Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Essentials of Public Health Communication The field of communications is increasingly recognized as a powerful tool in addressing the world's most imperative public health challenges. Effective communication in health campaigns can inform, empower, or persuade individuals to adopt healthier lifestyles as well as foster public debate and policy change.Featuring a full chapter on informatics, this book is devoted to the competencies in health communication and informatics recommended by the Association of Schools of Public Health. With chapter contributions from some of the leading experts in public health informatics and epidemiology, health communication and evaluation, Essentials of Public Health Communications introduces concepts and examples that will prepare students to enter a local health department, community organization or government agency, and contribute to health communication research, patient counseling, materials design, program management and media relations. Written specifically for student use, this book presumes no prior knowledge of the health communication or the informatics fields. Concepts are presented in clear, jargon free language, with terms defined throughout.Key Features:* Rather than simply presenting theories and cases, this text emphasizes the framework and methods, breaking down complex tasks into steps for mastery. * Simplifies key concepts in public health informatics, and how data are transformed into useful information and effective presentations. * Examines how health communication is actively being used by the leading public health agencies and organizations today. * A companion website provides a complete package of instructor resources including sample syllabi and curriculum guides for two semesters of instruction, as well as small scale research projects. * Includes suggested health communication projects that can be implemented at an academic institution, or small scale community level, to enable hands-on learning. Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Cases 1, 5, 6, 10, 15, 16, & 18-21 in Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.
Call Number: R118 .E87 2011
Dermatology for Advanced Practice Clinicians Dermatology for Advanced Practice Clinicians offers a practical approach to the care of common dermatosis. It comprehensively covers the basic science of lesion morphology and key diagnostic skills for exams. Chapters on common skin diseases walk you through everything you need to know, from the basic pathophysiology of the disease to epidemiology, common clinical presentations, diagnostics, differential diagnoses, management, complications, follow up, patient education, the need for referral or consultations, resources, and ICD-10 codes. A Special Considerations section addresses the unique needs of specific patient populations, such as pediatrics, geriatrics, and pregnancy.
Call Number: RL74 .D47 2015
Fundamentals of Nursing It''s your complete guide to nursing - from basic concepts to essential skills! Fundamentals of Nursing, 9th Edition prepares you to succeed as a nurse by providing a solid foundation in critical thinking, evidence-based practice, nursing theory, and safe clinical care in all settings. With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures. Care plans are presented within a nursing process framework, and case studies show how to apply concepts to nursing practice. From an expert author team led by Patricia Potter and Anne Griffin Perry, this bestselling nursing textbook helps you develop the understanding and clinical reasoning you need to provide excellent patient care. 51 skills demonstrations provide illustrated, step-by-step instructions for safe nursing care - and include rationales for each step. 29 procedural guidelines provide streamlined, step-by-step instructions for performing basic skills. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Models in each clinical chapter show how to apply the nursing process and critical thinking to achieve successful clinical outcomes. Evidence-Based Practice chapter shows how nursing research helps in determining best practices. UNIQUE! Caring for the Cancer Survivor chapter prepares nurses to care for cancer patients who may still face physical and emotional issues. Case studies include unique clinical application questions and exercises, allowing you to practice using care plans and concept maps. The 5-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for care, and is demonstrated in more than 20 care plans. 15 review questions in every chapter test your retention of key concepts, with answers available in the book and on the Evolve companion website. Practical study tools on Evolve include video clips of skills, skills checklists, printable key points, a fluid & electrolytes tutorial, a concept map creator, an audio glossary, and more. UNIQUE! Clear, streamlined writing style makes complex material more approachable. More than 20 concept maps show care planning for clients with multiple nursing diagnoses. Key points and key terms in each chapter summarize important content for more efficient review and study. Unexpected Outcomes and Related Interventions for each skill alert you to potential problems and appropriate nursing actions. Delegation coverage clarifies which tasks can and cannot be delegated. A glossary provides quick access to definitions for all key terms. UPDATED! Patient Safety and Quality chapter describes how quality and safety apply to the nurse, and includes a new skill on fall prevention in healthcare settings. NEW content addresses the Affordable Care Act, patients'' perspectives on hospital care as measured by HCAHPS surveys, health disparities and vulnerable populations, compassion fatigue, pain assessment, patient education techniques like teach-back, new equipment, Healthy People 2020, and more. NEW! Additional alternate-item review questions include at least four alternate-item questions - multiple select, sequencing/priority, delegation, hot-spot images, and fill-in-the blank for medications - for every chapter. Expanded Building Competency boxes help you apply QSEN (Quality & Safety Education for Nurses) competencies to realistic clinical situations. UPDATED! Unique Evidence-Based Practice boxes in every chapter include a PICO question - the Problem, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome - and summarize a research study along with its application to nursing practice. Over 100 NEW photos clarify procedures and familiarize you with the latest clinical equipment.
Call Number: RT41 .P844 2017
Microbiology and Infection Prevention and Control for Nursing Students Preventing and controlling infection has long been an on going challenge for all healthcare workers at every level. High profile examples like the Ebola outbreak in West Africa or the prevalence of 'super bugs' like MRSA demonstrate that this challenge is not going to go away. As a nurse you have a responsibility to protect your patients from harm and preventing and controlling infection is a crucial component of this. By introducing the unpinning microbiology to explain how infection occurs and spreads and the practical steps and precautions that you need to follow, this book will equip you with the knowledge and information necessary to play your part in preventing and controlling infection. Key features: · Written specifically for pre-registration nursing students providing the core, evidence-based knowledge that you need to know · Breaks the science down using easy-to-follow language, practical examples and case studies · Applies microbiology to practice introducing practical steps, precautions and strategies that will benefit you as soon as you get onto your placements · Includes multiple-choice questions to test your understanding and activities to help you engage with wider issues around infection prevention and control. About the author Deborah Ward is a lecturer at the School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, Manchester University.
Call Number: RA761 .W37 2016x
Understanding Research for Nursing Students Do your students find research difficult to engage with or want a textbook that is easy to read? Right from the start of their programme it is crucial for nursing students to be able to understand and evaluate current research to support their learning. This book helps students recognise what good research is by providing an introductory guide to the main research methodologies used in nursing. It simplifies complex terminology and puts research into context for nursing students, with clear examples and case studies. Key features · Written in clear, easy to follow language · Each chapter is linked to relevant NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters · A companion website with 9 podcasts to bring topics from the book to life.
