Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Critical Care Nursing: diagnosis and management Get a firm understanding and mastery of the unique issues and procedures involved in critical care nursing with Critical Care Nursing: Diagnosis and Management, 8th Edition. Praised for its comprehensive coverage and clear organization, this market-leading text offers a great foundation in the realities and challenges of today's critical care unit that's perfect for both nursing students and practicing nurses alike. This new edition also features enhanced integration of QSEN and interprofessional collaborative practice, plus expanded coverage of leadership, post-ICU outcomes and highly contagious infections. Revamped case studies, Patient Teaching boxes, Evidence-Based Practice boxes, Patient Safety Alerts, and other learning tools further develop your critical thinking skills and prepare you for success in high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. UNIQUE! Nursing management plans of care feature approximately 35 NANDA-I nursing diagnoses to provide a detailed, ready-to-use, clinically current reference for safe, effective patient care. Consistent organization within each body-system unit provides a systematic framework for learning and for CCRN and PCCN certification preparation. It also serves as a great reference for clinical practice. Pharmacologic Management tables offer quick summaries of the drugs most often used in critical care. NEW! Enhanced QSEN integration makes it easier to link text content to the various QSEN competencies through the addition of QSEN-related questions in case studies, retitled features and boxes, QSEN content icons, and highlighted QSEN information throughout. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional collaborative practice incorporates the various IPEC competencies - such as Values & Ethics for Interprofessional Practice, Roles & Responsibilities, Interprofessional Communication, and Teams & Teamwork - into the text content and case studies. NEW! Enhanced focus on core content directs readers' attention to routine adult critical care situations and minimizes the attention given to issues treated by specialized facilities. NEW! Revamped case studies feature updated scenarios and information to reflect the current "flavor" of high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings - with patients being seen in a variety of settings. These scenarios help readers "scaffold" learning and apply chapter content to true-to-life clinical situations. NEW! Content on post-ICU outcomes has been added to chapters on therapeutic management and disorders to provide readers with a more holistic perspective on the critical care patient experience. NEW! Expanded leadership content places a fresh focus on the emerging importance of nursing leadership to ensure optimal patient outcomes. NEW! Added content on highly contagious infections has been incorporated into the chapter on sepsis to keep readers abreast of this ever-changing area of interest. NEW! Links to 15 sample skills from Elsevier Clinical Skills give readers a foundation in mastering critical care skills. NEW! Enhanced Patient Teaching boxes feature more specific and practical content for at-the-bedside patient care. NEW! Additional animations have been added to the Evolve companion website. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects changes in nursing, medical, and collaborative care of patients in high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings.
Call Number: RT120.I5 U72 2018
Fast Facts about GI and Liver Diseases for Nurses: what APRNs need to know in a nutshell The only resource of its kind, this concise, practical guide to GI and liver disease delivers current information on diagnosing, managing, and treating common GI and liver disorders, along with providing liver transplant guidelines. Written for nurses, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants in varied specialties, it fills a gap in information needed by primary and acute care professionals who are the chief caretakers for GI and liver patients. This guide delivers information on recent important treatment advances that have revolutionized GI and liver care and provides guidance for seeking expert advice or urgent/emergent care for more complex cases. The Fast Facts in a Nutshell feature highlights key takeaway points throughout the text. The resource reviews common GI symptoms and disorders from irritable bowel disorders (including key differences between Crohn s disease and ulcerative colitis) to gallstones and GERD. A section on liver disease describes essential liver functions, reviews liver function tests, and addresses commonly and less commonly seen liver disease diagnoses. Complications of cirrhosis are examined to ensure prompt recognition of these potentially deadly symptoms. Additionally, the book addresses liver transplantation with comprehensive attention to the evaluation process, organ donation/allocation, and post-transplant care for donor and recipient alike. Each chapter includes an overview, significant laboratory or imaging findings, treatment options, expected outcomes, and IDC-10 codes for billing and reimbursement. Key Features Provides speedy access to current information on diagnosing, managing, and treating common GI and liver disorders for frontline professionals Includes a comprehensive review of the liver, abnormal liver function tests (LFTs), and transplantation Reflects up-to-date information on the latest treatment guidelines for gastrointestinal and liver disease, including celiac disease and hepatitis C Addresses common gastrointestinal diseases and guidelines for treatment as outlined by the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) Discusses current liver disease management and guidelines for treatment as outlined by American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD) "
