Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Adult CCRN Strategies, Practice, and Review with 2 Practice Tests Kaplan's Adult CCRN Prep provides focused review for practicing nurses studying for the Adult CCRN certification exam. This guide includes in-depth coverage of all tested material, realistic practice, and effective score-raising strategies to help you face the exam with confidence and take the next step in your professional nursing certification. Essential Review Two full-length practice tests with detailed rationales New 25-question diagnostic quiz to target your study and make the most of your time Ten end-of-chapter practice sets with detailed answer explanations Review of the Synergy Model for Patient Care Comprehensive content review of essential CCRN topics Expert Guidance Expert strategies and advice on how to approach each specific question type Kaplan's expert psychometricians ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test. We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for almost 80 years. Our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams. The previous edition of this book was titled Adult CCRN Strategies, Practice and Review with 2 Practice Tests.
Call Number: RT120.I5 C33 2017x
Advanced Practice Nursing: essentials for role development The 4th Edition of an AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Survive and thrive as an APN! Meet all the challenges of professional practice--whatever your specialty or environment. Noted nursing professionals and educators explore all of the non-clinical roles and responsibilities of an APN and chart a course that will enable you to meet them successfully. You'll follow the evolution of the APN's role from a historical perspective to the present and examine the issues and challenges you'll encounter in the future. An access code inside new printed texts unlocks your Davis Digital eBook, your complete book online with searching, highlighting and bookmarking functionality as well as bonus chapters, selected bibliographies, and links to online resources.
Call Number: RT82.8 .J64 2018
Critical Conversations: the NLN Guide for Teaching Thinking With todays health care systems demanding not only capable nurses but also reflective practitioners, nurse educators are challenged more than ever to engage students in making sense of their experiences and responding thoughtfully to diverse situations. Critical Conversations helps nursing educators discover how better listening can lead to better learning with insightful guidance on the conversations that drive effective understanding for both instructors and students. Applying The NLN Guide for Teaching Thinking, this monograph helps nursing educators practice and implement the most effective strategies for fostering critical conversations across simulation, classroom, and clinical learning environments. From conceptualizing learning as meaning making to the cognitive strategy of being critical and engaging learners through purposeful learning conversations, straightforward exemplars throughout the text offer a support structure to guide educators in helping students learn to think deeply and critically in any setting.
Call Number: RT90 .C75 2018
Genetics and Genomics in Nursing: guidelines for conducting a risk assessment The genomic era encompasses the entire spectrum of DNA--all of the genes and the interaction and interrelationship of genes (genome) to the environment. Rapidly changing research has led to numerous advances in genetic testing, diagnosis, and treatments, and it is essential that APRNs are able to integrate genetic risk assessment into clinical care. This quick reference delivers complex information in an easy-to-read, step-by-step format with bitesize info boxes and bulleted lists to provide the tools necessary to understand genetics/genomics and identify "red flags" that can appear in patient assessments. In an age of personalized and precision medicine, genetic risk assessment has never been more important. Genetics and Genomics in Nursing begins with an overview of genetics and the science behind inheritance. Chapters then break down the processes that make up risk assessment and walk the reader through data collection and review, identification and calculation of risk, and patient communication. The last section of the text discusses special populations and key facts nurses need to know about their risk assessment. Key Features: Provides a clear introduction to a complex topicDescribes important elements of the genomic risk assessment process for use in clinical settings when evaluating patientsIllustrates how to develop a three-generation pedigreeApplies commonly used standardized pedigree symbols and familial patterns to aid in risk interpretationDiscusses the challenges and limitations of pedigree interpretationExplains common concepts and includes helpful genomic resourcesIncorporates genomic risk assessment into patient evaluation
Call Number: RB155 .E39 2018
