Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing Practice Get 12 months FREE access to an interactive eBook* when you buy the paperback! (Print paperback version only, ISBN 9781473938465) Drawing together the best of text, video and interactive material for the complete A&P learning resource for nurses. Effective, holistic nursing is impossible without a firm grasp of how the human body functions but knowledge of the scientific theory on its own is not enough. Using the person-centred practice framework as a guiding principle, this book brings anatomy and physiology to life combining the best of print and online learning into one integrated package. Key features · Connects theory with nursing practice exploring the science from the perspective of a fictional family · Supported by a rich array of video material including interactive figures, animations and mini-tutorials - perfect for visual learners · Full of engaging activities designed to complement self-directed learning · A bank of 170 online multiple choice questions and over 800 flashcards - ideal for revision and consolidating knowledge · Written with the needs of nurses firmly in mind, focussing on the essential information More than just a book! Each purchase includes 12 months access to an interactive eBook version which seamlessly blends the traditional textbook format with the best of online learning. Students can study when and how they want and make use of additional tools including search, highlighting, annotation note sharing and much more. The book is also supported by a SAGE Edge website containing complete access to videos, animations, student revision material and action plans. Lecturer resources to support your teaching, including downloadable figures from the book and a test bank of questions for assessment use, are also available. Visit to https://edge.sagepub.com/essentialaandp to find out more. *interactivity only available through Vitalsource eBook
Call Number: QP34.5 .B66 2016x
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis Updated and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 5th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 11th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. It includes the 2015-17 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses Alphabetical thumb tabs Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions Pocketsize portability Nursing Diagnoses Index UNIQUE! Includes the 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, with pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions Alphabetical thumb tabs provide quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover
Call Number: RT48.6 .L33 2017
Making Room for Madness in Mental Health: the psychoanalytic understanding of psychotic communication In this book, Marcus Evans argues that in addition to providing a helpful treatment for patients with serious psychological difficulties, a psychoanalytic approach can help mental health staff develop a better understanding of their patients that complements other ways of thinking about mental disturbance. The psychoanalytic framework, which puts the transference and counter transference relationship at the center of clinical practice, offers an important model for understanding staff-patient relationships. A psychoanalytic approach can also give mental health professionals a language for describing their experiences of, and interaction with, their patients. This framework for understanding can help in the day-to-day management of these changes and fluctuations. Evans argues that the diagnosis and active interventions employed by psychiatry need to be accompanied by a receptive mental approach to treatment and care. Mental health professionals need to be interested in the meaning of their patient's symptoms together with verbal and physical communications, which convey important information about the patient's internal world and underlying conflicts. Making Room for Madness in Mental Health draws on the author's extensive experience of working psychoanalytically with people with severe and enduring mental illness as well as providing psychoanalytic supervision and consultation in a range of mental health settings, to show how psychoanalytic ways of thinking may complement other approaches to mental disturbance by highlighting the communication and meaning of such disturbance. This is illuminated by lively clinical vignettes, supported by accessible accounts of key psychoanalytic theory. Working with mental illness can be rewarding and enlightening. It can also be disturbing, frightening, boring, frustrating, anxiety provoking and stupefying. Indeed when patients are in disturbed states of mind their communications and actions have a disturbing effect on mental health professionals. These disturbances can provoke reactions in staff designed to control the patients thinking or behavior. Although at times these reactions may be both necessary and appropriate they are designed to dampen and control disturbing states of mind. Evans argues that this can represent a missed opportunity as the underlying meaning of the communication is missed, ignored or crushed. Psychoanalysis offers a model for thinking about and providing meaning for, the anxieties that drive us "out of our minds", and this can reduce the risk of thoughtless action. To some extent this involves putting the madness back into mental health.
Call Number: RC512 .E92 2016x
Perioperative Nursing: an introduction Perioperative Nursing 2e has been written by local leaders in perioperative nursing and continues to deliver a contemporary, practical text for Australian and New Zealand perioperative nurses. Appropriate for nursing students and graduates entering the perioperative environment, Perioperative Nursing, 2e offers a sound foundational knowledge base to underpin a perioperative nursing career. This unique text will also be of value to those undertaking postgraduate perioperative studies, as well as to more experienced perioperative nurses seeking to refresh their knowledge or expand their nursing practice. Endorsed by ACORN, this edition aligns with the 2016 ACORN and PNC NZNO Standards. It also reflects the latest national and international standards, including the NSQHS Standards, the new NMBA Standards for Practice for Registered and Enrolled Nurses and the WHO Surgical Safety Checklist. This essential title examines the roles and responsibilities of nurses working within a perioperative environment, providing an overview of key concepts in perioperative care. The scope of this book addresses anaesthetic, intraoperative and postanaesthetic recovery care, as well as day surgery and evolving perioperative practices and environments. This edition of Perioperative Nursing by Hamlin, Davies, Richardson-Tench and Sutherland-Fraser includes research boxes where appropriate and feature boxes on special populations such as paediatric, geriatric and bariatric patients. Emphasis is placed on the concept of the patient journey, working within interprofessional teams, communication, teamwork, patient and staff safety, risk management strategies and medico-legal considerations. All chapters have been fully revised and this edition includes two new chapters: 'The perioperative team and interdisciplinary collaboration' and 'Perioperative patient safety'. Supporting online resources are available on evolve.
Call Number: RD32.3 .H35 2016x
Primary Care: a collaborative practice Prepare for success in today's fast-paced, collaborative healthcare environment! Offering expert perspectives from a variety of primary care and nurse practitioners, Primary Care: A Collaborative Practice, 5th Edition helps you diagnose, treat, and manage hundreds of adult disorders. Care recommendations indicate when to consult with physicians or specialists, and when to refer patients to an emergency facility. This edition includes six new chapters, a fresh new design, the latest evidence-based guidelines, and a new emphasis on clinical reasoning. Combining academic and clinical expertise, an author team led by Terry Mahan Buttaro shows NPs how to provide effective, truly interdisciplinary health care. UNIQUE! A collaborative perspective promotes seamless continuity of care, with chapters written by NPs, physicians, PAs, and other primary care providers. Comprehensive, evidence-based content covers every major disorder of adults seen in the outpatient office setting, reflects today's best practices, and includes the knowledge you need for the NP/DNP level of practice. A consistent format in each chapter is used to describe disorders, facilitating easier learning and quick clinical reference. Diagnostics and Differential Diagnosis boxes provide a quick reference for diagnosing disorders and making care management decisions. Complementary and alternative therapies are addressed where supported by solid research evidence. Referral icons highlight situations calling for specialist referral or emergency referral. NEW chapters cover topics including transitional care, risk management, LGBTQ patient care, bullous pemphigoid, pulmonary embolism, and dysphagia. NEW! An emphasis on clinical reasoning helps you develop skills in diagnosis and treatment, with coverage moving away from pathophysiology and toward diagnostic reasoning and disease management - including pharmacologic management. NEW focus on interdisciplinary care underscores the importance of interprofessional education and practice, and includes Interdisciplinary Management features. UPDATED chapters reflect the latest literature and evidence-based treatment guidelines, including new content on the Affordable Care Act as well as new coverage of patient satisfaction metrics, quality metrics, value-based purchasing, pharmacogenetics/genomics, and teen pregnancy and abnormal pregnancy. NEW quick-reference features make it easier to locate important information, through colorful section tabs, bulleted summaries, additional algorithms, a more logical table of contents, an Index to Standardized Treatment Guidelines, and a Reference to Common Laboratory Values.