Call Number: RC801 .C53 2017x
Mentoring in Nursing and Healthcare: supporting career and personal development Mentoring in Nursing and Healthcare: Supporting career and personal development is an innovative look into mentoring within nursing, and its implications for career success. It provides an up-to-date review of the current research and literature within mentoring in nursing and healthcare, drawing together the distinctive challenges facing nurses and their career development. It proposes new directions and practical ways forward for the future development of formal mentoring programmes in nursing. Offering fresh insight into mentoring principles and how these can be used beyond pre-registration nurse education to support personal career development. This is an essential book for all those commencing, continuing or returning to a nursing career. Key features: Addresses mentoring as a career development tool Focuses on the individual benefits of being a mentee and mentor and how this can aid professional development Both theoretical and practical material is presented Features case studies throughout book Supports nurses to develop their careers It is sector specific but has transferability across disciplines A summary chapter draws together common threads or theoretical perspectives. The book concludes with strategies for future research and progress
Call Number: RT82 .W66 2017x
A Nurse Coach Implementation Guide: your crash course to an effetive values conversation Nurse Coaching is a specialty role in nursing that is transforming care delivery. Like many roles in health care, it is not being implemented to the fullest extent due to real barriers that exist for clients to receive services. This is an interesting time period to work in health care, as we are in the midst of a large restructuring and overhauls - some effective, some not. Amidst the discourse, Nurse Coaches can navigate various value sets and have a place at the table. Nurse coaching restores the humanizing force of nursing to its original luster, and seeks to do so collaboratively with other professionals. Nursing education programs have not yet gone far enough to educate the workforce on how an autonomous nursing profession creates access outside of the hospital setting. Breeching these barriers to access is exactly the kind of persistent positive disruption that is in order, and the vision that is embraced in the Nurse Coaching Values Conversation. In the new health care era, Nurse Coaches stand separate but equal with other health care collaborators as a non-diagnostic, professional partner.This book contains first-hand accounts of barriers that the author has experienced in attempting to make holistic health coaching interventions available to the public, as well as prospects and opportunities to overcome these barriers. Nurse Coaches pursue lifestyle factors with specific Nurse Coaching competencies to enhance their clients quality of life, as well as nursing self-development. Nurse Coaching is sustainable inasmuch as it is cost effective, quality care. Now it is time to clear the way for access to these services in independent community practices, contracts with private and federally-qualified health care homes, consultants for redesigning systems for human-centered care, and as community stakeholders for healthy communities.
Call Number: RT71 .C37 2015x
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Sixth Edition is a must-have resource for every new or current nurse practitioner (NP) that explains and analyzes the legal issues relevant to nurse practitioners. Completely updated and revised, it includes a new chapter on answering frequently asked questions from NPs. In addition, it provides the latest state-by-state laws, including regulatory developments and prosecutions of nurse practitioners, and new case analyses and lessons learned from those cases.The Sixth Edition also offers new discussions of NP competencies, how the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree relates to NPs, the differences in primary care and acute care NPs, definitions of medical bio-ethics terminology, additional malpractice cases and the lessons to learn from them, emerging issues in health policy, guidelines around prescribing opioids and controlled drugs, clinical performance measures, electronic health records, and new opportunities for NPs under the Affordable Care Act.What's more, it addresses emerging health law issues with analysis of key cases, including:* Examples regarding trouble over NPs and kickbacks* Stark Law compliance issues and related criminal cases involving nurse practitioners who are employed by hospitals* Nurse practitioners who have encountered issues with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)* An attempted work around for the Medicare requirement that a physician order home care resulting in an NP using a physician's name to order home care and then being prosecuted for identity theft* An NP and physician who did not follow Medicare's incident-to rules and both the NP and MD were charged with health care fraud* Criminal cases against NPs who prescribed opioids or steroids either without authorization or without appropriate evaluation and monitoring
Call Number: RT86.73 .B87 2018
Nursing Beyond the Bedside: 60 non-hospital careers in nursing Nursing Beyond the Bedside: 60 Non-Hospital Careers in Nursing introduces nurses and nursing students to career opportunities outside of the hospital setting-in areas where RN job growth is projected to remain strong as patients live longer but with more chronic illnesses. The goal of this book is to provide practicing nurses and those pursuing a career in nursing a thorough understanding of the many career options available outside the hospital.
