Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured In 1971, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) published the first edition of Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured and laid the foundation of EMS training. Today, the Eleventh Edition transforms how EMS education is delivered throughout the world and helps develop world-class EMS providers around the globe.Based on the National EMS Education Standards and the 2015 CPR/ECC Guidelines, the Eleventh Edition offers complete coverage of every competency statement with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures students' comprehension and encourages critical thinking. New cognitive and didactic material is presented, along with new skills and features, to create a robust and innovative EMT training solution.Today, the AAOS suite of EMS educational resources, from first aid and CPR to critical care transport, is the gold standard in training programs by offering exceptional content and instructional resources that meet the diverse needs of today's educators and students.Current State-of-the-Art Medical ContentThe Eleventh Edition aligns with current medical standards--from PHTLS to NASEMSO--and incorporates evidence-based medical concepts to ensure students and instructors have accurate, insightful interpretation of medical science as it applies to prehospital medicine today.Application to Real-World EMSThrough evolving patient case studies in each chapter, the Eleventh Edition gives students real-world context to apply the knowledge gained in the chapter, clarifying how the information is used to care for patients in the field, and pushing students to engage in critical thinking and discussion.A Foundation for LifeThe Eleventh Edition is built on the premise that students need a solid foundation in the basics and then appropriate reinforcement. The Eleventh Edition provides students with a comprehensive understanding of anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, and medical terminology. Concepts are briefly reviewed within related subsequent chapters, solidifying the foundational knowledge and offering a context when studying specific emergencies. Patient Assessment, a critical topic, is presented as a single, comprehensive chapter, to ensure students understand patient assessment as a single, integrated process--the way providers actually practice it in the field. Core concepts of Patient Assessment are reinforced in clinical chapters, where the unique aspects of the illness or injury are highlighted.
Call Number: RC86.7 .A43 2017
Practice Considerations for Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners Comprehensive Two-Volume Text featuring 900+ pages, tailored to the needs of adult-gerontology acute care nurse practitioners and all advanced practice nurses working with acutely ill patients Evidence-based treatment recommendations and discussions for more than 350 of the most common conditions experienced by adult-gerontology patients Conditions are organized by body system for quick reference when treating patients Each condition lists defining terms, incidence/predisposing factors, subjective and physical examination findings, diagnostic tests, and management strategies to provide help every step of the way Coverage also includes discussion of body systems, nutritional considerations, fluid/electrolyte imbalances, shock, and trauma for a complete look at patient care and diagnosis Inclusion of International Statistical Classification of Diseases (ICD-9 and ICD-10) codes for each condition provided as supplemental material in the appendix
Call Number: RT82.8 .B37 2015x v.1 & V. 2
Dermatologic Nursing Essentials : a core curriculum Whether you are seeking dermatology nursing certification or a solid grounding in clinical care and best practices for the skin, Dermatologic Nursing Essentials: A Core Curriculum, 3rd Edition, is your must-have resource.
This official publication of the Dermatology Nurses’ Association offers all the core essentials, from anatomy and physiology to effective treatment of a full range of skin disorders. For the essential science, knowledge, skills, and nursing principles of dermatology and allergy/immunology skin care, look no further than this definitive state-of-the-art guide.
This one-of-a-kind resource provides a comprehensive foundation in dermatologic nursing with…
•NEW patient- and family-centered care highlighting patient education
•Vital practice principles and care instructions in easy-to-read outline format to support real-world patient care scenarios
•Essential practice and review material for the dermatology nursing certification exam
•On-the-spot clinical guidance to accurately evaluate and manage the full range of skin disorders, including infections, inflammations, wound healing, acne, eczemas, benign neoplasms, stings and infestations, and more, as well as psychosocial issues
•Chapter features include:•Chapter Overview summarizing content and providing relevant nursing principles
•Objectives for learning
•Key Points outline content
•Patient Education boxes offering guidance for teaching patient self-care
•Treatment section - current, effective therapies for each condition
Nearly 400 color photos and numerous tablesExcellent reference for all nursing and allied health members caring for patients with skin care needs or disorders
Call Number: RL125 .D47 2016
Pediatric Primary Care Get an in-depth look at pediatric primary care through the eyes of a Nurse Practitioner! Pediatric Primary Care, 6th Edition guides readers through the process of assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in infants, children, and adolescents. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. This sixth edition also features a wealth of new content and updates - such as a new chapter on pediatric pharmacology, full-color design and illustrations, new QSEN integration, updated coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act, a refocused chapter on practice management, and more - to keep readers up to date on the latest issues affecting practice today. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child''s growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team well is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare. NEW! Chapter on prescribing pediatric medications emphasizes the unique needs of children in pharmacotherapy. NEW! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations improve usability and learning. NEW! Graduate-level QSEN integration: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) is now introduced in the Preface. The QSEN Safety competency is now emphasized via the new Practice Alert highlights and integration of National Patient Safety Goals and Core Measures. The Informatics competency is addressed with new informatics content in a refocused Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Teamwork and Collaboration competency is addressed by new content on the trending topic of interprofessional collaboration, also in the Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice chapter. The Evidence-Based Practice competency is integrated through icons that reference evidence-based guidelines. Reorganized application of Gordon''s Functional Health Patterns provides a more conceptually consistent flow with Gordon''s model. Expanded integration of Healthy People 2020 goes beyond the emphasis on physical activity in the previous edition. Expanded coverage of health literacy includes application of health literacy principles - the ability to obtain, read, understand, and use healthcare information to make appropriate health decisions and follow instructions for treatment - in relevant chapters. Additional coverage of growth and development includes a thorough revision of the chapter on developmental management in pediatric primary care along with inclusion of developmental milestones in appropriate chapters. Expanded coverage of assessment, genetics and epigenetics, mental health issues, the Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program, and global health reflect the growing impact of these trends on pediatric primary care. Updated coverage of the Affordable Care Act includes a focus on the impact of the Affordable Care Act (including Medicaid expansion) and its implications for access to pediatric healthcare. Updated coverage of the Bright Futures guidelines goes beyond the previous edition''s focus on mental health and sexual development. NEW! Focus on diversity (vs culture) offers a greater emphasis on diversity in its many dimensions rather than on culture alone. Refocused practice management chapter has been retitled Strategies for Managing a Pediatric Health Care Practice and eliminates general practice management content that is already covered in other parts of the curriculum to focus on content more specific to pediatric practice management - including the various settings for pediatric primary care, informatics, and other essential topics influenced by the Affordable Care Act, National Patient Safety Goals, and the growing trend of interprofessional collaboration.
