Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Lippincott Nursing Procedures This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 7th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Call Number: RT41 .N886 2015
Lippincott Certification Review : pediatric acute care nurse practitioner Confidently prepare for the Acute Care Certified Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (CPNP®) exam and excel on the job with help from the Lippincott Certification Review: Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. Presented in an easy-to-read bulleted format, this all-inclusive guide covers all exam topics, from system-based pediatric disorders to family and psychological issues. Offering professional advice, test-taking strategies, and practice exams, this is the essential text no pediatric or acute care nurse should be without. You will ace the CPNP exam and grasp the fundamentals of acute care pediatric nursing with... Features: More than 750 multiple-choice questions in exam format + 350+ end-of-chapter questions and two 200-question practice exams, with answers/explanationsrtification Review Board - Expert guidance on pediatric patient management - Current data and practice tools for diagnosing and managing complex acute, chronic, and critical pediatric conditions in inpatient and outpatient, emergency, and home care settings, emphasizing interdisciplinary collaborationd - Full coverage of topics including:naging complex acute, chronic, and - System-based problems - Scientific background and practice guidelines for managing pediatric disorders, with each chapter addressing a different body systempics including: - Age-related information - Guidance on meeting the specific physiological and psychological needs of infants, children, adolescents, and young adultsstem - Pediatric patient and family issues - Vital information on development, nutrition, and sleep; guidelines for family-centered care, transitional care, home care, and more - Professional issues - Current data on quality improvement, safety, diversity, and health policy; official guidance on certification, licensure, credentialing, documentation, billing, and more
Call Number: RC86.9 .K55 2016x
On the Politics of Ignorance in Nursing and Health Care: knowing ignorance Ignorance is mostly framed as a void, a gap to be filled with appropriate knowledge. In nursing and health care, concerns about ignorance fuel searches for knowledge expected to bring certainty to care provision, preventing risk, accidents, or mistakes. This unique volume turns the focus on ignorance as something productive in itself and works to understand how ignorance and its operations shape what we do and do not know. Focusing explicitly on nursing practice and its organization within contemporary health settings, Perron and Rudge draw on contemporary interdisciplinary debates to discuss social processes informed by ignorance, ignorance's temporal and spatial boundaries, and how ignorance defines what can be known by specific groups with differential access to power and social status. Using feminist, postcolonial and historical analyses, this book challenges dominant conceptualizations and discusses a range of "nonknowledges" in nursing and health work, including uncertainty, abjection, denial, deceit and taboo. It also explores the way dominant research and managerial practices perpetuate ignorance in healthcare organisations. In health contexts, productive forms of ignorance can help to future-proof understandings about the management of healthy/sick bodies and those caring for them. Linking these considerations to nurses' approaches to challenges in practice, this book helps to unpack the power situated in the use of ignorance and pays special attention to what is safe or unsafe to know, from both individual and organisational perspectives. On the Politics of Ignorance in Nursing and Health Care is an innovative read for all students and researchers in nursing and the health sciences interested in understanding more about transactions between epistemologies, knowledge building practices and research in the health domain. It will also be of interest to scholars involved in the interdisciplinary study of ignorance.
Call Number: RT41 .P47 2016
Alters & Schiff Essential Concepts for Healthy Living Essential Concepts for Healthy Living, Seventh Edition urges students to think critically about their health and overall wellness and empowers them, with clearly identified tools, to help them reach this goal. It provides a clear and concise introduction to the latest scientific and medical research in personal health and highlights common behaviors and attitudes related to individual health needs. The Seventh Edition, with an all new author team, includes a wealth of new and updated data, including information on obesity and infertility, New & Key Features of the Seventh Edition: - Combines evidence-based information with critical thinking activities to guide students through analysis of their own health behavior.
Call Number: RA776.5 .A596 2016
Nutrition Counseling and Education Skill Development This book is a step-by-step guide to the fundamental skills of nutritional counseling strategies and protocol, complimented by action-based worksheets and practical case studies. The authors provide a solid foundation of counseling and education principles, opportunities to practice new skills, and knowledge of evaluation methodologies.
Call Number: RM218.7 .B38 2016
Advanced Nursing Practice and Nurse-Led Clinics in Oncology Over the past ten years there has been a dramatic increase in new nursing roles and nurse-led clinics within oncology. This unique handbook is a comprehensive companion for nurses studying and practising at an advanced level in this emerging field. This text outlines and discusses roles, responsibilities and skills related to advanced practice in oncology nursing - including leadership, communication skills and prescribing - linking throughout to the implications for clinical practice. It then provides a step-by-step guide to setting up and developing nurse-led clinics, looking in more detail at clinics focusing on surgery, chemotherapy, radiotherapy, clinical trials and follow ups, and providing an in-depth case example of a clinic set up for adjuvant Herceptin use. Practical, relevant and underpinned by current legislation, Advanced Nursing Practice and Nurse-led Clinics in Oncology is an invaluable resource for oncology nurses.
Call Number: RC266 .A48 2016
Perinatal and Pediatric Bereavement in Nursing and Other Health Professions This is a definitive, state-of-the-art resource for professionals who provide bereavement care to families when a baby or older child dies. Culling the most important new evidence from scholars and practitioners worldwide, it links theoretical knowledge and clinical practice recommendations to fill a gap in the current literature. The text is distinguished by its provision of different and even competing perspectives that address the complexities of the tragic human experience of perinatal and pediatric death. Expert contributors from the fields of nursing and other health professions disseminate new theoretical approaches and re-examine current concepts in light of new research.
