Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Introduction to Nursing Research: incorporating evidence-based practice Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fourth Edition is a distinct integration of evidence-based practice and research for the baccalaureate nursing student. The text focuses on how students can incorporate research into their daily practice while considering the newest trends and research. The Fourth Edition focuses on the meaning of evidence, the use of quality improvement, and the practical application of these aspects for the practicing healthcare provider. This is not a typical introduction to nursing research book; it is an evidence based practice text that uses research. New to the Fourth Edition New chapter on quality Focus on new articles and research End of chapter quizzes.
Call Number: RT81.5 .B68 2017
Core Curriculum for Medical-Surgical Nursing This Core presents a comprehensive body of knowledge to promote excellence in medical-surgical nursing practice.
Call Number: RD99.35 .C67 2016x
Developing a Program of Research in Nursing Provides expert guidance on the development of a program of research This is the first resource to provide graduate nursing students, students in other health sciences, and novice researchers with the tools and perspective to develop their own programs of research. Grounded in the author's 30 years of experience as a highly esteemed nurse researcher, the book guides nurses step by step through all aspects of program development. It underscores the importance of doing research that is knowledge driven and not limited to a particular method, and describes the characteristics of a successful research program and how to achieve it. It stresses the need for both qualitative and quantitative research methods to develop a valuable program of research. With a major focus on planning for sequential studies and describing potential pathways of a research trajectory, the book addresses options and timing of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-method research designs, along with time-management strategies. Numerous examples of various types of nursing research programs provide insight into potential research paths, and information from the author's own long-term research on postpartum mood and anxiety disorders is used to illustrate concepts throughout the book. The text also includes suggestions for sustaining a research trajectory and provides detailed strategies for publishing successive studies. With an eye to exploring every possible research avenue, the book addresses interdisciplinary collaborative research and international research collaboration. Key Features: Provides specific steps for developing a successful research program in nursing and the health sciences Demonstrates how to use both quantitative and qualitative research methods to produce a knowledge-driven research trajectory Provides time-management strategies for research productivity Explains how to plan for sequential studies and sustain a successful research trajectory Uses concrete examples of research programs, including the author's own programs on postpartum mood and anxiety disorders
Call Number: RT81.5 .B43 2016x
Successful Professional Portfolios for Nursing Students Transforming Nursing Practice is a series tailor made for pre-registration student nurses. Each book in the series is: · Affordable · Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters · Full of active learning features · Focused on applying theory to practice 'A fantastic little book for helping nursing students and qualified nurses to understand what a successful portfolio should look like.' Dr Gabrielle Thorpe, School of Health Sciences, University of East Anglia This book is a simple, quick and easy to use guide to building a professional portfolio for nursing students. Students are required by the NMC to keep an ongoing record of achievement, to demonstrate their competence at each stage of their programme. The portfolio is an essential part of the assessment of practice to demonstrate nursing competence. This book gives a step-by-step and practical explanation of how to compile a professional portfolio to succeed in these assessments. It can be used throughout nursing programmes and into your nursing career as a tool to help with interviews, appraisals and the NMC revalidation process. Key features - Excerpts from other students' portfolios show what makes a good portfolio - Step-by step activities guide you through building your own portfolio - Linked to the latest NMC Standards and ESCs for pre-registration nursing education About the Author Suzanne Reed is an experienced General Manager with many years working at strategic and operational levels in the NHS and Independent Sector. She is currently a freelance writer and a voluntary carer in the community.
Call Number: RT71 .R45 2015
Staff Educator's Guide to Nursing Competencies: assessing and enhancing nurse competency
Call Number: RT51 .J39 2016
Teaching in Nursing: a guide for faculty Set yourself up for success as a nurse educator with the award-winning Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty, 5th Edition. Recommended by the NLN for comprehensive CNE prep, this insightful text is the only one of its kind to cover all three components of teaching: instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. As it walks through the day-to-day challenges of teaching, readers will benefit from its expert guidance on key issues, such as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, and advancements in technology and information. This new edition contains all the helpful narrative that earned this title an AJN Book of the Year award, along with updated information on technology-empowered learning, the flipped classroom, interprofessional collaborative practice, and much more. Coverage of concept-based curricula includes strategies on how to approach and implement concept-based lessons. Extensive information on online education discusses the use of webinars and other practical guidance for effective online instruction. Evidence-based teaching boxes cover issues, such as: how to do evidence-based teaching; applications of evidence-based teaching; implications for faculty development, administration, and the institution; and how to use the open-ended application questions at the end of each chapter for faculty-guided discussion. Strategies to promote critical thinking and active learning are incorporated throughout the text, highlighting various evaluation techniques, lesson planning insights, and tips for developing examinations. Updated research and references address forward-thinking approaches to education and trends for the future. Guidance on teaching in diverse settings addresses topics such as the models of clinical teaching, teaching in interdisciplinary settings, how to evaluate students in the clinical setting, and how to adapt teaching for community-based practice. Strong focus on practical content - including extensive coverage of curriculum development - equips future educators to handle the daily challenges and opportunities of teaching. NEW! Chapter on Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice focuses on the collaboration of care across patient care providers, emphasizing clear communication and shared patient outcomes. NEW! Renamed unit on Curriculum as a Process better reflects the latest QSEN competencies and other leading national standards. NEW! Renamed unit on Technology-Empowered Learning covers the use of technology for learning - including non-traditional course formats, active learning, flipped classrooms, and more.
