Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Essentials of Perioperative Nursing Essentials of Perioperative Nursing, Sixth Edition is an essential reference for new perioperative nurses as well as experienced nurses who need a refresher. Succinct and easy to use, it addresses the basics associated with navigating the perioperative environment rather than a procedure-oriented approach. Ideal for nurses, students, and perioperative nursing staff, it is also a helpful study guide for CNOR certification. Completely updated and revised, the Sixth Edition reflects the most current research findings, literature reviews, and the latest Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) perioperative guidelines. In addition, it features a greater emphasis on safety, new surgical modalities, and approaches to sterilizing surgical instruments and equipment. Each chapter contains objectives, a lesson plan, study questions, a post-test, and a competency checklist to help organize, assess, and reinforce learning. Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook and Navigate 2 TestPrep
Call Number: RD32.3 .S65 2017
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique For over 50 years, Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique, 13th Edition has been the text of choice for understanding basic surgical principles and techniques. Highly readable, accurate, and comprehensive, it clearly covers the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format that makes it easy to effectively apply basic principles to clinical practice. Expert author Nancymarie Phillips emphasizes the importance of teamwork throughout, with practical strategies and examples of how cooperation among perioperative caregivers contributes to positive patient care outcomes. With a strong focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients, this updated and expanded new edition gives students the knowledge they need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Detailed information on the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles enhances your understanding of basic surgical principles and techniques. Emphasis on teamwork among perioperative caregivers encourages cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help you learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care parameters of all patients. Focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients gives you the knowledge you need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Content on perioperative patient care for both inpatient and ambulatory procedures highlights key considerations for each setting, as well as for individual surgical procedures. Chapter outlines with page numbers, chapter objectives, and key terms and definitions help you quickly find important information and focus your study time. New illustrations reflect new and changing perioperative procedures, and provide you with key safety information like how to maintain a sterile field, gown, and glove. Enhanced TEACH manual and extensive Evolve resources maximize classroom learning. All Evolve materials are highlighted within the text. Step-by-step coverage of the foundations of surgical techniques enables you to effectively apply basic principles to practice. Additional and updated tables and boxes call attention to the most important concepts from the text. References highlight the evidence-based practice approach used throughout the text. Enhanced! A strong safety focus includes increased coverage of malignant hyperthermia, bullying and zero-tolerance policies, airway fire, verbal orders, medications, patient identification, pharmacology for bariatric patients, calculating blood loss, National Patient Safety Goals, and more. NEW! "Pros and Cons" boxes provide the positive and negative aspects of specific perioperative practices, allowing nurses to better understand their choices in patient care. Improved! Emphasis on quality gives you the most current information on magnet status, performing an effective 5-minute assessment, the nurse practitioner as first assistant, accurately marking specimens, patient positioning, surgical conscience, and working with outsiders inside the OR environment. NEW! Coverage of new equipment, including: sponge-counting machines, Lapra-TY, silver-infused dressings, neat suture books, and more. NEW! Body Spectrum added to Evolve site to help you review anatomy and physiology.
Call Number: RD32.3 .P48 2017
Guidelines for Perioperative Practice
Call Number: RD32.3 .P475 2016x
Perianesthesia Nursing Standards, Practice Recommendations and Interpretive Statements 2015-2017
Call Number: RD82 .A437 2015/2017x
Moving and Handling Patients at a Glance A clear, concise and comprehensive guide to moving and handling patients Superbly illustrated, with full colour photographs throughout Practice-oriented and based on the latest evidence to provide safe and effective patient care Ideal for nursing students, health care assistants, newly qualified nurses, as well as physiotherapists and occupational therapists
Call Number: RT87.T72 M33 2016
Calculating Dosages Safely: a dimensional analysis approach Dosage calculations can be intimidating, but they don't need to be. Using dimensional analysis, you'll learn how to calculate both simple and complex medication dosage problems with consistency and accuracy and reduce medication errors with simple safety mechanisms. This reliable and consistent method helps to ensure safe medication administration practices. Dimensional analysis, which can be used on virtually every dosage calculation problem, eliminates the need to use other methods or perform lengthy, multi-step calculations. It's a method of problem-solving that organizes data in a manner that is easy to understand and apply.
