Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Care Coordination: a blueprint for action for RNs In today's health care environment, the drumbeat for care coordination grows louder and more urgent. It's an effective way to improve quality and outcomes. Nurses are integral to this process, yet most feel their contributions are unrecognized and underappreciated. What can nurses do? Care Coordination: A Blueprint for Action for RNs helps today's nurses reclaim this critical practice domain. It explores key issues in care coordination and offers timely, strategic actions nurses can take right now to identify opportunities and overcome barriers. It also includes critical resources for nurse care coordinators. This book will help you: Understand care coordination - past, present, and future - as well as the professional and practice environments in which it occurs Define the activities associated with effective care coordination Recognize the significant need for care coordination and opportunities for nurses Identify and explore issues pivotal to creating new inroads for nursing to adapt and advance this important work Expand the capacity of nurses to deliver care coordination and develop new and better care coordination models Learn how you and your fellow nurses can advance your important role in care coordination in the current and emerging health care environment Care Coordination A Blueprint for Action for RNs is the sequel to ANA's Care Coordination: the Game Changer How Nursing is Revolutionizing Quality Care. In Blueprint, authors Lamb and Newhouse take Game Changer's in-depth coverage of issues and impact of nurse care coordination and translate it into "practical, strategic and actionable" steps that all RNs can take right now to make a difference in this critical area of nursing practice. Nursing's stellar history in care coordination demands a future role! Help move the dialogue forward. Order Care Coordination: A Blueprint for Action for RNs and Care Coordination: The Game Changer How Nursing is Revolutionizing Quality Care today!
Call Number: RT42 .L363 2018x
Contemporary Nephrology Nursing This Contemporary Nephrology Nursing textbook is meant to serve as an adjunctto American Nephrology Nurses Association's (ANNA) Core Curriculum for Nephrology Nursing by providing more indepthinformation. This edition includes updating all current chapters withevidence-based data and the addition of 28 completely new chapters, coveringthe full breadth of nephrology nursing practice. Three exciting new sections dealwith nursing management of comorbidities and complications, cultural safety,health literacy, psychosocial issues in nephrology nursing, and regenerative medicineand innovations. Each chapter includes key concepts highlighting implicationsfor nephrology nursing.
Call Number: RC902 .C668 2017x
Core Curriculum for Interdisciplinary Lactation Care Core Curriculum for Interdisciplinary Lactation Care provides a trustworthy source for lactation-specific information and education for students, interns, certification candidates, instructors, and clinicians--in any discipline or specialty--who provide care to breastfeeding families. Published in association with the Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee (LEAARC), it reflects the current state of practice and serves as a fundamental resource for beginning clinicians, orienting staff, and planning continuing education programs. Organized in three sections, Core Curriculum for Interdisciplinary Lactation Care focuses on the science, management, and professional aspects of lactation care. With contributions from a team of clinical lactation experts from several countries around the world, it emphasizes an interdisciplinary approach to provide comprehensive care for breastfeeding families. Written to complement the LEAARC curriculum used in recognition of lactation education programs, the text includes clinical applications that move from theory to practice, including key learning points, clinical case studies, and real-life stories from parents and the healthcare team.
Call Number: QP246 .L33 2019x
Curriculum Development in Nursing Education Curriculum Development in Nursing Education, Fourth Edition is designed for novice and experienced faculty, presenting logical processes to develop, implement, and evaluate a curriculum. The Fourth Edition has an updated version of the Model of Evidence-Informed, Context-Relevant, Unified Curriculum Development in Nursing Education with separate chapters explicating each aspect of the model. Additional content is devoted to nursing education by distance delivery. The Fourth Edition attends more meticulously to concept-based curricula and the accompanying teaching-learning processes, than in previous editions. Faculty development, ongoing appraisal, and scholarship are efmphasized as core components of all curriculum work. This comprehensive text encompasses a combination of original concepts, current and classic literature and research, and the practicalities of curriculum work to guide readers in their own curriculum endeavors. The cases presented are new and can be used as a springboard for teaching and learning in courses as well as for faculty development. New to the Fourth Edition: Simulated learning experiences as part of curriculum design How the NCLEX exam and external reviews influence undergraduate curriculum New case studies and synthesis activities Updated references across all chapters
Call Number: RT71 .I95 2020
Diabetes Education Curriculum Print version of the curriculum used to teach with people with diabetes how to better self-manage their condition.
