Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Complete Nurse's Guide to Diabetes Care This new edition of the Complete Nurse's Guide to Diabetes Care is a comprehensive resource for all nurses who work with diabetes patients. Inside readers will find expert advice on: The fundamentals of diabetes care Recent research on complications and associated diseases Numerous care and management approaches How diabetes affects women, children, and the elderly Practical issues, such as the effects of anxiety, depression, and polypharmacy
Call Number: RC660 .C515 2017
Curriculum Development and Evaluation in Nursing Education Reorganized and updated to deliver practical guidelines for evidence-based curricular change and development, the fourth edition of this classic text highlights current research in nursing education as a springboard for graduate students and faculty in their quest for research projects, theses, dissertations, and scholarly activities. It also focuses on the specific sciences of nursing education and program evaluation as they pertain to nursing educators. New chapters address the role of faculty regarding curriculum development and approval processes in changing educational environments; course development strategies for applying learning theories, educational taxonomies, and team-building; needs assessment and the frame factors model; ADN and BSN and pathways to higher degrees; and planning for doctoral education. The fourth edition continues to provide the detailed knowledge and practical applications necessary for new and experienced faculty to participate in essential components of the academic role--instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. At its core, the text discusses the importance of needs assessment and evidence as a basis for revising or developing new programs and highlights requisite resources. With a focus on interdisciplinary collaboration, the book addresses the growth of simulation, how to help new faculty transition into the academic role, and use of curriculum in both practice and academic settings. Additionally, the book describes the history and evolution of current nursing curricula and presents the theories, concepts, and tools necessary for curriculum development. Chapters include objectives, discussion points, and learning activities. New to the Fourth Edition: Reorganized and updated to reflect recent evidence-based curricular changes and developmentsHighlights current researchNew chapter on curriculum planning for undergraduate programsNew content on needs assessment and the frame factors modelNew content on planning for doctoral education in nursingNew content on curriculum evaluation, financial support, budget management, and use of evidence Key Features: Supports new faculty as they transition to academeAddresses the need for preparing more faculty educators as defined by the Institute of Medicine, the Affordable Care Act, and the APRN Consensus ModelDescribes the scope of academic curriculum models at every practice and academic levelThreads the concept of interdisciplinary collaboration in education throughoutServes as a CNE certification review
Call Number: RT71 .K43 2018
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing: Foundations, skills and roles Delivers unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP in nursing programs A fundamental, reader-friendly guide to evidence-based practice (EBP) for BSN, MSN, and DNP nursing students, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing explains the conceptual underpinnings of EBP and demonstrates how nurses can put EBP concepts into practice. Replete with critical knowledge, skills, tools, and scholarly development to enable nurses to fully and confidently deliver the highest-quality EBP care, this book eschews a one-size-fits-all approach in favor of unique systematic guidelines for understanding and applying EBP. Building blocks of information grow progressively more complex, enabling their application to any point along nursing's academic trajectory. Thoughtfully organized to fit a variety of EBP-related course objectives, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing easily adapts for standalone EBP courses at any level as well as advanced practice specialty courses that integrate EBP content. This book addresses the needs of all nursing instructors, including those who teach at multiple levels simultaneously. Key content includes requisite conceptual knowledge of EBP for building clinical decision-making skills; conceptualizing, implementing, and evaluating EBP projects; applying translational science; quality improvement for implementation and evaluation of EBP; developing leadership and structural empowerment strategies; and analyzing how students at each degree/level work with EBP independently, interprofessionally, and intraprofessionally. Chapters align with AACN essentials. Key Features: Follows a methodical systematic trajectory, building from simple to complex conceptsIncludes abundant examples demonstrating both negative and positive EBP applicationsEnables instructors to adopt one textbook for students at different levels of knowledge and educationIncludes practical design templates for developing EBP implementation plans with critical guidepostsProvides a quality improvement toolkit, key words and concepts, illustrative tables, and figures
Call Number: RT42 .E953 2018
Gastrointestinal Nursing: a lifespan approach Disorders of the gastrointestinal tract make up some of the most common illnesses experienced across the lifespan affecting individuals in infancy, childhood and adulthood. #65533; This essential guide to the gastrointestinal system will enable nurses and allied health professionals to apply principles of anatomy and physiology to clinical practice. Taking a practical and evidence-based approach, each chapter explores associated anatomy, function and abnormalities. Chapters use selected pathology and associated pathophysiology, from across the lifespan, to support understanding of how disorders can disrupt the development and function of the gastrointestinal tract. #65533; The accessible writing style and full colour illustrations make this an ideal introduction for students and professionals new to gastrointestinal care.
