Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Health Behavior: theory, research, and practice The essential health behavior text, updated with the latest theories, research, and issues Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides a thorough introduction to understanding and changing health behavior, core tenets of the public health role. Covering theory, applications, and research, this comprehensive book has become the gold standard of health behavior texts. This new fifth edition has been updated to reflect the most recent changes in the public health field with a focus on health behavior, including coverage of the intersection of health and community, culture, and communication, with detailed explanations of both established and emerging theories. Offering perspective applicable at the individual, interpersonal, group, and community levels, this essential guide provides the most complete coverage of the field to give public health students and practitioners an authoritative reference for both the theoretical and practical aspects of health behavior. A deep understanding of human behaviors is essential for effective public health and health care management. This guide provides the most complete, up-to-date information in the field, to give you a real-world understanding and the background knowledge to apply it successfully. Learn how e-health and social media factor into health communication Explore the link between culture and health, and the importance of community Get up to date on emerging theories of health behavior and their applications Examine the push toward evidence-based interventions, and global applications Written and edited by the leading health and social behavior theorists and researchers, Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides the information and real-world perspective that builds a solid understanding of how to analyze and improve health behaviors and health.
Call Number: RA776.9 .H434 2015
BMTCN Certification Review Manual The BMTCN Certification Review Manual is an essential resource for RNs preparing to take the blood and marrow transplant certified nurse (BMTCN) examination. As the only nationally accredited test of its kind, the BMTCN certification identifies nurses as being adept in the specialty of blood and marrow transplantation. This study manual is an essential learning resource for your certification preparation.
Call Number: RD123.5 .B68 2016
Nurse Educator's Guide to Best Teaching Practice: a case-based approach This book presents essential teaching skills and tools for nurse educators. It begins with a discussion of the trends in nursing education and the principles of teaching and learning. The book then explores topics such as classroom teaching, clinical experiences, teaching in the simulation laboratory, and online learning. Each chapter discusses the basics of teaching and learning in the specific environment, followed by scenarios that focus on the issues encountered by nursing faculty in these settings. The scenarios present the key issues under consideration, recommend actions that faculty members can institute to address the issues, and describe rationales and solutions based on best evidence. The book also includes specific tools designed to assist nurse educators in preparation for the teaching role, such as examples of course syllabi, program outcomes, clinical contracts, and action plans. Nurse Educator's Guide to Best Teaching Practice is a valuable resource for novice and experienced educators in managing the challenges inherent in nursing education.
Call Number: RT71 .H37 2016x
Psychiatric Interviewing: the art of understanding, a practical guide Print purchase includes enhanced Expert Consult eBook with over 7.5 hours of streaming video; quickly search text, figures, references, and videos on laptops, tablets, and smart phones. With time at a premium, today''s clinicians must rapidly engage their patients while gathering an imposingly large amount of critical information. These clinicians appropriately worry that the "person" beneath the diagnoses will be lost in the shuffle of time constraints, data gathering, and the creation of the electronic health record. Psychiatric Interviewing: The Art of Understanding: A Practical Guide for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, Counselors, Social Workers, Nurses, and other Mental Health Professionals, 3rd Edition tackles these problems head-on, providing flexible and practical solutions for gathering critical information while always attending to the concerns and unique needs of the patient. Over five years in the making, this classic introduction to the art of clinical interviewing returns, updated, expanded and innovatively designed for today''s reader with over 7.5 hours of streaming video integrated directly into the text itself. Readers now also become viewers, acquiring the rare opportunity to see the author both illustrating specific interviewing techniques and subsequently discussing effective ways in which to employ them. The founder and Director of the acclaimed Cape Cod Symposium, Rob Guerette, describes Dr. Shea''s skills as a speaker as follows, "Dr. Shea is an extremely gifted teacher, whose vibrant story-telling skills and compelling videos have led to him garnering some of the highest evaluations in the 30 year history of the Cape Cod Symposium. In short, readers are in for a rare treat when viewing the book''s video component." Within the text, Dr. Shea deftly integrates interviewing techniques from a variety of professional disciplines from psychiatry to clinical psychology, social work, and counseling providing a broad scope of theoretical foundation. Written in the same refreshing, informal writing style that made the first two editions best sellers, the text provides a compelling introduction to all of the core interviewing skills from conveying empathy, effectively utilizing open-ended questions, and forging a powerful therapeutic alliance to sensitively structuring the interview while understanding nonverbal communication at a sophisticated level. Updated to the DSM-5, the text also illustrates how to arrive at a differential diagnosis in a humanistic, caring fashion with the patient treated as a person, not just another case. Whether the reader is a psychiatric resident or a graduate student in clinical psychology, social work, counseling or psychiatric nursing, the updated third edition is designed to prepare the trainee to function effectively in the hectic worlds of community mental health centers, inpatient units, emergency rooms, and university counseling centers. To do so, the pages are filled with sample questions and examples of interviewing dialogue that bring to life methods for sensitively exploring difficult topics such as domestic violence, drug abuse, incest, antisocial behavior, and taking a sexual history as well as performing complex processes such as the mental status. The expanded chapter on suicide assessment includes an introduction to the internationally acclaimed interviewing strategy for uncovering suicidal ideation, the Chronological Assessment of Suicide Events (CASE Approach). Dr. Shea, the creator of the CASE Approach, then illustrates its techniques in a compelling video demonstrating its effective use in an interview involving