Call Number: RC660 .D534 2015x
Fundamentals of Intravitreal Injections Intravitreal Injections are now standard treatment for various ocular conditions such as age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy and retinal vein occlusions. Ophthalmic nurse practitioners and allied health professionals are increasingly becoming invaluable team members for delivering these injections, particularly as the clinical demand increases. This full-colour handbook details all that a practitioner needs to know about safely performing the procedure. It will also be a useful reference for junior ophthalmic trainees. Benefits: Concise but comprehensive guide to the procedure Dedicated chapters on anatomy, imaging (fluorescein angiography, optical coherence tomography, optical coherence tomography angiography and ultra wide-field imaging), common treatment regimes, injection technique and complications Introduction to available injection devices Advice on setting up a local training scheme and wet lab Well-illustrated with both hand drawn illustrations and colour photographs
Call Number: RE88 .W37 2018
Infusion Therapy Made Incredibly Easy Get a thorough grounding in delivering safe, effective infusion therapy with the friendly support and technical guidance of the newly updated Infusion Therapy Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th edition. This complete how-to on administering and monitoring different IV medications delivers clear direction on vital concepts, terms, and techniques--backed by numerous illustrations, confidence-building humor, and expert insights. Offering clear, concise direction for nursing students, this popular Incredibly Easy!® text is also the ideal refresher for nurses and all practitioners learning best practices for a range of infusion therapies. Get the skills and know-how needed to administer infusion therapy successfully . . . NEW and completely revised/updated content with the latest infusion therapy techniques Easy-to-read, easy-to-remember guidance for students and practitioners lacking IV experience Start-to-finish directions and concise explanations on areas such as: Preparation Access sites Equipment use and management IV starting techniques, including line insertion Handling complications Infusion therapy using peripheral veins Infusion therapy requiring central venous access Parenteral nutrition Antineoplastic, biologic, and chemotherapy Discontinuing an IV Managing hypothermia, hypernatremia, calcemia, and kalemia Special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, and home care patients Legal issues and professional standards Dozens of colorful diagrams, photos and illustrations explain skills and core concepts, including: Delivery methods Flow rates Infusion fluids and medications Monitoring and documentation Transfusion therapy Special features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of each chapter's content "Nurse Joy" and "Jake" - offer clear explanations, vital care reminders, and expert insight on interventions and problem-solving Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter to help you retain knowledge That's a wrap! - summary of key information for quick chapter review Best practice - evidence-based standards for administering and monitoring infusion therapy Warning - possible risks or complications Running smoothly - pointers on keeping both patient and equipment problem-free Memory jogger - anecdotes and memory tricks to help you retain vital content Practice Makes Perfect - end-of-book NCLEX practice questions for solid exam preparation
Call Number: RM170 .I25 2018
Manual of Gastrointestinal Procedures, SGNA This brand new 7th edition reflects current evidence based practices in Endoscopic procedures from across the nation. The content is broad-based by design, allowing users to individualize the manual according to the specific needs and requirements of their setting. The Standard Considerations section includes those related to pre-procedure: patient teaching; equipment; accessories; support supplies; responsibilities during procedure; post-procedure care and pediatric considerations.