Author Susan Lowey describes how these non-hospital careers allows nurses to take on varied roles and responsibilities to deliver comprehensive healthcare to their patients. Each of the 60 non-hospital nursing careers includes a basic job description, the educational preparation or skills required, typical work hours and settings, availability of specialty certifications associated with the job, and links to professional organizations and online resources for that specialty.
Call Number: RT82 .L69 2016
Public Health Communication: critical tools and strategies Designed for master's level study, Public Health Communication: Critical Tools and Strategies for Advancing Public Health will prepare new graduates for any entry level position in public health policy/advocacy, health communication, health promotion, social marketing, or community health education. Filled with practical examples, the book is also a valuable resource for those preparing for the CPH or CHES exams.Students will learn core concepts for planning a communication framework as well key strategies for educating the public about health issues including understanding and reporting science, communicating for policy and advocacy, and health literacy and numeracy. The book thoroughly explores classic theories of persuasion in communication such as Extended Parallel Process Model, Inoculation, Sensation Value, and Cognitive Value. The most current forms of digital/multimedia/interactive channels of communication are examined. The last section of the book looks at some special contexts in health communication, such as patient-provider communication as well as risk/emergency communication.
Call Number: RA425 .P8355 2018x
Strategies, Techniques, and Approaches to Critical Thinking: a clinical reasoning workbook for nurses Develop the clinical nursing judgment you need to become a safe, competent clinician! Strategies, Techniques, & Approaches to Critical Thinking: A Clinical Reasoning Workbook for Nurses, 6th Edition uses a case-based, workbook format to help you build clinical reasoning skills. The clear, step-by-step approach helps you learn and apply essential knowledge, guiding you through increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking, priority-setting, and decision-making. More than 100 realistic case studies reflect the scenarios commonly encountered in clinical practice. Written by noted nursing educator Sandra Luz Martinez de Castillo, this edition adds coverage of emerging topics such as QSEN, interprofessional collaboration, and nursing leadership and delegation. UNIQUE! Step-by-step approach builds your skills in critical thinking, clinical decision-making, and clinical reasoning, walking you through the author's research-based critical thinking model. More than 100 true-to-life cases demonstrate how cases progress and complications arise, helping you develop increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking. Emphasis on prioritization helps you prepare for nursing practice and for the NCLEX#65533; Examination. Integrated NCLEX Examination review helps you apply critical thinking skills to test questions and prepares you for the state boards. NEW! Expanded coverage of the Safety and Patient-Centered Care competencies of the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative, with distinctive icons highlighting this content. NEW and UNIQUE! Coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice includes integration of interactions with other professions into relevant cases (especially in the cases involving leadership), incorporation of the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice set forth by the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), and inclusion of SBAR communication as a tool for interprofessional collaboration. NEW! Increased emphasis on delegation, leadership, and collaborative learning promotes professional practice and team-based learning. NEW! UPDATED content reflects changes in clinical practice and the latest NCLEX#65533; Examination test plan, featuring new examples of EHR charting, the use of only generic drug names, and the exclusion of medical diagnoses from questions unless absolutely necessary.