Call Number: RT71 .T336 2016
Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Socity Core Curriculum. Wound Management This volume in the new Core Curriculum series from WOCN® covers Wound Management, and is the crucial text for nurses practicing or studying wound care. It offers pathology and physiology basics in easy-to-grasp terms, while providing expert guidance on patient management. The perfect study guide for the wound, ostomy and continence (WOC) certification exams, it also provides step-by-step direction on essential nursing procedures. The evidence-based, easy-to-follow format of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Wound Management facilitates your comprehension of: o Skin anatomy and physiology o Physiology of wound healing o Principles of wound assessment and management o Nutritional assessment and support. Step-by-step instruction leads you through care planning and delivery, including oncology-related skin and wound care, and palliative care. o End-of-chapter Q&As help you remember all vital points o Clinical pearls highlight important takeaways o Numerous full-color photos, diagrams, and tables aid understanding of vital topics. Practical directions cover: o Wound cleansing and dressing selection o Skin and soft tissue injury caused by mechanical factors o Pressure ulcer prevention o Venous, arterial, and neuropathic wounds o Wounds due to lower-extremity arterial disease and neuropathic disease o Surgical wounds o Management of patients with percutaneous tubes; fistula management o Skin and wound care for neonatal, pediatric, geriatric, and bariatric populations, and the spinal cord-injured patient. Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society(tm) Core Curriculum: Wound Management is essential for nursing students in wound care programs; nurses involved in wound care; nurses in gastroenterology, urology, and surgical nursing; graduate nursing students; those seeking WOC certification or recertification; and nursing faculty. Also available as an e-book at other major retailers
Call Number: RD93 .W68 2016
Ethnographic Research in Maternal and Child Health A unique and innovative resource for conducting ethnographic research in health care settings, Ethnographic Research in Maternal and Child Healthprovides a combination of ethnographic theory and an international selection of empirical case studies. The book begins with an overview of the origins and development of ethnography as a methodology, discussing underpinning theoretical perspectives, key methods and challenges related to conducting this type of research. The following substantive chapters present and reflect on ethnographic studies conducted in the fields of maternal and child health, neonatal nursing, midwifery and reproductive health. Designed for academics, postgraduate students and health practitioners within maternal and child health, family health, medical sociology, medical anthropology, medicine, midwifery, neonatal care, paediatrics, social anthropology and public health, the book will also illuminate issues that can help health practitioners to improve service delivery.
Call Number: RG940 .E83 2016x
Expert Clinician to Novice Nurse Educator: learning from first-hand narratives Research shows that the sharing of personal, first-hand stories not only enhances learning and eases the transition to a new role, but also helps novice educators understand that their challenges are shared by others. With the goal of improving the experience of nurses transitioning from clinician to educator, in hospitals as well as schools of nursing, this unique book presents the stories of nurses who made this transition. It presents the findings of several qualitative studies addressing the question, "What is the lived experience of clinicians as they assume new roles as clinical nurse educators?" These narratives describe the challenges they faced and the transformations in each nurse's identity and relationships during the transition process. The text includes recommendations from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching along with specific problem-solving strategies. The narratives are from nurse clinicians, nurse educators, and students, who provide insights into such common dilemmas faced by novice educators as, "How do I keep a patient safe while allowing the student nurse to practice a skill for the first time?" "If a student is slow to catch on to a procedure, how long do I wait before they fail?" "How do I help provide a safe and effective learning environment for new graduate nurses?" The book includes stories of students who describe positive and negative experiences with clinical nurse educators. Stories address cultural diversity, bullying, and dilemmas related to critical and ethical thinking. Nurse educators themselves share insights into what they wish they had done differently to guide students and new graduate nurses in their learning. While these storytellers have diverse clinical and educational backgrounds, there are consistent similarities among the experiences they describe. One common thread is the need to embrace the role of a novice in order to succeed. The book serves as a valuable text for graduate students in nurse educator courses as well as students and nurses seeking support, insight, and inspiration in their transition to the clinical nurse educator role. Key Features: Presents experiential narratives from nurses who made the transition from clinician to educator Describes important aspects of a nurse's transition from the role of clinical expert to that of novice educator Includes research-based insights in a highly accessible style and format Integrates National League for Nursing Core Competencies into the text Provides inspiring, helpful, and comforting guidance for nurse clinicians feeling lost or confused in a new role
Call Number: RT90 .S67 2016
Routledge Handbook on the Global History of Nursing A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title 2014! 2014 winner of the American Association for the History of Nursing's Mary M. Roberts Award for Exemplary Historical Research and Writing! The Routledge Handbook on the Global History of Nursing brings together leading scholars and scholarship to capture the state of the art and science of nursing history, as a generation of researchers turn to the history of nursing with new paradigms and methodological tools. Inviting readers to consider new understandings of the historical work and worth of nursing in a larger global context, this ground-breaking volume illuminates how research into the history of nursing moves us away from a reductionist focus on diseases and treatments and towards more inclusive ideas about the experiences of illnesses on individuals, families, communities, voluntary organizations, and states at the bedside and across the globe. An extended introduction by the editors provides an overview and analyzes the key themes involved in the transmission of ideas about the care of the sick. Organized into four parts, and addressing nursing around the globe, it covers: New directions in the history of nursing; New methodological approaches; The politics of nursing knowledge; Nursing and its relationship to social practice. Exploring themes of people, practice, politics and places, this cutting edge volume brings together the best of nursing history scholarship, and is a vital reference for all researchers in the field, and is also relevant to those studying on nursing history and health policy courses.