Call Number: RC802 .M35 2018x
NLN Core Competencies for Nurse Educators: a decade of influence NLN Core Competencies for Nurse Educators: A Decade of Influence Judith A. Halstead, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, Editor Thirteen years after initial publication, the NLN Core Competencies for Nursing Educators continue to guide the development of graduate nursing programs, define the roles and responsibilities of nurse educators, and provide a framework for ongoing research in identifying the knowledge, skills, and attitudes essential to preparing a qualified nursing workforce. NLN Core Competencies for Nurse Educators: A Decade of Influence revisits these critical guidelines through a contemporary lens that underscores their ongoing influence and offers valuable insight into how they will help shape the evolution of the nurse educator role. Whether you're a practicing nurse educator or pursuing a career in nursing education, you'll gain a better understanding of the theoretical foundation behind this landmark literature and learn how to best use it to successfully navigate the complex role of today's nursing faculty. "Nurse educators, grounded by the current evidence about the role of the nurse educator, will ensure that the next generation of students is prepared to provide interdisciplinary, patient-focused, safe, and high-quality care." Diane M. Billings, EdD, RN, ANEF, FAAN Chancellor's Professor Emeritus Indiana University School of Nursing, Indianapolis
Call Number: RT71 .N56 2019x
Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) Promoting safe and effective nursing care, Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC), 6th Edition standardizes the terminology and criteria needed to measure and evaluate outcomes that result from nursing interventions. Over 540 research-based nursing outcome labels - including50 that are NEW to this edition - help to standardize expected patient outcomes. Specific indicators make it easier to evaluate and rate the patient in relation to outcome achievement. Written by an expert author team led by Sue Moorhead, this book is ideal for practicing nurses, students, educators, researchers, and administrators seeking to improve cost containment and patient outcomes. 540 research-based nursing outcome labels promote standardization of expected patient outcomes. Definitions, lists of indicators, publication facts lines, and references provide all of the information you need to understand outcomes. NEW! Approximately 50 new outcome labels allow you to better define patient outcomes that are responsive to nursing care.
Call Number: RT85.5 .N864 2018
Policy and Politics for Nurses and Other Health Professionals: advocacy and action Policy and Politics for Nurses and Other Health Professionals: Advocacy and Action, Third Edition reflects a well-honed vision of what nursing and health professionals need to know to both understand and influence health policy. Through their focus on relevant issues, the authors discuss how healthcare professionals can prepare themselves to engage in the economic, political, and policy dimensions of health care. The Third Edition focuses on the most relevant health policy issues while taking an interdisciplinary approach to create an understanding of healthcare practice and policy across interprofessional teams. In addition, global and population health issues such as war, terrorism, disease and natural disasters that impact health professionals are also covered in detail. New to the Third Edition: * Case studies which close the gap in understanding how policy and politics impacts health systems * Updated content on the Affordable Care Act * Enhanced Primary Care Roles (new chapter) * Health Information Technology and the Intersection of Health Policy (new chapter) * Political Power of Nurses: Harnessing Our Values & Voices (new chapter)
Call Number: RA395.A3 P587 2020
Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy! The newly updated Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy!®, 3rd Edition, explains the essentials of respiratory care with humor, expert guidance, and numerous colorful images. Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to's you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language. Prepare for success in the classroom and on the job, with this enjoyable guide to creating positive respiratory outcomes. Grasp the fundamental concepts, skills, and processes of respiratory care ... NEW content on the latest respiratory modalities and updated nursing guidelines Dozens of colorful charts, drawings, and diagrams that make complex respiratory care concepts clear and easy-to-remember Perfect for visual learners--visually demonstrates anatomy and physiology, the components of treatments and when and how to apply them, and the causes, symptoms, and treatment of obstructive, restrictive, vascular, and neoplastic lung disorders Ideal reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and respiratory therapists, with clear, concise direction on areas such as: Respiratory assessment techniques Diagnostic procedures Airway maintenance Oxygen delivery Chest drainage Suctioning Ventilatory support Treating infection and inflammation Assessing and treating traumatic injuries and other respiratory emergencies Care of patients receiving extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) and end-tidal CO2 monitoring Recognizing an asthma attack Preoperative and postoperative care for patients having a thoracotomy or lung transplant Computed tomography (CT) and x-ray imaging Chapter features that provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts--quick summary of chapter content Kids' korner--seasoned guidance on caring for pediatric patients Clinical pearls--clear-cut explanations of symptoms and disorders, backed by direction and advice on treatment Advice from the experts--expert input on respiratory care Home care--helpful guidance on teaching patient self-care Breath sounds-- online access to breath sounds Nurses Joy and Jake--Practical advice and experienced insights offered throughout Memory jogger--simple techniques for remembering vital information About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner and Associate Graduate Faculty MSN Program Director and APN Program Coordinator at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey.
