Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Client Education: theory and practice Client Education: Theory and Practice, Third Edition teaches nursing students the important skills of patient education and health promotion. Using the Miller-Stoeckel Client Education Model as the organizing framework,this text emphasizes the importance of the Nurse-Client Relationship and focuses on the key role that nurses play in educating individuals, families and groups in clinical settings. Furthermore, it addresses the need for health education in nursing by covering the learning process and discussing the needs of clients across the age span. In addition, students will learn how to work with culturally diverse populations while faculty will benefit from tips on selecting the appropriate teaching strategies and materials as well as how to evaluate student progress using the client education plan. Key Features for Students and Faculty: New chapters: The Nurse Educator as Learner and Application of the Miller-Stoeckel Client Education Model Template for client education plan Miller-Stoeckel Client Education Model Navigate Companion Website with narrated lecture slides Test Bank Instructor Resources: PowerPoint Slides
Call Number: RT90 .M55 2019
The Doctor of Nursing Practice: a guidebook for role development and professional issues The Doctor of Nursing Practice: A Guidebook for Role Development and Professional Issues, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive guidebook for role development of the DNP student. This text covers potential roles of the DNP graduate, including leader, clinician, educator, ethical consultant, and health policy advocate. Conversational in tone, the Fourth Edition covers potential roles of the DNP graduate, including leader, clinician, educator, ethical consultant, and health policy advocate. New to the Fourth Edition: New chapters on role modeling via storytelling Interviews with DNP-prepared nurses in various fields New content focused on writing as a DNP
Call Number: RT75 .C55 2019
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: appraisal and application of research Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fourth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The authors employ a fresh and updated approach to teaching nursing research using evidence-based practice. The Fourth Edition features more real-world examples, expanded coverage of qualitative methods, discussion of various types of research questions and explores the hierarchy of evidence. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated Apply What You Have Learned evolving case study Real-life evidence-based practice examples Exploration of the Hierarchy Model featuring all types of evidence for each level Expanded content on the qualitative method Updated references and new diagrams summarizing statistical analysis and designs Navigate 2 Premier Access Instructor Resources Instructor's Manual Time-on-task analysis Interactive lectures Competency mapping document PowerPoint slides Test bank Practice activities Evolving case study
Call Number: RT81.5 .E95 2019
Frameworks for Advanced Nursing Practice and Research: philosophies, theories, models and taxonomies This resource illuminates the daunting task of understanding and applying philosophies, theories, models, and taxonomies in nursing practice and research at the master's or doctoral level. Distinguished by a unique organizational structure, the text is divided into two broad areas of practice/focus: individuals and families (Part II) and communities, populations, and systems (Part III). The frameworks in each area are organized conceptually into 17 chapters, many of which are interdisciplinary, thus not commonly found in nursing theory texts. This unique organizational structure enables readers to acquire both a broad overview of frameworks useful in nursing practice and research, and to focus on frameworks relevant to specific practice areas and concepts of interest. Frameworks for Advanced Nursing Practice and Research also provides foundational knowledge to enhance the nurse's understanding and appreciation of frameworks used in practice and research (Part I). Application is woven throughout the text and culminates with chapters devoted to the use/implementation of frameworks for nurse educators, clinicians, leaders, and researchers (Part IV). Learner-focused features of the text include key terms; objectives; application boxes highlighting published studies that have employed selected frameworks, thereby bringing theoretical content into practice; and bulleted summaries to enhance the learning experience. Key Features: Describes a broad spectrum of philosophies, theories, models, and taxonomies underpinning graduate-level nursing rolesUniquely organized by conceptual areas, thereby integrating nursing and non-nursing frameworksFacilitates easy comparison of frameworks within each conceptual areaDelivers strategies for using theory and discusses integration of theory, research, and practiceIncludes application boxes highlighting published studies, as well as objectives, key terms, and bulleted chapter summaries
Call Number: RT73 .U85 2018
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: model and guidelines The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT42 .J62 2017
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Practice Questions: 200 questions with answers and rationales Medical Surgical Nursing Certification PRACTICE QUESTIONS book is a great way to prepare to successfully pass the medical surgical nursing certification exam. One of the best test preparation strategies is to take as many practice questions as you can. In this new book, you will find 200 practice questions with answers and rationales! Questions test your knowledge regarding gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, pulmonary, endocrine, neurological, musculoskeletal, hematology, and immune disorders; professional, legal, and ethical concerns.