Call Number: RG631 .B53 2016x
Nursing Acutely Ill Adults This comprehensive and clinically-focused textbook is designed for student and qualified nurses concerned with caring effectively for deteriorating and acutely ill adults outside of specialist intensive care units. Divided into six sections, the book begins with chapters on assessment and the deteriorating patient, including monitoring vital signs and interpreting blood results. This is followed by two sections focusing on breathing and cardiovascular problems respectively. Section 4 explores issues around disability and impairment, including chapters on neurology, pain management, psychological needs and thermoregulation. The penultimate section looks at maintaining the internal environment, with chapters on issues such as nutrition, fluid management and infection control. The text ends with a discussion of legal issues and accountability. Nursing Acutely Ill Adults includes a full range of pedagogical features, including sections: identifying fundamental knowledge; highlighting implications for practice; giving further reading and resources; using case scenarios to help readers relate theory to practice; and providing 'time out' exercises. It is the ideal textbook for students taking modules in caring for critically ill adults and qualified nurses working with these patients.
Call Number: RT120.I5 W663 2016
Managing Stress: principles and stategies for health and well-being Revised, updated and reorganized, Managing Stress: Principles & Strategies for Health and Well-Being Eighth Edition, provides a comprehensive approach to stress management honoring the integration, balance, and harmony of mind, body, spirit, and emotions. The holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of mind-body-spirit unity. Referred to as the "authority on stress management" by students and professionals, this book gives students the tools needed to identify and manage stress while teaching them how to strive for health and balance.New and Key Features to the 8th Edition:- Includes a new Chapter 28, Ecotherapy: The Healing Power of Nature. - Revised and updated to keep pace with changes in the field. - Chapter 15, Communication Skills in the Information Age, has been expanded to reference the latest technology and how it affects lifestyles.- New information on stress and diabetes, job market stressors, desk yoga options, food allergies, and much more.- Includes FREE access to the Navigate Companion Website to accompany Managing Stress, Eighth Edition which includes relaxation technique audio files, practice quizzes, crossword puzzles, animated flashcards, and more.- Instructor's material include Instructor's manual, LMS-ready Test Bank, PowerPoint Image Bank, PowerPoint Lecture Slides, Sample Syllabi and Lesson Plans.
Call Number: RA785 .S434 2015
The Roy Adaptation Model A thoroughly revised and updated book, this definitive new edition reflects the latest advances in the popular Roy Adaptation Model, one of the most widely implemented nursing theories. Compact and consistent, this book focuses on the essentials of nursing practice and theory while integrating the conceptual framework of the Model into contemporary practice. Standardized nursing NANDA diagnoses are used consistently throughout the book. New case studies are included in all adaptive mode chapters. Practicing Nurses interested in a definitive guide to the Roy Adaptation Model.
Call Number: RT84.5 .R66 2009
Health & Wellness
Call Number: RA776 .E24 2016
Laboratory and Diagnostic Testing in Ambulatory Care: a guide for health care professionals Learn the lab testing skills you need to know! Laboratory and Diagnostic Testing in Ambulatory Care: A Guide for Health Care Professionals, 3rd Edition provides in-depth coverage of the most common procedures and techniques of all the new CLIA waived, point-of-care tests along with some moderately complex tests. Clear, step-by-step instructions and full-color photographs make it easy to perform each test and procedure. To reflect the expanding roles of medical assistants and medical lab technicians, this edition adds a new chapter on electrocardiography and spirometry. Written by noted medical assisting educator Marti Garrels, this guide also includes an Evolve companion website with videos, structured lab notes, and activities for extra practice with clinical laboratory skills. Comprehensive coverage of the most common CLIA waived tests prepares healthcare professionals for lab testing in the ambulatory setting. A triad organization gives chapters a consistent, easy-to-follow format, with 1) fundamental concepts, 2) step-by-step instructions for CLIA waived procedures, and 3) advanced concepts that lead to a higher level of critical thinking and decision making. A full-color atlas section shows common laboratory and diagnostic findings, including depictions of cells, casts, and crystals. Learning objectives begin each chapter with goals for what you should accomplish, serve as checkpoints for comprehension and skills mastery, and provide a study tool in preparation for examinations. Procedure boxes provide step-by-step instructions and full-color photos and illustrations for today's commonly requested CLIA waived lab tests. Key terms are listed and defined at the beginning of each chapter, as well as included in the book's glossary. Common abbreviations and acronyms associated with CLIA waived testing are listed and defined at the beginning of each chapter. Review questions at the end of each chapter ask you to recall and assimilate the information you've learned. A workbook matches the chapters in the textbook, offering activities and exercises to reinforce laboratory concepts, terminology, and procedures. Sold separately. Expert author Marti Garrels brings years of on-the-job experience, an advanced MSA degree, dual degrees in medical technology and medical assisting, and classroom experience as an instructor and as a medical assisting program director. References at the end of each chapter cite related websites for further reading and research. An Evolve companion website includes various activities and exercises to enhance learning with problem-solving scenarios. NEW illustrations and photographs showcase new technology and the performance of lab testing tasks. NEW! Electrocardiography and Spirometry chapter focuses on the role of the medical assistant and the lab technician in these diagnostic tests. NEW content updates the text with a focus on new technology and significant advances made in recent years, including the latest CLIA waived test methods.
Call Number: RB37 .G37 2015
Population Health: creating a culture of wellness Practicing population based care is a central focus of the Affordable Care Act and a key component of implementing health reform. Wellness and Prevention, Accountable Care Organizations, Patient Centered Medical Homes, Comparative Effectiveness Research, and Patient Engagement have become common terms in the healthcare lexicon. Aimed at students and practitioners in health care settings, the Second Edition of Population Health: Creating a Culture of Wellness, conveys the key concepts of concepts of population health management and strategies for creating a culture of health and wellness in the context of health care reform. Beginning with a new opening chapter, entitled, “Building Cultures of Health and Wellness”, the Second Edition takes a comprehensive, forward-looking approach to population health with an emphasis on creating a culture of wellness. The revised text takes into consideration the Affordable Care Act and its substantial impact on how health science is taught, how health care is delivered and how health care services are compensated in the United States
Call Number: RA395.A3 P638 2016
Nutrition, Health and Disease: a lifespan approach Bringing together key topics in basic science, clinical nutrition, and public health, Nutrition, Health and Disease is an easy-to-read, student-friendly textbook which clearly demonstrates how the body's demand for nutrients changes throughout life, and thus the variety of ways in which nutrition and diet affect health and disease. The second edition of this successful text includes: Expanded introductory material to ensure a firm grasp of key concepts New content on vegetarian, vegan, kosher and other alternative diets Dieting in adults Gender and nutrition Macro- and micronutrients A range of new diagrams to support visual learners Background on nutritional epidemiology and statistics. Nutrition, Health and Disease: A Lifespan Approach is an ideal resource for the range of material a student or newly-qualified nutrition or dietetics professional needs to know.