Call Number: RC735.5 .R4645 2019
Teaching with Technologies in Nursing and the Health Professions: strategies for engagement, quality and safety This unique book delivers broad teaching principles alongside strategies for selecting the best technology. The teaching principles discussed in this text illuminate the changing technologies used in education and practice and provide strategies for selecting the best technology to obtain specific learning objectives and outcomes. Each chapter contains case examples, self-assessment tools, quick teaching tips, evidence-based review abstracts, Q & As answered by noted practice experts.
Call Number: RT71 .B66 2019
Atlas of Endovascular Venous Surgery Highly visual and packed with useful, practical information, Atlas of Endovascular Venous Surgery, 2nd Edition, provides real-world instruction on the evaluation, diagnostic imaging, and medical and endovascular surgical management of acute and chronic venous diseases. Dr. Jose Almeida, pioneering expert in the field and host of the annual International Vein Congress, along with other highly regarded practitioners, offers an authoritative understanding of what causes increased venous pressure and solutions for reducing venous hypertension. Detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations capture key teaching moments, helping you better understand the nuances of surgery and improve your ability to perform cutting-edge procedures. Uses full-color line art to depict key anatomic features and anatomic approaches to venous surgeries, providing you with an overview of the relevant clinical anatomy for each procedure. Shows the correlation between radiologic appearance (ultrasound, CT, MRI) and anatomic and surgical views. Accompanies each surgical procedure with concise, descriptive text, giving you a step-by-step "walk through" of each technique. High-quality intraoperative videos demonstrate key stages of intraoperative technique. Ideal for all practitioners who treat patients with venous disorders, including vascular and general surgeons as well as interventional radiologists. Reflects the many developments that have taken place in the treatment of the deep venous system, especially the use of new anticoagulants and techniques to treat the sequelae of acute and chronic venous thromboembolic disease. Includes five brand-new chapters covering venous hemodynamics; new concepts in the management of pulmonary embolus; endothermal heat induced thrombosis; deep venous incompetence and valve repair; and nutcracker syndrome. Features significant updates throughout, including new devices in the management of thromboembolic disease; aggressive techniques for recanalizing iliofemoral venous occlusions, new nomenclature and endovascular approach to the treatment of pelvic venous disorders, new non-thermal devices for saphenous vein ablation, new stents for treatment of iliac vein obstruction and new devices for clot management, and endovascular and open repair of deep vein obstruction and reflux. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD598.7 .A85 2019
Clinical Pharmacology 'The very last thing a drug regulator wishes to be able to say is, like Lord Byron (1788-1824), on the publication of his poem Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, 'I awoke one morning and found myself famous.' The twelfth edition of this long-established textbook of clinical pharmacology (first published in 1960) continues its fine tradition of balancing science and practice for improved evidence-based drug therapy and good prescribing in therapeutic settings increasingly complicated by intercurrent disease and polypharmacy. Coverage of all major therapeutic topics by body system. Introductory sections give brief chapter synopses. Case studies where relevant. Covers the needs of the developing world with a focus on practical prescribing and health technology assessment. Definition, tips, brief explanation boxes throughout. Interesting histories, etymologies and provenances of terms throughout. Entertaining footnotes throughout. Fully updated throughout. New co-editor: Fraz Mir, Addenbrooke's Hospital and Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. Now with free e-book on StudentConsult.