Call Number: RT42 .M246 2018
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
The APIC/JCR Infection Prevention and Control Workbook [Joint Commission Resource] This updated version of a JCR best-seller, developed and co-published in partnership with the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC), addresses infection prevention and control in all types of health care settings. The book discusses and clarifies Joint Commission requirements for infection prevention and control and offers a wealth of tools for organizations to assess and improve their infection prevention and control activities. Edited by infection prevention and control experts Barbara Moore Soule and Kathleen Meehan Arias, and written by a host of practitioners, the workbook format encourages organizations to develop action plans to address infection control issues found in the self-assessment. This new edition features updated chapters and tools, including new chapters on implementing a successful surveillance program; infection prevention and control priorities in ambulatory health care; cleaning, disinfection, and sterilization of equipment, devices, and supplies, and much more. Key Topics: Designing and Managing An Effective Infection Prevention and Control Program The Role of Leadership in Infection Prevention and Control Planning for and Managing Infectious Disease Emergencies Implementing Clinical Strategies to Reduce Infection Risk Cleaning, Disinfection and Sterilization of Medical Devices and Equipment Integrating Infection Prevention and Control into Patient Safety and Performance Improvement Key Features: A wealth of infection prevention and control strategies for standards compliance, performance improvement, and patient safety Expert advice from infection preventionists from The Joint Commission, Joint Commission Resources, and the Associations for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology A variety of tools, forms, and checklists throughout the text, with writable versions available on the included flash drive Coverage of all health care settings accredited by The Joint Commission Key Audience: Infection preventionists Facilities managers Accreditation professionals Patient safety officers Performance and quality improvement staff Risk managers Emergency managers Nursing staff
Call Number: RA969 .A65 2017x
Crucial Interventions: an illustrated treatise on the principles & practice of nineteenth-century surgery The nineteenth century saw major advances in the practice of surgery. In 1750, the anatomist John Hunter described it as “a humiliating spectacle of the futility of science”; yet, over the next 150 years the feared, practical men of medicine benefited from a revolution in scientific progress and the increased availability of instructional textbooks. Anesthesia and antisepsis were introduced. Newly established medical schools improved surgeons’ understanding of the human body. For the first time, surgical techniques were refined, illustrated in color, and disseminated on the printed page. Crucial Interventions follows this evolution, drawing from magnificent examples of rare surgical textbooks from the mid-nineteenth century. Graphic and sometimes unnerving yet beautifully rendered, these fascinating illustrations, acquired from the Wellcome Collection’s extensive archives, include step-by-step surgical techniques paired with depictions of medical instruments and depictions of operations in progress. Arranged for the layman (from head to toe) Crucial Interventions is a captivating look at the early history of one of the world’s most mysterious and macabre professions.
Call Number: RD31 .B364 2015x
How Emotions Are Made: the secret life of the brain A new theory of how the brain constructs emotions that could revolutionize psychology, health care, law enforcement, and our understanding of the human mind Emotions feel automatic, like uncontrollable reactions to things we think and experience. Scientists have long supported this assumption by claiming that emotions are hardwired in the body or the brain. Today, however, the science of emotion is in the midst of a revolution on par with the discovery of relativity in physics and natural selection in biology--ans this paradigm shift has far-reaching implications for us all. Leading the charge is psychologist and neuroscientist Lisa Feldman Barrett, whose theory of emotion is driving a deeper understanding of the mind and brain, and shedding new light on what it means to be human. Her research overturns the widely held belief that emotions are housed in different parts of the brain and are universally expressed and recognized. Instead, she has shown that emotion is constructed in the moment, by core systems that interact across the whole brain, aided by a lifetime of learning. This new theory means that you play a much greater role in your emotional life than you ever thought. Its repercussions are already shaking the foundations not only of psychology but also of medicine, the legal system, child-rearing, meditation, and even airport security. Why do emotions feel automatic? Does rational thought really control emotion? How does emotion affect disease? How can you make your children more emotionally intelligent? How Emotions Are Made answers these questions and many more, revealing the latest research and intriguing practical applications of the new science of emotion, mind, and brain.
Call Number: BF561 .B337 2017
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2016, 2015, 2014.
Management/Employee Development Books
Advancing Relationship-Based Cultures The premise of Advancing Relationship-Based Cultures is simple. Given that relationships permeate every atom of health care, it follows quite naturally that everything in health care will work better when relationships are healthy. Medical miracles, alleviated suffering, and enhanced comfort all take place between human beings. They take place when human beings who are suffering enter the sphere of a group of human beings who are as committed to caring for them as whole, complex people as they are committed to applying their technical skill and knowledge to the healing of their physical ailments. All of the technical aspects of health care occur in the context of human relationships, which means that all of the technical tasks underlying the provision of care work better when we tend to relationships. Optimized cultures happen when we optimize relationships. This book, while focusing most often on the people portion of the care equation, also addresses the processes and structures that can and must contribute to the ability of all people in health care to provide compassionate care through the four relational practices: attuning, wondering, following, and holding.
