Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Advanced Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning Advanced Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning, Third Edition covers the diagnostic reasoning process that providers must follow when assessing an actual case. The text outlines each step of the health assessment process and further demonstrates the link between health history and physical examination. It also provides the healthcare professional with the essential data needed to formulate a diagnosis and treatment plan.New Online Course!Advanced Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning, Third Edition features Navigate Premier Access, a robust online course complete with interactive lectures, eBook with health assessment videos and audio clips, syllabus, instructor resource guide, image bank, practice activities, discussion questions, and testing items. Key Features:* Outlines the health assessment and diagnostic reasoning process for a nurse practitioner assessing a new patient* Provides the essential data needed to formulate a diagnosis and treatment plan* Covers the anatomy and physiology of each system* Includes coverage of specific populations (pediatric, pregnancy, geriatric)* Navigate 2 Premier Access
Call Number: RT48 .R48 2018
Applying Conceptual Models of Nursing: quality improvement, research, and practice This practical resource for nursing students, educators, researchers, and practitioners provides content about the conceptual models of nursing that are used as organizing frameworks for nursing practice, quality improvement projects, and research. Chapters break these abstract models down into their core concepts and definitions. Discussions of each model provide examples of practical application so readers can employ these organizing frameworks. This is the only book to apply these models to quality improvement projects, particularly those in DNP programs and clinical agencies. For every conceptual model, diagrams, information boxes, and other visual elements clarify and reinforce information. Each chapter features applications of the conceptual models to a wide variety of examples, including nursing practice assessment and an intervention, a literature review and descriptive qualitative, instrument development, correlational, experimental, and mixed-method studies. Other valuable features include faculty templates for practice, quality improvement, and research methodologies for each conceptual model, along with extensive references. Key Features: Focuses on applying conceptual models in practiceDemonstrates how a wide range of nursing conceptual models are applied to nursing practice, quality improvement, and researchPowerPoint templates for each conceptual model avaliable to facultyProvides abundant diagrams, boxes, and other visual elements to clarify and reinforce informationIncludes an extensive list of references for each conceptual model
Call Number: RT84.5 .F392 2017
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures Healthcare providers in the American medical system may find that patients from different cultures bring unfamiliar expectations, anxieties, and needs into the examination room. To provide optimal care for all patients, it is important to see differences from the patient's perspective and to work with patients from a range of demographics. Caring for Patients from Different Cultures has been a vital resource for nurses and physicians for more than twenty years, offering hundreds of case studies that illustrate crosscultural conflicts or misunderstandings as well as examples of culturally competent health care. Now in its fifth edition, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures covers a wide range of topics, including birth, end of life, communication, traditional medicine, mental health, pain, religion, and multicultural staff challenges. This edition includes more than sixty new cases with an expanded appendix, introduces a new chapter on improving adherence, and updates the concluding chapter with examples of changes various hospitals have made to accommodate cultural differences. Grounded in concepts from the fields of cultural diversity and medical anthropology, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures provides healthcare workers with a frame of reference for understanding cultural differences and sound alternatives for providing the best possible care to multicultural communities.
Call Number: RT86.54 .G35 2015
Caring Matters Most: the ethical significance of nursing Through an exploration of the ethical nature of nursing, Caring Matters Most asserts that the act of nursing itself embodies goodness. Nurses can develop this moral character in themselves by cultivating five habits: trustworthiness, imagination, beauty, space, and presence. Practicing thesehabits will sustain nurses as they meet the challenges of the workplace, the threat of automation, and the incivilities that arise within the nursing community. The volume concludes with thought-provoking discussion questions and exercises designed to help nurses apply concepts in the classroom orin practice. Each chapter combines highly readable explanations of moral theory with real-life examples that can guide nurses in day-to-day practice. Caring Matters Most is an ideal resource for academic or practicing nurses interested in healthcare ethics or philosophy.