History of Professional Nursing in the United States: toward a culture of health For over 400 years, a diverse array of nurses, nurses' aides, midwives, and public-minded citizens across the United States have attended to the health care of America's equally diverse populations. Beginning in 1607 when the first Englishmen landed in Virginia, and concluding in 2016 when Flint, Michigan, was declared to be in a state of emergency, this expansive nursing history text for undergraduate and graduate nursing programs examines the history of the nursing profession to help the reader better understand how nursing became what it is today. Grounded in the premise that health care can and should be promoted in partnership with communities to provide quality care for all, this history analyzes the resilience and innovation of nurses who provided care for the most underprivileged populations, such as slaves on Southern plantations, immigrants in tenements in Manhattan's Lower East Side, and isolated populations in rural Kentucky. It takes into account issues of race, class, and gender, and the influence of these factors on nurses and patients. Featuring nearly 300 photos, oral histories, and personal accounts from varied settings in the United States and other countries, the narrative discusses major medical and scientific advances, prominent leaders and grassroots movements in nursing, and ethical dilemmas that nurses faced with each change in the profession. Chapters include discussion questions for class sessions as well as a list of suggested reading. KEY FEATURES: Examines the history of nursing during the past four centuriesLinks challenges for nurses in the past to those of present-day nursesIncludes oral histories, medical discoveries, legal and ethical issues, personal perspectives, archival sites, discussion questions, suggested reading, and abundant notesCovers drugs, technological innovations, and scientific advances in each era
Call Number: RT41 .K44 2018x
Human-Animal Interactions: a social work guide This book provides a comprehensive examination of the Human-Animal Interaction (HAI)and its applicability to helping professions. It begins by providing a detailed overview, analyzing its history; extensive biological, physiological, and social benefits; and associated risks and ethical concerns. Relational aspects of HAI are also considered, including the role of companion animals in family systems, the loss of companion animals, and the various contexts in which social workers may have to confront and address violence toward animals. the varying therapeutic roles of animals and related practice guidelines are delineated and discussed. Current legal guidelines are also provided.
Call Number: QL85 .H69 2017
Maternal Child Nursing Care Get the accurate, practical information you need to succeed in the classroom, the clinical setting, and on the NCLEX-RN#65533; examination. Written by the foremost experts in maternity and pediatric nursing, the user-friendly Maternal Child Nursing Care, 6th Edition provides both instructors and students with just the right amount of maternity and pediatric content. This new edition includes updated case studies within Nursing Care Plans, as well as a new chapter on pediatric cancer. Focus on the family throughout emphasizes the influence of the entire family in health and illness. Focus on the family throughout emphasizes the influence of the entire family in health and illness. Expert authors of the market-leading maternity and pediatric nursing textbooks combine to ensure delivery of the most accurate, up-to-date content. Critical thinking case studies offer you opportunities to test and develop your analytical skills and apply knowledge in various settings. Nursing Care Plans include rationales for interventions and provide you with an overview and specific guidelines for delivering effective nursing care. Nursing Alerts highlight critical information that you need to know when treating patients. Guidelines boxes outline nursing procedures in an easy-to-follow format. Emergency boxes in the maternity unit guide you through step-by-step emergency procedures. Home Care boxes detail important information that you need to deliver care to patients and families in the home setting. Atraumatic Care boxes in the pediatric unit teach you how to provide competent and effective care to pediatric patients with the least amount of physical or psychological stress. Community Focus boxes emphasize community issues, provide resources and guidance, and illustrate nursing care in a variety of settings. Patient Teaching boxes in the maternity unit highlight important information nurses need to communicate to patients and families. Cultural Competence boxes equip you with the knowledge you need to deliver culturally competent care.\ Family-Centered Care boxes draw attention to the needs or concerns of families that you should consider to provide family-centered care. Medication Guides serve as an important reference of drugs and their interactions. NEW! New chapter on pediatric cancer gives you the most up-to-date information on the latest topics. EXPANDED! Additional information on sexuality in the maternity section. EXPANDED! More content on spirituality in the family, culture, and spiritual chapters. EXPANDED and UPDATED! New content about LBGTQ+ included in the Transition to Parenthood chapter. NEW! Information on victims of sexual abuse as parents and human trafficking helps prepare you to handle these delicate issues. NEW and UPDATED! Case studies emphasize interprofessional care, demonstrating how nursing must collaborate with other health care disciplines to provide the most comprehensive care possible to women and children. UPDATED! Nursing Care Plans now incorporate case studies to personalize interventions and promote critical thinking.
