Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Med-Surg Success: a Q&A review applying critical thinking to test taking TWO BOOKS IN ONE! Course review now. NCLEX#65533;-prep later. Assure your mastery of medical-surgical nursing knowledge while honing your critical thinking and test-taking skills. The 3rd Edition of this popular resource features over 2,300 questions (including 550 alternate-format questions) that reflect the latest advances in medical-surgical nursing and the latest NCLEX-RN#65533; test plan. They organize the seemingly huge volume of information you must master into manageable sections divided by body systems and specific diseases. Each chapter is a self-contained unit. For each practice question, you'll find the answer, rationales for correct and incorrect responses, and a test-taking tip. The comprehensive exam at the end of each chapter assesses your strengths and weaknesses, identifying areas for further study. Online at DavisPlus you'll find two, 75-question final exams. See what students are saying online about the previous edition... The med surg bible "Want do well in Med-Surg? BUY THIS BOOK. The rationales are great and so are the questions. Hundreds of questions per topic." This book saved my life! "After using this book to study for my next exam I was so happy to see that I got a 94%! That being said, I really recommend this book to anyone who is currently taking Med-surge, or preparing for the NCLEX#65533;-RN." A must for every student in the nursing field "I noticed that if you can answer the majority of those questions correctly, it will not only give you a better understanding of the topic, but YOU WILL PASS THE TEST in your class. Honestly, if you can only afford one extra book from your text book, this will be the one to take."
Call Number: RD99.25 .C65 2017
A Physician Guidebook to the Best Patient Experience Providing a satisfying patient experience is not only the right thing to do it is the key to clinical and business success. A Physician Guidebook to The Best Patient Experience details the nuts-and-bolts behaviors that produce great physician patient interactions. It helps physicians tackle the challenge of modifying ingrained behaviors to make changes that stick and bolster their patient satisfaction scores. An exceptional resource for doctors, this practical guide features checklists, scorecards, assessments, inventories, and questionnaires that can be easily adapted or used as is. The book also includes: An examination of questions from patient satisfaction surveys and the behaviors that can lead to higher scores; Practical strategies for making and sustaining change, even in the face of the daily whirlwind of activity; Advice for using self-assessments, personal scorecards, and input from others to identify personal plans for improvement and track progress; Guidance for organizations that wish to support their physicians efforts to improve the patient experience; Tools for doctors who are undertaking improvement efforts on their own; A discussion of the patient satisfaction challenges unique to specific specialties and practice settings; A detailed case study illustrating how rapidly patient satisfaction scores can improve not just for individual physicians but for physician groups too Now available: a companion book for administrators, medical directors, and CEOs Also written by Bo Snyder, The Best Patient Experience: Helping Physicians Improve Care, Satisfaction, and Scores is a roadmap for healthcare leaders who want to help physicians in their organizations improve interactions with patients.
Call Number: R727.3 .S598 2017
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination Often called the ''the best NCLEX#65533; exam review book ever,'' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 7th Edition provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX exam - complete content review and 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kind of questions that consistently test the critical thinking skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices, as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri, and updated to reflect the most current 2016 NCLEX test plan, Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 7th Edition is THE book of choice for NCLEX examination review. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! Over 5,100 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice. Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give users completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site. UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, and guiding users to remediation in Saunders Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX#65533; Exam and Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Exam. Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give users practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. Alternate item format questions are highlighted with a special icon to easily find in the text. 85-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes list actions for clinical emergent situations requiring immediate action, including a detailed rationale and textbook reference. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text. Page references for each question guide users toward an Elsevier nursing textbook for further study and self-remediation. Full-color designoffers a more visually engaging learning experience. Easy-to-use index lets users quickly locate questions for a given topic or body system. Recent graduate''s perspective sections offer meaningful guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, and the CAT format. Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam. Automatic software updates on the Evolve companion site allow users to check for changes and content updates throughout the life of the edition. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site. NEW! Questions and content aligned with the latest NCLEX-RN exam reflect the increased level of difficulty and format changes in some areas. NEW! Summary of the key changes made to the 2016 NCLEX-RN test plan will be included at the beginning of the text along with how those updates are addressed throughout the new edition. NEW! Mnemonics will be included as Pyramid Alerts where appropriate throughout the text. NEW! More Priority Nursing Action boxes to communicate new and pertinent content. NEW! Revised illustrations provide a more up-to-date and consistent presentation of art throughout the text. NEW! Completely updated chapter on vital signs and laboratory values include the latest lab values. NEW! Glossary of the Pyramid Terms located in the back of the book help users access all definitions in one location.
