Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing/Allied Health Books
Aliceheimer's: alzheimer's through the looking glass “Alice was always beautiful—Armenian immigrant beautiful, with thick, curly black hair, olive skin, and big dark eyes,” writes Dana Walrath. Alice also has Alzheimer’s, and while she can remember all the songs from The Music Man, she can no longer attend to the basics of caring for herself. Alice moves to live with her daughter, Dana, in Vermont, and the story begins. Aliceheimer’s is a series of illustrated vignettes, daily glimpses into their world with Alzheimer’s. Walrath’s time with her mother was marked by humor and clarity: “With a community of help that included pirates, good neighbors, a cast of characters from space-time travel, and my dead father hovering in the branches of the maple trees that surround our Vermont farmhouse, Aliceheimer’s let us write our own story daily—a story that, in turn, helps rewrite the dominant medical narrative of aging.” In drawing Alice, Walrath literally enrobes her with cut-up pages from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. She weaves elements from Lewis Carroll’s classic throughout her text, using evocative phrases from the novel to introduce the vignettes, such as “Disappearing Alice,” “Missing Pieces,” “Falling Slowly,” “Curiouser and Curiouser,” and “A Mad Tea Party.” Walrath writes that creating this book allowed her not only to process her grief over her mother’s dementia, but also “to remember the magic laughter of that time.” Graphic medicine, she writes, “lets us better understand those who are hurting, feel their stories, and redraw and renegotiate those social boundaries. Most of all, it gives us a way to heal and to fly over the world as Alice does.” In the end, Aliceheimer’s is indeed strangely and utterly uplifting.
Call Number: RC523 .W355 2016
Care of the Obese in Advanced Practice Nursing: communication, assessment and treatment This book is the first resource to give the APN the practical tools with which to communicate, assess, and treat obese patients. Designed to help APNseasily broach an uncomfortable topic, the book walks practitioners through the exam, providing tips on effective communication, understanding lifestyleconstraints, and working with the patient to improve his or her condition without shame. Emphasizing multidisciplinary approaches and evidence-basedtreatment, the book addresses prevention, provider recognition, and treatment of adult and pediatric obesity with the goal of improving overall quality oflife. This resource offers practical information on diet and exercise to foster healthy weight loss along with psychological, pharmacological, and surgicalrecommendations. Effective tips on all facets of working with obese patients, bolstered with real-life examples that provide the patient Aos perspective, will help APNs understand and provide high-quality care to these vulnerable patients. Additionally, the book includes substantial information oncomorbidities, which add to the complexity of obesity treatment. Chapters address current trends and causes of obesity; communication Audos Au and Audon Aots Au;the technical aspects of obesity, including genetics and pathophysiology; treatment of addiction and eating disorders; assessment from the APN point ofview; disease management; pharmacological, surgical, and medical management; and costs and insurance coverage. Tools that can be used to enhance clinicalpractice are featured in the Appendices. KEY FEATURES: Written specifically for the advanced practice nurse Covers all facets of communication, assessment, and treatment Includes case studies and treatment plans designed specifically for nurses Highlights a multidisciplinary approach Includes effective tips, photographs, and real-life examples that will benefit both provider and patient "
Call Number: RC628 .M3396 2016
Conceptual Care Mapping: case studies for improving communication, collaboration, and care Learn to prioritize patient care quickly and effectively! Conceptual Care Mapping: Case Studies for Improving Communication, Collaboration, and Care uses a 'two books in one' approach to guide you through the most important aspects of patient care and critical thinking. The first section explores the title's three C's of care, communication, and collaboration within the healthcare team. The second section includes case studies that progress from simple clinical conditions to the more complex. Conceptual Care Mapping provides the tools you need to understand and implement effective patient care plans. With mapping practice both online and in the text, this unique book is the ideal resource for any first-year nursing student! Unique! Conceptual Care Mapping guides your care - using templates and an online, interactive conceptual care map creator - from the author team who developed this new method of organizing care information. Unique! 30 case studies focus on the patients you are most likely to see in clinical experience as a first-year student - and are organized from simple to complex, guiding you through prioritization and teaching you to think critically. Unique! Elsevier's Conceptual Care Map (CCM) creator helps you create, update, manage, and submit care maps quickly and effectively. Unique! Answers and completed care maps are provided for selected cases to reinforce what you've learned. Unique! Improving Patient Care section not only provides an overview of care mapping, but also focuses on three key elements of patient care: care, communication (both with other healthcare professionals and with patients), and collaboration. Unique! Interprofessional Education (IPE) and collaboration are key elements in all of the case studies, helping you understand how you will work within the larger healthcare team. Full-color design makes it easier to match up your online care mapping with content in the text.
