Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication in Nursing and Healthcare: a guide for compassionate practice Communication is an essential skill for nurses, midwives and allied health professionals when delivering care to patients and their families. With its unique and practical approach, this new textbook will support students throughout the three years of their degree programme and on into practice, focussing on how to develop person-centredness and compassionate and collaborative care. Key features include: * students' experiences and stories from service users and patients to help readers relate theory to practice * reflective exercises to help students think critically about their communication skills * learning objectives and chapter summaries for revision * interactive activities directly linked to the Values Exchange Community website
Call Number: RT23 .G38 2017x
Core Curriculum for Rheumatology Nursing The Core Curriculum for Rheumatology Nursing was developed by nurses, for nurses, to help bridge the gap between knowledge and patient care. It helps guide rheumatology nurses in their approach to care across many of the over 100 rheumatologic diseases.
Call Number: RC927 .C674 2015x
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing Trusted for 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing, A Critical Care Approach, 7th Edition is the only book on the market that provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for your CPAN#65533; or CAPA#65533; certification! Updated Evidence-based Research boxes in sections IV and V provide the latest standards of care. Five separate sections provide comprehensive coverage, including: the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Addresses current policies and issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice such as patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest. Comprehensively covers the various types of anesthetic agents to be anticipated in the PACU. In-depth coverage of pathophysiology for all body systems integrated with nursing and pharmacologic interventions. Streamlined format includes an overview, definitions, summary, and references for each chapter. NEW and EXPANDED! Updated content covers the latest evidence and standards, including new sedation and pain guidelines, new information on older patients, implications of new surgical techniques, and more bariatric implications. NEW and UPDATED! New illustrations and thoroughly updated references throughout.
Call Number: RD51.3 .D73 2018
Examination of the Newborn: a practical guide Newborn babies are examined at around 6 to 72 hours after their birth to rule out major congenital abnormalities and reassure the parents that their baby is healthy. This practical text is a step-by-step guide for all practitioners who undertake this clinical examination. It is particularly valuable for midwives and nurses undertaking Examination of the Newborn modules as well as a useful reference work for those already performing this role. It provides midwives and other practitioners involved in neonatal examination with a comprehensive guide to the holistic examination of the newborn infant. Examination of the Newborn encourages the reader to view each mother and baby as unique, taking into account their experiences preconceptually, antenatally and through childbirth. The text covers: * the role of the first examination as a screening tool; * normal fetal development; * parents' concerns and how to respond to them; * the impact of antenatal diagnostic screening; * the events of labour and birth; * the clinical examination of the neonate; * the identification and management of congenital abnormalities; * accountability and legal issues. This new edition is thoroughly revised throughout to meet current Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC), General Medical Council (GMC) and National Screening Committee standards. It reflects the new standards and key performance indicators (KPIs) from Public Health England (2016b). Case scenarios, model answers, questions and further reading help the reader to apply the content to their own practice.
Call Number: RJ255.5 .B37 2017
Maternal-Child Nursing Easily master maternity and pediatric nursing care with Maternal-Child Nursing, 5th Edition. This easy-to-read text is filled with a wealth of user-friendly features to help you quickly master essential concepts and skills. It offers completely updated content - including expanded information on the late preterm infant, fetal heart rate pattern identification, obesity in the pregnant woman and children, and enhanced coverage of the QSEN initiative. It also features an abundance of active learning tools so you have ample opportunities to practice applying your knowledge and skills. Nursing care plans help you apply the nursing process to plan individualized care for the most common maternity and pediatric conditions. Critical to Remember boxes summarize and highlight essential, need-to-know information. Critical Thinking Exercises allow you to apply your knowledge to realistic clinical situations. Communication Cues provide practical tips for effective verbal and nonverbal communication with patients and families. Clinical Reference sections in pediatric chapters present information relevant to each body system, including anatomy and physiology, differences in the pediatric patient, and related laboratory and diagnostic tests. Safety Alerts call attention to important patient safety considerations for better outcomes of nursing care. Glossary at the end of the book offers quick access to all key terms and definitions presented in the text. Want to Know boxes provide teaching guidelines such as communication guides directed at patients and families. Pathophysiology boxes present an illustrated overview of disorders. Updated drug guides summarize key medication information. NEW! Completely updated content includes expanded information on the late preterm infant, fetal heart rate pattern identification, obesity in the pregnant woman and children, and the QSEN initiative. UPDATED! Evidence-Based Practice boxes with newly researched topics offer the most current practice guidelines to promote quality care. UPDATED! Online resources offer the best interactive tools to learn in the most effective way possible. NEW! Improved consistency between maternity and pediatric sections makes it easier to switch from one area to the other for more efficient learning.
