Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Ambulatory Care Nursing Orientation and Competency Assessment Guide The Guide serves as a valuable resource for orienting nurses new to ambulatory care as well as developing comprehensive competency assessment programs. A wide selection of age specific and specialty care topics are covered, including telehealth. The Guide contains many enhancements: 1) updated content from the previous book with definitions, Key Tips, and examples; 2) chapters on nurse educator competencies, defining the educator's role in ambulatory care and providing guidance and tools for use in developing needed competency; 3) a tool kit for transitioning to ambulatory care with many helpful links and resources; and 4) an appendix containing sample orientation and competency tools that will help you develop your own tools.
Call Number: RA974 .A42 2018x
Core Curriculum for Nursing Professional Development This 5th edition reflects the transformation of our specialty. Editors were chose for their knowledge, enthusiasm and forward thinking. The format has transformed from an outline to a more user-friendly text.
Call Number: RT76 .B78 2017x
The Essential Guide to Supporting Quality Care Measures Through Documentation Improvement The Essential Guide to Supporting Quality Care Measures Through Documentation Improvement is an indispensable ACDIS guide for CDI professionals about quality measures and how the CDI department affects those measures. This book covers publically reported quality data and how code assignment affects quality metrics, including the Hospital Value-Based Purchasing Program.
Call Number: RT50 .P74 2017x
Health Policy and Advanced Practice Nursing: impact and implications Praise for the First Edition: "There are many policy books, but none are written by APRNs or focus just on APRN practice...APRNs are at the core, or can be, if they use their practice knowledge and education to shape policy... The] editors eloquently make the case that policy formation is a critical nursing skill." --Doody's Medical Reviews The only book of its kind, this text offers a wealth of information about the role of all types of APRNs (NPs, CNSs, CNMs, and CRNAs) in influencing the development and application of health care policy in a wide range of specialties. Featuring nine completely new chapters, the second edition delivers an invigorated focus on developing policy that advocates for vulnerable populations and discusses how the incorporation of interprofessional education has changed and will continue to alter health policy in the U.S. and internationally. The text also discusses the evolving influence of the Patient Protection Affordable Care Act (PPACA) and the implications of current and future health policy changes that will be impacting the practice of various APRN roles. Authored by APRN luminaries who have been closely involved with health policy development, the text meets the requirements of the IOM report on The Future of Nursing and the DNP criteria V for the inclusion of health policy and advocacy in the curriculum. This "call to action" for APRNs is specifically designed for courses enrolling students from a variety of APRN trajectories, and includes content from all APRN role perspectives in every section. New to the Second Edition: Emphasizes policy development advocating for vulnerable populationsDiscusses the current and future influence of interprofessional educaton on health policy in the U.S. and worldwideAddresses how health policy changes will impact the various APRN rolesIncludes nine new chapters on: Health Policy and its Effect on Large Systems, Value-Based Purchasing, Health Care Reform and Independent Practice, Health Policy Implications Regarding Substance Abuse/PTSD Treatment, Genetics, Competency Issues, and The International Council of Nurses Key Features: Addresses role-specific policy needs of all four APRN roles and DNPsEncompasses all requisite information about health care policy and reform in the U.S. and worldwide and its impact on advanced practice nursingMeets the requirements of IOM's The Future of Nursing and DNP criteria VExplains how and why APRNs can and should influence policy developmentDiscusses implications of not participating in health policy decisions
Call Number: RT89 .H42 2018
Health Policy and Politics: a nurse's guide Health Policy and Politics: A Nurse's Guide, Sixth Edition encompasses the entire health policy process from agenda setting through policy and program evaluation. This is an essential text for both graduate and undergraduate students. The Sixth Edition features expanded information on the breadth of policy making and includes the impact of social media, economics, finance and other timely topics. The authors draw from their extensive experience and provide concrete examples of real-life situations that help students understand the link between nursing, policy theory and political action. Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Premier Access that unlocks a comprehensive eBook, interactive lectures, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: RT86.5 .M54 2019