Call Number: RT81.5 .E55 2016x
Reflective Practice in Nursing Would you like to develop some strategies to manage knowledge deficits, near misses and mistakes in practice? Are you looking to improve your reflective writing for your portfolio, essays or assignments? Reflective practice enables us to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences we have each day and if nurtured properly can provide skills that will you come to rely on throughout your nursing career. Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies the third edition of this popular and bestselling book shows you what reflection is, why it is so important and how you can use it to improve your nursing practice. Key features: · Clear and straightforward introduction to reflection directly written for nursing students and new nurses · Full of activities designed to build confidence when using reflective practice · Each chapter is linked to relevant NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Call Number: RT41 .H69 2016x
Compassionate Person-Centered Care for the Dying: an evidence-based palliative care guide for nurses A milestone resource for palliative care nurses that facilitates evidence-based compassionate and humanistic care of the dying "A valuable contribution to the evolving field of palliative nursing care. It is authored by a model for this field, Bonnie Freeman, and brings to the bedside what her practice embodies--evidence-based clinically expert care...The CARES tool is a long-needed resource and we are all grateful to the author for moving her passion to paper. It will touch the lives and deaths of patients, families, and the nurses who care for them." --Betty Ferrell, PhD, RN, MA, FAAN, FCPN, CHPN Professor and Director, Division of Nursing Research and Education City of Hope National Medical Center From the Foreword This groundbreaking reference for palliative care nurses is the first to provide realistic and achievable evidence-based methods for incorporating compassionate and humanistic care of the dying into current standards of practice. It builds on the author's research-based CARES tool; a reference that synthesizes five key elements demonstrated to enable a peaceful death, as free from suffering as possible: comfort, airway management, management of restlessness and delirium, emotional and spiritual support, and selfcare for nurses. The book describes, step by step, how nurses can easily implement the basic tenets of the CARES tool into their end-of-life practice. It provides a clearly defined plan that can be individualized for each patient and tailored to specific family needs, and facilitates caring for the dying in the most respectful and humane way possible. The book identifies the most common symptom management needs in dying patients and describes, in detail, the five components of the CARES paradigm and how to implement them to enable a peaceful death and minimize suffering. It includes palliative care prompts founded on 29 evidence-based recommendations and the National Consensus Project for Palliative Care Clinical Practice Guidelines. The resource also addresses the importance of the nurse to act as a patient advocate, how to achieve compassionate communication with the patient and family, and barriers and challenges to compassionate care. Case studies emphasize the importance of compassionate nursing care of the dying and how it can be effectively achieved. Key Features: Provides nurses with a clear understanding of the most common needs of the dying and supplies practical applications to facilitate and improve care Clarifies the current and often complex literature on care of the dying Includes case studies illustrating the most common needs of dying patients and how these are addressed effectively by the CARES tool Based on extensive evidence as well as on the National Consensus Project for Palliative Care Clinical Practice Guidelines Bonnie Freeman, DNP, ANP, RN, ACHPN, is an adult nurse practitioner in the Department of Supportive Care Medicine at the City of Hope National Medical Center in Duarte, California. She is involved with treating the symptom management needs of many chronically and terminally ill individuals diagnosed with various forms of cancer. Dr. Freeman trained at such excellent facilities as the in-patient units at San Diego Hospice and the Institute of Palliative Medicine in San Diego, California, and the home care hospice program in Owensboro, Kentucky. While in Kentucky, she completed her advanced practice clinical training for adult nurse practitioners with a specialty focus on palliative care through Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. This program exposed Dr. Freeman to current concepts in caring for the dying, and enhanced her already significant clinical experience caring for dying individuals acquired from over 30 years working in critical care. Dr. Freeman obtained her MSN from Indiana Wesleyan University, and her DNP from Azusa Pacific University in Azusa, California. Contributors Tracey Das Gupta, MN, RN, CON, is director of In
Call Number: R726.8 .F725 2015
We Are Gatekeepers: a self-reflective leadership challenge for nurses at all levels Nurses are independent and collaborative partners in health care. Historically, however, the image of nursing has been entrenched in co-dependence and a perceived victimization within the nursing profession. It is time for nurses of all levels to join together to change this image and accept the responsibility to demonstrate not just their role but also a collaborative vision as leaders in health care. The author, using personal real-life stories, will take you on a self-reflective journey of your own personal leadership development as a nurse. Through this reflective process, you will also begin to understand your connection to the greater profession and your responsibility to those we serve. As nurses we must not waiver on our standards of practice and our code of ethics, and we must strive to educate others in regard to our purpose and everlasting dedication to maintaining our standards of care.
Call Number: RT89 .G47 2016x
Global Health Nursing: narratives from the field "The narratives in this book offer rare and much-needed insight into the lived experiences and contributions of the largest cadre of global health workers: The nurses who have dedicated their careers and their lives to serving the world's poor." --Paul Farmer, MD, PhD, Kolokotrones University Professor Harvard University; Co-Founder, Partners in Health Global health nursing--as a career or as a time-limited experience in personal and professional growth--is a rapidly growing specialty area. This unique book presents firsthand accounts from nurses at all professional levels, who share their life-changing experiences and insights with nurses interested in the global health arena. Written with compassion and humor, their stories emphasize the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing. Contributors describe their motivation for working in global health, along with the rewards and challenges. The authors discuss the importance of approaching global nursing with humility, respect, and appreciation for what they will learn from their colleagues. They describe how global health work has enhanced their ability to provide quality care to diverse populations, which include recent immigrants living in the United States. In addition to these vivid accounts, the book discusses the parameters of global health nursing, how to prepare for this nursing experience, key resources, global nursing research, and nurses as global health consultants. Woven throughout the book are descriptions of how these nurses have encouraged--through teaching and mentoring--the next generation of global health nurses. The book also provides coverage of domestic global health initiatives. Key Features: Presents firsthand accounts of the practical, challenging, and rewarding aspects of global health nursing Describes assumptions challenged and lessons learned Written for nurses at all stages of professional life Discusses varied opportunities in global health nursing, which includes research and consulting Covers domestic global health initiatives Assists faculty to prepare themselves and their students for global health endeavors
Call Number: RT34 .G56 2015
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner review and resource manual Nursing Certification Review Manual. Continuing Education Resource. Clinical Practice Resource. Written by experts in psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner practice, this book provides a clinical reference tool and certification examination preparation. This manual helps readers enhance critical thinking skills and identify strengths and weaknesses
Call Number: RC438 .P73 2016