Call Number: QP141 .L22 2015
Psychosocial Interventions for Mental and Substance Use Disorders: a framework for establishing evidence-based standards Mental health and substance use disorders affect approximately 20 percent of Americans and are associated with significant morbidity and mortality. Although a wide range of evidence-based psychosocial interventions are currently in use, most consumers of mental health care find it difficult to know whether they are receiving high-quality care. Although the current evidence base for the effects of psychosocial interventions is sizable, subsequent steps in the process of bringing a psychosocial intervention into routine clinical care are less well defined. "Psychosocial Interventions for Mental and Substance Use Disorders" details the reasons for the gap between what is known to be effective and current practice and offers recommendations for how best to address this gap by applying a framework that can be used to establish standards for psychosocial interventions. The framework described in "Psychosocial Interventions for Mental and Substance Use Disorders" can be used to chart a path toward the ultimate goal of improving the outcomes. The framework highlights the need to (1) support research to strengthen the evidence base on the efficacy and effectiveness of psychosocial interventions; (2) based on this evidence, identify the key elements that drive an intervention's effect; (3) conduct systematic reviews to inform clinical guidelines that incorporate these key elements; (4) using the findings of these systematic reviews, develop quality measures - measures of the structure, process, and outcomes of interventions; and (5) establish methods for successfully implementing and sustaining these interventions in regular practice including the training of providers of these interventions. The recommendations offered in this report are intended to assist policy makers, health care organizations, and payers that are organizing and overseeing the provision of care for mental health and substance use disorders while navigating a new health care landscape. The recommendations also target providers, professional societies, funding agencies, consumers, and researchers, all of whom have a stake in ensuring that evidence-based, high-quality care is provided to individuals receiving mental health and substance use services.
Call Number: RC480 .P792 2015x
Mayo Clinic Going Gluten Free: essential guide to managing celiac disease and related conditions New from Mayo Clinic-the essential guide to living gluten-free. Whether diagnosed with celiac disease or just deciding if a gluten-free diet is right for you, Mayo Clinic Going Gluten-Free will help you create and maintain a gluten-free lifestyle. Both authoritative and approachable, the book includes core medical information on celiac disease in addition to focusing on practical, everyday issues, such as: --Determining if gluten-free is right for you --Common signs, symptoms and myths of celiac --Dealing with celiac if you are newly diagnosed --Maintaining a gluten-free lifestyle while traveling, during the holidays, on-the-go and at college --Helping your child manage a gluten-free diet --Properly reading and understanding food labels --A few recipes and meals to jumpstart your gluten-free life
Call Number: RC862.C44 M315 2014x
Leadership and Management for Nurses: core competencies for quality care Leadership and Management for Nurses: Core Competencies for Quality Care is designed for all courses in leadership or management in nursing. It also serves as a refresher for topics and issues previously covered in nursing school, while also addressing issues that nurses will face in their new professional practice. This book is an excellent resource for professionals in the nursing field and is also a perfect fit for an RN-to-BSN Leadership and Management course. Leadership and Management for Nurses offers a current perspective on leadership and management in nursing, and gives nurses a thorough understanding of what it takes to lead in delivering quality health care. Reflecting the Institute of Medicine's influential framework, the book emphasizes five core competencies: providing patient-centered care; working in interdisciplinary teams; employing evidence-based practice; applying quality improvement; and utilizing informatics. Two entirely new chapters examine critical issues in healthcare delivery today. Expanded end-of-chapter Applying Leadership and Management features encourage students to think like nurses as they hone their clinical-reasoning skills, apply competencies, and engage with the content.
Call Number: RT89 .F527 2016
Essentials of Nursing Informatics Study Guide Introducing the most complete, compact guide to teaching and learning nursing informatics If you''re looking for a clear, streamlined review of nursing informatics fundamentals,Essentials of Nursing Informatics Study Guide is the go-to reference. Drawn from the newly revised 6th Edition of Saba and McCormick''s bestselling textbook, Essentials of Nursing Informatics, this indispensable study guide helps instructors sharpen their classroom teaching skills, while offering students an effective self-study and review tool both in and out of the classroom. Each chapter features a concise, easy-to-follow format that solidifies students'' understanding of the latest nursing informatics concepts, technologies, policies, and skills. For the nurse educator, the study guide includesteaching tips, class preparation ideas, learning objectives, review questions, and answer explanations--all designed to supplement the authoritative content of the core text. Also included is an online faculty resource (available at EssentialsofNursingInformaticsStudyGuide.com) that reinforces classroom teaching and consists of chapter outlines, learning objectives, key words, and explanatory illustrations and tables. Focusing on topics as diverse as data processing and nursing informatics in retail clinics, the nine sections of Essentials of Nursing Informatics Study Guide encompass all areas of nursing informatics theory and practice: Nursing Informatics Technologies System Life Cycle Informatics Theory Standards/Foundations of Nursing Informatics Nursing Informatics Leadership Advanced Nursing Informatics in Practice Nursing Informatics/Complex Applications Educational Applications Research Applications Big Data Initiatives The comprehensive, yet concise coverage of Essentials of Nursing Informatics Study Guidebrings together the best nursing informatics applications and perspectives in one exceptional volume. More than any other source, it enables registered nurses to master this vital specialty, so they can contribute to the overall safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of healthcare.
Call Number: RT50.5 .E87 2015 suppl.