a complex presentation of suicidal planning and intent. A key aspect of this text is its unique appeal to both novice and experienced clinicians. It is designed to grow with the reader as they progress through their graduate training, while providing a reference that the reader will pull off the shelf many times in their subsequent career as a mental health professional. Perhaps the most unique aspect in this regard is the addition of five complete chapters on Advanced and Specialized Interviewing (which comprise Part IV of the book) which appear as bonus chapters in the accompanying e-book without any additional cost to the reader. With over 310 pages, this web-based bonus section provides the reader with essentially two books for the price of one, acquiring not only the expanded core textbook but a set of independent monographs on specialized skill sets that the reader and/or faculty can add to their curriculum as they deem fit. New and Expanded Content: Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices Bonus chapter on advanced aspects of cross-cultural interviewing, including approaches for recognizing clinician biases and exploring the client''s spirituality and framework for meaning Bonus chapter on motivational interviewing Bonus chapter on transforming patient anger and moments of potential disengagement Bonus chapter for prescribing clinicians -- such as psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse clinicians -- on how to collaboratively talk with patients about their medications Includes over 7.5 hours of video illustration and instruction Brings to life the pain and phenomenology of people coping with severe mental illnesses, such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and major depressive disorder An entire chapter on engaging patients with difficult personality disorders, such as borderline personality disorder and narcissistic personality disorder A new and unique chapter covering often overlooked areas, such as positive psychology and methods for uncovering client wellness and strengths Extensive chapter on nonverbal communication, including the complex challenges related to interviewing on the web by text and/or tele-psychiatry A comprehensive introduction to facilics (an innovative supervision system for helping clinicians learn how to transform interviews into naturalistically flowing conversations), including an interactive web-based self-learning module on facilic supervision schematics for both faculty and students Practical tips for creating a good EHR/write-up, in addition to sample clinical forms for EHR/written documentation A specialized appendix for faculty, which includes four complete articles from the Psychiatric Clinics of North America that address educational topics including: effectively designing interviewing training courses and macrotraining suicide assessment skills
Call Number: RC480.7 .S54 2017
Nursing Research: an introduction This book answers all your students' questions on the nursing research process. Restructured to follow their progress from being a novice nurse researcher to an experienced one, it gives them the knowledge to understand evidence-based practice and critical appraisal and to succeed in their own projects. Key features of the book are: Updated practical coverage of key methods such as conducting a survey and a section on the Research Excellence Framework International research examples in action Reflective exercises A companion website including access to journal articles and flashcards. It is essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers.
Call Number: RT81.5 .M68 2017
Precision Medicine: a guide to genomics in clinical practice A complete how-to guide for incorporating genomics into all applicable areas of clinical medicine Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice is a comprehensive, yet succinct overview of the practice of genomic medicine. It is written for general healthcare practitioners, specialists, and trainees with the goal of providing detailed guidance on how to incorporate genomic medicine into daily practice. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book intentionally avoids excessive technical content and consistently emphasizes real-life patient care and decision support. Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice follows the course of a human life, beginning before conception through pregnancy, childhood, and adulthood, discussing the current and future applications of genomics and precision medicine at each stage. This organization allows healthcare providers to easily find the information relevant to their practice. Throughout, the authors highlight common pitfalls - technical and ethical - that might complicate the delivery of quality genomic healthcare. The book is enhanced by eleven valuable appendices that cover important topics ranging from the basics of genetics to ethical issues to regulation and reimbursement. If you are searching for a clinically relevant, non-technical resource that will teach you how genomic medicine can and should be practiced in your specific field of interest, Precision Medicine: A Guide to Genomics in Clinical Practice belongs on your desk.
Call Number: RB155 .M33 2017x
Lippincott Fast Facts for Nclex-RN Lippincott Fast Facts for NCLEX-RN, 2nd edition is designed as a quick and easy review for nursing students to use when preparing for the licensing examination. With thousands of facts, the book covers all aspects of nursing care. Each up-to-date fact has been thoroughly reviewed by experts in NCLEX preparation for validity and to ensure the content areas most likely to be covered on the test are represented. Each fact has been worded concisely for easy recall and recollection while taking the actual exam. A small open box precedes each fact, which the student can use to "check off" those facts that he or she has mastered. The content is divided into seven broad parts: management of care, client safety, adult care (medical-surgical and gerontology), maternal-neonatal care, pediatric care, psychiatric care, and pharmacology. Each major section ends with a group of NCLEX-style questions labeled as "Misconceptions" in PassPoint RN and tied to topics covered in the section for review and practice. Additionally, bullets associated with Misconceptions in the PassPoint RN database will be called out with a bull's-eye icon for special emphasis. Appendices cover information about the NCLEX, test-taking strategies, and an Answer Key with rationales for the questions covered in the text. The product also comes with an access code to a Point site with online resources and trial access to PassPoint RN.
Call Number: RT55 .L56 2017
Ethics under the Knife: patient care and disservice in the medical industry This book is written for the general public and the medical personnel who are not aware of the unprofessionalism involved in the operating room. My mission is for this book to be a mandatory read as part of the curriculum for every medical professional program in the world. I want medical professionals to understand how to act in front of patients, how to maintain professionalism in line with the Hippocratic Oath, and more importantly, how to have the courage to speak up for the defenseless patient without being intimated by hospital hierarchy.