NANDA Nursing International Diagnoses: definitions and classifications Fully updated and revised by editors T. Heather Herdman, PhD, RN, FNI, and Shigemi Kamitsuru, PhD, RN, FNI, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification 2018-2020, Eleventh Edition is the definitive guide to nursing diagnoses, as reviewed and approved by NANDA International (NANDA-I). In this new edition of a seminal text, the authors have written all introductory chapters at an undergraduate nursing level, providing the critical information needed for nurses to understand assessment, its link to diagnosis and clinical reasoning, and the purpose and use of taxonomic structure for the nurse at the bedside. Other changes include: 18 new nursing diagnoses and 72 revised diagnoses Updates to 11 nursing diagnosis labels, ensuring they are consistent with current literature and reflect a human response Modifications to the vast majority of the nursing diagnosis definitions, including especially Risk Diagnoses Standardization of diagnostic indicator terms (defining characteristics, related factors, risk factors, associated conditions, and at-risk populations) to further aid clarity for readers and clinicians Coding of all diagnostic indicator terms for those using electronic versions of the terminology Web-based resources include chapter and reference lists for new diagnoses Rigorously updated and revised, NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification 2018-2020, Eleventh Edition is a must-have resource for all nursing students, professional nurses, nurse educators, nurse informaticists, and nurse administrators.
Call Number: RT48.6 .N67 2018-2020
Patient and Person: interpersonal skills in nursing Effective communication is vital for nurses to provide quality care for patients and their families. Patient & Person provides students with an essential framework to establish and build effective interpersonal skills in nursing practice. Incorporating a person-centred approach, Patient & Person focuses on the importance of relating and interacting with patients as people - a concept central in providing quality nursing care and developing a therapeutic relationship in practice. Focus on interprofessional and team communication throughout A suite of scenario-based videos supporting key communication skills and concepts, including empathy, challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient with reflections from both the nurse and patient perspective A series of video interviews - exploring diverse cultural backgrounds from the patient and practitioner perspective More than 40 Learning Activities to help develop featured skills and concepts Research highlights in each chapter covering the most recent research on communication in nursing
Call Number: RT86.3 .S74 2018x
Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment: practice exercises for the NCLEX examination Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment: Practice Exercises for the NCLEX® Examination, 4th Edition is the original and most popular NCLEX review book on the market focused exclusively on building prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment skills! Using a unique simple-to-complex approach, this best-selling text establishes your foundational knowledge of management of care, then provides exercises of increasing difficulty to help you transition to practice in today's fast-paced healthcare environment. This new edition features more than 60 pages of additional questions, a completely new pharmacology chapter and questions, a content re-alignment to match the latest National League for Nursing guidelines for delegation and patient assignment, increased inclusion of LGBTQ-related scenarios, updated infection control coverage, and much more! Answer keys offer a detailed rationale and an indication of the focus of the question to encourage formative assessment. Interactive practice quizzing on Evolve allows you to create a virtually unlimited number of practice sessions in Study Mode or Exam Mode. Emphasis on the NCLEX Examination's management-of-care focus addresses the heavy emphasis on prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment in the current NCLEX-RN® Examination. Updated content throughout matches the latest evidence-based guidelines and treatment protocols. Improved navigation and usability with color tabs on the edges of the book's pages and with answers directly following each chapter. UNIQUE! Three-part organization establishes foundational knowledge and then provides exercises of increasing difficulty to help you build confidence in your prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment skills. NEW! More than 60 pages of new questions provide additional practice prepare you for the prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment questions on the NCLEX-RN® Exam. NEW! Pharmacology chapter and expanded pharmacology questions throughout prepare you for the strong pharmacology focus of the latest NCLEX-RN® Exam. NEW! Re-alignment of delegation and assignment content and answer key coding to reflect the latest National League for Nursing (NLN) guidelines on what constitutes delegation and what constitutes patient assignment. NEW! Increased emphasis on infection control addresses the growing problems of antibiotic resistance and the rapid spread of infectious disease resulting from our globally mobile society and from growing resistance to vaccination. NEW! Increased inclusion of LGBTQ scenarios and healthcare concerns prepares you for patient-centered care with LGBTQ clients.