Call Number: RT31 .R68 2016
Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual! Perform pressure monitoring safely, accurately, and confidently with the freshly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual! Hundreds of drawings, flow charts, photos, and diagrams offer essential background on cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology, nursing principles, and current hemodynamic monitoring technology, in the popular and colorful Made Incredibly Visual style. This easy-to-follow, easy-to-remember content will help you prepare for the NCLEX or certification exam, get clear on concepts discussed in class, and simply upgrade your pressure monitoring skills. The updated 3rd edition of Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual! includes brand new and updated content covering . . . o Current nursing practice guidelines for hemodynamic monitoring o Complete and current directions for procedures such as: changing a CV dressing; CV and PA catheter insertion; arterial line insertion; handling a displaced arterial li≠ and troubleshooting pressure monitoring systems o Directions and images that explain the latest pressure monitoring technology, and current circulatory and ventricular assist devices You'll also get colorful, real-life guidance on vital topics and step-by-step monitoring guidelines including: o Anatomy and functions of the cardiac and pulmonary systems o Pressure monitoring systems - square wave testing; leveling and zeroing the transducer o Arterial pressure monitoring o Central venous pressure monitoring o Pulmonary artery pressure monitoring o Cardiac output monitoring o Tissue oxygenation and monitoring o Minimally invasive hemodynamic monitoring Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual's easy-to-read format will help you learn how to deliver safe and accurate monitoring with: * Special features help you retain vital information: * Q & A - Illustrated riddles, diagrams, and questions at end of each chapter help you retain vital information * On the Level - Defines normal and abnormal pressure readings for different patient conditions * Ride the Wave - Explains the actions of waveforms, including how to recognize abnormal waveforms
Call Number: RC670.5.H45 H46 2016
Numeracy in Children's Nursing and Healthcare Numeracy in Children's Nursing and Healthcare is a handy, practical book which highlights the importance of numbers, numeracy and calculations in children's nursing practice, instilling nursing students and qualified nurses with confidence and competence when working with numbers and calculating drug doses. This accessible guide covers all aspects of numeracy from basic skills through to complex drug administration, and provides case studies throughout enabling the reader to apply the theory to practice. Each chapter adopts the same accessible and easy-to-follow format, featuring learning outcomes, a case scenario, key numeracy information, hints and tips, activities and exercises, and a glossary of terms.
Call Number: RJ253 .P37 2015
Guide to Nursing's Social Policy Statement Nursing is often called a helping profession: Nursing's Social Policy Statement is about the many ways that nursing helps others. It is about the relationship-the social contract-between the nursing profession and society and their reciprocal expectations. This arrangement authorizes nurses as professionals to meet the needs involved in the care, and health of patients and clients and the health of society. It helps nurses engage in the political and legislative action that supports nursing education, research, and practice to better influence that health and care; and to understand the social ethics and justice that affect global and individual health. But what does that mean now? The new Guide to Nursing's Social Policy Statement unpacks it for the 21st century nurse: Social contract in theory and practice Nursing's own social contract and its 16 distinct elements Nursing and the common good and what constitutes the common good today Citizenship, civic engagement, and civic professionalism of nurses Professions and what they are, how they can get broken and mended, and nursing as a profession The interplay of the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements and Nursing's Social Policy Statement Nursing's social covenant (by which nursing goes beyond its social contract) Nursing's involvement in public and global health Suitable for courses and professional development activities in nursing curriculum, ethics, leadership, research, and role development, the Guide to Nursing's Social Policy Statement clarifies foundational concepts of the nursing-society relationship, the breadth of ways in which nurses might exercise their passion for the profession, a vision for nursing's social evolution, and much more!