Call Number: RT55 .S28 2017
Cancer Nursing: principles and practice Cancer Nursing: Principles and Practice, Eighth Edition continues as the gold standard in oncology nursing. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it has remained the definitive reference on the rapidly changing science and practice of oncology nursing for more than 25 years. Completely updated and revised to reflect the latest research and developments in the care of patients with cancer, the Eighth Edition includes new chapters on the biology of cancer, sleep disorders, and palliative care across the cancer continuum. The Eighth Edition also includes significant updates to the basic science chapters to reflect recent increases in scientific knowledge, especially relating to genes and cancer. Also heavily revised are the sections devoted to the dynamics of cancer prevention, detection, and diagnosis, as well as treatment, oncologic emergencies, end of life care, and professional and legal issues for oncology nurses. In addition, it provides extensive and current information on breast cancer, including two separate chapters on early stage breast cancer and metastatic breast cancer, and careful attention to survivorship issues.
Call Number: RC266 .C356 2018
Analyzing and Constructing the Conceptual and Theoretical Foundations of Nursing Delivers all information required for the Theoretical Foundations of Nursing course By embracing the major conceptual and theoretical contributions to nursing research that are outside of traditional nursing theory, this book serves as a vital resource for nurse researchers, and one that is indispensable for doctoral nursing students embarking on their dissertations. Containing the full complement of information required for the Theoretical Foundations of Nursing course for PhD programs, the text supports the foundational skills needed for excellence in research and scholarship. The book examines in depth the components of nursing theory and the types of theory used in nursing research and practice, and teaches students about the nature and use of concepts and the development of critical thinking skills that are essential for nursing research. This text contains information for developing concepts and middle-range theory, using a variety of qualitative research methods, broadening theoretical scope by linking middle-range theories, and moving knowledge toward certainty by use of evidence. It also illustrates the construction of frameworks for quantitative inquiry, exploring theory in mixed-method design and how theory develops knowledge. Each method includes a description of the methodological approach and examples of subsequent concept or theory development. The text includes several methods for the development of concepts, micro- and mid-range theories using qualitative research, and a discussion of the new trend of moving these qualitative theories toward practice-based evidence. Each section of the book contains practical examples and supplementary activities that encourage inquiry. An instructor s manual is included for adopters of the text. Key Features: Teaches the significance of and foundations of perspective, concepts, qualitatively derived theory, quantitative frameworks, quantitative theoretical development, knowledge development from research, application, and evidenceFocuses on current nursing research and how it is used in practice todayDemonstrates the significant relationship between theory, research, knowledge development, evidence, and practice Promotes excellence in scholarship and researchIncludes an extensive instructor s manual"
Call Number: RT81.5 .A52 2017x
Core Curriculum for Transplant Nurses An official publication of the International Transplant Nurses Association, the updated Second Edition provides a guide to safe and effective care for solid organ transplant recipients worldwide. It includes coverage of the unique requirements of each organ transplanted, with separate chapters for heart, lung, kidney, liver, small intestine, and pancreas/islet cell transplantation. Other chapters cover important topics that affect all organs, such as immunology, infections, pharmaceutical agents, and patient education and discharge planning. The Core is an ideal review and study guide for the solid organ
Call Number: RD129.8 .C67 2017x
Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research: appraisal, synthesis and generational evidence Master the research methods used as a foundation for evidence-based practice! Burns and Grove's The Practice of Nursing Research, 8th Edition provides a solid foundation in the appraisal, synthesis, and generation of research evidence for clinical nursing practice. Not only will you learn how to properly evaluate and use existing research evidence, but you'll also learn how to participate in research and quality improvement projects. Updated to reflect today's focus on online research and evidence-based practice, this edition includes clear, step-by-step guidelines to research procedures as well as many examples from current and classic literature. From an expert author team led by Jennifer Gray, this book helps you perform scholarly research for evidence-based practice. Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you learn to generate research evidence and to appraise and synthesize existing research for application to clinical practice. Emphasis on qualitative research includes phenomenological research, grounded theory research, ethnographic research, exploratory-descriptive research, and historical research. Coverage of quantitative, qualitative, and other research methodologies gives you a solid foundation to conduct, appraise, and apply research evidence to the realities of today's clinical practice. Rich examples from the nursing literature bring research principles to life. Information on collecting digital data guides you through the use of online research. Clear, comprehensive coverage is organized into five units: 1) Introduction to Nursing Research, 2) The Research Process, 3) Putting It All Together for Evidence-Based Health Care, 4) Analyzing Data, Determining Outcomes, and Disseminating Research, and 5) Proposing and Seeking Funding for Research. NEW Mixed Methods Research chapter and emphasis covers this increasingly popular approach to research. NEW! Expanded emphasis on qualitative research provides more balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative methods, addressing the qualitative research methodologies that are often the starting point of research projects, particularly in magnet hospitals and DNP programs. ENHANCED emphasis on evidence-based practice addresses this key graduate-level QSEN competency. UPDATED emphasis on the most currently used research methodologies focuses on the methods used in both quantitative research and qualitative research, as well as outcomes research and mixed methods research. NEW! Quick-reference summaries are located inside the book's covers, including a table of research methods on the inside front cover and a list of types of research syntheses (with definitions) inside the back cover. NEW student resources on the Evolve companion website include 400 interactive review questions along with a library of 10 Elsevier research articles. NEW! Colorful design highlights key information such as tables and research examples