Call Number: RT24 .S28 2017
Health Communication Health communication is key to promoting good population and individual health outcomes. As the field has developed, there is a growing need for a critical appraisal of the ideologies and theories underpinning health communication in order to ensure effective practice. This book clearly situates health communication within its social context. It provides a critical overview of three key disciplinary areas education, psychology and communication. Drawing on international examples throughout, the book challenges the underlying assumptions that drive the design and delivery of health promotion interventions. The authors argue that health communication is inherently political and pay close attention to issues of power, ethics and inequality throughout the text. This book will be valuable for those students at all levels who require a critical perspective, as well as practitioners in health communication and health promotion. With reference to detailed examples and annotated suggestions for further reading, the book is an accessible resource for analysing contemporary health communication.
Call Number: BF561 .B337 2017
How Innovation Really Works - Using the Research Quotient to Increase Revenues, Profits, and Market Value Are you spending too much on R&D? Too little? Is your innovation program successful? And how do you measure that success? Your company is spending millions on R&D every year, but despite your best efforts, that R&D isn't driving growth. If you're like 95% of firms, you aren't investing the right amount, and the productivity of your R&D has fallen dramatically over the past several years. That's because there hasn't been a universal, uniform, and reliable measure of R&D--until now. First introduced in Anne Marie Knott's influential Harvard Business Review article, RQTM (Research Quotient) is a revolutionary new tool that measures a company's R&D capability--its ability to convert investment in R&D into products and services people want to buy or to reduce the cost of producing these. RQ not only tells companies how "smart" they are, it provides a guide for how much they should invest in R&D to ensure that investment will increase revenues, profits, and market value. Armed with insights from her experience as an R&D project manager, 20 years of academic research, and two National Science Foundation grants, Knott devised RQ and used the measure to test common innovation prescriptions across the full spectrum of U.S. companies engaged in R&D. The results are nothing short of game-changing. In this essential guide, you will learn: * how to use RQ to determine which R&D investments are most likely to drive growth--using the hard data you already have to better utilize the innovation tools you're already using * the 7 misconceptions about innovation trends--and how to avoid the ones that don't work * how investors can achieve 9x returns in the market and help companies in the process * why corporate--and GDP--growth has stalled and how to restore it without R&D tax credits This book promises to do for innovation and R&D what TQM did for manufacturing and what Sabremetrics did for baseball. It'll show you How Innovation Really Works--with measurable results you can count on.
Call Number: HD45 .K5958 2017
Kaleidoscope: delivering innovative service that sparkles Add a Little Sparkle to Your Service In his newest book on innovative service, bestselling author Chip R. Bell focuses on the importance of delivering the "core" of a service experience in a fashion that is value-unique, not just value-added. In his own words, "Innovative comes from your core; it evokes an experience of genuineness, a sense that its source is deep, not superficial." This wonderful book offers powerful, practical advice, along with engaging stories of ways a novel service experience can also be one that is profound.
Call Number: HF5415.335 .B45 2017x
Managing Health Care Business Strategy Managing Health Care Business Strategy explores the most important aspects of planning and implementing strategy in a health care organization in very practical, actionable language with relevant, real-life and hypothetical examples throughout. Using simple, accessible language, the author explains everything you need to know to get started managing strategy in a health care organization. The book includes a description of the basic multi-step process of creating and then managing a strategic plan, as well as specific strategic options (merger/acquisition, reorganization, joint venture) and some of the popular tools for analyzing strategic situations (balanced scorecard, Six Sigma, SWOT).The second edition is a major expansion offering 10 additional chapters that examine the finer details of formulating and implementing strategic initiatives.The Second Edition:* Explores the most commonly used strategy options along with practical guidelines on when and how to use them* Examines to the strategic contributions of key business functions including finance, marketing, human resources, and legal * Looks at general factors in the management of organizations that have a direct bearing on the execution of their strategiesPerfect for those pursuing a career in health care management, health care leadership, biotech entrepreneurs, technology startups, government administrators, and more, Managing Health Care Business Strategy offers a framework of widely-accepted strategic planning principles coupled with practical advice on how they work in the real-world. The book is appropriate for graduate and undergraduate courses (in schools of business, public health, medicine, hospital administration, public administration, law), community college programs, continuing education, and professional education.