Call Number: RT55 .L33 2019
Reflective Practice: transforming education and improving outcomes Nursing can be a physically and intellectually demanding profession, and most nursing programs focus on instilling the techniques and knowledge necessary to prepare novice nurses. Rarely addressed in nurse education, though, are the human and emotional factors that impact nurses at all levels from day one. The fact is, the emotional labor of nursing takes a demanding toll as nurses cope with patients, compassion fatigue, and increasingly complex workplace and interpersonal issues that deplete energy and motivation.
Reflective Practice, Second Edition: Transforming Education and Improving Outcomes offers educators and learners a path to incorporate Caring Science, emotional intelligence, and social justice into nursing education and practice. Authors Sara Horton-Deutsch and Gwen Sherwood provide a rich resource for academic and clinical nurse educators, students, and practicing nurses interested in developing leadership capacity or advancing professional development.
Reflective Practice pulls together multiple approaches to reflective instruction for self-improvement through exercises that are adaptable to both personal life and professional work. This book also incorporates complementary perspectives that focus on quality and safety while emphasizing lifelong learning and the emotional significance of being in community with others.
Call Number: RT82 .S54 2017
Test Success: test taking techniques for beginning nursing students Build confidence and improve test scores. Success in nursing school starts here. A complete review of core concepts 900 questions (Alternate format, too!) Test-taking hints and rationales for correct and incorrect answers A complete review of core concepts, plus 900 questions based on the latest NCLEX#65533; test plan will build confidence and improve test scores from the beginning of nursing school. Master tricky alternate-format questions, even SATA (select all that apply) and develop efficient studying skills with test-taking tips and rationales for correct and incorrect responses. Purchase this title NEW and get 150 additional questions online at DavisPlus. See what students are saying about the previous edition... Worth every penny. "I found this to be helpful from the very first chapter. I was able to apply the ideas to the very next test I took in nursing school and have found it changed the way I view nursing school. It breaks it down to the various types of questions asked and how to approach them. It teaches you to brush aside the distracting and unnecessary aspects of the questions and teaches you to hone in on what really is essential. It even helps you break down the dreaded 'select all that apply' questions. I highly recommend this book to any and all first-year nursing students."--Suzanne Chick Amazing. "The FA Davis Test Success book is amazing. In lecture, we're told how to deal with "nursing" questions but it can still be puzzling. The test success book is wonderful and gives you examples and explanations, and then a practice test to use the test-taking tips in and gauge your success."--Nina, Durham Technical Community College Great Techniques To Know BEFORE Starting School. "...this has helped tremendously. It breaks down the types of testing questions and gives hints on how to process it and choose the most correct answer. As well as ways to calm yourself on the day of the test and ways to prepare for test day. If you have test anxiety this will definitely help with calming your testing fears. I've read from several buyers of this book to read it before you start school and I definitely agree!"--J N Moore
Call Number: RT55 .N77 2018
Theoretical Basis for Nursing Now in its 5th edition, Wolters Kluwer's AJN Award Winning text,Theoretical Basis for Nursing, provides an overview of nursing theory that includes the essential information that a student needs to understand theory and its application to practice. Students-with little to no knowledge of nursing theory-will gain insight into how theory can affect their practice and make them better nurses. In Unit I, Students are ushered through the skills needed to develop, analyze, and evaluate theory for use in their careers. This skill set will help students pursuing all potential career paths-in nursing practice, research, administration, management, and/or education. As a unique focus in Unit II, grand theories are discussed in relation to 1) human needs, 2) interactive process, and 3) unitary process. This unit provides the perfect amount of information-just enough for the reader to 1) understand the basis of the work and 2) become enticed enough in the material to want to select one or two theories for primary source study. Also, because of an emphasis on middle range theory in nursing programs, the authors present an overview of selected middle range theories, examining their origins and growth. The broad range of middle range theories sampled will point students in the right direction to search for others appropriate to their practice. Some NEW! theories to this edition