Call Number: RT71 .Y667 2018
Critical Thinking: tools for clinical excellence and leadership effectiveness Critical Thinking: Tools for Clinical Excellence and Leadership Effectiveness Paula S. Forte, PhD, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CWCN Critical thinking remains a key issue for nurses and nurse managers. When asked what nurse managers struggle with the most, a lack of critical thinking consistently ranks near the top of the list. Critical Thinking: Tools for Clinical Excellence and Leadership Effectiveness provides the tools for nurses to help themselves and their staff improve their thinking and communication skills with both colleagues and patients. This new book is geared toward mid-career nurses, newly promoted nurse managers, and nurses who are at a critical point in their career. This book will help you: Help nurses improve their staff's thought habits as well as their own Present evidence-based best practices for critical thinking Provide tools to increase critical thinking skills that will improve patient safety Provide foundations for leadership-oriented critical thinking skills
Call Number: RT89 .F67 2016x
Davis's Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination: includes 12,750 practice questions - more than any other review book! The best NCLEX-prep on the market--12,750 questions! Purchase a new copy of Davis''s Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 2nd Edition and receive FREE access to Davis Edge NCLEX-RN#65533;, the online Q&A program. No other single NCLEX product offers this much value. Awesome NCLEX#65533; Review Book! "I have purchased a lot of NCLEX Review Books, but this book by far has the most challenging questions. If you can work through this book, answer the questions, and read the rationales, you should have no problem passing NCLEX." Definitely recommend this to pass your NCLEX#65533;! "I purchased this book at the insistence of my block 4 instructor. I only used this book as preparation for my NCLEX. I passed it after only 76 questions. This book has higher level questions that require more advanced nursing school knowledge. A must for nursing school and NCLEX!!!!" "I searched high and low...for a program containing well-written, challenging NCLEX practice questions with rationales, and the capability to measure your own personal progress. Nothing I have found comes close to...Davis Edge."--Amy Weber, Montgomery County Community College "Preparation for the NCLEX from the very beginning of nursing school."--Alena Matti-Thomas, VEEB "Davis Edge was very user friendly and helped me successfully pass the NCLEX."--Ashley Benton, Porter and Chester Institute Davis''s Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 2nd Edition and Davis Edge NCLEX-RN#65533; work together to put you on the road to exam success based on the latest test plan. You''ll have 12,750 questions in all--2,750 in the book and 10,000 at DavisEdge.com, the online Q&A program that creates quizzes based on your personal strengths and weaknesses and tracks your progress every step of the way. It''s just like taking the actual exam! Comprehensive rationales for both correct and incorrect answer options provide on-the-spot remediation and in-depth understanding of the logic behind each question. Test-taking tips show you how to analyze questions and reduce test-taking anxieties. And, 25% of the questions are alternate format, including SATA (select all that apply) prepare you for these difficult questions.. Davis''s Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 2nd Edition Davis''s Q&A Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; gives you an overview of the latest test plan and outlines the test-taking strategies you need to prepare for the exam. Practice questions guide you through all of the content covered on the NCLEX, while two comprehensive exams test your mastery of all subject areas covered on the NCLEX exam. Davis Edge NCLEX-RN#65533; www.DavisEdge.com Your FREE, 1-year subscription to Davis Edge-RN#65533; gives you access to the online program that builds knowledge while developing the critical-thinking, analytical, and decision-making skills essential to NCLEX success. Rationales for correct and incorrect answers Comprehensive Exam Builder that simulates the NCLEX Assignment builder to create quizzes by client-needs category Immediate feedback to hone in on your strengths and weaknesses Its interactive, question-based format and responsive design provide the practice you need. With thousands of questions at your fingertips, NCLEX success is in the palm of your hands.
Call Number: RT55 .O35 2017
Family Practice Guidelines This bible of family practice for primary care students and clinicians provides current national practice guidelines for professional standards of care across the life span. Concise and clearly organized, the resource features detailed, step-by-step instructions for physical examinations and diagnostic testing in the outpatient setting, information on health promotion, care guidelines, dietary information, information on culturally responsive care, patient resources, and abundant patient education handouts. This fourth edition is updated to include new evidence-based guidelines for rheumatology, public health (featuring updated information on substance abuse, violence, obesity, homelessness, and lesbian health), the sports physical exam and interventions, endocrinology, new Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations for health maintenance, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) assessment and management, restless legs syndrome, sexual dysfunction treatment, and psychiatric disorders. Several new and updated Patient Teaching Guides--with printable education points--add to the book's outstanding utility as a thorough and reliable clinical resource. Each of the 268 diagnoses includes defi nition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, signs/symptoms, subjective data, physical exam and diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis, and a care plan. New to the Fourth Edition: New and updated guidelines for: - Rheumatology: polymyalgia rheumatica, Sjogren's syndrome, psoriatic arthropathy, pseudogout (calcium pyrophosphate dihydrate), ankylosing spondolitis, reactive arthritis, Raynaud's syndrome - Public Health: substance abuse, violence, obesity, homelessness, lesbian health - Sports Exam: assessment and treatment - CDC recommendations: vaccine and cancer screening - Endocrinology: diabetes management and new Food and Drug Administration-approved medications - JNC 8 guidelines for hypertension - Neurology: PTSD and restless legs syndrome management - Sexual dysfunction - Bipolar and other behavioral health disorders New and updated Patient Teaching Guides Key Features: Presents information for 268 disorders in consistent format for ease of useHighlights key considerations with Practice PointersProvides individual care points for pediatric, pregnant, and geriatric patientsIncludes 138 printable Patient Teaching GuidesOffers 18 procedure guidelines and routine health maintenance guidelines
Call Number: RT120.F34 F357 2017
Health Care Finance: basic tools for nonfinancial managers Health Care Finance: Basic Tools for Nonfinancial Managers, Fifth Edition is the most practical and applied text for those who need a basic and better understanding of health care financial management.Using actual examples from hospitals, long-term care facilities, and home health agencies, this user-friendly text includes practical information for the nonfinancial manager charged with budgeting.This exhaustive revision offers updated data throughout as well as six new chapters covering various cutting edge topics from the changing landscape in healthcare finance to understanding big data, strategic relationships, value based health care, and new payment methods.New to the Fifth Edition: Six new chapters that explore cutting edge topics from big data and the digital age, to value-based health care, MIPS & APMS, new requirements for payments in post-acute care. New case study: "The Doctor's Dilemma" Three new appendices offer helpful reference material on meaningful use, creating a DRG budget, and reviewing a comparative operating budget report.
