Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recent article citations in CINAHL
Recent PubMed article citations
Selected Library Books
History of Professional Nursing in the United States by For over 400 years, a diverse array of nurses, nurses' aides, midwives, and public-minded citizens across the United States have attended to the health care of America's equally diverse populations. Beginning in 1607 when the first Englishmen landed in Virginia, and concluding in 2016 when Flint, Michigan, was declared to be in a state of emergency, this expansive nursing history text for undergraduate and graduate nursing programs examines the history of the nursing profession to help the reader better understand how nursing became what it is today. Grounded in the premise that health care can and should be promoted in partnership with communities to provide quality care for all, this history analyzes the resilience and innovation of nurses who provided care for the most underprivileged populations, such as slaves on Southern plantations, immigrants in tenements in Manhattan's Lower East Side, and isolated populations in rural Kentucky. It takes into account issues of race, class, and gender, and the influence of these factors on nurses and patients. Featuring nearly 300 photos, oral histories, and personal accounts from varied settings in the United States and other countries, the narrative discusses major medical and scientific advances, prominent leaders and grassroots movements in nursing, and ethical dilemmas that nurses faced with each change in the profession. Chapters include discussion questions for class sessions as well as a list of suggested reading. KEY FEATURES: Examines the history of nursing during the past four centuriesLinks challenges for nurses in the past to those of present-day nursesIncludes oral histories, medical discoveries, legal and ethical issues, personal perspectives, archival sites, discussion questions, suggested reading, and abundant notesCovers drugs, technological innovations, and scientific advances in each era
Call Number: RT41 .K44 2018x
Nursing History for Contemporary Role Development by Nursing practice has progressed beyond Florence Nightingale, and so has nursing history. This book delves into the intricacies of nursing history and its impact on contemporary nursing practice, education, and research. Nurses have always been political advocates for underprivileged and vulnerable populations during times of war, changing cultural landscapes, and social unrest. Today is no different. With historically significant case studies that ground the narrative, this book weaves the complex story of how the role of nurses has changed over time to adapt to new environments and needs, all the while retaining the key leadership and advocacy roles that have been inherent since the birth of the profession. Chapters examine key issues in contemporary nursing today, such as the care of diverse populations, rural health care, mental health care, neonatal health care, the nurse educator role, entry into practice issues, and more, and contextualize their evolution, showing what remains tried and true, what has been disproven, and what remains to be examined. The text illustrates how nursing history fits into the broader context of culture and society from the late 19th century to the present. Each chapter features critical thinking questions and extensive resources for all levels of nursing education. An accompanying instructor's manual features guidelines for bringing historical elements into nursing curricula. Key Features: Embeds historical material into contemporary nursing practice, education, and research issuesDemonstrates how contemporary nursing roles and issues have evolved over the course of historyIncludes numerous case studies from expert nursing historiansAddresses the intersection of gender, race, and ethnicity as they impact health care today
Call Number: RT42 .N845 2017
Routledge Handbook on the Global History of Nursing by A CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title 2014! 2014 winner of the American Association for the History of Nursing's Mary M. Roberts Award for Exemplary Historical Research and Writing! The Routledge Handbook on the Global History of Nursingbrings together leading scholars and scholarship to capture the state of the art and science of nursing history, as a generation of researchers turn to the history of nursing with new paradigms and methodological tools. Inviting readers to consider new understandings of the historical work and worth of nursing in a larger global context, this ground-breaking volume illuminates how research into the history of nursing moves us away from a reductionist focus on diseases and treatments and towards more inclusive ideas about the experiences of illnesses on individuals, families, communities, voluntary organizations, and states at the bedside and across the globe. An extended introduction by the editors provides an overview and analyzes the key themes involved in the transmission of ideas about the care of the sick. Organized into four parts, and addressing nursing around the globe, it covers: New directions in the history of nursing; New methodological approaches; The politics of nursing knowledge; Nursing and its relationship to social practice. Exploring themes of people, practice, politics and places, this cutting edge volume brings together the best of nursing history scholarship, and is a vital reference for all researchers in the field, and is also relevant to those studying on nursing history and health policy courses.