Call Number: RT81.5 .B86 2017
The Invisible Work of Nurses: hospitals, organisations and healthcare Nursing is typically understood, and understands itself, as a care-giving occupation. It is through its relationships with patients - whether these are absent, present, good, bad or indifferent - that modern day nursing is defined. Yet nursing work extends far beyond direct patient care activities. Across the spectrum of locales in which they are employed, nurses, in numerous ways, support and sustain the delivery and organisation of health services. In recent history, however, this wider work has generally been regarded as at best an adjunct to the core nursing function, and at worse responsible for taking nurses away from their 'real work' with patients. Beyond its identity as the 'other' to care-giving, little is known about this element of nursing practice. Drawing on extensive observational research of the everyday work in a UK hospital, and insights from practice-based approaches and actor network theory, the aim of this book is to lay the empirical and theoretical foundations for a reappraisal of the nursing contribution to society by shining a light on this invisible aspect of nurses' work. Nurses, it is argued, can be understood as focal actors in health systems and through myriad processes of 'translational mobilisation' sustain the networks through which care is organised. Not only is this work an essential driver of action, it also operates as a powerful countervailing force to the centrifugal tendencies inherent in healthcare organisations which, for all their gloss of order and rationality, are in reality very loose arrangements. The Invisible Work of Nurses will be interest to academics and students across a number of fields, including nursing, medical sociology, organisational studies, health management, science and technology studies, and improvement science.
Call Number: RT89 .A34 2016
NCLEX REVIEW: Must Know Practice Questions and Rationales + Study Guide to Easily Ace Your NCLEX Exams! NCLEX (r) PRACTICE QUESTIONS & RATIONALES FOR THE PRICE OF A COFFEE!Ace your NCLEX (r) exams by taking this practice test and uncover areas that may need attention. This book is an essential addition to your study book collection and will be sure to help you pass nursing school.This NCLEX Study Guide Includes:- Rationales to help you learn as you go along- Easy learning format featuring: Questions, Answers and Questions & Answers- 'Study Guide Essentials' features 'bite-sized' pieces of information presented in a simple way to make revising much easier for you- Includes questions from a wide range of topics to enable you to highlight any areas that you may need to brush up on- And Much More!Start Feeling Confident About Your Knowledge and CRUSH THE EXAM!
Call Number: Pamphlet
Health Visiting: preparation for practice The fourth edition of this seminal text retains its focus on placing the health visitor at the forefront of supporting and working with children, families, individuals and communities. Health Visiting: Preparation for Practice has been fully revised and updated to reflect the changes and developments in health policy, public health priorities, and health visiting. It considers the public health role of the health visitor, and the important role and responsibilities the health visitor has with safeguarding children to ensure the child has the best possible start in life. Key features: Fully updated throughout, with new content on practice and policy developments Takes into account the challenges and changing role of the health visitor, and the need to ensure that their practice is evidenced-based Includes an additional chapter on working in a multicultural society with a discussion on some of the challenges faced by health visitors Discusses and debates the practice of public health and working with communities Examines the role of the health visitor with safeguarding and child protection, as well as working within a multi-professional team Features case studies and learning activities Health Visiting: Preparation for Practice is essential reading for student health visitors, public health nurses, and those on community placements, as well as other health practitioners working with and in the community.
Call Number: RT98 .H422 2017
Nursing Administration: scope and standards of practice The premier resource for today's nurse administrator, Nursing Administration: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Edition is informed by ongoing advances in health care, professional nursing and organizational and administrative management. It covers all aspects of a nurse administrator's practice in any setting or role and at any level of influence and authority. Topics discussed include core role accountabilities, role qualifications (including certification and education), and ethics of this nursing specialty, as well as the issues, opportunities and trends that every nurse administrator must know. The core accountabilities alone illustrate the depth and breadth of nursing administration practice: • Accountability and advocacy for employees • Clinical care delivery and optimal patient outcomes • Healthy work environments • Legal and regulatory compliance • Networking, partnering and collaborating • Patient and population health advocacy • Safety, quality and risk management • Strategic, financial and human resource management The publication's 17 competency-based standards will help in evaluating practice outcomes and goals and delineating what is expected of all nurse administrators. Its scope of practice-the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice-is the context for these standards. Nursing Administration: Scope and Standards of Practice, 2nd Edition is a professional development must-have for the practicing or aspiring nurse administrator or nurse executive, or any registered nurse or nursing student.