include aerohemodynamic theory, transtheoretical model of change, and the precede/proceed model. In Unit II, there will be an enhanced discussion of Evidence-based practice (EBP) and nursing theory. As its next frontier, nursing theory will increasingly focus on EBP protocols, and McEwen & Wills help students understand the inter-relatedness of theory, research, and practice. This edition includes an enhanced discussion of the history of EBP and practice-based evidence (PBE). In Unit III, students explore "shared theories," benefitting from the body of knowledge that can be distilled from other disciplines. This unit is unique to this text, and students will discover stories of how nurses have used shared theories in their own practice. In this edition, a NEW! chapter called "Ethical Theories and Principles" will be included in this unit. The text concludes with Unit IV, a summary of how theories should be and are applied in nursing. Functioning as a practical guide, separate chapters cover nursing practice, nursing research, nursing administration and management, and nursing education. The evolving development of practice theories and importance of evidence-based practice guidelines are critical to theory application in nursing today. NEW! In our application to practice chapter (Chapter 19), we will add examples of the theoretical underpinnings related to the clinical practice guidelines. Reinforcing its emphasis on practice, both the book and its resources on thePoint will include case studies with examples from nursing in general through advanced practice scenarios. Because Nursing Theory is often a reading and writing intensive course, this text comes with a Scholarly Writing in Nursing: Best Practices. This resource covers the basics of APA as well as good writing principles, and it also provides weblinks to additional resources. This edition will also feature improved indices making content in the text easier to find quickly. This text is accompanied by a robust instructor resource package featuring an Instructor's Guide, Case Studies with supportive curriculum, PowerPoints, and more. Theoretical Basis for Nursing, 5th Edition offers an inspiring message to readers to contribute to the ongoing development, application, analysis, and evaluation of concepts, principles, theories, and models to advance the discipline of nursing. According to authors McEwen & Wills, "As the health profession with the largest number of providers, nursing has the greatest potential to have the greatest impact on health and healthcare delivery."
Call Number: RT84.5 .T36 2019
The Bethesda Review of Oncology Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Perfect for any clinician short on time who needs to practice for oncology board exams, The Bethesda Review of Clinical Oncology is from the same authors who brought you the trusted and bestselling Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology. It's packed with hundreds of disease-specific questions that are formatted just like an actual board review exam--so you can prep as effectively as possible and achieve test success. Features 500 review questions to help fellows and residents prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine board review and MOC exams in medical oncology. Simulates an actual board review exam experience, with multiple-choice, single-best answer questions--and answer rationales--involving a hypothetical patient scenario. Aligns closely with content presented in the authors' Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology, also published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Photos, illustrations, and other images provide visual context to each clinical scenario. All questions also available in an interactive online question bank--for anytime, anywhere, on-the-go access. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RC266.5 .B47 2019
Clinical Manual of Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation Providing the practicing and trainee hematologist with a practical and immediately applicable compendium of answers the Clinical Manual of Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation covers the spectrum of the hematopoietic cell transplant specialty, in particular practical issues in transplant patient care, and the set up and functioning of a transplant program. Supplies the practicing and trainee hematologist with a practical and immediately applicable compendium of answers to clinical questions Covers the spectrum of the hematopoietic cell transplant specialty, in particular practical issues in transplant patient care, and the set up and functioning of a transplant program Contains concise chapters written with a focus on tables, algorithms and figures to aid rapid referral Benefits from expert contributions from an international authorship
Call Number: RD123.5 .C545 2017
Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions: An Interdisciplinary Approach will equip multidisciplinary teams with the resources necessary to provide patients and their families with the best possible care and management of multiple chronic conditions.
