psychopathology, University of Groningen,The Netherlands. Henk Schutis Associate Professor at the Department of Clinical and Health Psychology, Utrecht University, The Netherlands. Jan van den Boutis Professor of Clinical Psychology at Utrecht University, The Netherlands. Contributors:Paul Boelen, Kathrin Boerner, George Bonanno, Laurie Burke, Rachel Cooper, Atle Dyregrov, Kari Dyregrov, Francesca Del Gaudio, Ann-Marie Golden, Jennifer Jacobs, David Kissane, Rolf Kleber, Yeulin Li, Jeffrey Looi, Anthony Mancini, Mario Mikulincer, Michelle Moulds, Robert Neimeyer, Mary-Frances O'Connor, John Ogrodniczuk, William Piper, Holly G. Prigerson, Therese Rando, Beverley Raphael, Paul C. Rosenblatt, Edward Rynearson, Henk A.W. Schut, Phillip Shaver, Margaret S. Stroebe, Jan van den Bout, Marcel van den Hout, Birgit Wagner, Jerome C. Wakefield, Edward Watkins, Talia I. Zaider.
Call Number: BF575.G7 C66 2013
Making a Difference with Nursing Research This innovative text is designed to teach undergraduate students to critically read and apply research findings in evidence-based clinical practice. Rather than belaboring the research process itself, MAKING A DIFFERENCE WITH NURSING RESEARCH focuses on guiding students step-by-step through finding, analyzing, and applying relevant research to solve the specific problems they may encounter in providing patient care. It presents a clear basic discussion of quantitative and qualitative research processes, offers practical examples applying key concepts, provides detailed strategies for searching the literature, introduces the structured PICOT process for reading and dissecting articles; and offers a chapter-length PICOT case study. Throughout, end-of-chapter exercises and web-based activities provide many opportunities for hands-on practice.
Call Number: RT81.5 .L35 2013
Project Management for the Advanced Practice Nurse DESCRIBES THE FUNDAMENTALS OF PROJECT MANAGEMENT FOR NURSES While many books exist on project management in health care, most are written from the perspective of a hospital's upper leadership. This is the first resource to encompass the specific knowledge base and skills required for graduate-level nurses and students to effectively perform the duties of a project manager. Based on proven project management principles, the text defines concepts specifically for APNs and APNs with a DNP degree, and enables them to apply processes used in the business operations side of a health care organization. The book describes the fundamentals of project design step by step, from needs assessment through project closing. It provides detailed examples of tools used by project managers, describes how to apply these tools in the management of a complex health care work environment, and identifies key concepts critical to project success. The text demonstrates how APNs can harness the skills and organizational frameworks they already use to manage patient care and outcomes to improve systems care and implement change in complex medical systems. It describes in depth the five basic concepts of project management, including the basics of monitoring timelines, design and planning, implementation, monitoring and control, and project closing. The book also discusses a variety of roles available to APNs, including sample job descriptions requiring project management skills. Written in a clear and accessible format, the text is replete with practical examples demonstrating how current APNs and DNPs can utilize and apply project management skills as they implement a project at work or prepare a practicum assignment for graduation. KEY FEATURES: Encompasses the knowledge base and skills required specifically for APN project management Describes fundamentals of project design from start to finish Based on proven project management concepts in terminology familiar to APNs Includes practical examples from a variety of nursing roles to guide the novice project manager Provides key information to help the transition from bedside nurse to APN leader
Call Number: RT89 .S595 2016
Nursing Adults with Long Term Conditions Focusing on the relevant knowledge and skills essential for effective care for people living with long-term conditions, this book covers everything from the impact of long-term conditions across the lifespan and the therapeutic relationship to symptom management, case management and advance care planning. All activities, scenarios and case studies have been updated in light of the 6 Cs agenda to reflect the contemporary landscape of care, and to bring in recommendations from the Francis Report. With integrated care and partnership working as themes within the book, it now includes more on the shift to community-based care and considers the complexity of mental health and how it may be affected by physical conditions.