Call Number: RA971.3 .B353 2018
HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination Want to cover EVERYTHING on the NCLEX-RN? HESI can help! The HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 5th Edition provides a comprehensive, all-in-one review of the information you need to know to not only succeed on the NCLEX-RN exam but also on your program's HESI exit exam. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, this trusted guide breaks down chapters by clinical areas and the concepts emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. Rationales are provided for any incorrect answers or areas of weakness to help strengthen your understanding. The companion Evolve website also offers 700 practice questions in both study and exam formats to give you valuable practice using the same electronic testing format you will face on the nursing school exit exam and on the NCLEX-RN exam. 700 NCLEX practice questions on the companion Evolve website include alternate item formats to provide a testing experience similar to the exit and NCLEX exams. Chapters organized by clinical area enables you to easily search for various topics to review. HESI Hint boxes spotlight important clinical information and concepts commonly tested on the NCLEX-RN exam. Critical thinking study questions (with rationales) reinforce key concepts and content. Fill-in-the-blank and prioritizing questions mirror the new alternate item format item types included on the NCLEX-RN exam. Pharmacology tables highlight the need-to-know drug therapy content emphasized on the NCLEX-RN exam. Consistent format and chapter organization make it easy to move between topics when reviewing. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Updated medications and nursing interventions have been added based on the latest evidence-based practice. NEW! Revised chapter on pediatric nursing includes an updated immunization chart, referral websites, and new content on children with disabilities and chromosomal and genetic syndromes. NEW! Revised chapter on maternity nursing features updated CPR guidelines and medications for neonatal cardiac arrest, as well as new HESI Hints that reflect new modalities such as fetal cell-DNA analysis and current screening tools. NEW! Revised chapter on psychiatric nursing includes new information on autism spectrum disorders, as well as updates on DSM 5 changes. NEW! Revised chapter on geriatrics features new content on polypharmacy in the elderly, the Geriatric Depression Scale as an assessment tool, the Mini-Cog tool for mental status assessment, and new information on elder mistreatment in various settings.
Call Number: RT55 .E96 2017
Leadership and the Advanced Practice Nurse: the future of a changing health-care environment Envision a better future... Be prepared to lead the way to better outcomes...for your patients, your team, your institution, and yourself. You'll not only learn about leadership, but also how to use your skills to manage staff, implement policy changes, and to develop systems that deliver cost effective, quality-controlled care. The coverage encompasses the competencies required by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing in conjunction with major specialty nursing organizations. You'll begin with the theories, models, and frameworks that provide the window through which to view leadership in the context of the regulations and standards that guide the delivery of care. Then, you'll explore the importance of creating a culture that ensures safe, quality care, and learn how to plan and evaluate programs to affect change.
Call Number: RT62 .W56 2017x
Listening for What Matters: avoiding contextual errors in health care Effective health care requires physicians tailor care to patients' individual life contexts, including their financial situation, social support, competing responsibilities, and cognitive abilities. Physicians, however, are poorly prepared to consider patients' lives when planning their care.The result is measurably harmful to individuals and costly to society. Listening for What Matters: Avoiding Contextual Errors in Health Care covers ten years of empirical research based on hundreds of recorded doctor visits by patients and undercover actors alike, which revealed a widespread disregard of patients' individual circumstances and needs resulting ininappropriate care. These medical errors have been largely undocumented and unaddressed by the American healthcare system. This book tells the stories of patients whose care was compromised by inattention to individual context, and introduces novel methods for assessing the magnitude of the problem. It describes how these errors, termed "contextual errors," can be minimized through changes in how doctors are trained,how medicine is practiced and quality measured, and in the ways patients assert their needs during visits. The aim of this book is to open a dialog between patients, physicians, policy makers, and medical educators, about a serious quality problem that has been overlooked and understudied.
Call Number: R729.8 .W45 2016
Modern Death: how medicine changed the end of life There is no more universal truth in life than death. No matter who you are, it is certain that one day you will die, but the mechanics and understanding of that experience will differ greatly in today's modern age. Dr. Haider Warraich is a young and brilliant new voice in the conversation about death and dying started by Dr. Sherwin Nuland and Atul Gawande. Dr. Warraich takes a broader look at how we die today, from the cellular level up to the very definition of death itself. The most basic aspects of dying--the whys, wheres, whens, and hows--are almost nothing like what they were mere decades ago. Beyond its ecology, epidemiology, and economics, the very ethos of death has changed. Modern Death, Dr. Warraich's debut book, will explore the rituals and language of dying that have developed in the last century, and how modern technology has not only changed the hows, whens, and wheres of death, but the what of death. Delving into the vast body of research on the evolving nature of death, Modern Death will provide readers with an enriched understanding of how death differs from the past, what our ancestors got right, and how trends and events have transformed this most final of human experiences.
Call Number: R726.8 .W37 2017
NCLEX-RN Notes: content review & exam prep A Davis's Notes book. Content review plus Q&A...perfect every time, every place, everywhere! Prepare for the NCLEX wherever you are--at home, in the library, or on the bus. Here are the tips, strategies, techniques, and content you need--all in one pocket-sized resource. You'll review all major content areas while you hone your test-taking techniques. An access code inside unlocks 850 questions online at DavisPlus, with answers and rationales for correct and incorrect responses. See what students are saying about the previous edition... YES, YOU NEED THIS!!!! "This item was AWESOME, compact, and perfect for my studying. I passed on my first attempt! I highly recommend this little goody for all the soon to be RNs who are freaking out over their NCLEX appointment dates!" I found this to be a very useful pocket guide to keep in my purse. "I found this to be a very useful pocket guide to keep in my purse, and used it to study when I had down time. There was great information in there and I would recommend it." Very useful. Was able to get thru most of it... "Overall, very useful. Was able to get thru most of it before my NCLEX. I passed and am thankful to this book. Good luck!"