Call Number: R727.8 .P75 2017
Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Review
Call Number: RT120.F34 S74 2017
Textbook of Neonatal Resuscitation
Call Number: RJ312 .B56 2016
Nursing Delegation and Management of Patient Care With a strong focus on the key areas included on the NCLEX-RN Exam's "management of care" section, Nursing Delegation and Management of Patient Care, 2nd Edition prepares you to successfully prioritize, assign, and delegate nursing care to other members of the health care team. It provides the latest information on the roles and responsibilities of the staff nurse related to the management of patient care, the core competencies required of the nurse caring for patients, as well as a wide range of leadership and management concepts nurses need to confidently manage patients within a hospital unit. This new edition is organized according to the new 2014 Magnet Standards of Practice to help you learn the skills and competencies magnet status hospitals require when hiring nurses. Learning objectives, key terms, critical thinking case scenarios, and application exercises in each chapter provide you with plenty of opportunities for review. A trusted author team with years of teaching experience in nursing leadership and management introduce current content related to the management of patient care in today's health care setting. NEW! A new table of contents reorganized according to the 2014 Magnet Standards. NEW! Addresses the competencies of the nurse's role with respect to the 2014 Magnet Standards. Coverage includes the latest information on the roles and responsibilities of the manager of patient care position, core competencies required of nurses caring for patients, and a wide range of management concepts new nurses need to know before entering practice. Emphasis on the NCLEX Exam "management of care" areas that you will be tested on, such as prioritization, delegation, and assignment. Clinical Corner and Evidence-Based Practice boxes within most chapters include real-world tips and advice on patient and client management, plus the latest research on practices relevant to chapter topics. NEW! End-of-chapter and Evolve NCLEX questions include analysis and application-level questions. NEW! The latest RN design gives this edition a fresh new feel that is easier to follow.
Call Number: RT89 .M637 2017
Foundations of Professional Nursing: care of self and others Integrates the science of self-care with other nursing and multidisciplinary perspectives This is the first text for the Professional Nursing Practice course in RN to BSN curriculum to present a conceptual framework for contemporary nursingpractice based on the science of self-care that also incorporates other nursing and multidisciplinary perspectives. Built upon the premise that nursing isboth a caring and a knowledge-based profession, this cutting-edge text illustrates how to attain and integrate knowledge from nursing theory and theoriesof related disciplines to achieve optimal evidence-based nursing practice. Using case studies to demonstrate the relationship between nursing theory andpractice, the text underscores the importance of having a deep understanding and conceptual model of the unique role of nursing in society and its practicedomain. The text instills a foundational understanding of the science of self-care and its contribution to contemporary nursing. It describes how this paradigm isgaining recognition as an effective anti-burnout strategy and demonstrates how it can be applied. Case examples from a variety of clinical situationsintegrated with nursing theory demonstrate the variables needed to achieve optimal nursing practice. The book illustrates what data to collect, how toanalyze that data, how to design and implement intervention strategies, and how to determine their effectiveness. Key concept boxes, measurable objectiveswith critical thinking questions, and learning activities reinforce content. Additionally, more complex cases included at the end of the text and frequentlinks to nursing literature provide fodder for more in-depth analysis. Key Features: Provides an integrative model for nursing practice based on self-care that is useful in all clinical settings Illustrates how to attain and integrate knowledge from the science of self-care with other nursing theories Demonstrates the relationship between theory and practice through case studies Introduces students to the importance of recording and analyzing data to achieve evidence-based practice Includes measurable objectives with review questions at the end of chapters and many other pedagogical features
Call Number: RT41 .R46 2016
Genetics/Genomics Nursing Genetics/genomics nursing is specialized nursing practice and care that focuses on the actual and potential impact of genetic/genomic influences on health. Genetics/genomics nurses educate clients and families on genetic/genomic influences that might impact their health, and intervene with the goals of optimizing health, reducing health risks, treating disease, and promoting wellness. To do so, the research and evidence-based practice of genetics/genomics nursing includes interprofessional collegiality and collaboration with genetics/genomics professionals and other healthcare professionals to provide quality patient care. ANA and the International Society of Nurses in Genetics convened a workgroup of genetics/genomics nurse experts to update and expand the 2006 edition to accommodate ongoing and anticipated changes in their specialty and healthcare. With input from numerous nurses, they developed Genetics/Genomics Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Edition. It is a comprehensive delineation of the competent level of practice and professional performance common to and expected from genetics/genomics registered nurses in all practice levels and settings. The publication's scope of practice addresses what is expected of all genetics/genomics nurses, specifying the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. That detailed scope of practice discussion gives the context-the underlying assumptions, characteristics, environments and settings, education and training requirements, key issues and trends, and ethical and conceptual bases of genetics/genomics nursing-needed to understand and use the standards. Those 16 standards, which provide a framework for evaluating practice outcomes and goals, are those by which all genetics/genomics nurses are held accountable for their practice
Call Number: RB155.5 .I555 2016
Critical Thinking and Writing for Nursing Students This book is a clear and practical guide to help students develop critical thinking, writing and reflection skills. It explains what critical thinking is and how students should use it throughout their nursing programme. This new edition also provides an innovative new framework that helps students appreciate different levels of critical thinking and reflection to help nursing students appreciate the requirements of degree level study. The book demonstrates the transferable nature of critical thinking and reflection from academic contexts to the real practice of nursing. Key features Clear and straightforward introduction to critical thinking directly written for nursing students, with chapters relating the subject to specific study and practice contexts Student examples and scenarios throughout, including running case studies from four nursing students and further annotated examples of student's work on the website Each chapter is linked to the new NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Call Number: RT24 .P75 2016
Health Psychology in Nursing Practice Health Psychology in Nursing Practice gives nurses and healthcare practitioners the essentials of health psychology to assist patients and their relatives in adjusting to diagnoses, coping with treatments and other disease-related life changes, managing symptoms and making healthy choices. Directly aimed at nurses, this textbook helps them improve their practice in a very practical way. Key features: * Concise content specifically aimed at nurses and other healthcare professions and taking both an evidence-based and applied approach * Key learning objectives and chapters summaries for revision * Case examples give even more insight into how theory works in the real world * Reflective activities help think about real life practice and quizzes test your knowledge Elizabeth Barley is a Chartered Psychologist, Practitioner Health Psychologist and Registered General Nurse. She is Professor in Health and Wellbeing at the University of West London and Visiting Senior Lecturer at the Florence Nightingale Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery, King's College London.