Nursing Procedures: made incredibly easy Perform nursing procedures safely and accurately, with the freshly updated Nursing Procedures Made Incredibly Easy, Second Edition. Written in the popular, lighthearted Incredibly Easy style, this comprehensive guide offers expert, step-by-step direction on a broad range of fundamental and system-based nursing procedures. This enjoyable way to learn nursing's best practices will help you stay up-to-date with the latest in technology, nursing standards, NCLEX preparation, and safe, quality care. · NEW and updated content offers: o crucial patient care methods o current nursing practice guidelines o directions for using the latest medical technology o directions for ensuring patient safety and providing quality care · Coverage of topics including: o Fundamental nursing procedures - Easy-to-follow algorithms for a patient's entire hospital stay, from intake to discharge, including surgical care o Specimen collection - Clear directions on collecting blood, urine, and other specimens o Physical treatments - Techniques for heat and cold application, baths, support devices, wound care, drug administration, I.V. therapy, and more o System-based procedures - Directions on procedures for all body systems · Clear direction to meet the needs of your maternal, neonatal, and pediatric patients · Easy-to-follow format for each procedure - Quick-skim paragraphs and bulleted lists specify equipment, step-by-step instructions, and practice pointers · Nursing procedures guides such as comparing biological dressings and assessing pressure ulcers · Special features: o Just the facts - Outline of chapter content at start of every chapter o Write it down - Essential documentation points for each procedure o Ages and stages - Issues where patient's age impacts a procedure o Handle with care - Patient care tips for elderly, pediatric, and bariatric patients o Memory joggers - Simple tricks for remembering complex concepts o Warning - Possible dangers, risks, complications, or contraindications associated with a particular procedure o Quick Quiz - Questions & Answers at the end of every chapter
Call Number: RT51 .N874 2016
Informatics and Nursing: opportunities and challenges Informatics and Nursing: Opportunities and Challenges is a comprehensive informatics text focused on helping the nursing student learn the basics of informatics. The contents proceed from Unit One which covers computer basics to Unit Five which examines skills and techniques for using the end product of informatics: data. The text provides the foundational knowledge to understand technology and use informatics to discover and manipulate information and access, manage, retrieve, and present clinical data. This text was designed to capture cutting-edge advancement in nursing informatics core competencies and applications and to present the theories, tools, and skills that every nurse should know. The new edition has been updated for currency and has had chapters reorganized and consolidated to help students focus on important information. In addition, the book is now full color, has QSEN boxes, as well as additional supplements such as case studies and activities.
Call Number: RT50.5 .T483 2016
Nurse's Legal Handbook Here is the current authoritative tool you need as you weigh potential ethical issues and make important decisions for you and your patients. Nurse's Legal Handbook works as your personal legal nurse consultant, with practical direction on how to navigate legal ethics, pitfalls, and preventative steps. This indispensable handbook demonstrates the issues with recent nursing malpractice cases, to help you be protected and informed regarding your legal rights, risks, and responsibilities as a nurse. Get informed on current laws, practice standards, and areas of legal liability ... · NEW Current laws and trends in litigation that affect nursing · NEW Current legal/ethical controversies, including: the definition of death; the nurse's response to a patient request to stop treatment · NEW Legal guidance on: o How to protect yourself from being sued for nursing negligence o The importance of professional liability insurance o The litigation process, and the four elements needed to prove nursing negligence or malpractice o Signs you are at risk for civil or criminal prosecution o What to do if you are named as a defendant o Testifying as a nurse expert o Nursing documentation as the best courtroom evidence o How testifying experts use medical records in malpractice litigation o The effects of Good Samaritan Laws on nursing o Making ethical decisions; ethical relationships with patients and coworkers o Your employee rights; the meanings of employee contracts; and whistleblowing · NEW How the states' Nurse Practice Acts and the current American Nurse Association (ANA) Scope and Standards of Nursing Practice regulate quality of care · NEW How nursing standards and hospital policies affect court decisions · NEW Ethical issues raised by landmark cases: End of life, quality of life; laws such as the Patient Self-Determination Act; violence against nurses and the ANA's response · Crucial information for advanced practice nurses and nurse practitioners, legal nurse consultants, risk managers, critical care nurses, medical/surgical nurses, nurse attorneys, emergency nurses, long-term care nurses, and nurse educators
Call Number: RT86.73 .N855 2016
The Psychiatric Interview in Clinical Practice Much has changed in the critical interval since the last edition of The Psychiatric Interview in Clinical Practice was published. This new, third edition provides an up-to-date examination of the psychiatric interview that reflects changes introduced in DSM-5, while continuing to recognize that describing symptoms and establishing a diagnosis should command only a portion of the clinician's attention, and that a patient's personal history must be elicited and character structure addressed in the clinical engagement. Significant advances have been made in biological psychiatry, and research in genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychopharmacology, brain imaging, and the neurosciences in general continues apace, informing the culture of psychiatry and providing growing insight into the etiology of mental illnesses. However, the book reflects the authors' belief that virtually all major psychiatric disorders are complex amalgams of genetic disposition and environmental influences. In this context, the psychiatric interview is a vitally important dialogue, and effective strategies are modeled through the use of clinical vignettes taken from the authors' experience. Topics and features of this new edition include: * An updating of diagnostic considerations to reflect the publication of DSM-5.* A chapter on interviewing the patient with dissociative identity disorder (DID), which is now recognized as an entity distinct from other psychopathological conditions and rooted in childhood trauma. The frequency of DID in the ambulatory setting has been repeatedly demonstrated and speaks to the need to accurately diagnose and treat this often-debilitating disorder.* An entirely updated chapter on interviewing the traumatized patient.* A section on interviewing the patient of different background. The book emphasizes that the subjective experience of being "different" is universal and that psychiatry is enriched by recognizing and exploring that experience, validating its existence, and attempting to understand how it influences the patient's life.* Continued emphasis on and inclusion of relevant case vignettes drawn from the authors' clinical experiences.* Structural consistency across chapters, with sections on psychopathology and psychodynamics, differential diagnosis, management of the interview, transference and countertransference, and so forth, which reinforces skills acquisition and makes the text easy to use. By creating a text that is aligned with DSM-5 while continuing to stress the importance of eliciting the patient's subjective experience and achieving a therapeutic dialogue, the authors of The Psychiatric Interview in Clinical Practice have done a great service to the profession and provided much-needed guidance to mental health clinicians and trainees.