Call Number: RM301.28 .L38 2019-ONLINE
Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine More than two million medical students, doctors and other health professionals around the globe have owned a copy of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine since it was first published. Now in its 23rd Edition, this textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them. Taking its origins from Sir Stanley Davidson's much-admired lecture notes, Davidson's has endured because it keeps pace with how modern medicine is taught and provides a wealth of information in an easy-to-read, concise and beautifully illustrated format. This book will serve readers everywhere as a core text that integrates medical science with clinical medicine, conveying key knowledge and practical advice in a highly accessible and readable format. The opening section describes the fundamentals of genetics, immunology, infectious diseases and population health, and discusses the core principles of clinical decision-making and good prescribing. A new second section on emergency and critical care medicine encompasses poisoning, envenomation and environmental medicine, and introduces a new chapter on acute medicine and critical illness. The third section covers the major medical specialties, each thoroughly revised and brought fully up to date. Two new chapters on maternal and adolescent/transition medicine complement the one on ageing and disease. A new chapter on medical ophthalmology has been included. Clinical Examination overviews summarise the main elements for each system and now feature in the biochemistry, nutrition and dermatology chapters. Presenting Problems sections provide a clear pathway for the assessment of and approach to the most common complaints in each specialty. Practice Point summaries detail the practical skills that medical students and junior doctors must acquire. Emergency boxes emphasise the core knowledge needed to manage acutely ill patients. In Old Age, In Pregnancy and In Adolescence boxes highlight differences in the practice of medicine in these patient groups, and illustrate the interfaces between medical, obstetric and paediatric services. The text is extensively illustrated, with over 1000 diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiology and pathology images. The global perspective is enhanced by an International Advisory Board of experts from 17 countries, and by authors from around the world. The new second section on emergency and critical care medicine introduces a significantly expanded and comprehensive account of the approaches to dealing with acute medical and critical illness. Two new chapters on maternal and adolescent/transition medicine complement the one on ageing and disease by addressing problems encountered at key stages of patients' lives. A new chapter on medical ophthalmology has been included as a direct response to readers' requests. The opening chapter has been completely rewritten with a new focus on the important principles of clinical decision-making or clinical reasoning. A new internal text design for this 23rd Edition provides a simpler and clearer presentation of the various categories of text boxes.
Call Number: RC46 .D24 2019-ONLINE
Junqueira's Basic Histology: text and atlas The text that has defined histology for generations--concise clear beautifully illustrated and better than everFor more than four decades Junqueira's Basic Histology has built a global reputation as the most accessible yet comprehensive overview of human tissue structure and function available. This trusted classic delivers a well-organized and concise presentation of cell biology and histology that integrates the material with that of biochemistry immunology endocrinology and physiology and provides an excellent foundation for subsequent studies in pathology. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology - and there is nothing else like it. FEATURES: - Electron and light micrographs comprise a definitive atlas of cell tissue and organ structures - NEW! Each chapter now includes a set of multiple-choice self-test questions that allow you to assess your comprehension of important material with some questions utilizing clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance - Summary of Key Points and Summary Tables highlight what is important and present it in a way that makes it memorable - Streamlined page design --including concise high-yield paragraphs; bullets; and bolded key terms - Acclaimed art and other figures facilitate learning and visualization of key aspects of cell biology and histology - A cohesive organization examines how to study the structures of cells and tissues; the cell cytoplasm and nucleus; and the four basic tissue types and their role in the organ systems - Clinical Correlations presented with each topic - All-inclusive coverage encompasses all tissues every organ system; organs bone and cartilage; blood; skin and more - Valuable appendix on light microscopy stains clearly explains this need-to-know staining technique
Call Number: QL807 .J8613 2018
Katzung and Trevor's Pharmacology: examination & board review Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. SCORE YOUR HIGHEST ON MEDICAL PHARMACOLOGY COURSE AND BOARD EXAMS WITH THE WORLD'S BESTSELLING PHARMACOLOGY REVIEW BOOK! From the authors of the field's most trusted textbook, Katzung & Trevor's Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, this full-color resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts, backed by more than 800 questions and answers. The chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts. EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO EXCEL: *Concise discussion of the major concepts that underlie basic principles or specific drug groups in every chapter *Full-color tables and figures (many new to this edition) *Review questions followed by answers and explanations *Two comprehensive 100-question practice exams, followed by answer keys and explanations for correct answers *Diagrams that visually organize drug groups and concepts *A list of high-yield terms and definitions you must know *Skill Keeper Questions that prompt you to go back and review previous material to understand the link between topics *A checklist of tasks you should be able to perform upon completion of the chapter *Summary Tables that list the important drugs and include key information about their mechanism of action and effects, clinical uses, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and toxicities *An Appendix of test taking strategies for the highest score possible