Call Number: RT82 .F68 2015x
ACNPC Exam Parts 1 & 2 Study Guide: your key to exam success
Call Number: RT82.8 .A25 2015x pt.1 & pt. 2
Juggling Life, Work, and Caregiving A staggering 42 million Americans one in four adults face the challenges of caring for an adult friend or relative. Although caregiving can be a richly rewarding and joyful experience, the role comes with enormous responsibilities and pressures. AARP s gentle guide provides practical resources and tips that are easy to find when you need them, whether you re caregiving day to day, planning for future needs, or in the middle of a crisis. Equally important, this book helps you care for the caregiver you before, during, and after caregiving. Author Amy Goyer, an expert in aging and families, offers insight, inspiration, and poignant stories and experiences of caregivers, including her own as a live-in caregiver for her parents."
Call Number: KF3737 .G69 2015
What Color Is Your Brain? When Caring for Patients The differences in personalities and how they shade our perceptions can affect the way healthcare professionals communicate and interact with patients, colleagues, and other individuals in their workplace. Discovering and understanding your own strengths and idiosyncrasies while adapting to others can be an overwhelming task. In response to this common frustration, What Color Is Your Brain? When Caring for Patients: An Easy Approach for Understanding Your Personality Type and Your Patient's Perspective explains the distinctive similarities and differences that impact your daily thoughts and actions. Sheila Glazov, joined by nurse Denise Knoblauch, created colorful personality profiles that simplify the complex nature of the healthcare professionals' attributes and abilities in the workplace while interacting with their patients. What Color Is Your Brain? When Caring for Patients is intended to facilitate effective communication and cooperation and minimize stress and frustration in numerous aspects of your work day. Take the Healthcare Professional "No Right or Wrong Answer" Brain Quiz to effectively analyze your unique characteristics to determine your Brain Colors and to recognize your unique traits and talents in your workplace. Then, read and enjoy the relevant and motivating anecdotal stories from 25 healthcare professionals, which are strategically placed throughout the book. Rather than offer an excuse for people's behavior, this book helps to explain why your perspective differs from or relates to the viewpoints of others. Engaging, educational, and easy to read, What Color Is Your Brain? When Caring for Patients is a guide to discovering and decoding who you are, why others see you the way they do, and how the four Brain Colors play a role in your career and workplace. -Yellow Brainers are Meticulous, Dedicated, Structured, and Loyal -Blue Brainers are Collaborative, Adaptable, Cheerful, and Helpful -Green Brainers are Analytical, Cautious, Calm, and Fair-Minded -Orange Brainers are Spontaneous, Energetic, Optimistic, and Easy-Going After reading What Color Is Your Brain? When Caring for Patients, you will have the knowledge and know-how to: Assess your personality and determine how to productively use your attributes and abilities in the workplace Increase your awareness and appreciation for others' perspectives and differences Create caring, collaborative, and harmonious relationships Understand each color-filled communication style and meet the needs of others Apply the personality principles and tailor communications to fit the Brain Color lobes of each individual Build rapport and appropriately approach patients to offer exceptional care Eliminate stress and solve problems by understanding your patients' and co-workers' perspectives What Color Is Your Brain? When Caring for Patients: An Easy Approach for Understanding Your Personality Type and Your Patient's Perspective explores the essential pieces of the puzzle that is human interaction. With the help of this dynamic book, determining your own Brain Colors and learning to improve your communication and collaboration with patients, colleagues, administrators, and others is bound to be a no-brainer.
Call Number: BF698.3 .G63 2016
Anzac Girls: the extraordinary story of our World Ward I Nurses By the end of World War I, 45 Australian and New Zealand nurses had died on overseas service, and over 200 had been decorated. These were the women who left for war looking for adventure and romance, but were soon confronted with challenges for which their civilian lives could never have prepared them. Their strength and dignity were remarkable. Using diaries and letters, Peter Rees takes us into the hospital camps and the wards and the tent surgeries on the edge of some of the most horrific battlefronts of human history. But he also allows the friendships and loves of these courageous and compassionate women to enrich their experiences, and ours. Profoundly moving, this is a story of extraordinary courage and humanity shown by a group of women whose contribution to the Anzac legend has barely been recognized in our history. Peter Rees has changed that understanding forever.