Call Number: RC480.7 .M25 2016
Handbook of Geriatric Care Management Handbook of Geriatric Care Management, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive and practical guide for care managers that addresses the multiple needs of aging adults and their families. An ideal teaching tool, it guides students and professionals along the journey of becoming a successful care manager.New to this edition are two new chapters on working with older veterans and helping clients with depression. Completely updated and revised, the Fourth Edition provides updated ethics and standards, a focus on credentialing and certification, numerous case studies, sample forms and letters, and tips for building and growing a care manager business.
Call Number: RC952.55 .H386 2017
AACN Scope and Standards for Acute and Critical Care Nursing Practice
Call Number: Pamphlet
Errors of Omission: how missed nursing care imperils patients The content of this book addresses the problem of missed nursing care (standard, required care that is not provided), ramifications of missed nursing care, and strategies to decrease missed nursing care. The research underlying this book was the result of listening to nursing staff members and observing them at work over several years. Addressing missed nursing care is a part of the overall patient safety movement which began to receive attention when the Institute of Medicine (IOM) published 'To Err is Human' in 1999.
Call Number: R729.8 .K35 2015x
Management/Employee Development Books
Organizational Behavior, Theory, and Design in Health Care Due to the vast size and complexity of the U.S. health care system―the nation’s largest employer―health care managers face a myriad of unique challenges such as labor shortages, caring for the uninsured, cost control, and quality improvement. Organizational Behavior, Theory, and Design, Second Edition was written to provide health services administration students, managers, and other professionals with an in-depth analysis of the theories and concepts of organizational behavior and organization theory while embracing the uniqueness and complexity of the healthcare industry. Using an applied focus, this book provides a clear and concise overview of the essential topics in organizational behavior and organization theory from the healthcare manager’s perspective.
Call Number: RA971 .B835 2016
Health Policy Issues: an economic perspective The Affordable Care Act (ACA), the most significant public policy enacted in many years, affects all aspects of healthcare financing and delivery. Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective, Sixth Edition, has been thoroughly revised to explain the magnitude of this legislation and how it affects everyone, including physicians, hospitals, employers, employees, insurers, the uninsured, and state and federal governments. Renowned economist Paul Feldstein not only addresses the underlying issues and politics of healthcare but also explains why the health system has evolved to its current state. Thirty-six short, topical chapters give students a comprehensive overview of the delivery of medical services through a unique economic perspective.
Call Number: RA410.53 .F455 2015
Explaining Creativity: the science of human innovation Explaining Creativity is an accessible introduction to the latest scientific research on creativity. The book summarizes and integrates a broad range of research in psychology and related scientific fields. In the last 40 years, psychologists, anthropologists, and sociologists have devotedincreased attention to creativity; we now know more about creativity than at any point in history. Explaining Creativity considers not only arts like painting and writing, but also science, stage performance, business innovation, and creativity in everyday life. Sawyer's approach is interdisciplinary. In addition to examining psychological studies on creativity, he draws on anthropologists' research on creativity in non-Western cultures, sociologists' research on the situations, contexts, and networks of creative activity, and cognitive neuroscientists'studies of the brain. He moves beyond the individual to consider the social and cultural contexts of creativity, including the role of collaboration in the creative process.
Call Number: BF408 .S284 2012
StandOut 2. 0: assess your strength, find your edge, win at work The Groundbreaking Strengths Assessment from the Leader of the Strengths Revolution In the years since the publication of First, Break All the Rules and Now, Discover Your Strengths, millions have come to the simple but powerful realization that to get the most out of people, you must build on their strengths. And yet, as Marcus Buckingham astutely points out, though the strengths-based approach is now conventional wisdom, the tools and systems inside organizations--performance appraisals, training programs, and succession planning systems--remain stubbornly remedial and exclusively focused on measuring skills, finding gaps, and attempting to plug them. It’s a crisis for individuals and organizations, with management ideas and everyday practice utterly out of sync. That’s about to change. StandOut 2.0 is a revolutionary book and tool that enables you to identify your strengths, and those of your team, and act on them. The original edition of StandOut provided top-notch insights from one of the world’s foremost authorities on strengths, as well as access to a powerful, cutting-edge online assessment tool. Now, in addition to a much more powerful assessment and a robust report on your most dominant strengths, StandOut 2.0 contains or provides access to: * A StandOut profile, easily customized and exported, that you can use to present the very best of yourself to your team and your company * Your own Personalized Strengths Channel, which, after you’ve taken the 15-minute assessment, will send you a weekly tip, insight, or technique to help you do your best work this week * An entire strengths-based performance management system, including check-in and evaluation tools to track your progress, and that of your team And much more. StandOut 2.0 is your indispensable guide for building on your strengths to further your career--and help your team and organization win.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 B833 2015
Bridging the Soft Skills Gap: how to teach the missing basics to today's young talent Solve the number one problem with today's young workforce--the soft skills gap The number one challenge with today's young talent is a problem hiding in plain sight: the ever-widening soft skills gap. Today's new, young workforce has so much to offer--new technical skills, new ideas, new perspective, new energy. Yet too many of them are held back because of their weak soft skills. Soft skills may be harder to define and measure than hard skills, but they are just as critical. People get hired because of their hard skills but get fired because of their soft skills. Setting a good example or simply telling young workers they need to improve isn't enough, nor is scolding them or pointing out their failings in an annual review. However you can teach the missing basics to today's young talent. Based on more than twenty years of research, Bruce Tulgan, renowned expert on the millennial workforce, offers concrete solutions to help managers teach the missing basics of professionalism, critical thinking, and followership--complete with ninety-two step-by-step lesson plans designed to be highly flexible and easy to use. Tulgan's research and proven approach has show that the key to teaching young people the missing soft skills lies in breaking down critical soft skills into their component parts, concentrating on one small component at a time, with the help of a teaching-style manager. Almost all of the exercises can be done in less than an hour within a team meeting or an extended one-on-one. The exercises are easily modified and customized and can be used as take-home exercises for any individual or group, to guide one-on-one discussions with direct-reports and in the classroom as written exercises or group discussions. Managers--and their young employees--will find themselves returning to their favorite exercises over and over again. One exercise at a time, managers will build up the most important soft skills of their new, young talent. These critical soft skills can make the difference between mediocre and good, between good and great, between great and one of a kind.