Call Number: RT89 .N873 2016x
CSMA Core Curriculum for Case Management This text contains the core body of knowledge for case management practice as delineated by the Case Management Society of America (CMSA), the largest professional organization of case managers. The core curriculum provides a "synthesis of case management evolution," and presents essential elements, concepts, and vision for current and future case management practice. This edition is significantly expanded to reflect the dynamic changes taking place in case management. Each chapter is organized in a consistent format that includes learning objectives; introduction; important terms and concepts; key
Call Number: RT90.7 .C636 2017
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research. With applied and practical examples throughout, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is essential reading for those who are looking for a comprehensive introduction to qualitative research.
Call Number: RT81.5 .H656 2017
Mosby's Oncology Nursing Advisor: a comprehensive guide to clinical practice Get quick access to the most important information surrounding cancer and oncology nursing care with Mosby's Oncology Nursing Advisor, 2nd Edition. Covering everything from the various types of cancer and cancer treatment options to patient education and nursing best-practices, this indispensable nursing guide is like getting seven books in one! Plus, its user-friendly layout and straightforward coverage make it ideal for use in any clinical setting. With 17 new chapters, updated evidence-based content throughout, and proven patient teaching handouts, this new edition offers the authoritative guidance you need to provide the best possible oncology nursing care. Detailed descriptions of over 50 major cancer types provide essential information on incidence, etiology and risk factors, signs and symptoms, diagnostic workup, histology, staging, treatment, prognosis, and prevention. Coverage of cancer management principles outlines a wide range of treatment and pharmacologic modalities, including surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, hormonal therapy, immunotherapy, and complementary and alternative therapies. Symptom management guidelines offer in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, assessment tools, lab and diagnostic tests, differential diagnoses, interventions, patient education, follow up care, and resources for over 30 common symptoms associated with cancer and cancer treatments. Essential information on many oncologic emergencies and emergent issues prepares readers to respond quickly to structural, metabolic, and hematologic emergencies. Section on palliative care and end-of-life issues offers helpful guidelines for dealing with topics related to survivorship, palliative care, the final hours of the cancer patient, and loss, grief, and bereavement. NEW! Updated evidence-based content reflects the latest national and international quality standards regarding various cancer types, major drug and non-drug treatments, treatment protocols, and approaches to symptom management. NEW! Nursing Practice Considerations section incorporates information on communication, cultural considerations, ethical considerations, safe and quality care, evidence-based practice, patient navigation, and patient education. NEW! 17 new chapters cover topics including myelofibrosis, neuroendocrine cancers, tumor treating fields, oral adherence, clinical trials, epistaxis, hypersensitivity reactions, hypertension, hyperglycemia, nail changes, ocular and visual changes, rashes, survivorship, quality and safety, evidence-based practice, nurse navigation, and patient education. NEW! Expanded content on patient education keeps readers on top of best practices in this critical area. NEW! High-quality electronic patient teaching handouts are evidence-based and have been vetted by practicing nurses.
Call Number: RC266 .M67 2017
Contemporary Maternal-Newborn Nursing NOTE: Before purchasing, check with your instructor to ensure you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products, you will also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide. Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. For 2- and 4-year college-level nursing courses that cover pregnancy, birth, and the postpartum period. Help readers think like maternal-newborn nurses Accurate, readable, and up-to-date, Contemporary Maternal-Newborn Nursing presents pregnancy and childbirth as normal life processes with family members as co-participants in care. This text thoroughly illuminates all aspects of maternal-newborn nursing and many opportunities for nurses to make a difference in a changing healthcare environment. After introducing key concepts, it progresses through the steps of the nursing process, clearly delineating nurses' roles throughout pregnancy, labor, birth, the newborn period, and postpartum care. For each, it presents basic theory followed by chapters on assessment and care for essentially healthy women or infants, and then by complications and treatment. Recurring themes include evidence-based practice, critical thinking, clinical decision-making, community-based care, patient and family teaching, safety, cultural competence, complementary/alternative therapies, and health promotion. This edition's significant updates include revisions reflecting the latest recommendations of AACN Baccalaureate Essentials, QSEN, the Institute of Medicine (IOM), and Healthy People 2020.