Call Number: R726.7 .B37 2016
Understanding Sociology in Nursing Provides students with insights into key contemporary debates and events to demonstrate the relevance of sociology and its practical application to modern nursing. This textbook helps student nurses make the leap from a narrow focus on the physical problems of their patients to a broader understanding of the whole person and the contexts of care which will help them succeed as compassionate nurses. Written directly for nurses, it focuses on the individuals and families in their care, the organisations they work in, and the factors which affect their practice. Key features include: * Case studies and scenarios to help students relate sociology to real life examples * Reflection points to help students critically engage with the discussion * Learning outcomes and chapter summaries for revision * Definitions of key terms in each chapter
Call Number: RT86.5 .U53 2016x
One You Love Is Dying: 12 thoughts to guide you on the journey This book offers sensitive, direct advice to family members and lay caregivers. Chapter titles include: "You cannot do everything yourself." "The dying person will be as they have always been, only more so." Included are many thoughtful quotations. This writing informs, inspires, and comforts. It's used by many hospices throughout the United States.
Call Number: BF789.D4 M56 1997
Inspired Nurse Too Nurses, Isn't It Time to Care for Yourself the Way You Care for Everyone Else?
The follow-up to Rich Bluni, RN's bestseller and award winning Inspired Nurse almost had to be written. The author speaks in front of tens of thousands of nurses every year at conferences and healthcare organizations. He shares his stories, listens to theirs, and constantly fields the question, "So, when's the next book coming out?"
Finally, here it is! Inspired Nurse Too will make you laugh, cry, reconnect to your sense of meaning and purpose, and remember to be grateful for the incredible work you do every day. Most of all, it will help you sustain the energy and passion you need to provide the extraordinary care your patients need, expect, and deserve.
Besides the stories that touch your heart and make you nod your head in recognition, this book is packed with action steps to help stay engaged, committed, and inspired as you continue on this amazing journey called nursing.
"The most giving people on earth are nurses," says Bluni. "We constantly pour out ourselves to our patients, teams, organizations and communities. But if even the most beautiful vessel in the world constantly pours out, and never refills, it becomes empty--and an empty vessel cannot fulfill its purpose.That's why I wrote this book, to help nurses replenish their spirits so they can serve the patients who need them," he adds. "You are gifts and blessings to those you care for, teach, and lead. Inspired Nurse Too is a gift you give yourself."
Call Number: RT84.5 .B5855 2016x
Practice CMC Exam Questions : Adult : CMC Cardiac Medicine Subspecialty Certification.
Call Number: Pamphlet #2316
Head and Neck Cancer The second edition of Head and Neck Cancer reviews all aspects of this disease, including anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology; prevention and early detection; patient assessment; surgical management of head and neck malignancies; radiation treatment and symptom management; chemotherapy; postoperative management of the head and neck surgical patient; survivorship, and nursing research issues.
Call Number: RC280.H4 H434 2016x
Intrapartum Management Modules Confidently deliver safe, accurate intrapartum care with the expert guidance of Intrapartum Management Modules, 5e. This essential, fully updated edition offers easy-to-follow directions on the full range of intrapartum skills, from admission assessment of the laboring woman and fetus to delivery and postpartum care. Written by top-level intrapartum nurses and educators, this is not only an essential study aid for inpatient obstetric nursing certification; it also offers indispensable orientation support to new practitioners. Absorb the A to Z of intrapartum nursing science and skills . . . NEW and updated content offers the latest evidence-based therapeutic methods, drugs, and technology NEW chapter on electronic fetal heart rate monitoring Practice strips for monitoring fetal heart rate and contractions End-of-module practice/review questions and end-of-book posttests to aid retention and bulletproof exam preparation Centers for Disease Control guidelines for safe labor and delivery National Institute of Child Health and Human Development guidelines for accurate electronic fetal monitoring Self-paced independent learning manual--step-by-step directions for vital skills, including: Physical exam of the laboring woman Evaluating contractions Meeting the individual and cultural needs of the laboring woman and family Identifying the high-risk mother and fetus Assessing fetal health Managing gestational diabetes Determining whether a patient is at risk for domestic violence Evaluating fetal lie and presentation Breathing and effleurage techniques Managing an unexpected delivery
Call Number: RG951 .I57 2017
Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook: an evidence-based approach to conditions and procedures Neonatal nurses face an ever-changing practice landscape that requires swift decisions and actions. This is an up-to-date, comprehensive, quick referenceresource written specifically for neonatal nurses throughout the globe. Designed for speedy information retrieval, it encompasses vital information aboutcommonly encountered conditions and procedures on the neonatal unit. The handbook is written by outstanding neonatal practitioners in accessible languageand consistently formatted for ease of use. Illustrations, diagrams and flow charts enhance information, which is divided into sections covering Systems Assessment and Management of Disorders, Special Care Considerations, and Procedures and Diagnostic Tests. Appendices deliver such valuable tools for clinical practice as a list of commonabbreviations and pertinent web resources. Also included are downloadable, digital, patient management tools, reusable templates, and quick-referencecalculation tools. Key Features: Provides quick-access, current information about common neonatal conditions and procedures Assists neonatal nurses in making sound clinical decisions Written by prominent leaders in the neonatal field Delivers information concisely and clearly for neonatal nursing staff and APs worldwide Enhances content with illustrations, diagrams, and flow charts and digital patient management and calculation tools
Call Number: RJ253 .N466 2016
Healthy Places, Healthy People: a handbook for culturally informed community nursing practice
Call Number: RT98 .D74 2016
Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) Covering the full range of nursing interventions, Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC), 6th Edition provides a research-based clinical tool to help in selecting appropriate interventions. It standardizes and defines the knowledge base for nursing practice while effectively communicating the nature of nursing. More than 550 nursing interventions are provided - including 23 NEW labels. As the only comprehensive taxonomy of nursing-sensitive interventions available, this book is ideal for practicing nurses, nursing students, nursing administrators, and faculty seeking to enhance nursing curricula and improve nursing care. More than 550 research-based nursing intervention labels with nearly 13,000 specific activities Definition, list of activities, publication facts line, and background readings provided for each intervention. NIC Interventions Linked to 2012-2014 NANDA-I Diagnoses promotes clinical decision-making. New! Two-color design provides easy readability. 554 research-based nursing intervention labels with nearly 13,000 specific activities. NEW! 23 additional interventions include: Central Venous Access Device Management, Commendation, Healing Touch, Dementia Management: Wandering, Life Skills Enhancement, Diet Staging: Weight Loss Surgery, Stem Cell Infusion and many more. NEW! 133 revised interventions are provided for 49 specialties, including five new specialty core interventions. NEW! Updated list of estimated time and educational level has been expanded to cover every intervention included in the text.
