Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Get the expert study tools you need to prepare for Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner certification! New from best-selling author JoAnn Zerwekh, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certification Review has been carefully written and organized to mirror the AANP and ANCC test blueprints. The first edition of this robust study tool includes more than 1,400 multiple-choice questions that reflect the latest evidence-based clinical practice and national treatment guidelines and protocols. At the end of every chapter you'll find an Answers and Rationales section for instant remediation. Additionally, you can study anytime and anywhere with a mobile-optimized website that generates exams with questions taken from the book, plus new illustration-based and ordered-response questions. NEW! Expert exam prep matching the latest AANP and ANCC exam blueprints and item formats, including multiple-choice questions in print and ordered-response and image-based questions online. NEW! More than 1,400 practice questions with answers and detailed rationales for correct answers NEW! Questions mirroring the Primary Care AGPCNP certification exams cover the latest information on assessment, diagnosis, patient education, planning and intervention, evaluation of response to health care, health promotion strategies, scope of practice, and ethics. NEW! Up-to-date clinical content reflects the very latest evidence-based clinical practice and national treatment guidelines and protocols. NEW! Randomly generated practice exams online deliver an unlimited number of practice exams with automated grading and feedback. NEW! Chapter on Test-Taking Strategies guides you through techniques to increase clinical reasoning skills, improve testing skills, learn strategies for decreasing anxiety, and employ tips to improve study habits. NEW! QSEN-focused questions highlight the graduate-level safety competency of the Quality & Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative. NEW! Clinical chapters are divided into three areas to make it easy to locate specific information within each body system.
Call Number: RC954 .Z47 2019
Clinical Analytics and Data Management for the DNP, Second Edition Praise for the First Edition: "DNP students may struggle with data management, since their projects are not research, but quality improvement, and this book covers the subject well. I recommend it for DNP students for use during their capstone projects." Score: 98, 5 Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews This is the only text to deliver the strong data management knowledge and skills that are required competencies for all DNP students. It enables readers to design data tracking and clinical analytics in order to rigorously evaluate clinical innovations and programs for improving clinical outcomes and to document and analyze change. This second edition has been expanded and updated to address major changes in our healthcare environment. Incorporating faculty and student input, it now includes modalities such as SPSS, Excel, and Tableau to address diverse data management tasks. Eleven new chapters cover the use of big data analytics, ongoing progress toward value-based payment, the Affordable Care Act and its future, shifting of risk and accountability to hospitals and clinicians, advancement of nursing quality indicators, and new requirements for Magnet(R) certification. The text takes the DNP student step by step through the complete process of data management from planning through presentation, and encompasses the scope of skills required for students to apply relevant analytics to systematically and confidently tackle the clinical interventions data obtained as part of the DNP student project. Of particular value is a progressive case study illustrating multiple techniques and methods throughout the chapters. Sample data sets and exercises, along with objectives, references, and examples in each chapter, reinforce information. New to the Second Edition: Completely updated and expanded with 11 new chaptersIncludes an extensive data management toolkit with SPSS, Excel, and TableauDescribes value-based purchasing and NDNQI measurement programsExplains use of data sources to support the problem statement for the DNP projectGuides selection of quality measuresProvides best practices for collecting primary and secondary dataOffers strategic guidelines for institutional review board submissionExplains methods for risk adjustment in program and intervention monitoringExplores predictive a nalyticsIllustrates applications of big data for the DNPDescribes Magnet requirements for measuring quality improvement Key Features: Provides extensive content for rigorously evaluating DNP innovations/projectsTakes DNP students through the complete process of data management from planning through presentationIncludes a progressive case study illustrating multiple techniques and methodsOffers very specific examples of application and utility of techniquesDelivers supplemental materials, including sample data set case studies in SPSS and Excel formats, exercises, PowerPoint slides, and more
Call Number: RT81.5 .S958 2018
