Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Ace the PCCN® : You can do it! :Practice Review Book Take this first step toward becoming certified! Ace the PCCN®: You Can Do It! Practice Review Questions book was designed to challenge your knowledge using practice questions following AACN’s test blueprint for the PCCN® examination. The book contains hundreds of practice questions and provides rationales for each of the questions.
Call Number: RT120.P76 K86 2017x
CCRN Review Book 2018-2019 Trivium Test Prep's CCRN Review Book 2018-2019: CCRN Study Guide and Practice Test Questions for the Critical Care Nursing Exam offers: A detailed overview of what you need to know for CCRN, so that you know exactly what to expect on the CCRN exam A CCRN review of all the subjects over which you will be tested CCRN practice questions for you to practice and improve Test tips and strategies to help you score higher on the CCRN Trivium Test Prep's CCRN Review Book 2018-2019: CCRN Study Guide and Practice Test Questions for the Critical Care Nursing Exam covers: Cardiovascular Pulmonary Endocrine Hematology/Immunology Neurology Gastrointestinal Renal Multisystem Behavioral/Psychosocial Professional Care and Ethics About Trivium Test Prep Trivium Test Prep is an independent test prep study guide company that produces and prints all of our books right here in the USA. Our dedicated professionals know how people think and learn, and have created our CCRN Review Book based on what research has shown to be the fastest, easiest, and most effective way to prepare for the exam. Unlike other study guides that are stamped out in a generic fashion, our CCRN Review Book is specifically tailored for your exact needs.
Call Number: RT120.I5 C335 2018x
Health Assessment in Nursing Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Now in its sixth edition, the innovative, systematic, and easy to understand Health Assessment in Nursing has already helped thousands of RN-seeking students develop the comprehensive knowledge base and expert nursing assessment skills necessary for accurate collection of client data. The authors provide in-depth, accurate information, a compelling Continuing Case Study that covers every step in the assessment process, a focus on diversity and health assessment through the lifespan, a striking photo and illustration program that includes photos of practicing nurses performing assessments, dynamic online video clips and animations, and much more. This book provides students everything needed to master the knowledge and assessment skills needed for a successful nursing career. KEY FEATURES NEW! Focused/Specialized Assessments signaled with icons and introduced with explanatory text help differentiate between skills that are more specialized for specific settings NEW! Verbally Communicating Findings boxes include brief biographical information and the patient's chief concern followed by a report of "significant positives" and "significant negatives" to help students understand how to better communicate with colleagues Continuing Case Studies with COLDSPA mnemonic Evidence-Based Health Promotion and Disease Prevention boxes Assessment Guides Assessment Tools Safety Tips Clinical Tips Older Adult Considerations Cultural Considerations
Call Number: RT48 .W43 2018
Leadership and Nursing Care Management Develop your management and leadership skills. Leadership and Nursing Care Management, 6th Edition maintains its AONE competencies, and features the most up-to-date, evidence-based blend of practice and theory related to the issues that impact nursing management and leadership today. A fresh, conversational writing style provides you with an easy-to-understand, in-depth look at these prevalent issues. Key topics include the nursing professional's role in law and ethics, staffing and scheduling, delegation, cultural considerations, care management, human resources, outcomes management, safe work environments, preventing employee injury, and time and stress management. UNIQUE! Chapters divided according to AONE competencies for nurse leaders, managers, and executives. Research Notes in each chapter summarize relevant nursing leadership and management studies and highlight the practical applications of research findings. Case Studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management situations and illustrate how key concepts can be applied to actual practice. Critical Thinking Questions at the end of each chapter present clinical situations followed by critical thinking questions that allow you to reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to the situation. Full-color design and photos makes content more vivid. Updated! Chapter on the Prevention of Workplace Violence emphasizes the AONE, Joint Commission's, and OSHA's leadership regarding ethical issues with disruptive behaviors of incivility, bullying, and other workplace violence. Updated! Chapter on Workplace Diversity includes the latest information on how hospitals and other healthcare facilities address and enhance awareness of diversity. Updated! Chapter on Data Management and Clinical Informatics covers how new technology helps patients be informed, connected, and activated through social networks; and how care providers access information through mobile devices, data dashboards, and virtual learning systems.