Call Number: RB145 .P43 2017
Essentials of Patient Education Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Essentials of Patient Education, Second Edition prepares nurses for their increasing role in patient teaching, health education and health promotion. Highly revised, the Second Edition focuses on the basic principles of teaching and learning by emphasizing the role of the professional nurse in educating patients and families effectively and efficiently in various healthcare settings. The Second Edition explores new topics of motor learning and gender differences in the brain as well as, the ethics of patient education and the legal role of the nurse as mandated by state practice. The text features completely revised chapter content and updated references that provide evidence from research and theoretical foundations which substantiate content throughout the text. Key Features: Coverage of health literacy Chapters dedicated to gender, socioeconomics, culture and persons with disabilities Discussion of compliance and motivation issues Includes the determinants of learning which captures critical information on the learner Case studies offer the opportunity to apply the teaching and learning principles featured in the chapter Instructor Resources: Lecture outlines in PowerPoint format Learning Activities Assessments
Call Number: RT90 .E85 2017
Nurse Burnout: overcoming stress in nursing Nursing is more than a job. It is a profession that attracts those who value compassion, want to make a difference in other peoples lives, and want to do greater good in the world. While the profession provides endless options of practice, settings, and flexibility, nurses are burning out due to schedules, long shifts, mental and physical exhaustion, workload, conflict and bullying, challenging patients, rapid advances in technology, and lack of control. And when stress and fatigue take over a nurses ability to prioritize self-care and recovery time, patient safety and quality is greatly affected and compromised. Nurse Burnout: Overcoming Stress in Nursing explores the stress-fatigue-burnout connection, the risks involved, and defines the health concerns and practice considerations for how to move the profession forward. Author Suzanne Waddill-Goad provides nurses with the tools they need set boundaries and combat compassion fatigue in order to renew energy to be at your personal and professional best.
Call Number: RT42 .W292 2016
A Systematic Approach to Assessment and Evaluation of Nursing Programs Published by the National League for Nursing, A Systematic Approach to Assessment and Evaluation of Nursing Programs promotes innovation and excellence in nursing education by providing truly transformative strategies for conducting ongoing formative and summative evaluation of nursing programs. Expert authors provide examples, guidelines, and practical approaches that are designed to help nurse educators and administrators: Understand program evaluation beyond accreditation. Decide how program evaluation data should be collected. Develop and implement a program evaluation plan. Prepare for the accreditation process. Use data to make sound program decisions. "Colleagues, you will find the daring ingenuity of excellence in each of these chapters. Along with the accreditation of nursing programs, the chapters explore program evaluation models, the development of systematic program evaluation plans for schools of nursing, the assessment of online courses and programs, the evaluation of specific program types, and the successful management of organizational change." Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN CEO, National League for Nursing
Call Number: RT90 .S97 2017
Philosophies and Practices of Emancipatory Nursing: social justice as praxis *** Awarded First Place in the 2015 AJNBook of the Year Award in two categories - "History and Public Policy" and "Professional Issues" *** This anthology presents the philosophical and practice perspectives of nurse scholars whose works center on promoting nursing research, practice, and education within frameworks of social justice and critical theories. Social justice nursing is defined by the editors as nursing practice that is emancipatory and rests on the principle of praxis which is practice aimed at attaining social justice goals and outcomes that improve health experiences and conditions of individuals, their communities, and society. There is a lack in the nursing discipline of resources that contain praxis approaches and there is a need for new concepts, models, and theories that could encompass scholarship and practice aimed at purposive reformation of nursing, other health professions, and health care systems. Chapters bridge critical theoretical frameworks and nursing science in ways that are understandable and useful for practicing nurses and other health professionals in clinical settings, in academia, and in research. In this book, nurses' ideas and knowledge development efforts are not limited to problems and solutions emerging from the dominant discourse or traditions. The authors offer innovative ways to work towards establishing alternative forms of knowledge, capable of capturing both the roots and complexity of contemporary problems as distributed across a diversity of people and communities. It fills a significant gap in the literature and makes an exceptional contribution as a collection of new writings from some of the foremost nursing scholars whose works are informed by critical frameworks.
Call Number: RT86.5 .P55 2014
Practical Statistics for Nursing Using SPSS This book teaches proficiency in selecting, processing, and mindfully interpreting each statistical function and finding. Herschel Knapp's approach is practical, and avoids the use of unnecessarily complex technical details that are of no interest to students. This book and ancillary materials are designed to specifically address the needs of nursing students.
Call Number: RT68 .K536 2017x
Skills for Helping Professionals Written specifically for non-clinical undergraduate students, Skills for Helping Professionals, by Anne M. Geroski focuses on helping students develop the skills they need to effectively initiate and maintain helping relationships. After covering such topics as self-awareness, the helping process, and ethics in helping, the book focuses on skills such as listening and hearing, empathy, reflecting, paraphrasing, questioning, clarifying, exploring, and offering feedback, encouragement, and psycho-education. The final chapters focus on individuals in crisis and helping in groups.
Call Number: BF637.H4 G47 2017
Qualitative Methods in Public Health: a field guide for applied research A real-world guide to conducting rigorous qualitative research Qualitative Methods in Public Health: A Field Guide for Applied Research provides a practical orientation to conducting effective qualitative research in the public health sphere. With thorough examination and simple explanations, this book guides you through the logic and workflow of qualitative approaches, with step-by-step guidance on every phase of the research. Students learn how to identify and make use of theoretical frameworks to guide your study, design the study to answer specific questions, and achieve their research goals. Data collection, analysis, and interpretation are given close attention as the backbone of a successful study, and expert insight on reporting and dissemination helps you get your work noticed. This second edition features new examples from global health, including case studies specifically illustrating study design, web and mobile technologies, mixed methods, and new innovations in information dissemination. Pedagogical tools have been added to help enhance your understanding of research design and implementation, and extensive appendices show you how these concepts work in practice. Qualitative research is a powerful tool for public health, but it′s very easy to get it wrong. Careful study design and data management are critical, and it′s important to resist drawing conclusions that the data cannot support. This book shows you how to conduct high-quality qualitative research that stands up to review. Design robust qualitative studies and collect the appropriate data Translate your data into words without sacrificing accuracy Merge qualitative and quantitative data to tell the whole story Master the logistics of consent, interviews, focus groups, and more Effective public health programs require insight into the different contexts that affect behavior. A thorough understanding and appropriate application of qualitative research strategies is the difference between relevant and credible conclusions and pseudoscience. Qualitative Methods in Public Health shows you how to get it right every step of the way.