Call Number: RT41 .N53 2015
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists: a creative beginning Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, Third Edition presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art. While most theory texts are complex and more detailed than what is needed for students at an introductory level of theory, this text offers a different approach to teaching and learning nursing theory. Definitions and basic concepts are presented along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. The author encourages creativity through art in an effort to engage students and make them more active learners. The Third Edition includes new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson. The Application to Practice sections are new and will appear as research article in each theorist chapter. Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools
Call Number: RT84.5 .S53 2017
Senior Fitness Test Manual "Senior Fitness Test Manual, Second Edition," offers the most comprehensive and reliable test battery for assessing physical fitness in adults ages 60 and older. The tests in this resource assist health practitioners and fitness and rehabilitation specialists in identifying weaknesses that cause mobility problems, developing exercise programs that improve functional fitness, preventing future mobility issues, and evaluating progress. The Senior Fitness Test (SFT) is a simple, economical method of assessing the physical attributes that older adults need in order to perform daily activities. It consists of seven tests--covering lower- and upper-body strength, aerobic endurance, lower- and upper-body flexibility, agility, and balance--that can be conducted with minimal space, equipment, and technical requirements, making it easy to administer in most clinical and community settings or in the home environment. The manual presents clear instructions on preparing and administering the tests and interpreting and using the test results. Readers will find guidelines on creating senior fitness programs as well as exercises to recommend for improving functional fitness scores. The second edition of the "Senior Fitness Test Manual "offers new tools to help facilitate the Senior Fitness Test. It includes expanded information on ways to modify test protocols for older adults with limiting conditions such as osteoporosis, obesity, Alzheimer's disease, diabetes, stroke, fibromyalgia, heart conditions, multiple sclerosis, hip and knee replacements, chronic renal failure, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, osteoarthritis, and blindness or low vision. Ready-to-use materials such as reproducible forms, large-print instructions (complete with photos) to post at testing stations, and large versions of performance charts make the testing process more effective, and an expanded chapter on improving test scores includes illustrated instructions for exercises that can be prescribed to seniors to help them improve their fitness. In addition, the manual retains national normative data based on age and sex for over 7,000 adults ages 60 to 94, but it now includes criterion-referenced, clinically relevant fitness standards. Based on the authors' continued groundbreaking research on aging and functional fitness, these new criterion-referenced standards allow practitioners and older adults to identify the test scores at a specific age that are correlated with maintaining adequate functional mobility into the 90s, providing a new and deeper understanding of the test scores. This allows practitioners and their clients to focus on maintaining or improving functional fitness with customized goals meant to preserve and improve individual abilities. The second edition of the "Senior Fitness Test Manual "is now packaged with a DVD that contains visual demonstrations of the tests, including setup, execution, evaluation, and modification of testing protocols to accommodate clients' limitations. Throughout the text, DVD icons indicate when to view the DVD for live demonstrations. Maintaining strength, endurance, flexibility, agility, and balance is critical to seniors whether their later-life interests are playing golf, running marathons, or performing daily tasks such as climbing stairs or getting out of a chair without assistance. The "Senior Fitness Test Manual, Second Edition, " offers a user-friendly means of evaluating physical capacity in the growing population of older adults and helping them to maintain and improve their functional fitness.