Call Number: RC802 .O54 2018
A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing: the comprehensive reference Designed for both new registered nurses and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the only resource to provide essential information on more than 300 topics from 11 specialty areas. Concise and practical entries provide fundamental coverage of the most common clinical problems and issues encountered in nursing practice today. Key leaders in clinical content areas authored content on emergency and critical care, geriatric nursing, health systems and health promotion, medical surgical nursing, neonatal nursing, nurse anesthesia, obstetrics and women's health, palliative care, perioperative nursing, pediatric nursing, and psychiatric mental health nursing. Alphabetized for easy access, each entry includes a definition and description of the clinical problem, etiology, nursing assessment, related problems, interventions, nursing management and evaluation, and safety considerations. The Considerations section of each topic focuses on the role of the nurse throughout the treatment process, and discusses the role of other health care providers with a focus on multidisciplinary treatment. Intended primarily for university and hospital libraries, A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing will also be of value to nursing faculty, undergraduate and graduate-level nurses and nursing students at all levels. Key Features: Provides essential information on over 300 clinical topics from 11 specialty areasOffers key knowledge for nurses new to practice or working in an unfamiliar nursing areaPresented in a consistent format for ease of useIncludes an overview of each specialty areaFocuses on the role of the nurse throughout the treatment processWritten and edited by expert clinicians and educators in each clinical area
Call Number: RT41 .G85 2018x
Knowledge Development in Nursing: theory and process Apply the five patterns of knowing to improve patient care! Knowledge Development in Nursing: Theory and Process, 10th Edition helps you understand nursing theory and its links with nursing research and practice. It examines the principles of knowledge development, from the relationship between patterns of knowing to their use in evidence-based nursing care. Written by nursing educators Peggy Chinn and Maeona Kramer, this unique book is updated with new examples from clinical practice. Coverage of the five Patterns of Knowing includes empiric, personal, aesthetic, ethical, and emancipatory knowledge, defining the different types of knowledge and how they relate to each other. Full-color map in the book and online animation depict how the patterns of knowing are related. Think About It questions sharpen your understanding of the emancipatory knowing process of praxis - a synthesis of thoughtful reflection, caring, and action. Discussion of evidence-based practice provides examples of how the five patterns of knowing may be applied to nursing practice. Interpretive summaries highlight the interrelatedness of all patterns of knowing, making it easier to master all dimensions of knowing. A glossary defines the key terms and concepts of nursing theory. NEW! Updated real-life examples bring complex concepts to life. NEW! Embedded prompts promote understanding and reflection: Why is this important?, Consider this, Imagine this, and Discuss this.
Call Number: RT84.5 .C49 2018
Nurses Handbook of Health Assessment With step-by-step guidance that clearly demonstrates the WHAT, WHY, and HOW of each phase of the assessment process, Nurses Handbook of Health Assessment is the perfect portable text for students and practicing nurses. Renowned for its holistic perspective and three-column format, this up to date reference and guide takes students through every stage of the nursing assessment for adults and special populations. Organized into four units that correlate with Health Assessment in Nursing, the handbook provides everything needed to perform a range of common assessment procedures with confidence. The compact layout is easy to absorb, color is used functionally, and it is abundant with clinical photos and illustrations as well as photos and illustrations of examination techniques. KEY FEATURES -3-column assessment tables: Show assessment techniques, normal findings, and abnormal findings side by side to enhance comprehension and to help students focus on key aspects of assessment. -Special Populations Icons: Pediatric, geriatric, and cultural considerations for each body system show important variations for these special populations. -Client-teaching Icons: Appear in client teaching sections to highlight this key information. -Safety Tip Icons: Help identify safety tips and clinical tips--vital information needed to ensure best practice. -Abnormal Findings boxes: Cue the student to important variations to note during assessment. -Spiral binding allows the Handbook to stay open on any flat surface.
Call Number: RT48 .N863 2018
Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner, Second Edition is an integral text that guides students in their transition from the role of registered nurse to nurse practitioner. The text provides a comprehensive framework for interactive discussions on the role of the nurse practitioner, giving students a full understanding of the skills and knowledge needed for this dynamic profession.The text employs a variety of nurse practitioner real-world stories to illustrate important points and to assist in the transition from RN to NP. Through in-depth coverage of the concepts and skills critical to the nurse practitioner, the authors provide a strong foundation for the role, exploring topics such as nurse practitionering as a unique practice theory.