Call Number: RT42 .N858 2013
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual Know the how and why of common conditions%and diagnose them accurately%with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition. Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know. Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . . - Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders, illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs - Explains cell parts and their functions, as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease - Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions - Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: - Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy - Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer - Neurologic - Alzheimer,,s, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches - Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn,,s disease - Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis - Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease - Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis - Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome - Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis - Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers - Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer - Special chapter features: - Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information - Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition - How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition - What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition - Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient,,s age - Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
Call Number: RB113 .P3637 2017
Stay, Breathe with Me: the gift of compassionate medicine Part reportage, part rallying cry for compassion to embrace the human side of illness and the healing art of care, Stay, Breathe with Me, is an appeal to revive medicine's forgotten mandate to ease suffering. When suffering invades body, mind, and soul, what joy there is to be heard and understood. And when the gentle art of caring, known as medical palliation, provides whole person care to relieve pain and anguish, hope can survive. This ancient practice of palliation views the patient both as a participating partner in the art of care and an injured storyteller whose wisdom can guide healing hands. Informed by the voices of the seriously ill, their families, and the lifelong experience of a palliative care nurse and medical social worker, Stay, Breathe with Me, illuminates the importance of bringing heart and compassion back into health care.
Call Number: RC48 .A46 2016x
Manual of Neonatal Surgical Intensive Care Manual of Neonatal Surgical Intensive Care provides practical management recommendations for the pre- and postoperative care of infants with surgical conditions. The book focuses on the nonoperative care of the infant with a surgical condition. This interdisciplinary care requires knowledge that has accumulated over the years, much of which is not recorded. As appropriate, chapters cover the embryology, incidence, prenatal diagnosis (treatment), postnatal presentation, postnatal diagnosis, differential diagnosis, preoperative management, implications for anesthesia, surgical management, postoperative management, and complications/outcomes. Key Features: Covers the difficult area of nonsurgical management of surgical conditions. Portable size makes this text ideal as an immediate reference source. Audience: Neonatologists (and fellows), surgeons (and surgical residents and fellows), pediatric residents, pediatricians.
Call Number: RJ253.5 .M36 2016x
Sociology for Nurses Sociology for Nurses has become a leading textbook and an invaluable companion for students wishing to get to grips with how sociology can positively transform professional nursing practice. This thoroughly revised new edition maintains its commitment to providing jargon-free explanations of sociological theories and evidence to show how studying sociology can be useful in all branches of nursing. Readers will develop a clear understanding of what sociology is and why it is essential to practice, gain deeper awareness of social issues such as gender, ethnicity, class and the life course, and become more familiar with the social contexts of health policy and nursing as a profession. With updates in every chapter, the third edition includes a new chapter on research methods, a reorganized collection of chapters on health policy, extended coverage of long-term illness and disability, as well as contemporary case studies on topical healthcare issues such as dementia, the 'obesity epidemic' and recent attempts to integrate health and social care. In addition, the book provides clearly defined learning aims, a useful glossary of sociological concepts, structured activities and questions for discussion, and annotated suggestions for further reading. The editors and contributing authors to the book have a wealth of experience teaching sociology to nurses at diploma and degree pre-registration and post-registration levels. Their book will continue to spark interest and debate among all student nurses, particularly those approaching sociology for the first time. Please visit the accompanying website at: http://www.politybooks.com/sociologyfornurses.
Call Number: RT86.5 .S665 2016
Nurses As Leaders: evolutionary visions of leadership Integrates the perspectives of contemporary nurse leaders to foster an innovative, collaborative future Encompassing the wisdom of both established and emerging nurse leaders, this expansive book demonstrates proof of theory in action and the influence of ourgreat nursing legacy on today luminaries as they carve out new terrain to benefit current and future health care needs. With a far-reaching, ambitiousperspective, it is the first text to link the ideas of nurse leaders from very diverse specialty areas including holism, advanced practice, education, policy, global health, journalism, and spiritual communities. The book examines the professional and scholarly accomplishments of these nurse leaderswithin an historical context, and facilitates succession planning for the next generation through of combination of outcomes-based writing, storytellingand personal reflection. Dozens of expert contributors from practice and theory arenas describe how to develop leadership skills and tactics through the implementation of local, national, and international initiatives. With an eye to creative evolution in education, research and clinical settings, they discuss how emerging nurseleaders can be agents of change Aibeyond the confines of traditional practice and curricula--through innovation and collaboration. Contributors also relatethe circumstances and experiences that sparked their nursing passions, the moral/ethical foundation from which they practice, and inspired messages towardcommunal, societal, and global impact within nursing of the future. Each chapter author follows a template to ensure continuity and includes end-of-chapterreflection questions. Key Features: Distills the perspectives of current and emerging nurse leaders from a diverse array of specialty areas to unify the collective of nursing Redefines praxis possibilities in education, research, and practice Outlines contributing nurse leaders Ao practical and scholarly accomplishments Describes how to facilitate change through innovation and collaboration Teaches the development of leadership skills and tactics "
Call Number: RT89 .N872 2016x
Management/Employee Development Books
How to Manage Complex Programs: high-impact techniques for handling project workflow, deliverables and teams Program manager--it's one of the most challenging jobs you can have. Overseeing and coordinating multiple project teams and thousands of activities may seem a Herculean task, but it's easier with the right tools in hand. Successful program management begins with a good command of project management processes, but these are never sufficient. Once a program exceeds a certain scale, project processes become unwieldy. To see a program successfully through to completion, you must break the work down into simpler, smaller pieces and organize it into interdependent tasks. Complete with diagrams, graphs, and real-life examples, How to Manage Complex Programs explains the ins and outs of program management and provides concrete and effective techniques for structuring deliverables, workflow, and staffing. You'll learn to: Decompose complex deliverables into manageable chunks * Develop coherent plans for component projects * Handle cross-project dependencies * Organize program staff and project leaders into a high-performing team * And more Yes, program management is challenging. But with these proven strategies, it can also be highly rewarding--for you and for your organization.
Call Number: HD69.P75 K4619 2016
The Finest Traditions of My Calling: one physician's search for the renewal of medicine Patients and doctors alike are keenly aware that the medical world is in the midst of great change. We live in an era of continuous healthcare reforms, many of which focus on high volume, efficiency, and cost-effectiveness. This compelling, thoughtful book is the response of a practicing psychiatrist who explains how population-based reforms have diminished the relationship between doctors and patients, to the detriment of both. As an antidote to failed reforms and an alternative to stubbornly held traditions, Dr. Abraham M. Nussbaum suggests ways that doctors and patients can learn what it means to be ill and to seek medical assistance. Using a variety of riveting stories from his own and others' experiences, the author develops a series of metaphors to explore a doctor's role in different healthcare reform scenarios: scientist, technician, author, gardener, teacher, servant, and witness. Each role influences what a physician sees when examining a person as a patient. Dr. Nussbaum cautions that true healthcare reform can happen only when those who practice medicine can see, and be seen by, their patients as fellow creatures. His memoir makes a hopeful appeal for change, and his insights reveal the direction that change must take.