Call Number: RT51 .E89 2016
The Case Manager's Survival Guide: winning strategies in the new healthcare environment Revised, updated, expanded edition of essential book for case managers in nursing, healthcare and other professional disciplines New information on the ACA, value-based purchasing, accountable care organizations, emerging reimbursement methods, transitions of care, changing accreditation standards and much more A proven textbook for university courses, CCM exam prep, and continuing education Hundreds of case studies, finance formulas, practical pointers and sample problems The third edition of this important book adds over 10 years of new data, facts and experience needed by professional case managers, administrators and students of case management. This new edition incorporates the impacts of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, value-based purchasing methods, care coordination strategies, transition planning, and case management software. Like the previous editions, the book is written to assist the professional and student, especially in the field of nursing, with practical guidance for understanding and mastering the techniques of managing cases in multiple healthcare settings: pre-acute, acute, and post-acute. At once practical and comprehensive, the new and expanded edition provides recent financial, legal and medical information required by case managers to succeed in the evolving environment of healthcare delivery. The result is an essential resource for individuals and interdisciplinary teams from many professional backgrounds, who can use the know-how in this volume for coordinating care, containing costs, and improving quality and the patient experience. The Case Manager's Survival Guide is also a proven textbook, used by hundreds of instructors and students in university and continuing education courses, as well by those preparing for the CCM exam.
Call Number: RT90.7 .C47 2017
Exploring Evidence-Based Practice: debates and challenges in nursing Despite sustained debate and progress the evolving thing that is evidence based nursing or practice (EBP) continues to dangle a variety of conceptual and practical loose threads. Moreover, when we think about what is being asked of students and registered or licenced practitioners in terms of EBP, it is difficult not to concede that this 'ask' is in many instances quite large and, occasionally, it may be unachievable. EBP has and continues to improve patient, client and user care. Yet significant questions concerning its most basic elements remain unresolved and, if nurses are to contribute to the resolution or reconfiguration of these questions then, as a first step, we must acknowledge their existence. From a range of international standpoints and perspectives, contributors to this book focus on aspects of EBP that require development. This focus is always robust and at times it is unashamedly provocative. Contributors challenge readers to engage with anomalies that surround the subject and readers are asked to consider the often precarious assumptions that underpin key aspects of EBP. While both conflict and concord are evident among the various offerings presented here, the book nonetheless creates and sustains a narrative that is bigger or more substantial than the sum of individual parts. And, across contributions, a self-assuredly critical stance towards EBP as currently practiced, conceptualized and taught coexists alongside respectful admiration for all who make it happen. Exploring Evidence-based Practice: Debates and Challenges in Nursing should be considered essential reading for academics and postgraduate students with an interest in evidence-based practice and nursing research.
Call Number: RT51 .E89 2016
Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual Ready to learn health assessment skills? The fully updated Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition, shows you how%with humor, great visuals, and real-life scenarios. Hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe. Fulfill the requirements of student nursing%and start your nursing practice with a high standard%with this top-level direction on performing solid, accurate health assessments! Benefit from the expert wisdom of this invaluable guide, featuring . . . - NEW content on geriatric care from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth and Fifth Edition (DSM-4 and DSM-5) - Simple-to-use and easy-to-follow guidance on all aspects of health assessment - Fully illustrated examples of best practices - Current nursing standards for each type of assessment - Support for accurate assessment - Guides you through the anatomy and assessment processes for each body system or health issue, including skin, hair, and nails; eyes and ears; nose, mouth, throat, and neck; pregnancy, and the respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, neurologic, and genitourinary systems - Step-by-step guidance on examination skills with photos, diagrams, drawings, and descriptions for areas including: - Use of examination tools and equipment - Choosing, using, and interpreting assessment tests - Spotting abnormalities - Palpating the nose and maxillary sinuses - Measuring diaphragm movement - Percussing the chest - Measuring vision - Assessing eye muscle function - Hearing and voice assessments - Special chapter features: - Take Note - Real-life examples of documentation for complex conditions - Outside the norm - Photos and explanations of abnormalities - Memory board - Memory tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments - Symptom synopsis - Symptoms, key facts, and possible causes for numerous conditions - Skill check - Expert guidance, backed by real-life photos, - on how to examine and assess different body systems and - functions - Q&A - End-of-chapter quizzes%puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions to help you retain essential information
Call Number: RT48 .H448 2017