Call Number: RM300 .K38 2019 Print and ONLINE
Learning and Teaching in Clinical Contexts Featuring the perspectives of more than 40 leading international researchers, theorists and practitioners in clinical education, Learning and Teaching in Clinical Contexts: A Practical Guide provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of clinical education and the delivery of practical teaching strategies. Written by Clare Delany and Elizabeth Molloy, each chapter weaves together education theory, education strategies and illustrative learning and teaching case scenarios drawn from multidisciplinary clinical contexts. The text supports clinicians and educators responsible for designing and delivering health professional education in clinical workplaces and clinicians undertaking continuing education in workplace teaching. The book is divided into four sections, each addressing a key aspect of the learner and educator experience. Section 1 considers the learner's needs as they make key transitions from classroom to workplace, or recent graduate to competent clinician Section 2 focuses on the influence of workplace contexts and how they can be used as positive catalysts to enhance learning Section 3 highlights the role of workplace assessments as embedded processes to positively influence learning Section 4 provides an overview of the changing roles of the clinical educator and processes and models of professional development to build educational expertise Demonstrates the integrated nature of three key threads within the field of clinical education: theory, method and context Highlights theoretical frameworks: cognitive, psychological, sociocultural, experiential and ethical traditions and how they inform teaching decisions Incorporates case studies throughout to provide a context to learning and teaching in clinical education Includes practical tips from expert practitioners across different topics Includes an eBook with print purchase on evolve
Call Number: R737 .L43 2018x
Lung Cancer: a Practical Approach to Evidence-Based Clinical Evaluation and Management Get a quick, expert overview of the many key facets of lung cancer evaluation and management with this concise, practical resource by Drs. Lynn T. Tanoue and Frank Detterbeck. This easy-to-read reference presents a summary of today's best evidence-based approaches to diagnosis and management in this critical area.
Call Number: RC280.L8 L85 2019x
Master Techniques in Otolaryngology - head and neck surgery: otology, neurotology and lateral skull base surgery This sixth installment in the Master Techniques in Otolaryngologic Surgery series provides step-by-step instructions and descriptions of procedures that every otolaryngologist who performs otologic/neurotologic surgery should find very useful. All contributors are experts in their field, chosen for their extensive experience and expertise. Extensively illustrated, the book discusses hearing and tympanic membrane reconstruction, grafting, regeneration, approaches for tumor excisions, implanting techniques, nerve decompression, repair and rehabilitation, and other techniques. Offers specialists and generalists how-to guidance on successfully performing various common and advanced procedures. Content is organized by procedure, and features procedural history, physical assessment, pre- and post-operative planning, technical instructions, and other key topics. Includes "pearls and pitfalls": hints for a successful procedure and avoiding and managing complications. Nearly 1,000 illustrations and photographs depicting accurate techniques. Videos of correct procedural techniques are linked from the eBook. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RF51 .M37 2019
Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery First presented by the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology in 2015, the comprehensive, evidence-based examination of cancer surgery techniques as standards distills the well-defined protocols and procedures that are critical to achieve optimal outcomes in a cancer operation. This unique, one of a kind collaboration between the American College of Surgeons and the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology focuses on best practices and state-of-the-art methodologies. Operative Standards for Cancer Surgery clearly describes the surgical activities that occur between skin incision and skin closure that directly affect cancer outcomes. Quickly grasp the proper technical elements of a cancer operation through clear, practical text and more than 120 illustrations. Benefit from careful analysis of the best evidence available in the literature; gathered here to create the highest quality standards in cancers of the esophagus, stomach, thyroid, rectum, and melanoma. Learn from experts drawn from diverse groups, including the American College of Surgeons, the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, the National Cancer Institute Cooperative Groups, and the Commission on Cancer, as well as national societies and organizations with an interest in these five cancer types. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD651 .O64 2019
Paediatric Neurology Paediatric Neurology contains all the necessary guidance to investigate, diagnose and treat both common and rare neurological conditions in paediatrics. Each condition is covered by its own topic providing information on symptoms and signs, complications and emergency intervention.