Call Number: HF5381 .T757 2015
Hidden Strengths: unleashing the crucial leadership skills you already have Books like StrengthsFinder 2.0 have helped leaders discover their strengths - but they stop there. The Sindells argue that focusing only on your best abilities neglects a vital development opportunity. They show how to identify hidden strengths that can be quickly elevated into full strengths with attention and focus. Working mainly on your strengths can ultimately make you weaker, they argue - you need to continually add new skills, not rely on what you're already good at. And while most people assume that means they should try to turn their weaknesses into usable skills, the Sindells say that it takes too much time and effort - the ROI just isn't there. It's in the neglected middle skills, neither strengths nor weaknesses, that the most potent development opportunities lie. They're close enough to being strengths that putting your energy there can offer a powerful payoff. Using assessments, exercises, and case studies, the Sindells help you identify your most promising middle skills and create a plan to turn them into strengths. In today's work environment, not growing and stretching yourself translates into lack of innovation, stagnation, and obsolescence. Relying upon strengths is like relying upon training wheels - at a certain point you need to take them off in order to improve and grow.
Call Number: HD57.7 .S5485 2015
Maximizing the Value of Consulting: a guide for internal and external consultants <b>Provide organized, efficient, relevant consulting with lasting value</b> <p><i>Maximizing the Value of Consulting</i> is an indispensable, practical guide for managing, measuring, and delivering the results that make internal and external consulting a lasting value to clients and the company. Sponsored by the ROI Institute and the Association of Internal Management Consultants, this book provides a roadmap to relevance for consultants operating in the increasingly fast-paced, changing, dynamic environment. Readers will learn how to use resources properly and manage the investment efficiently, while truly connecting to the business, securing appropriate levels of commitment, and providing adequate levels of support. Detailed coverage includes guidance toward calculating the value of consulting in terms that executives understand, including business impact and ROI, and using the appropriate tools to show how things are working throughout the process.</p> <p>Whether organizations are using internal or external consultants, or both, consultants can provide better value to the company. Consultants are needed to provide advice, support, and insight into the processes undertaken to improve the business, and integrate the input of different functional units into a more streamlined strategy. This book is designed to help consultants provide the utmost value to clients by maximizing organization, efficiency, and ultimately, ROI.</p> <ul> <li>Manage for value with better organization and cost control</li> <li>Set objectives at multiple levels to deliver useful results</li> <li>Measure implementation, impact, ROI, and intangibles</li> <li>Use final results to drive appropriate actions, creating lasting value</li> </ul> <p>The skyrocketing need for internal and external consultants will continue, in almost every functional area ranging from HR and technology, to auditing and risk management. <i>Maximizing the Value of Consulting</i> provides a manual for relevant, value-driven consulting, with world-renowned expert insight.</p>
Call Number: HD69.C6 P4695 2015
Two Awesome Hours: science-based strategies to harness your best time and get your most important work done Whether we love our jobs or not, the amount of work on our plate has reached unsustainable levels. We start each workday anxious about how we will get it all done, and which important tasks will have to be sacrificed—again—so we can keep our heads above water. We often respond to our out-of-control to-do lists by focusing on being more efficient—trying to get more done in less time. According to Josh Davis, Ph.D., we're going about it the wrong way. The answer is not to get more done faster, but rather to create the conditions for at least two awesome hours of peak productivity each day. Neuroscience and psychology research is revealing what those conditions are. Drawing on this research, Davis explains that our minds operate according to complex factors that, when leveraged the right way, can make us truly effective. Davis shows us five deceptively simple strategies to create the conditions for incredible productivity and to restore sanity and balance to our lives: Maximize the moments in our day when we are between tasks, intentionally choosing what to tackle next Schedule tasks based on their cognitive and emotional demands Learn how to direct attention Feed and move our bodies for short-term benefit Identify how our environment affects our focus and alertness We are capable of impressive feats of comprehension, motivation, and performance when our psychological and biological systems are functioning optimally. Two Awesome Hours will show us how to be our most productive every day.
Call Number: HD69.T54 D385 2015
Leaders Eat Last: why some teams pull together and others don't Why do only a few people get to say:I love my job. It seems unfair that finding fulfillment at work is like winning a lottery; that only a few lucky ones get to feel valued by their organizations, to feel like they belong. Imagine a world where almost everyone wakes up inspired to go to work, feels trusted and valued during the day, then returns home feeling fulfilled. This is not a crazy, idealized notion. Today, many successful organizations, great leaders are creating environments in which people naturally work together to do remarkable things In his travels around the world since the publication of his bestseller Start with Why, Simon Sinek noticed that some teams were able to trust each other so deeply that they would literally put their lives on the line for each other. Other teams, no matter what incentives were offered, were doomed to infighting fragmentation and failure. Why? The answer became clear during a conversation with a Marine Corps general. Officers eat last he said. Sinek watched as the most junior Marines ate first while the most senior Marines took their place at the back of the line. What's symbolic in the chow hall is deadly serious on the battlefield: great leaders sacrifice their own comfort even their own survival for the good of those in their care. This principle has been true since the earliest tribes of hunters and gatherers. It's not a management theory; it's biology. Our brains and bodies evolved to help us find food, shelter, mates and especially safety. We've always lived in a dangerous world facing predators and enemies at every turn. We thrived only when we felt safe among our group. Our biology hasn't changed in fifty thousand years, but our environment certainly has. Today workplaces tend to be full of cynicism, paranoia and self-interest. But the best organizations foster trust and cooperation because their leaders build that separates the security inside the team from the challenges outside. The Circle of Safety leads to stable, adaptive confident teams, where everyone feels they belong and all energies are devoted to facing the common enemy and seizing big opportunities. As he did in Start with Why, Sinek illustrates his ideas with fascinating true stories from a wide range of examples, from the military to manufacturing from government to investment banking. The biology is clear: when it matters most, leaders who are willing to eat last are rewarded with deeply loyal colleagues who will stop at nothing to advance their leader's vision and their organization's interests. It's amazing how well it works.