Call Number: RS57 .H675 2013
Clinical Guidelines for Advanced Practice Nursing: an interprofessional approach Clinical Guidelines for Advanced Practice Nursing: An Interdisciplinary Approach, Third Edition is an accessible and practical reference designed to help nurses and students with daily clinical decision making. Written in collaboration with certified nurse midwives, clinical nurse specialists, nurse practitioners, nutritionists, pharmacists, and physicians, it fosters a team approach to health care. Divided into four areas--Pediatrics, Gynecology, Obstetrics, and, Adult General Medicine--and following a lifespan approach, it utilizes the S-O-A-P (Subjective-Objective-Assessment-Plan) format. Additionally, the authors explore complex chronic disease management, health promotion across the lifespan, and professional and legal issues such as reimbursement, billing, and the legal scope of practice. The Third Edition has a keen focus on gerontology to accommodate the AGNP specialty and to better assist the student or clinician in caring for the aging population. The authors follow the across the life span approach and focus on common complete disorders. Certain chapters have been revised and new chapters have been added which include:Health Maintenance for Older Adults; Frailty; Common Gerontology Syndromes; Cancer Survivorship; Lipid Disorders; Acne (pediatrics section).
Call Number: RT82.8 .C5553 2017
Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing Advanced Practice Palliative Nursing is the first text devoted to advanced practice nursing care of the seriously ill and dying. This comprehensive work addresses all aspects of palliative care including physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs. Chapters include: symptoms common inserious illness, pediatric palliative care, spiritual and existential issues, issues around the role and function of the advanced practice nurse (APN), reimbursement, and nursing leadership on palliative care teams. Each chapter contains case examples and a strong evidence base to support thehighest quality of care. The text is written by leaders in the field and includes authors who have pioneered the role of the advanced practice nurse in palliative care. This volume offers advanced practice content and practical resources for clinical practice across all settings of care and encompassing all ages, from pediatrics to geriatrics.
Call Number: R726.8 .A38 2016x
Nursing Acceleration Challenge Exam (ACE) I PN-RN Foundations of Nursing Secrets Study Guide Nursing Acceleration Challenge Exam (ACE) I PN-RN: Foundations of Nursing Secrets helps you ace the Nursing Acceleration Challenge Exam without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Nursing Acceleration Challenge Exam (ACE) I PN-RN: Foundations of Nursing Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. Nursing Acceleration Challenge Exam (ACE) I PN-RN: Foundations of Nursing Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to Nursing ACE Exam Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; A comprehensive Content review including: Wound Care, Nociceptive, Neuropathic, Assessment for Pain, PAINAD Scale, 3-Step Who Analgesic Ladder, International Patient Safety Goals, Mobility, Strengthening Exercises, Hypersomnia, Sundowner's Syndrome, Alzheimer's, Electrolyte Imbalance, Hyperlipidemia, Malnutrition, Body Mass Index (BMI), Crohn's Disease, Nocturia, Carotid Artery Stenosis, Cardiogenic Shock, Cardiac Dysrhythmias, Ischemic Strokes, Chronic Bronchitis, Respiratory Acidosis, Multiple Sclerosis, West Nile Virus, Ketoacidosis, Hepatic Cirrhosis, Osteoarthritis, Homeless, and much more...
Acute and Critical Care Nurse Practitioner: cases in diagnostic reasoning The ultimate, case-based guide for learning and teaching the art of diagnostic reasoning for acute and critical care nurse practitioners Written by experienced nurse practitioners working in acute and critical care settings,and endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), Acute & Critical Care Nurse Practitioner:Cases in Diagnostic Reasoning presents a wide range of acute and critical care patient cases focusing on diagnosis and management. This authoritative book is designed to help nurse practitioners and students learn how to proceed from a broad differential diagnosis to a specific management plan through expert analysis of patient data. While reconstructing the course of real-life clinical cases, the authors "think out loud" and reveal how they identify pertinent positives and significant negatives to support or refute items on their differential diagnoses list, and further incorporate laboratory and diagnostic testing results to establish a medical diagnosis. Each case includes a description of the management for the identified diagnosis. INCLUDES: · 71 cases based on real-life clinical scenarios · Analysis questions and case discussions to enable learners to actively participate ininductive and deductive reasoning · Cases that can be used to support course work, certification review, and job training The first of its kind, Acute & Critical Care Nurse Practitioner: Cases in Diagnostic Reasoning is an essential learning and teaching resource for students, clinicians, and clinical faculty to master the art of diagnostic reasoning.