Initiating and Sustaining the Clinical Nurse Leader Role: a practical guide Initiating and Sustaining the Clinical Nurse Leader Role, Third Edition illustrates the influence of clinical nurse leaders on care coordination, health promotion, and high-performance inter-professional care teams. The Third Edition will move beyond the 2007 American Association of Colleges of Nursing CNL White Paper and incorporate the CNL Competencies introduced in October 2013. This text presents a bold agenda for CNL practice, one that promotes value in the transformation of clinical care redesign. The Third Edition will cover the following:* Moving beyond the triple aim toward the quadruple aim* Increased emphasis on a new healthcare environment where CNLs practice* The clinical value compass for improving care* Care transitions and the CNL* Health policy engagement and advocacy* Population health and management* Inter-professional collaboration* Resource mindfulness* Project management tools, scope, design, and evaluation* Incorporating the 5Ps and models for improvement* Exemplars of CNL impacts across care settings* CNL certification, professional membership, and residency programs value* Vision for CNLs in 2020
Call Number: RT82.8 .I555 2018
Invitation to Holistic Health: a guide to living a balanced life Invitation to Holistic Health: A Guide to Living a Balanced Life, Fourth Edition, features solid principles and proven practices to promote optimal health and well-being using a holistic approach. The text is divided into four parts: Strengthening Your Inner Resources; Developing Healthy Lifestyle Practices; Taking Charge of Challenges to the Body, Mind, and Spirit; and Safe Use of Complementary and Alternative Therapies. This easy-to-read guide provides how-to information for dealing with a variety of health-related issues, including nutrition, exercise, herbal remedies, and homeopathic remedies, to name a few. Unlike other holistic health textbooks, the Fourth Edition promotes a variety of therapies and provides evidence to support the practice of each one. New to the Fourth Edition:* Updated research related to holistic health and practices* Expanded coverage of obesity and diversity* Tips for practitioners on providing holistic care in conventional settings* Discussion around the integration of conventional medicine and alternative therapies
Call Number: R733 .E425 2018
Nurse Practitioner Certification Examination and Practice Preparation Start preparing for your future - today! The new edition of this award-winning text, written by renowned NP educator and certification preparation expert Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald. A must read for anyone taking the NP certification exam. Develop critical thinking and test-taking skills for the exam and the firm knowledge-base needed for both the exam and practice. The 5th edition delivers the latest guidelines, recommendations, diagnostic and treatment protocols, and procedures -everything critical to passing the NP boards. More than 2,300 prep questions, available online and in text to reinforce learning and practice test-taking skills.
Call Number: RT 120 .F34 F55 2017
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Fourth Edition teaches nursing students the history of healthcare informatics, current issues, basic informatics concepts, and health information management applications. This comprehensive text contains basic through complex concepts to address the needs of the novice through innovator. The text takes the reader from the building blocks of informatics through complicated topics such as data mining, bioinformatics, and system development. The content is enhanced through its grounding in the Foundation of Knowledge Model founded by the authors. The purpose of this text is to provide a set of practical and powerful tools to ensure that students gain a solid understanding of Nursing Informatics and is able to move from information through knowledge to wisdom. The field of Informatics is a rapidly growing and ever-changing. In accordance with industry changes the Fourth Edition has been update to include two competency based assessment tools: TANIC and NICA L3/L4. New to the Fourth Edition Coverage of change theory Updates on EHR systems and their increased use Information on SMART technologies and patient safety New tools including wearables, connectivity, virtual patient tools, apps Simulated clinical experiences
Call Number: RT50.5 .N8693 2018
Patient Safety: investigating and reporting serious clinical incidents At a time of increasing regulatory scrutiny and medico-legal risk, managing serious clinical incidents within primary care has never been more important. Failure to manage appropriately can have serious consequences both for service organisations and for individuals involved. This is the first book to provide detailed guidance on how to conduct incident investigations in primary care. The concise guide explains how to recognise a serious clinical incident, how to conduct a root cause analysis investigation, and how and when duty of candour applies covers the technical aspects of serious incident recognition and report writing includes a wealth of practical advice and 'top tips', including how to manage the common pitfalls in writing reports offers practical advice as well as some new and innovative tools to help make the RCA process easier to follow explores the all-important human factors in clinical incidents in detail, with multiple examples and worked-through cases studies as well as in-depth sample reports and analysis. This book offers a master class for anyone performing RCA and aiming to demonstrate learning and service improvement in response to serious clinical incidents. It is essential reading for any clinical or governance leads in primary care, including GP practices, 'out-of-hours', urgent care centres, prison health and NHS 111. It also offers valuable insights to any clinician who is in training or working at the coal face who wishes to understand how serious clinical are investigated and managed.