Call Number: RT89 .H83 2018
Medical-Surgical Nursing: concepts for interprofessional collaborative care Healthcare is evolving at an incredible pace and with it, the roles and responsibilities of the medical-surgical nurse. Ensure you are fully equipped to thrive and adapt in this ever-changing nursing environment with Ignatavicius, Workman, and Rebar's Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts for Interprofessional Collaborative Care, 9th Edition. This trendsetting text not only covers all essential adult health knowledge, but also reinforces the application, conceptual thinking, and clinical judgment skills that today's nurses need to stay one step ahead in delivering exceptional patient care, no matter the environment. As with previous "Iggy" editions, you'll find a unique collaborative care approach to adult health nursing, a thorough integration of QSEN competencies, extensive NCLEX#65533; Exam preparation, and a direct, reader-friendly tone throughout the text. This ninth edition incorporates two emerging and complementary trends - the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice and a more conceptual approach teaching and learning - areas that will ground you in how to think like a nurse and how to apply the knowledge you gain from the text to clinical practice. There are a lot of med-surg nursing texts out there, but there's only one that combines all the information, concepts, and on-the-job realities in a way that makes perfect sense: "Iggy!" Trendsetting QSEN integration emphasizes patient safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alerts, Critical Rescues, and Action Alerts. UNIQUE! Emphasis on clinical judgment helps you develop skills in clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making when applying concepts to clinical situations. Strong emphasis on NCLEX Exam preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections organized by NCLEX Client Needs Categories, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the Evolve companion website. Exceptionally readable content features shorter sentences, straightforward vocabulary, and a direct, reader-friendly writing style. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on conceptual teaching and learning features a strong integration of nursing concepts and exemplars throughout the book via new concept overview chapters, chapter-opening concept lists, and a focus on concept exemplars within disorders chapters. NEW! Integration of interprofessional collaborative practice takes the book's hallmark collaborative management approach to the next level via new collaboration-focused Clinical Judgment Challenges, integration of a new Teamwork & Interprofessional Collaboration concept, and in-depth integration within TEACH lesson plans. NEW! Deeper integration of Tanner's model of clinical nursing judgment utilizes Tanner's terminology within nursing process headings, NCLEX Examination Challenge questions, and Key Points. NEW! Stronger emphasis on health promotion and community-based care includes revised and updated content throughout the text to reflect the reality that most adult health care no longer takes place as long-term stays in high-acuity settings. NEW! More consistent, interprofessional terminology for patient problems promotes interprofessional collaboration through the promotion of a common healthcare language. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most recent changes in practice and the latest evidence-based guidelines, particularly national and international treatment guidelines and protocols. NEW! More consistent learning outcomes now incorporate QSEN and nursing concepts in a more consistent and intentional manner from chapter to chapter.
Call Number: RT41 .I36 2018 v.1 & v.2
The New Nurse Educator: mastering academe This unequaled resource guides novice nurse educators step by step through the challenging process of transitioning from service to academe. It comprehensively addresses not only the fundamentals of teaching, evaluation, and curriculum development, but also the entire spectrum of skills and duties required of the nurse educator. This second edition delivers two new chapters devoted to the hospital-based educator and global health issues, including the future of nursing education. It contains new clinical teaching models and pedagogies and emphasizes the use of technology in a variety of teaching and learning strategies. Key updates examine the current and future nursing workforce, emerging and evolving nursing programs, and innovative trends in curricular design, along with new information on infectious diseases, genomics, and legal and ethical concerns. Based on the author's personal journey from nursing practice to academe, the text addresses ways to "test the waters" of the new role. It outlines preparation requirements and discusses learning styles, curriculum development, theoretical frameworks, cultural diversity, and students with learning disabilities. It addresses tenure and promotion, collegiality, service, leadership, mentoring, writing for publication, and scholarship. Additionally, the text prepares students for the interview process and includes sample curricula vitae (CVs), patient education handouts, and course objectives. Learning objectives, review questions, and critical thinking vignettes in each chapter, along with tables and bulleted information, further contribute to the text's value as an outstanding resource for both academic and hospital settings. New to the Second Edition: A chapter devoted to the role of the hospital-based educatorA chapter on global health and education, health care policy, and the future of nursing educationNoted experts discuss simulation, gaming and education, legal concerns, and global health nursingNew clinical teaching models and pedagogiesEmphasizes the use of technologyExamines the current and future nursing workforceEmerging and evolving nursing programsInnovative trends in curricular design Key Features: Provides highly practical, step-by-step information on all components of being a nurse educator/faculty memberHelps nurses transition from service roles to educator/faculty rolesIncludes advice from novice and seasoned nurse educators, nurse leaders, and nursing theoristsIncludes learning objectives and review questions in each chapterProvides sample forms and documents for CVs and developing course content