Call Number: Pamphlet # 2329
Nurse as Educator: principles of teaching and learning for nursing practice Nurse as Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice, Fifth Edition prepares nurse educators, clinical nurse specialists, and nurse practitioners and students for their ever-increasing role in patient teaching, health education, and health promotion. One of the most outstanding and unique features of this text is that it focuses on multiple audiences therefore making it applicable to both undergraduate and graduate nursing courses. The Fifth Edition features coverage of relevant topics in nursing education and health promotion such as health literacy, teaching people with disabilities, the impact of gender and socioeconomics on learning, technology for teaching and learning, and the ethical, legal, and economic foundations of the educational process. New to the Fifth Edition: Certified Nurse Educator Mapping Expanded content on the importance of interprofessional education Navigate 2 Advantage Access New examples of how to apply theory to practice Updated references Revised tables and figures Instructor Resources Test Bank Slides in PowerPoint format Learning activities Case studies Syllabus Discussion questions mapping to CNE certification requirements
Call Number: RT90 .N86 2019
Nurse Manager's Guide to Retention and Recruitment With the current nursing shortage, recruiting and retaining the best nurses has implications for all levels of practice and all care delivery settings. Nurse Manager s Guide to Retention and Recruitment is a user-friendly guide for nurse leaders that provides sound theoretical perspectives, evidence-based practices, practical strategies, and tools for achieving the best recruitment, engagement, and retention outcomes for their organization.
In addition, this book includes examples gleaned from the authors' collective years of experience and expertise in a complex urban healthcare market with large for-profit, not-for-profit, and public (county, state, and federally funded) healthcare organizations and systems.
Call Number: RT86.73 .M37 2017x
PCCN Review Book Quick Study: book & review questions for the progressive care nursing certification exam ***Includes Practice Test Questions*** Get the test prep help you need to be successful on the PCCN exam. The PCCN exam is extremely challenging and test preparation is essential for success. PCCN Quick Study is the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass the PCCN exam. It's adapted from the PCCN Exam Secrets Study Guide. Not only does it provide a guide to the PCCN exam as a whole, it also provides practice test questions as well as detailed explanation of each answer. PCCN Quick Study includes: -A review of material covered on the Progressive Care Certified Nurse Exam -A thorough guide to clinical judgment -An extensive look at professional caring and ethical practice -Practice questions with detailed answer explanations It's filled with the critical information you'll need in order to do well on the test the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the PCCN exam expects you to have mastered before sitting for the exam. -Clinical Judgment -Cardiovascular -Cardiovascular -Pulmonary -Endocrine -Hematology/Immunology -Neurology -Gastrointestinal -Renal -Multisystem -Infectious diseases -Wound therapy -Shock -Behavioral -Delirium -Depression -Substance abuse These sections are full of specific and detailed information that will be key to passing the PCCN exam. The guide is laid out in a logical and organized fashion so that one section naturally flows from the one preceding it. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language. Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answers, and that's another area where our guide stands out. Our test designers have provided test questions to help you know what to expect on the actual PCCN exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear. We've helped thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals.
Call Number: RT120.P76 P3357 2017x
Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions Evidence-based Practice across the Health Professions is a contemporary guide to modern evidence-based practice. Fully revised and updated, it continues to keep the focus on the knowledge and skills that clinicians and students really need to make evidence-based informed decisions. It provides a foundation to help you to better ponder what clinical questions to ask, know ways to efficiently find research that answers those questions, know how to decide whether the results of research are believable, important and applicable and use good evidence with patients to provide healthcare as responsibly, effectively and collaboratively as possible. Featuring a multi-discplinary approach with contributions from international and national leaders in evidence-based practice, this new edition now includes 15 health disciplines, including: - Clinical exercise physiology - Optometry - Complementary and alternative medicine - Paramedicine - Human movement (exercise science) - Pharmacy - Medical imaging - Physiotherapy - Medicine - Podiatry - Nursing - Radiation Therapy - Nutrition and dietetics - Speech pathology - Medicine - Occupational Therapy Visit evolve.elsevier.com for your additional resources Instructor resources: Image collection PowerPoint slides Short answer and tutorial questions Clinical Scenarios Test bank Student and instructor resources: Interactive quiz Worksheets Updated and additional content on shared decision making Additional case studies on community pharmacy and optometry Expanded and updated content on evidence implementation New content on diagnostic clinical prediction rules Revised and expanded evolve assets to support teaching and learning
Call Number: R723.7 .H64 2017x
Handbook of Neurosurgery, Neurology, and Spinal Medicine for Nurses and Advanced Practice Health Professionals This practical handbook allows nurses, advanced practice nurses, physician assistants, and allied health professionals practicing in the fields of neurosurgery, neurology, and spinal care to quickly review essentials while in the work environment. It emphasizes procedural steps and critical elements in patient management, including intensive care, the neurological examination, differential diagnoses, and pain management. Written by a multidisciplinary team of experts, the handbook is expected to become a well-worn companion and essential aid to the busy practitioner.