Call Number: RG951 .W87 2018
Maternity and Pediatric Nursing Enhance your critical thinking skills in a clinical setting and prepare for the NCLEX-PN exam with this clear, easy-to-understand, and highly visual book. Written by two experts and current educators in pediatric and maternity nursing, the 4th edition has been updated to reflect today,,s best practices and evidence-based care. Each chapter includes a built-in workbook, integrated case studies, and in-patient scenarios to sharpen your understanding of the content. Plus, this edition is accompanied by a robust array of interactive online resources to enrich your learning experience and further prepare you for maternity and pediatric nursing practice. Hightlights of the 4th edition: NEW & UPDATEDCONTENT, including the latest NANDA terminology, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) guidelines, the Baby Friendly Initiative, medication updates, and more, prepare you for practice in today,,s rapidly changing healthcare environment. UNIQUE! A built-in workbook at the end of each chapter includes NCLEX-PN-style review questions, study activities, and critical thinking "What Would You Do?" exercises. NEW! Concept Mastery Alerts highlight commonly misunderstood concepts and provide helpful explanations to clarify them. Chapter-opening case studies foster critical thinking A Nursing Process approach prepares you to write individual care plans by walking you through each step of the nurses role in data collection (assessment), relevant nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, and evaluation. First-person narratives help you understand the feelings of clients and and their family members. Cultural Snapshots encourage you to think about cultural differences when caring for your clients. Learning Objectives and Key Points, which set goals for understanding and highlight must-know information, help you master important concepts. Test Yourself questions allow you to check your understanding as you go Clinical Secrets highlight safety concerns and other important topics to prepare you for on-the-job challenges. ENHANCED online student resources include NCLEX-PN-style questions (revised to reflect the latest test plan) including new alternate format questions), drug monographs, maternity and pediatric nursing videos, audio glossaries, dosage calculation quizzes, and more. Comprehensive instructor resources include guided lecture notes, PowerPoint presentations, test generator, image bank, QSEN competencies, concept-based curriculum maps, quizzes, assignments, and more. This leading content is also incorporated into Lippincott CoursePoint, a dynamic learning solution that integrates this books curriculum, adaptive learning tools, real-time data reporting, and the latest evidence-based practice content together into one powerful student education solution. Lippincott CoursePoint improves the nursing students,, critical thinking and clinical reasoning skills to prepare them for practice. Learn more at NursingEducationSuccess.com/CoursePoint.
Call Number: RG951 .H38 2018
Medical-Surgical Nursing Review Questions: includes answers and rationales The third edition of this valuable resource offers and excellent review for new graduates as well as seasoned nursing moving to medical-surgical nursing. The book is most likely to be used, however, by nurses preparing for the medical-surgical nursing specialty certification examination. The book contains 350 review questions with answers and rationales. It covers all areas of medical-surgical nursing practice. Excellent for certification preparation or general review!
Call Number: Pamphlet #2328
The Mindful Nurse: using the power of mindfulness and compassion to help you thrive in your work Nurses work in the foxhole of the healthcare battlefield. Their work is emotionally grueling and physically draining. This easy-to-follow book offers a new skill set to cope with the challenges of nursing and sustain compassion in the long term. Backed by scientific evidence, the book teaches mindfulness and compassion practices to lessen stress, enhance relationships, improve patient care, and reduce patient risk. With a new understanding of everyday mindfulness and compassion, nurses can overcome the myriad contemporary challenges inherent in the workplace--and in their own lives. This book will show you how to: ► Nurture others without depleting yourself ► Overcome compassion fatigue and burnout ► Decrease frustration and job overwhelm ► Reduce mistakes through managing attention ► Respond rather than react to crises ► Revive your love for your profession
Call Number: RT84.5 .S457 2016x