Call Number: RG951 .M38 2018
PCCN Certification Review PCCN Certification Review, Third Edition is the ideal study guide for nurses preparing to take the Progressive Care Certified Nurse (PCCN) exam administered by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). It includes more than 1,100 questions and comprehensive answers with rationales. The Third Edition has been updated and revised in all sections to reflect changes in the new PCCN test plan, including gerontological issues, cardiac surgery, pacemakers, infectious diseases, and palliative care.
Call Number: RT120.I5 B75 2018
Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice: a practical approach Be ready to prescribe and administer drugs safely and effectively--and grasp all the vitals of pharmacology--with the fully updated Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice, 4th edition. Written by pharmacology nursing experts, this easy-to-read text offers proven frameworks for treating more than 50 common diseases and disorders. Learn how to identify disorders, review possible therapies, then prescribe and monitor drug treatment, accurately. Based on current evidence and real-life patient scenarios, this is the perfect pharmacology learning guide and on-the-spot clinical resource. Absorb the key principles and practical methods for accurate prescribing and monitoring, with . . . NEW chapter on Parkinson's disease, osteoarthritis, and rheumatoid arthritis NEW and updated therapies, and updated and additional case studies, with sample questions NEW content on the impacts of the Affordable Care Act Updated chapters on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) and pharmacogenomics Updated evidence-based algorithms and drug tables - Listing uses, mechanisms, adverse effects, drug interactions, contraindications, and monitoring parameters, organized by drug class; quick access to generic and trade names and dosages Quick-scan format organizes information by body system Chapter features include: Brief overview - Pathophysiology of each disorder, and relevant classes of drugs Monitoring Patient Response section - What to monitor, and when Patient Education section - Includes information on CAM for each disorder Drug Overview tables - Usual dose, contraindications and side effects, and special considerations Algorithms - Visual cues on how to approach treatment Updated Recommended Order of Treatment tables - First-, second- and third-line drug therapies for each disorder Answers to Case Study Questions for each disorder - Strengthens critical thinking skills Selecting the Most Appropriate Agent section - The thought process for choosing an initial drug therapy Principles of Therapeutics unit - Avoiding medication errors; pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics; impact of drug interactions and adverse events; principles of pharmacotherapy for pediatrics, pregnancy/lactation, and geriatrics Disorders units - Pharmacotherapy for disorders in various body systems Pharmacotherapy in Health Promotion unit - Smoking cessation, immunizations, weight management Women's Health unit - Including contraception, menopause, and osteoporosis Integrative Approach to Patient Care unit - Issues to consider when presented with more than one diagnosis Standard pharmacotherapeutics text for nurse practitioners, students, and physician assistants Ancillaries - Case Study answers, multiple choice questions and answers for every chapter, PowerPoints, Acronyms List
Call Number: RM262 .P4685 2017
RN's Study Guide: nursing essentials RN's Study Guide: Nursing Essentials is a unique and user-friendly resource that presents students with need to know information to help them thrive on their path to becoming a nurse. Unlike other texts, it condenses vast amounts of knowledge into manageable basics to help nursing students and professionals understand difficult material, prepare for rigorous tests, and provide optimal care for patients and their families.With a concise and practical approach, RN's Study Guide: Nursing Essentials offers simplified introductions to the major health problems of different systems with important nursing tips and explanations. Also included are useful medical terms, anatomic pointers, points to consider, and precautions.