Call Number: D629.A8 R44 2014
Management/Employee Development Books
The Emotional Intelligence Activity Kit: 50 easy and effective exercises for building EQ Imagine what would happen if you could quickly elevate the EQ score of everyone in your organization. Profitability, retention, and customer satisfaction would soar! Studies prove that emotional intelligence—knowing how to manage emotions, empathize, build relationships, and more—drives performance. But how do you get naturally resistant people to practice new ways of thinking? Trainers, coaches, and organizational development professionals can now break through and trigger lasting EQ improvements. The fifty original activities in The Emotional Intelligence Activity Kithelp: Promote introspection • Increase empathy • Improve social skills • Boost personal influence • Inspire purpose • Bring everyone on board • Make learning stick From setup instructions to debriefing questions, these simple exercises are quick to deploy and target key areas that benefit most from EQ training: leadership, project management, customer service, teamwork, sales, and more. Know-it-all bosses, overcompetitive colleagues, or leaders who rarely leave their offices—common EQ problems such as these damage not just camaraderie, but also results. Fix them fast, and create thriving, successful organizations.
Call Number: BF576.3 .L96 2016
Training in Motion: how to use movement to creat engagning and effective learning When people are kept from moving—whether they're sitting through a presentation or stuck behind a desk—they become restless and their attention waivers. Yet most training ignores the innate human desire for motion, resulting in participants learning less. Based on the latest neuroscience research, Training in Motionexplains how movement enhances learning and introduces a unique and highly effective way to energize an audience and increase retention through simple body-focused techniques. The book shows readers how to: Tie lessons to movement to reinforce concepts • Manage learners' physical and emotional states to increase engagement and bolster memory • Use posture, physical gestures, and other movements to command interest • Employ quick physical breaks to efficiently refocus students • Turn lackluster sessions into high-achieving learning environments Practical, accessible, and packed with activities, this one-of-a-kind book helps readers add a kinesthetic component to their training so that participants stay motivated, and apply what they've learned long after they've left the classroom.
Call Number: BF295 .K83 2015
What to Do When You're New: how to be comfortable, confident, and successful in new situations Have you ever felt nervous in new situations? Reluctant to introduce yourself? Afraid to ask questions? We all have. But if you let those worries stop you, you may miss out on real opportunity. Whether you’re changing jobs, joining a group, or moving to a new city, putting yourself out there enriches life and brings rewards. What to Do When You’re New combines the author’s research with that of leading scientists to explain why we are so uneasy in new situations—and how we can learn to become more confident and successful newcomers. With practice, anyone can get better at being new. This original book opens your eyes to the necessary skills and teaches you how to: • Overcome fears • Make great first impressions • Talk to strangers with ease • Get up to speed quickly • Connect with people wherever you go Blending stories and insights with simple techniques and exercises, this one-of-a-kind guide will get you out of your comfort zone and trying new things in no time.
Call Number: BF575.S39 R65 2015
The Big Book of Brain-Storming Games: quick, effective activities that encourage out-of-the-box thinking, improve collaboration and spark great ideas Spark the next great business idea by igniting your team's passion and creativity Innovating breakthrough products, services, solutions, and marketing ideas are some of the most important challenges you face as a manager. Don't wrack your brain trying to catch that "eureka" moment alone; unleash your team's creative power with The Big Book of Brainstorming Games. This book is packed with physical and verbal exercises to help you organize and run a brainstorming session that engages all personality types. Get those creative juices flowing with expert guidance and dozens of enjoyable group activities to help you: Frame challenges to give team members structure and context Master the proven "Four Rules of Brainstorming" for amazing results Create an environment of trust that encourages and inspires valuable contributions from people from all backgrounds and at all levels The best ideas can come from anywhere! The Big Book of Brainstorming Games gives you the tools and knowledge to build a solid, structured foundation for free-form interaction and fearless conceptualizing. Now you can get everyone in on the game and make great things happen!
Call Number: HD30.26 .S34 2012
Leadership in Health Care This bestselling textbook helps students understand how important leadership skills are, at whatever level they are working at, as well as how to develop into a leader themselves. It supports students in getting to grips with essential theories and thinking critically about how these can be used to improve practice for quality patient care. The new edition covers the whole spectrum of topics relevant to leadership and management, including areas that people commonly struggle with such as conflict and delegation. Key features: · A website with videos of the authors explaining difficult concepts, exercises to help students apply theory to practice and weblinks to further resources · Case scenarios which demonstrate leadership in action across a variety of settings . Up-to-date, including the implications of the Francis report
Call Number: RA394.9 .B37 2016x
Applied Meta-Analysis for Social Science Research Offering pragmatic guidance for planning and conducting a meta-analytic review, this book is written in an engaging, nontechnical style that makes it ideal for graduate course use or self-study. The author shows how to identify questions that can be answered using meta-analysis, retrieve both published and unpublished studies, create a coding manual, use traditional and unique effect size indices, and write a meta-analytic review. An ongoing example illustrates meta-analytic techniques. In addition to the fundamentals, the book discusses more advanced topics, such as artifact correction, random- and mixed-effects models, structural equation representations, and multivariate procedures. User-friendly features include annotated equations; discussions of alternative approaches; and ""Practical Matters"" sections that give advice on topics not often discussed in other books, such as linking meta-analytic results with theory and the utility of meta-analysis software programs.