Call Number: R724 .K64 2016x
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education, Fifth Edition by Considered the "gold standard" for evaluation and testing in nursing education, this fifth edition of the classic text helps educators to assess the level of learning achieved in the classroom, in clinical settings, and online with expanded coverage of essential concepts in assessment, evaluation, and testing in a wider variety of learning environments. It presents new content on evaluation in online programs and testing and features a new chapter on using simulation for assessment and high-stakes evaluations. Also included is updated information on clinical evaluation and program evaluation along with current research featuring new examples and tools. The fifth edition expands content on standardized tests, including how to write test items for licensure and certification exam prep, and provides new information on developing rubrics for assessing written assignments. The fifth edition is distinguished from other texts by its focus on developing a framework that integrates all types of evaluation in a nursing program. It addresses how to develop a test blueprint and assemble, administer, write, and analyze tests. It provides rubrics for scoring tests and written assignments along with examples. Its guidelines for preventing cheating and conducting productive post-test discussions are especially helpful to educators. Additionally, the book explores important social, ethical, and legal issues associated with testing and evaluation. It meets National League for Nursing's Certification Competency #3: Use Assessment and Evaluation Strategies. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Expanded coverage of essential concepts in assessment, evaluation, and testing in classroom and clinical educationA new chapter on using simulation for assessment and high-stakes evaluationNew information on evaluation in online courses, programs, and testingExpanded content on clinical evaluation and program evaluationCurrent research and new examples and toolsHow to write test items that prepare students for licensure and certification examsExpanded coverage on developing rubrics for assessing written assignments KEY FEATURES: Describes how to develop a test blueprint and assemble, administer, write, and analyze testsProvides sample grading rubricsDemonstrates strategies for evaluating higher levels of learningExplains how to evaluate written assignments with sample scoring rubricsIncludes an Instructor Manual with sample syllabus, PowerPoint slides, and an online course with 17 modules, each with student learning activities, discussion questions, and online resources
Call Number: RT73.7 .O47 2017
The Last Mile of the Way: multiculturalism and diversity nursing end of life care It's a fact that hospice and palliative care are consistently underused by people of color. Many reasons account for this discrepancy, including lack of access, socioeconomic factors, and cultural influences. Transcultural nursing addresses these cultural aspects of nursing, offering compassionate, effective, and culturally relevant care to patients. This is especially important in end-of-life care. In The Last Mile of the Way, author Theresita (Tacy) Silverberg-Urian, RN, BSN, CHPN, presents ten interviews with multicultural nurses who care for the terminally ill. Through these nurses' stories, the impact that providers of color have in hospice settings becomes obvious, as does the role sensitivity plays in regard to each patient's ethnic and cultural background. Silverberg-Urian and her colleagues represent a mixture of first, second, and third generation Americans from multiple different countries and religions. But all share a sense of mission: to provide maximum comfort to patients in their care. All possess a "hospice heart." While most works on transcultural nursing focus solely on the patient-the most important person in the equation-The Last Mile of the Way goes one step further, examining the influence ethnicity, religion, values, beliefs, and cultural competency has on both patient and caregiver. Silverberg-Urian defines her own "good culturally competent death" where talking about death and dying with her family and providers is the norm. She provides helpful internet resources and various transcultural nursing books to reference.
Call Number: RT73.7 .O47 2017
Lippincott NCLEX-RN Alternate Format Questions Lippincott NCLEX-RN Alternate-Format Questions, 6th edition is designed to help anyone preparing to take the RN licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. This expanded 6th edition has everything needed for students to be fully prepared to answer every type of question found on the NCLEX. More than 600 questions include multiple-response, drag-and-drop, hotspot, audio, chart, graphic option, and fill-in-the blank questions. Also included are two comprehensive tests with 100 questions each. Rationales are clear and detailed and cover correct as well as incorrect answers. Test-taking strategies help students dissect each question to its core components and provide keys to choosing the right answer. The book reviews all the topics covered on the actual NCLEX-RN. Hundreds of questions at the application level or above prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. Questions are aligned with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2016 RN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. An accompanying PassPoint trial site provides an additional opportunity for students to practice for NCLEX while also giving a glimpse of the full PassPoint experience.
Call Number: RT55 .N435 2017
Davis's Basic Math Review for Nursiung and Health Professions with step-by-step solutions Overcome your anxieties and build your confidence! Master the skills you need to calculate dosages accurately and to ensure patient safety in all areas of clinical practice...step by step, problem by problem! You'll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiency and testing it along the way. It's perfect for course review now and a quick refresher whenever you need it. See what students are saying about the previous edition... THE MOST USEFUL BOOK FOR HESI MATH "HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. I SCORED 94% IN THE HESI MATH AFTER USING THIS BOOK. PREVIOUSLY FAILED AFTER USING OTHER BOOKS. I ADVISE ANYONE PREPARING FOR HESI TO NOT WASTE TIME LOOKING FOR OTHER BOOKS WHEN PREPARING FOR MATH."--L. Roche My Savior! Buy This Book! "...after taking the HESI exam twice and scoring poorly on the math section, I was about ready to give up on my lifelong goal and pursue something else. I bought Davis's Basic Math Review for Nurses, spent between one and three hours a day, four days a week for about a month working through it. The very next time I sat for the exam my math scores improved tremendously. I just learned that I was accepted into my top pick nursing program. Thanks!"--J. Cole absolutely what I needed! "I bought this two weeks before my [ATI] TEAS [Test of Essential Academic Skills] test. The instructions and examples are great and easy to follow. There are a lot of practice pages with tests at the end of each chapter to test your knowledge. I took the TEAS test and completely tested out of math! This coming from someone who didn't even remember how to do fractions! Everyone studying for their TEAS should buy this book!!"--Amanda G.