Call Number: RT41 .L58 2018
Strategies for Creating, Sustaining, and Improving a Culture of Safety in Health Care by Building a culture of safety was just the first step. This second edition of Strategies for Creating, Sustaining, and Improving a Culture of Safety in Health Care expands the idea of building a culture of safety by spotlighting the best articles related to this topic from The Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety. These articles provide unique perspectives of challenges inherent when establishing and maintaining a culture of safety. Health care leaders will learn about initiatives and programs that have helped other health care organizations create, sustain, and improve their culture of safety. These real-world experience provide tested solutions that health care organizations can use to begin safety culture discussions or adapt to strengthen the existing that culture of safety within the organization. Key Topics Implementing programs that establish a culture of safety and accountability. Improving safety culture results. Promoting professionalism. Key Features 20 articles focused on creating, sustaining, and improving culture of safety. 10 classic articles published in the previous edition that continue to provide relevant safety culture knowledge. A matrix that plots the articles according to the topics addressed as they relate to the safety culture maturity model. Key Audience Health care executives. Medical directors. Nursing administrators. Quality improvement and performance improvement professionals. Risk managers.
Call Number: WX185 .S898 2017
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
Management/Employee Development Books
Achieve with Accountability: ignite engagement, ownership, perseverance, alignment & change ACCOUNTABILITY IS THE CATALYST THAT IGNITES: Accelerated Change, Robust Employee Engagement, Intensified Ownership, Relentless Perseverance, Impeccable Alignment, and propels individuals, teams and organizations to desired results. Accountability crumbles silos, boosts teamwork and collaboration, strengthens camaraderie, creativity, resiliency, agility, trust, and communication Achieve with Accountability presents a recipe for awakening the whatever it takes attitude to achieve what matters most to individuals, teams and organizations. Discover how to transform accountability into a positive, engaging and forward looking experience that will secure your position in the new world of work. Learn how to kick-start a revolution that will blast your team or organization to new heights of success. We are in a brawl with no rules, where the fast, flexible and agile will eat and spit out the slow, over-thinking and complacent. When you relinquish accountability you place your future in the hands of other people or events. It's only by taking accountability and ownership for our circumstances that we can achieve what matters most. Embrace the accountability fundamentals that have helped individuals, teams and organizations for years to achieve and exceed what matters most. With the world coming at us fast and furious every day, it's easy to feel like you've lost control of your own life, your team or your organization. By choosing to take and lead accountability you reclaim control and are able to direct your own destiny. Develop the agility, flexibility and resiliency to adapt and thrive during constant change Foster a can-do, resolute, solutions focus in the face of difficult challenges, obstacles and barriers Eradicate the blame-game and vanquish excuse-making that stifles peak performance Shed feelings of disarray, discomfort, apathy, entitlement, indifference and despair Take control over your circumstances and achieve what matters most Unleash voluntary contributions of discretionary performance that is often left untapped in individuals, teams and organizations Establish unshakable trust and credibility Accountability is a current that feeds into the slipstream of success. Your performance, your decisions, and your results are all your responsibility; when you operate from that premise, magic happens. Achieve with Accountability shows you how to nourish that can-do mindset, so you can begin to achieve what matters most.
Call Number: HD58.7 .E84595 2017
Awakening Compassion at Work: the quiet power that elevates people and organizations Caring Is a Competitive AdvantageSuffering in the workplace can rob our colleagues and coworkers of humanity, dignity, and motivation and is an unrecognized and costly drain on organizational potential. Marshaling evidence from two decades of field research, scholars and consultants Monica Worline and Jane Dutton show that alleviating such suffering confers measurable competitive advantages in areas like innovation, collaboration, service quality, and talent attraction and retention. They outline four steps for meeting suffering with compassion and show how to build a capacity for compassion into the structures and practices of an organization�because ultimately, as they write, �Compassion is an irreplaceable dimension of excellence for any organization that wants to make the most of its human capabilities.�
Call Number: HD58.7 .W676 2017
The Death of Expertise: the campaign against knowledge and why it matters People are now exposed to more information than ever before, provided both by technology and by increasing access to every level of education. These societal gains, however, have also helped fuel a surge in narcissistic and misguided intellectual egalitarianism that has crippled informed debates on any number of issues. Today, everyone knows everything: with only a quick trip through WebMD or Wikipedia, average citizens believe themselves to be on an equal intellectual footing with doctors and diplomats. All voices, even the most ridiculous, demand to be taken with equal seriousness, and any claim to the contrary is dismissed as undemocratic elitism. As Tom Nichols shows in The Death of Expertise, this rejection of experts has occurred for many reasons, including the openness of the internet, the emergence of a customer satisfaction model in higher education, and the transformation of the news industry into a 24-hour entertainment machine. Paradoxically, the increasingly democratic dissemination of information, rather than producing an educated public, has instead created an army of ill-informed and angry citizens who denounce intellectual achievement. Nichols has deeper concerns than the current rejection of expertise and learning, noting that when ordinary citizens believe that no one knows more than anyone else, democratic institutions themselves are in danger of falling either to populism or to technocracy-or in the worst case, a combination of both. The Death of Expertise is not only an exploration of a dangerous phenomenon but also a warning about the stability and survival of modern democracy in the Information Age.