Call Number: R727.3 .N87 2016x
Judgment on the Front Line: how smart companies win by trusting their people Front-line employees who deal directly with customers are the face of any organization. Not only do they have the most impact on how a brand is perceived, but they are also the most valuable source of insight into what customers want and how to give it to them. Unfortunately, as management experts Chris DeRose and Noel M. Tichy explain, most organizations don't know how to evaluate the risk of giving employees more autonomy. Many of those who are willing to try haven't even invested resources in ensuring that-once the shackles are off-front-line employees make good judgments. Tichy and DeRose offer powerful examples of front-line leadership, such as: How Zappos trusts its people to do anything in service of a customer, including providing free product or reimbursing for mistakes How Mayo Clinic of Arizona enabled its nurses to challenge the hierarchy in order to improve patient care
Call Number: HF5415.5 .D467 2012 c.3
Driven by Difference: how great companies fuel innovation through diversity Today's workforce is more diverse than ever before. But despite new perspectives and talents, the promise of increased innovation rarely materializes. Why are so few businesses seeing results? Studies show that diverse teams are more creative than homogenous ones-but only when they are managed effectively. The secret is to minimizeconflict while maximizing the informational diversity found in varied values and experiences. To do this, both leaders and team members need a high level of cultural intelligence, or CQ. Drawing on success stories from Google, Alibaba, Novartis, and other groundbreaking companies, Driven by Difference identifies the management practices necessary to guide multicultural teams to innovation, including how to: Create an optimal environment - Build trust - Fuse differing perspectives - Align goals and expectations - Generate fresh ideas - Consider the various audiences when selecting and selling an idea - Design and test for different users Cultural differences can lead to gridlock, or they can catalyze innovation and growth. This research-based plan turns diversity's potential into economic reality. "
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 L583 2016
Creating a Lean Culture: tools to sustain lean conversions Winner of a Shingo Research and Professional Publication Award The new edition of this Shingo Prize-winning bestseller provides critical insights and approaches to make any Lean transformation an ongoing success. It shows you how to implement a sustainable, successful transformation by developing a culture that has your stakeholders throughout the organizational chart involved and invested in the outcome. It teaches you how to successfully navigate the politics in cross-functional process improvement projects, and to engage executives in ways that are personally meaningful to them. If you are a leader at any level in an organization undergoing or considering a Lean transformation, this is where you should start and finish ... and start again. Read the Reviews: "This book became an instant classic in the literature of professional operations. In this third edition, David Mann updates and expands his teaching with five additional years of valuable experience and expertise derived from his very active, multi-industry consultancy. I have benefitted greatly from his writing and wholeheartedly recommend this book to be top-of-the desk of any serious Lean practitioner or performance transformation leader." -- Raymond C. Floyd, two-time Shingo Prize Winner, President and CEO, Plasco Energy Group "David Mann builds substantially on his seminal work on the Lean management system. The book is full of new insight and polishes the most important ideas about Lean management. The new chapter on engaging executive leadership alone is worth the price of the book." -- Peter Ward, Richard M. Ross Professor and Chair, Department of Management Science, Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University "This book has long been my 'go-to' guide on Lean management practices that help create a culture of continuous improvement and excellence. I have recommended the book to countless healthcare leaders who rave about how helpful it is in translating Lean principles into daily management behaviors. The healthcare examples make it even more relevant as a must read for any hospital leader who aims to move beyond Lean tools.." --Mark Graban, author of Lean Hospitals, co-author of Healthcare Kaizen and The Executive Guide to Healthcare Kaizen "As more companies outside the manufacturing sector pursue Lean transformations, Creating a Lean Cultureis as critical a resource as ever. Breaking down silos and navigating tricky internecine politics remain a momentous challenge, and Mann's case-based insights are an invaluable tool." -- Peg Pennington, Executive Director, Center for Operational Excellence, Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University "David has once again taken the topics that trip us up and put structure and guidance around them. His new work on executive involvement is worth the price of the book all by itself. Many of us have struggled with this topic and David provides a path to success." -- Elizabeth M. King, Vice President Organizational Effectiveness, ESCO Corporation New in the Third Edition: Contains new chapter on engaging executives in Lean initiatives Includes 21 new case studies Presents new examples from the healthcare and process industries Includes additional gemba worksheets for learning and teaching Lean Provides expanded coverage of Lean applications in complex cross functional value stream process improvement projects Watch David Mann discuss how the latest edition of Creating a Lean Culturecan help you and your organization succeed.http://www.youtube.com/watch'v=zX7jrtV3cBA&feature=youtu.be
Call Number: HD58.9 .M365 2015
Mastering Coaching: mindfulness, neuroscience, expert performance, positive psychology, experiential learning Coaching is one of the most sought-after leadership skills - vital for anyone who wants to develop a team of people who will perform effectively, but are also motivated and relish working together. It's also a dynamic discipline which, in recent years, has developed and grown to embrace theory and practice from a wide range of other disciplines, frameworks and models. Mastering Coaching starts by asking what skills an effective coach must now possess to boost the performance of their coachees. In response, it summarises the most important research in areas such as neuroscience, sports psychology and mindfulness, positive psychology, mastery and goal-setting and offers a clear, simple and practical guide to how this new thinking can help coaches and managers to develop their own coaching practice. Written by Max Landsberg, executive coaching and professional development expert and author of the perennial bestseller The Tao of Coaching, Mastering Coaching goes beyond the basics of coaching by providing insights which offer a proven route map to coaching success. Practical and jargon-free, the book will equip readers with the techniques and tools necessary to take their coaching to the next level.
Call Number: HF5385 .L35 2015x
America's Healthcare Transformation: strategies and innovations A revolution in American medicine is in full swing, with the race from fee-for-service to fee-for-value at the front line in an epic battle that will transform healthcare delivery for decades to come. In America's Healthcare Transformation, eminent physician leader Robert A. Phillips brings together key thought leaders and trail-blazing practitioners, who provide a wide-ranging exploration of the strategies, innovations, and paradigm shifts that are driving this healthcare transformation. The contributors offer a panoramic look at the dramatic changes happening in the field of medicine, changes that put the patient at the heart of the process. Among other subjects, the essays evaluate innovative high quality and low cost care delivery solutions from around the United States and abroad, describe fundamental approaches to measuring the safety of care and the impact that guidelines have on improving quality of care and outcomes, and make a strong case that insurance reform will fundamentally and irreversibly drive delivery reform. In addition, America's Healthcare Transformation reviews the role of health information technology in creating safer healthcare, provides a primer on the development of a culture of safety, and highlights ground-breaking new ways to train providers in patient safety and quality. Finally, the book looks at reports from Stanford Health Care and Houston Methodist which outline how successful behaviorally based strategies, anchored in values, can energize and empower employees to deliver a superior patient experience. Drawing on the wisdom and vision of today's leading healthcare innovators, America's Healthcare Transformation provides a roadmap to the future of American healthcare. This book is essential reading for all health care providers, health care administrators, and health policy professionals, and it will be an invaluable resource in the effort to improve the practice of medicine and the delivery of healthcare in our communities and nation.