Call Number: RA781 .R54 2013
Stories in Midwifery: reflection inquiry action Powerful stories convey lessons that are remembered for life. Stories in Midwifery by Catling, Cummins and Hogan presents an insightful collection of personal stories told by a range of women, midwives, students, health professionals and family members. This unique resource offers both midwifery students and practicing midwives an extraordinary perspective on a range of topics related to birthing and midwifery, including continuity of care, perinatal mental health, complex pregnancies, homebirth, and assisted reproductive techniques. Presented in workbook and online multimedia format, this valuable midwifery resource builds empathy and understanding by providing examples of innovative approaches to woman-centred care with a focus on reflection, inquiry and action. The teaching and learning strategies assist in developing skills, attitudes and mindfulness for working in partnership with women in various settings, including the home, community, hospitals, clinics and birth centres. In this unique midwifery resource, authors Catling, Cummins and Hogan promote engagement with learners across diverse educational levels, ranging from certificate qualifications through to the undergraduate and postgraduate student. Most importantly, Stories in Midwifery provides a much-needed consumer voice for women, their families and their midwives. Includes 18 chapters, each presenting a variety of stories from women, midwives and family members around a range of topics related to birthing and midwifery Includes 24 video stories presenting personal accounts from a range of lived experiences Reflection, inquiry and action provide the framework for the teaching and learning strategies for each story, aimed at certificate, undergraduate and postgraduate levels Weblinks, references and readings are included for further reading and research Transcripts of all interviews are included in the back of the book and online The Evolve online component features all content from the workbook with the addition of the embedded videos
Call Number: RG950 .C37 2016x
The NLN Jeffries Simulation Theory Developed through theoretical thinking and tested by nurse education researchers, the NLN Jeffries Simulation Theory helps to articulate phenomena that exist within clinical simulation. By establishing and communicating known relationships within these phenomena, this theory provides a strong foundation for research and education, and enables future discovery of best practices in simulation. Through rigorous research and literature review, and by incorporating the perspectives of nurses immersed in simulation activities, The NLN Jeffries Simulation Theory is an effective guide to implementation and further research.
Call Number: RT73 .N5475 2016
Manual for Clinical Trials Nursing This newly updated and revised edition provides a comprehensive examination of issues surrounding clinical trials. Sections include details on research, financial considerations, recruitment and retention, genetics, and much more.
Call Number: RC266 .M35 2016
Management/Employee Development Books
Identifying and Managing Project Risk Projects-especially complex ones-are inherently risky. Between time constraints, technical challenges, and resource issues, things can easily go wrong-making the identification of potential risks an essential component of every project manager's job. Fully updated and consistent with the Risk Management Professional (RMP) certification and the Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®), Identifying and Managing Project Risk remains the definitive resource for project managers seeking to guard against failure. Drawing on real-world situations and hundreds of examples, the book outlines the risk management process and provides proven methods for project risk planning. Readers will learn how to use high-level risk assessment tools, implement a system for monitoring and controlling projects, and properly document every consideration. Analyzing aspects such as project scope, available resources, and scheduling, the third edition also offers fresh guidance on program risk management, qualitative and quantitative risk analysis, simulation and modeling, and significant "non-project" risks. This practical book will help readers eliminate surprises and keep projects on track. "
Call Number: HD61 .K46 2015
Dunn and Haimann's Healthcare Management The way a supervisor handles the managerial aspects of the job makes the difference between running the department and being run by the department. Now in its tenth edition, Dunn and Haimann s Healthcare Management continues to provide readers with the information and tools they need to understand and keep pace with the vast changes occurring in healthcare management today. Although the text builds its framework around the core functions of management planning, organizing, staffing, influencing, and controlling key topics relating to the Affordable Care Act (ACA), new technologies for managers and medical staffs, and a savvier customer base are also addressed.
Call Number: RA971 .H22 2016
Nonparametric Statistics for Health Care Research: statistics for small samples and unusual distributions What do you do when you realize that the data set from the study that you have just completed violates the sample size or other requirements needed to apply parametric statistics? Nonparametric Statistics for Health Care Research by Marjorie A. Pett was developed for such scenarios--research undertaken with limited funds, often using a small sample size, with the primary objective of improving client care and obtaining better client outcomes. Covering the most commonly used nonparametric statistical techniques available in statistical packages and on open-resource statistical websites, this well-organized and accessible Second Edition helps readers, including those beyond the health sciences field, to understand when to use a particular nonparametric statistic, how to generate and interpret the resulting computer printouts, and how to present the results in table and text format
Call Number: R853.S7 P48 2016
Idea-Based Learning: a course design process to promote conceptual understanding "Edmund Hansen shows faculty how college courses need to be designed! Hansen has the blueprint we all need to follow if we are to put together courses that will produce meaningful and long-lasting learning for our students."?Terry Doyle, Faculty Center for Teaching & Learning, Ferris State University Idea-based Learning takes as its point of departure the big conceptual ideas of a discipline that give structure and unity to a course and even to the curriculum, as opposed to a focus on content that can lead to teaching sequences of loosely-related topics; and aligns with notions of student-centered and outcomes-based learning environments. Adopting a backwards design model, it begins with three parallel processes: first, identifying the material that is crucial for conceptual understanding; second, articulating a clear rationale for how to choose learning outcomes based on student needs and intellectual readiness; and finally, aligning the learning outcomes with the instructional requirements of the authentic performance tasks. The resulting syllabi ensure cohesion between sections of the same course as well as between courses within a whole curriculum, assuring the progressive development of students' skills and knowledge.