Call Number: RT82.8 .R65 2019
Top 60 Signs for Nurses: quick reference guide for best practice care Presented in a useful handbook style, Top 60 Signs for Nurses: Quick reference guide for best practice care outlines the evidence base and clinical value of each clinical sign to assist with interpretation. Each of the signs is related back to the mechanism of action along with clearly documented research to demonstrate the evidence base associated with this sign. Signs are ordered alphabetically within each chapter outlining a specific body system Extensive reference lists of up-to-date literature strengthen the authority of the content Clinical Pearls highlight the main signs which students and graduate nurses should look out for to help them identify conditions with which the patients present
Call Number: RT48.6 .D46 2017x
The Making of the Ideal Physician by If you haven't already needed medical care, the time will come. What are your expectations for your physician and/or your health-care provider? What do you want your doctors to know to help them help you? Edward C. Rosenow III, MD, J. Keith Mansel, MD, and Walter R. Wilson, MD, have a combined 100-plus years of experience in medicine and medical education. They are sharing that expertise with members of the medical community to help them better navigate the patient interaction and also offer them practical guidance as they move through their careers. The authors begin with advice about medical education for students who are planning a career in the health-care field. Readers will learn about the career process from residencies to fellowships to private practice or academic medicine. From the beginning of the book to the end, the focus always is on patients and remembering that every doctor should help their patients in the most professional manner possible--and always with empathy. In addition, the book includes a bonus chapter for patients, who will learn how to make the most of their time when they are with their health-care providers.
Call Number: R690 .R67 2017x
Netter's Clinical Anatomy Focus on the clinically relevant aspects of anatomy and bridge normal anatomy to common clinical conditions with Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition. This easy-to-read, visually stunning text features nearly 600 superb Netter-style illustrations that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance. Authored by John Hansen, PhD, an Honored Member of the American Association of Clinical Anatomists, this book is an ideal anatomy reference for students who want to make the most of their study time or need a concise review of clinical anatomy. Clinical Focus boxes present hundreds of illustrated clinical correlations that bridge anatomy to pathophysiology. Every clinical correlation - more than 200 in all - is illustrated. Features and Characteristics boxes explain the relation between structure and function. Muscle/Ligament/Joint tables summarize attachment points, actions, and other key information related to each structure. Both USMLE-style review questions and short answer questions online help you gauge your mastery of the material and identify areas where you may need further study. Portable book size makes it easy to carry on the go. More review questions, including figure- and image-based questions More Clinical Focus boxes eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes additional multiple-choice questions, 3D models, and fully searchable text and images.
Call Number: QM31 .N48 2019
Neurology: a visual approach This brand-new revision aid has been designed specifically to help medical students and early post-graduate doctors learn and remember pertinent information about various neurological conditions through pictorial representation, and will be invaluable throughout medical studies and particularly useful in the pressured run-up to final and post-graduate examinations. The highly-structured information is presented in a consistent, double-page format. Each condition is represented by a characterful and memorable visual mnemonic, accompanied by a concise, high-yield review covering definition, aetiology, epidemiology, presentation, investigation, management, complications and prognosis. Over 40 common conditions are included, organized alphabetically for ease of reference. Neurology is often viewed as a challenging subject to learn. By utilising visual imagery to aid memory and recall of important information, the author brings a refreshing new approach to knowledge consolidation.
Call Number: RC358.8 .P37 2018
Pathophysiology: the biologic basis for disease in adults and children Learn the what, how, and why of pathophysiology! With easy-to-read, in-depth descriptions of disease, disease etiology, and disease processes, Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children, 8th Edition helps you understand the most important and most complex pathophysiology concepts. This updated text includes more than 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs to make it easier to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function. This edition includes a NEW chapter on obesity and nutritional disorders, along with expanded coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics. It's the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text available! The most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text on the market provides unparalleled coverage of Pathophysiology content. Over 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs depict the clinical manifestations of disease and disease processes - more than in any other pathophysiology text. Consistent presentation of diseases includes pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment. Lifespan content includes ten separate pediatric chapters and special sections with aging and pediatrics content. Outstanding authors Kathryn McCance and Sue Huether have extensive backgrounds as researchers and instructors, and utilize expert contributors, consultants, and reviewers in developing this edition. Algorithms and flowcharts of diseases and disorders make it easy for you to follow the sequential progression of disease processes. Additional What's New boxes highlight the most current research and clinical development. Nutrition and Disease boxes explain the link between concepts of health promotion and disease. Chapter summary reviews provide concise synopses of the main points of each chapter. NEW! Chapter on obesity and nutritional disorders thoroughly covers these growing global concerns. NEW! Added coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics further explore genetic disease traits. NEW! Over 50 new or heavily revised illustrations visually highlight pathophysiology concepts. NEW! More than 30 new 3D animations on Evolve bring difficult concepts to life for a new perspective on disease processes.