Call Number: RA440.85 .U43 2016
Supporting Families and Carers: a nursing perspective Understanding the perspective of carers is an essential aspect of nursing. Supporting Families and Carers: A Nursing Perspective offers insights into the fundamental principles of caring for families and carers irrespective of age, gender, ethnicity, sexuality or religion. This book discusses the concepts and theories that underpin our understanding of the behaviours and feelings that families and caregivers may experience. While the book covers theoretical dimensions to understand the caregiving experience, it also provides practical perspectives for nursing and is a unique resource to inform nursing practice and learning at all levels. The book covers topics such as the stress process, stressors and how they relate to caregiving as well as actions and resources to help alter stressful situations. Interventions discussed include training and education programs, problem-solving skills, information technology-based support and formal approaches to planning care that take into account the specific needs of carers. Carers are a central aspect of contemporary health services, and working with carers is fundamental to the delivery of high-quality person- and family-centred nursing care. This invaluable resource helps nurses to work effectively in partnership with patients and their carers.
Call Number: RT42 .S86 2016x
Flipping the Nursing Classroom: Where Active Learning Meets Technology Nurse educators are constantly looking for innovative teaching strategies to meet their students' needs and to improve learning outcomes. Flipping the classroom means that students consume lecture content at home, prior to class and work through what would traditionally be considered homework during class time. The benefit to students is active learning and participation in the classroom alongside fellow students and the instructor.Flipping the Nursing Classroom: Where Active Learning Meets Technology focuses on the flipped learning model in the framework of nursing education. This text serves as a "how-to" guide for instructors, and draws on the author's extensive experience. The text opens by defining the flipped classroom and includes evidence that this technique improves student outcomes. Both learning theory and cognitive load theory are used to demonstrate why the flipped classroom is an effective mode of learning. Nurse educators will learn how to implement this technique as well as how to evaluate student success. While conversational in tone, the text is reinforced by extensive research which shows that flipping the nursing classroom is an evidence-based teaching strategy. Key Features Lectures narrated by the author Learning Objectives Key Terms Case Exemplars
Call Number: RT90 .H47 2017
Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process A trusted classic for over 50 years, Krause''s Food and the Nutrition Care Process, 14th Edition presents the most cutting-edge and up-to-date dietetics content available in this ever-changing field. Nicknamed the "nutrition bible", students and practitioners alike turn to its current, comprehensive content, engaging pedagogy and design, and logical presentation of information. This new edition includes the 2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, more visuals, and highlighted Clinical Case Studies, Clinical Insights, and Clinical Applications boxes that help translate scientific knowledge into practical patient care. Written by nearly 50 nationally recognized writers, researchers, and practitioners, it covers nutrition assessment and intervention, the nutritional needs of individuals in different stages of the life cycle, nutrition for health and fitness, and medical nutrition therapy. Authored by clinical specialists, ensuring in-depth coverage with many practical and evidence-based recommendations. Sample Nutrition Diagnosis boxes present a problem, its etiology, and its signs and symptoms before concluding with a sample nutrition diagnosis, providing both students and practitioners with real-life scenarios they may encounter in practice. UNIQUE! Pathophysiology algorithms present the cause, pathophysiology, and medical nutrition management for a variety of disorders and conditions to help you provide optimal nutritional care. Chapters on nutrition in each of the life cycle phases, include: Nutrition in Pregnancy and Lactation Nutrition in Infancy Nutrition in Childhood Nutrition in Adolescence Nutrition in the Adult Years Nutrition in Aging Focus On boxes provide thought-provoking information on key concepts for well-rounded study and further discussion within the classroom. New Directions boxes point you toward additional research on emerging areas in nutrition therapy. Clinical Insight boxes expand on clinical information, highlight areas that may go unnoticed, and contain clinical resources for students and practitioners. Chapters on the nutritional care of the low-birth-weight and premature infant feature information on how to support their health, growth, and development. Useful websites direct you to online resources that relate to chapter topics. Key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter and bolded within the text where they are discussed in more detail. NEW! The most up-to-date content throughout, including the 2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans. NEW! Worksheets on how to calculate parenteral and enteral nutrition needs added to Chapter 14: Food and Nutrient Delivery: Nutrition Support Methods. NEW! Clinical Case Studies and Clinical Applications boxes help translate academic knowledge into practical patient care. NEW! The latest recommendations from the National Institutes of Health are discussed in Chapter 33: MNT for Cardiovascular Disease. NEW! Standards of Care recommendations incorporated throughout the book. NEW! Inflammation and the Pathophysiology of Chronic Disease chapter cross-references to diseases with inflammation in the MNT chapters. NEW! More visuals added to Chapter 6, Clinical: Water, Electrolytes, and Acid-Base Balance, to help convey key concepts. NEW! Nutrition and the Affordable Care Act, Human Milk Banking, and Vending Machine Labeling Law boxes highlight the latest information on these hot topics. NEW! The Anti-inflammatory Diet appendix details the disease-fighting potential of anti-inflammatory foods. EXPANDED! MNT for Psychiatric Conditions chapter includes the most up-to-date material on Parkinson''s disease and Alzheimer''s disease.
Call Number: RM216 .M285 2017
Spirituality and Coping with Loss: end of life healthcare practice Spirituality and Coping with Loss: End of Life Healthcare Practicedescribes a research study that reflects nurses' experience of the nature of loss encountered in end of life care settings as well as the ways in which spirituality is a resource in coping in these situations. Key findings indicate how nurses' spiritual development impacts their proficiency in spiritual care. These findings will be of interest to nurses and nurse educators as well as other healthcare professionals.
Call Number: RZ401 .G74 2016
Psychiatric Nursing Made Incredibly Easy! Don't overthink it - learning psychiatric nursing can be Incredibly Easy! This psychiatric nursing guide will help you master the assessment, management, and recovery of your mental health patients. Part of the popular and award-winning Made Incredibly Easy series, this newly updated edition clarifies the complexities of psychiatric nursing, providing an oasis of down-to-earth wisdom and guidance. Seasoned experts in psychiatric-mental health nursing present symptoms, causes and diagnostic methods for more than 70 psychiatric disorders describing the latest in treatment approaches, psychopharmacology, and nursing interventions. Numerous helpful patient care tips are offered in a reader-friendly format and positive tone, interlaced with the series' trademark humor. This is an encouraging and insightful reference for students and nurses of all specialties and skill levels. Features: - Updated content reflects DSM-5 · Concise, reader-friendly content illuminates complex concepts · "Nurse Joy" offers tips and encouragement throughout · Topics covered include: disorders of children and adolescents; disorders of the elderly; schizophrenia; mood and anxiety disorders; dissociative disorders; personality disorders; eating disorders; substance use disorders · Disorders listed with: introduction; typical symptoms; possible causes; diagnostic methods; treatment approaches; nursing interventions · Numerous quick-scan tables, flow charts, and illustrations · Special features: · Advice from the experts - Practical tips from experienced psychiatric nurses · Myth busters - Distinguishes fact from fiction about people with mental illness · Bridging the gap - Discusses the unique needs and beliefs of different cultural groups · Meds matters - Pharmacologic and herbal remedies for psychiatric problems · Quick quiz - At end of each chapter · Memory joggers - Mnemonics that help readers remember difficult concepts
Call Number: RC440 .P764 2016
LPN to RN Transitions: achieving success in your new role Reentering the rigors of academic life is a monumental decision for any LPN or LVN returning to school, involving both personal and financial investment. This book serves as a guide to assist readers in successfully balancing career, school, and personal life while pursuing educational and professional goals. It leads the reader though a series of interactive exercises and develops a Personal Education Plan. The text supports the reader during this important transition, taking into consideration individual experience, needs, and degree program.