The Advanced Practice Nurse Cardiovascular Clinician ""Experienced as well as inexperienced APRNs would benefit from this book... This excellent book would be useful to all advanced nurse practitioners caring for cardiac patients. Special care was taken to ensure all content is germane, as noted in the appendix of tables of nationally accepted cardiovascular guidelines on cardiovascular conditions, diagnostic testing, and therapeutic interventions... Score: 95 - 4 Stars "" --Gina M. Oliver, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC, CNE, MU Sinclair School of Nursing, "Doody's Reviews" Focusing on the interprofessional team, this cardiovascular resource provides evidence-based knowledge and guidance for advanced practice nurses in a variety of care settings. Its clinically relevant and directly applicable information is presented in an accessible and well-organized format. The book encompasses clinical findings, diagnostic testing, state-of-the-art procedures, and therapeutic interventions commonly used in inpatient and outpatient clinical cardiology. It is specifically designed to meet the informational needs of advanced practice registered nurse providers and students, including family nurse practitioners, adultgerontology acute care nurse practitioners, nurse anesthetists, and clinical nurse specialists. This resource covers the full range of cardiovascular conditions, both chronic and acute. It discusses the interprofessional cardiovascular care team; explains the cardiovascular history and clinical examination in step-by-step detail; analyzes clinical findings; details common stable and urgent conditions; describes the preoperative cardiovascular evaluation; advises on the selection and appropriateness of laboratory evaluations and cardiovascular diagnostic studies; provides an overview of state-of-the-art procedures, including electrophysiology; and assesses therapeutic interventions, including lifestyles, pharmacotherapeutics, and invasive techniques. It supports the development of clinical judgment skills and therapeutic decision making by considering the challenges presented through advances in technology and the increasing complexity of diagnostic procedures. An appendix features tables of relevant and essential cardiovascular guidelines for quick reference. KEY FEATURES: Details current and cutting-edge practices and contemporary issues in cardiovascular care Applies evidence-based research findings to clinical practice Compares diagnostic testing options and therapeutic interventions Clarifies complex topics through the use of tables, algorithms, images, and lists Contains an eight-page color insert Identifies pertinent studies and resources for cardiovascular care Describes common cardiac procedures and screening methods Supports the development of clinical judgment skills and therapeutic decision making
Call Number: RC674 .A38 2016
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice, Fifth Edition This new edition of one of the premier references for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings delivers current guidelines, real-life case studies, and evidence-based protocols developed by master educators and practitioners. With a focus on improving quality of care, cost-effectiveness, and outcome, the fifth edition is updated to provide the most current information about care of common clinical conditions and issuesin older patients. Several new expert contributors present current guidelines about hip fractures, frailty, perioperative and postoperative care, palliative care, and senior-friendly emergency departments. Additionally, chapters have been reorganized to enhance logical flow of content and easyinformation retrieval. Protocols Aisystematically tested by more than 300 participating NICHE (Nurses Improving Care for Healthsystem Elders) hospitals Aiare organized in aconsistent format and include an overview, evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies, and an illustrative case study with discussion.Additionally, protocols are embedded within chapter text, providing the context and detailed evidence for each. Chapter objectives, annotated references, and evidence ratings for each protocol are provided along with resources for additional study. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganized to enhance logical flow of information and ease of use Updated and revised Includes new contributions from expert educators and practitioners Provides new chapters on perioperative and postoperative care, general surgical care, care of hip fracture, palliative care, and the senior-friendly emergency department Key Features: Includes PowerPoints and a test bank for instructors Delivers evidence-based, current guidelines and protocols for care of common clinical conditions in the older person Illustrates the application of clinical protocols to real-life practice through case studies and discussion Edited by nationally known geriatric leaders who are endorsed by the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and NICHE Written for nursing students, nurse leaders, and practitioners at all levels, including those in specialty roles "
Call Number: RC954 .G465 2016
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: an interpersonal approach Thoroughly updated to correlate with DSM-5 diagnostic descriptions and QSEN guidelines, the second edition of this highly acclaimed undergraduatepsychiatric nursing text features concrete strategies for establishing interpersonal relationships as the basis not only for working with the psychiatricpatient population, but as a timeless foundation for all nursing practice. The text guides students through the essential phases of self-discoverynecessary to integrate interpersonal nursing theory into practice. Modules designed to foster growth in therapeutic use of self, including the importanceof boundary management, are integrated with psychodynamic and current neurobiological theories to provide sturdy theoretical underpinnings for practice. A wealth of descriptive psychiatric diagnoses of "DSM-5," QSEN criteria, and NANDA-based care plans, case scenarios, evidence-based practice, patientand family education tips, drug summary lists, and complementary and alternative therapy approaches populate the text. The main body of the book focuses oncommon mental illnesses and weaves both the psychodynamic and neurobiological concepts into evidence-based strategies for nursing interventions. Additionalfeatures, such as examples of therapeutic dialogue and a AuConsumer Aos Perspective, Au featuring an actual consumer Aos voice relating personal experience aboutliving with a specific illness, provide further guidance in understanding and adopting a relationship-based approach to nursing. Web links facilitate quickaccess to additional information and NCLEX-style review questions prepare students for passing the NCLEX exam. New to the Second Edition: Revisions correlate to "DSM-5" descriptions, QSEN criteria, and NANDA nursing diagnoses Provides new information on psychopharmacology, compassion fatigue and a recovery model, use of informed consent, and cognitive behavioral therapy Presents updates on complementary and alternative interventions Includes expanded content on cultural and life span considerations related to mental health care worldwide Key Features: Focuses on interpersonal relationships and boundary navigation as the foundation for practice Promotes psychodynamic and neurobiological perspectives within ISPN curricular guidelines Written by national and international experts in nursing education and psychiatric-mental heath practice Includes a digital student companion with key chapter concepts and critical thinking questions for practice situations Provides digital faculty resources including PowerPoint slides, an expanded test bank, case studies, and critical thinking exercises Includes free e-book with purchase of the print book "
Call Number: RC440 .P79 2017
Clinical Decision Making for Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners Clinical Decision Making for Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners provides a unique approach to clinical decision making for a wide variety of commonly encountered primary care issues in adult and geriatric practice. This text combines guidelines for the ANP/GNP role and case studies with real life practice examples, as well as a series of practice questions to help reinforce learning. The text is designed for both the Nurse Practitioner student as well as the newly practicing NP to help increase confidence with application of assessment skills, diagnostic choices and management approaches. The theory behind this text is to enable students to learn a systematic approach to clinical problems as well as apply evidence-based guidelines to direct their management decisions. Clinical Decision Making for Adult -Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners is also appropriate for Nurse Practitioners preparing to take the ANP/GNP certification exam as it features summaries of evidence-based guidelines. Faculty may also use the text to incorporate a case study approach into their courses either for classroom discussion or as assignments to facilitate clinical decision making. The inclusion of "real life" cases simulate what NPs will actually encounter in their clinical practice environments. Key Features:Chapter ObjectivesCase StudiesReview Questions Summaries of newest evidence-based guidelinesClinician Resources such as tool kits for evaluation and
Call Number: RC954 .T43 2017
The Biological Basis of Mental Health This book explores the underlying biology associated with the pathology of mental health disorders and the related nervous system. Fully revised for this third edition, each chapter has been updated to include the latest research, ideas and concepts in each field, and includes a new chapter on sleep. Integrating up-to-date pharmacological and genetic knowledge with an understanding of environmental factors that impact on human biology, The Biological Basis of Mental Health covers topics including brain development, neural communication, neurotransmitters and receptors, hormones and behaviour, genetic disorders, pharmacology, drug abuse, anxiety, schizophrenia, depression, epilepsy, subcortical degenerative diseases of the brain, dementia, developmental disorders, and sleep. Accessible and engaging, this is an essential text for mental health students, practitioners and educators.