Call Number: RT71 .H77 2018
Nursing Key Topics Review: Pharmacology Study efficiently with Nursing Key Topics Review: Pharmacology. This quick review and accompanying mobile web app focus on the most critical, practical, and relevant pharmacology information to prepare you for success on course exams. Concise coverage includes chapters on respiratory drugs, central nervous system depressants, endocrine medications, women's and men's health drugs, and much more! Summary tables and quick, bulleted lists make it easier to glance through and remember concepts. Mobile web app audio summaries reinforce content when you are on the go. Best of all, it's easy to assess your understanding as you go along - because key topics are always immediately followed by review questions with correct answers and rationales. Emphasis on critical, practical, and relevant information helps you study and learn pharmacology in the most time-efficient way possible. Audio summaries on a mobile web app make it easy to review anytime, anywhere. NCLEX#65533; exam-style review questions include answers and rationales, allowing you to assess your understanding and retention of the material. Mnemonics included to help you retain key information. Bulleted lists let you see key content at a glance, allowing for quick comprehension. Summary tables and illustrations make learning and review easier. Quick-access format reflects what you want - quality content sprinkled with review questions.
Call Number: RM125 .N877 2018x
Nursing Orientation Program Builder: essential tools for onboarding, orientation, and transition to practice Nursing Orientation Program Builder: Essential Tools for Onboarding, Orientation, and Transition to Practice Diana Swihart, PhD, DMin, MSN, APN CS, RN-BC, FAAN Solimar Figueroa, MHA, MSN, BSN, RN The onboarding process can be a make or break period for a new employee. Nursing Orientation Program Builder will help elevate and accelerate this process, reduce the risk of losing new employees, and assist fresh hires to become productive team members. This book provides definitions, tools, and evidence-based strategies and resources to help organizations recruit and retain the best-qualified employees. It supplies a comprehensive onboarding and orientation program, along with methods to measure integration into service and practice. This book will help you: Develop a thorough and efficient onboarding process Accelerate the onboarding process Ensure successful candidate selection
Call Number: RT86.73 .A83 2016x
Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educators: making it real When employed as a substitute for real clinical time, simulation scenarios have proven effective in bridging the gap between theory and practice. This acclaimed text for nursing faculty provides detailed, step-by-step guidance on all aspects of clinical simulation. Appropriate for all levels of nursing students, from pre-licensure to doctoral level, the book contains the authors' own advice and experiences working in simulation around the globe. For the third edition, 20 new scenarios have been added, and all scenarios have been updated to adhere to best-practice simulation standards for design, facilitator and participant criteria, interprofessional criteria, and debriefing processes. Scenarios are presented in a structured format that includes objectives, pre-scenario checklists, implementation plans, evaluation criteria, debriefing guidelines, and recommendations for further use. A template for creating scenarios spans the text and includes student preparation materials, forms to enhance the realness of the scenario, and checklists for practice assessment and evaluation. This comprehensive resource covers geriatric, pediatric, trauma, obstetric, and community-based patient scenarios. This revised edition includes scenarios easily adaptable to an instructor's own lab, an international perspective, and a section on graduate nursing education. New to the Third Edition: 20 brand new scenarios in anesthesia, midwifery, pediatric, disaster, and other specialty-focused situations, plus five new chaptersUpdated to encompass new simulation pedagogy including best-practice standardsNew scenarios easily adapted to an instructor's own labInterprofessional and international scenarios focused on areas of global concern: obstetric hemorrhage, neonatal hypoglycemia, and deteriorating patients Key Features: Includes information on how to integrate simulation into curriculaAddresses conceptual and theoretical foundations of simulation in nursing education, including an expanded chapter on the Framework for Simulation Learning in Nursing EducationIncludes a wide variety of practical scenarios in ready-to-use format with instructionsProvides a template for scenario developmentDelivers recommendations for integration of point-of-care decision-making toolsOffers opportunities for enhancing complexity and incorporating interprofessional competencies
Call Number: RT73 .S54 2018
The Specialty Practice of Rehabilitation Nursing: a core curriculum This is the 7th edition of this resource. It defines the practice of rehabilitation nursing and serves as the framework for our specialty. This newest edition has been expanded to include newly developed competencies, discussion of The Essential Role of the Rehabilitation Nurse in Facilitating Care Transitions and advances in knowledge and research.