Call Number: RT48 .B875 2016x
Practice-Based Clinical Inquiry in Nursing for DNP and PhD Research: looking beyond traditional methods Meticulously compiled to serve the specific needs of APRNs and nurse executives engaged in doctoral-level research, this text provides evidence-based and practice-based scholarly methods not traditionally taught in PhD or DNP programs. Building on and expanding traditional nursing research methods, the book focuses on both existing and evolving methods of clinical inquiry, some of which incorporate technology and knowledge from other disciplines. These are approaches that can be translated into clinical practice, providing the nursing profession with unprecedented opportunities for collaboration in improving health and health care systems. Methods include quality improvement, implementation science, logic models, program planning and evaluation, patient-engaged and community participatory research, dissemination research, big data, comparative effectiveness research, secondary analysis, and systematic reviews. Chapters provide clear guidance on why and how to use a particular method, and are consistently organized to enable a comparison and contrast of different approaches in order to select the one that best fits a particular research need. The text highlights the importance of each approach, and discusses why to use a particular method for doctoral nursing work. Chapters describe how to apply the method along with how to interpret findings and disseminate them. The description of each method concludes with examples from the published literature. Practical tips for impact and success in research and program proposals increase the text s value. Key Features: Presents research methods specifically for doctoral-level evidence-based and practice-based clinical research Describes interdisciplinary health care methodologies focused on evidence-based improvement in health care Offers practical information on benefits and use of each method Provides examples of each method from published literature Written by experienced academic and practice scholars from across the United States "
Call Number: RT48 .B875 2016x
Nursing Concept Analysis: applications to research and practice This DNP and PhD doctoral-level nursing text delivers analyses of 30 core concepts that define nursing theory, research, education, and professional practice. Grounded in the concept analysis framework developed by Walker and Avant, the book clearly demonstrates how concepts are used to build theory, support research, and improve education and professional practice.
Call Number: RT81.5 .N84 2016x
Transcultural Nursing: assessment and intervention Get up to speed on how to properly assess the care needs of today's culturally diverse clientele with Transcultural Nursing: Assessment & Intervention, 7th Edition. Centering on Giger's unique transcultural model of clear, easy-to-apply assessment and intervention strategies for the clinical setting, this one-of-a-kind resource will help you learn to identify the six key cultural phenomena used in caring for clients from different backgrounds (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biological variations), and show you how to apply these phenomena to a variety of individuals in different cultures. UNIQUE! Giger & Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model devotes a full chapter to each of the six aspects of cultural assessment (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biologic variations) to help readers apply this model to any client of any culture - even those not covered in the text. 2010 census data is incorporated through the book to provide the most current analysis of demographic trends. UNIQUE! Sample care plans demonstrate how to apply principles to specific client needs. UNIQUE! Discussion of the spiritual component provides a more holistic, integrated approach to culture and assessment. Case studies and critical thinking questions help readers apply the assessment framework in practice. Clarification of biologic variations for select cultural groups raises readers' awareness of potential risks/influences on client health. NEW! Completely revised cultural chapters reflect the shifting experiences of various cultural groups in our society.
Call Number: RT86.54 .T73 2017
Ethics and Professionalism for Healthcare Managers Healthcare managers face a host of difficult decisions every day. Many can be loaded with ethical implications that, if not addressed properly, can evolve into major issues for both the manager and the organization as a whole. This book prepares new and aspiring healthcare managers to make better decisions through a solid grounding in ethics and professionalism.
Using a three-part approach to engage students, the authors open each chapter with a case from the field, provide key foundational material related to the ethical or professional dilemma presented, and close with a mini case study and accompanying questions. Rich with cases throughout, the book uses examples that are based on a variety of healthcare settings, including hospitals, physician practices, ambulatory surgery centers, home health agencies, and skilled nursing facilities.