Call Number: RT68 .R35 2017
NCLEX-RN Content Review Guide: preparation for the NCLEX-RN Examination Complete. Covers must-know nursing content required to pass the NCLEX-RN.
Expert Strategies. Master critical reasoning with Kaplan's acclaimed Decision Tree.
Learner-efficient. Organized in outline format with information presented in easy-access tables.
Trusted. Used by thousands of students each year to succeed on the NCLEX-RN the first time.
Call Number: RT55 .N25 2016x
Telehealth Nursing: tools and strategies for optimal patient care Including all the information necessary for safe, competent practice, this hands-on resource walks nurses through telehealth guidelines and procedures to optimize patient communication, perform assessments, and provide effective care of chronic conditions. Replete with case studies and sample dialogue to mimic real-life telehealth situations, introductory chapters cover patient and nurse perspectives on both sides of the telephone. Other sections cover individual body systems, breaking them down into individual common diseases and disorders that might intersect with telehealth nursing. The text instructs nurses on how to actively listen to the patient "between the lines" in the absence of an in-person examination and discern the right questions to ask and tone to adopt. Chapters provide enhanced communication techniques for performing comprehensive health assessments using only the sense of hearing and resources available through the telephone. Clinical Pearls are scattered throughout the text from those who have been "in the trenches" and cared for a wide variety of patients using the telehealth nursing techniques illustrated in this book. Key Features: Helps nurses understand the keys to successful telehealth nursingTeaches enhanced, specialized communication techniques including "active listening"Guides nurses in assessing patients using only the sense of hearing/active listeningIncludes case studies, algorithms, patient teaching resources, and moreReviews body systems and disease processes with application exercises
Call Number: R855.3 .M37 2017x
Dnp Role Development for Doctoral Advanced Nursing Practice, First edition won an AJN Book-of-the-Year Award and a Doody s 5-Star review This core text for the DNP curriculum explores the historical and evolving advanced practice doctoral role as envisioned by leading DNP scholars and educators. Its distinctive point counterpoint format consisting of commentaries that dispute or support the opinions of chapter authors provides a foundation of varying opinions that stimulate vigorous critical dialogue. The second edition examines the latest developments in doctoral-level roles along with the specific skills that advance these roles. Seven completely new chapters examine the meaning of nursing roles that reflect how they are evolving in a variety of environments. In addition to exploring in-depth the basic roles of the DNP graduate, this new edition strengthens the primary DNP role that of a clinical scholar. Highlighting the diverse range of views on the DNP mission, the book reflects on DNP competencies and focuses heavily on the variety of skills that are required to operationalize these competencies, including leadership, negotiation skills, leveraging technology to support practice, and others. New critical thinking exercises are included that are designed to expand the boundaries of ordinary classroom discourse. New to the Second Edition: New chapters include: A Report on a National Study of Doctoral Nursing FacultyWhen the DNP Chair Is a DNP GraduateA Critique of the 2006 Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing PracticeNew or enhanced reflective responses from leading scholarsNew or revised critical thinking exercises to foster vibrant discourse Key Features: Emphasizes DNP role development with extensive contributions by leading DNP scholarsTranslates American Association of Colleges of Nursing core competency skills into real-life applications of the DNP practice roleProvides a point counterpoint format to stimulate vigorous class discussion and analysisIncludes case examples, critical thinking questions, and discussion questions"
Call Number: RT75 .R464 2017
Lippincott Photo Atlas of Medication Administration Lippincott,,s Photo Atlas of Medication Administration uses the nursing process format to provide step-by-step nursing skills (with rationales). In addition to being completely illustrated, the Photo Atlas also contains documentation guidelines and samples, and Unexpected Situations, which explain how to respond to unanticipated outcomes. Topics include removing medication from an ampule, removing medication from a vial, mixing medications from two vials in one syringe, administering an intradermal injection, and more.