Call Number: RT31 .R68 2016
Nursing's Great Leaders by AuThis book is perfect for men and women who aspire to lead nursing and society into a better future. It will equally benefit undergraduate students enrolled in leadership courses, graduate students preparing for leadership roles, and nurses already established in leadership roles. This book] deepened my love for nursing and reinforced why nursing is repeatedly ranked the most trusted profession. Au AiSusan B. Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Senior Adviser for Nursing Director, Campaign for Action With an emphasis on the qualities that have fostered strong nursing leadership, this book provides a unique perspective on the lives and achievements ofthe most revered nurses throughout history. It is comprised of biographies of many of nursing Aos most important activist agents of change, with a focus onthose characteristics that enabled them to accomplish their goals and implement changes that improved nursing, health, health care, and society. Thesebiographies examine the evolution of nursing and society around the globe and underscore the resourcefulness and political savvy these nurses used to meetthe increasingly complex needs of society. Using Kouzes and Posner Aos five practices of exemplary leadership as a framework, the biographies demonstrate how the nurses used these processes to achievetheir goals. Placed within the context and dynamics of each nurse leader Aos lifetime Aiincluding gender roles, science and technology, religion, politics, andeconomics Aieach biography includes a personal history, timeline, accomplishments, anecdotes, and legacy. The book honors such well-known nurse leaders asFlorence Nightingale, Clara Barton, and Dorothea Dix, along with lesser known nurse leaders. By telling the stories of these luminaries, the book showcasesnursing Aos rich history and its influence on society. Ultimately fostering an understanding of the very nature of leadership, it provides a strongfoundation and inspiration for nurses to lead nursing, health care, and society into a better future. KEY FEATURES: Focuses on nursing history through the lens of leadership Uses the framework of Kouzes and Posner Aos five practices of exemplary leadership to analyze the achievements of nurse luminaries Considers the lives of well-known and lesser known figures in nursing history Focuses on leadership characteristics that enabled historic nurse leaders to implement important changes in global health care "
Call Number: RT34 .N876 2016x
A History of American Nursing by A History of American Nursing, Second Edition provides a historical overview essential to developing a complete understanding of the nursing profession. For each key era of U.S. history, nursing is examined in the context of the sociopolitical climate of the day, the image of nurses, nursing education, advances in practice, war and its effect on nursing, licensure and regulation, and nursing research and its implications. From early nursing to Nightingale's influence, through two world wars to today, this text engages students in an exploration of nursing's past while connecting it to nursing practice in the present.A History of American Nursing, Second Edition informs and empowers today's student nurses as they help to create the future of nursing.* Completely expanded and updated art program, including images from the Women In Military Service For America Memorial Foundation and artist Lou Everett, a nurse educator* New feature: Historical Happenings - short vignettes throughout each chapter that highlight a relevant medical/nursing advance and/or historical event from a particular era* Updates to references, key people, discussion questions, and MeSH terms
Call Number: RT4 .J83 2014
The Nurses of Mayo Clinic by A history of nursing at the nation's first and largest collaborative group practice.
Call Number: RT5.M55 K44 2014x
New Directions in Nursing History by This collection of essays reflects the current interdisciplinary and international nature of the history of nursing scholarship. Covering a range from the eighteenth to the twentieth century, this book draws on research from eleven different countries to address: the issues of professionalism within nursing the social and ethical issues which are woven into the relationship between the nurse/midwife and her patient/client the trans-cultural dimensions nurses create when they move from one culture to another and the recent developments in historiography.