Material covered includes the following and more:
•Basic ethics concepts
•Ethics and the professional
•Professional codes of ethics and ethical principles
•Ethical decision making
Call Number: RA971 .F67 2016
Nursing's Great Leaders: a history of activism This book is perfect for men and women who aspire to lead nursing and society into a better future. It will equally benefit undergraduate students enrolled in leadership courses, graduate students preparing for leadership roles, and nurses already established in leadership roles. This book] deepened my love for nursing and reinforced why nursing is repeatedly ranked the most trusted profession. Susan B. Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Senior Adviser for Nursing Director, Campaign for Action With an emphasis on the qualities that have fostered strong nursing leadership, this book provides a unique perspective on the lives and achievements of the most revered nurses throughout history. It is comprised of biographies of many of nursing s most important activist agents of change, with a focus on those characteristics that enabled them to accomplish their goals and implement changes that improved nursing, health, health care, and society. These biographies examine the evolution of nursing and society around the globe and underscore the resourcefulness and political savvy these nurses used to meet the increasingly complex needs of society. Using Kouzes and Posner s five practices of exemplary leadership as a framework, the biographies demonstrate how the nurses used these processes to achieve their goals. Placed within the context and dynamics of each nurse leader s lifetime including gender roles, science and technology, religion, politics, and economics each biography includes a personal history, timeline, accomplishments, anecdotes, and legacy. The book honors such well-known nurse leaders as Florence Nightingale, Clara Barton, and Dorothea Dix, along with lesser known nurse leaders. By telling the stories of these luminaries, the book showcases nursing s rich history and its influence on society. Ultimately fostering an understanding of the very nature of leadership, it provides a strong foundation and inspiration for nurses to lead nursing, health care, and society into a better future. KEY FEATURES: Focuses on nursing history through the lens of leadership Uses the framework of Kouzes and Posner s five practices of exemplary leadership to analyze the achievements of nurse luminaries Considers the lives of well-known and lesser known figures in nursing history Focuses on leadership characteristics that enabled historic nurse leaders to implement important changes in global health care "
Call Number: RT34 .N876 2016x
Professional Issues in Nursing: challenges and opportunities Today's nursing students feel immense pressure. K-12 programs often have taught students to be test-oriented, and when successful high school students enter a nursing program, they often quickly learn that the stakes are different and how students "used to study" no longer applies. Today's nursing students are excited for their future career, but it seems far off compared to the immediate need to pass the NCLEX. As programs across the nation are struggling to secure clinical time and students' access to patients is more limited, sometimes they struggle to understand the real-world perspective. It is not uncommon for a new nurse today, fully immersed in today's complex healthcare landscape, to often report that she or he "did not know what to expect." Professional Issues in Nursing: Challenges & Opportunities features contemporary and enduring issues in professional nursing. Designed to be used in both pre- and post-licensure nursing programs, the text has an undiluted focus on professional issues in nursing and includes many timely workplace issues, workforce issues, legal and ethical issues, nursing education, and issues related to professional power and furthering the nursing profession. Unlike other "issues and trends" textbooks that cover everything from nursing research to nursing theory, this text is devoted to the "hot topics" of the time which allows students to begin to prepare for the realities of nursing practice. Each chapter begins with Learning Objectives and an overview of the professional issues being discussed. Multiple perspectives on each issue are then identified in an effort to reflect the diversity of thought found in the literature as well as espoused by experts in the field and varied professional nursing and health care organizations. Discussion Points encourage readers to pause and reflect on specific questions. These questions can be completed by students independently or used as group work in class. The "Consider This" features also encourages active learning, critical thinking, and values clarification by the users. In addition, at least one research study is profiled in every chapter in "Research Study Fuels the Controversy," an effort to promote evidence-based analysis of the issue. Each chapter concludes with Conclusions about the issues discussed, questions for additional discussion, and a comprehensive and current reference list. Each chapter also includes multiple displays, boxes, and tables to allow for a good reading experience and to help the user visualize important concepts. Some of the new "hot topics" that this edition focuses on are the use of social media in nursing, teaching clinical reasoning, MOOCs and virtual learning spaces, and academic integrity in nursing education. New or updated content has been added throughout the book to reflect cutting-edge trends in health care and nursing education, including an ever-increasing demand for quality and safety in the workplace for patients as well as workers; workforce projections and changing population demographics; the impact of health care reform; the IOM recommendations put forth in The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health; changing nursing education paradigms and increasingly virtual learning environments; and the challenges and opportunities, while providing nursing care and nursing education in an increasingly global, rapidly changing, technology-driven world.
Call Number: RT82 .H87 2017
Clinical Nurse Specialist Toolkit: a guide for the new clinical nuse specialist This is a one-of-a-kind, all-inclusive reference guide for new clinical nurse specialists (CNSs) entering the field, as well as for seasoned practitioners looking to update their knowledge. Disseminating a wealth of current professional practice guidance and practical information on reimbursement and certification, the second edition has been fully updated to reflect changes resulting from the Affordable Care Act and the APRN Consensus Model. Four new chapters address changes and emerging trends, expanding the focus on independent practice, increasing demands on health care due to the growing population of older adults, and updated reimbursement/economic issues. This authoritative toolkit is organized in an easy-toread format and includes numerous clinical examples, case scenarios, and personal anecdotes culled from the contributors own professional experiences. New to the Second Edition: Fully revised and updated Addresses CNS practice within affordable care organizations Describes the CNS leadership role in system-level evidence-based practice initiatives Covers documentation and communication of CNS activities aligning with strategic initiatives and CNS practice priorities Discusses facilitating transitions of care to ensure safety and quality Addresses the CNS role in interprofessional education in clinical settings Key Features: Presents crucial information on negotiating and securing a job Provides advice on establishing credibility, prioritizing, and finding a mentor Contains guidelines on mentoring staff, leading groups, and precepting students Addresses documenting and measuring clinical outcomes Describes how to network with professional organizations and community agencies Offers practical guidance on applying for reimbursement and pursuing certification and licensure "
Call Number: RT82.8 .C576 2016
Resource Manual for Nursing Research: generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice, 10th Edition has been updated to incorporate new methodological advances and, to the extent possible, substantive examples used to illustrate concepts will be from articles published in 2013 to 2015. The organizational structure introduced in the 9th edition will be maintained -- i.e., content focusing on quantitative research will be in Part III, and content on qualitative research will be in Part IV. The textbook package will include the book itself, a Resource Manual, and a digital Toolkit with high-quality forms and tools (in Microsoft Word) that new researchers can modify or use directly (e.g., informed consent forms, demographic questionnaires. Additional useful material will be added to the Toolkit, including links to open-access papers on the topic covered in each chapter. A valuable ancillary package is available for instructors and students via thePoint. They include PowerPoint slides with relevant tables and figures, test bank, journal articles, case studies, critical thinking exercises, strategies for effective teaching, internet resources, and glossary.