Call Number: RB113 .M35 2019
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2016, 2015, 2014.
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
Management/Employee Development Books
ATD Talent Management Handbook What you need to know to manage a workforce. The complex and ever-changing nature of today's--and tomorrow's--workforce demands that all involved in talent management rethink how to attract, engage, and grow future talent. This forward-looking handbook captures talent management's evolution from a series of transactions to a fluid process that includes talent development. With 20-plus chapters written by more than 30 contributors, the ATD Talent Management Handbook challenges you to think about the talent model of the future through the lens of different workforce models. It offers progressive thoughts on the current state of talent management and on how the function needs to adapt. Leaders, practitioners, and consultants alike will find useful insights and answers to relevant talent management challenges. Edited by learning and development authority Terry Bickham, this handbook covers the entire talent management cycle, from talent acquisition and engagement to leadership development and succession planning. ATD's first handbook on talent management, this book includes a foreword by ATD President and CEO Tony Bingham, highlighting the foundational components of talent development and its role within talent management.
Call Number: HF5549.5.S38 A83 2016x
Be Our Guest: perfecting the art of customer service Exceeding expectations rather than simply satisfying them is the cornerstone of the Disney approach to customer service. Now, in honour of the 10th anniversary of the original BE OUR GUEST, Disney Institute is revealing even more of the business behind the magic of customer service. In this updated edition, BE OUR GUEST highlights the successes many of these companies have achieved, plus key processes and best practices that have made Disney a trusted and revered brand around the world for more than 85 years.
Call Number: GV1853.3.F62 W3417 2011
Difficult Conversations: how to discuss what matters most: updated with answers to the 10 most frequently asked questions about difficult conversations The 10th-anniversary edition of the New York Times business bestseller-now updated with "Answers to Ten Questions People Ask" We attempt or avoid difficult conversations every day-whether dealing with an underperforming employee, disagreeing with a spouse, or negotiating with a client. From the Harvard Negotiation Project, the organization that brought you Getting to Yes, Difficult Conversations provides a step-by-step approach to having those tough conversations with less stress and more success. you'll learn how to: #65533; Decipher the underlying structure of every difficult conversation #65533; Start a conversation without defensiveness #65533; Listen for the meaning of what is not said #65533; Stay balanced in the face of attacks and accusations #65533; Move from emotion to productive problem solving
Call Number: BF637.C45 S78 2010
Introduction to Health Services Administration Learn how to effectively manage both people and a practice as a health care administrator with Elsevier's Introduction to Health Services Administration. This comprehensive and easy-to-understand text includes an overview of health care delivery in the United States along with an exploration of each role and function of a health services administrator in an ambulatory care facility. From scheduling patients to managing the revenue cycle, you will learn about every aspect of workflow in addition to relevant issues that heavily influence health care practices today, like HIPPA, regulatory compliance, civil and criminal law, and more. This text also provides a wonderful overview of necessary skills such as how to use an electronic health record system and practice management software, how to budget for staff and equipment, how to manage inventory, how to manage risk, how to improve quality and performance in the practice, and how to best market the practice. If you're looking to become a successful health services administrator, this text is the critical first step. UNIQUE! Comprehensive approach covers the role and functions of a health services administrator and applies them to an array of ambulatory care settings - from a traditional physician's office to a retail care clinic. UNIQUE! Coverage of key PAHCOM and AAPC competencies help you prepare for the competencies on the CMM and CPPM credentialing exams. UNIQUE! Case study scenarios are constructed around many different settings to provide a snapshot of professional life. UNIQUE! Takeaway boxes highlight key points and important concepts. Current Trends in Health Care boxes discuss methods, ideas, and newsworthy issues. Take Learning to the Next Level boxes clarify the subjects being discussed with supplemental information. Learning Checkpoints appear in each section to help you gauge your own learning successes at that point in the reading. Review questions are tied to each learning objective. More than 200 images illustrate difficult concepts and bring health services administration to life. Key terms with definitions in the margins make it easy to identify and learn new vocabulary. Answers to exercises in the text and review questions in the back of the book equip you for self-study.