Call Number: RT82 .H37 2013
Mastering Patient and Family Education: a healthcare handbook for success Mastering Patient and Family Education presents a model that moves PFE to a central part of a health system. Author Lori C. Marshall will guide readers through every step of the process from building a strong foundation for self-care management, to maximizing knowledge transfers through tools and technology, to establishing a health system approach for patient and family education. Using the tools and resources in this book, nurses and healthcare professionals can better educate patients so they can actively participate in their treatment and ultimately improve outcomes
Call Number: RT90 .M37 2016
Clinical Reasoning and Care Coordination in Advanced Practice Nursing Teaches students how to think like an APRN This book describes an innovative model for helping APRN students develop the clinical reasoning skills required to navigate complex patient care needs andcoordination in advanced nursing practice. This model, the Outcome-Present-State-Test (OPT), encompasses a clear, step-by-step process that students can use to learn the skills of differential diagnosis and hone clinical reasoning strategies. This method facilitates understanding of the relationships among patient problems, outcomes, and interventions that focus on promoting patient safety and care coordination. It moves beyond traditional ways of problemsolving by focusing on patient scenarios and stories and juxtaposing issues and outcomes that have been derived from an analysis of patient problems, evidence-based interventions, and desired outcomes. The model offers a blueprint for using standardized health care languages and provides strategies for developing reflective and complex thinking thatbecomes habitual. It embodies several levels of perspective related to patient-centered care planning, team-centered negotiation, and health care systemconsiderations. Through patient stories and case scenarios, the text highlights care coordination strategies critical in complex patient situations. Itprovides students with the tools to collect patient information, determine priorities for care, and test interventions to reach health care outcomes bymaking clinical judgments during the problem-solving process. Concept maps illustrate complex patient care issues and how they relate to each other. For faculty use, the text provides links to relevant APN competencies and provides guidelines for using the OPT when supervising students in field settings. Key Features: Delivers a concrete learning model for developing creative thinking and problem solving in the clinical setting Offers a blueprint and structure for using standardized health care languages Includes patient stories and case scenarios to illustrate effective use of the OPT model Highlights care coordination strategies associated with complex client situations with the use of the Care Coordination Clinical Reasoning model Reinforces methods of reaching a diagnosis, outcomes, and interventions and how to duplicate the process
Call Number: RT49 .K85 2016x
Scope and Standards of Practice Vascular Nursing Vascular nursing focuses on the needs and care of Individuals and their families who have or at risk for vascular disease: education, health promotion, creative care management, assessment for alterations of function, and strategies to assist patients maintain, regain, and improve function and prevent disability. Vascular nurses also engage in research, policy, emerging healthcare delivery issues and technologies, and promoting community awareness of vascular disease and dysfunction to encourage early detection and prevention. The publication's scope of practice addresses what is expected of all vascular nurses, specifying the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. That detailed discussion of the scope of practice gives the context - the underlying assumptions, characteristics, environments and settings, education and training requirements, key issues and trends, and ethical and conceptual bases of vascular nursing - needed
Call Number: RC691 .S65 2016
Foundations for Health Promotion The new edition of the highly successful Foundations for Health Promotion continues to offer a wealth of information in a unique, user-friendly format. Containing over 300 artworks, tables and 'pull out' boxes, this helpful text covers the theory, strategies and methods, settings and implementation of health promotion. Applicable to a wide range of health and social care professionals and anyone engaged with education about health and wellbeing. Comprehensive updating and expansion to reflect recent research findings and major organizational and policy changes Clear structure and signposting for ease of reading and study Wide choice of examples and illustrative case studies reflect the needs of a variety of professional groups in health services, local and municipal services and education Ineractive learning activities with indicative answers help readers consolidate their learning Comprehensively updated and expanded to reflect major organizational and policy changes Interactive learning activities with indicative answers at the end of each chapter 'Pull out' boxes illustrate recent research findings and case studies of practice
Call Number: RA427.8 .N35 2016x
Preventive Nutrition: the comprehensive guide for health professionals This newly expanded and updated fifth edition will be the largest and most comprehensive of the five editions and new topics and chapter authors have been added. The authors have created the most comprehensive and up-to-date review of the nutritional strategies available for the prevention of disease and the promotion of health through nutrition. Patients are looking for credible information from their health care providers about a whole range of subjects covered here, including ß-carotene, lycopene, antioxidants, folate, and the myriad of bioactive phytochemicals found in garlic and other foods. With sections on cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and pregnancy among many others, this volume will be of great value to practicing health professionals, including physicians, nutritionists, dentists, pharmacists, dieticians, health educators, policy makers, health economists, regulatory agencies and research investigators. An entire section covers nutrition transitions around the world including Eastern Europe, Latin America and Asia as well as goals for preventive nutrition in developing countries. Preventive Nutrition: The Comprehensive Guide for Health Professionals, 5th Ed. is an important resource for thousands of health professionals who have been utilizing the previous editions since 1997.
Call Number: RM216 .P778 2015
Management/Employee Development Books
Organizational Generativity: the appreciative inquiry summit and a scholarship of transformation This volume revolves around three fundamental aspects of organisational generativity, namely: generative knowledge and organizational life, collective action and the appreciative inquiry summit, and sustainable inter-generative dynamics.
Call Number: HD58.8 .O743 2013x
Leveraging Data in Healthcare: best practices for controlling, analyzing, and using data The healthcare industry is in a state of accelerated transition. The proliferation of data and its assimilation, access, use, and security are ever-increasing challenges. Finding ways to operationalize business and clinical data management in the face of government and market mandates is enough to keep most chief officers up at night! Leveraging Data in Healthcare: Best Practices for Controlling, Analyzing, and Using Dataargues that the key to survival for any healthcare organization in today's data-saturated market is to fundamentally redefine the roles of chief information executives--CIOs, CFOs, CMIOs, CTOs, CNIOs, CTOs and CDOs--from suppliers of data to drivers of data intelligence. This book presents best practices for controlling, analyzing, and using data. The elements of preparing an actionable data strategy are exemplified on subjects such as revenue integrity, revenue management, and patient engagement. Further, the book illustrates how to operationalize the electronic integration of health and financial data within patient financial services, information management services, and patient engagement activities. An integrated environment will activate a data-driven intelligent decision support infrastructure. The increasing impact of consumer engagement will continue to affect the organization's bottom line. Success in this new world will need collaboration among the chiefs, users, and data creators.