Call Number: R729.8 .K45 2017
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Third Edition is an essential resource for advanced practice nursing students in master's and doctoral programs. This text is appropriate for students needing an introductory understanding of philosophy and how a theory is constructed as well as students and nurses who understand theory at an advanced level. The Third Edition features expanded discussion of the AACN DNP essentials which is critical for DNP students as well as PhD students who need a better understanding of the DNP-educated nurse's role.Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Third Edition covers a wide variety of theories in addition to nursing theories. Coverage of non-nursing related theory is beneficial to nurses because of the growing national emphasis on collaborative, interdisciplinary patient care.New to the Third Edition: * Updated content based on current literature and practice* New chapter on nursing theories related to health inequity and disparities * Expanded coverage of the DNP degree * New case studies
Call Number: RT84.5 .P56 2018
Skills Performance Checklists for Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques Master the latest clinical skills and techniques you need to succeed as a nurse with Skills Performance Checklists for Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 9th Edition! Over 200 perforated, step-by-step checklists cover every skill and procedural guideline from Perry, Potter and Ostendorf's main text. It's the must-have lab tool to help you build and easily assess your clinical skills proficiency Over 200 skills performance checklists cover every skill and procedural guideline from the Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 9th Edition text. Thorough and convenient documentation of skill mastery makes it easy to self-evaluate your performance of specific skills. NEW! Updated content ensures every checklist reflects the latest accepted clinical practice.
Call Number: RT51 .P365 2018
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
Management/Employee Development Books
Basics of the U. S. Health Care System Basics of the U.S. Health Care System, Third Edition provides a broad, fundamental introduction to the workings of the healthcare industry. Engaging and activities-oriented, the text offers an accessible overview of the major concepts of healthcare operations, the role of government, public and private financing, as well as ethical and legal issues. Each chapter features review exercises and internet resources that make studying this complex industry both enjoyable and stimulating. Students of various disciplines--including healthcare administration, business, nursing, public health, and others--will discover a practical guide that prepares them for professional opportunities in this rapidly growing sector.The Third Edition has been updated substantially to reflect the many recent changes as a result of the Affordable Care Act and its mandates. This edition also offers:* A new activity at the end of each chapter that engages the reader in relating the chapter content to current events using internet research.* Expanded coverage of law, ethics, and bioethical issues including end-of-life care and advanced directives.* New sections addressing issues related to the health and legal rights of the LGBT population
Call Number: RA445 .N49 2018
The Card Catalog: books, cards and literary treasures The Library of Congress brings booklovers an enriching tribute to the power of the written word and to the history of our most beloved books. Featuring more than 200 full-color images of original catalog cards, first edition book covers, and photographs from the library's magnificent archives, this collection is a visual celebration of the rarely seen treasures in one of the world's most famous libraries and the brilliant catalog system that has kept it organized for hundreds of years. Packed with engaging facts on literary classics-from Ulysses to The Cat in the Hat to Shakespeare's First Folio to The Catcher in the Rye--this package is an ode to the enduring magic and importance of books.
Call Number: Z733.U6 C36 2017
Health Care Information Systems: a practical approach for health care management The bestselling guide to the field, updated with a new, more relevant perspective Health Care Information Systems is the gold-standard textbook for the field, providing in-depth coverage of real-world health information management. Merging general concepts with practical detail, this book provides students with a highly transferable skill set that transitions seamlessly into practice. This new fourth edition has been completely reworked to reflect the health care system's evolving needs, providing a big-picture health system perspective on information systems throughout the continuum of care. Coverage of new and emerging technologies and population health management offers engaging discussion of current shifts in the health care industry, and case studies have been updated and expanded to provide additional illustration of important concepts. Recent years have brought significant changes to the health care industry, and information management is becoming an increasingly critical part of managing health and healthcare; this book provides essential guidance toward all aspects of the field. Learn how information systems are used across the health care continuum Discover the role of IT in managing health, patient engagement, and care management Explore the latest technologies that facilitate the management of sensitive information Delve into increasing trends, such as population health management Health care reform, accountable care, and an increasingly global focus has turned the health care data stream into a deluge. Information systems are becoming increasingly powerful, but they are of little use unless backed by practitioners with a deep understanding of both information management and the health care system. Health Care Information Systems equips future health care managers to serve the needs of any health care organization.
Call Number: R858 .W34 2017
Health Information Management: concepts, principles, and practice This book offers content to assist students and professionals already working in the healthcare field to understand the value of quality information from the point of patient-specific data collection to the aggregation of that data to generate information that can then be utilized to increase knowledge and support decision making. New topics include data governance, and stewardship, health data analytics, data visualization, clinical documentation improvement, customer informatics and data privacy and security.