Call Number: RT55 .V55 2017x
NCLEX-RN Practice Questions Exam Cram The NCLEX-RN Practice Questions Exam Cram , Fifth Edition provides 1250 questions for the nursing student who wants to be better prepared for the exam. Updated to provide more relevant and challenging questions matching NCLEX adjustments made in 2015, this fifth edition improves upon the prior editions that have served as one of the most popular late-stage study tools for Nursing candidates. Anxiety about the exam is high among nursing students and results from the focus group say 'the more practice questions to study, the better'! The Exam Cram questions cover every topic the student will encounter on the real exam including more "new format" interactive questions. The Exam Cram gives the student as much experience with the real exam as possible. The NCLEX-PN Practice Questions Exam Cram , Fifth Edition offers a cram sheet for last minute study as well as the CD testing engine for that testing experience, a proven combination for exam success!
Call Number: RT55 .R5633 2017x
Nephrology Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice This book features a set of guidelines to guide evidence-based practice and delivery of high-quality nursing care. This eighth edition incorporates the newest evidence and changes in practice.
Call Number: RC903 .N464 2017x
The Nurse Manager's Guide to Innovative Staffing Nurse staffing is the foundation for excellent patient care and outcomes. Decades of research on hospital staffing and patient outcomes has given a clear message: Safe Staffing Saves Lives. However, there is no magic bullet for solving staffing issues. Nurse managers and leaders have struggled to find a method to staffing over the years, causing turnover and a lack in patient and staff satisfaction.
The Nurse Manager's Guide to Innovative Staffing, Second Edition helps nurse managers understand everything from the current state of staffing to innovative solutions to unique care delivery models. Readers will find:
* Detailed examples of staffing plans, policies, and delivery models
* Calculation formulas and worksheets, including full-time equivalencies (FTEs), PTO, and productive vs.
* Sound strategies for introducing new processes and technology
Call Number: RT89 .M45 2017
Nursing Leadership and Management for Patient Safety and Quality Care Take an evidence-based approach to leadership. Learn the skills you need to lead and succeed in the dynamic healthcare environments in which you will practice. From leadership and management theories through their application, you'll develop the core competences you need to provide and manage care of the highest quality to your patients. You'll also be prepared for the initiatives that are transforming the delivery and cost effectiveness of health care today.
Call Number: RT89 .M877 2017x
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research AJN Book of the Year! What is the evidence? How do you find it? How do you evaluate it? Put the evidence to work in your practice! The 5th Edition of this AJN Book of the Year shows you how to integrate today's best scientific knowledge into your clinical decision-making. Step by step, you'll learn to effectively evaluate and apply nursing research and to understand its potential impact on the quality of your patient care. Look for the Plus Code inside new, printed texts--your key to unlocking your Davis Digital eBook online at DavisPlus.
Call Number: RT81.5 .F35 2017
Values and Vaccine Refusal: hard questions in ethics, epistemiology and health care Parents in the US and other societies are increasingly refusing to vaccinate their children, even though popular anti-vaccine myths - e.g. 'vaccines cause autism' - have been debunked. This book explains the epistemic and moral failures that lead some parents to refuse to vaccinate their children. First, some parents have good reasons not to defer to the expertise of physicians, and to rely instead upon their own judgments about how to care for their children. Unfortunately, epistemic self-reliance systematically distorts beliefs in areas of inquiry in which expertise is required (like vaccine immunology). Second, vaccine refusers and mainstream medical authorities are often committed to different values surrounding health and safety. For example, while vaccine advocates stress that vaccines have low rates of serious complications, vaccine refusers often resist vaccination because it is 'unnatural' and because they view vaccine-preventable diseases as a 'natural' part of childhood. Finally, parents who refuse vaccines rightly resist the utilitarian moral arguments - 'for the greater good' - that vaccine advocates sometimes make. Unfortunately, vaccine refusers also sometimes embrace a pernicious hyper-individualism that sanctions free-riding on herd immunity and that cultivates indifference to the interpersonal and social harms that unvaccinated persons may cause.
Call Number: QR189 .N38 2016
Management/Employee Development Books
American Icon: Alan Mulally and the fight to save Ford Motor Company The inside story of the eipc turnaround of Ford Motor Company under the leadership of CEO Alan Mulally. At the end of 2008, Ford Motor Company was just months away from running out of cash. With the auto industry careening toward ruin, Congress offered all three Detroit automakers a bailout. General Motors and Chrysler grabbed the taxpayer lifeline, but Ford decided to save itself. Under the leadership of charismatic CEO Alan Mulally, Ford had already put together a bold plan to unify its divided global operations, transform its lackluster product lineup, and overcome a dys#65533;functional culture of infighting, backstabbing, and excuses. It was an extraordinary risk, but it was the only way the Ford family--America's last great industrial dynasty--could hold on to their company. Mulally and his team pulled off one of the great#65533;est comebacks in business history. As the rest of Detroit collapsed, Ford went from the brink of bankruptcy to being the most profitable automaker in the world. American Icon is the compelling, behind-the-scenes account of that epic turnaround. In one of the great management narratives of our time, Hoffman puts the reader inside the boardroom as Mulally uses his celebrated Business Plan Review meet#65533;ings to drive change and force Ford to deal with the painful realities of the American auto industry. Hoffman was granted unprecedented access to Ford's top executives and top-secret company documents. He spent countless hours with Alan Mulally, Bill Ford, the Ford family, former executives, labor leaders, and company directors. In the bestselling tradition of Too Big to Fail and The Big Short, American Icon is narrative nonfiction at its vivid and colorful best.