Call Number: R858 .B87 2016x
Relationship Power in Health Care: science of behavior change, decision making and clinician self-care The personal interface between clinician and patient is a misunderstood subject which can impact all areas of health care. Without adequate training in relationship science clinicians inadvertently contribute to empathic failure, poor medical decision process, difficulty changing health-related behavior, costly variation and derailment of care, extra litigation, and clinician burnout. Relationship Power in Health Carepresents new knowledge and skills that empower health care and wellness professionals to become competent facilitators of behavior and lifestyle change, information transfer, and medical decision making in collaboration with their patients. The new approaches are supported by a wide variety of research and clinical evidence, derived from modern psychotherapy, brain biology, and the latest advances in health coaching and nursing science. Putting them to work to improve health care makes good sense both scientifically and ethically. This comprehensive text integrates past health psychology models starting from the 1950s with recent advances made since the 1990s in relationship psychology and interpersonal neurobiology. It also includes videos of brief medical interviewsalong with analysis of the strategies and tactics used. The tactics outlined and the interview demonstrations, conducted by a highly experienced clinical social worker and nurse Joanne Gaffney, offer a unique opportunity for all clinicians to acquire valuable skills in both clinician self-care and patient care.
Call Number: R727.3 .L58 2016x
Management Principles for Health Professionals Management Principles for Health Professionals is a practical guide for new or future practicing healthcare managers. The customary activities of the manager―planning, organizing, decision making, staffing, motivating, and budgeting―are succinctly defined, explained, and presented with detailed examples drawn from a variety of health care settings. Students will learn proven management concepts, techniques, models, and tools for managing individuals or teams with skill and ease. The Seventh Edition continues to present foundational principles of management in the context of contemporary health care. This thorough update offers many new examples including corporate compliance, standards of conduct and mandatory reporting, eHealth, revenue cycle considerations, cultural competency and diversity training, comparative effectiveness reviews. The Seventh Edition also offers expanded coverage of material relating to HIPAA, the electronic health record/personal health record, due diligence reviews, and healthcare reform legislation. Key Features: • Offers new and updated examples throughout reflecting a wide variety of settings, including acute care, observation units, urgent care, continuing care facilities, and more • Includes a full-scale plan, with 500-day implementation schedule to illustrate project management • Explores newly emerging job positions, such as compliance officer, privacy specialist, data quality and analysis specialist, and contractual management teams
Call Number: RA393 .L53 2017
Healthcare Information Management Systems: cases, strategies and solutions Healthcare Information Management Systems, 4th edition, is a comprehensive volume addressing the technical, organizational and management issues confronted by healthcare professionals in the selection, implementation and management of healthcare information systems. With contributions from experts in the field, this book focuses on topics such as strategic planning, turning a plan into reality, implementation, patient-centered technologies, privacy, the new culture of patient safety and the future of technologies in progress. With the addition of many new chapters, the 4th Edition is also richly peppered with case studies of implementation. The case studies are evidence that information technology can be implemented efficiently to yield results, yet they do not overlook pitfalls, hurdles, and other challenges that are encountered. Designed for use by physicians, nurses, nursing and medical directors, department heads, CEOs, CFOs, CIOs, COOs, and healthcare informaticians, the book aims to be a indispensible reference.
Call Number: RA394 .H45 2016
Leading High Reliability Organizations in Healthcare The Institute of Medicine, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid, The Joint Commission, and other regulatory and accrediting bodies all agree that hospitals must be transformed into places where each patient receives quality care, every single time. In other words, zero defects. Helping to ensure quality at every level, high-reliability methods offer healthcare leaders the tools they need to achieve this noble goal. Leading High-Reliability Organizations in Healthcaredetails the attributes and practices that help high-reliability organizations (HROs) excel in the service they provide to their customers. Explaining what it takes to achieve high reliability in healthcare settings, it defines reliability as much more than just being safe, it describes how to measure reliability and paves the way to higher reliability. The book presents proven tools, concepts, and skills that leading healthcare organizations are using to improve safety and quality, including mistake proofing, Lean Six Sigma, and reliability engineering. It details the roles and responsibilities of the two key organizational components involved in achieving high reliability: leadership and the reliability "engineers" who apply reliability methods both technically and socially throughout the healthcare value stream. Rick Morrow, executive in HROs and now System Director of Quality, Safety, and Process Improvement at CHRISTUS Health, one of the largest non-profit healthcare systems, identifies the necessary infrastructure, methods, and analytics required to achieve and sustain higher reliability. He also suggests applications of high reliability concepts that have proven to work well in healthcare settings. The book includes numerous case studies that illustrate success stories of healthcare organizations achieving higher reliability, some achieving zero defects for years. It also contains case studies that examine examples of failures, so you can avoid making the same mistakes.
Call Number: RA971 .M677 2016x
Using Data Management Techniques to Modernize Healthcare Healthcare organizations with sound human resources (HR) infrastructures are better able to hire, develop, promote, and retain employees who match up well with their specific needs. Using Data Management Techniques to Modernize Healthcare explains how to modernize your HR systems through the use of artificial intelligence (AI), information technology (IT), and other empirical methods. Identifying new technologies and processes that can help to reduce HR labor costs while increasing efficiency and quality of care, it examines the weaknesses that exist in the hiring and employee management practices of today's healthcare organizations. With a focus on the systemic issues related to hiring and compensation, the book provides detailed information regarding HR protocols, IT related issues, and workplace culture. It suggests ways to speed up candidate reviews and explains how to use IT and AI to reduce the number of bad hires. Other topics covered include five key drivers of hospital growth, the digital revolution and its relevance to healthcare companies' HR practices, and ideas you can use to increase employee satisfaction and retention. Providing helpful tips for modernizing HR processes that can save your healthcare organization time and money, the book begins with a historical overview of the growth of the hospital industry and the challenges it currently faces. Next, it discusses HR infrastructures and details methods for improving your hiring systems. The final part of the book covers employee development and promotion programs, the proper management and motivation of staff, and the unique HR and IT challenges facing rural hospitals. The book's appendix includes copies of key checklists, figures, and tables found throughout the book. After reading this book, you will understand how to compare your current HR system to the authors' proposed 21st century model so that you can pinpoint the HR processes that must be retooled to modernize your system.