Call Number: R858 .H43 2016x
Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters: cover letters and strategies to get the job you want Cover letters that get noticed, get read, and get the interview! In the newest edition of his classic cover letter guide, job search expert Martin Yate shows you how to dramatically increase your chance of landing an interview. The key, as Yate explains, is to use language drawn from the job posting itself, words that will send your application to the top of database searches. In this completely updated guide, you'll find numerous sample cover letters, along with Yate's tried and proven methods to: Determine relevant keywords to get attention--and use them effectively Clearly display your personal brand and the transferable skills you bring to the job Find the right contact information that gets your material in front of decision-making managers and recruiters Use social media sites such as LinkedIn to create an effective online profile and build professional and personal networks With Martin Yate's expert advice, you'll create unique and compelling cover letters that will grab employers' attention and get you in the door!
Call Number: HF5383 .Y378 2016
Overcoming Bias: building authentic realtionships across differences Everybody's biased. We all harbor unconscious assumptions that get in the way of our good intentions and keep us from working harmoniously and effectively with other people. In our increasingly diverse society this can be a real stumbling block. Tiffany Jana and Matthew Freeman--consultants who also happen to be a biracial couple--argue that ultimately the only way to really overcome bias is to focus our energy on building relationships. We need to extend our circle of trust to include people who are different from us in many ways - race, religion, sex, ethnicity, sexual orientation, education, socioeconomic class, and ability. These differences can enrich our lives and expand our perspectives.Overcoming Bias doesn't advocate setting some kind of friend quota, merely that we seek out experiences that challenge our presuppositions and expose us to people, cultures, and ideas outside of our usual comfort zone. But this also requires some work on ourselves. Through vivid stories, soul-searching reflection, and fun (yes, fun!) exercises and activities Jana and Freeman help us become aware of our own biases, stereotypes, and unacknowledged privileges. This book will provide you with everything you need to understand bias, talk about it with increased fluency, and overcome it so you can build stronger relationships.
Call Number: BF575.P9 J35 2016
Process Redesign for Health Care Using Lean Thinking: a guide for improving patient flow and the quality and safety of care Process Redesign for Health Care Using Lean Thinking is a response to a simple, but hard to answer, question and is the result of the experiences of a working doctor who was also the chief safety and quality officer of an Australian teaching hospital. At this hospital, he observed that the Emergency Department was staff by talented, well-trained, and respected doctors and nurses. The facilities were modern, and the work load unexceptional, but the department was close to melt down. Bad things were happening to patients, everyone was blaming each other, lots of things had been tried but nothing was getting better and no one could explain why. The problem was not a lack of technical knowledge or expertise, the problem was that no one stood back and said, "what's the best way to move 200 or 300 patients a day through the complicated and varying, sequence of steps needed to sort out the many different problems that bring patients to our department?" These challenges are faced by hospitals and health services all over the world. There are difficulties with patient flow, congestion, queues, inefficient utilization of resources, problems engaging clinical staff in improvement programs, adverse incidents, and budget constraints. Lean thinking and value stream analysis gives hospitals and health services struggling with these issues the insights they need to help themselves. This book provides a method that systematically turns those insights into working programs of service and system redesign. The book is divided into two sections. The first section gives the background to the approach, and systematically works through the Process Redesign methodology, step-by-step. The second section is a series of case studies that show the methodology in action, what worked and what didn't work. The goal of any process redesign is simple: the right care, for the right person, at the right time, in the right place, and right the first time. This book helps the people who work in hospitals and health services realize these goals by working together.
Call Number: RA971 .B46 2017
Project Management: a systems approach to planning, scheduling and controlling THE #1 GUIDE FOR STUDENTS AND PROFESSIONALS, NOW UPDATED FOR THE LATEST TRENDS AND EMERGING ISSUES Project Management, or the "Project Management bible" as it's widely known, provides practical guidance on all aspects of project management. It features a streamlined approach to PM functions without stinting on detailed coverage of the tools and methods used at all stages of a project. This 12th Edition has been updated to reflect industry changes and features in-depth coverage of emerging topics, including global stakeholder management, causes of failure, agile project management, project governance failure, customer approval milestones, classifying project metrics, and more. Also, supplementary materials are available for students, professionals, and instructors. Understand organizational structures and project management functions Learn how to control costs, manage risk, and analyze trade-offs Examine different methods used for planning, scheduling, QA, and more Work effectively with customers and stakeholders from around the globe As projects increase in scope and complexity, managing them across time zones, language barriers, and technology platforms requires a systematic approach that accounts for every detail. All the more reason to keep Project Management, 12th Edition within arm's reach throughout all stages of the projects you manage.