Call Number: RG951 .L33 2017
Complexity Leadership: nursing's role in health-care delivery Lead effectively in today's complex health systems! Understand the complex adaptive systems of today's healthcare organizations. Apply a new model of leadership to meet the demand for effective leaders. Use real-world case studies to learn how to apply theory to practice. Build your self-awareness and discover new ways to lead. Here's the information you need to become an effective leader in today's complex health system, effectively solve problems, and create optimal outcomes for your organization. As hospitals and healthcare organizations strive to meet standards to achieve status in the Magnet Hospital Recognition Program and address the issues in the Institute of Medicine's Nursing Work Force Issues Initiative, they must be able to respond in ways that embraces rapid change. The 2nd Edition of Dr. Diana M. Crowell's groundbreaking text addresses the leadership roles advanced practice nurses can assume in this new environment. She defines the concept of complexity and teaches the leadership skills that are best suited for complex adaptive systems, while also enabling you to build the self-awareness you need to learn new ways to lead. Case studies help you apply your new skills and prepare for your advanced practice roles.
Call Number: RT89 .C76 2016
Leadership in Nursing Professional Development The content of this book reflects the critical leadership competencies NPD leaders must have to become credible in their workplace. It also outlines the key components of becoming a transformational leaders for the organization and beyond. Evidence-based practice, being the risk taker, establishing internal and external partnerships, innovating, forecasting future trends, and influencing change at all levels of the organization, as well as the NPD practice specialty are covered in this book.
Call Number: RT89 .A4 2016x
Management/Employee Development Books
Introduction to Health Research Methods: a practical guide This clear, practical, and straightforward text demystifies the research process and empowers students and other new investigators to conduct their own original research projects.In five sections, Introduction to Health Research Methods describes the entire research process beginning with the identification of a research question and the selection of a study approach, proceeding through the collection and analysis of data and the preparation of a formal scientific report, and ending with academic and professional presentations and publishing.By breaking down the process into manageable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods communicates the excitement and importance of health research--and encourages readers to make their own contribution to improving the health of individuals and communities through research.The Second Edition is a thorough update that offers:* A new chapter on mentorship and other professional development opportunities * A new chapter on grant writing with sections on funding sources, finding grant opportunities, proposal writing, budgeting, and grant management* A new chapter introducing several analysis tools that move beyond standard biostatistical techniques such as GIS, mathematical modeling, and economic analysis * A comprehensive walk through of successful writing strategies with dozens of ideas for how to get started on writing and stay motivated* New information on qualitative studies including interviewing, focus group discussions, coding and analysis, mixed methods research, and monitoring and evaluation
Call Number: R850 .J33 2017
What Customers Crave: how to create relavant and memorable experiences at every touchpoint The best companies in the world discover what their customers desire-and then deliver it in memorable and deeply human experiences. How well do you know your customers? What Customers Crave examines how the hyper-connected economy is radically changing consumer expectations, and reveals what companies needto do to stay on top. The solution rests on two simple questions: What do your customers love? What do they hate? Find the answers, and you're well on your way to success. Jam-packed with tools and examples, What Customers Crave helps you reinvent how you engage with customers (both digitally and non-digitally) and: Gain invaluable insights into who they are and what they care about - Use listening posts and Contact Point Innovation to refine customer types - Engineer experiences for each micromarket that are not only exceptional, but insanely relevant - Connect across the five most important touchpoints - Co-create with your customers - And much more When you learn to provide your customers with exactly what they want, they not only buy-theycome back again and again... and bring their friends. "
Call Number: HF5415.5 .W43 2017
Managing in the Gray: 5 timeless questions for resolving your hardest problems at work How to Resolve the Really Hard Problems Every manager makes tough calls--it comes with the job. And the hardest decisions are the "gray areas”--situations where you and your team have worked hard to find an answer, you’ve done the best analysis you can, and you still don’t know what to do. But you have to make a decision. You have to choose, commit, act, and live with the consequences and persuade others to follow your lead. Gray areas test your skills as a manager, your judgment, and even your humanity. How do you get these decisions right? InManaging in the Gray, Joseph Badaracco offers a powerful, practical, and even radical way to resolve these problems. Picking up where conventional tools of analysis leave off, this book providestools for judgment in the form of five revealing questions. Asking yourself these five questions provides a simple yet profound way to broaden your thinking, sharpen your judgment, and develop a fresh perspective. What makes these questions so valuable is that they have truly stood the test of time--they’ve guided countless men and women, across many centuries and cultures, to resolve the hardest questions of work, responsibility, and life. You can use the five-question framework on your own or with others on your team to help you cut through complexities, understand critical trade-offs, and develop workable solutions for even the grayest issues.