Call Number: RT81.5 .P642 2017
Clinical Nurse Leader Certification Review, Second Edition Now in its second edition, this book remains the only comprehensive resource for clinical nurse leaders preparing for certification. The guide stems directly from Dr. King s acclaimed exam preparation course, which resulted in a 100% pass rate among students who took the course. The second edition reflects the new requirements of Competencies and Curricular Expectations for Clinical Nurse Leader Education and Practice (2013), featuring new and updated chapters with information about risk mitigation, lateral integration, interprofessional skills, care coordination, and evidence-based practice; an updated glossary of key terms; and new multiple-choice questions and case studies. The resource mirrors the format of the AACN exam, and continues to cover all aspects of the current test, providing detailed information on taking the exam, how to analyze and interpret exam questions, basic test-taking skills, questions to stimulate critical thinking, a sample exam with answers and rationales, and content review of everything you need to know to succeed on the exam. The review not only helps individuals preparing for the exam, but also provides strategies to help groups of students make the best use of the book. It offers direction for faculty who are designing review courses and serves as a valuable resource during the clinical nurse leader program itself. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Reflects new competencies Presents new and updated chapters Includes a new glossary of terms Provides new multiple-choice questions and case studies Addresses risk mitigation, lateral integration, interprofessional skills, care coordination, and evidence-based practice KEY FEATURES: Delivers top-notch, comprehensive test-preparation assistance Presents guidelines on question dissection and analysis Facilitates critical thinking with multiple-choice questions and case studies written by certified clinical nurse leaders "
Call Number: RT55 .C55 2016x
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project: a framework for success The Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarly Project: A Framework for Success, Second Edition focuses on assisting students and faculty with creating a system for the completion of the DNP scholarly project. The text provides a roadmap for DNP students to use on their journey from project conception through completion and dissemination. The overall goal of the Second Edition is to introduce a process that will help students work through their project, resolve project variability across programs, and assist faculty and others working with DNP students as they complete their scholarly work. The Second Edition provides an updated historical perspective of the DNP degree and guides students on the development of the scholarly project. Lastly, it focuses on project evaluation and outcomes as well as how the scholarly project contributes to evidence-based nursing practice. This text is intended for practical application and provides the framework for the scholarly work process.Key Features: Sample manuscript for student reference New chapter on scholarly project toolsAction plans found at the conclusion of each chapterUpdated interviews from practicing DNP graduatesInstructor Resources Include: Instructor's ManualPowerPoint presentations
Call Number: RT75 .M67 2017
Assessing Progress on the Institute of Medicine Report the Future of Nursing Nurses make up the largest segment of the health care profession, with 3 million registered nurses in the United States. Nurses work in a wide variety of settings, including hospitals, public health centers, schools, and homes, and provide a continuum of services, including direct patient care, health promotion, patient education, and coordination of care. They serve in leadership roles, are researchers, and work to improve health care policy. As the health care system undergoes transformation due in part to the Affordable Care Act (ACA), the nursing profession is making a wide-reaching impact by providing and affecting quality, patient-centered, accessible, and affordable care. In 2010, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) released the report The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health, which made a series of recommendations pertaining to roles for nurses in the new health care landscape. This current report assesses progress made by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation/AARP Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action and others in implementing the recommendations from the 2010 report and identifies areas that should be emphasized over the next 5 years to make further progress toward these goals.
Call Number: RT86.7 .I57 2016x
A Practical Guide to Forensic Nursing: incorporating forensic principles into nursing practice Victims of violence are unfortunately ever-present in healthcare today. Regardless of the setting, nurses are often the first to interact with victims and regularly must step into uncomfortable or difficult situations. To ensure patient and provider safety and enable the best possible outcomes, every nurse should be well-versed in forensic and theoretical issues of violence.