Call Number: RT120.R4 S64 2015
Civetta, Taylor & Kirby's Critical Care Covering every problem encountered in today's intensive care unit, this leading critical care textbook presents the knowledge and expertise of more than 350 global experts in this fast-changing field. Beginning with the social aspects of medicine, it then discusses monitoring and organ system pathobiology followed by specific diseases states/syndromes. Each chapter begins with immediate concerns and proceeds to broader-based discussions of relevant pathophysiologic and clinical issues. KEY FEATURES: Features new chapters on Critical Care Implications in Acute Care Surgery, The Obstetric Patient, and Brain Death and Management of the Potential Organ Don∨ all chapters thoroughly revised including up-to-date discussions of what happens after the patient leaves the ICU. Covers surgical critical care more thoroughly than any other text. Includes expert coverage of pharmacology, nutrition, toxicology and the environment, disaster management, point-of-care testing, bedside ultrasound, surgical infections, and much more. Presents information in a reader-friendly manner, streamlining the print text to focus on the material most important for bedside care in the ICU. Expertly edited by leaders in every area of critical care: Dr. Mihae Yu (surgery), Dr. A. Joseph Layon (internal medicine), and Drs. Layon and Andrea Gabrielli (anesthesiology), who are joined in this edition by Dr. Kenneth Wood (internal medicine). Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Call Number: RC86.8 .G33 2018
Orthopaedic Surgery Manual The new edition utilizes an outline format to help with quick, easy referencing. Additional tables, figures, photographs, and radiographs have been added to enhance the text descriptions. Current approaches and techniques are detailed, with a full Reference list at the end of each chapter. A section of Key Terms defines and clarifies hundreds of words and phrases inherent to the care of the orthopaedic patient in the perioperative environment. An Abbreviations Listing and the comprehensive Index provide additional resources. The current state of orthopaedic nursing care in the perioperative arena is evident in each chapter, as each contributor demonstrates proficiency in the content and application of current principles and practices. The NAON Orthopaedic Surgery Manual is a wealth of knowledge and information for practitioners new to the orthopaedic OR environment. It is also a working reference for nurses who want to know more about surgical interventions for preoperative and postoperative care considerations and patient/family education. This book is a must for Perioperative Services Departments, Orthopaedic Inpatient Units and Ambulatory Care Settings
Call Number: RD753 .N37 2017x
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods Drawing on more than 40 years of experience conducting applied social science research and program evaluation, author Michael Quinn Patton has crafted the most comprehensive and systematic book on qualitative research and evaluation methods, inquiry frameworks, and analysis options available today. Now offering more balance between applied research and evaluation, this Fourth Edition illuminates all aspects of qualitative inquiry through new examples, stories, and cartoons; more than a hundred new summarizing and synthesizing exhibits; and a wide range of new highlight sections/sidebars that elaborate on important and emergent issues. For the first time, full case studies are included to illustrate extended research and evaluation examples. In addition, each chapter features an extended "rumination," written in a voice and style more emphatic and engaging than traditional textbook style, about a core issue of persistent debate and controversy.