Call Number: HD69.P75 K47 2017
Quantum Leadership: creating sustainable value in health care Quantum Leadership: Creating Sustainable Value in Health Care, Fifth Edition provides students with a solid overview and understanding of leadership in today's complex healthcare delivery system. The Fifth Edition discusses leadership within the context of a new understanding of complex adaptive systems and complex responsive processes. Rather than focus on the mechanics of operations and function, this text emphasizes the characteristics and role of the complex leader through both describing the context of complexity and the application of the role as a leader of these complex systems.Quantum Leadership: Creating Sustainable Value in Health Care, Fifth Edition is unique in that it addresses the postindustrial, complex and highly mobile organizational systems and emphasizes the characteristics, elements, and role of leaders in guiding individuals and teams through effectively navigating work in these essentially new models. In addition, the text integrates the essential requirements for Quality Matters certification of online courses that are used as benchmarks in many colleges and universities. Key Features: New case studiesUpdated quiz questionsNew chapter takeawaysNavigate 2 Advantage Access
Call Number: HD57.7 .P666 2018
Succession Planning That Works: the crtical path of leadership development Many attempts to establish a succession plan fail. Why? They run up against insurmountable implementation challenges, or weak executive commitment and follow-through. Succession Planning That Works: The Critical Path of Leadership Development is a step-by-step guide to help HR professionals and senior leaders develop a succession plan that delivers a measurable return on investment. Based on in-depth interviews with senior executives from nearly 50 organizations, Succession Planning That Works reveals not only the most important components of effective succession planning, but also the most effective order in which to put them into practice. Packed with real-world examples, Succession Planning That Works shows how real companies have attempted to tackle succession planning issues and examines both their victories and their failures to highlight the most common pitfalls and how to avoid them. Topics include: 13 reasons to begin succession planning now, How to calculate the ROI of promoting from within, the Succession Planning Critical Path the most efficient and effective way to implement a succession plan, how to gain or strengthen executive buy-in for succession planning, how to measure your success. Also included are 20 downloadable templates and tools to help make succession planning easier to comprehend and implement."
Call Number: HD38.2 .T55 2016x
Time Talent Energy: overcome organizational drag & unleash your team's productive power Business leaders know that the key to competitive success is smart management of scarce resources. That’s why companies allocate their financial capital so carefully. But capital today is cheap and abundant, no longer a source of advantage. The truly scarce resources now are the time, the talent, and the energy of the people in your organization--resources that are too often squandered. There’s plenty of advice about how to manage them, but most of it focuses on individual actions. What’s really needed are organizational solutions that can unleash a company’s full productive power and enable it to outpace competitors. Building off of the popular Harvard Business Review article, "Your Scarcest Resource,” Michael Mankins and Eric Garton, Bain & Company experts in organizational design and effectiveness, present new research into how you can liberate people’s time, talent, and energy and unleash your organization’s productive power. They identify the specific causes of organizational drag--the collection of institutional factors that slow things down, decrease output, and drain people’s energy--and then offer a simple framework for how managers can overcome it. With practical advice for using the framework and in-depth examples showing how the best companies manage their people’s time, talent, and energy with as much discipline as they do their financial capital, this book shows managers how to create a virtuous circle of high performance.
Call Number: HD58.9 .M3555 2017
Why Motivating People Doesn't Work ... and What Does: the new science of leading, energizing, and engaging Top leadership researcher, consultant, and coach Susan Fowler says stop trying to motivate people! It's frustrating for everyone involved and it just doesn't work. You can't motivate people--they are already motivated but generally in superficial and short-term ways. In this book, Fowler builds upon the latest scientific research on the nature of human motivation to lay out a tested model and course of action that will help leaders guide their people toward the kind of motivation that not only increases productivity and engagement but that gives them a profound sense of purpose and fulfillment.Fowler argues that leaders still depend on traditional carrot-and-stick techniques because they haven't understood their alternatives and don't know what skills are necessary to apply the new science of motivation. Her Optimal Motivation process shows leaders how to move people away from dependence on external rewards and help them discover how their jobs can meet the deeper psychological needs--for autonomy, relatedness, and competence--that science tells us result in meaningful and sustainable motivation. Optimal Motivation has been proven in organizations all over the world--Fowler's clients include Microsoft, CVS, NASA, the Catholic Leadership Institute, H&R Block, Mattel, and dozens more. Throughout the book, she illustrates how each step of the process works using real-life examples. Susan Fowler 's book is the groundbreaking answer for leaders who want to get motivation right!