Call Number: RT31 .N49 2011
History As Evidence by Named a 2011 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Designated a Doody's Core Title "This is a must-read for nurses who are interested in where nursing has been and what nurses have done to get to the present day. " "Score: 94, 4 stars "--Doody's" Nursing has a rich history that consistently informs contemporary practice and standards. This book, by examining pivotal historical interventions across the spectrum of clinical care, allows nurses of today to incorporate the wisdom of the past into their own daily work. Maternal-child health programs, palliative care, tuberculosis, medications, pediatric care, and diabetes care, and more are discussed. This invaluable resource documents how and why specific nursing interventions came about, what aspects of these interventions are utilized today and why, and how nurses of the past have addressed and solved the challenges of practice, from adapting to new technologies to managing the tension of the nurse-physician relationship. Learn how nurses of the past 150 years have combated the challenges of: Providing care to victims of pandemics, such as yellow fever, tuberculosis, and influenza Adapting to new medical practices and technologies throughout the 20th century Integrating cultural sensitivity into clinical care for special populations and underserved communities Bringing public health services to rural communities Fighting for public health policies that support hospice services in the United States
Call Number: RT31 .H567 2011
Capturing Nursing History by " Winner of the 2008 AJN Book of the Year Award Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2008 byChoice This well written and well edited book fills a unique gap.... one of the] precious few books] that focus on science or medicine and one of] even fewer that cover the history of nursing.(Three Stars)--Doody's Book Review Service While there have been many research texts in the nursing literature, and nursing history is both taught in courses and of popular interest to practicing nurses, there has never been a hands-on text that describes the process of doing historical research in nursing. This book, contributed by well-known and respected nurse historians, provides the necessary direction, guidance, and examples needed to conduct historical research. It covers such topics as historiography, biographical research, using artifacts in historical research, doing archival and other data searches, doing international historical research, and locating funding sources for historical research. Case studies will be used throughout to illustrate various methods and describe how, why, when, and where historical research is used in nursing. Features of this edition: Provides direction and tools for conducting historical research Describes types of research, including biographical and oral histories Covers frameworks used to study historical events, such as social, political, feminist, intellectual, and cultural Addresses contemporary issues such as preserving and storing digitalized and tape-recorded data and obtaining institutional review board (IRB) approval for research, and addressing ethical and legal issues in historical research Includes case studies that provide a how-to guide to conducting research "
Call Number: RT31 .C37 2008
Nurses' Work by Designated a Doody's Core Title Winner of an AJN Book of the Year Award Every nursing student and practicing nurse would benefit from reading this book." Score: 91, 4 stars --"Doody's" The excerpts taken from original writings and events provide readers with a sneak peak into a forgotten world....This book is a must for anyone in the nursing profession. Essential. All levels.--"Choice" With contributions from some of the most renowned nursing scholars and historians, the real-life history of how nurses worked and how they endured the ever-changing economic, social, educational, and technological milieus is presented in a captivating collection of articles. Through time and place, experts chronicle the rich variety of nurses' work by presenting actual accounts of clinical practice experiences. Tracing the evolution of nursing from the role as family caregiver to roles in clinical practice today, the contributors approach this history by focusing on four thematic categories: Who does the work of nursing? Who pays for the work of nursing? What is the real work of nursing? How have our nursing predecessors struggled with the relationship between work and knowledge? "Nurses' Work, " provides an incredible collection of significant historical scholarship and contemporary themes that encourages us to understand and think these questions and the future of nursing.
Call Number: RT31 .N86 2007
A History of Nursing Ideas by This text is a comprehensive coverage of concepts critical to the dvelopment of the nursing role: philosophy, nature of nursing, ways of knowing, influences on the development of the nursing profession, history and nature of nursing science, evolution of nursing practice and education.
Call Number: RT31 .H575 2006
A History of the U. S. Army Nurse Corps by Thousands of women have served in the Nurse Corps of the U. S. Army. Many of them worked in war zones, where their extraordinary courage, resourcefulness, and toughness first astonished and then won the respect of male officers. Their skill and dedication helped to save tens of thousands of lives and made the Army Nurse Corps an essential part of the American military establishment. Until now, there has been no comprehensive work that tells that story. In this book Mary Sarnecky describes the major stages in the development of the U.S. Army Nurse Corps, discusses the political and social context in which this development occurred, identifies the factors that have influenced the Corps' stature and reputation within the nursing community, and explores the impact of the Corps upon the profession of nursing. At the same time, she described the experiences of the nurses themselves--often in their own words. The history is as surprising as it is violent: during World War I, nurses were the first American Army units to fly the United States flag in France from their base hospitals in support of British troops. In World War II, Army nurses served at every front, from Alaska to the Philippines, from England to the beaches of Anzio, where several died in bombings while tending to the wounded. With the advent of helicopters to transport wounded soldiers rapidly to hospitals, MASH units and their nurses became immediate caretakers of severely traumatized patients from front-line action in the Korean War. These units continued their work in the next decade during the Vietnam War. The story of these women and of the organization they created in the midst of one of our most deliberately masculine institutions is important to both the history of the military and the history of women in America.