Call Number: HD57.7 .S5487 2014
The Open Organization: igniting passion and performance TODAY’S LEADERS KNOW THAT SPEED and agility are the keys to any company’s success, and yet many are frustrated that their organizations can’t move fast enough to stay competitive. The typical chain of command is too slow; internal resources are too limited; people are already executing beyond normal expectations. As the pace accelerates, how do you inspire people’s energy and creativity? How do you collaborate with customers, vendors, and partners to keep your organization on the cutting edge? What kind of organization matches the speed and complexity that businesses must master--and how do you build that organization? Jim Whitehurst, CEO of Red Hat, one of the world’s most revolutionary companies, shows how open principles of management--based on transparency, participation, and community--reinvent the organization for the fast-paced connected era. Whitehurst gives readers an insider’s look into how an open and innovative organizational model works. He shows how to leverage it to build community, respond quickly to opportunities, harness resources and talent both inside and outside theorganization, and inspire, motivate, and empower people at all levels to act with accountability. The Open Organization is a must-read for leaders struggling to adapt their management practices to the values of the digital and social age. Brimming with Whitehurst’s personal stories and candid advice for leading an open organization, as well as with instructive examples from employees and managers at Red Hat and companies such as Google, The Body Shop, and Whole Foods, this book provides the blueprint for reinventing your organization.
Call Number: HD58.9 .W526 2015
Front-Line Leadership: building a high-performance organization from the ground up Real leadership that leads to high engagement, higher performance, and a culture of accountability As president and CEO of Scripps Health, one of America's most prestigious health systems, Chris Van Gorder presided over a dramatic turnaround, catapulting Scripps from near bankruptcy to a dominant market position. While hospitals and health systems nationwide have laid people off or are closing their doors, Scripps is financially healthy, has added thousands of employees (even with a no-layoff philosophy), and has developed a reputation as a top employer. What are the secrets to this remarkable story? In The Front-Line Leader, Chris Van Gorder candidly shares his own incredible story, from police officer to CEO, and the leadership philosophy that drives all of his decisions and actions: people come first. Van Gorder began his unlikely career as a California police officer, which deeply instilled in him a sense of social responsibility, honesty, and public service. After being injured on the job and taking an early retirement, Van Gorder had to reinvent himself, taking a job as a hospital security director, a job that would change his life. Through hard work and determination, he rose to executive ranks, eventually becoming CEO of Scripps. But he never forgot his own roots and powerful work ethic, or the time when he was a security officer and a CEO would not make eye contact with him. Van Gorder leads from the front lines, making it a priority to know his employees and customers at every level. His values learned on the force?protecting the community, educating citizens, developing caring relationships, and ultimately doing the right thing?shape his approach to business. As much as companies talk about accountability, managers seldom understand what practical steps to take to achieve an ethic of service that makes accountability meaningful. The Front-Line Leader outlines specific tactics and steps anyone can use starting today to take responsibility, inspire others, and achieve breakout results for their organizations. Van Gorder reveals how a no-layoff philosophy led to higher accountability, how his own attention to seemingly minor details spurred larger change, and how his own high standards for himself and his team improved morale and productivity. From general strategy to the tiny, everyday steps leaders can take to create the kind of culture and accountability that translates into major competitive advantage, The Front-Line Leader charts a path to better leadership and a more engaged, higher-performing organization.
Call Number: HD57.7 .V3597 2015
The Patient's Playbook: how to save your life and the lives of those you love Too many Americans die each year as a result of preventable medical error--mistakes, complications, and misdiagnoses. And many more of us are not receiving the best care possible, even though it's readily available and we're entitled to it. The key is knowing how to access it. The Patient's Playbook is a call to action. It will change the way you manage your health and the health of your family, and it will show you how to choose the right doctor, coordinate the best care, and get to the No-Mistake Zone in medical decision making. Leslie D. Michelson has devoted his life's work to helping people achieve superior medical outcomes at every stage of their lives. Michelson presents real-life stories that impart lessons and illuminate his easy-to-follow strategies for navigating complex situations and cases. The Patient's Playbook is an essential guide to the most effective techniques for getting the best from a broken system: sourcing excellent physicians, selecting the right treatment protocols, researching with precision, and structuring the ideal support team. Along the way you will learn: Why having the right primary care physician will change your life Three things you can do right now to be better prepared when illness strikes The ten must-ask questions at the end of a hospital stay How to protect yourself from unnecessary and dangerous treatments Ways to avoid the four most common mistakes in the first twenty-four hours of a medical emergency This book will enable you to become a smarter health care consumer--and to replace anxiety with confidence.
Call Number: R727.45 .M53 2015
Mindfulness In the years since it was first published, this influential book based on the highly innovative findings of social psychologist Dr. Ellen J. Langer and her team of researchers at Harvard made its mark for its unique concept of mindfulness, thoroughly adapted to contemporary life in the West. Langer’s theory has been applied to a wide number of fields, including health, business, aging, prejudice, and learning. There is now a new psychological assessment based on her work (called the Langer Mindfulness Scale) as well as an institute in Mexico founded to apply the concepts of mindfulness to health and wellness. In her introduction to this 25th anniversary edition, Dr. Langer outlines some of these exciting applications and suggests those still to come.