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 F69 2017
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2016, 2015, 2014.
Deadliest Enemy: our war against killer germs We are facing an overwhelming army of deadly, invisible enemies. We need a plan -- before it's too late. Unlike natural disasters, whose destruction is concentrated in a limited area over a period of days, and illnesses, which have devastating effects but are limited to individuals and their families, infectious disease has the terrifying power to disrupt everyday life on a global scale, overwhelming public and private resources and bringing trade and transportation to a grinding halt. In today's world, it's easier than ever to move people, animals, and materials around the planet, but the same advances that make modern infrastructure so efficient have made epidemics and even pandemics nearly inevitable. And as outbreaks of Ebola, MERS, yellow fever, and Zika have demonstrated, we are woefully underprepared to deal with the fallout. So what can -- and must -- we do in order to protect ourselves from mankind's deadliest enemy? Drawing on the latest medical science, case studies, policy research, and hard-earned epidemiological lessons, Deadliest Enemy explores the resources and programs we need to develop if we are to keep ourselves safe from infectious disease. The authors show how we could wake up to a reality in which many antibiotics no longer cure, bioterror is a certainty, and the threat of a disastrous influenza pandemic looms ever larger. Only by understanding the challenges we face can we prevent the unthinkable from becoming the inevitable. Deadliest Enemy is high scientific drama, a chronicle of medical mystery and discovery, a reality check, and a practical plan of action.
Call Number: RA651 .O87 2017x
Inferno: a doctor's ebola story Dr. Steven Hatch first came to Liberia in November 2013, to work at a hospital in Monrovia. Six months later, several of the physicians Dr. Hatch had mentored and served with were dead or barely clinging to life, and Ebola had become a world health emergency. Hundreds of victims perished each week; whole families were destroyed in a matter of days; so many died so quickly that the culturally taboo practice of cremation had to be instituted to dispose of the bodies. With little help from the international community and a population ravaged by disease and fear, the war-torn African nation was simply unprepared to deal with the catastrophe. A physician's memoir about the ravages of a terrible disease and the small hospital that fought to contain it, Inferno is also an explanation of the science and biology of Ebola: how it is transmitted and spreads with such ferocity. And as Dr. Hatch notes, while Ebola is temporarily under control, it will inevitably re-emerge-as will other plagues, notably the Zika virus, which the World Health Organization has declared a public health emergency. Inferno is a glimpse into the white-hot center of a crisis that will come again.
Call Number: RC140.5 .H38 2017
The Inheritance: a family on the front lines of the battle against alzheimer's disease An inspiring race against time: The courageous, hopeful story of the one family who may hold the key to finding a cure for Alzheimer’s disease. Every sixty-nine seconds, someone is diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Of the top ten killers, it is the only disease for which there is no cure or treatment. For most people, there is nothing that they can do to fight back. But one family is doing all they can. The DeMoe family has the most devastating form of the disease that there is: early onset Alzheimer’s, an inherited genetic mutation that causes the disease in 100 percent of cases, and has a 50 percent chance of being passed onto the next generation. Of the six DeMoe children whose father had it, five have inherited the ge≠ the sixth, Karla, has inherited responsibility for all of them. But rather than give up in the face of such news, the DeMoes have agreed to spend their precious, abbreviated years as part of a worldwide study that could utterly change the landscape of Alzheimer’s research and offers the brightest hope for future treatments—and possibly a cure. Drawing from several years of in-depth research with this charming and upbeat family, journalist Niki Kapsambelis tells the story of Alzheimer’s through the humanizing lens of these ordinary people made extraordinary by both their terrible circumstances and their bravery. Their tale is intertwined with the dramatic narrative history of the disease, the cutting-edge research that brings us ever closer to a possible cure, and the accounts of the extraordinary doctors spearheading these groundbreaking studies. From the oil fields of North Dakota to the jungles of Colombia, this incredible narrative redefines courage in the face of one of the most pervasive and mysterious pandemics of our time.