Call Number: RA971.3 .M65 2018
Option B: facing adversity, building resilience, and finding joy #1 New York Times Best Seller From Facebook's COO and Wharton's top-rated professor, the #1 New York Times best-selling authors of Lean In and Originals: a powerful, inspiring, and practical book about building resilience and moving forward after life's inevitable setbacks. After the sudden death of her husband, Sheryl Sandberg felt certain that she and her children would never feel pure joy again. "I was in 'the void,'" she writes, "a vast emptiness that fills your heart and lungs and restricts your ability to think or even breathe." Her friend Adam Grant, a psychologist at Wharton, told her there are concrete steps people can take to recover and rebound from life-shattering experiences. We are not born with a fixed amount of resilience. It is a muscle that everyone can build. Option B combines Sheryl's personal insights with Adam's eye-opening research on finding strength in the face of adversity. Beginning with the gut-wrenching moment when she finds her husband, Dave Goldberg, collapsed on a gym floor, Sheryl opens up her heart--and her journal--to describe the acute grief and isolation she felt in the wake of his death. But Option B goes beyond Sheryl's loss to explore how a broad range of people have overcome hardships including illness, job loss, sexual assault, natural disasters, and the violence of war. Their stories reveal the capacity of the human spirit to persevere . . . and to rediscover joy. Resilience comes from deep within us and from support outside us. Even after the most devastating events, it is possible to grow by finding deeper meaning and gaining greater appreciation in our lives. Option B illuminates how to help others in crisis, develop compassion for ourselves, raise strong children, and create resilient families, communities, and workplaces. Many of these lessons can be applied to everyday struggles, allowing us to brave whatever lies ahead. Two weeks after losing her husband, Sheryl was preparing for a father-child activity. "I want Dave," she cried. Her friend replied, "Option A is not available," and then promised to help her make the most of Option B. We all live some form of Option B. This book will help us all make the most of it.
Call Number: BF575.G7 S256 2017
Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs For undergraduate courses in Health Education, Promotion, and Planning. Provide Students with the Tools They Need to Be Successful in Health Promotion Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: A Primer provides students with a comprehensive overview of the practical and theoretical skills needed to plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in a variety of settings. The Seventh Edition features updated information throughout, including the new Responsibilities and Competencies generated from the Health Education Specialist Practice Analysis-2015 (HESPA-2015), and reflects the latest trends in the field.
Call Number: RA427.8 .M39 2017
Stop Guessing: the 9 behaviors of great problem solvers Become the greatest problem solver you can be! Bad problem solving costs individuals and society incalculable amounts of time, money, and sanity. In this book Nat Greene--who's been solving hard problems professionally for over twenty years--shares nine behaviors anyone can adopt to find solutions to even the most seemingly intractable problems. The problem with most problem solving, Greene says, is that it's not problem solving at all: it's guessing. We have an idea of what might work and we try it out. If that doesn't work, we try something else. And so on. It's inefficient at best, and with really hard problems there are simply too many variables for guessing to work. Greene shows you how to adopt the behaviors great problem solvers use to arrive at solutions efficiently--without guessing. He illustrates them with examples ranging from everyday issues like fixing a malfunctioning garage door to stopping frequent breakdowns at a chemical plant (saving millions of dollars) to addressing the scourge of poverty in sub-Saharan Africa. So stop guessing and start solving today!
Call Number: BF449 .G74 2017
What's New in Current Awareness?