Call Number: RC350.5 .H39 2018x
A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests prepares nurses and health professionals to deliver safe, effective, and informed care for patients who are undergoing diagnostic tests and procedures. This proven book describes an extensive array of tests for diverse population, providing step-by-step guidance on correct procedure, tips for accurate interpretation, and expert information on patient preparation and aftercare. Organized in a way a nurse thinks: by specimen, function, and test type. The 10th edition is accompanied by a complete online teaching and learning package that includes new, updated case studies for application and a wide range of in-class activities and assignments. Fischbach features new and updated tests, updated reference values, and features such as Clinical Alerts and Procedural Alerts, which highlights critical safety and procedural information. This Manual is an ideal reference and point-of-care guide for educational and practice settings. It clearly shows them what to do, how to do it, why we are doing it, and what to watch for Polly Gerber Zimmermann, RN MS MBA CEN FAEN, Associate Professor City Colleges of Chicago
Call Number: RB38.2 .F57 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015.
Management/Employee Development Books
The Achievement Habit: stop wishing, start doing, and take command of your life The co-founder of the Stanford d.School introduces the power of design thinking to help you achieve goals you never thought possible. Achievement can be learned. It's a muscle, and once you learn how to flex it, you'll be able to meet life's challenges and fulfill your goals, Bernard Roth, Academic Director at the Stanford d.school contends. In The Achievement Habit, Roth applies the remarkable insights that stem from design thinking--previously used to solve large scale projects--to help us realize the power for positive change we all have within us. Roth leads us through a series of discussions, stories, recommendations, and exercises designed to help us create a different experience in our lives. He shares invaluable insights we can use to gain confidence to do what we've always wanted and overcome obstacles that hamper us from reaching our potential, including: Don't try--DO; Excuses are self-defeating; Believe you are a doer and achiever and you'll become one; Build resiliency by reinforcing what you do rather than what you accomplish; Learn to ignore distractions that prevent you from achieving your goals; Become open to learning from your own experience and from those around you; And more. The brain is complex and is always working with our egos to sabotage our best intentions. But we can be mindful; we can create habits that make our lives better. Thoughtful and powerful The Achievement Habit shows you how.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M63 R6785 2015
Be a People Person: effective leadership through effective relationships You can bring out the best in people! In Be a People Person, America's leadership expert John Maxwell helps you Discover and develop the qualities of an effective "people person." Improve your relationships in every area of life. Understand and help difficult people. Overcome differences and personality traits that can cause friction. Inspire others to excellence and success. Being a leader means working with people, and that's not always easy! Whether in your office, church, neighborhood, or elsewhere, your interpersonal relationships can make or break you as a leader. That's why it's so important to be a "people person" and develop your skills in tapping that most precious of all resources: people. Loaded with life-enriching, life-changing principles for relating positively and powerfully with your family, friends, colleagues, and clients, Be a People Person is certain to help you bring out the best in others--and that's what effective leadership is all about.
Call Number: BV4597.52 .M39 2007
Ego Is the Enemy The instant Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and international bestseller "While the history books are filled with tales of obsessive visionary geniuses who remade the world in their image with sheer, almost irrational force, I've found that history is also made by individuals who fought their egos at every turn, who eschewed the spotlight, and who put their higher goals above their desire for recognition." --from the prologue Many of us insist the main impediment to a full, successful life is the outside world. In fact, the most common enemy lies within: our ego. Early in our careers, it impedes learning and the cultivation of talent. With success, it can blind us to our faults and sow future problems. In failure, it magnifies each blow and makes recovery more difficult. At every stage, ego holds us back. Ego Is the Enemy draws on a vast array of stories and examples, from literature to philosophy to history. We meet fascinating figures such as George Marshall, Jackie Robinson, Katharine Graham, Bill Belichick, and Eleanor Roosevelt, who all reached the highest levels of power and success by conquering their own egos. Their strategies and tactics can be ours as well. In an era that glorifies social media, reality TV, and other forms of shameless self-promotion, the battle against ego must be fought on many fronts. Armed with the lessons in this book, as Holiday writes, "you will be less invested in the story you tell about your own specialness, and as a result, you will be liberated to accomplish the world-changing work you've set out to achieve."