Nursing Knowledge and Theory Innovation: advancing the science of practice This esteemed text for graduate-level nursing students focuses on the science and philosophy of nursing knowledge development, with a special emphasis on theory as a tool in developing practice-relevant knowledge. It is distinguished by its focus on practical applications of theory for scholarly, evidence-based approaches. The second edition features important updates and a reorganization of information to better highlight the roles of theory and the major philosophical perspectives in knowledge development. It also introduces two new chapters: The DNP Project: Translating Research Into Knowledge for Practice, and Generating Knowledge in Practice. Summary Points and Questions for Reflection at the end of each chapter help to reinforce knowledge. The text offers a comprehensive overview of the philosophy and history of science, the structures of nursing knowledge, and a path for knowledge development. It is unique in its reach beyond the traditional views about theory in nursing. It advocates equipping practitioners as well as other nurses with the tools to make theory more relevant to their own practice and to inspire confidence to be active participants in building knowledge for nursing. The text will help students become aware of their own philosophical and theoretical ideas and knowledge embedded in their practice and to learn strategies for developing theory-based knowledge--strategies that are practice relevant and practice based. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: New chapters: The DNP Project: Translating Research Into Knowledge for Practice and Generating Knowledge in PracticeReorganization of material to better highlight the roles of theory and the major philosophical perspectives in knowledge developmentSummary Points at the end of each chapter KEY FEATURES: Balances theoretical and philosophical ideas with practical perspectivesIncludes concrete strategies for knowledge developmentExplicates the shared and distinct roles of DNP and PhD nurses in knowledge developmentIntroduces "intermodernism" to support practice-based theory and knowledge developmentIntroduces "Interludes" whereby readers can examine specific strategies of knowledge development
Call Number: RT81.5 .R44 2018
Nursing Professional Development Review Manual: nursing certification review manual, continuing education resource, clinical practice resource This manual is a must-have tool for nurses planning to take the American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC) Nursing Professional Development certification exam. Based on the ANCC certification exam text content outline, this review will help you: - study and analyze comprehensive material and concepts written by nursing experts. - Develop a recommended seven-step plan to equip you for the exam and map out what to do on the day of the exam. - Prepare for, and familiarize yourself with, Nursing Professional Development standards of practice. - and much more.
Call Number: RT76 .A95 2017
Cracking the GRE Premium: the all -in-one solution for your highest possible score THE ALL-IN-ONE SOLUTION FOR YOUR HIGHEST POSSIBLE SCORE! Get all the prep you need for your best score on the GRE with The Princeton Review, including 6 full-length practice tests, thorough topic reviews, and exclusive access to our online Premium Portal with tons of extra practice and resources. Techniques That Actually Work. * Powerful tactics to avoid traps and beat the test * Pacing tips to help maximize your time * Detailed examples of how to employ each strategy to your advantage Everything You Need to Know for a High Score. * Thorough reviews for every section of the exam * Valuable practice with complex reading comprehension passages and math problems * Extensive GRE vocabulary list featuring key terms and exercises Practice Your Way to Perfection. * 6 full-length practice tests with detailed answer explanations (2 in the book; 4 online) * Drills for each test section--Verbal, Math, and Writing * Step-by-step guides for interpreting your practice test results * In-depth score reports available for online practice exams Plus, with Cracking the GRE, Premium Edition you'll get online access to our exclusive Premium Portal for an extra competitive edge: * Key info about grad school admissions, testing calendars, and financial aid * Video tutorials that break down strategies for each section of the GRE * Multi-week study guides * Special "GRE Insider" section packed with helpful info about grad school admissions, popular programs, application requirements, and more
Call Number: LB2367.4 .C736 2017
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Management/Employee Development Books
Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: a systems approach Stakeholders at all levels of a healthcare system have a vested interest in improving quality and safety. Managers play instrumental roles in creating and delivering high-quality services but many frontline clinical and administrative staff members are also involved, directly or indirectly, in shaping patient care systems and designing safer, more efficient processes.
Applying Quality Management in Healthcare explores the principles of quality management and provides a variety of practical tools for real-world improvement and problem solving. Unlike many healthcare quality management books, this book delves into the systems that serve as the foundation of a high-quality health services organization. Readers learn which management practices are essential to creating an organization capable of advancing performance goals, making long-lasting process improvements, and providing the operational systems and tools needed for success.