A Practical Guide to Forensic Nursing is an evidence-based guide to understanding and applying forensic nursing science. Authors Angela F. Amar and L. Kathleen Sekula introduce practical and theoretical perspectives on violence and provide valuable resources, including injury assessment and violence prevention strategies as well as an overview of relevant legal, ethical, societal, and policy issues. Whether you are a student, new nurse, or experienced clinician, you will find the right tools and strategies to broaden your understanding of violence and help you integrate forensic science into your patient care.
Call Number: RA1053 .A43 2016
The Bell Lap: stories for compassionate nursing care The Bell Lapexplores, with great insight, the multiple lessons of living and dying. These stories offer engaging and invaluable insights for trainees, practicing nurses, and other health professionals working in the field. Through these stories, the author has laid the ground for caregivers to reach beyond the confines of the settings of illness, whether home, hospital, or long-term care and become an active and involved participant in the world of the patient.
Call Number: R726.8 .M87 2016
Innovations in Nursing Education: building the future of nursing In numerous, oftentimes seemingly small ways, faculty in schools of nursing are implementing the recommendations of the Institute of Medicine report, The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health. These practices are the building blocks that will lead to a future of excellence in nursing education. Building the Future of Nursing links the NLN mission and its core value of excellence to this important work. The chapters in this text (originally accepted for publication in the Innovation Center of the NLN peer-reviewed research journal, Nursing Education Perspectives) highlight how faculty are using the recommendations for al types of nursing education, nationally and internationally.
Call Number: RT76 .I56 v.3 2016
Policies and Procedures for Infusion Therapy
Call Number: RM170 .P65 2016x
Scope and Standards of Practice for Registered Nurses in Care Coordination and Transition Management This document is an evolution of the American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing's (AAACN) body of work and a major step forward for nurses in care coordination and transition management (CCTM). It is the first statement of the scope and standards of practice for RNs engaged in CCTM. CCTM roles focus on communicating and partnering with other professional health care colleagues across diverse health care settings. These settings include ambulatory care, acute care, post-acute care, long-term care facilities, and diverse community settings. This document may be used as a tool to advance professional CCTM nursing practice, patient and population health, and the performance outcomes of health care institutions.
Call Number: Pamphlet
Management/Employee Development Books
The Resilient Practitioner: burnout and compassion fatigue prevention and self-care strategies for the helping professions The Resilient Practitioner,3rdedition, gives students and practitioners the tools they need to create their own personal balance between caring for themselves and caring for others. This new edition includes a new chapter on resiliency, an updated self-care action plan, self-reflection exercises in each chapter, and a revised resiliency inventory for practitioners. Readers will find, however, that the new edition keeps its strong focus on research and accessible writing style. The new edition also retains its focus on establishing working alliances and charting a hopeful path for practitioners, a path that allows them to work intensely with human suffering and also have a vibrant career in the process.
Call Number: RC451.4.M44 S57 2016
Professional and Therapeutic Communication Professional and Therapeutic Communication focuses on the professional approaches to communication and the therapeutic elements of the caring relationship. It provides a contemporary and practical approach to fundamental concepts, with an emphasis on creating learning-centred working environments, through which students may explore the variety of situations in which communication with patients, relatives and colleagues occur in the clinical environment. The text is structured to give consideration to a lifespan focus, with attention to communication through verbal, non-verbal and written means. Special attention is given to the unique advantages and challenges that accompany the growth of communication through electronic systems.
Call Number: R118 .P764 2015x
Team of Teams: new rules of engagement for a complex world What if you could combine the agility, adaptability, and cohesion of a small team with the power and resources of a giant organization? THE OLD RULES NO LONGER APPLY . . . When General Stanley McChrystal took command of the Joint Special Operations Task Force in 2004, he quickly realized that conventional military tactics were failing. Al Qaeda in Iraq was a decentralized network that could move quickly, strike ruthlessly, then seemingly vanish into the local population. The allied forces had a huge advantage in numbers, equipment, and training--but none of that seemed to matter. TEACHING A LEVIATHAN TO IMPROVISE It's no secret that in any field, small teams have many advantages--they can respond quickly, communicate freely, and make decisions without layers of bureaucracy. But organizations taking on really big challenges can't fit in a garage. They need management practices that can scale to thousands of people. General McChrystal led a hierarchical, highly disciplined machine of thousands of men and women. But to defeat Al Qaeda in Iraq, his Task Force would have to acquire the enemy's speed and flexibility. Was there a way to combine the power of the world's mightiest military with the agility of the world's most fearsome terrorist network? If so, could the same principles apply in civilian organizations? A NEW APPROACH FOR A NEW WORLD McChrystal and his colleagues discarded a century of conventional wisdom and remade the Task Force, in the midst of a grueling war, into something new: a network that combined extremely transparent communication with decentralized decision-making authority. The walls between silos were torn down. Leaders looked at the best practices of the smallest units and found ways to extend them to thousands of people on three continents, using technology to establish a oneness that would have been impossible even a decade earlier. The Task Force became a "team of teams"--faster, flatter, more flexible--and beat back Al Qaeda. BEYOND THE BATTLEFIELD In this powerful book, McChrystal and his colleagues show how the challenges they faced in Iraq can be relevant to countless businesses, nonprofits, and other organizations. The world is changing faster than ever, and the smartest response for those in charge is to give small groups the freedom to experiment while driving everyone to share what they learn across the entire organization. As the authors argue through compelling examples, the team of teams strategy has worked everywhere from hospital emergency rooms to NASA. It has the potential to transform organizations large and small.