Call Number: RJ486 .P252 2018
Physician Assistant: a Guide to Clinical Practice Entering its 6th edition, Physician Assistant: A Guide to Clinical Practice is the only text that covers all aspects of the physician assistant profession, the PA curriculum, and the PA's role in clinical practice. It is designed as a highly visual and practical resource to be used across the spectrum of lifelong learning, enabling students and practicing PAs to thrive in a rapidly changing health care system. Teaches how to prepare for each core clinical rotation and common electives, as well as how to work with atypical patient populations such as homeless patients and patients with disabilities. A succinct, bulleted writing style; convenient tables; practical case studies; and clinical application questions throughout enable you to master key concepts and clinical applications. Helps you master all the core competencies needed for certification or recertification. Addresses all six Physician Assistant Competencies, as well as providing guidance for the newly graduated PA entering practice. Includes quick-use resources, such as objectives and key points sections for each chapter, tip boxes with useful advice, abundant tables and images, and 134 updated case studies. Features chapters for the 7 core clinical rotations and 5 common electives, with key guidance on how to prepare effectively and what to expect. Provides updated health policy information, expanded information about international programs, cultural competencies, and pearls and pitfalls on working internationally as a PA. Outlines the basic principles of Interprofessional Education - an important new trend in medical education nationally. New chapters cover: Maximizing Your Education, Future of the Profession, Principles of PA Education, Managing Stress and Burnout, and many other topics. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: R697.P45 P48 2018-ONLINE
Renal Physiology Gain a foundational understanding of renal physiology and how the renal system functions in health and disease. Renal Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal kidney function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, "In the Clinic" and "At the Molecular Level" boxes, chapter summaries, clinical cases with review questions and answers, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Includes more than 250 clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Pappano & Wier: Cardiovascular Physiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
Call Number: QP249 .K64 2019-Print & ONLINE
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: clinical and laboratory aspects Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Third Edition, is the only pocket-sized, quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine residents and fellows. It covers all topics in transfusion medicine and clinical and laboratory-based coagulation. Chapters are organized by multiple hierarchical headings and are supplemented with up to 10 suggested reading citations. This single handbook covers all the topics required to meet the goals of a major program in transfusion medicine and clinical coagulation. Changes to this edition include the latest AABB standards and new chapters focused on a wider range of specific populations requiring blood and related products. Coverage includes essential updates on peripheral blood and bone marrow hematopoietic progenitor cells, as well as cord blood banking and regenerative medicine. The authors also examine advances in therapeutic apheresis and new cellular therapies.
Call Number: RM171 .T7357 2019-ONLINE
Travell, Simons and Simons' - Myofascial Pain and Dysfunction: the trigger point manual This new edition of Travell, Simons & Simons' groundbreaking work reflects the latest research and best practices associated with trigger points and updates the iconic pain point images that set the standard in the field. New lead editor Joseph M. Donnelly draws on his experience as both educator and physical therapy practitioner to integrate an evidence-based approach into this critical text. In addition, the new edition consolidates information to create a more intuitive user experience and features a completely new full color design to bring concepts to life. Buy it as an eBook. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW! Consolidated: The previous edition's two volumes- Upper Extremities and Lower Extremities--have been consolidated into one accessible book. NEW! Updated research from around the world and coverage of the most current evidence-based treatments prepare readers for practice. UPDATED!More integrated presentation. Information on pain is now better integrated with information on pain treatment. UPDATED! In-text learning aids integrated throughout the text, including learning objectives, case studies, and Q&As, help students master the material and apply it to practice.
Call Number: RC925.5 .T7 2019
Complete List of ALL new items
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
What's New in Current Awareness?
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015