Call Number: HD9710.U54 F636 2012b
Attending: medicine, mindfulness and humanity The first book for the general public about mindfulness and medical practice, a groundbreaking, intimate exploration of how doctors think and what matters most—safe, effective, patient-centered, compassionate care—from the foremost expert in the field. As a third-year Harvard Medical School student doing a clinical rotation in surgery, Ronald Epstein watched an error unfold: an experienced surgeon failed to notice his patient's kidney turning an ominous shade of blue. In that same rotation, Epstein was awestruck by another surgeon's ability to avert an impending disaster, slowing down from autopilot to intentionality. The difference between these two doctors left a lasting impression on Epstein and set the stage for his life's work—to identify the qualities and habits that distinguish masterful doctors from those who are merely competent. The secret, he learned, was mindfulness. In Attending, his first book, Dr. Epstein builds on his world-renowned, innovative programs in mindful practice and uses gripping and deeply human clinical stories to give patients a language to describe what they value most in health care and to outline a road map for doctors and other health care professionals to refocus their approach to medicine. Drawing on his clinical experiences and current research, and exploring four foundations of mindfulness—Attention, Curiosity, Beginner's Mind, and Presence—Dr. Epstein introduces a revolutionary concept: by looking inward, health care practitioners can grow their capacity to provide high-quality care and the resilience to be there when their patients need them. The commodification of health care has shifted doctors' focus away from the healing of patients to the bottom line. Clinician burnout is at an all-time high. Attending is the antidote. With compassion and intelligence, Epstein offers a crucial, timely book that shows us how we can restore humanity to medicine, guides us toward a better overall quality of care, and reminds us of what matters most.
Call Number: R690 .E68 2017
Beyond Mentoring: a guide for librarians and information professionals Beyond Mentoring: A Guide for Librarians and Information Professionals looks at mentorship, mentorship programs, what works, what doesn't, and different techniques, such as group and peer mentoring. The book considers many aspects of mentoring, various programs, and their successes and failures, going beyond the usual types of mentoring by looking at newer models. An example of the cohort model from the American Library Association Emerging Leader model is included as a case study. In addition, another case study on the Sunshine State leadership Institute provides a toolkit for building your own program. The final section of the book offers perspectives and tools that people can use in designing their own programs. Provides case studies and perspectives from librarians who have been involved in mentoring programs Describes program types that go beyond traditional mentoring, including peer-to-peer and cohort or group mentoring Gives practical advice to help readers apply best practices to their own situations Offers a hands-on perspective of the program design process
Call Number: Z668.5 .B49 2017x
Broadcasting Happiness: the science of igniting and sustaining positive change Broadcasting Happiness will "inspire you and change your life." --Parade Magazine We are all broadcasters. As managers, colleagues, parents and friends, we are constantly transmitting information to the people around us, and the messages we choose to broadcast create success or hold us back. What’syour broadcast? New research from the fields of positive psychology and neuroscience shows that small shifts in the way we communicate can create big ripple effects on business and educational outcomes, including 31 percent higher productivity, 25 percent better performance ratings, 37 percent higher sales, and 23 percent lower levels of stress. InBroadcasting Happiness, Michelle Gielan, former national CBS News anchor turned positive psychology researcher, shows you how changing your broadcast changes your power by sharing jaw-dropping stories and incredible research. Learn Michelle’s simple research-based communication habits that have been featured in her PBS programInspire Happiness and Oprah’s 21 Days to Happiness class. Broadcasting Happiness will help you: - Inoculate your brain against stress and negativity by fact-checking challenges - Drive success by leading a conversation or communication with positivity - Rewrite debilitating thought patterns and turn them into fuel for resilience and growth - Deal with negative people in a way that lessens their power - Share bad news more effectively to increase future social capital - Create and sustain a positive culture at work or home by creating contagious optimism - Help the people you care about most move from negative to positive in seconds Broadcasting Happiness showcases how real individuals and organizations have used these techniques to achieve results that include increasing revenues by hundreds of millions of dollars, raising a school district's graduation rate by 45 percent, and shifting family gatherings from toxic to thriving. Changing your broadcast can change your life, your success, and the lives of others around you.Broadcasting Happiness will show you how!