Call Number: RA971 .I587 2018x
Magic of Public Speaking: create a speech that will be remembered for years in under 30 seconds Magic of Impromptu Speaking is a comprehensive, step-by-step system for creating highly effective speeches in under 30 seconds. It is based on research of the most powerful techniques used by winners of impromptu speaking contests, politicians, actors and successful presenters. The book is entertaining to read, has plenty of examples and covers the most effective tools not only from the world of impromptu speaking but also from acting, stand-up comedy, applied psychology and creative thinking. Once you master the system, you will grow immensely as an impromptu public speaker, become a better storyteller in a circle of friends and be more creative in everyday life. Your audience members will think that what you do on stage after such short preparation is pure magic and will recall some of your speeches many years later.
Call Number: PN4129.15 .S43 2013x
Management: Take Charge of Your Team: communication, leadership, coaching and conflict resolution TODAY IS THE DAY, TAKE CHARGE OF YOUR TEAM! Team management is important, but it isn't about being important. It's about being there for your team members when they need you and overseeing the project from a managerial point of view That means that you need to have a lot of skills including the ones shown in this book. Your team can only be as effective as you are. There is nowhere to throw blame when you are a team manager because the buck rests with you. However, when you do succeed as a team manager or leader, what you find is that your team members will follow your lead and will do so with added enthusiasm if they see that you have enthusiasm and vision to get a job done. The idea behind writing this book was to use my experience to help those starting out and to be able to give useful and sound advice. There are many corporate style books on leadership. What makes mine different is that it's written by someone who has been where you are currently standing, and who understands your difficulty with being faced with the job of team leader for the first time. Walk through the pages and learn how it's done. It's actually easier than you may imagine, once you know what it is that you need to be doing. In this book you will learn how to: Effectively communicate with your team Allocate and delegate Identify your teams strengths and weaknesses Develop your coaching skills Manage conflict resolution Improve your coaching skills Become a great leader And much, much more
Call Number: HD57.7 .A52 2015x
The Power of Vulnerability: how to create a team of leaders by shifting inward In The Power of Vulnerability: How to Create a Team of Leaders by Shifting INward authors Barry Kaplan and Jeffrey Manchester have leveraged their decades of experience and created a guide to finding success and fulfillment for teams and individuals. Based on their work through Shift180 with executives and their teams, The Power of Vulnerability offers a new approach to transforming corporate culture so that you can thrive at work and in life. Work is often a source of dissatisfaction for people because in their desire to get ahead, they often lose touch with their values and internal sources of power. The authors teach readers how to: * Create a sense of safety * Encourage exploration * Develop an INpowered team that transcends organizational hierarchy * Foster communication * Be authentic Manchester and Kaplan can help you find INpowerment so that you and your colleagues can create a fulfilling, supportive, and open corporate culture. This fulfillment creates loyalty and long-term employee commitment to organizations. The Power of Vulnerability includes everything that you need to unlock the potential of yourself and your organization. Get INpowered. Start a cultural revolution. Begin your journey today.
Call Number: HD57.7 .K359 2018
Your Best Year Ever: a 5-step plan for achieving your most important goals ever We all want to live a life that matters. We all want to reach our full potential. But too often we find ourselves overwhelmed by the day-to-day. Our big goals get pushed to the back burner--and then, more often than not, they get forgotten. New York Times bestselling author Michael Hyatt wants readers to know that it doesn't have to be this way. In fact, he thinks that this is the year readers can finally close the gap between reality and their dreams. In Your Best Year Ever, Hyatt shares a powerful, proven, research-driven system for setting and achieving goals. Readers learn how to design their best year ever in just five hours - three simple ways to triple the likelihood of achieving their goals - how to quit-proof their goals - what to do when they feel stuck - and much more Anyone who is tired of not seeing progress in their personal, intellectual, business, relationship, or financial goals will treasure the field-tested wisdom found in these pages.
Call Number: BF619.5 .H93 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?