Call Number: HD31.2 .B33 2016
The Etiquette Edge: modern manners for business success Intelligence, ambition, and skill will start you on the road to success, but without strong communications skills, social savvy, and a sense of appropriate behavior... you won't get far. The Etiquette Edge gives you a crash course on modern business manners. New advice explains how to navigate sticky situations at work, including digital interactions that are easy to misinterpret-and hard to mend. From interviewing etiquette and dress codes to working in close quarters and communicating upward, you'll master the essentials of making a great impression and building relationships, including how to: - Be smart about how-and when-you use your smartphone - Handle difficult conversations with tact and finesse - Check texts and emails for content and tone - Create a polished image on social media - Conduct meetings (in person, online, or over lunch) with poise and confidence - And more In our era of entitlement, saying thank-you and giving praise are increasingly rare-but these simple acts are far from empty gestures. They're refreshing reflections of respect. Inconsiderate people and poor conduct may permeate the workplace, but success comes to those who play by a better set of rules. "
Call Number: HF5389 .L36 2016
The Reader's Brain: how neuroscience can make you a better writer Have you ever found yourself re-reading the same sentence four or five times and thought 'I should get more sleep'? Are you clueless as to why one paragraph just seems to 'flow' while you simply can't recall the contents of another? Guess what: you are not alone. Even the best writers fail to grasp why their writing works. The Reader's Brain is the first science-based guide to writing, employing cutting-edge research on how our minds process written language, to ensure your writing can be read quickly, assimilated easily, and recalled precisely - exactly what we need to transform anyone into a highly effective writer. Using the 5Cs - clarity, continuity, coherence, concision, and cadence - this book combines irreverent humour with easy-to-follow principles that will make readers perceive your sentences, paragraphs, and documents to be clear, concise, and effective.
Call Number: BF456.R2 D677 2015
Mindfulness: a step-by-step beginners guide, living your everyday life with peace and happiness by becoming stress free This Book Will Allow You to Uncover the Secrets of Happiness and Free Yourself from Anxiety and Stress!This Beginners Guide Incorporates Teachings from over 2,000 Years AgoAre you tired? Are you stressed? Do you constantly find yourself filled with worry and anxiety? Are you consumed with everything you must get done, everything that is happening, and everything that has happened? Are you ready to make a change and start an adventure that will help you live in the present moment, stop your worries, and make your life more meaningful? If you answered "yes" to any of these questions, then you are ready to take on a life of mindfulness. Give it a shot; read this book and try your hand at mindfulness for a few days. I promise you won't regret it. Whether you decide to totally transform your life to one of mindfulness and peace, or you simply want to add a few mindful moments into your day, you will see an improvement. Mindfulness has been proven as a stress reducer and life improver, take your shot now.10 Benefits of Mindfulness: 1. Increased Happiness2. Reduced Stress3. Better Social Relationships4. Weight Loss5. Emotional Intelligence 6. Less Anxiety7. Reduced Depression8. Improved Health9. Increased Focus 10. New Experiences
Call Number: Pamphlet
Leading Virtual Teams: hold people accountable, build trust, encourage collaboration(HBR 20-Minute Manager Series) Leading any team involves managing people, technical oversight, and project administration, but leaders of virtual teams perform these functions from afar.Leading Virtual Teams walks you through the basics of: * Connecting your people to each other--and to the team’s mission * Surmounting language, distance, and technology barriers * Identifying and using the right communication channels Don't have much time? Get up to speed fast on the most essential business skills withHBR's 20-Minute Manager series. Whether you need a crash course or a brief refresher, each book in the series is a concise, practical primer that will help you brush up on a key management topic. Advice you can quickly read and apply, for ambitious professionals and aspiring executives--from the most trusted source in business. Also available as an ebook.
Call Number: HD66 .L4364 2016
Virtual Collaboration: work from anywhere, overcommunicate, avoid isolation (HBR 20-Minute Manager Series) Working remotely gives you flexibility and independence. But it can pose challenges when you need to team up with colleagues or coworkers.Virtual Collaboration covers the basics of working productively--and collaboratively--from anywhere. You’ll learn to: * Communicate clearly over a variety of media * Bond with colleagues across the wires * Keep others--and yourself--accountable * Avoid and mitigate tech glitches Don't have much time? Get up to speed fast on the most essential business skills withHBR's 20-Minute Manager series. Whether you need a crash course or a brief refresher, each book in the series is a concise, practical primer that will help you brush up on a key management topic. Advice you can quickly read and apply, for ambitious professionals and aspiring executives--from the most trusted source in business. Also available as an ebook.
Call Number: HD66 .V556 2016
Running Virtual Meetings: test your technology, keep their attention connect across time zones (HBR 20-Minute Manager Series) From crackly conference lines to pixelated video, virtual meetings can be problematic. But you can host a productive conversation in which everyone participates.Running Virtual Meetings takes you through the basics of: * Selecting the right virtual venue * Giving participants the information and support they need to connect and contribute * Establishing and enforcing a common meeting etiquette * Following up from afar Don't have much time? Get up to speed fast on the most essential business skills withHBR's 20-Minute Manager series. Whether you need a crash course or a brief refresher, each book in the series is a concise, practical primer that will help you brush up on a key management topic. Advice you can quickly read and apply, for ambitious professionals and aspiring executives--from the most trusted source in business. Also available as an ebook.