Call Number: HD58.7 .G544 2015
Clinical Decision Support Systems: theory and practice Building on the success of the previous editions, this fully updated book once again brings together worldwide experts to illustrate the underlying science and day-to-day use of decision support systems in clinical and educational settings. Topics discussed include: -Mathematical Foundations of Decision Support Systems -Design and Implementation Issues -Ethical and Legal Issues in Decision Support -Clinical Trials of Information Interventions -Hospital-Based Decision Support -Real World Case Studies
Call Number: RC78.7.D35 C55 2016
Collaborative Intelligence: thinking with people who think differently A breakthrough book on the transformative power of collaborative thinking Collaborative intelligence, or CQ, is a measure of our ability to think with others on behalf of what matters to us all. It is emerging as a new professional currency at a time when the way we think, interact, and innovate is shifting. In the past, "market share" companies ruled by hierarchy and topdown leadership. Today, the new market leaders are "mind share" companies, where influence is more important than power, and success relies on collaboration and the ability to inspire. Collaborative Intelligence is the culmination of more than fifty years of original research that draws on Dawna Markova's background in cognitive neuroscience and her most recent work, with Angie McArthur, as a "Professional Thinking Partner" to some of the world's top CEOs and creative professionals. Markova and McArthur are experts at getting brilliant yet difficult people to think together. They have been brought in to troubleshoot for Fortune 500 leaders in crisis and managers struggling to inspire their teams. When asked about their biggest challenges at work, Markova and McArthur's clients all cite a common problem: other people. This response reflects the way we have been taught to focus on the gulfs between us rather than valuing our intellectual diversity--that is, the ways in which each of us is uniquely gifted, how we process information and frame questions, what kind of things deplete us, and what engages and inspires us. Through a series of practices and strategies, the authors teach us how to recognize our own mind patterns and map the talents of our teams, with the goal of embarking together on an aligned course of action and influence. In Markova and McArthur's experience, managers who appreciate intellectual diversity will lead their teams to innovation; employees who understand it will thrive because they are in touch with their strengths; and an entire team who understands it will come together to do their best work in a symphony of collaboration, their individual strengths working in harmony like an orchestra or a high-performing sports team. Praise for Collaborative Intelligence "Rooted in the latest neuroscience on the nature of collaboration, Collaborative Intelligence celebrates the power of working and thinking together at the highest levels of business and politics, and in the smallest aspects of our everyday lives. Dawna Markova and Angie McArthur show us that our ability to collaborate is not only a measure of intelligence, but essential to solving the world's problems and seeing the possibilities in ourselves and others."--Arianna Huffington "This inspiring book teaches you how to align your intention with the intention of others, and how, through shared strengths and talents, you have every right to expect greatness and set the highest goals and expectations."--Deepak Chopra "Everyone talks about collaboration today, but the rhetoric typically outweighs the reality. Collaborative Intelligence offers tangible tools for those serious about becoming 'system leaders' who can close the gap and make collaboration real."--Peter M. Senge, author of The Fifth Discipline "I have worked with Markova and McArthur for several years, focusing on achieving better results through intellectual diversity. Their approach has encouraged more candid debate and collaborative behavior within the team. The team, not individuals, becomes the hero."--Al Carey, CEO, PepsiCo
Call Number: HF5718 .M3725 2015
Design the Life You Love: a step-by-step guide to building a meaningful future An interactive journal that serves as a joyful, inspirational guide to building the life you've always dreamed of, using the principles and creative process of an award-winning product designer. Life, just like a design problem, is full of constraints -- time, money, age, location, and circumstances. You can't have everything, so you have to be creative to make what you want and what you need co-exist. Design the Life You Love is a joyful, inspirational guide to building the life you've always wanted, using the principles and creative process of an award-winning product designer. Through four steps that reveal hidden skills and wisdom, anyone can design a life they love!
Call Number: BF408 .B487 2015
Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare: principles, cases and perspectives Difficult decisions are part of everyday life for any manager, and the decisions that arise in the healthcare environment are far too important to be made based on poor information and gut feeling. An evidence-based approach to management ensures that healthcare leaders ask the right questions, use the best evidence available, and make better decisions in carrying out their mission. Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare: Principles, Cases, and Perspectives explains what evidence-based management is, how it can improve decision making, and, ultimately, how it can lead the way to improved organizational performance. This updated edition provides a thorough overview of evidence-based management, with an in-depth discussion of the framework, new and expanded case studies and examples, and interviews with experts in the field. Key topics include the following: The definition of and rationale for evidence-based management The four main types of evidence The six steps of implementation Acquiring the best available evidence Barriers to evidence-based management and how to overcome them Perspectives from stakeholders Featuring contributions from a host of experts including researchers, managers, leaders, and consultants this book provides a practical and insightful complement to other organizational and management studies. New managers will find it a useful resource to have on hand in healthcare management settings of any kind.
Call Number: RA971 .E983 2017
If Our Bodies Could Talk: a guide to operating and maintaining a human body "If you want to understand the strange workings of the human body, and the future of medicine, you must read this illuminating, engaging book." --Siddhartha Mukherjee, author of The Gene In 2014, James Hamblin launched a series of videos for The Atlantic called "If Our Bodies Could Talk." With it, the doctor-turned-journalist established himself as a seriously entertaining authority in the field of health. Now, in illuminating and genuinely funny prose, Hamblin explores the human stories behind health questions that never seem to go away--and which tend to be mischaracterized and oversimplified by marketing and news media. He covers topics such as sleep, aging, diet, and much more: * Can I "boost" my immune system? * Does caffeine make me live longer? * Do we still not know if cell phones cause cancer? * How much sleep do I actually need? * Is there any harm in taking a multivitamin? * Is life long enough? In considering these questions, Hamblin draws from his own medical training as well from hundreds of interviews with distinguished scientists and medical practitioners. He translates the (traditionally boring) textbook of human anatomy and physiology into accessible, engaging, socially contextualized, up-to-the-moment answers. They offer clarity, examine the limits of our certainty, and ultimately help readers worry less about things that don't really matter. If Our Bodies Could Talk is a comprehensive, illustrated guide that entertains and educates in equal doses.