Call Number: RC523 .K37 2017
Mercies in Disguise: a story of hope, a family's genetic destiny, and the science that rescued them The phone rings; the doctor has the results. "Are you ready Amanda?" The two people Amanda Baxley loves the most had begged her not to be tested. But she had to find out.If your family carried a mutated gene that foretold brutal illness and you could find out if you inherited it, would you do it? Would you confront it, accepting whatever answer came? Or ignore it while you could? In Mercies in Disguise, acclaimed New York Times reporter and bestselling author Gina Kolata tells the story of the Baxleys, an upstanding family in small town South Carolina. Many of them were doctors, but still, they are struck down by an inscrutable illness. Finally, they discover the cause of the disease after a remarkable sequence of providential events. Meanwhile, science, progressing for 50 years along a parallel track, handed the Baxleys a question - not a cure, but a blood test that would reveal who had the gene for the disease. Science offered another dilemma - fertility specialists had created a way to spare the children. A work of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of the The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Mercies in Disguise tells the story of a family that took matters into its own hands when medicine could not help. It's a story of a family dealing with unspeakable tragedy without being driven apart. It is the story of a young woman-Amanda Baxley - who faced the future, determined to find a way to disrupt her destiny.
Call Number: RB155.5 .K65 2017
Our Bodies, Our Data: how companies make billions selling our medical records How the hidden trade in our sensitive medical information became a multibillion-dollar business, but has done little to improve our health-care outcomes Hidden to consumers, patient medical data has become a multibillion-dollar worldwide trade industry between our health-care providers, drug companies, and a complex web of middlemen. This great medical-data bazaar sells copies of the prescription you recently filled, your hospital records, insurance claims, blood-test results, and more, stripped of your name but possibly with identifiers such as year of birth, gender, and doctor. As computing grows ever more sophisticated, patient dossiers become increasingly vulnerable to reidentification and the possibility of being targeted by identity thieves or hackers. Paradoxically, comprehensive electronic files for patient treatment--the reason medical data exists in the first place--remain an elusive goal. Even today, patients or their doctors rarely have easy access to comprehensive records that could improve care. In the evolution of medical data, the instinct for profit has outstripped patient needs. This book tells the human, behind-the-scenes story of how such a system evolved internationally. It begins with New York advertising man Ludwig Wolfgang Frohlich, who founded IMS Health, the world's dominant health-data miner, in the 1950s. IMS Health now gathers patient medical data from more than 45 billion transactions annually from 780,000 data feeds in more than 100 countries. Our Bodies, Our Data uncovers some of Frohlich's hidden past and follows the story of what happened in the following decades. This is both a story about medicine and medical practice, and about big business and maximizing profits, and the places these meet, places most patients would like to believe are off-limits. Our Bodies, Our Data seeks to spark debate on how we can best balance the promise big data offers to advance medicine and improve lives while preserving the rights and interests of every patient. We, the public, deserve a say in this discussion. After all, it's our data.
Call Number: R858 .T34 2017
Sensemaking: the power of the humanities in the age of the algorithm A Financial Times "Business Book of the Month" Based on his work at some of the world's largest companies, including Ford, Adidas, and Chanel, Christian Madsbjerg's Sensemaking is a provocative stand against the tyranny of big data and scientism, and an urgent, overdue defense of human intelligence. Humans have become subservient to algorithms. Every day brings a new Moneyball fix--a math whiz who will crack open an industry with clean fact-based analysis rather than human intuition and experience. As a result, we have stopped thinking. Machines do it for us. Christian Madsbjerg argues that our fixation with data often masks stunning deficiencies, and the risks for humankind are enormous. Blind devotion to number crunching imperils our businesses, our educations, our governments, and our life savings. Too many companies have lost touch with the humanity of their customers, while marginalizing workers with liberal arts-based skills. Contrary to popular thinking, Madsbjerg shows how many of today's biggest success stories stem not from "quant" thinking but from deep, nuanced engagement with culture, language, and history. He calls his method sensemaking. In this landmark book, Madsbjerg lays out five principles for how business leaders, entrepreneurs, and individuals can use it to solve their thorniest problems. He profiles companies using sensemaking to connect with new customers, and takes readers inside the work process of sensemaking "connoisseurs" like investor George Soros, architect Bjarke Ingels, and others. Both practical and philosophical, Sensemaking is a powerful rejoinder to corporate groupthink and an indispensable resource for leaders and innovators who want to stand out from the pack.
Call Number: HD30.19 .M222 2017
What's New in Current Awareness?