Call Number: HA29 .C373 2016x
Managing Arts Programs in Healthcare A growing body of research demonstrates how the arts - including literary, performing and visual arts as well as architecture and design - can greatly enhance the experience of healthcare, contributing to improved health outcomes, a better patient experience and lower healthcare costs. This unique book provides an overview of what the arts in healthcare can achieve and how to implement the arts in the most effective manner. Exploring possibilities for innovative program design and implementation - from healing gardens through public performances to bedside activities - the text draws on examples from a wide range of arts. The book then goes on to look at how programs can be aimed at specific populations and fields, such as children, palliative care and caregivers. This comprehensive book is an invaluable reference for all those studying or engaged in creating, designing, managing and evaluating arts in healthcare programs and initiatives.
Call Number: RC489.A7 M36 2016
Knowing Y: Engage the Next Generation Now Their population numbers surpass the baby boomer generation. They will constitute the majority of the workforce by 2015 and their annual spending will total over 2.4 trillion by 2018. Yet many associations and their leaders are waiting for Generation Y to come of age and change their engagement habits to mirror the habits of previous generations who joined associations as their careers and age advanced. That's a nice thought but should you bank your association's future on it? I wouldn't.
Generation Y is changing. They're changing the workforce picture, the global economy, the expectations of value, and they're changing the expectations of the generations before them. It's the trickle-up effect. Just as the early users of Facebook, all of whom were college students, eventually changed the baby boomer's interest in Facebook from very little in the beginning to more than 10 million users by 2010.
Generation Y has a different set of needs, interests, and values as author Sarah Sladek conveys with convincing statistics, examples, and case studies. And these needs and interests have implications for every functional area of associations from advocacy to technology to websites. The more you learn about this generation and the more you embrace the change occurring during this workforce transition, the better off your organization will be.
Call Number: AS6 .S564 2014x
Stress Less. Achieve More: simple ways to turn pressure into a positive force in your life With greater workplace demands comes greater stress—and it’s taking a toll on our productivity and well-being. The standard recommendations are to exercise, meditate, eat better. But who has time for yoga poses amid nonstop meetings and pressing deadlines? Stress reduction becomes one more thing to do! Executive coach and psychotherapist Aimee Bernstein offers a more effective and realistic approach: embrace the pressure. See it as an energy source. Tap into its flow to accomplish more while feeling calm and centered. It’s a counterintuitive message that frenzied professionals can actually use. Stress Less. Achieve More. delivers relief for the overwhelmed. Part training manual, part spiritual guide, the book uncovers a total mental/physical/emotional formula to: Stop reacting defensively • Retrain natural responses to stress triggers • Resolve conflicts harmoniously • Energize fatigued teammates • Relax in difficult situations In today’s overbooked world, pressure is almost impossible to avoid. But with the tips, techniques, and exercises in Stress Less. Achieve More., you can turn it into your ally—and thrive under even the most demanding circumstances.
Call Number: RA785 .B4845 2015
Win the Customer: 70 simple rules for sensational service Great companies distinguish themselves from the competition by providing their customers with something truly special, something beyond price point that can't be duplicated: unique, outstanding customer service experiences. Win the Customer cuts right to the chase, giving readers practical, powerful techniques for energizing the way they interact with the people who drive their business. Filled with examples and inspiration, the book shows readers how to: Align the business around a customer service mission - Make every employee a customer service agent - Create an environment in which exceptional service experiences can happen - Humanize customer service, virtually and in person - Find a way to say "yes' even when the answer is "no' - Ask fewer questions-and provide more answers - Use words that win customers - Empower employees to find innovative solutions - Learn from your critics - Exploit your customer's pain points, but never the customer - Allow for random acts of WOW-they're often the most memorable - And much more When it comes to service, satisfaction is a short-sighted goal. Follow the simple rules in this book and transform ordinary customersinto lifelong fans. "
Call Number: HF5415.5 .M173 2016
The Optimistic Workplace: creating an environment that energizes everyone When it comes to work these days, we’re expected to do more with less—but is this nose-to-the-grindstone philosophy the best way to run a business? Alarmingly low employee engagement numbers indicate otherwise. So, if pushing everyone harder isn’t the path to productivity, what is? Supported by the latest research, this eye-opening book argues that our best work is the product of a positive environment. That’s good news for you as a manager. While you can’t personally transform the corporate culture, you can influence the workplace climate and create meaningful and lasting change. Advocating a steward model of management, The Optimistic Workplace reveals how to: Explore personal and organizational purpose—and align them for astonishing results • Overcome resistance and skepticism • Build camaraderie and deepen loyalty • Increase intrinsic motivation • Help your team find meaning in their work • Identify goals collaboratively and track progress • And more Examples from companies large and small demonstrate how this people-centric focus ignites employee potential, increases innovation, and catapults the organization to new levels of performance. Far from being a wish-upon-a-star discussion of workplace happiness, this book presents an array of surprisingly simple strategies as well as practical 30-, 60-, and 90-day plans designed to focus your actions and make employee optimism not just a worthy goal—but a real and measurable result.