Call Number: RM147 .E936 2015
Nursing Care Plans: diagnoses, interventions & outcomes Learn to think like a nurse with the bestselling nursing care planning book on the market! Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems seen in adults, Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 9th Edition contains 217 care plans, each reflecting the latest best practice guidelines. This new edition specifically features three new care plans, two expanded care plans, updated content and language reflecting the most current clinical practice and professional standards, enhanced QSEN integration, a new emphasis on interprofessional collaborative practice, an improved page design, and more. It''s everything you need to create and customize effective nursing care plans! 217 total care plans provide more care plans than any other book. Prioritized care planning guidance internally organizes care plans from "actual" to "risk" diagnoses, from general to specific interventions, and from independent to collaborative/interprofessional interventions, to help you select the most important, priority interventions for your particular patients. Introductory chapter explains the components of nursing care plans, NANDA-I nursing diagnoses, the NIC and NOC systems, and how to create nursing care plans. Latest NANDA-I taxonomy is integrated throughout to incorporate the very latest NANDA-I nursing diagnoses, related factors, and defining characteristics. Latest NIC and NOC labels ensure you are made aware of appropriate interventions and outcomes. 70 nursing diagnosis care plans include the most common/important NANDA-I nursing diagnoses, providing the building blocks for you to create your own individualized care plans. 150 disorders care plans cover virtually every common medical-surgical condition, organized by body system. Health promotion and risk factor management care plans emphasize the importance of preventive care and teaching for self-management. Basic nursing concepts care plans focuses on concepts that apply to disorders found in multiple body systems. Nursing diagnosis care plan format includes a definition/explanation of the diagnosis, related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, related NOC Outcomes and NIC Interventions, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions. Disorders care plan format covers synonyms for the disorder (for ease in cross referencing), a definition, common related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, NOC Outcomes and NIC Interventions, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions for each relevant nursing diagnosis. Independent and collaborative/interprofessional interventions are highlighted by special icons that differentiate between independent and collaborative/interprofessional interventions. 30 online care plans are hosted on the Evolve companion site in a user-friendly PDF format that allows you to cut-and-paste care plan contents to create customized care plans. NEW! Three all-new care plans include Readiness for Enhanced Decision-Making, Frail Elderly Syndrome, and Gender Dysphoria. NEW! Enhanced QSEN integration includes expanded coverage of the QSEN initiative in the opening chapter, incorporation of QSEN language across care plan rationales, and a greater overall emphasis on the four key QSEN competencies: Patient- Centered Care, Teamwork and Collaboration, Evidence-Based Practice, and Safety. NEW! Greater focus on interprofessional collaborative practice addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and the Teamwork and Collaboration QSEN competency. NEW! Expanded rationales now include physiological and pharmacologic effects and actions, the most current nursing interventions and medical treatments, lab values, evidence-based practice, QSEN competencies, and reference to national standards (TJC, CDC, AHA, ONS), nursing standards, and other professional standards. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based assessments and interventions. NEW! Detailed table of contents lists every nursing diagnosis addressed in Chapters 4 through 14 for easier navigation. NEW! Improved design offers a more contemporary look that''s easy to use. NEW! Collaborative care map creator on the Evolve companion website helps you connect your Yoost & Crawford Fundamentals content with your care planning projects and clinical assignments. NEW! Reorganized chapters and care plans include logical combinations and divisions of topics making it easier to navigate throughout the reference.
Call Number: RT49 .N87 2017
Certification and Core Review for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing Get ready for your neonatal intensive care nursing certification exam with the only review developed in collaboration with three leading nursing organizations! From AACN, AWHONN, and NANN, Certification and Core Review for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing, 5th Edition prepares you for your examination with hundreds of high-quality study questions and realistic test simulation. Based on the latest test plans of the AACN's CCRN#65533;-Neonatal exam and the NCC's Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing (RNC-NIC) exam, review questions cover the changes to the Core Curriculum and reflect the latest evidence, essential knowledge, and best practices. New to this edition are three new chapters and 225 completely new review questions. This powerful study tool offers unparalleled preparation for your certification exam! Endorsed by the three most authoritative associations in neonatal intensive care nursing: the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN); the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric, and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN); and the National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN). Realistic exam practice is offered through 675 total questions that mirror the certification exam content, the multiple-choice question format, and the distribution of content. Answers are provided for each question, accompanied by rationales and references, to enhance your understanding of the material. Online flexibility allows you to organize review questions and test format by your preferred examination, either the AACN or NCC. Online exam simulation - included free with each new copy of the book - mirrors the test-taking experience with an interactive, timed format. Customized study lets you choose whether to work through online questions in Study Mode or Examination Mode. Online remediation includes rationales for both correct and incorrect answers, and in-book remediation provides rationales for correct answers. A compact, portable size makes the book easier to study anytime, anywhere. 225 NEW review questions include 75 in the book and 150 additional online questions on the Evolve companion website. Thoroughly UPDATED review content reflects AACN's latest CCRN#65533;-Neonatal exam and the NCC's latest Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing (RNC-NIC) exam, information in Core Curriculum for Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing, 5th Edition, and the newest evidence-based guidelines for neonatal critical care. NEW! Three new chapters include Grieving Process, Quality Improvement, and Facilitation of Learning. NEW focus on culturally sensitive care is included in an expanded Family Integration and Culturally Sensitive Care chapter. UPDATED rationales in the Answer Key are referenced to the most recent literature and evidence-based guidelines. Compatibility with IPads, iPhones, and other mobile devices allows online exam practice that is easy and convenient.
Call Number: RJ253.5 .C47 2017
Management/Employee Development Books
Networking: 42 Keys to Career Growth- Communication Skills, Building Relationships, Influence Cliche But True: It's Not What You Know, It's Who You Know Are you ready to tap into unlimited potential of connecting with others and influencing those around you? When you read NETWORKING: 42 Keys to Career Growth- Communication Skills, Building Relationships, Influence Networking, your "likability" and quality of life will improve every day! You will discover the first and most important steps to begin a lifelong skill of networking, building relationships and the ability to influenceThese essential keys transform the idea of networking from being complex and cumbersome to creating habits. You'll be happy you bought this a year from now as you will learn dynamics from building and maintaining networks, becoming a great conversationalist and making a good impression.Just some of the questions and topics covered include: How to Become a Great Conversationalist How to Make a Good Impression What is "Netiquette" and How to Use It Continuing to Learn and Improve The Most Important Key to Networking This book breaks down starting a network that is solid and genuine. It starts from the very beginning of making the right impression so you can get whatever you want out of life!