Written in an easily accessible outline format, this comprehensive text explores pharmacologic interventions; advance care planning; and the physiology, symptoms, diagnostics, and interventions of various chronic conditions and malignancies. In addition, case studies highlight approaches to the care of individual patients with varying backgrounds and needs.
Emphasizing the importance of self care, spiritual and religious support, compassion, goal setting, education, preparation, and communication in all areas of the palliative care realm, this book is an essential resource in guiding healthcare professionals in their mission of providing quality care to patients and their families.
Call Number: RA999.H66 I58 2017
Mayo Clinic Principles of Shoulder Surgery Mayo Clinic Principles of Shoulder Surgery provides the basic principles and foundational knowledge for this orthopedic specialty in a concise and easy-to-use manner. The book, written by a well-seasoned surgeon with years of experience training residents and fellows, pulls together acomprehensive reference for interdisciplinary use, relevant to many fields including sports medicine, rheumatology, and rehabilitation. Dr. Sanchez-Sotelo covers an array of topics starting with history taking, the physical examination, the use and understanding of advanced imaging techniques, andpreforming surgical procedures such as fracture fixation, arthroscopic surgery, tendon transfers, and replacement, all visually enhanced with relevant videos. This book is the perfect resource for all medical libraries, whether you are a student, primary care physician, physical therapist, or alliedhealth professional.
Call Number: RD557.5 .S26 2018x
Nephrology Secrets For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Nephrology Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in nephrology for in-training or practicing professionals. Written and fully updated by global experts and thought leaders in nephrology. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. New chapters on home dialysis, onco-nephrology, and palliative care nephrology. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC903 .N477 2019
Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract For more than 60 years, Shackelford's Surgery of the Alimentary Tract has served as the cornerstone reference in this fast-moving field. With comprehensive coverage of all aspects of GI surgery, the 8th Edition, by Drs. Charles J. Yeo, Steven R. DeMeester, David W. McFadden, Jeffrey B. Matthews, and James W. Fleshman, offers lavishly illustrated, authoritative guidance on endoscopic, robotic, and minimally invasive procedures, as well as current medical therapies. Each section is edited by a premier authority in GI surgery; chapters reflect key topics and are written by a "who's who" of international experts in the field. It's your one-stop resource for proven, systematic approaches to all relevant adult and pediatric GI disorders and operations Features an abundance of beautifully detailed intraoperative and laparoscopic photographs, as well as radiographs and line drawings, to enhance and clarify the text. Presents essential information, such as lists of differential diagnoses, in tabular format for quick reference. Discusses recent, major advances in minimally invasive surgery and robotic surgery, personalized therapy based on genomics and proteomics, and new pharmacologic treatments of various GI diseases. Includes all-new information on laparoscopy for rectal cancer, sacral nerve stimulation for incontinence and constipation, management of Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, advances in immunosuppression for transplant patients, and new therapies for inflammatory bowel disease. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD540 .S476 2019, vols. 1 & 2
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015
Management/Employee Development Books
Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management is ideal for an introductory course in financial accounting in both undergraduate and graduate programs. With a focus on basic accounting in health care management, this essential book contains the vocabulary of and an introduction to the tools and concepts employed by finance officers. Students will learn how to assess financial information, ask the appropriate questions, and understand the jargon-laden answers. The Third Edition reflects the changes since the enactment of health care reform. It also brings the book in compliance with recent and near-term changes to accounting standards by the Financial Accounting Standards Board including how bad debts are reported, the presentation of cash flow statements, and the presentation of net assets on the balance sheet. All Excel tables and screenshots have been updated to more recent versions of the program to make it more accessible to readers. All the problems, solutions, and cases have been updated and are compliant with current FASB standards.