Call Number: HM851 .N54 2017
Essentials of Health Care Finance Essentials of Health Care Finance provides health management students and executives with the most authoritative text on financial decision-making in the health care industry.This trusted resource explores finance theory and its practical application in health care across a full range of facilities, from hospitals and home health agencies to skilled nursing facilities, surgical centers and private physician practices.The vast, complex nature of the U.S. health care system renders traditional approaches to finance insufficient. Importantly, Essentials of Health Care Finance couches its discussion of economics, accounting and financial topics firmly within the unique context of the health care industry.Relevant and readable, this Eighth Edition of Essentials of Health Care Finance is fully revised and updated with current, real-world examples of financial problems and solutions as well as the latest financial ratio standards. This new edition also introduces ICD-10 coding and offers comprehensive coverage of the impact of the Affordable Care Act in all relevant chapters. New to the Eighth Edition:* All chapters updated with current examples and the latest financial ratio standards* Coverage of new topics throughout including, the introduction of ICD-10 coding, the impact of the ACA* New discussion of ACOs including ACO type cost variance analysis* Expanded coverage of specific costing of encounters using charge code level data* New discussion of capital project analysis in a health care system framework with corporate decision making* New discussion and examples of hospital acquisition of physician practices
Call Number: RA971.3 .E87 2018
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: choosing among the five approaches In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry.
Call Number: H61 .C73 2018
Stretch: unlock the power of less - and achieve more than you ever imagined A groundbreaking approach to succeeding in business and life, using the science of resourcefulness. We often think the key to success and satisfaction is to get more: more money, time, and possessions; bigger budgets, job titles, and teams; and additional resources for our professional and personal goals. It turns out we’re wrong. Using captivating stories to illustrate research in psychology and management, Rice University professor Scott Sonenshein examines why some people and organizations succeed with so little, while others fail with so much. People and organizations approach resources in two different ways: “chasing” and “stretching.” When chasing, we exhaust ourselves in the pursuit of more. When stretching, we embrace the resources we already have. This frees us to find creative and productive ways to solve problems, innovate, and engage our work and lives more fully. Stretch shows why everyone—from executives to entrepreneurs, professionals to parents, athletes to artists—performs better with constraints; why seeking too many resources undermines our work and well-being; and why even those with a lot benefit from making the most out of a little. Drawing from examples in business, education, sports, medicine, and history, Scott Sonenshein advocates a powerful framework of resourcefulness that allows anybody to work and live better.
Call Number: BF411 .S66 2017
Trust Factor: the science of creating high-performance companies Discover the formula for engagement. For decades, alarms have sounded about declining engagement. Yet companies continue to struggle with toxic cultures, and the low productivity and unhappiness that go with them. Why is "culture' so difficult toimprove? What makes so many good employees check out? Neuroscientist Paul Zak shows that innate brain functions hold the answers. It all boils down to trust. When someone shows you trust, a feel-good jolt of oxytocin surges through your brain and triggers you to reciprocate. This simple mechanism creates a perpetual trust-building cycle-the key to changing stubborn workplace patterns. Drawing on his original research, Zakteases out science-backed insights for building high-trust organizations. Trust Factor opens a window on how brain chemicals affect behavior, why trust gets squashed, and ways to consciously stimulate it by celebrating effort, sharing information, promoting ownership, and more. The Ofactor(TM) survey, data, and examples support the action plans. Engagement programs and monetary rewards are Band-Aids on broken bones. To get to the root of the problem, you've got to go deeper. Packed with examples from The Container Store, Zappos, and Herman Miller, Trust Factor harnesses our neurochemistry to effectively cultivate work places where trust, joy, and commitment compound naturally. "
Call Number: HD58.7 .Z347 2017
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2016, 2015, 2014.