Call Number: HF5381 .L65 2015x
The Invisible Librarian: a librarian's guide to increasing visibility and impact The Invisible Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Increasing Visibility and Impact provides insights into what many librarians are feeling, including questions such as "do they feel invisible?" and "How many times have they heard somebody say 'but everything is on the Internet'?" If you are a librarian struggling to find the best strategy for the future of the profession in a rapidly changing information environment, this book is for you. People don't realize that librarians make information available and not just by search engine. This book will make people think differently about librarians, making a case for their value and impact that is compelling, convincing, and credible. Given their versatility and knowledge, now is the time for librarians to become champions of the information age as they improve the visibility and impact of libraries to readers, to stakeholders, and in society. By the end of the book, librarians will have a Visibility Improvement Plan to guarantee future success. Provides strategies that librarians can use to raise their visibility Presents how successful librarians have made a positive impact Covers new techniques that measure current visibility amongst readers and key stakeholders Includes key guidance on how to implement a 10-step Visibility Improvement Plan
Call Number: Z716.3 .L39 2016x
Liminal Thinking: create the change you want by changing the way you think Why do some people succeed at change while others fail? It's the way they think! Liminal thinking is a way to create change by understanding, shaping, and reframing beliefs. What beliefs are stopping you right now? You have a choice. You can create the world you want to live in, or live in a world created by others. If you are ready to start making changes, read this book.
Call Number: BF637.S4 G738 2016x
Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals: improving patient safety, patient flow and the bottom line Simple Steps to Improve Patient Safety, Patient Flow and the Bottom Line This thoroughly revised resource shows, step-by-step, how to simplify, streamline, analyze, and optimize healthcare performance using tested Lean Six Sigma and change management techniques. Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals, Second Edition, follows the patient from the front door of the hospital or emergency room all the way through discharge. The book fully explains how to improve operations and quality of care while dramatically reducing costs--often in just five days. Real-world case studies from major healthcare institutions illustrate successful implementations of Lean Six Sigma. Coverage includes: * Lean Six Sigma for hospitals, emergency departments, operating rooms, medical imaging facilities, nursing units, pharmacies, and ICUs * Patient flow and quality * Clinical staff * Order and claims accuracy * Billing and collection * Defect and medical error reduction * Excel power tools for Lean Six Sigma * Data mining and analysis * Process flow charts and control charts * Laser-focused process innovation * Statistical tools for Lean Six Sigma * Planning and implementation
Call Number: RA971 .A825 2016
Emergency Management in Health Care: an all-hazards approach by This 3rd Edition, has four main goals: To emphasize the role of leadership in emergency planning and response. To help organizations adapt to singular or escalating threats such as infectious disease outbreaks, acts of terrorism, active shooters, industrial accidents, unusual weather occurrences, and other emergencies. To expose the vulnerabilities that may impact technology in disaster responses such as failures to manage resources, utilities, and systems processes and technology advancements that may increase security in the use of electronic medical records. To update discussion of Joint Commission standards to reflect current requirements. Ed Tangredi, MHA, FACHE, CEM, Director of Emergency Management at White Plains Hospital, New York, contributes a new Foreword to the third edition. Mr. Tangredi is a nationally known speaker on emergency management, specializes in regional preparedness, and established and co-chairs the first MACE Team (Mutual Aid Coordinating Entity) in the State of New York. Key Topics Leadership s role in emergency management planning. Hazard vulnerability analysis (HVA). Emergency operations plan (EOP). Four phases of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery. Six critical areas of emergency response: Communication, resources and assets, safety and security, staff responsibilities, utilities management, and patient clinical and support activities. Key Features Standards Focus A feature that addresses the most important standards in the chapter. At a Glance A short outline detailing the main concepts in each chapter. Why Is It Critical? A short explanation of the importance of each major concept addressed. Who Is Involved? A brief listing of personnel who must be or may be involved in planning activities. Community Collaboration A feature that highlights collaborative relationships and support structures for health care organizations. Vulnerable Populations A feature that identifies the populations requiring special consideration in terms of each chapters concept. Capacity Builder A feature that provides resources and links that can help in emergency planning and preparedness. In Summary A short summary of the main concepts in the chapter. Case in Point New case studies that supply lessons learned and actions applied. Key Audience This book is intended for emergency managers and others involved in the multidisciplinary planning and application of the EOP: Safety officers. Facilities managers. Medical and nursing directors. Department heads
Call Number: RA645.5 .E44 2016x
Competing Against Luck: the story of innovation and customer choice The foremost authority on innovation and growth presents a path-breaking book every company needs to transform innovation from a game of chance to one in which they develop products and services customers not only want to buy, but are willing to pay premium prices for. How do companies know how to grow? How can they create products that they are sure customers want to buy? Can innovation be more than a game of hit and miss? Harvard Business School professor Clayton Christensen has the answer. A generation ago, Christensen revolutionized business with his groundbreaking theory of disruptive innovation. Now, he goes further, offering powerful new insights. After years of research, Christensen has come to one critical conclusion: our long held maxim—that understanding the customer is the crux of innovation—is wrong. Customers don’t buy products or services; they "hire" them to do a job. Understanding customers does not drive innovation success, he argues. Understanding customer jobs does. The "Jobs to Be Done" approach can be seen in some of the world’s most respected companies and fast-growing startups, including Amazon, Intuit, Uber, Airbnb, and Chobani yogurt, to name just a few. But this book is not about celebrating these successes—it’s about predicting new ones. Christensen contends that by understanding what causes customers to "hire" a product or service, any business can improve its innovation track record, creating products that customers not only want to hire, but that they’ll pay premium prices to bring into their lives. Jobs theory offers new hope for growth to companies frustrated by their hit and miss efforts. This book carefully lays down Christensen’s provocative framework, providing a comprehensive explanation of the theory and why it is predictive, how to use it in the real world—and, most importantly, how not to squander the insights it provides.