Call Number: RA790 .B5568 2016
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care, Second Edition Designed as a textbook for the DNP curriculum and as a practical resource for more seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed text encompasses aninterprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice that is useful for both clinical and nonclinical environments. Thesecond edition presents new chapters, three of which feature additional approaches for translating evidence into practice, new methods of informationtechnology for translation, and interprofessional collaboration and practice for translation and three that offer 19 exemplars that illustrate actualtranslation work within the areas of population health and specialty practice, and in the health care system. Consistently woven throughout are the themesof integration and application of knowledge into practice, leadership and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessionalapplications across settings. Also included is new information about outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care. The second edition continues to deliver applicable theory and strategies to achieve improved outcomes, and meets the DNP core competency requirements. Itfeatures a variety of models for change as they relate to translation of research into practice. The text underscores the importance of translatingevidence for use in practice to improve health care and health care delivery, and presents strategies to achieve this. It addresses the use of evidence toimprove nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and presents expedients for overcoming resistance tochange. Extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources enhance learning and support the development of the DNP core competencies. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Addition of an esteemed co-editor Reorganized and revised for enhanced comprehension New chapters: Methods for Translation, Information Technology and Decision Support, Interprofessional Collaboration and Practice for Translation, and Data Management and Evaluation of Translation Three new exemplar chapters: Population Health Exemplars, Specialty Practice Exemplars, and Health Care System Exemplars Updated information on integration and application of knowledge into practice, leading and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessional application across settings New coverage of outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care KEY FEATURES: Offers an in-depth guide for planning, implementing, and translating evidence Includes extensive references necessary for doctoral study Provides the perfect supplement for evidence-based practice materials that often have limited information or value for translation/implementation activities
Call Number: RT42 .T73 2012
Emergency Nursing: the profession, the pathway, the practice
Call Number: RC86.7 .E45 2016
The Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting and Finance This is the fully revised and updated second edition of STTI's popular handbook for nurse managers. Nurse managers deal with the economic reality of patient-staffing ratios, reports, and accountants. Acronyms such as FTEs and ADCs can feel like a foreign language many new managers haven't learned yet. This book provides practical tools, tips, and strategies that will help one be a successful nurse manager, including details about how key legislation affects the budgeting process
Call Number: RT86.7 .R86 2016
Family Theories: an introduction Family Theories: An Introductionnbsp;offers a thorough and accessible approach to the most current perspectives in family theory. Rich in detail yet exceptionally concise, the text's analytical structure draws from such major theoretical frameworks as social exchange and choice, symbolic-interaction, family life course development, systems, conflict, feminism, and ecology to explain variation in families. Thoroughly updated, this new edition helps readers connect theory to everyday life.
Call Number: HQ728 .W52 2015
When the Nurse Becomes a Patient: a story in words and images Home Find Books About Contact Us What We do Journals Civil War History Ohio History Ordering Information Resources For Authors For Resellers Sales Reps Policies Support the Press Make a Donation Catalog Newsroom Events Home » Series » Literature & Medicine » When the Nurse Becomes a Patient Davis cover April 2015, 32 ppCloth, $19.95tISBN 978-1-60635-230-4 ePubISBN 978-1-63101-120-7 ePDFISBN 978-1-63101-121-4 Shipping Status: Preorder Note: All eBooks are 15% off the print book price. Courtesy of our partner, Atlas Books Call (419) 281-1802 to order by phone.Related Titles Davis_C-hr The Heart's Truth Schaefer Book Cover The Poetry of Nursing DasGupta Book Cover Stories of Illness and HealingWhen the Nurse Becomes a PatientA Story in Words and ImagesLiterature & Medicine, MedicineCortney Davis Description AuthorPaintings and reflections that share a nurse's own experience of illnessIn the summer of 2013, Cortney Davis, a nurse practitioner and author who often writes about her interactions with patients, underwent routine one-day surgery. A surgical mishap led to a series of life-altering and life-threatening complications, resulting in two prolonged hospital stays and a lengthy recovery. During twenty-six days in the hospital, Davis experienced how suddenly a caregiver can become a care receiver and what it's like to be "on the other side of the sickbed." As a nurse, she was accustomed to suffering and to the empathy such witnessing can evoke, but as a patient she learned new and transforming lessons in pain, fear, loneliness, abandonment, and dependency; in the fragility of health and life; in the necessity of family support; and, ultimately, in the importance of gratitude.Once at home, Davis wanted to respond to her illness creatively through her writing, but the details seemed too intense, too raw for words. As her recovery progressed, she found release in painting, discovering an immediate connection between heart and hand, between memory and canvas. In a series of twelve paintings, she reenvisioned episodes of her illness, moments that remained and replayed in her consciousness, ultimately providing an education in health care more resonant and more authentic than what she had found in nursing textbooks.
Call Number: R726.5 .D38 2015
Privileged Presence: personal stories of connections in health care Privileged Presence is a collection of more than 50 stories that capture both the medical and emotional aspects of the health care experience through tales from those who have been there, and offers powerful messages about the essential ingredients of “good” health care: respect, compassion, collaboration, open and honest communication, family involvement, and flexibility and responsiveness to individuals and their needs. This updated second edition uses real-world experiences recounted by patients and their families, nurses, doctors, and other health care professionals to illustrate what works and what doesn’t and what increases or diminishes people’s sense of confidence and well-being
Call Number: RA425 .C855 2014
Psychiatric Nursing: assessment, care plans and medications Here's the most complete and easy-to-use resource on how to develop practical, individualized plans of care for psychiatric and mental health patients. It's really two books in one! The first half provides the diagnostic information needed to create a care plan; the second half covers the safe prescription and administration of psychotropic medications. And, the concepts can be applied to a variety of healthcare settings...from in-patient hospitalization through the outpatient clinic...to home health and private practice. Completely revised and updated throughout, the 9th Edition reflects all of the new knowledge and new medications in the field, including the DSM-5, all of today's new psychotropic medications, and the 2012-2014 content in the NANDA Nursing Diagnoses: Taxonomy II. Awarded second place in the 2015 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing category
Call Number: RC440 .T69 2015
Fast Facts for the Triage Nurse: an orientation and care guide in a nutshell This is a concise, user-friendly orientation guide and reference for new and seasoned nurses, paramedics, preceptors, educators, management teams, and anyone else working in the triage environment. It offers guidelines covering key processes and practices triage nurses use daily. Chapters address core elements of triage such as patient point of entry, acuity scales, and "red-flag" patient presentations and how to handle them; coordination and communication with other health care team members; and documentation. The book offers practical information on triage for emergency department and urgent care settings, with useful tips for both triage orientees and preceptors. It addresses care considerations for specialized populations including geriatric and pediatric patients. The text supplies essential information on teaching and learning principles and the fostering of critical thinking skills, and covers such topics as compassion fatigue, customer service, legal concerns, core measures, and patient and staff safety. Trends in triage nursing such as electronic medical record considerations, provider in triage, and advanced triage protocols are included. Information is organized in brief, bulleted "bites" for knowledge at a glance, and Fast Facts in a Nutshell boxes reinforce key concepts. "Key Features" Provides essential guidance for key procedures and protocols in an easy-to-read, easy-to-access format Offers practical triage information with a focus on emergency department and urgent care settings Focuses on processes, critical thinking, and the legal aspects of triage Includes care considerations for specific patient populations Incorporates advice from seasoned emergency department nurses and triage educators
Call Number: RC86.7 .F34 2015
Chemotherapy and Biotherapy Case Studies Test your knowledge with 21 all-new case studies covering a diverse range of clinical topics involving chemotherapy and biotherapy. Each topic provides comprehensive questions and evidence-based rationale for answers. Topics range from combination therapy and dose calculations to targeted therapies, oral agents, infusion reactions, extravasation, toxicities, and more. Symptom management, ethical issues, and survivorship care planning are also explored.
Call Number: BF637.S8 S4265 2016
Learning for Life: how continuous education will keep us competitive in the global knowledge economy Today's global knowledge economy requires individuals and companies alike to quickly adapt to new tools and strategies. To remain competitive, both must continually upgrade their skills. In the United States, however, support for ongoing education lags far behind other developed nations, creating a crippling skills gap. How did we get to this point, and why are other countries faring markedly better? What keeps our nation's vast network of corporate training, workforce development, and K-12 and college education so fragmented and inefficient? Gathering insights from key thought leaders and exemplary programs, Learning for Life examines: Why America's existing educational models are failing employees and employers The shift from content knowledge toward new ways of thinking and working, grounded in creativity, critical thinking, communication, and collaboration Policies and programs that are working in the U.S. and abroad Recommendations for overhauling our education and training infrastructure and building partnerships between providers and employers In a constantly changing world, the stakes are high to ensure our workforce performs. Learning for Life points to the most promising pathways for getting there."