Call Number: HF5734.7 .R86 2016
The History and Evolution of Healthcare in America: the untold backstory of where we've been, where we are, and why healthcare needs reform From the beginning of mankind, health and health issues have played a major role in life, but the issues and care have evolved enormously from the time when the first settlers set foot in America to the present. In "The History and Evolution of Healthcare in America," author Thomas W. Loker provides a historical perspective on the state of healthcare and offers fresh views on changes to Obamacare. Insightful and thorough, "The History and Evolution of Healthcare in America" offers a look at what healthcare was like at the birth of the nation; how the practice of providing healthcare has changed for both caregivers and receivers; why the process has become so corrupt and expensive; what needs to happen to provide both choice and effective and efficient care for all; where we need to most focus efforts to get the biggest change; what is needed to get control over this out-of-control situation. Loker narrates a journey through the history of American healthcare-where we've been, how we arrived where we are today, and determine where we might need to go tomorrow. The history illustrates how parts of the problem have been solved in the past and helps us understand what might be necessary to solve our remaining problems in the future."
Call Number: RA395.A3 L64 2012x
Multipliers: how the best leaders make everyone smarter Wall Street Journal Bestseller A thought-provoking, accessible, and essential exploration of why some leaders (“Diminishers”) drain capability and intelligence from their teams, while others (“Multipliers”) amplify it to produce better results. Including a foreword by Stephen R. Covey, as well the five key disciplines that turn smart leaders into genius makers, Multipliers is a must-read for everyone from first-time managers to world leaders.
Call Number: HD57.7 .W57 2010
Luck Is No Accident: making the most of happenstance in your life and career Unplanned events--chance occurrences--more often determine life and career choices than all the careful planning we do. A chance meeting, a broken appointment, a spontaneous vacation trip, a "fill-in" job, a hobby--these are the kinds of experiences that lead to unexpected life directions and career choices. Newly revised and updated with fresh examples and current issues for today's challenging times,Luck is No Accident actively encourages readers to create their own unplanned events, to anticipate changing their plans frequently, to take advantage of chance events when they happen, and to make the most of what life offers. The book has a friendly, easy style about it, and is packed with personal stories that really bring the ideas into focus.
Call Number: HF5381 .K739 2010
Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine Twenty years after the first edition of Cost-effectiveness in Health and Medicine established the practical benchmark for cost-effectiveness analysis, this completely revised edition of the classic text provides an essential resource to a new generation of practitioners, students, researchers,and policymakers. Produced by the Second Panel on Cost-Effectiveness in Health and Medicine - a team of 13 experts from fields including decision science, economics, ethics, psychology, and medicine - this new edition is a comprehensive guide to the use of cost-effectiveness analysis as an evaluative tool at theinstitutional and policy levels. As health care systems face increasing pressure to derive maximum value from expenditures, the guidelines in this new text represent not just the best information available, but a vital guide to health care decision-making in a challenging new era. Completely revised and enriched with examples and expanded coverage, this second edition of Cost-effectiveness in Health and Medicine builds on its predecessor's excellence, offering required reading for both analysts and decision makers.
Call Number: RA410.5 .C688 2017
Works Well with Others: shaking hands, shutting up, and other crucial skills in buisness that no one ever teaches you A hilarious and indispensable guide to the weirdness of the workplace from Esquire editor and Entrepreneur etiquette columnist Ross McCammon Ten years ago, Ross McCammon made an incredible and unexpected transition from working at an in-flight magazine in suburban Dallas to landing his dream job at Esquire in New York. What followed was a period of almost debilitating anxiety and awkwardness--interspersed with minor instances of professional glory--as McCammon learned how to navigate the workplace while feeling entirely ill-equipped for achieving success in his new career. Works Well with Others is McCammon's "relentlessly funny and soberingly insightful"* journey from impostor to authority, a story that reveals the workplace for what it is: an often absurd landscape of ego and fear guided by social rules that no one ever talks about. By mining his own experiences at the magazine, McCammon provides advice on everything from firm handshakes to small talk in elevators to dealing with jerks and underminers. Here is an inspirational new way of looking at your job, your career, and success itself; an accessible guide for those of us who are smart, talented, and ambitious but who aren't well-"leveraged" and don't quite feel prepared for success . . . or know what to do once we've made it. *Entertainment Weekly
Call Number: PN6231.B85 M38 2015
Kirkpatrick's Four Levels of Training Evaluation: results, behavior, learning, reaction Don Kirkpatrick's groundbreaking Four Levels of Training Evaluation is the most widely used training evaluation model in the world. Ask any group of trainers whether they rely on the model's four levels Reaction, Learning, Behavior, and Results in their practice, and you'll get an enthusiastic affirmation. But how many variations of Kirkpatrick are in use today? And what number of misassumptions and faulty practices have crept in over 60 years? The reality is: Quite a few. James and Wendy Kirkpatrick have written Kirkpatrick's Four Levels of Training Evaluation to set the record straight. Delve into James and Wendy's new findings that, together with Don Kirkpatrick's work, create the New World Kirkpatrick Model, a powerful training evaluation methodology that melds people with metrics. In Kirkpatrick's Four Levels of Training Evaluation, discover a comprehensive blueprint for implementing the model in a way that truly maximizes your business's results. Using these innovative concepts, principles, techniques, and case studies, you can better train people, improve the way you work, and, ultimately, help your organization meet its most crucial goals.