Call Number: HD53 .C487 2016x
Working with Difficult People: handling the ten types of problem people without losing your mind A revised edition of the classic guide on how to best resolve conflict in today's technologically advanced workplace. Your work day is filled with them--people who frustrate, impede, maneuver, undermine, plot, connive, and whine. This indispensable guide details specific techniques for handling all of them, with easy-to-follow scenarios for every situation. Updated and revised to reflect modern issues including technology, generation gaps, and language barriers, this guide describes 10 kinds of culprits, from tyrants and bullies (regular and cyber) to the pushy and presumptuous to connivers and camouflagers; and offers helpful strategies and phrases for diffusing workplace tensions and effectively resolving conflicts.
Call Number: HD42 .S65 2016
365 Low or No Cost Workplace Teambuilding Activities: games and exercises designed to build trust & encourage teamwork among employees The second edition of 365 No or Low Cost Workplace Team Building Activities has been revised to match the fast-paced, technological-reliant culture that the workforce has become over the past few years. According to Global Workplace Analytics, about 3.7 million U.S. employees work from home at least part-time, and 22 percent of that number includes the self-employed population, too.This book includes added team building activities and exercises for the large number of professionals who work from home, either full- or part-time, Each virtual activity includes ideas, materials, and a time limit that will help team leaders choose the right activity for their teams. Virtual games, meet-ups, and celebrations are just a few examples of the new activities that this book has to offer. This new edition also includes more activities that emphasize the importance of diversity and breaking down stereotypes. According to a 2015 report conducted by CareerBuilder, the number of women, Hispanics, and Asians increased in the U.S. workforce, and African Americans gained 44 percent of the job market in higher paying careers like surgeons, airline pilots, and purchasing managers. By 2050, the U.S. Center for American Progress reports that there will be no racial or ethnic majority in the country. To promote more diversity, acceptance, and recognition for these diversity factors, this edition includes multiple team building activities that break down stereotypes against religions, ethnicities, and genders. In addition to learning more about virtual teams, technology, and diversity, this edition still includes facts and information about leadership skills and team behavior that any team member or leader should know. Multiple professionals were interviewed for this book, and their advice can be found throughout each chapter. The president and CEO of the Southern Scholarship Foundation Shawn Woodin has included his experiences and tips in team building, leadership, and team success. Maybe team building activities were not part of your usual trainings and/or meetings before, but if you want to learn about all the benefits they bring your team, then this book is for you.
Call Number: HD66 .P427 2017
Leadership: Essential Leadership: Leadership Skills to Explode Your Potential, Motivate Others, and Make Everyone Around You Better Learn The Proven Leadership Skills And Principles Of How To Become An Effective Leader And Make Everyone Around You Better! Are you looking to help your organization or group grow? Are you wanting to make a lasting impact and influence people in a positive way? Do you want to see good growth and change among the culture you work or live in? If you answered "YES," then the simple solution is learning one thing: LEADERSHIP But what exactly is leadership? There is an overwhelming amount of leadership questions that can be asked and answered in so many ways. Everyone knows the words and the questions, but few know how to truly live leadership. If you are looking to stand out from the crowd, be different, and build lasting change for your work, neighborhood, church, or community then this book is your first step! This simple yet powerful book will guide you towards understanding the basic principles and practices you need to do if you want to create that positive impact you desire. First, you'll learn the essence of what leadership is and the essential traits of a leader. You'll then learn about the critical differences between coaching and leadership and how you can be more of a true leader. The second half of the book focuses on how to lead yourself first, grow in your influence, and master the growth cycle to always become a better and more effective leader. The final chapter will blow you away as you will learn how to actually recreate and duplicate yourself into new leaders that carry on your vision for the future and leave a true legacy you can be proud of! When you purchase Essential Leadership today you are not only making an investment in yourself; you are making an investment in the people and communities you desire to positively change. Whether you are in management consulting or looking for leadership skills for managers, this book will help you motivate others and make a difference! Your vision for a better organization, neighbor, community, and world can become a reality with the enduring truths of leadership! As a leader, YOU CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE that will last forever! This book will show you how! Here Is A Preview Of What You'll Learn To Help You Grow Into A Leader That Makes Everyone Better The 5 Foundations Of Personal Leadership The Biggest Difference Between Leadership And Coaching And How It Will Drastically Change Your Mindset The 3 Essential Characteristics You Must Develop Personally Before You Can Lead Anyone How To Master The Growth Cycle To Create Predictable Results For You And Your Followers The 5 Steps Of Leadership That Take You From Hungry Student To Leadership Factory Much, much more! This book has a 100% Money Back Guarantee. If these principles don't work for you, send it back. No questions asked! DON'T WAIT! GET YOUR LEADERSHIP QUESTIONS ANSWERED AND LEARN HOW TO BECOME AN EFFECTIVE LEADER WITH THESE LEADERSHIP ESSENTIALS! Get your copy NOW Tags: Leadership, Leadership Skills, Leadership Training, Coaching, Coaching Skills, Communication, Communication Skills, Leader, Leader Training, Leadership Development, Leader Development, Relationships, Relationship Skills, Relationship, Management, Management Skills, Management Techniques, Motivation, Teamwork, Organizational Leadership, Management Consulting, Leadership Skills for Managers, Motivate Others, Leadership Challenge, Leadership Questions
Call Number: Pamphlet
Interpretive Description: qualitative research for applied practice The first edition of Interpretive Descriptionestablished itself as the key resource for novice and intermediate level researchers in applied settings for conducting a qualitative research project with practical outcomes. In the second edition, leading qualitative researcher Sally Thorne retains the clear, straightforward guidance for researchers and students in health, social service, mental health, and related fields. This new edition includes additional material on knowledge synthesis and integration, evidence-based practice, and data analysis. In addition, this book takes the reader through the qualitative research process, from research design through fieldwork, analysis, interpretation, and application of the results; provides numerous examples from a variety of applied fields to show research in action; uses an accessible style and affordable price to be the ideal book for teaching qualitative research in clinical and applied disciplines.