The Art of Waiting: on fertility, medicine and motherhood A brilliant exploration of the natural, medical, psychological, and political facets of fertility When Belle Boggs's "The Art of Waiting" was published inOrion in 2012, it went viral, leading to republication inHarper's Magazine, an interview on NPR'sThe Diane Rehm Show, and a spot at the intersection of "highbrow" and "brilliant" inNew York magazine's "Approval Matrix." In that heartbreaking essay, Boggs eloquently recounts her realization that she might never be able to conceive. She searches the apparently fertile world around her--the emergence of thirteen-year cicadas, the birth of eaglets near her rural home, and an unusual gorilla pregnancy at a local zoo--for signs that she is not alone. Boggs also explores other aspects of fertility and infertility: the way longing for a child plays out in the classic Coen brothers filmRaising Arizona; the depiction of childlessness in literature, fromMacbeth toWho's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?; the financial and legal complications that accompany alternative means of family making; the private and public expressions of iconic writers grappling with motherhood and fertility. She reports, with great empathy, complex stories of couples who adopted domestically and from overseas, LGBT couples considering assisted reproduction and surrogacy, and women and men reflecting on childless or child-free lives. InThe Art of Waiting, Boggs deftly distills her time of waiting into an expansive contemplation of fertility, choice, and the many possible roads to making a life and making a family.
Call Number: RG201 .B553 2016
The Big Letdown: how medicine, big business, and feminism undermine breastfeeding Pediatricians say you should but it's okay if you don't. The hospital says, "Breast is best," but sends you home with formula "just in case." Your sister-in-law says, "Of course you should!" Your mother says, "I didn't, and you turned out just fine." Celebrities are photographed nursing in public, yet breastfeeding mothers are asked to cover up in malls and on airplanes. Breastfeeding is a private act, yet everyone has an opinion about it. How did feeding our babies get so complicated? Journalist and infant health advocate Kimberly Seals Allers breaks breastfeeding out of the realm of "personal choice" and shows our broader connection to an industrialized food system that begins at birth, the fallout of feminist ideals, and the federal policies that are far from family friendly. The Big Letdown uncovers the multibillion-dollar forces battling to replace mothers' milk and the failure of the medical establishment to protect infant health. Weaving together research and personal stories with original reporting on medicine, big pharma, and hospitals, Kimberly Seals Allers shows how mothers and babies have been abandoned by all the forces that should be supporting families from the start--and what we can do to help.
Call Number: RJ216 .S415 2017
Extreme Measures: finding a better path to the end of life For readers of Being Mortal and Modern Death, an ICU and Palliative Care specialist offers a framework for a better way to exit life that will change our medical culture at the deepest level In medical school, no one teaches you how to let a patient die. Jessica Zitter became a doctor because she wanted to be a hero. She elected to specialize in critical care--to become an ICU physician--and imagined herself swooping in to rescue patients from the brink of death. But then during her first code she found herself cracking the ribs of a patient so old and frail it was unimaginable he would ever come back to life. She began to question her choice. Extreme Measures charts Zitter's journey from wanting to be one kind of hero to becoming another--a doctor who prioritizes the patient's values and preferences in an environment where the default choice is the extreme use of technology. In our current medical culture, the old and the ill are put on what she terms the End-of-Life Conveyor belt. They are intubated, catheterized, and even shelved away in care facilities to suffer their final days alone, confused, and often in pain. In her work Zitter has learned what patients fear more than death itself: the prospect of dying badly. She builds bridges between patients and caregivers, formulates plans to allay patients' pain and anxiety, and enlists the support of loved ones so that life can end well, even beautifully. Filled with rich patient stories that make a compelling medical narrative, Extreme Measures enlarges the national conversation as it thoughtfully and compassionately examines an experience that defines being human.