Call Number: BF321 .L23 2014
The Transformation of Academic Health Centers: meeting the challenges of healthcare's changing landscape The Transformation of Academic Health Centers: The Institutional Challenge to Improve Health and Well-Being in Healthcare's Changing Landscape presents the direct knowledge and vision of accomplished academic leaders whose unique positions as managers of some of the most complex academic and business enterprises make them expert contributors. Users will find invaluable insights and leadership perspectives on healthcare, health professions education, and bio-medical and clinical research that systematically explores the evolving role of global academic health centers with an eye focused on the transformation necessary to be successful in challenging environments. The book is divided into five sections moving from the broad perspective of the role of academic health centers to the role of education, training, and disruptive technologies. It then addresses the discovery processes, improving funding models, and research efficiency. Subsequent sections address the coming changes in healthcare delivery and future perspectives, providing a complete picture of the needs of the growing and influential healthcare sector. Outlines strategies for academic health centers to successfully adapt to the global changes in healthcare and delivery Offers forward-thinking and compelling professional and personal assessments of the evolving role of academic health centers by recognized outstanding academic healthcare leaders Includes case studies and personal reflections, providing lessons learned and new recommendations to challenge leaders Provides discussions on the discovery process, improving funding models, and research efficiency
Think Big, Start Small, Move Fast: a blueprint for transformation from the Mayo Clinic Center For Innovation The Only Innovation Guide You Will Ever Need--from the Award-Winning Minds at Mayo Clinic A lot of businesspeople talk about innovation, but few companies have achieved the level of truly transformative innovation as brilliantly--or as famously--as the legendary Mayo Clinic. Introducing Think Big, Start Small, Move Fast, the first innovation guide based on the proven, decade-long program that's made Mayo Clinic one of the most respected and successful organizations in the world. Thisessential must-have guide shows you how to: Inspire and ignite trailblazing innovation inyour workplace Design a new business model that's creative,collaborative, and sustainable Apply the traditional scientific method to the latest innovations in "design thinking" Build a customized toolkit of the best practices, project portfolios, and strategies Increase your innovation capacity--and watch how quickly you succeed These field-tested techniques grew out of the health care industry but are designed to work with any complex organization. Written by three Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation insiders--Dr. Nicholas LaRusso, BarbaraSpurrier, and Dr. Gianrico Farrugia--the book offers a wealth of transformative ideas and strategies. The concise, easy-to-implement methods can help jump-start your employees' creative potential, involve them in the collaborative process, and pave the way to the future of sustainable innovation. You get step-by-step advice on building leadership teams, accelerator platforms for speeding up results, and fascinating case studies of innovation in action from the files of the Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation. In today's fast-moving world, it's innovation that drives success. This book gives you the keys. ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THINK BIG, START SMALL, MOVE FAST: "Truly great organizations do not just achieve great results; they are also relentless in the pursuit of continual improvement. This book offers both methods and motivation to leaders in any industry who understand that the pursuit of excellence is never-ending." -- Donald Berwick, M.D., MPP, President Emeritus and Senior Fellow,Institute for Healthcare Improvement "Do you want your organization to deliver a shockingly better customer experience? Here is Mayo's method that transformed the patient experience by making innovation systemic, the human side of innovation." -- Scott Cook, Cofounder and Chairman of the Executive Committee, Intuit "A powerful set of actionable, yet importantly nonprescriptive, principles for transformative change that will inspire and challenge all of us to reenvision a system that delivers health, not just care, for all our patients." -- Rebecca Onie, Cofounder and CEO, Health Leads "This book should serve both as a how-to guide for medical professionals and an inspiration for other innovators all over the country." -- T. R. Reid, reporter and author of The Healing of America "Powerful insight on how to deliver meaningful innovations time and again." -- Frans van Houten, CEO, Royal Philips "Leaders who seek to accelerate new innovation competencies can benefit from this hands-on guide." -- Sarah Miller Caldicott, great grandniece of Thomas Edison,and CEO, Power Patterns of Innovation "Read this book. . . . Copy its practices. It will save you years of misery and missteps as you build your own innovation revolution." -- Larry Keeley, Cofounder, Doblin Inc., and Director, Deloitte Consulting LLP
Call Number: RA981.M6|bL37 2015x
What's New in Current Awareness?
New Videos & Audiobooks
Counterclockwise (audio CD) by If we could turn back the clock psychologically, could we also turn it back physically? For more than thirty years, award-winning social psychologist Ellen Langer has studied this provocative question, and now, in "Counterclockwise," she presents a conclusive answer: Opening our minds to what s possible, instead of presuming impossibility, can lead to better health at any age. Drawing on landmark work in the field and her own body of highly original experiments including her counterclockwise study, in which elderly men lived for a week as though it was 1959 and showed dramatic improvements in their hearing, memory, dexterity, appetite, and general well-being Langer shows that the magic of rejuvenation and ongoing good health lies in being aware of the ways we mindlessly react to social and cultural cues. Examining the intricate but often defeatist ways we define our physical health, Langer challenges the idea that the limits we assume and impose on ourselves are real. With only subtle shifts in our thinking, in our language, and in our expectations, she tells us, we can begin to change the ingrained behaviors that sap health, optimism, and vitality from our lives. Improved vision, weight loss, and increased longevity are just three of the results that Langer has demonstrated. Provocative and riveting, "Counterclockwise" offers a transformative and bold new paradigm: the psychology of possibility. A hopeful and groundbreaking work by an author who has changed how people all over the world think and feel, "Counterclockwise" is sure to join "Mindfulness" as a standard source on new-century science and healing. "
Call Number: HM1033 .L36 2009b
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2014, 2013, 2012