Call Number: RA971.6 .H63 2016
Introduction to Health Care Management Introduction to Health Care Management, Third Edition is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management text that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader’s imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered. Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher-friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health. The Third Edition is a thorough update that offers new and revised case studies, a new glossary of terms, as well as a new chapter on Special Topics and Emerging Issues in Health Care Management that examines current topics including re-emerging outbreaks, vaccine preventable diseases, bioterrorism, human trafficking, violence in health care settings, medical tourism, and consumer directed health care. Key Features: • Chapters contributed by real experts using an active voice to grab the reader’s attention • Instructors’ resources online for each chapter, including PowerPoints, Test Bank, and Sample Syllabus • Updated case studies in a wide variety of settings, in an assortment of healthcare management topics • A case study guide, with rubrics for evaluation of student performance, enabling instructors at every level of experience to hit the ground running on that first day of class
Call Number: RA971 .I58 2017
Transforming Health Care Scheduling and Access: getting to now According to "Transforming Health Care Scheduling and Access," long waits for treatment are a function of the disjointed manner in which most health systems have evolved to accommodate the needs and the desires of doctors and administrators, rather than those of patients. The result is a health care system that deploys its most valuable resource--highly trained personnel--inefficiently, leading to an unnecessary imbalance between the demand for appointments and the supply of open appointments. This study makes the case that by using the techniques of systems engineering, new approaches to management, and increased patient and family involvement, the current health care system can move forward to one with greater focus on the preferences of patients to provide convenient, efficient, and excellent health care without the need for costly investment. "Transforming Health Care Scheduling and Access" identifies best practices for making significant improvements in access and system-level change. This report makes recommendations for principles and practices to improve access by promoting efficient scheduling. This study will be a valuable resource for practitioners to progress toward a more patient-focused "How can we help you today?" culture.
Call Number: RA971 .I476 2015
Essentials of Health Policy and Law Public opinion polls, media coverage, legal disputes, and policy debates at all levels of government and in private industry – debates ranging from the health of the national economy to the health of state populations to the health of a single individual sickened by Ebola hemorrhagic fever – attest to the important place that individual health care and public health hold in the minds of the American public, policymakers, and lawmakers. Indeed, the range of topics covered by the legal disputes and policy debates is breathtaking. For example, how should finite financial resources be allocated between health care and public health? What kind of return (in terms of quality of individual care and the overall health of the population) should we expect from the staggering amount of money we collectively spend on health? Should individuals have a legal entitlement to health insurance? How should we attack extant health disparities based on race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status? What policies will best protect the privacy of personal health information in an increasingly electronic medical system? Should physician assistance in dying be promoted as a laudable social value? How prepared is the country for natural and man-made catastrophes, like pandemic influenza or bioterrorism attacks? Essentials of Health Policy and Law, Third Edition provides students of public health, medicine, nursing, public policy, and health administration with answers to and analytic frameworks for these complex questions, including in-depth discussions of the essential policy and legal issues impacting and flowing out of the healthcare and public health systems and the way health policies and laws are formulated. Concise and straightforward, this textbook is an introduction to the seminal issues in U.S. health policy and law, with a particular focus on national health reform under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). The Third Edition is a thorough revision that offers updated information on the ACA, Medicaid, CHIP, Medicare, state health policy, public health preparedness, and health care quality. The Third Edition also offers: • New chapter: The Social Determinants of Health and the Role of Law in Optimizing Health • Updated and enhanced chapter on “The Art of Structuring and Writing a Health Policy Analysis” • Updated Figures, Tables, and Discussion Questions throughout
Call Number: RA395.A3 T45 2017
Healthcare Informatics: improving efficiency through technology, analytics and management Healthcare Informatics: Improving Efficiency through Technology, Analytics, and Managementsupplies an understanding of the different types of healthcare service providers, corresponding information technologies, analytic methods, and data issues that play a vital role in transforming the healthcare industry. All of these elements are reshaping the various activities such as workflow and processes of hospitals, healthcare systems, ACOs, and patient analytics, including hot spotting, risk stratification, and treatment effectiveness. A follow-up to Healthcare Informatics: Improving Efficiency and Productivity, this latest book includes new content that examines the evolution of Big Data and how it is revolutionizing the healthcare industry. It presents strategies for achieving national goals for the meaningful use of health information technology and includes sound project management principles and case illustrations for technology roll-out, such as Computer Physician Order Entry (CPOE) for optimal utilization. The book describes how to enhance process efficiency by linking technologies, data, and analytics with strategic initiatives to achieve success. It explains how to leverage data resources with analytics to enhance decision support for care providers through in-depth descriptions of the array of analytic methods that are used to create actionable information, including Business Intelligence, Six Sigma, Data, and Text Mining.
Call Number: R858 .H3832 2016x
Mastering Leadership: an integrated framework for breakthrough performance and extraordinary business results Is your leadership a competitive advantage, or is it costing you? How do you know? Are you developing your leadership effectiveness at the pace of change? For most leaders today, complexity is outpacing their personal and collective development. Most leaders are in over their heads, whether they know it or not. The most successful organizations over time are the best led. While this has always been true, today escalating global complexity puts leadership effectiveness at a premium. Mastering Leadership involves developing the effectiveness of leaders--individually and collectively--and turning that leadership into a competitive advantage. This comprehensive roadmap for optimal leadership features: Breakthrough research that connects increased leadership effectiveness with enhanced business performance The first fully integrated Universal Model of Leadership--one that integrates the best theory and research in the fields of Leadership and Organizational Development over the last half century A free, online self-assessment of your leadership, using the Leadership Circle Profile, visibly outlining how you are currently leading and how to develop even greater effectiveness The five stages in the evolution of leadership--Egocentric, Reactive, Creative, Integral, and Unitive--along with the organizational structures and cultures that develop at each of these stages Six leadership practices for evolving your leadership capability at a faster pace A map of your optimal path to greater leadership effectiveness Case stories that facilitate pragmatic application of this Leadership Development System to your particular situation This timeless, authoritative text provides a systemic approach for developing your senior leaders and the leadership system of your organization. It does not recommend quick fixes, but argues that real development requires a strategic, long-term, and integrated approach in order to forge more effective leaders and enhanced business performance. Mastering Leadership offers a developmental pathway to bring forth the highest and best use of yourself, your life, and your leadership. By more meaningfully deploying all of who you are every day, individually and collectively, you will achieve a leadership legacy consistent with your highest aspirations.