Call Number: HD5706 .W56 2016
Handbook of Home Health Care Administration Handbook of Home Health Care Administration, Sixth Edition is a comprehensive text that reflects the current state of home health care administration. With contributions from leading experts in the field, it addresses key aspects of home health care, including finance, human resource development, legal and ethical issues, management information systems, marketing, quality management, research, and current technology for patient care.The Sixth Edition includes seven new chapters:* Status of Home Health Care: 2015 and Beyond* The Roles of and Competency Requirements for Paraprofessionals* Disaster Preparedness* Pediatric Home Care* Beyond Medicare-Certified Home Health Services: An Overview of Other Types of Home Care Services * Expanding Your Performance Improvement Program: Using Process and Other Measures to Improve Care* ADRs, CERTs, RACs, SMRCs, ZPICs, and Other External Audits
Call Number: RA645.3 .H355 2017
Nurse Executive Review Practice Questions: practice test questions for the nurse executive exam There is no better way to prepare for the Nurse Executive exam than to work through practice questions. If you don't know what is on the test, how can you prepare for the real thing? The catch though is not all practice tests out there are really like the Nurse Executive exam. With Trivium Test Prep, you can be sure that our Nurse Executive practice test questions are just like the real thing because they are developed by industry professionals who not only hold the certifications themselves, but teach others to prepare for the same exams. Get ready for fast and effective studying to make sure you pass the Nurse Executive exam the first time
Call Number: RT89 .N8748 2016
Introducing Research & Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing & Healthcare Professionals Frank Hamrick shares the biblical philosophy of youth ministry that has impacted hundreds of churches and thousands of teenagers over the past 30 years.
Call Number: RT81.5 .J65 2015
Nightingale's Legacy: the evolution of American Nurse Leaders This book examines the pivotal historical achievements of 20 prominent nurse leaders from Florence Nightingale's time to the present. Included in this must-have text are lessons on patient-centered care, legislative advocacy, innovation, record-keeping, cultural diversity, and education. More importantly, the book shows how you can best use these achievements in your own practice
Call Number: RT34 .J64 2016x
ICU Liberation: the power of pain control, minimal sedation, and early mobility ICU Liberation: The Power of Pain Control, Minimal Sedation, and Early Mobility offers practical information to help frontline staff implement sedation liberation and promote ICU patient mobility. The chapters provide evidence based on expert opinion, principles derived from other disciplines, and practical experience. Topics include how to perform gap analysis, delirium in the ICU, the need for sleep, and ventilator strategies.
Call Number: RC86.7 .I28 2015x
Competencies for the Hospice and Palliative Advanced Practice Nurse With healthcare reform, more than ever before. APN/s have a significant role in care delivery, quality and access. These revised competencies reflect the maturity of the specialty.
Call Number: Pamphlet #2316
The Critical Thinking Toolkit: fostering critical thinking skills in the front line This toolkit contains 16 targeted exercises to enhance bedside nurse performance on five core components of critical thinking. The exercises are designed for nurses at every career stage-tenured nurses as well as new graduates.
Call Number: RC457 .C75 2014x
Management/Employee Development Books
Population Health: an implementation guide to improve outcomes and lower costs As healthcare moves from volume to value, payment models and delivery systems will need to change their focus from the individual patient to a population orientation. This will move our economic model from that of a "sick system" to a system of care focused on prevention, boosting patient engagement, and reducing medical expenditures. This new focus will shift traditional financial accountability from the payer model to provider directed models. Population Health: An Implementation Guide to Improve Outcomes and Lower Costscovers not only the rationale for this transition, but also outlines successful practice models that are built to thrive in these new market dynamics. Besides the philosophical and the cultural aspects of these new models, it details the implementation and strategic initiatives required to succeed in today's value- and population-oriented healthcare environment. Describing what population health is, the book explains why it represents an opportunity for healthcare delivery systems, public health agencies, community-based organizations, and other entities to work together to improve health outcomes in the communities they serve. The book clarifies how the new models will impact healthcare providers, how to manage populations, and how to handle the risk factors involved. It details new delivery models, such as primary care and medical neighborhoods, and outlines the value proposition of screening and prevention in assigned populations.
Call Number: RA399.5 .M39 2016x
Really Important Stuff My Dog Has Taught Me A New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe and Indie Bestseller! Playful spaniels completely covered with snow--"There's no such thing as 'bad' weather." Two happy dogs sleeping, one on top of the other-- "Sometimes you need a pillow. Sometimes you are the pillow." The bulldog who's headfirst in her bowl--"Every meal is THE BEST MEAL EVER." Cynthia L. Copeland has a gift for discovering those sorts of simple, timeless lessons. She did it when her children were younger with Really Important Stuff My Kids Have Taught Me. Now she distills all-new wisdom from her lifelong love of dogs. Really Important Stuff My Dog Has Taught Me is tender, funny, warm, and utterly inspiring. Pairing an irresistible photograph with just the right sentiment, every page delivers a life lesson that appeals as much to our hearts as our minds. It reminds us again and again of what's important, like love: "Be there when others need you." Compassion: "Even the smallest act of kindness matters." Perseverance: "Keep going until you find your way home." A healthy sense of self: "Make it squeak until someone pays attention." Living in the present moment: "Scratch where it itches, when it itches." And that happiness is a choice: "Leap higher than you have to."
Call Number: SF426.2 .C668 2014
Analyzing Form, Function, and Financing of the U. S. Health Care System Analyzing Form, Function, and Financing of the U.S. Health Care Systemtells the story of the U.S. health care system by using a narrative approach identifying function rather than the more common data-driven focus on structure. It presents policy decisions we have made about our health care system and analyzes some of their consequences to better understand the choices we have. To facilitate this, the book is divided into four major sections. Section I is mostly "about" the health care system. It describes several theoretical models that provide a foundation for the structure of the U.S. health care system. Section II provides a description of the form, or organization, of the U.S. health care delivery system. It presents a comprehensive overview of the entire health care delivery system, including identifying all levels of care. Section III focuses on financing, beginning with a description of the economic and political values that determine how we finance our system. It describes health insurance, from the perspective of both the consumer and the provider, and discusses how money moves through the system. It concludes with a discussion and analysis of cost and cost control efforts. Section IV describes some of the more important efforts in health care reform, including several targeted programs that are a significant part of the U.S. health care system, such as Medicare and Medicaid. It also describes other targeted programs within the U.S. health care system and explores how other countries with economies similar to that of the United States organize and finance their health care systems.