Call Number: RA971 .F52 2019
And Now What? A guide to leadership and taking charge in your new role When you start a new managerial role, there is an inevitable contrast between what you believed you would find and what you're actually faced with. And Now What? helps you manage this gap between expectation and reality, ensuring that you get off to the best possible start in your new job. This book is structured in two parts, and it begins by offering readers a panoramic perspective of what a 'landing' entails in terms of personal self-leadership and managing people and uncertainty. The first part of the book reviews the process of taking charge in your new role, from preparation through to implementation. The second part presents a range of case studies arranged in order of increasing professional responsibility, allowing the reader to take a trip from the first stages of a professional leader's life to the highest responsibilities of a chairperson's role - experiencing changes, promotions, exits, internationalizations and take-offs along the way. The most important thing for a leader is not to discover how to motivate, but to better understand their reasons for motivating others. In this way, you can think of the leadership journey as both a personal and a professional adventure.
Call Number: HD57.7 .S74 2018
The Chameleon: life changing wisdom for anyone who has a personality or knows someone who does Laugh and learn through twenty-two entertaining fables that reflect the challenges you experience in your lifestory. Guided by an all-knowing chameleon, four unassuming birds play the roles of the personality styles. The insights gained from their interactions and struggles will lift you to new heights of understanding yourself. Let the Wisdom of The Chameleon Enable You to Effortlessly Adapt to the People and Situations Around YouJoin an Eagle, Parrot, Dove, and Owl on their enlightening journey as you learn to: - Capitalize on your strengths - Deepen your most important relationships - Enhance your career - Live a more fulfilling life
Call Number: BF698.4 .R617 2016x
The Coaching Habit: say less, ask more & change the way you lead forever In Michael Bungay Stanier's The Coaching Habit, coaching becomes a regular, informal part of your day so managers and their teams can work less hard and have more impact.
Drawing on years of experience training more than 10,000 busy managers from around the globe in practical, everyday coaching skills, Bungay Stanier reveals how to unlock your peoples' potential. He unpacks sevenessential coaching questions to demonstrate how--by saying less and asking more--you can develop coaching methods that produce great results.
• Get straight to the point in any conversation with The Kickstart Question
• Stay on track during any interaction with The Awe Question
• Save hours of time for yourself with The Lazy Question, and hours of time for others with The Strategic Question
• Get to the heart of any interpersonal or external challenge with The Focus Question and The Foundation Question
• Finally ensure others find your coaching as beneficial as you do with The Learning Question
A fresh innovative take on the traditional how-to manual, the book combines insider information with research based in neuroscience and behavioural economics, together with interactive training tools to turnpractical advice into practiced habits. Witty and conversational, The Coaching Habit takes your work--and your workplace--from good to great.
Call Number: HF5549.5.C53 B86 2016x
Collaborative, Participitory and Empowerment Evaluation: stakeholder involvement approaches From pioneering leaders in the field, this is the first book to provide a solid foundation for three major stakeholder involvement approaches: collaborative, participatory, and empowerment evaluation. Highlighting differences among the approaches, the authors focus on the role of the evaluator, who may be in charge of the evaluation, share control, or serve as a "critical friend," leaving stakeholders in control. Practitioners are guided to select and implement the most appropriate framework for the purpose and scope of a given evaluation and the needs of community members and funders. For each approach, a chapter on essential features is followed by two chapters presenting actual sample evaluations--for example, early childhood and community health initiatives, an aquarium, a project with Google, and more. The concluding chapter discusses similarities and circumstances in which the approaches can be combined.