Call Number: R726.8 .Z58 2017
Food Fight: GMO's and the future of the American diet Are GMOs really that bad? A prominent environmental journalist takes a fresh look at what they actually mean for our food system and for us. In the past two decades, GMOs have come to dominate the American diet. Advocates hail them as the future of food, an enhanced method of crop breeding that can help feed an ever-increasing global population and adapt to a rapidly changing environment. Critics, meanwhile, call for their banishment, insisting GMOs were designed by overeager scientists and greedy corporations to bolster an industrial food system that forces us to rely on cheap, unhealthy, processed food so they can turn an easy profit. In response, health-conscious brands such as Trader Joe's and Whole Foods have started boasting that they are "GMO-free," and companies like Monsanto have become villains in the eyes of average consumers. Where can we turn for the truth? Are GMOs an astounding scientific breakthrough destined to end world hunger? Or are they simply a way for giant companies to control a problematic food system? Environmental writer McKay Jenkins traveled across the country to answer these questions and discovered that the GMO controversy is more complicated than meets the eye. He interviewed dozens of people on all sides of the debate--scientists hoping to engineer new crops that could provide nutrients to people in the developing world, Hawaiian papaya farmers who credit GMOs with saving their livelihoods, and local farmers in Maryland who are redefining what it means to be "sustainable." The result is a comprehensive, nuanced examination of the state of our food system and a much-needed guide for consumers to help them make more informed choices about what to eat for their next meal.
Call Number: SB123.57 .J46 2017
Get Well Soon: history's worst plagues and the heroes who fought them In 1518, in a small town in Alsace, Frau Troffea began dancing and didn't stop. She danced until she was carried away six days later, and soon thirty-four more villagers joined her. Then more. In a month more than 400 people had been stricken by the mysterious dancing plague. In late-seventeenth-century England an eccentric gentleman founded the No Nose Club in his gracious townhome-a social club for those who had lost their noses, and other body parts, to the plague of syphilis for which there was then no cure. And in turn-of-the-century New York, an Irish cook caused two lethal outbreaks of typhoid fever, a case that transformed her into the notorious Typhoid Mary.Throughout time, humans have been terrified and fascinated by the diseases history and circumstance have dropped on them. Some of their responses to those outbreaks are almost too strange to believe in hindsight. Get Well Soon delivers the gruesome, morbid details of some of the worst plagues we've suffered as a species, as well as stories of the heroic figures who selflessly fought to ease the suffering of their fellow man. With her signature mix of in-depth research and storytelling, and not a little dark humor, Jennifer Wright explores history's most gripping and deadly outbreaks, and ultimately looks at the surprising ways they've shaped history and humanity for almost as long as anyone can remember.
Call Number: RA649 .W75 2017
The Inkblots: Herman Rorschach, his iconic test, and the power of seeing The captivating, untold story of Hermann Rorschach and his famous inkblot test In 1917, working alone in a remote Swiss asylum, psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach devised an experiment to probe the human mind: a set of ten carefully designed inkblots. For years he had grappled with the theories of Freud and Jung while also absorbing the aesthetic movements of the day, from Futurism to Dadaism. A visual artist himself, Rorschach had come to believe that who we are is less a matter of what we say, as Freud thought, than what we see. After Rorschach's early death, his test quickly made its way to America, where it took on a life of its own. Co-opted by the military after Pearl Harbor, it was a fixture at the Nuremberg trials and in the jungles of Vietnam. It became an advertising staple, a clich#65533; in Hollywood and journalism, and an inspiration to everyone from Andy Warhol to Jay Z. The test was also given to millions of defendants, job applicants, parents in custody battles, and people suffering from mental illness or simply trying to understand themselves better. And it is still used today. In this first-ever biography of Rorschach, Damion Searls draws on unpublished letters and diaries and a cache of previously unknown interviews with Rorschach's family, friends, and colleagues to tell the unlikely story of the test's creation, its controversial reinvention, and its remarkable endurance--and what it all reveals about the power of perception. Elegant and original, The Inkblots shines a light on the twentieth century's most visionary synthesis of art and science.
Call Number: RC438.6.R667 S43 2017
What's New in Current Awareness?