Call Number: HD7261 .M87 2016
Talking to Crazy: how to deal with the irrational and impossible people in your life Let's face it, we all know people who are irrational. No matter how hard you try to reason with them, it never works. So what's the solution? How do you talk to someone who's out of control? What can you do with a boss who bullies, a spouse who yells, or a friend who frequently bursts into tears? In his book, Just Listen, Mark Goulston shared his bestselling formula for getting through to the resistant people in your life. Now, in his breakthrough new book Talking to Crazy, he brings his communication magic to the most difficult group of all-the downright irrational. As a psychiatrist, Goulston has seen his share of crazy and he knows from experience that you can't simply argue it away. The key to handling irrational peopleis to learn to lean into the crazy-to empathize with it. That radically changes the dynamic and transforms you from a threat into an ally. Talking to Crazy explains this counterintuitive Sanity Cycle and reveals: Why people act the way they do - How instinctive responses can exacerbate the situation-and what to do instead - When to confront a problem and when to walk away - How to use a range of proven techniques including Time Travel, the Fish-bowl, and the Belly Roll - And much more You can't reason with unreasonable people-but you can reach them. This powerful and practical book shows you how. "By giving readers the words and theories, Goulston elevates a good book into a great one.' - Success Magazine"... most conflicts in the workplace simply involve very difficult people who can make life miserable. Talking to Crazy offers much-needed guidance for those seeking a solution to these all-too-common conflicts.' - Soundview"This is a great book for managers who know that some situations - a negative review, the announcement of organizational change - can bring out the crazy in anyone.' - Inc.com"... explains why people act in unreasonable ways, giving insight in to the brain's natural defense mechanisms and how to recognize an irrational person's modus operandi.' - Industrial Engineer Magazine "
Call Number: BF637.I48 G68 2016
Why Should Anyone Work Here?: what it takes to create an authentic organizatoin Imagine designing the best company on earth to work for . . . What would that company be like? How would you build and sustain it? As a leader, you need to know. In the past, businesses made people conform to the organization’s needs. But the old paradigm has shifted. Now leaders must transform their organizations so that they attract the right people, keep them, and inspire them to do their best work. How do you create a culture people want to belong to? In this powerful and necessary follow-up to the classicWhy Should Anyone Be Led by You?, leadership and organizational sages Rob Goffee and Gareth Jones identify and illuminate the six key organizational attributes to do just that. In separate chapters, they delve deeply into each one: 1. Let people be themselves 2. Practice radical honesty 3. Magnify people’s strengths 4. Stand for authenticity (more than shareholder value) 5. Make work meaningful 6. Make simple rules With vivid stories and examples from global companies, the authors illustrate the kind of strong, attractive workplace culture that leads to sustained high performance. They also provide ways of assessing how your company is doing and describe the tensions and trade-offs that leaders must manage as they transform their organizations. Why Should Anyone Work Here? is the question all contemporary organizational leaders must constantly ask themselves if they want to survive and thrive in the new world. This book will help them answer that question.
Call Number: HD58.7 .G64155 2015
An Epidemic of Empathy in Healthcare: how to deliver campassionate, connected patient care that creates a competitive advantage The best strategies in healthcare begin with empathy Revolutionary advances in medical knowledge have caused doctors to become so focused on their narrow fields of expertise that they often overlook the simplest fact of all: their patients are suffering. This suffering goes beyond physical pain. It includes the fear, uncertainty, anxiety, confusion, mistrust, and waiting that so often characterize modern healthcare. One of healthcare's most acclaimed thought leaders, Dr. Thomas H. Lee shows that world-class medical treatment and compassionate care are not mutually exclusive. In An Epidemic of Empathy in Healthcare, he argues that we must have it both ways--that combining advanced science with empathic care is the only way to build the health systems our society needs and deserves. Organizing providers so that care is compassionate and coordinated is not only the right thing to do for patients, it also forms the core of strategy in healthcare's competitive new marketplace. It provides business advantages to organizations that strive to reduce human suffering effectively, reliably, and efficiently. Lee explains how to develop a culture that treats the patient, not the malady, and he provides step-by-step guidance for unleashing an "epidemic of empathy" by: Developing a shared understanding of the overarching goal--meeting patients' needs and reducing their suffering Making empathic care a social norm rather than the focus of economic incentives Pinpointing and addressing the most significant causes of patient suffering Collecting and using data to drive improvement Healthcare is entering a new era driven by competition on value--meeting patients' needs as efficiently as possible. Leaders must make the choice either to move forward and build a new culture designed for twenty-first-century medicine or to maintain old models and practices and be left behind. Lee argues that empathic care resonates with the noblest values of all clinicians. If healthcare organizations can help caregivers live up to these values and focus on alleviating their patients' suffering, they hold the key to improving value-based care and driving business success. Join the compassionate care movement and unleash an epidemic of empathy! Thomas H. Lee, MD, is Chief Medical Officer of Press Ganey, with more than three decades of experience in healthcare performance improvement as a practicing physician, a leader in provider organizations, researcher, and health policy expert. He is a Professor (Part-time) of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health.