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant Delivering succinct, clear explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The second edition retains the book's systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating each EKG. It negates the need for rote memorization by facilitating a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With scores of figures and tables and more than 200 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything physician assistants and nurse practitioners need to provide expert, quality care to their patients. New to the Second Edition: Nearly 50 new EKG tracings and accompanying case studies Basic review of clinical conditions related to common EKG abnormalities New end-of-chapter review questions to help students summarize their learning More complex clinical cases to further challenge the student and increase proficiency in EKG interpretation Additional diagnostic findings in atrial enlargement, bundle branch blocks, and ventricular hypertrophy Updated chapter contrasting premature ventricular contractions with premature atrial contractions PowerPoint supplement of case studies with EKGs and teaching points for instructors
Call Number: RC683.5.E5 K54 2017
Florence Nightingale, Nursing, and Health Care Today Contributes new insights to Nightingale's relevance for nursing today This in-depth analysis of Nightingale's legacy goes beyond established scholarship to examine her lesser known--and arguably even more important--writings beyond Notes on Nursing. The book demonstrates afresh her unparalleled and ongoing influence on professional nursing, on the core concepts of health, disease, and access to care as we understand them today. It introduces readers to the "real" Florence Nightingale - who pioneered evidence-based health care, campaigned for hospital safety, promoted economic opportunities for women, and mentored two generations of nursing leaders. The first part of the book focuses on Nightingale's core nursing concepts: gender and women's issues, education, health promotion, infection control, professional ethics, pediatrics, and palliative care, and how they have transcended time to influence professional nursing today. The author draws on comments from current nursing and medical literature to demonstrate the ongoing relevance of Nightingale's work. In the second part of the book, the author presents key writings by Nightingale, including the little-known background work that shaped her iconic Notes on Nursing. It goes on to cover key later writings, which show how her ideas evolved with advances in medical science and nursing practice. Key Features: Expands on established scholarship to reveal Nightingale's contributions to theory, science, and policy in greater breadth and depth Demonstrates the remarkable relevance of her work to nursing issues today Nightingale's core nursing concepts of health promotion, disease prevention, and access to care Disseminates Nightingale writing especially relevant to nursing leaders and policy advocates.
Call Number: RT84.5 .M33 2018
Hamric and Hanson's Advanced Practice Nursing: an integrated approach Edited and written by a Who's Who of internationally known advanced practice nursing experts, Hamric and Hanson's Advanced Practice Nursing: An Integrative Approach, 6th Edition helps you develop an understanding of the various advanced practice registered nursing (APRN) roles. This bestselling textbook provides a clear, comprehensive, and contemporary introduction to advanced practice nursing today, addressing all major APRN competencies, roles, and issues. It covers topics ranging from the evolution of advanced practice nursing to evidence-based practice, leadership, ethical decision-making, and health policy. New to this edition is expanded coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice, updated coverage of APRN roles related to implementation of healthcare reform in the U.S., updated and expanded coverage of IOM and QSEN, a global focus on international advanced practice nursing, and much more! Coverage of all APN core competencies defines and describes all competencies, including direct clinical practice, guidance and coaching, consultation, evidence-based practice, leadership, collaboration, and ethical decision-making. Operationalizes and applies the APN core competencies to the major APN specialties including the Clinical Nurse Specialist, the Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, the Certified Nurse-Midwife, and the Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist. Content on managing APN environments addresses such factors as business planning and reimbursement; marketing, negotiating, and contracting; regulatory, legal, and credentialing requirements; health policy; and nursing outcomes and performance improvement research. UNIQUE! Exemplar boxes (case studies), including Day in the Life vignettes of each APN specialty, emphasize innovative practices and coverage of advanced practice roles. In-depth discussions of educational strategies for APN competency development show how nurses develop competencies as they progress into advanced practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Expanded coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice includes the latest Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice. NEW! Updated coverage of APRN roles related to implementation of healthcare in the U.S. reflects current and anticipated changes in APRN roles related to healthcare reform. NEW! Coverage of IOM and QSEN has been updated and expanded. NEW! Refocused International Development of Advanced Practice Nursing chapter has been rewritten to be more global and inclusive in focus, to reflect the state of advanced practice nursing practice throughout all major regions of the world. NEW! Expanded content on the role of advanced practice nurses in teaching/education/mentoring and health policy related to the APRN role is featured in the 6th edition.