Call Number: UH493 .S27 1999
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing by This unique reference work traces the story of nursing from Roman times to the present, including the evolution of military nursing. * Numerous biographies of healthcare pioneers, including many first-person narratives and eyewitness accounts, from Mother Teresa to Walt Whitman * Provides a timeline of landmarks, a detailed bibliography, and a comprehensive index
Call Number: RT31 .S66 1999
Additional titles can be found in the library catalog.
Contact the Library
Document Delivery: All Mayo staff with LAN IDs and passwords can use Document Delivery to receive copies of journal articles and book chapters.
If you require additional assistance, please contact the Library.
Florence Nightingale Books
Florence Nightingale, Nursing, and Health Care Today by Contributes new insights to Nightingale's relevance for nursing today. This in-depth analysis of Nightingale's legacy goes beyond established scholarship to examine her lesser known-and arguably even more important-writings beyond Notes on Nursing. The book demonstrates afresh her unparalleled and ongoing influence on professional nursing, on the core concepts of health, disease, and access to care as we understand them today. It introduces readers to the ""real"" Florence Nightingale - who pioneered evidence-based health care, campaigned for hospital safety, promoted economic opportunities for women, and mentored two generations of nursing leaders. The first part of the book focuses on Nightingale's core nursing concepts: gender and women's issues, education, health promotion, infection control, professional ethics, pediatrics, and palliative care, and how they have transcended time to influence professional nursing today. The author draws on comments from current nursing and medical literature to demonstrate the ongoing relevance of Nightingale's work. In the second part of the book, the author presents key writings by Nightingale, including the little-known background work that shaped her iconic Notes on Nursing. It goes on to cover key later writings, which show how her ideas evolved with advances in medical science and nursing practice. Key Features: Expands on established scholarship to reveal Nightingale's contributions to theory, science, and policy in greater breadth and depth Demonstrates the remarkable relevance of her work to nursing issues today Nightingale's core nursing concepts of health promotion, disease prevention, and access to care Disseminates Nightingale writing especially relevant to nursing leaders and policy advocates.
Call Number: RT84.5 .M33 2018
Illuminating Florence by This inspirational book, spearheaded by one of the top Florence Nightingale scholars in nursing today, will help nurses relate Florence Nightingales quotes to todays modern-day practices. The goals and importance of nursing are still the same as they were 150 years ago. And its fair to say that Nightingale had no idea how much she was going to impact the nursing world while she was a caring for the sick and wounded during the Crimea. With this book, present day nurses can learn that Nightingale was not only just like them, but also that they can make a profound impact on the nursing profession. This book will make Nightingale accessible, relevant, and humanize her a bit and allow current nurses to find their inner Florence.
Call Number: RT81.G7 A88 2012x
Florence Nightingale by The common soldier's savior, the standard-bearer of modern nursing, a pioneering social reformer: Florence Nightingale belongs to that select band of historical characters who are instantly recognizable. Home-schooled, bound for the life of an educated Victorian lady, Nightingale scandalized her family when she found her calling as a nurse, a thoroughly unsuitable profession for a woman of her class. As the "Lady with the Lamp," ministering to the wounded and dying of the Crimean War, she offers an enduring image of sentimental appeal. Few individuals in their own lifetime have reached the level of fame and adulation attained by Nightingale as a result of her efforts. Fewer still have the power of continuing to inspire controversy in the way she does almost a century after her death. In this remarkable book, the first major biography of Florence Nightingale in more than fifty years, Mark Bostridge draws on a wealth of unpublished material, including previously unseen family papers, to throw new light on this extraordinary woman's life and character. Disentangling elements of myth from the reality, Bostridge has written a vivid and immensely readable account of one of the most iconic figures in modern history.
Call Number: RT37.N5 B67 2008