Call Number: HF5549.5.T7 K57 2016x
Getting Risk Right: understanding the science of elusive health risks Do cell phones cause brain cancer? Does BPA threaten our health? How safe are certain dietary supplements, especially those containing exotic herbs or small amounts of toxic substances? Is the HPV vaccine safe? We depend on science and medicine as never before, yet there is widespread misinformation and confusion, amplified by the media, regarding what influences our health. In Getting Risk Right, Geoffrey C. Kabat shows how science works—and sometimes doesn't—and what separates these two very different outcomes. Kabat seeks to help us distinguish between claims that are supported by solid science and those that are the result of poorly designed or misinterpreted studies. By exploring different examples, he explains why certain risks are worth worrying about, while others are not. He emphasizes the variable quality of research in contested areas of health risks, as well as the professional, political, and methodological factors that can distort the research process. Drawing on recent systematic critiques of biomedical research and on insights from behavioral psychology, Getting Risk Right examines factors both internal and external to the science that can influence what results get attention and how questionable results can be used to support a particular narrative concerning an alleged public health threat. In this book, Kabat provides a much-needed antidote to what has been called "an epidemic of false claims."
Call Number: RA776.5 .K33 2017x
Library Improvement Through Data Analytics "Show me your data " More than ever, funding agencies are looking for cost effectiveness. Sound data analytics is the foundation for making an evidence-based case for library programs, in addition to guiding myriad organizational decisions, from optimizing operations for efficiency to responding to community needs for customer satisfaction. Designed to be useful for novices as well as those with a background in data, this book introduces the basics of the Six Sigma framework as a model that can be applied to a variety of library settings. Helping readers make sense of data, this guide for system based, data-driven management covers such key topics as the basics of statistical concepts; recommended data sources for various library functions and processes, and guidance for using census, university, or chamber of commerce data in analysis; techniques for cleaning data; matching data to appropriate data analysis methods; how to make descriptive statistics more powerful by spotlighting relationships; 14 case studies which address such areas as digitization, e-book collection development, and reference; and staffing, facilities, and instruction. This book's clear, concise coverage will enable readers of every experience level to gain a better understanding of statistics in order to facilitate library improvement.
Call Number: Z678.85 .F37 2016
Putting the User First: 30 strategies for transforming library services User experience is everywhere. From your library's website to the signage by the elevators, everything contributes to the overall user experience of our patrons. Just one simple idea can transform your library: put the user first. But as you likely already know, just because something's simple doesn't mean it's easy. How best to identify, implement, and evaluate user-driven changes in order to improve physical and virtual services? The good news is that even small changes can make big headway. Putting the User First: 30 Strategies for Transforming Library Services will give you 30 hands-on strategies and practical suggestions to enable you to begin transforming your library, library services, and even your personal practice to be more responsive, effective and user-centered today.
Call Number: Z711 .M395 2014
What's New in Current Awareness?
New Videos & Audiobooks
Dealing With Conflict: Healthcare Version Based on the world famous Thomas-Kilman Conflict Mode Instrument, this video teaches healthcare workers valuable techniques for recognizing and resolving conflict. It illustrates five different positions people can take when conflict arises. By understanding the choices they have for various situations, viewers see how conflicts can be directed toward constructive or destructive outcomes, and they learn skills for achieving positive results.
Call Number: DVD 892
Customer Service Make It Easy!: how to easily build customer loyalty! Many customers these days are not happy with the service they're receiving. They're angry, frustrated and headed for the door. So what do they want? They want service that's effieient and painless, with minimal effort on their part; in other words, customer service made easy. This video training program will help you deliver just that."--
Call Number: DVD 893
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2014, 2013, 2012