This edition features new and enhanced material, including the following:
• Expanded content on quality tools, improvement models, reporting and analyzing data, project teams, and patient safety
• Division of the book from three to four major sections to broaden coverage of key foundational principles
• Case studies illustrating what is required of health services organizations to set the stage for success
• The nuts and bolts of achieving improved patient safety and quality results in complex systems
• Several innovative and updated exercises and practice labs to enhance the learning experience
• A new chapter dedicated to systems issues affecting patient safety
• A new chapter on data analytics with emphasis on interpreting quality measurement results
In addition, the book provides guidance on managing improvement projects, fostering collaboration, providing a supportive environment for performance improvement, and becoming a high-reliability organization. Concepts are robustly supported by real-life examples, end-of-chapter exercises, and a series of practice labs.
Call Number: RA399.A1 K455 2017
The Gamification Revolution: how leaders leverage game mechanics to crush the competition THE REVOLUTION WILL BE GAMIFIED MASTER THE GAMIFIED STRATEGIES THAT WILL TRANSFORM YOURBUSINESS--OR BE LEFT BEHIND Gamification: It's the hottest new strategy in business, and for good reason--it's helping leading companies create unprecedented engagement with customers and employees. Gamification uses the latest innovations from game design, loyalty programs, and behavioraleconomics to help you cut through the noise and transform your organization into a lean, mean machine ready to fight the battle for user attention and loyalty. With The Gamification Revolution you'll learn how top companies: Recruit and retain the best talent from the gamer generation and beyond Train employees and drive excellence with noncash incentives Cut through the market noise and ignite consumer sales growth Generate unprecedented customer loyalty without breaking the bank Drawing inspiration from the most popular games of all time--from Angry Birds to World of Warcraft--the authors reveal the secrets of market leaders that you can apply immediately to your business. As a bonus, the book gives you full access to The Gamification Revolution app--a great way to optimize and enhance your experience with videos, tips, and social tools, including the ability to easily share the best ideas with your colleagues and workgroup. You'll learn the new rules of engagement that are guaranteed to generate excitement and enthusiasm--in your employees and your customers. You'll understand how game designers predict and motivate behaviors--and how you can get the results you want. You'll also find a winning selection of fascinating case studies, best practices, and game-ready tools of the trade you can easily apply to yourspecific needs. It's all here in one ready-to-use strategy guide filled with the best ideas and pitfalls you can avoid. If you're going to play the game, this is how you play it. To win. Praise for The Gamification Revolution: "For consumer-facing businesses today, nothing matters more than delivering a great user experience and creating lasting engagement with your consumers and employees. The Gamification Revolution will show you how leaders have reached for the top and won." -- ALEXANDRA WILKIS WILSON, Cofounder, Gilt Groupe, andauthor of the New York Times bestseller By Invitation Only "In today's fast-paced world, people are more distracted than ever. To stand out, you'll need to cut through the noise and get them engaged. The GamificationRevolution will teach you the essential building blocks for achieving long-term success and growth." -- JESSE REDNISS, SVP, USA Network/NBCU "From engaging customers to retaining a team, The Gamification Revolution will provide you with tactics that generate results. I know. Gabe's wisdom has helpedthe Founder Institute expand to every inhabited continent and change thousands of lives." -- ADEO RESSI, CEO, Founder Institute "Zichermann and Linder propose a pragmatic approach to gamification that will provide breakthrough results. Sales is the last bastion of corporate innovation, and this spectacular read is a must for any sales leader." -- HI LEVA, Senior VP Sales Operations, Clear Channel Outdoor
Call Number: HF5414 .Z53 2013
How to Think: a survival guide for a world at odds "Absolutely splendid . . . essential for understanding why there is so much bad thinking in political life right now." --David Brooks, New York Times How to Think is a contrarian treatise on why we're not as good at thinking as we assume--but how recovering this lost art can rescue our inner lives from the chaos of modern life. As a celebrated cultural critic and a writer for national publications like The Atlantic and Harper's, Alan Jacobs has spent his adult life belonging to communities that often clash in America's culture wars. And in his years of confronting the big issues that divide us--political, social, religious--Jacobs has learned that many of our fiercest disputes occur not because we're doomed to be divided, but because the people involved simply aren't thinking. Most of us don't want to think. Thinking is trouble. Thinking can force us out of familiar, comforting habits, and it can complicate our relationships with like-minded friends. Finally, thinking is slow, and that's a problem when our habits of consuming information (mostly online) leave us lost in the spin cycle of social media, partisan bickering, and confirmation bias. In this smart, endlessly entertaining book, Jacobs diagnoses the many forces that act on us to prevent thinking--forces that have only worsened in the age of Twitter, "alternative facts," and information overload--and he also dispels the many myths we hold about what it means to think well. (For example: It's impossible to "think for yourself.") Drawing on sources as far-flung as novelist Marilynne Robinson, basketball legend Wilt Chamberlain, British philosopher John Stuart Mill, and Christian theologian C.S. Lewis, Jacobs digs into the nuts and bolts of the cognitive process, offering hope that each of us can reclaim our mental lives from the impediments that plague us all. Because if we can learn to think together, maybe we can learn to live together, too.