Call Number: RA445 .A44 2016x
Winning Well: a manager's guide to getting results-without losing your soul It can feel like a rigged game. Executives set aggressive goals, so managers drive their teams to burnout trying to deliver. Or, employees seek connection and support, so managers focus on relationships . . . and fail to make the numbers. The fallout is stress, frustration, and disengagement, and not just among team members-two-thirds of managers report being disengaged. To succeed, managers cannot choose between results and relationships. They need both : They must get people to achieve while creating an environment that makes them truly want to. Winning Well offers managers a quick, practical action plan-complete with examples, stories, and online assessments. They will learn how to: Stamp out the corrosive win-at-all-costs mentality - Focus on the game, not just the score - Reinforce behaviors that produce results - Sustain energy and momentum - Correct poor performance without drama - Build productive relationships - Be the leader people want to work for Today's hypercompetitive economy has created tense, overextended workplaces. Keep it productive, rewarding, and even fun with this one-stop success kit. "
Call Number: HD38.2 .H87 2016
The 10 Laws of Trust: building the bonds that make a business great Trust is the glue that holds an organization together. It turns deflection into transparency, suspicion into empowerment, and conflict into creativity. With it, a tiny company like John Deere grew into a worldwide leader. Without it, a giant corporation like Enron toppled. In The 10 Laws of Trust , JetBlue chairman Joel Peterson explores how a culture of trust gives companies an edge. Consider this: What does it feel like to work for a firm where leaders and colleagues trust one another? Freed from micromanagement and rivalry, every employee contributes his or her best. Risk taking and innovation become the norm. And, as Peterson notes, "When a company has a reputation for fair dealing, its costs drop: Trust cuts the time spent second-guessing and lawyering.' In clear, engaging prose, highlighted by compelling examples, Peterson details how to establish and maintain a culture of trust. Steps include: Start with integrity - Invest in respect - Empower everyone - Require accountability - Create a winning vision - Keep everyone informed - Budget in line with expectations - Embrace conflict - Forget "you' to become an effective leader - And more With this book in hand, you'll be able to plant the seeds of trust-and reap the rewards of reputation, profits, and success. "
Call Number: HD57.7 .P48 2016
Group Dynamics for Teams Incorporating the latest research throughout, Daniel Levi's Fifth Edition of Group Dynamics for Teams explains the basic psychological concepts of group dynamics, focusing on their application with teams in the workplace. Grounded in psychology research and a practical focus on organizational behavior issues, this engaging book helps readers understand and more effectively participate in teams.
Call Number: HD66 .L468 2017x
Contagious Culture: show up, set the tone & intentionally create an organization that thrives GET INSPIRED. GET EXCITED. GET RESULTS. A proven approach to corporate culture that's positively contagious You are about to enter a new era of leadership. With more competiton, more connectedness, and more opportunities than ever before, this exciting new era demands a workplace culture that is collaborative, productive, energized, and contagious. A culture that encourages extraordinary growth and innovation. A culture that starts with you--showing up, setting the tone, and lighting the fire... This book is about answering that call and setting yourself up for success. It's about improving your leadership presence and your impact, not just on others but yourself. It's about creating the space you need to share your vision, state your intention, and jump-start your team. It's about working yourself over--from the inside out--so you can become the strong, effective, inspiring leader you know you can be. This is Contagious Culture, a game-changing guide to transforming corporate culture from within, developed by the award-winning creator of The IEP Method to strengthen your "Intentional Energetic Presence." This is more than a leadership book--this is your future calling. Award-winning organizational advisor Anese Cavanaugh reveals the secrets of IEP--Intentional Energetic Presence--for transforming your workplace and your life. The key to any company's success lies in its culture. This game-changing guide shows you how to shape and revitalize this culture--by setting the tone, engaging the team, and creating a dynamic working environment that encourages growth, productivity, and innovation. It all starts with you... Using the book's unique IEP Method, you can: Be the kind of leader people want to follow--not have to follow Craft your intention--and make a real impact Unleash your energy--and watch it spread like wildfire Unlock greater collaboration in your teams--and greater leadership in your people Show up for Others--by setting yourself up for success Bring out the best in everyone--including yourself Create a contagious work culture that people want to catch! With these proven step-by-step techniques, you can take control of the culture you work in and build a healthier, more functional environment--from the inside out. You'll find helpful transformative tools and exercises for improving collaborations, opening communications, and implementing changes. You'll discover the best methods for handling the toughest challenges, whether it's hiring and firing, strategizing and organizing, busyness or burnout. Best of all, you'll learn how to enhance your "Intentional Energetic Presence" (IEP) so you'll always be fully present, purposeful, and prepared to share your vision with infectious energy and enthusiasm. Contagious Culture is so much more than a leadership guide. It's a complete cultural mind-shift that's not only exciting for you and your team--it's absolutely, positively contagious. Anese Cavanaugh is an award-winning speaker, advisor, teacher, and thinking partner to some of today's most innovative organizations and business leaders. In addition to creating and teaching the IEP Method(R), she writes a regular "Showing Up" column on Inc.com and contributes to other publications that include The Huffington Post and CEO.com.