Call Number: LB1028 .T46 2016
Effective Phrases for Performance Appraisals: a guide to successful evaluations This powerful and time proven guide contains more than 3,800 professionally written phrases for describing the key performance factors found on most evaluation forms. With this practical guide, you can accurately and quickly complete the comments, examples, and overall appraisal sections. The book has attracted global users and is popular in the fields of business, education, government, law enforcement, medicine and the military
Call Number: HF5549.5.R3 N4 2014
Mastering Civility: a manifesto for the workplace From the leading authority on workplace incivility, Christine Porath, shows why it pays to be civil, and reveals just how to enhance effectiveness in the workplace and beyond by mastering civility. Incivility is silently chipping away at people, organizations, and our economy. Slights, insensitivities, and rude behaviors can cut deeply and hijack focus. Even if people want to perform well, they can't. Ultimately incivility cuts the bottom line. In MASTERING CIVILITY, Christine Porath shows how people can enhance their influence and effectiveness with civility. Combining scientific research with fascinating evidence from popular culture and fields such as neuroscience, medicine, and psychology, this book provides managers and employers with a much-needed wake-up call, while also reminding them of what they can do right now to improve the quality of their workplaces.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M6 P67 2016
60 Seconds and You're Hired!: more than 100 answers to tough interview questions Now fully revised and updated for the 2016 job hunt--the must-have guide to acing the interview and landing the dream job, from "America's top career expert" (The Los Angeles Times) 60 Seconds & You're Hired! has already helped thousands of job seekers get their dream jobs by excelling in crucial interviews. America's top job search expert Robin Ryan draws on her 20 years as a career counselor, 30 years of direct hiring, and extensive contact with hundreds of recruiters, decisions makers, and HR professionals to teach you proven strategies to help you take charge of the interview process and get the job you want. Brief, compact, and packed with insightful direction to give you the cutting edge to slip past the competition, 60 Seconds & You're Hired! is here to help you succeed! This newly revised edition features: * Unique techniques like "The 60 Second Sell" and "The 5-Point Agenda" * Over 125 answers to tough, tricky interview questions employers often ask * How to handle structured or behavioral interview questions * Questions you should always ask, and questions you should never ask * How to deal effectively with any salary questions to preserve your negotiating power * 20 interview pitfalls to avoid * Proven negotiation techniques that secure higher salaries - and much more! "Robin Ryan has the inside track on how to get hired." --ABC News
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 R94 2016
The Resilient Clinician Author of several acclaimed books and expert in the field of secondary stress, psychologist Robert Wicks addresses the experience of the mental health professional and raises awareness of the insidious, almost silent psychological defenses of denial and avoidance in the life of the clinician.A concise guide to preventing and limiting acute and chronic secondary stress, The Resilient Clinician offers an overview of mindfulness and meditation as it applies to the clinician's own life rather than that of the client or patient, and describes how to develop a personally designed self-careprotocol. This immensely readable book also includes one of the most current selective bibliographies of relevant research and clinical and theoretical publications in the subject area, from common stressors and vicarious post-traumatic stress disorders to burnout and compassion fatigue. Informed bypositive psychology and infused with compassion and wisdom, this book will help clinicians remain challenged, maintain perspective, and be inspired both professionally and personally.
Call Number: RC451.4.P79 W53 2008
What's New in Current Awareness?
New Videos & Audiobooks
If You Can't Stand Up, Stand Out! Mike Schlappi is a husband, succesfull businessman, motivational speaker and Olympic Gold Medalist. He is also paralyzed.Mike was accidentally shot at the age of 14, but his story doesn't end there-it begins. The Mike Schlappi Story is a story of hope, courage, determination, and inspiration. For anyone who faces challenges in life-which includes all of us, this is a must see.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 I38 2006x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2016, 2015, 2014.