Call Number: HD66 .M38185 2015
The Power of Shared Vision: how to cultivate staff commitment & accontability A shared vision has the power to transcend individual self-interests, personality, and work style differences. When commitment to the shared vision is strong, people simply find ways to effectively communicate and cooperate with one another in order to achieve desired results. When employees help establish boundaries by agreeing to reasonable standards of conduct, they take responsibility and accept the consequences of their actions. This in turn creates a safe and secure work environment that is conducive to achievement.
The alternative to establishing a culture of employee engagement and accountability is to accept mediocre performance, a litany of excuses, and a plethora of unhappy people who feel immune from the consequences of their actions. Without a strong belief system and an adherence to bedrock principles that are the foundation of all effective work teams, staff unity splits into disparate parts; different factions form as personal agendas get served and pettiness thrives.
The Power of Shared Vision addresses how to:
Develop goals that unite people around a common cause and secure employee ownership of changes that improve the quality of their work.
Create a retribution-free communication environment where people can tell the manager what she needs to hear without fear of retribution. In turn, the manager will be able to help her team distinguish problems that can be solved from those work realities that are outside of her control.
Understand the reasons why some employees cannot or will not meet job-related expectations and what the manager can do to close the performance gap.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 C644 2015x
Management on the Mend: the healthcare executive guide to system transformation Investigations in hundreds of healthcare organizations have uncovered this reliable model for creating a lean health system.
Call Number: RA971 .T68 2015x
The Best Patient Experience: helping physicians improve care, satisfaction, and scores In today s healthcare environment, satisfying patients is essential to good medical care and business success. But physicians chances of moving the needle on patient satisfaction are much higher if they have the support of their healthcare organization s leadership team.
The Best Patient Experience: Helping Physicians Improve Care, Satisfaction, and Scores explains how healthcare leaders can help physicians improve their interactions with patients and achieve higher patient satisfaction scores.
Written in a conversational style, the book is filled with tips, tools, templates, and resources leaders can employ to support physicians in their relationships with patients. Recognizing that the process for building a better patient experience is not easy, the book intersperses practical advice with anecdotes from the author and other healthcare leaders to provide context for working through these challenges. The resulting transformation creates an environment of personal gratification and professional pride that galvanizes not just the physicians but the entire organization.
Call Number: R727.3 .S68 2016
Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions: nursing and health professions Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions addresses the core competencies and behaviors required to be an innovative leader. This text fulfills the market need for an advanced practice resource focused on how to address new and emerging sources of evidence-based practice that can inform, translate and scale the complexity of leading innovation in healthcare organizations. Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions takes a patient-centered approach, discusses the perspectives on the dynamic of innovation and evidence as well as emerging competencies for leaders of healthcare innovation. To address the core competencies the text is expertly organized into four sections: I. Addresses the current landscape of evidence in innovation II. Examines new sources of evidence including technology and big data III. Discusses strategies for measuring innovation at a variety of system levels IV. Provides strategies to synthesize and disseminate evidence to advance innovation in healthcare.Key Features:* Teaches students how to mine and manage large data sets* Connects the idea of evidence-based practice to leadership practice* Addresses the gap in the knowledge base around research
Call Number: RT89 .D38 2017
Essentials of Strategic Planning in Healthcare Essentials of Strategic Planning in Healthcare, Second Edition,fully explains strategic plan development and implementation from conducting an environmental assessment to communicating the plan to stakeholders as well as the factors that influence strategic planning effectiveness, including organizational culture, physician involvement, and planning across the continuum of healthcare services.