Call Number: HD58.7 .C388 2016
75 Ways for Managers to Hire, Develop, and Keep Great Employees People power your business-and success can hinge on your hiring, inspiring, and keeping the right ones. As a manager, are you cultivating this vital resource? Is there more you could be doing? Are you just winging it? Every HR executive has a laundry list of things they wish managers knew: best practices that would enable the entireorganization to operate more effectively... transforming those managers into exceptional-and highly promotable-leaders. Now in this accessible and practical playbook, HR expert and author Paul Falcone shows readers how to: Identify the best and the brightest talent - Hire for organizational compatibility - Communicate constructively - Address uncomfortable workplace situations - Create an environment that motivates - Retain restless top performers - Reengage your team after a layoff or during times of adversity - Skillfully conduct performance reviews - Take corrective action - Sidestep litigation landmines - Delegate in a way that develops your staff - And much, much more From recruiting to retaining, 75 Ways for Managers to Hire, Develop, and Keep Great Employees has all the advice you need to overcome your toughest people challenges. "
Call Number: HF5549.5.S38 F36 2016
Mastering the Cube: overcoming stumbling blocks and building an organization that works "Mastering the Cube" skillfully lays out proven organization design principles. Comparing today's complex organizations to a Rubik's Cube, the authors explain how focusing improvement efforts on just one or two facets of the organization is akin to concentrating on just one side of the cube. Doing so is bound to affect-and more likely jumble-the other areas needed to generate a healthy and sustainable organization. They advocate stepping back and taking a systems-wide, comprehensive view of change and bringing all elements into alignment with strategy. They describe eight common beliefs and missteps that cause leaders to stumble, and they offer eight building blocks to effectively orchestrate complex organizational change. Written for both business leaders and their change partners in human resources, organization effectiveness, organization design, strategy, information technology, and process or continuous improvement (e.g., Lean Six Sigma), the book offers practical wisdom to help readers develop a shared perspective on organization design and achieve positive business results. It also outlines key principles and concepts for leading effective organization alignment-and moving your organization into a productive, rewarding future. Whether the transformation before you involves restructuring, consolidations, or mergers and acquisitions, this resource provides the guidance you'll need to become skilled in the important, real work of strategic organizational alignment. "This is a great step-by-step how-to manual on defining and changing the design of your company. If you're facing such challenges and have only time to read one thing, read this. It is omniscient, efficient and sufficient." --Clayton Christensen, Professor, Harvard Business School "A must read for C-Suite execs interested in cutting the fat and preserving the muscle. Mastering the Cube: Overcoming Stumbling Blocks and Building an Organization that Works is a blueprint for smart, engaging cost reduction and efficiency no matter the circumstances." --Joe Nothwang, President, Rentals and Leasing, the Americas and Asia, Hertz Corporation "The 8 stumbling blocks are an excellent reminder of the all-too-often misguided approach and beliefs at play within businesses tackling organization transformation and change. Mastering the Cube offers thoughtful and practical wisdom and techniques for any leader who seeks to ensure that the organization design efforts they undertake are aligned with strategy and result in sustainable business impact." --Angela S. Lalor, Senior Vice President, Human Resources, Danaher "This book doesn't sugar coat the tough choices with which organization leaders are confronted For those who have the courage to move forward, " Mastering the Cube "is a practical and valuable guide to aligning organization "choices" to strategy. I found the guidance equally applicable to all types of organizations: for-profit, government, and non-profit." --Ann R. Henry, Vice President, Global Operations, Cisco Capital Mastering the Cube "is a guide organization architects can use to maneuver through the critical steps to produce an organization that works. Nicely done." --Larry Costello, Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resource Officer, Tyco International AlignOrg Solutions is an international consultancy serving enterprises of all sizes and types to clarify strategy, align organizational choices, build organization capabilities, manage and implement change, and develop alignment leadership. The firm offers a high-engagement approach, exceptional alignment tools, and hard-won expertise in leading organization transformation projects. They are respected worldwide for helping leaders and their change partners align the choices in their organizations with a differentiated strategy for future success.
Call Number: HD58.8 .D47 2014x
Beating the Workplace Bully: a tactical guide to taking charge Bullies aren't limited to the playground. These days, they roam our offices and can be found everywhere from break rooms to boardrooms. They don't steal your lunch money, but they can make your work life a living hell-and even ruin your career. Whether the bully is a boss or a coworker... whether you're the target of manipulation, intimidation, verbal abuse, or deliberate humiliation, Beating the Workplace Bully will show you how to fight back. Filled with exercises, assessments, and real-life examples, this empowering guide helps you recognize what's been making you a victim... and reveals how to: Avoid typical bully traps - Remain aware and in charge - Move past your fear - Calm yourself in any confrontation - Keep your dignity intact -Build confidence - Handle sneak attacks - Strengthen your resolve - Understand the steps that your employer or supervisors can take to address the issue - Combat cyberbullying - And more With this practical, personal coaching program in your corner, you can reclaim your power-and defeat the office bully once and for all. "
Call Number: HF5549.5.E43 C867 2016
Washington Manual of Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® of Patient Safety and Quality Improvement covers essential information in every area of this complex field. With a focus on improving systems and processes, preventing errors, and promoting transparency, this practical reference provides an overview of PS/QI fundamentals, as well as insight into how these principles apply to a variety of clinical settings. Part of the popular Washington Manual® series, this unique volume provides the knowledge and skills necessary for an effective, proactive approach to patient safety and quality improvement. · Addresses PS/QI in various clinical settings and with specific populations, including radiology, emergency room, surgery, ambulatory, pediatrics, and psychiatry. · Introduces models, measurements, and tools to assess patient safety and quality improvement · Discusses medical errors, how to respond to adverse events, and potential solutions. · Begins each chapter with a clinical vignette and discussion questions, and offers additional resources for further reading. · Shares the expertise of faculty members from multiple departments at Washington University in St. Louis, ideal for health care providers at all levels of experience. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: · Complete content with enhanced navigation · Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web · Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation · Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text · Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues · Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by LWW under license from Washington University.
Call Number: R729.8 .W37 2016
The CG CAHPS Handbook: a guide to improve patient experience and clinical outcomes When you improve the patient experience,quality and practice performance improve too.Plenty of evidence shows that patient experience and clinical quality are two sides of the same coin. You already want to provide the best possible care. And now that Clinician and Group Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems is here, there's a new reason to focus on patient perception: CG CAHPS will impact ACOs, PQRSs, PCMHs, and many other programs, and survey results will link to payments in 2015.But it's not just about maximizing reimbursement. Taking action right now to improve CG CAHPS results can immediately create an environment that helps maximize efficiency, keeps patients happy and healthy, sparks growth, and reduces the likelihood of litigation.The CG CAHPS Handbook--written by Jeff Morris, MD, MBA, FACS; Barbara Hotko, RN, MPA; and Matthew Bates, MPH--will help. It is your guide for consistently delivering on what matters most to patients and their families and for providing exceptional care and improved clinical outcomes. You will discover:* How to engage and partner with patients for a true shared care agenda to increase compliance and impact clinical outcomes* Tactics to help you improve patient access without adding additional staff* Tips for managing patient expectations from the minute they walk into the reception area until you follow up with test results* Best practices to help adjust and refine the steps you are already doing to maximize effectiveness * Tactics to help you zero-in on the core questions for the CG CAHPS composites that will impact every survey and improve your resultsThe CG CAHPS survey has major implications for your future. Much like the HCAHPS survey, it gives patients and payers standardized comparative data that enables them to make informed decisions when choosing their healthcare providers. CMS, states, and private payers are working to collect and make CGCAHPS results public. Now is the time to bepreparing your providers and their practices to excel in the patient experience.
Call Number: RA965.6 .M67 2015x
Taking Conversations from Difficult to Doable: 3 models to master tough conversations Have you ever dreaded holding a tough but necessary conversation with an employee, coworker, or boss? Do you put off such conversations for far too long? Have you ever launched into a difficult conversation without being well prepared, only to have the interaction spiral out of control? Most leaders will probably answer yes to at least one, if not all, of these questions. Taking Conversations from Difficult to Doable: 3 Models to Master Tough Conversations can help you "bite the bullet" and say what needs saying in the most effective possible way. Written by Lynne Cunningham, MPA, FACHE, this book explains why we shy away from these critical conversations and provides the tools and tactics to navigate them confidently and effectively Here's just a sampling of the book's insights: * What happens when we ignore situations that call for a difficult conversation* How to structure and execute a conversation with a peer, direct report, boss or physician * How to implement each of the three powerful conversation models detailed in the book so that the outcome is a "win-win"* Why practicing difficult conversations is so important (Cunningham provides common scenarios you and your team can modify and role play)* Why creating official Standards of Behavior at your organization provides a solid foundation for difficult conversations* What triangulation means, why it's harmful, and how to handle it when it happens* How to respond when a person's behavior doesn't change after a difficult conversationUnlike most books on this subject, Taking Conversations from Difficult to Doable is short and to the point with a focus on easy-to-understand tactics. Its style and length make it perfect for today's busy leaders. Best of all, it helps you master the right skills quickly--and once you've done this you'll find all your conversations become easier, less stressful and more successful.