Call Number: BJ1474 .H635 2016
Extreme Teaming: lessons in complex, cross-sector leadership Today's global enterprises increasingly involve collaborative work by teams of experts operating across different professions, organizations, and industries. Extreme Teaming provides new insights into the world of complex, cross industry projects and the ways they must be managed. Leading experts Amy Edmondson and Jean-Fran#65533;ois Harvey analyze contemporary cases that expose the complex demands of cross-boundary collaboration on management, and inform our understanding of teams. Containing powerful insights and practical guidelines that allow managers to bridge professional divides and organizational boundaries in order to work together effectively, this is a new exploration of the challenges involved in today's global enterprises. The authors demonstrate that the work done in the modern organization is less and less about looking inward and creating strong teams inside the company, and more about teaming across boundaries - that often are in flux. Extreme Teaming is a must-read book for all courses related to leading open innovation; teamwork and collaboration; project management; and cross-boundary work.
Call Number: HD66 .E3265 2017
Fulfilled! Critical Choices: work, home life Fulfilled holds the key for every reader to figure out what they want most from life, both personally and professionally - and then stay focused in a consistent way to achieve their goals. The lessons in this book are based on interviews with over 100 life-fulfilled people and additional research on generational differences, leading to conclusions about what will work best for Millennials and Baby Boomers alike.
Call Number: BF204.6 .S2354 2016
Tribe of Mentors: short life advice from the best in the world Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek, shares the ultimate choose-your-own-adventure book--a compilation of tools, tactics, and habits from 130+ of the world's top performers. From iconic entrepreneurs to elite athletes, from artists to billionaire investors, their short profiles can help you answer life's most challenging questions, achieve extraordinary results, and transform your life. From the author: In 2017, several of my close friends died in rapid succession. It was a very hard year, as it was for many people. It was also a stark reminder that time is our scarcest, non-renewable resource. With a renewed sense of urgency, I began asking myself many questions: Were my goals my own, or simply what I thought I should want? How much of life had I missed from underplanning or overplanning? How could I be kinder to myself? How could I better say "no" to the trivial many to better say "yes" to the critical few? How could I best reassess my priorities and my purpose in this world? To find answers, I reached out to the most impressive world-class performers in the world, ranging from wunderkinds in their 20s to icons in their 70s and 80s. No stone was left unturned. This book contains their answers--practical and tactical advice from mentors who have found solutions. Whether you want to 10x your results, get unstuck, or reinvent yourself, someone else has traveled a similar path and taken notes. This book, Tribe of Mentors, includes many of the people I grew up viewing as idols or demi-gods. Less than 10% have been on my podcast (The Tim Ferriss Show, more than 200 million downloads), making this a brand-new playbook of playbooks. No matter your challenge or opportunity, something in these pages can help. Among other things, you will learn: * More than 50 morning routines--both for the early riser and those who struggle to get out of bed. * How TED curator Chris Anderson realized that the best way to get things done is to let go. * The best purchases of $100 or less (you'll never have to think about the right gift again). * How to overcome failure and bounce back towards success. * Why Humans of New York creator Brandon Stanton believes that the best art will always be the riskiest. * How to meditate and be more mindful (and not just for those that find it easy). * Why tennis champion Maria Sharapova believe that "losing makes you think in ways victories can't." * How to truly achieve work-life balance (and why most people tell you it isn't realistic). * How billionaire Facebook co-founder Dustin Moskovitz transformed the way he engages with difficult situations to reduce suffering. * Ways to thrive (and survive) the overwhelming amount of information you process every day. * How to achieve clarity on your purpose and assess your priorities. * And much more. This reference book, which I wrote for myself, has already changed my life. I certainly hope the same for you. I wish you luck as you forge your own path. All the best, Tim Ferriss
Call Number: BF637.S8 F47 2017
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!