Call Number: LB2361.5 .H354 2011
Enhancing the Effectiveness of Team Science The past half-century has witnessed a dramatic increase in the scale and complexity of scientific research. The growing scale of science has been accompanied by a shift toward collaborative research, referred to as "team science." Scientific research is increasingly conducted by small teams and larger groups rather than individual investigators, but the challenges of collaboration can slow these teams' progress in achieving their scientific goals. How does a team-based approach work, and how can universities and research institutions support teams? "Enhancing the Effectiveness of Team Science" synthesizes and integrates the available research to provide guidance on assembling the science team; leadership, education and professional development for science teams and groups. It also examines institutional and organizational structures and policies to support science teams and identifies areas where further research is needed to help science teams and groups achieve their scientific and translational goals. This report offers major public policy recommendations for science research agencies and policymakers, as well as recommendations for individual scientists, disciplinary associations, and research universities. "Enhancing the Effectiveness of Team Science" will be of interest to university research administrators, team science leaders, science faculty, and graduate and postdoctoral students.
Call Number: Q180.55.G77 N38 2015x
The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation Motivation is that which moves us to action. Human motivation is thus a complex issue, as people are moved to action by both their evolved natures and by myriad familial, social and cultural influences. The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation collects the top theorists and researchers of humanmotivation into a single volume, capturing the current state-of-the-art in this fast developing field. The book includes theoretical overviews from some of the best-known thinkers in this area, including chapters on Social Learning Theory, Control Theory, Self-determination theory, Terror Managementtheory, and the Promotion and Prevention perspective. Topical chapters appear on phenomena such as ego-depletion, flow, curiosity, implicit motives, and personal interests. A section specifically highlights goal research, including chapters on goal regulation, achievement goals, the dynamics of choice, unconscious goals and process versus outcomefocus. Still other chapters focus on evolutionary and biological underpinnings of motivation, including chapters on cardiovascular dynamics, mood, and neuropsychology. Finally, chapters bring motivation down to earth in reviewing its impact within relationships, and in applied areas such aspsychotherapy, work, education, sport, and physical activity.By providing reviews of the most advanced work by the very best scholars in this field, The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation represents an invaluable resource for both researchers and practitioners, as well as any student of human nature.
Call Number: BF503 .O94 2014x
Cutting Through the Noise: the right employee engagement strategies for you Managers are flooded with theories, concepts, and ideas for how to improve employee engagement but what works, and what doesn t? This book helps managers cut through the clutter of all those strategies and find the one that works for them. Beginning with the myths and realities of employee engagement, authors Davila and Pina-Ramirez highlight the importance of organizational culture and context when it comes to keeping employees invested in the organization. Understand the various stages of employee engagement. Consider change management as a critical issue in employee engagement. Learn how to maintain that engagement throughout your employees careers."
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 D38 2013
The Fear-Free Organization: vital insights from neuroscience to transform your business culture Leadership that makes a difference takes guts and confidence, plus belief in oneself and belief in the key players in the organization. It is built on trust, not fear. Scared people spend a lot more time plotting their survival than working productively, so The Fear- free Organization has zero tolerance for bullies, vicious gossip, undermining behaviours, hijacking tactics, political jockeying for position or favouritism. Instead, it works on inspiration. Evidence from the new frontiers of neuroscience shows that individuals and organizations are more successful when people are encouraged to take risks, to explore new ideas, and to channel their energies in ways that work for them. The Fear -free Organization is a ground-breaking new book that reveals how our new understanding of the neurobiology of the self - how the brain constructs the person - can transform for the better the way our businesses and organizations work.