This new edition discusses reform-driven changes that impact strategic planning, including the advent of accountable care organizations and patient-centered medical homes. Through the revised and updated comprehensive case study woven throughout the book, readers gain hands-on understanding by applying what they learn as they go. Accompanying exercises test comprehension and reinforce key concepts.
Additional updates include:
•New, real-life case studies that complement the comprehensive case study that forms the foundation of the book
•A new chapter on healthcare marketing that discusses the integral role marketing plays in strategic plan implementation
•New health information technology content, including coverage of big data, the increasing use of mobile devices in healthcare, the growth of telemedicine services, and the importance of the patient portal
•Discussion of new technologies used to communicate the strategic plan, including the company intranet, videoconferencing, webcasts, and other digital media
•Expanded discussion of hospital physician integration models and the strategic advantages of partnering with physicians
•Increased coverage of pay-for-performance initiatives and related terminology, including the Donabedian framework for quality, nurse-sensitive patient outcomes, therapeutic alliances, and value-based purchasing
Call Number: RA971 .H296 2016
Safer Healthcare: strategies for the real world The authors of this book set out a system of safety strategies and interventions for managing patient safety on a day-to-day basis and improving safety over the long term. These strategies are applicable at all levels of the healthcare system from the frontline to the regulation and governance of the system.
There have been many advances in patient safety, but we now need a new and broader vision that encompasses care throughout the patient’s journey. The authors argue that we need to see safety through the patient’s eyes, to consider how safety is managed in different contexts and to develop a wider strategic and practical vision in which patient safety is recast as the management of risk over time. Most safety improvement strategies aim to improve reliability and move closer toward optimal care. However, healthcare will always be under pressure and we also require ways of managing safety when conditions are difficult. We need to make more use of strategies concerned with detecting, controlling, managing and responding to risk. Strategies for managing safety in highly standardised and controlled environments are necessarily different from those in which clinicians constantly have to adapt and respond to changing circumstances.
This work is supported by the Health Foundation. The Health Foundation is an independent charity committed to bringing about better health and health care for people in the UK.
The charity’s aim is a healthier population in the UK, supported by high quality health care that can be equitably accessed. The Foundation carries out policy analysis and makes grants to front-line teams to try ideas in practice and supports research into what works to make people’s lives healthier and improve the health care system, with a particular emphasis on how to make successful change happen.
A key part of the work is to make links between the knowledge of those working to deliver health and health care with research evidence and analysis. The aspiration is to create a virtuous circle, using what works on the ground to inform effective policymaking and vice versa. Good health and health care are vital for a flourishing society. Through sharing what is known, collaboration and building people’s skills and knowledge, the Foundation aims to make a difference and contribute to a healthier population.
Call Number: RA969.9 .V55 2016x
Quality Management in Intensive Care: a practical guide This book is one of the first to comprehensively summarize the latest thinking and research in the rapidly evolving field of quality management in intensive care. Quality indicators and outcome measures are discussed with a practical focus on patient-centred, evidence-based implementation for safer and more effective clinical practice. Chapters on topics such as teambuilding, patient satisfaction, mortality and morbidity, and electronic management systems are organised into three sections, covering quality management at the scale of the individual patient, the intensive care unit, and the national and international level. Written by a team of over forty international experts in the specialty, with editors who have been heavily involved for many years with the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine, the book reflects commonly accepted goals and guidelines for best practice, and will be valuable for practitioners worldwide. The ideal one-stop resource for intensive care physicians as well as ICU and hospital managers.
Call Number: RC86.7 .Q35 2016
Say It with Data: a concise guide to making your case and getting results Administrators, policy makers, legislators, and the public demand concrete, measurable evidence of the need for libraries and their use. The collection and dissemination of data about library service in a straightforward, convincing manner are integral components of library advocacy in the current economic climate. Addressing frontline librarians lobbying for increased programming or staff, as well as adminstrators marshalling statistics to stem the tide of budget cuts and prevent library closure, this vital new book explores the whys and hows of using data to build a better picture of library needs and success. With a distinctive combination of research-based information and practical application, Dando *Demonstrates how data from surveys, focus groups, ALA, and state and local sources can be aggregated and used to craft a strong message *Takes readers step by step through the process of using data to tailor a message to specific audiences *Offers real-world examples from school and public libraries that can be used as models Addressing the requirements of a variety of stakeholders, this concise resource lays out an easy-to-follow, systematic way of inspiring action through clear, compelling data.
Call Number: Z678 .D17 2014
Developing and Sustaining a Patient and Family Advisory Council
Call Number: RT120.F34 W428 2000x
Creating Children's Advisory Councils
Call Number: RT120.F34 M368 2001x
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2014, 2013, 2012