Call Number: HD57.7 .A529 2016
Just and Lasting Change: when communities own their futures How can public health workers, policy experts, and medical professionals work with members of developing nations to promote social change in rapid, cost-effective, and locally appropriate ways? In Just and Lasting Change, Daniel C. and Carl E. Taylor present readers with an innovative, proven, and site-specific guide to helping communities thrive through growing their own change in partnership with experts, donors, and government. The Taylors built their decades-long careers by partnering with key thinkers to combat inequity, environmental degradation, and globalization. The SEED-SCALE model they describe enables people (wherever they might live) to transform their communities by analyzing their local context in relation to the global, taking appropriate actions based on their priorities and resources, and assessing what succeeding actions may be needed to continue making progress. Just and Lasting Change describes, step by step, how the SEED-SCALE model can be effectively implemented. Drawing from a variety of engaging personal experiences and case studies, this wide-ranging book describes early attempts to promote social development a century ago, as well as current efforts in South America, Africa, and Asia. It also reveals how community-based social change unfolded in America, spurred at different points by Abraham Lincoln's leadership style and the Green Bay Packers's ownership model, and presents readers with thematic global examples from the anti-smoking campaign, Green Revolution, Child Survival Revolution, and urban agriculture. The second edition of this pathbreaking handbook offers a hopeful description of how people have improved the quality of life in diverse communities around the world and is fully revised and updated with· Five completely new chapters · Thirteen years of scholarship and global evidence· Contributions from leading international experts in community-based development and public health
Call Number: RA427 .T39 2016
I Thought It Was Just Me (But It Isn't): making the journey from what will people thing? to I'm enough The quest for perfection is exhausting and unrelenting. We spend too much precious time and energy managing perception and creating carefully edited versions of ourselves to show to the world. As hard as we try, we can't seem to turn off the tapes that fill our heads with messages like, 'Never good enough!' and 'What will people think?' Why? What fuels this unattainable need to look like we always have it all together? At first glance we might think it's because we admire perfection, but that's not the case. We are actually the most attracted to people we consider to be authentic and down-to-earth. We love people who are 'real' - we're drawn to those who both embrace their imperfections and radiate self-acceptance. There is a constant barrage of social expectations that teach us that being imperfectis synonymous with being inadequate. Everywhere we turn, there are messages that tell us who, what and how we're supposed to be. So, we learn to hide our struggles and protect ourselves from shame, judgment, criticism and blame by seeking safety in pretendingand perfection. Based on seven years of ground-breaking research and hundreds of interviews, I Thought It Was Just Meshines a long-overdue light on an important truth: Our imperfections are what connect us to each other and to our humanity. Our vulnerabilities are not weaknesses; they are powerful reminders to keep our hearts and minds open to the reality that we're all in this together. Dr. Brown writes, 'We need our lives back. It's time to reclaim the gifts of imperfection - the courageto be real, the compassionwe need to love ourselves and others, and the connectionthat gives true purpose and meaning to life. These are the gifts that bring love, laughter, gratitude, empathy and joy into our lives.'
Call Number: HQ1206 .B76 2008bx
The Coaching Manager: developing top talent in business The Coaching Manager provides guidance, tools, and examples needed to develop leadership talent and inspire performance through an innovative coaching model that the authors have researched and tested among thousands of managers through the renowned Babson College Coaching for Leadership and Teamwork Program. Unlike coaching books that focus on performance problems, The Coaching Manager presents a developmental coaching methodology that managers can use to guide employees to achieve higher levels of skill, experience greater engagement with organizations, and promote personal development. Key Features Covers the concept, processes, and strategies involved in developmental coaching, providing real-world strategies for developing people in any organization. Offers self-assessment tools to prompt students and managers to explore their existing notions of coaching and to what extent they or their organizations might be prepared or ready to create and sustain a coaching environment. Twenty real-world cases illustrate coaching in action across different organizations and environments. Action checklists to deepen skills and provide experiential learning opportunities in the classroom and on the job.
Call Number: HF5385 .H86 2017
When to Rob a Bank: and 131 more warped suggestions and well-intended rants In celebration of the 10th anniversary of the landmark book Freakonomics comes this curated collection from the most readable economics blog in the universe. It’s the perfect solution for the millions of readers who love all things Freakonomics. Surprising and erudite, eloquent and witty, When to Rob a Bank demonstrates the brilliance that has made the Freakonomics guys an international sensation, with more than 7 million books sold in 40 languages, and 150 million downloads of their Freakonomics Radio podcast. When Freakonomics was first published, the authors started a blog—and they’ve kept it up. The writing is more casual, more personal, even more outlandish than in their books. In When to Rob a Bank, they ask a host of typically off-center questions: Why don’t flight attendants get tipped? If you were a terrorist, how would you attack? And why does KFC always run out of fried chicken? Over the past decade, Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner have published more than 8,000 blog posts on Freakonomics.com. Many of them, they freely admit, were rubbish. But now they’ve gone through and picked the best of the best. You’ll discover what people lie about, and why; the best way to cut gun deaths; why it might be time for a sex tax; and, yes, when to rob a bank. (Short answer: never; the ROI is terrible.) You’ll also learn a great deal about Levitt and Dubner’s own quirks and passions, from gambling and golf to backgammon and the abolition of the penny.
Call Number: HB74.P8 L47973 2016
Service Excellence is as easy as PIE: perception is everything Most of us work ourselves silly focusing on quality, demonstrated outcomes and proven results. That's a good thing. Yet too often we often stop short of the final step: zeroing in on how all our hard work comes across to the patient or customer. Why do we spend so much time making sure the ingredients are right...and so little time thinking about perception? Liz Jazwiec, award winning author of Eat That Cookie and Hey Cupcake , asks (and answers) this question in her latest book. In Service Excellence Is As Easy As P.I.E. (Perception Is Everything), she deploys her trademark sense of humor as she shares some practical and relatable ways to zone in on and improve service. This latest book in Liz's "treat trilogy" does a delicious job of explaining the tools and tactics that form the whipped-cream smiley on the pie of service excellence. Not only does she explain how to generate powerful impressions and improve perceptions, she folds lots of entertaining stories into the mix. Here's just a sampling of what P.I.E. readers will learn: 1. Service and Quality are two sides of the same coin; you can't improve perception of the former solely by improving the latter. (No matter how superior the engine technology may be, no one will buy the car if the cup holder is in a bad place.) 2. Perception is emotional and spiritual, not scientific which is why it's okay to order flowers for the front desk without any data 3. Human beings don't mind being inconvenienced. They do mind being ignored. 4. Pulling the curtain is about creating privacy, not hiding patients from view (and telling them that makes all the difference). 5. To manage expectations, tell them what you know... with a little cushion. 6. Service Improvement doesn't take extra money, time, or resources sometimes a Styrofoam cup filled with ice is all that's needed. 7. Don't just provide the cozy blankets, let them know you provide the cozy blankets (Get comfor
Call Number: HF5415.5 .J38 2014x
The Patient Flow Advantage: how hardwiring hospital-wide flow drives competitive performance Some is not a number. Soon is not a time. Somehow is not a strategy! How will your organization survive and thrive with the shift from volume to value? In healthcare, change used to be less frequent. But today, each of us works in a capacity-constrained environment where change is constant and patient volume is ever increasing. Flow matters. In fact, it's non-negotiable.Efficient patient flow has never been more critical to ensure patient safety, satisfaction, and optimal reimbursement. In The Patient Flow Advantage: How Hardwiring Hospital-Wide Flow Drives Competitive Performance, Drs. Kirk Jensen and Thom Mayer share tips and best practices from their Flow Tool Kit. This resource was developed based on years of hardwiring flow in hundreds of hospitals across the U.S. and Canada.Building on principles first outlined in their earlier book Hardwiring Flow: Systems and processes for Seamless Patient Care, the authors offer specific tips, tools, and techniques to add value and eliminate waste. The goal: to build effectiveness, efficiency and a patient-centric focus into the heart of every process that serves patients.Readers will learn: The 7 core strategies to hardwire flow and the tools that support them Why--and how--to use Evidence-Based LeadershipSM for agile, effective teamwork and a culture of safety and accountability Valuable lessons to apply from other industries --like restaurants, aviation, and submarine operations--that get flow right (or that have mastered flow) "Advanced" flow concepts, including how to use targeted systems hospital-wide to relieve boarding and speed patient care How to apply these strategies to the "frontiers of flow," in acute care surgery, critical care medicine, radiology, and anesthesia servicesData, knowledge, and wisdom. Learn to leverage your people, your processes, and your healthcare spaces to better serve your patients, providers, leaders, and staff. The Patient Flow Advantage is your must have guide to hardwire hospital-wide flow.