Call Number: HD57.7 .B767 2015
Managing Integrated Health Systems The evolution of health care in recent years has brought profound and rapid changes to the industry as well as the requisite professional skills, knowledge, and expertise to manage this very complex business. Managing Integrated Health Systems provides managers with the necessary tools to understand and balance the efforts of complex organizations―which may have inherently conflicting incentives―all while giving them the knowledge required to succeed in this dynamic industry
Call Number: RA971 .M34655 2016
The Accidental Data Scientist: big data applications and opportunities for librarians and information professionals Success isn t something you are born with it is carefully cultivated and mastered. And a job, when it works well, can fit like a glove and provide you with immense personal and professional satisfaction. This book s 50 succinct lessons will guide you as you begin your career in healthcare management and help you achieve success and professional fulfillment whatever your role.
Written in a conversational, friendly style, the 50 lessons broadly cover three major areas: managing yourself, managing your job, and taking charge of your career. The 50 lessons are filled with bulleted lists and quick tips and address specific topics such as:
Establishing a life vision and developing a personal brand
Managing the first 90 days of your healthcare management position
Mastering presentations through writing and speaking tips
Building and supporting strong teams
Developing a professional development plan balancing life and work
Call Number: Z682.35.T43 A38 2015
Fostering a Research-Intensive Organization: an interdisciplinary approach for nurses from Massachusetts General Hospital At the Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), nurses have boldly dared to transform their nursing program into a place where patient care, science, research, and evidence combine for improved practice, responsible economics, enhanced mentoring, and a fertile place to allow extraordinary nurses to develop. Fostering a Research-Intensive Organization addresses how a strong nursing research agenda can impact patient care and influence the redesign of services needed to effectively respond to a changing healthcare environment. This book provides a comprehensive review to support the practice environment as an important place to advance nursing science through research by: providing examples from the MGH experience useful in explaining the importance of a nursing research agenda, discussing the support for and the conduct of research applicable to nurse's professional and personal development, demonstrating how to design a research infrastructure and the provide the resources, support, and organizational commitment needed to promote research in practice settings, sharing ideas about mentoring, evidence-based practice, methods and evaluation, instrument development, and post-doctoral fellowships and developing new funding sources, partnerships, team-building, and engagement in multidisciplinary research activities
Call Number: RT81.5 .I587 2015
Competency Assessment Field Guide: a real world guide for implementation and application Have you created a monster with your competency assessment process that you don't want to live with anymore?
In this timely companion to the best-selling, The Ultimate Guide to Competency Assessment in Health Care, Donna Wright provides case studies of successful implementations from a variety of organizations along with answers to the most frequently asked question from the field.
Includes creative solutions to common challenges while providing boatloads of inspiration for the journey ahead.
Call Number: R729.5.H4 W75 2015x
Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement stands apart from other texts on health care finance or health insurance, in that it specifically addresses the methods and process for reimbursement, including coding, reimbursement strategies, compliance, financial reporting, case mix index, and external auditing
Call Number: RA412.3 .H37 2016
Defining HR Success: 9 critical competencies for HR professionals High-quality HR practitioners have advanced skill sets in the critical competencies needed to work our most pressing talent issues of today and to deliver HR strategy to enable businesses to evolve in the future. Now HR professionals are expected to be valued team members and contribute as business partners for the growth of the organization. Defining HR Success provides an in-depth review and application of the nine critical HR competencies practitioners need to be successful within the field of HR and leaders of their organizations: * HR Expertise (HR Knowledge) * Business acumen * Communication * Consultation * Critical evaluation * Ethical practice * Global and cultural effectiveness * Leadership and navigation * Relationship management
Call Number: HF5549 .S89426 2015
Leadership and the New Science: discovering order in a chaotic world An Amazon Top 10 book, this influential classic has been translated into 17 languages. This expanded edition includes a new chapter on search engines, viral marketing, and non-linear organizations such as ebay. The book shows how discoveries in quantum physics, chaos theory and evolutionary biology could change how we manage and view organizations."One of the top ten business books of all time." --Xerox Business Services Magazine
Call Number: HD57.7 .W47 2006
HBR Guide to Managing Conflict at Work: understanding the players, manage your emotions, move on A game plan for managing conflict at work -- Section 1: Preparing for conflict before it happens -- 1. Types of conflict -- 2. Your options for handling conflict -- 3. Recognize your natural tendency -- Section 2: Managing a conflict -- 4. Assess the situation -- 5. Get ready for the conversation -- 6. Have a productive conversation -- Section 3: Resolving a conflict -- 7. Get to a resolution and make a plan -- 8. Move on after the fight -- 9. Navigate common situations.