Call Number: RA412.2 .D87 2016
The Journey Never Ends: technology's role in helping perfect health care outcomes If your health care organization is typical, you were successful in getting your electronic medical record (EMR) system installed on time and within budget. You declared victory and collected some money from meaningful use. But very quickly, you realized you were not getting the expected return on your investment. So you started the "optimization" process to make refinements, do some stuff over, and get it right this time. The Journey Never Ends: Technology's Role in Helping Perfect Health Care Outcomes is dedicated to helping you derive value from your investment in the software and the people in your organization. It describes some of the major initiatives, post EMR implementation, which most health care organizations now face. Most of these are transformational in nature, and instead of being IT projects, they are business or clinical initiatives with an IT component. If you or your board thought you were done spending large amounts of money on IT after implementing your EMR, you're dead wrong. Welcome to the new reality! This book shows you how to do two critical things: (1) improve work processes that are made possible because of digitized systems, especially EMRs, and (2) create learning organizations emanating from analytics insights made available as a result of these massively data-intensive digital systems. In doing so, you will be successful in significantly eliminating health care waste (operational mistakes, inaccurate or incomplete diagnoses, and unnecessary orders) and improving patient outcomes.
Call Number: R858 .J68 2016
Practical Lean Leadership for Healthcare Managers: a guide to sustainable and effective application of lean principles The application of Lean tools appears relatively simple, but the change in culture required to turn Lean into a lasting success requires strong leadership. Previously published books about Lean in health care illustrate success stories, lessons learned, and challenges for the future. This book continues where those books leave off by describing the essence of and success factors for Lean in relation to leadership. Practical Lean Leadership for Health Care Managers guides you on a journey to discover the secrets of successful Lean leaders. It is about Lean in healthcare and specifically examines the demands for making Lean successful and how the manager plays a key role in achieving this. Although the book is based on the authors' experiences in health care, the principles presented are applicable in other sectors, both public and private. The book uses a case study to illustrate the results of the authors' quest for the common factors and characteristics of successful Lean leaders. The case study follows the introduction and development of Lean in a large hospital. Demonstrating the familiar struggles involved in applying theory to daily practice, the case study is supported by theory presented in side boxes.
Call Number: RA972 .A35 2016x
Screen-Smart Parenting: how to find balance and benefit in your child's use of social media, apps, and digital devices Even for today's most tech-savvy parents, managing kids' technology use is a huge challenge fraught with uncertainties. What kinds (and amounts) of screen time boost learning and development--and what kinds may be harmful? When is the right age for a game console or a smartphone? How can kids and teens be protected from cyberbullying and learn to be good digital citizens? What impact do parents' technology habits have? In her busy psychiatry practice--and while raising her own kids--Jodi Gold sees every day both the mind-boggling benefits and the serious downsides of technology. In a positive, accessible style, she gives parents a wealth of practical strategies for navigating the digital frontier and creating realistic, doable rules and expectations for the whole family.
Call Number: HQ784.I58 G65 2015
Preparing for Continuous Quality Improvement for Healthcare: sustainability through functional tree structures This book provides a set of detailed instructions to help you construct your departmental, divisional, or organizational functional tree structure (FTS) and work towards world-class service. Preparing for Continuous Quality Improvement for Healthcare: Sustainability through Functional Tree Structures outlines a method that will enable your organization to set a stable base for future improvements that are sustainable and create breakthrough improvements in service, quality, and costs. More importantly, the FTS method outlined in the book will provide you with the tools to build processes tailored to your customers specifications and standards. It will enable you to improve your department, division, and entire organization and edge ahead of your competition. The book explains why organizations steeped in process improvement need to re-evaluate and re-establish their procedures especially if initial outcomes have not met expectations. Illustrating key concepts with examples, case studies, and flow charts, it provides you with a clear understanding of organizational functional structure and how to document current organizational and departmental functional tree structures. Describing how to identify a department's functional deficits, shortcomings, and waste, it explains how to select the best course of action for your organization. After reading this book, you will be able to create a pictorial representation of your organization's current functional structure and select the best course of action for achieving sustainable advancements in service, quality, and costs. The book will help to convert your managers from a people-management mentality to one of process management transforming leaders to educators and not guards."
Call Number: RA971 .Z527 2015
Management Innovations for Health Care Organizations Innovations in management are becoming more numerous and diverse, and are appearing in organizations providing many different kinds of products and services. The purpose of this book is to examine whether some widely-promoted examples of these management innovations - ranging from techniques such as Kaizen to styles of leadership and the management of learning - can usefully be applied to organizations which provide healthcare, and applied in different kinds of health systems. Management Innovations for Healthcare Organizations is distinctive in selecting a wide and diverse range and selection of managerial innovations to examine. No less distinctively, it makes an adaptive, critical scrutiny of these innovations. Neither evangelist nor nihilist, the book instead considers how these innovations might be adapted for the specific task of providing healthcare. Where evidence on these points is available, the book outlines that too. Consequently the book takes an international approach, with contributions from Europe, the Middle East, Australia and North America. Each contributor is an expert in the management innovation which they present. This combination of features makes the book unique.
Call Number: RA971 .M3427 2016
Bringing Value to Healthcare: practical steps for getting to a market-based model The healthcare sector is on the cusp of sweeping disruption. The hallmarks of the old system--pricing that's disconnected from outcomes and incentives for treating sickness rather than maintaining health--are no longer sustainable. And yet, after decades of financial success, it's difficult for most established industry players to grapple with meaningful changes to their business models. In their latest book, Bringing Value to Healthcare: Practical Steps for Getting to a Market-Based Model,Rita Numerof and Michael Abrams lay out the roadmap to a healthcare system that is accountable for delivering optimal patient outcomes at a sustainable cost. Based on in-depth research and decades of experience consulting with leading hospitals, insurers, and device and drug manufacturers, Numerof and Abrams provide a market-based approach to addressing the ills of the current healthcare system. In addition to highlighting industry challenges and opportunities, the authors also outline the changes required of consumers, employers, and policy makers to move to a patient-centered model characterized by value, accountability, and transparency. This is thehandbook for payer, provider, pharmaceutical, and medical device executives who are seeking to preserve today's profitability while positioning their organizations for success in the very different markets of tomorrow. The book's guidance is illuminated by case studies and each chapter concludes with a self-assessment tool and key questions. Getting to a new future isn't easy. But if it can't be envisioned, it can't be realized. Bringing Value to Healthcareis that critical first step.
Call Number: RA771.5 .N86 2016
The Lean Prescription: powerful medicine for our ailing healthcare system In this book, Dr. Gabow, former CEO of Denver Health of 20 years, teams up with Philip Goodman, a 34-year veteran of Denver Health who directed the Lean System group, to share their Lean journey. The Lean Prescription: Powerful Medicine for Our Ailing Healthcare Systemtells the story of how Dr. Gabow led Denver Health to become the first healthcare organization to be awarded the Shingo Bronze Medallion Prize for Operational Excellence. Detailing the foundational Lean principles, the bookprovides readers with the benefit of the experience of an integrated healthcare system's successful seven-year Lean journey. This book grew out Gabow's 40 years' experience as a practicing physician, teacher, researcher, and leader of a large, urban public healthcare system. About 10 years into her 20 years as CEO of the healthcare system, she began to look at how one could actually make healthcare work right. After a year of study, she and her team concluded that Lean was exactly what healthcare needed. During the seven-year Lean journey that followed, Denver Health dramatically improved quality of care. Denver Health achieved a reduction of the expected mortality rate to the lowest among the academic health center members of the University Health System Consortium in 2011.The financial results were equally impressive. Denver Health realized almost $200 million of well-documented, hard financial benefit over seven years. This book provides authoritative guidance on how to effectively implement a Lean transformation in a healthcare system that includes hospitals, HMOs, community health centers, call centers, and paramedics. Providing an accessible explanation of the Lean philosophy and tools, the book includes helpful exercises and examples of Lean applications. The book goes beyond the hospital environment to the broader healthcare sector.