Call Number: RA776 .H183 2016
The Innovator's Mindset: enpower learning, unleash talent, and lead a culture of creativity Kids walk into schools full of wonder and questions. How you, as an educator, respond to students' natural curiosity can help further their own exploration and shape the way they learn today and in the future. The traditional system of education requires students to hold their questions and compliantly stick to the scheduled curriculum. But our job as educators is to provide new and better opportunities for our students. It's time to recognize that compliance doesn't foster innovation, encourage critical thinking, or inspire creativity--and those are the skills our students need to succeed. In The Innovator's Mindset, George Couros encourages teachers and administrators to empower their learners to wonder, to explore--and to become forward-thinking leaders. If we want innovative students, we need innovative educators. In other words, innovation begins with you. Ultimately, innovation is not about a skill set: it's about a mindset. The Innovator's Mindset is for you if: You are a superintendent, district administrator, or principal who wants to empower your staff to create a culture of innovation You are a school leader - at any level - and want to help students and educators become their personal best. You are a teacher who wants to create relevant learning experiences and help students develop the skills they need to be successful. You'll be inspired to: Connect with other innovative educators Support teachers and leaders as learners Tap into the strength of your learning community Create ongoing opportunities for innovation Seek more effective methods for measuring progress And, most importantly, embrace change and use it to do something amazing
Call Number: LB885.C68 I56 2015x
Knock 'em Dead Resumes: a killer resume gets MORE job interviews! Expert advice on building a resume to get the job you want! Your resume is the most important financial document you'll ever create. When it works, so do you. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, bestselling author Martin Yate shows you how to write a dynamic, effective resume that: Stands out in a resume database Builds a strong personal brand employers will want on their team Passes recruiters' six-second scan test Speaks to exactly what employers are looking for The new edition of this classic guide includes dozens of sample resumes as well as cutting-edge advice on resume-writing tactics. With Knock 'em Dead Resumes, 12th Edition, you'll grab employers' attention--and score the job you want.
Call Number: HF5383 .Y38 2016
Leadership for Health Professionals: theory, skills and applications Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Leadership for Health Professionals: Theory, Skills, and Applications, Third Edition is the first textbook of its kind to apply classical knowledge of leadership theory and time-honored best practices of industry leaders to a health organization context. This comprehensive and well-organized text is grounded in real-world applications of theoretical concepts, and focuses on practical examples of leadership in actual healthcare scenarios. Themes of leadership principles, applications and constructs such as organizational culture, cultural competency, ethical frameworks and moral practice, scientific methodology, leader competencies, external and internal assessment and evaluation, communication, planning, decision-making, employee enhancement, and knowledge management are woven through the entire text.The authors of the Third Edition have over four decades of practical leadership experience in corporate and federal governmental health organizations from entry to executive levels, as well as over twenty-five years of academic experience as faculty in doctoral research institutions. Leadership for Health Professionals: Theory, Skills, and Applications, Third Edition utilizes the author-created learning model, Focused Content Cycling, which is the reiteration of key leader systems, actions and behaviors throughout the text using multiple learning modalities. This process provides additional learning potential within a leadership course with the intent to bridge theory with practice.NEW TO THIRD EDITIONNEW 35 Mini Case Studies with Suggested Answers for Instructors9 Leadership in Practice CasesNEW Industry Macro-Model (Chapter 3)NEW Leadership Competency Domain Model for Healthcare Leadership (Chapter 3 with content supporting model in Chapters 4 - 15) NEW Interprofessional Team Model (Chapter 8)NEW Assignments on Value-Based Purchasing (MACRA) System (Chapter 14 in Navigate 2) NEW Chapter on Leadership and Informatics Strategy: The 4 Ps of Health Analytics (Chapter 16)Navigate 2 Advantage Access
Call Number: RA971 .L365 2018
Leading the Unleadable: how to manage mavericks, cynics, divas, ando ther difficult people Is that one guy dragging you all down? The control-freak, the narcissist, the slacker, the cynic... Difficult people are the worst part of a manager’s job. Whether it comes from direct reports or people above, outbursts, irrational demands, griping, and other disruptions need to be dealt with—and it’s your responsibility to do it. Leading the Unleadableturns this dreaded chore into a straight forward process that gently, yet effectively, improves behaviors. Written by an insider in the tech industry, where personality issues routinely wreck projects, the book reveals a core truth: most people actually want to contribute results, not cause headaches. Once you realize the potential for change, the book’s simple steps, examples, and scripts explain how to right even the most hopeless situations. You’ll learn how to: • Master the necessary mindset • Explain the problem calmly in a short feedback session • Get a commitment to change, and follow up • Coach others to replicate the process • Develop the situational awareness required to spot trouble even earlier in the future Every manager has “problem people.” What sets great managers apart is how they turn them into productive team players. Prepare to transform the troublesome into the tremendous.
Call Number: HD57.7 .W533 2017
Needs Assessment Basics: ATD training basics series Go from order-taker to valued performance consultant. You may be pressured to give an immediate yes to a training request. Resist. Instead, start playing an essential role in driving your organization forward by using needs assessment to target your training programs to support critical business goals. Organizations need staff to be efficient and effective. That calls for training programs that get to the core of performance issues. A needs assessment ensures that you understand the root of problems like knowledge gaps, performance issues, and product quality and gives you the tools to resolve them. This second edition of Needs Assessment Basics starts with the initial training request and guides you all the way through data collection and making training recommendations. A progressive case study illustrates the seven phases of a needs assessment plan to reinforce each chapter s content. Part of ATD s Training Basics series, Needs Assessment Basics will help you develop a foundation that will ensure the training programs you design and deliver will help the organization succeed."