Call Number: HD42 .G35 2015x
Take Charge of Your Healthcare Management Career: 50 lessons that drive success Success isn t something you are born with it is carefully cultivated and mastered. And a job, when it works well, can fit like a glove and provide you with immense personal and professional satisfaction. This book s 50 succinct lessons will guide you as you begin your career in healthcare management and help you achieve success and professional fulfillment whatever your role.
Each of the 50 lessons outlines traits, behaviors, and skills needed to maximize strengths, master career success, and achieve the perfect job fit. White and Lindsey, in various academic and healthcare management roles, have provided career counseling for hundreds of students and early careerists. This book compiles their advice and the lessons they ve learned from those interactions. Each lesson concludes with helpful exercises that will prompt self-reflection and recommended resources for additional information
Call Number: RA971.35 .W45 2015
The Guide to Healthcare Reform: readings and commentary The Affordable Care Act (ACA) is the most comprehensive attempt to improve the American healthcare system in the past 50 years. This one-of-a-kind book walks through the evolution of the ACA and helps readers better understand its history, fundamental aspects, and implementation to date.
For this book, the author has assembled the most relevant readings from a wide variety of books, journals, and magazines. Tapping into his experience as a former healthcare executive, policy analyst, and lobbyist, McLaughlin shares his professional insight on the ACA through an analysis of the key theories that underlie the law, discussion of the significant impact of the new policies, and commentary on the readings.
Together, the readings and commentary allow readers to understand:
The principles that were used to create the ACA Major elements of the ACA that support: Population health and wellness Chronic disease management Improved quality and productivity A sustainable safety net Health insurance expansion and improvement Payment policies to achieve these goals The ACA as a part of the health policy development and advocacy process Current examples of the implementation of ACA policies in healthcare delivery Future possibilities
This book is suitable for courses on the US healthcare system, health policy, health economics, and strategy. It is also valuable for healthcare professionals who seek to expand their understanding of the healthcare system, especially in light of the changes brought by the ACA. Practical strategy implementations based on many of the policies contained in the ACA will appeal to both students and professionals.
Call Number: KF3605 .G85 2015
New Videos & Audiobooks
Lift: The fundamental state of leadership by Lift describes four mindsets that, together, enable us to have a consistently positive influence. Ryan and Robert Quinn combine research and experience to demonstrate how we can elevate ourselves and the situations and people around us to greater heights of integrity, openness, and achievement - the psychological equivalent of aerodynamic lift. Although there are exercises and tools throughout to help you understand and apply the authors' lift framework - as well as compelling stories of personal and professional applications of lift - this is not a book about tactics. Rather, the Quinns challenge you to ask: What can I do to be a positive influence?
Call Number: BF637.L4 Q56 2015
Ambulatory care nursing certification review course (DVD) by Recorded at the 40th Annual Conference of the American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing, held at the Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista, Lake Buena Vista, FL, April 15-18, 2015.
This course will boost your confidence and knowledge as you prepare to take the Ambulatory Care Nursing Certification Exam. Based on the ANCC Test Content Outline for the exam, the course is carefully designed to help you earn the certification you have worked so hard to achieve. The course is also helpful for nurses transitioning to ambulatory care and experienced nurses who would like to refresh their knowledge. Topics are offered in an interactive, problem-solving format to enhance your critical thinking. Please note this course does not grant certification in ambulatory care nursing."
Call Number: DVD886 2015
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012