Call Number: RA401.A3 G328 2015
How to Have a Good Day: harness the power of behavioral science to transform your working life In How to Have a Good Day, economist and former McKinsey partner Caroline Webb shows readers how to use recent findings from behavioral economics, psychology, and neuroscience to transform our approach to everyday working life. Advances in these behavioral sciences are giving us ever better understanding of how our brains work, why we make the choices we do, and what it takes for us to be at our best. But it has not always been easy to see how to apply these insights in the real world - until now. In How to Have a Good Day, Webb explains exactly how to apply this science to our daily tasks and routines. She translates three big scientific ideas into step-by-step guidance that shows us how to set better priorities, make our time go further, ace every interaction, be our smartest selves, strengthen our personal impact, be resilient to setbacks, and boost our energy and enjoyment. Through it all, Webb teaches us how to navigate the typical challenges of modern workplaces--from conflict with colleagues to dull meetings and overflowing inboxes--with skill and ease. Filled with stories of people who have used Webb's insights to boost their job satisfaction and performance at work, How to Have a Good Day is the book so many people wanted when they finished Nudge, Blink and Thinking Fast and Slow and were looking for practical ways to apply this fascinating science to their own lives and careers. A remarkable and much-needed book, How to Have a Good Day gives us the tools we need to have a lifetime of good days.
Call Number: HF5548.8 .W35 2016
Lean Execution: the basic implementation guide for maximizing process performance Many books explain how to construct a value stream map, but few explain the process conditions and characteristics required to ensure a value stream map can be completed successfully. Lean Execution: The Basic Implementation Guide for Maximizing Process Performancefills this need. Although the book explains Lean methods and tools that maximize process performance, its main focus is on providing readers with detailed guidelines, process conditions, and helpful tips for ensuring successful implementation. Based on Clifford Fiore's insights and experiences gained through years of firsthand application and implementation of Lean methods, the book supplies easy-to-understand explanations of proven Lean tools, methods, and concepts. For example, the concept of flow/theory of constraints is reviewed using a garden hose analogy. The text introduces material in a manner that mirrors the natural sequence for general implementation. It provides simple calculations, worksheets, and examples to reinforce the key concepts involved with determining production rates and process variation. In addition to explaining how to apply Lean tools correctly, the book provides the big picture perspective required to select and apply the appropriate Lean tool at the right time, while gaining helpful insight about the process under review. Sharing valuable lessons learned by trial and error, the book can help practitioners save valuable time and resources by not repeating similar mistakes. The book concludes with a summary that outlines a blueprint for maximizing success during implementation. Clifford Fiore has spent more than 30 years at a Fortune 500 company and is a recognized leader in applying Lean and Six Sigma methodologies. He is also a certified black belt and Lean expert. Through his work in adapting process improvement techniques in engineering, manufacturing, and the supply chain, he has emerged as an industry leader in implementing concepts towards reducing product cost, quality defects, and development cycle times.
Call Number: HD58.9 .F56 2016
Understanding Health Understanding Health 4th edition introduces students to all of the key health disciplines, examining public health, health promotion, social determinants of health and primary health care as a means of achieving greater fairness, social justice and health equity. It provides an update of important new developments in determinants thinking and adds new material on how to take action on the social determinants of health from whatever your field of endeavour with an emphasis on the evidence for better health and equity. It takes a more practical approach and looks at strategies for improving health practice.The structure of the book begins by discussing the over-arching principles of health and health promotion and continues on to explore how health status and the determinants of health are measured. The book then covers how health is shaped by the determinants of health, and finally, how to use that knowledge to improve health. The book equips the students to explore the theories and helps them to understand how to put them into practice. The extensive pedagogy highlights important theory, research and practice into the concepts covered within the text. New to this editionChapters have been revised and updated with current research and practice examples. NEW/heavily revised chapters: Global health *NEW*Population health *NEW*Epidemiology *NEW*Ecology and Health *NEW* Marginalised populations *NEW*Health promotion *Heavily revised*Determinants of Indigenous Health *Heavily revised*Social Marketing *Heavily revised*Concepts of Health and Primary Health Care chapter are two chapters Part 1 provides a comprehensive introduction to the health field, explaining the key health concepts: Determinants of health; Primary Health Care; Public Health; Population Health; Global Health and Health Promotion. Theory has been unpacked and concepts fully explained to ensure that this is truly an accessible text to those starting their education in health. Updated Theory to Practice boxes that look at the theory working in real-world examples. Includes case study examples to highlight practical implications for key groups of practitioners.Stronger focus on data and research with new Research in Practice Boxes presenting studies that use a variety of methods (includes qualitative and quantitative).Increased content on content on: Migrants, asylum seekersEnhanced navigation and signposting of topics through the addition of Key Learning Objectives and cross-referential margin links to ensure students can connect concepts throughout the text.
Call Number: RA418.3.A8 U53 2016
Designing Your Organization: using the star model to solve 5 critical design challenges Designing Your Organization is a hands-on guide that provides managers with a set of practical tools to use when making organization design decisions. Based on Jay Galbraith s widely used Star Model, the book covers the fundamentals of organization design and offers frameworks and tools to help leaders execute their strategy. The authors address the five specific design challenges that confront most of today s organizations: · Designing around the customer · Organizing across borders · Making a matrix work · Solving the centralization and decentralization dilemma · Organizing for innovation
Call Number: HD58.8 .K3774 2007
Complete Training Evaluation: the comprehensive guide to measuring return on investment While substantial advances have been made in the L&D profession over the last decade, evaluation remains by far the weakest part of the L&D cycle. Most organisations wish to evaluate the impact of their investment in training but few do it well, and the lack of effective methods is one of the key barriers. Complete Training Evaluation addresses these issues by providing practitioner friendly but academically robust information and guidance on how to evaluate all forms of learning and development. It draws on the author's own multidisciplinary research along with his practical experience of working with private and public sector organisations carrying out evaluation. The book provides practitioners with accessible 'how-to' knowledge and tools to undertake evaluations of both formal and informal learning. Full of case studies and practical examples of application of methods and insights, Complete Training Evaluation equips practitioners with a range of approaches that can be used depending on the training programme, capacity and capability.
Call Number: HF5549.5.T7 G69 2014
Achieving Safe Health Care: delivery of safe patient care at Baylor Scott & White Health A recent article published in the Journal of Patient Safetyestimated that more than 400,000 lives are lost each year due to preventable patient events in American hospitals. Preventable patient safety events are the third leading cause of death in the United States. While most health care organizations know they need to improve patient safety, most lack an understanding of the steps required to develop and implement an effective patient safety program. Baylor Scott & White Health has successfully created a strong culture of patient safety. In 2013, Baylor Health Care System published the book Achieving STEEEP Health Care,which describes its quality improvement journey via the STEEEP framework of delivering care that is Safe, Timely, Effective, Efficient, Equitable, and Patient-centered. This book provides a detailed overview of the Baylor Scott & White Health approach to the delivery of safe care, the leading aim of the STEEEP quality and patient safety framework. It presents real-life examples, practical approaches, and tools for improving patient safety. The book is structured around some of the key components of patient safety such as the importance of strategic efforts in categories of culture, processes, and technology. Maintaining a focus on human factors in patient safety and health care, the book explains the need for advanced analytics along with long-term learning and corporate resources. This book describes how to develop appropriate goals, formulate strategies to meet those goals, and implement techniques to improve patient safety based on the experience of Baylor Scott & White Health.