Behave: the biology of humans at our best and worst "It's no exaggeration to say that Behave is one of the best nonfiction books I've ever read." -- David P. Barash, The Wall Street Journal From the celebrated neurobiologist and primatologist, a landmark, genre-defining examination of human behavior, both good and bad, and an answer to the question: Why do we do the things we do? Sapolsky's storytelling concept is delightful but it also has a powerful intrinsic logic: he starts by looking at the factors that bear on a person's reaction in the precise moment a behavior occurs, and then hops back in time from there, in stages, ultimately ending up at the deep history of our species and its evolutionary legacy. And so the first category of explanation is the neurobiological one. A behavior occurs--whether an example of humans at our best, worst, or somewhere in between. What went on in a person's brain a second before the behavior happened? Then Sapolsky pulls out to a slightly larger field of vision, a little earlier in time: What sight, sound, or smell caused the nervous system to produce that behavior? And then, what hormones acted hours to days earlier to change how responsive that individual is to the stimuli that triggered the nervous system? By now he has increased our field of vision so that we are thinking about neurobiology and the sensory world of our environment and endocrinology in trying to explain what happened. Sapolsky keeps going: How was that behavior influenced by structural changes in the nervous system over the preceding months, by that person's adolescence, childhood, fetal life, and then back to his or her genetic makeup? Finally, he expands the view to encompass factors larger than one individual. How did culture shape that individual's group, what ecological factors millennia old formed that culture? And on and on, back to evolutionary factors millions of years old. The result is one of the most dazzling tours d'horizon of the science of human behavior ever attempted, a majestic synthesis that harvests cutting-edge research across a range of disciplines to provide a subtle and nuanced perspective on why we ultimately do the things we do...for good and for ill. Sapolsky builds on this understanding to wrestle with some of our deepest and thorniest questions relating to tribalism and xenophobia, hierarchy and competition, morality and free will, and war and peace. Wise, humane, often very funny, Behave is a towering achievement, powerfully humanizing, and downright heroic in its own right.
Call Number: QP351 .S27 2017
The Body Builders: inside the science of the engineered human Fareed Zakaria GPS Book of the Week For millennia, humans have tried—and often failed—to master nature and transcend our limits. But this has started to change. The new scientific frontier is the human body: the greatest engineers of our generation have turned their sights inward, and their work is beginning to revolutionize mankind. In The Body Builders, Adam Piore takes us on a fascinating journey into the field of bioengineering—which can be used to reverse engineer, rebuild, and augment human beings—and paints a vivid portrait of the people at its center. Chronicling the ways new technology has retooled our physical expectations and mental processes, Piore visits people who have regrown parts of their fingers and legs in the wake of terrible traumas, tries on a muscle suit that allows him to lift ninety pounds with his fingertips, dips into the race to create “Viagra for the brain,” and shadows the doctors trying to give mute patients the ability to communicate telepathically. As science continues to lay bare the mysteries of human performance, it is helping us to see—and exist—above our expectations. The Body Builders will take readers beyond the headlines and the hype to introduce them to the inner workings and the outer reaches of our bodies and minds, and explore how new developments are changing, and will forever change, what is possible for humankind.
Call Number: TA164 .P56 2017x
No One Cares about Crazy People: the chaos and heartbreak of mental health in America "Extraordinary and courageous . . . No doubt if everyone were to read this book, the world would change."---New York Times Book Review New York Times-bestselling author Ron Powers offers a searching, richly researched narrative of the social history of mental illness in America paired with the deeply personal story of his two sons' battles with schizophrenia. From the centuries of torture of "lunatiks" at Bedlam Asylum to the infamous eugenics era to the follies of the anti-psychiatry movement to the current landscape in which too many families struggle alone to manage afflicted love ones, Powers limns our fears and myths about mental illness and the fractured public policies that have resulted. Braided with that history is the moving story of Powers's beloved son Kevin--spirited, endearing, and gifted--who triumphed even while suffering from schizophrenia until finally he did not, and the story of his courageous surviving son Dean, who is also schizophrenic. A blend of history, biography, memoir, and current affairs ending with a consideration of where we might go from here, this is a thought-provoking look at a dreaded illness that has long been misunderstood.
Call Number: RC514 .P69 2017