Call Number: H62 .F4117 2018
Directed by Purpose: simple step to success series Find Your ONE THING That Will Relentlessly Guide You Imagine waking every day and immediately beginning something deeply meaningful. Imagine bypassing or overcoming everything you need to in relentless pursuit of success, until finally you have it. What if you could find a powerful intrinsic motivator that enabled you to work on your dream every day, regardless of the obstacles fate will inevitably throw in your path? Four years ago, independent author Michal Stawicki hadn't published a single book. But since then, thanks to techniques he details in Directed by Purpose, he has written over million words, gathered a few thousand followers, published 15 books and now earns more from writing than 90% of current published authors. Michal Stawicki decided to begin writing despite suffering depression, feeling out of control, living a life without meaning. He had no authority in any field, either. And he decided to write in English, which to him was a foreign language! Today, Michal's success has been featured in Forbes and Business Insider. In Directed by Purpose he explains how ALL of us can discover a meaning-a purpose-for life. This purpose will then guide us towards achievement and fulfilment, if we follow it. Michal's experiences prove you don't have to be someone special to do extraordinary things. In this book you will learn: Why some people are passionate about their work and most are not even satisfied. (Hint: it's not about the pay) How to succeed despite day-to-day obligations, exhaustion, pain and self-doubts How to effortlessly deal with subconscious resistance against your success Some simple daily habits that help you to clarify and design your life mission How your purpose creates focus that keeps you on track for the long-term How to find your big WHY even if you failed multiple times in the past How you can wake up each day with positive anticipation (even on Mondays!) How to focus on your long-term vision during everyday work Why Michal's methods utilize your brain's inherent functionality How to manage your attention, so you will focus on a few most important things How you can install filters in your brain, so your subconscious will become your worker, not your opponent Buy this book NOW, so you can find your purpose and straighten up your own road to success! Scroll the top of this page and pick up your copy today!
Call Number: BF637.S4 S73 2016x
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge: PMBOK Guide The PMBOK(R) Guide - Sixth Edition - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the Sixth Edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge-including discussion of project management business documents-and information on the PMI Talent Triangle(TM) and the essential skills for success in today's market.
Call Number: HD69.P75 G845 2017
Intuitive Biostatistics: a nonmathematical guide to statistical thinking Intuitive Biostatistics takes a non-technical, non-quantitative approach to statistics and emphasizes interpretation of statistical results rather than the computational strategies for generating statistical data. This makes the text especially useful for those in health-science fields whohave not taken a biostatistics course before. The text is also an excellent resource for professionals in labs, acting as a conceptually oriented and accessible biostatistics guide. With an engaging and conversational tone, Intuitive Biostatistics provides a clear introduction to statistics forundergraduate and graduate students and also serves as a statistics refresher for working scientists.
Call Number: R853.S7 M68 2018
Quality Health Care: a guide to developing and using indicators Written by an internationally-recognized expert in the field of quality management, this text is an essential guide for understanding how to plan and implement a successful quality measurement program in your healthcare facility. It begins by presenting an overview of the context for quality measurement, the forces influencing the demand for quality reform, how to listen to the voice of the customer, and the characteristics of quality that customers value most. Students will also learn how to select and define indicators to collect data and how to organize data into a dashboard that can provide feedback on progress toward quality measurement. Finally, this book explores how to analyze the data by detailing how variation lives in your data, and whether this variation is acceptable. Case studies are provided to demonstrate how quality measurement can be applied to clinical as well as operational aspects of healthcare delivery.
Call Number: RA399.A1 L567 2019
The Safety Playbook: a healthcare leader's guide to building a high-reliability organization Each year, more than 200,000 patients die as a result of medical errors¿the third leading cause of death in the United States. Though the numbers are staggering and the challenges great, this national healthcare crisis is solvable. Fixing it has become a personal mission for John Byrnes, MD, and Susan Teman, RN.Byrnes and Teman have a proven track record in helping hospitals and health systems transform into high-reliability organizations that aim to deliver error-free care at an affordable cost. In The Safety Playbook: A Healthcare Leader¿s Guide to Building a High-Reliability Organization, they lay out their process for building a safety program that can eradicate preventable medical errors.Readers will:¿ Discover how transparency about errors and their causes makes a successful safety program possible¿ Learn how developing internal safety experts saves time and money¿ Examine safety tools and practices used effectively in high-reliability industries¿ Understand why communication is the top cause of medical errors and how to improve it¿ Explore guidelines used in other healthcare organizations that create a culture of safetyFilled with compelling case studies and practical tools and strategies, this groundbreaking book can be a catalyst for transforming an organization¿s culture, delivering safer care, and ultimately saving lives.
Call Number: R729.8 .B97 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?