Call Number: RA969.9 .C66 2016
Three Box Solution: a strategy for leading innovation How to Innovate and Execute Leaders already know that innovation calls for a different set of activities, skills, methods, metrics, mind-sets, and leadership approaches. And it is well understood that creating a new business and optimizing an already existing one are two fundamentally different management challenges. The real problem for leaders is doing both, simultaneously. How do you meet the performance requirements of the existing business--one that is still thriving--while dramatically reinventing it? Howdo you envision a change in your current business model before a crisis forces you to abandon it? Innovation guru Vijay Govindarajan expands the leader’s innovation tool kit with a simple and proven method for allocating the organization’s energy, time, and resources--in balanced measure--across what he calls "the three boxes”: * Box 1: The present--Manage the core business at peak profitability * Box 2: The past--Abandon ideas, practices, and attitudes that could inhibit innovation * Box 3: The future--Convert breakthrough ideas into new products and businesses The three-box framework makes leading innovation easier because it gives leaders a simple vocabulary and set of tools for managing and measuring these different sets of behaviors and activities across all levels of the organization. Supported with rich company examples--GE, Mahindra & Mahindra, Hasbro, IBM, United Rentals, and Tata Consultancy Services--and testimonies of leaders who have successfully used this framework, this book solves once and for all the practical dilemma of howto align an organization on the critical but competing demands of innovation.
Call Number: HD57.7 .G68 2016
The Happiness Track: how to apply the science of happiness to accelerate your success A leading expert on health psychology, well-being, and resilience argues that happiness is the key to fast tracking our professional and personal success. Everyone wants to be happy and successful. And yet the pursuit of both has never been more elusive. As work and personal demands rise, we try to keep up by juggling everything better, moving faster, and doing more. While we might succeed in the short term, it comes at a cost to our well-being, relationships, and, paradoxically, our productivity. In The Happiness Track, Emma Seppala, the science director of the Center for Compassion and Altruism Research and Education at Stanford University, explains that our inability to achieve sustainable fulfillment is tied to common but outdated notions about success. We are taught that getting ahead means doing everything that’s thrown at us (and then some) with razor-sharp focus and iron discipli≠ that success depends on our drive and talents; and that achievement cannot happen without stress. The Happiness Track demolishes these counter-productive theories. Drawing on the latest findings from the fields of cognitive psychology and neuroscience—research on happiness, resilience, willpower, compassion, positive stress, creativity, mindfulness—Seppala shows that finding happiness and fulfillment may, in fact, be the most productive thing we can do to thrive professionally. Filled with practical advice on how to apply these scientific findings to our daily lives, The Happiness Track is a life-changing guide to fast tracking our success and creating the anxiety-free life we want.
Call Number: BF637.S8 S4265 2016
Designing Organizations: strategy, structure and process at the business unit and enterprise levels This Third Edition of the groundbreaking book Designing Organizations offers a guide to the process of creating and managing an organization (no matter how complex) that will be positioned to respond effectively and rapidly to customer demands and have the ability to achieve unique competitive advantage. This latest edition includes fresh illustrative examples and references, while the foundation of the book remains the author's popular and widely used Star Model. Includes a comprehensive explanation of the basics of organization design Outlines a strategic approach to design that is based on the Star Model, a holistic framework for combining strategy, structure, processes, rewards, and people Describes the different types of single-business, functional organizations and focuses on the functional structure and the cross-functional lateral processes that characterize most single-business organizations. Features a special section on the effects of big data on organization design, and whether or not it will result in a new dimension of organizational structure Highlighting the social technologies used to coordinate work flows, products, and services across the company, this new edition of Designing Organizations brings theory to life with a wealth of examples from such well-known companies as Disney, Nike, IBM, and Rovio (Angry Birds) to show how various kinds of organization designs operate differently.
Call Number: HD58.9 .G35 2014
What's New in Current Awareness?
New Videos & Audiobooks
AUDIOBOOK: Smarter Faster Better: the secrets of being productive in life and business "NEW YORK TIMES "BESTSELLER From the author of "The Power of Habit "comes a fascinating book that explores the science of productivity, and why managing "how" you think is more important than "what" you think with an appendix of real-world lessons to apply to your life. At the core of "Smarter Faster Better" are eight key productivity concepts from motivation and goal setting to focus and decision making that explain why some people and companies get so much done. Drawing on the latest findings in neuroscience, psychology, and behavioral economics as well as the experiences of CEOs, educational reformers, four-star generals, FBI agents, airplane pilots, and Broadway songwriters this painstakingly researched book explains that the most productive people, companies, and organizations don t merely act differently. They view the world, and their choices, in profoundly different ways. A young woman drops out of a PhD program and starts playing poker. By training herself to envision contradictory futures, she learns to anticipate her opponents missteps and becomes one of the most successful players in the world. A group of data scientists at Google embark on a four-year study of how the best teams function, and find that "how" a group interacts is more important than "who" is in the group a principle, it turns out, that also helps explain why "Saturday Night Live" became a hit. A Marine Corps general, faced with low morale among recruits, reimagines boot camp and discovers that instilling a bias toward action can turn even the most directionless teenagers into self-motivating achievers. The filmmakers behind Disney s "Frozen" are nearly out of time and on the brink of catastrophe until they shake up their team in just the right way, spurring a creative breakthrough that leads to one of the highest-grossing movies of all time. What do these people have in common? They know that productivity relies on making certain choices. The way we frame our daily decisions; the big ambitions we embrace and the easy goals we ignore; the cultures we establish as leaders to drive innovation; the way we interact with data: These are the things that separate the merely busy from the genuinely productive. In"The Power of Habit, " Pulitzer Prize winning journalist Charles Duhigg explained why we do what we do. In "Smarter Faster Better, "he applies the same relentless curiosity, deep reporting, and rich storytelling to explain how we can improve at the things we do. It s a groundbreaking exploration of the science of productivity, one that can help anyone learn to succeed with less stress and struggle, and to get more done without sacrificing what we care about most to become smarter, faster, and better at everything we do. Praise for "Smarter Faster Better" A pleasure to read . . . Duhigg s skill as a storyteller makes his book so engaging to read. "The New York Times Book Review" Not only will "Smarter Faster Better" make you more efficient if you heed its tips, it will also save you the effort of reading many productivity books dedicated to the ideas inside. "Bloomberg Businessweek " Duhigg pairs relatable anecdotes with the research behind why some people and businesses are not as efficient as others. "Chicago Tribune" The book covers a lot of ground through meticulous reporting and deft analysis, presenting a wide range of case studies . . . with insights that apply to the rest of us. "The Wall Street Journal" "From the Hardcover edition.""
Call Number: BF431 .D8185 2016b
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2014, 2013, 2012