Call Number: HF5549.5.T7 T59 2016
Payoff: the hidden logic that shapes our motivations Bestselling author Dan Ariely reveals fascinating new insights into motivation—showing that the subject is far more complex than we ever imagined. Every day we work hard to motivate ourselves, the people we live with, the people who work for and do business with us. In this way, much of what we do can be defined as being “motivators.” From the boardroom to the living room, our role as motivators is complex, and the more we try to motivate partners and children, friends and coworkers, the clearer it becomes that the story of motivation is far more intricate and fascinating than we’ve assumed. Payoff investigates the true nature of motivation, our partial blindness to the way it works, and how we can bridge this gap. With studies that range from Intel to a kindergarten classroom, Ariely digs deep to find the root of motivation—how it works and how we can use this knowledge to approach important choices in our own lives. Along the way, he explores intriguing questions such as: Can giving employees bonuses harm productivity? Why is trust so crucial for successful motivation? What are our misconceptions about how to value our work? How does your sense of your mortality impact your motivation?
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 A74 2016
Powerhouse: insider accounts into the world's top high-performance organizations Why are the New Zealand All Blacks the best rugby team in the world? How does the Kirov Ballet produce generation after generation of exceptional ballerinas? How did Southwest Airlines evolve from being an idiosyncratic Texan airline to become one of the most successful businesses internationally? How does the Finnish School Education System deliver great results by breaking conventions? Powerhouse uncovers the performance secrets of some of the most impressive organizations around the world and reveals the key principles they have in common to enable any business to raise their own bar. To understand what makes these organizations great, MacNeice and Bowen have conducted immersive and personal research; investigating their culture, interviewing their leaders and observing their everyday practice. Despite this diverse range of seemingly contrasting industries - business, sport, technology, finance, the arts - each of these successful institutions share a common bond: they are world-class industry leaders and have repeatedly outperformed their competition. Powerhouse explores what lessons can be learnt from these organizations to provide a unique and in-depth analysis of how enduring high performance can be developed.
Call Number: HD58.9 .M3425 2016
Rest: why you get more done when you work less One of Silicon Valley's sharpest strategists shows that success doesn't demand longer, harder hours, it demands that you work less For most of us, overwork is the new normal and rest is an afterthought. In our busy lives, rest is defined as the absence of work: late-night TV binges, hours spent trawling the internet, something to do once we've finished everything else on our to-do lists. But dismissing rest stifles our ability to think creatively and truly recharge. In Rest, Silicon Valley consultant Alex Pang argues that we can be more successful in all areas of our lives by recognizing the importance of rest: working better does not mean working more, it means working less and resting better. Treating rest as a passive activity secondary to work undermines our chances for a rewarding and meaningful life. Whether by making space for daily naps, as Winston Churchill did during World War II; going on hours-long strolls like Charles Darwin; or spending a week alone in a cabin like Bill Gates, pursuing what Pang calls "deliberate rest" is the true key to fulfillment and creative success. Drawing on rigorous scientific evidence and revelatory historical examples, Rest overturns everything our culture has taught us about work and shows that only by resting better can we start living better
Call Number: QP301 .P336 2016
Spark: how to lead yourself and others to greater success NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Leadership isn't about a job title - it's about action and behavior. In SPARK, entrepreneurs, business consultants and military Veterans Angie Morgan, Courtney Lynch, and Sean Lynch show how anyone can become an extraordinary leader by embracing seven key behaviors. Many people believe that leaders are the rare few at the upper echelons of a business or other enterprise. But the truth is leaders can be found at any level of an organization. These are the Sparks - the doers, thinkers, innovators, and key influencers who are catalysts for personal and organizational change. Sparks aren't defined by the place they hold on an organizational chart. They are defined by their actions, commitment, and will. When Sparks are ignited, their actions can shape their future. They make things better. They're the individuals who have the courage to challenge the status quo and take action.
Frederick W. Smith, Chairman & CEO of FedEx Corporation, adds: The concept of leadership is not a difficult one to understand. It's that straight-forward, but it's by no means intuitive. It must be learned and practiced. SPARK will help you do just that.
SPARK's insights were hard-earned by its authors, Angie Morgan (Marine Corps), Courtney Lynch (Marine Corps), and Sean Lynch (Air Force), who today are sought-after consultants and keynote speakers, through their firm Lead Star, due to the relevant, engaging way they help individuals reimagine themselves as leaders so they can reach their true potential. Not only does SPARK provide you with the encouragement and motivation to be a leader, it also offers online resources that will further support your leadership development. With SPARK as a blueprint, anyone can become a catalyst for change, and any organization can identify and develop Sparks.
Call Number: HD57.7 .M6634 2017
What Patients Say, What Doctors Hear Can refocusing conversations between doctors and their patients lead to better health? Despite modern medicine's infatuation with high-tech gadgetry, the single most powerful diagnostic tool is the doctor-patient conversation, which can uncover the lion's share of illnesses. However, what patients say and what doctors hear are often two vastly different things. Patients, anxious to convey their symptoms, feel an urgency to "make their case" to their doctors. Doctors, under pressure to be efficient, multitask while patients speak and often miss the key elements. Add in stereotypes, unconscious bias, conflicting agendas, and fear of lawsuits and the risk of misdiagnosis and medical errors multiplies dangerously. Though the gulf between what patients say and what doctors hear is often wide, Dr. Danielle Ofri proves that it doesn't have to be. Through the powerfully resonant human stories that Dr. Ofri's writing is renowned for, she explores the high-stakes world of doctor-patient communication that we all must navigate. Reporting on the latest research studies and interviewing scholars, doctors, and patients, Dr. Ofri reveals how better communication can lead to better health for all of us.
Call Number: R727.3 .O375 2017x
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2016, 2015, 2014.