Call Number: RA965.6 .J45 2015x
The Art of Change Leadership: driving transfomration in a fast-paced world Be an transformational leader during times of rapid organizational change The Art of Change Leadership represents a major milestone in the study of change leadership. An approachable yet thorough guide for leaders and team members that illustrates how to increase speed and agility during times of intense technological innovation and fast change, this resource focuses on the ways in which you, as an individual, can harness your unique abilities to lead cultural change and personal leadership in a positive and proactive way. Through eleven comprehensive chapters, explore the need for increased human brain speed, how to improve your focus, the body/mind connection, agility within a team setting, improving productivity, communication with your team, and more. Technology, globalization, evolving business models--these are just some of the variables impacting the competitive landscapes across virtually all industries. To keep up with the changes that these and other factors are creating, it is critical that you are able to understand what change leadership is, why it is important, and how you can leverage it in your workplace to positively impact your company. Explore research on change leadership vs. change management to improve business Leverage technology to improve productivity and adaptability to rapid change Evolutionary approaches to change leadership that include energy management and innovative mindset approaches Discover questionnaires, assessments and quizzes to assess your change leadership agilities The Art of Change Leadership is a (r)evolutionary text that prepares you to increase your team's speed and agility, and to thrive in today's continually evolving business environment.
Call Number: HD58.8 .C717 2016
High Reliability Organizations: a healthcare handbook for patient safety & quality Patient safety and quality are an ever-increasing concern to consumers, payers, providers, organizations, and governments. However, high reliability methods and science that can provide efficient and effective care have still not been totally implemented into our healthcare culture. Nurses, representing the majority of healthcare workers, are on the front line of the delivery and provision of safe and effective care and are ideally situated to drive the mission to achieve high reliability in healthcare.
High Reliability Organizations: A Healthcare Handbook for Patient Safety & Quality presents practical examples of HRO principles in order to establish a system that detects and prevents errors from happening even in the most difficult, high risk conditions. Authors Cynthia Oster and Jane Braaten provide healthcare professionals with tools and best practices that will improve and enhance patient safety and quality outcomes. This book provides: An overview of HRO science as an organizing framework for quality and patient safety Practical applications of HRO science, focusing on quality and patient safety Knowledge and tools that can be applied to current quality and safety practices Real-world examples of HRO principles employed in a variety of patient care areas
Call Number: RA971 .H54 2016
Process Mining in Healthcare: evaluating and exploiting operational healthcare processes What are the possibilities for process mining in hospitals? In this book the authors provide an answer to this question by presenting a healthcare reference model that outlines all the different classes of data that are potentially available for process mining in healthcare and the relationships between them. Subsequently, based on this reference model, they explain the application opportunities for process mining in this domain and discuss the various kinds of analyses that can be performed. They focus on organizational healthcare processes rather than medical treatment processes. The combination of event data and process mining techniques allows them to analyze the operational processes within a hospital based on facts, thus providing a solid basis for managing and improving processes within hospitals. To this end, they also explicitly elaborate on data quality issues that are relevant for the data aspects of the healthcare reference model. This book mainly targets advanced professionals involved in areas related to business process management, business intelligence, data mining, and business process redesign for healthcare systems as well as graduate students specializing in healthcare information systems and process analysis.
Call Number: RA399 .M35 2015x
Strategic Management of Healthcare Organizations: a stakeholder management approach Perhaps no industry today faces greater challenges than healthcare, and industry professionals are seeking novel solutions to the problems they encounter every day. Unfortunately, much of the conventional wisdom in business is based on theories developed in manufacturing organizations; however, running a healthcare organization like a factory can lead to dissatisfaction of some of the firm's most important stakeholders, including patients, managers, and employees, and it may even lead to inefficiency! Stakeholder theory offers an alternative approach that directly addresses these and other problems in healthcare organizations. It is based on developing trusting and productive relationships with stakeholders that lead to high levels of value creation, as indicated by stakeholder satisfaction, innovation, efficiency, and growth. This practical book includes state-of-the art thinking on stakeholder theory and strategic management to encourage a broader and more enlightened view of management. It outlines a process that is applicable to all levels of a healthcare organization, including evaluation of trends in the external environment that need to be addressed, analysis of internal resources, generation and selection of innovative solutions to the problems a firm is facing, and development of an action plan and control system to ensure that solutions are implemented and successfully address the most pressing issues.
Call Number: RA971 .H37 2015x
Discover Your True North: becoming an authentic leader The Leadership Classic, Discover Your True North, expanded for today's leaders Discover Your True North is the best-selling leadership classic that enables you to become an authentic leader by discovering your True North. Originally based on first-person interviews with 125 leaders, this book instantly became a must-read business classic when it was introduced in 2007. Now expanded and updated to introduce 48 new leaders and new learning about authentic global leaders, this revisited classic includes more diverse, global, and contemporary leaders of all ages. New case studies include Warren Buffett, Indra Nooyi, Arianna Huffington, Jack Ma, Paul Polman, Mike Bloomberg, Mark Zuckerberg, and many others. Alongside these studies, former Medtronic CEO Bill George continues to share his personal stories and his wisdom by describing how you can become the leader you want to be, with helpful exercises included throughout the book. Being a leader is about much more than title and management skills--it's fundamentally a question of who we are as human beings. Discover Your True North offers a concrete and comprehensive program for becoming an authentic leader, and shows how to chart your path to leadership success. Once you discover the purpose of your leadership, you'll find the true leader inside you. This book shows you how to use your natural leadership abilities to inspire and empower others to excellence in today's complex global world. Discover Your True North enables you to become the leader you were born to be, and stay on track of your True North.
Call Number: HD57.7 .G45814 2015
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2014, 2013, 2012