Call Number: BF637.C45 C855 2015x
Power: a user's guide The path toward ethical, authentic, and effective use of power is illuminated in this comprehensive crash course in developing external authority, navigating high-power roles and responsibilities, and finding personal power. The book combines cutting-edge psychological theory with practical exercises, stories, and examples from the author's experiences as a leadership coach and consultant to provide readers with the tools and instructions to find their unique map of powers. From bosses to parents, politicians to protesters, power rests in the hands of everyone, everywhere.
Call Number: HM1261 .D53 2016x
Healing Physician Burnout: diagnosing, preventing and treating To Get Health System Leaders and Physicians Working Together, We Must Tackle Physician BurnoutThis is a book about physician burnout. It's also a book about physician engagement. Why? Because these two concepts are deeply connected. When physicians team up with the organizations they work for to pursue mutual goals, they are far less likely to burn out. And when organizations seek to prevent and treat physician burnout, they go a long way toward getting everyone--physicians included--working together to meet the same goals.There has never been a better time for organizations and physicians to join forces to make sure this happens. High rates of physician burnout and a rapid push toward integration demand it. And while it will surely be challenging, together we can create the right environment to facilitate massive change while keeping physicians physically, mentally, and emotionally strong. Healing Physician Burnout--written by healthcare performance expert Quint Studer in collaboration with George Ford, MD--explains how. You'll find:Evidence on why burnout is so high in physicians and why organizations should careTactics health system leaders can use to partner with physicians to help them avoid burnout--and to ensure that everyone is working toward the same goalsBurnout "red flags" leaders and physicians should watch for so that help may be provided early onPersonal profiles that tell of physicians' triumphs over burnout and showcase the passion and purpose that keep them perseveringActions physicians can take to heal their own burnout and help others to do so as wellPhysicians need understanding and empathy for the massive changes they must endure. While no one can stop the shift our industry is undergoing, we can create the kind of positive, supportive work environments that help physicians cope and, ultimately, thrive.
Call Number: RC451.4.M44 S78 2015x
Making Change Work for You! How to Handle Organizational Change Deems spells out 10 strategies for coping with and benefitting from organisational change, and teaches readers how to evaluate change in their lives as well as their reactions to it. He even shows how teams in the workplace can survive a downsize.
Call Number: BF637.C4 D436 1995x
Design That Cares: planning health facilities for patients and visitors Customer-focused, evidence-based facility design promotes better health care delivery Design That Cares is the award-winning, essential textbook and guide for understanding and achieving customer-focused, evidence-based health care design excellence. This updated third edition includes new information about how all aspects of health facility design site planning, architecture, interiors, product design, graphic design, and others - can meet the needs and reflect the preferences of customers: patients, family and visitors, as well as staff. The book takes readers on a journey through a typical health facility and discusses, in detail, at each stop along the way, how design can demonstrate care both for and about patients and visitors. The book explains the need for humanistic, evidence-based health facility design, with chapters on arrival and exterior wayfinding, interior wayfinding and the circulation system, waiting and reception areas, diagnostic and treatment areas, as well as inpatient rooms and baths. Later chapters discuss access to nature, particular user groups, such as people with functional limitations, and unique places, such as Emergency Departments. The book concludes with a discussion of user participation in health facility design and practical methods for making this happen effectively. Throughout the book, relevant research is flagged and research-based design guidelines are highlighted. At the end of each chapter, Design Review questions enable design decision-makers to knowledgeably assess documents, such as site plans, floor plans, functional space programs, and drawings, with an eye to the likely effects of proposed design features on intended users. For students, chapter summaries, learning objectives, and end-of-chapter review questions help facilitate a solid understanding. Health care organizations that pride themselves on customer-driven visions and user-friendliness can demonstrate their commitment by designing for patients′ and visitors′ needs. Design that Cares provides the definitive roadmap to improving customer experience by design.
Call Number: RA967 .C34 2016
Promoting Emotional Resilience: cognitive-affective stress management training Grounded in extensive research, this book presents a brief emotion-focused coping skills program that helps clients regulate their affective responses in stressful situations. Cognitiveâe"affective stress management training (CASMT) promotes resilience by integrating cognitive-behavioral strategies with relaxation training, mindfulness, and other techniques. Systematic guidelines are provided for implementing CASMT with individuals or groups. The book includes detailed instructions for using induced affect, a procedure that elicits arousal in-session and enables clients to practice new emotion regulation skills. Purchasers get access to a companion website where they can download and print the volume's 16 reproducible handouts and forms in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size, and can also download a Muscle Relaxation Training audio track.
Call Number: RC489.C63 S58 2016x
Everyday Bias identifying and navigating unconscious judgments in our daily lives If you are human, you are biased. From this fundamental truth, diversity expert Howard Ross explores the biases we each carry within us. Most people do not see themselves as biased towards people of different races or different genders. And yet in virtually every area of modern life disparities remain. Even in corporate America, which has for the most part embraced the idea of diversity as a mainstream idea, patterns of disparity remain rampant. Why? Breakthroughs in the cognitive and neurosciences give some idea why our results seem inconsistent with our intentions. Bias is natural to the human mind, a survival mechanism that is fundamental to our identity. And overwhelmingly it is unconscious. Incorporating anecdotes from today s headlines alongside case studies from over 30 years as a nationally prominent diversity consultant, Ross help readers understand how unconscious bias impacts our day-to-day lives and particularly our daily work lives. And, he answers the question: Is there anything we can do about it? by providing examples of behaviors that the reader can engage in to disengage the impact of their own biases. With an added appendix that includes lessons for handling conflict and bias in the workplace, this book offers an invaluable resource for a broad audience, from individuals seeking to understand and confront their own biases to human resource professionals and business leaders determined to create more bias-conscious organizations in the belief that productivity, personal happiness, and social growth are possible if we first understand the widespread and powerful nature of the biases we don t realize we have."
Call Number: BF575.P9 R67 2014
What's New in Current Awareness?
New Videos & Audiobooks
5 Action Steps to Make Change Work for You: Anna's story
Call Number: DVD 891; 21 minutes long
The 5 Actions Steps Participants will learn 5 Action Steps to more rapidly adjust to change. They learn how to: Overcome the negative feelings that can come with change Reframe unproductive thoughts & beliefs Unfreeze and try new behaviors Arrange encouraging consequences to keep themselves motivated Discover the impact they have on others as they deal with change -
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2014, 2013, 2012