Call Number: H62 .P3218 2015
Understanding Patient Safety Now revised and updated--the landmark patient safety primer written by the world's leading authorities Medical errors are the unfortunate byproduct of an increasingly complex healthcare system. Now more than ever, keeping patients safe takes well-trained caregivers, relevant insights from a range of industries, additional investment--and a groundbreaking text like Understanding Patient Safety. Understanding Patient Safety is "must read" for those seeking to master the clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. In this bestselling primer, patient safety pioneer Robert Wachter and Kiran Gupta put all the essential tools and principles at your fingertips. Engaging and accessible, the book is filled with high-yield cases, analyses, tables, graphics, along with key points and references--all designed to help you optimize quality and safety. Understanding Patient Safety begins with an introduction to patient safety and medical errors. Its second section surveys specific types of medical errors, including those related to surgery, medications, diagnosis, transition and handoff, and infections. The third section covers proven solutions, from establishing reporting systems, to creating a culture of safety. The third edition reflects pivotal new developments in the field, including major updates in diagnostic errors, information technology and patient safety, ambulatory safety, and clinician burnout. Features: *Coverage of human factors and errors at the person-machine interface *Review of workplace issues, including supporting caregivers after major errors *How to organize an effective safety program *Coordination of patient education and training *Overview of the malpractice system *Discussion of the patient's role
Call Number: R729.8 .W335 2018
Managing Stress: principles and strategies for health and well-being Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Now in its ninth edition, Managing Stress: Principles and Strategies for Health and Well-Being provides a comprehensive approach to stress management honoring the integration, balance, and harmony of mind, body, spirit, and emotions. The holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of mind-body-spirit unity. Referred to as the "authority on stress management" by students and professionals, this book gives students the tools needed to identify and manage stress while teaching them how to strive for health and balance. With Navigate 2, technology and content combine to expand the reach of your classroom. Whether you teach an online, hybrid, or traditional classroom-based course, Navigate 2 delivers unbeatable value. Experience Navigate 2 today at www.jblnavigate.com/2. Key Features: - NEW! - Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access complete with interactive eBook, interactive lectures, workbook, audio engagement with the author, meditation audio and video, assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, and more. - NEW! - The best-selling The Art of Peace and Relaxation Workbook, Ninth Edition is now included within Navigate 2 and includes writable PDFs. - NEW! - Includes new information on the human microbiome and stress; Lyme disease and stress; DNA, telomeres, stress and aging; and stress and inflammation. - NEW! -Includes new information on social stresses in America, stress and insomnia, techno stress, and a closer look at panic attacks.
Call Number: RA785 .S434 2018
Management/Employee Development Books
Healthcare Strategic Planning The US healthcare delivery system is undergoing unprecedented transformation. In response to rapid and profound changes in technology, competition, consumerism, and other areas, healthcare leaders must help their organizations develop and implement effective strategies to survive and thrive. This fourth edition of Healthcare Strategic Planning, edited by John M. Harris (and previously authored by Alan M. Zuckerman), provides core insights into strategic planning practice and theory and shows how those insights can be applied to healthcare organizations. Examples from actual healthcare organizations add real-life detail and reinforcement. By following the book¿s step-by-step guide to the stages of strategic planning¿analyzing the environment, determining organizational direction, formulating strategies, and transitioning to implementation¿readers will learn how to answer the question everyone in healthcare management is asking: Where are we going?This new edition addresses strategic planning in the context of contemporary healthcare issues, particularly population health, value-based payment, and shifting provider¿payer partnerships. New or enhanced material includes:¿ Expanded coverage of environmental analysis, including tips on organizing the data collection process and identifying market trends¿ New case studies that illustrate how successful organizations handle the annual strategic planning process¿ A new chapter on addressing business model shifts and technological and clinical advances at each step of the planning processThis book is filled with insights gained over more than two decades by the leaders of Veralon, a leading healthcare management consulting firm. With offices in Philadelphia, New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, and Atlanta, Veralon has assisted health systems, academic medical centers, hospitals, and other healthcare organizations across the country in addressing their most pressing strategic issues through effective planning processes.
Call Number: RA971 .Z83 2018
Physician Practice Management: essential operational and financial knowledge Published in association with the MGMA and written for physician leaders and senior healthcare managers as well as those involved in smaller practices, Physician Practice Management: Essential Operational and Financial Knowledge provides a comprehensive overview of the breadth of knowledge required to effectively manage a medical group practice today. Distinguished experts cover a range of topics while taking into special consideration the need for a broader and more detailed knowledge base amongst physicians, practice managers and healthcare managers. Topics covered in this must-have resource include: physician leadership, financial management, health care information technology, regulatory issues, compliance programs, legal implications of business arrangements, medical malpractice, facility design, and capital financing for physician group practices.
Call Number: R728 .P487 2013
Unleashing the Chief Moment Officers: reliably giving the gift of exceptional experiences by If you want to raise the bar on creating memorable customer experiences, then this book is your roadmap." --Valerie Willis, VP, Tom Peters Company The core premise is that whether you have 10 or 10,000 staff members in your organization, leaders have a foundational responsibility to ensure that workers at all levels are well prepared and informed to understand their influence on customers. This book was written to, first, clearly outline the benefits of a workforce-wide Chief Moment Officer strategy and, second, to offer many ways to bring the strategy to life depending upon the current state of a company's customer experience performance. If you are ready to explore the power of moment by moment, person by person customer engagement, this is a quick and rich guide to ways to stretch your thinking and stretch the impact all staff can have to exceed the expectations and imagination of current and new customers.
Call Number: HF5415.5 .H66 2017x
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015
What's New in Current Awareness?
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!