Call Number: RA971 .L44 2016x
The Confidence Effect: every women's guide to the attitude that attracts success Every day, talented, hardworking women are passed over for promotions. While it's easy to blame a corporate culture that favors men, seasoned executive Grace Killelea identifies another culprit: a surprising disparity in confidence. Men are prone to overestimate their abilities, while women too often sell themselves short. TheConfidence Effect helps women speak out, take risks, and assume leadership positions with assurance. The book moves beyond research and statistics to focus on what's really important: how women can become more confident, one step at a time. Practical strategies show how to turn job competency into the kind of authentic confidence that gets noticed. Women learn to practice the Four Rs of Success-relationships, reputation, results, and resilience-dipping in for tips and tools on how to: Build circles of influence - Seize opportunities they normally avoid - Leverage and promote their skills - Cultivate executive presence - Use data compellingly - Bounce back from setbacks - And more With this powerful new book, women everywhere will find the confidence they needto step off the sidelines onto the playing field-and claim the success they deserve. "... help[s] women stand out as both competent and confident to realize the professional achievement they deserve... how to speak out, take risks and assume leadership positions with assurance.' - Life & Health Advisor "
Call Number: HD6054.3 .K45 2016
People and Organizations: explorations of human-centered design This book is about people who operate, maintain, design, research, and manage complex systems, ranging from air traffic control systems, process control plants and manufacturing facilities to industrial enterprises, government agencies and universities. The focus is on the nature of the work these types of people perform, as well as the human abilities and limitations that usually enable and sometimes hinder their work. In particular, this book addresses how to best enhance abilities and overcome limitations, as well as foster acceptance of the means to these ends.
Call Number: TA166 .R68 2007
Library Analytics and Metrics: using data to drive decisions and services This book will enable libraries to make informed decisions, develop new services and improve user experience by collecting, analysing and utilising data. With the wealth of data available to library and information services, analytics are the key to understanding your users and your field of operations better and improving the services that you offer. This book sets out the opportunities that analytics present to libraries, and provides inspiration for how they can use the data within their systems to help inform decisions and drive services. Using case studies to provide real-life examples of current developments and services, and packed full of practical advice and guidance for libraries looking to realise the value of their data, this will be an essential guide for librarians and information professionals. This volume will bring together a group of internationally recognised experts to explore some of the key issues in the exploitation of data analytics and metrics in the library and cultural heritage sectors, including: the role of data in helping inform decision making; approaches to collecting, analysing and utilising data; using analytics to develop new services and improve the user experience; the opportunities of library data as 'big data'; the role of 'small data' in delivering meaningful interventions for users; practical advice on managing the risks and ethics of data analytics; how analytics can help uncover new types of impact and value for institutions and organisations. This book will be an invaluable resource to librarians and library directors interested in developing a data-driven approach to their service provision and decision making, and to those involved in the delivery and development of services, management of library systems and infrastructure as well as those who liaise with students and researchers. Students on library and information science courses will find this a useful tool. The book will also be of relevance to those managers and practitioners in other cultural heritage sectors such as museums, archives and galleries.
Call Number: Z669.8 .L537 2015x
Mayo Clinic: the 2020 Initiative Harvard Business Review Case Study .In 2008 Mayo Clinic Formed the 2020 Initiative to develop a strategic plan for transforming the clinic over the next 12 years. Dr. John Noseworthy, focused on how to ensure Mayo Clinic's relevance for the next century in 2013. This is a review of the progress of Mayo Clinic in that endeavor.
Call Number: Pamphlet 2306
Bridging Worlds: the future role of the healthcare strategist At SHSMD Connections 2014, the Society for Healthcare Strategy & Market Development (SHSMD) unveiled the transformational report, Bridging Worlds: The Future Role of the Healthcare Strategist. This report offers an unprecedented look into how the healthcare strategy professions-including planning, marketing, business development, physician relations, and communications-will evolve in the coming years. SHSMD used an innovative design process with project partner HDR to gain insights from a variety of strategy professionals and executives working both inside and outside healthcare about what ideas, skills, and tools will be needed for future roles and organizations' success. The experts identified five major implications: Be nimble to exceed the rate of change Tell stories, create experiences Integrate and co-create Erase boundaries of business Generate data-driven insight
Call Number: Pamphlet 2307
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2014, 2013, 2012