Call Number: BF441 .J275 2017
Intangibles: the unexpected traits of high-performance As a leader, is it possible to be both successful and humble? Studies show that today's emerging leaders not only prioritize achievement over humility but also see the two as mutually exclusive. Does this signal an existential crisis for healthcare an industry that, at its essence, is supposed to embody humility and compassion? Thankfully, no, according to Intangibles: The Unexpected Traits of High-Performing Healthcare Leaders, which demonstrates that you can embrace humility and still be excellent at your job. The author, a healthcare professor, executive coach and consultant, gleans evidence and insights from researchers, executives, philosophers, and thought leaders. Intangibles is neither a self-help book offering prescriptive answers nor a leadership-guru biopic looking back at a lifetime of lessons learned. Rather, it offers an engaging exploration of evidence-based practices from an array of leaders in different settings. The book's stories, interviews, and research findings will appeal to readers of every stripe and career stage, from undergraduate students in healthcare administration to early careerists and even seasoned CEOs. Part 1 introduces the four intangible leadership traits: humility, compassion, kindness, and generosity. Part 2 explores each trait in detail, and part 3 tackles the traits through the lenses of gender, age, and self-improvement. Along the way, the book explores many intriguing questions: Is humility viewed as weakness? Can leaders balance kindness with a strong personality? How do men and women differ in their perceptions of these traits? Are there generational differences in how leadership is perceived? Can these characteristics be learned? In the end, Intangibles concludes that high-performance in leadership can be achieved when humility is combined with ambition, and compassion with strength.
Call Number: RA971 .K26 2018
Reframing Organizations: artisty, choice and leadership Set aside trends to focus on the fundamentals of great leadership Reframing Organizations provides time-tested guidance for more effective organizational leadership. Rooted in decades of social science research across multiple disciplines, Bolman and Deal's four-frame model has continued to evolve since its conception over 25 years ago; this new sixth edition has been updated to include coverage of cross-sector collaboration, generational differences, virtual environments, globalization, sustainability, and communication across cultures. The Instructor's guide has been expanded to provide additional tools for the classroom, including chapter summary tip sheets, mini-assessments, Bolman & Deal podcasts, and more. These recent revisions reflect the intersection of reader recommendations and the current leadership environment, resulting in a renewed practicality and even greater alignment with everyday application. Combining the latest research from organizational theory, organizational behavior, psychology, sociology, political science and more, the model detailed here provides real guidance for real leaders. Guide, motivate, and inspire your team's best performance as you learn to: Optimize group, team, and organizational structure Build a positive, collaborative dynamic across generations, teams, and sectors Understand power and conflict amidst the internal and external political landscape Shape your organization's culture and build a cohesive sense of spirit Bolman and Deal's four-frame model has withstood the test of time because it offers an accessible, compact, and powerful set of ideas for navigating complexity and turbulence. In today's business climate, leadership trends come and go; today's flash in the pan is tomorrow's obsolete strategy, but a leadership framework built on a solid foundation will serve your organization well no matter what the future holds. Reframing Organizations provides clear guidance and up-to-date insight for anyone facing the challenges of contemporary leadership.
Call Number: HD31 .B6135 2017
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
What's New in Current Awareness?