Call Number: RT82.8 .A384 2019
Leadership in Nursing Practice: changing the landscape of health care Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Healthcare, Third Edition, gives nursing students the opportunity to develop the leadership skill set they will need to succeed in the field. The text acknowledges that not all nurses will be managers, but that all, regardless of career path, will be leaders. The Third Edition focuses on current leadership, innovation, and organization theory and prepares students for a transition into leadership positions. It also explores time management, finance and fiscal management, communication and negotiation, ethical decision making, career management, and much more.The Third Edition features end-of-chapter questions that align with the AONE nurse leader competencies, the AACN BSN Essentials, and NCLEX leadership content. This emphasis increases the text's relevancy for students in both RN-to-BSN and pre-licensure programs. In addition, two new authors lend their expertise on nursing from both the health system and academic perspective, thereby enhancing the applicability and relevancy to students and faculty alike.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Premier Access that unlocks a comprehensive eBook, interactive lectures, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: RT89 .P655 2019
Lippincott Visual Nursing: a guide to clinical diseases, skills, and treatemtns Designed to help visual learners' master important clinical nursing concepts and techniques, through illustrations, photographs, waveforms, diagrams, and creative visual learning methods to demonstrate hands-on treatments and explain disease pathophysiology. The new edition includes: Boxes placed throughout the text assist with learning and understanding of concepts: -NEW organization covers tests, procedures and treatment by body system before discussing individual diseases. -NEW flow charts for clinical manifestations that lead to diagnosis, that indicate improvement or deterioration. -Colorful images and full description help simplify concepts and concisely organize the text -Step-by-step instructions explain how to perform treatments with confidence -Picturing Patho" boxes illustrates anatomy and flowcharts showing the impact of complicated diseases on the body. -"Hands On" boxes are photographs illustrating how to perform nursing procedures and administer treatments using good techniques. -"Lesson Plans" boxes summarize the most important information for nurses to teach patients and their caregivers. -Colorful images and full description help simplify concepts and concisely organize the text -Step-by-step instructions explain how to perform treatments with confidence
Call Number: RT57 .V57 2019
Nurses of Passchendaele: caring for the wounded of the Ypres campaigns The Ypres Salient saw some of the bitterest fighting of the First World War. The once-fertile fields of Flanders were turned into a quagmire through which men fought for four years. In casualty clearing stations, on ambulance trains and barges, and at base hospitals near the French and Belgian coasts, nurses of many nations cared for these traumatized and damaged men.Drawing on letters, diaries and personal accounts from archives all over the world, The Nurses of Passchendaele tells their stories - faithfully recounting their experiences behind the Ypres Salient in one of the most intense and prolonged casualty evacuation processes in the history of modern warfare. Nurses themselves came under shellfire and were vulnerable to aerial bombardment, and some were killed or injured while on active service.Alongside an analysis of the intricacies of their practice, the book traces the personal stories of some of these extraordinary women, revealing the courage, resilience and compassion with which they did their work.
Call Number: D628 .H35 2017
Progressive Care Nursing Certification: Preparation, Review, and Practice Exams The must-have guide to acing the Progressive Care Nursing certification exam - based on the actual exam blueprint! Progressive Care Nursing Certification, Second Edition is a complete, step-by-step guide that thoroughly covers everything you must know to excel on the examination administered by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN). Following the PCCN blueprint, the book reflects the latest changes to the test plan - so you know you are studying he most relevant, up-to-date material possible. Everything you need to succeed! Presented in short, easy-to-read chapters, Progressive Care Nursing Certification includes ten subject-specific practice exams, allowing you to target your study and quickly identify your weak areas. This edition is enhanced by the addition of detailed answer explanations to the practice exam questions. You will also find valuable test-taking tips, summaries at the end of each chapter (also new to this edition), and the acclaimed "Editor Note" feature that highlights what important and gives you an idea of the number of questions you should expect on a given topic. If you are looking for a well-illustrated, time-tested review for the Progressive Care Nursing certification exam - complete with practice tests and special learning features - your search ends here.
Call Number: RT120.P76 A37 2018
The Bethesda Review of Oncology Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Perfect for any clinician short on time who needs to practice for oncology board exams, The Bethesda Review of Clinical Oncology is from the same authors who brought you the trusted and bestselling Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology. It's packed with hundreds of disease-specific questions that are formatted just like an actual board review exam--so you can prep as effectively as possible and achieve test success. Features 500 review questions to help fellows and residents prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine board review and MOC exams in medical oncology. Simulates an actual board review exam experience, with multiple-choice, single-best answer questions--and answer rationales--involving a hypothetical patient scenario. Aligns closely with content presented in the authors' Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology, also published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Photos, illustrations, and other images provide visual context to each clinical scenario. All questions also available in an interactive online question bank--for anytime, anywhere, on-the-go access. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RC266.5 .B47 2019
Brain Arteriovenous Malformations: pathogenesis, epidemiology, diagnosis, treatment and outcome This book reviews the natural course of arteriovenous malformation (AVM) disease and the active treatment modalities. These are compared with surgical and neuropsychological results achieved at the Military University Hospital, Prague, Czech Republic. Based on these comparisons, treatment recommendation for AVM is articulated. Furthermore, the long-term efficacy of different treatment is discussed. This book is written by an international group of European authors, and is aimed at neurovascular surgeons and neurosurgical residents.
Call Number: RC388.5 .B733 2017x
Braunwald's Heart Disease: a Textbook of Cardiovascular Medicine, 2-Volume Set Trusted by generations of cardiologists for the latest, most reliable guidance in the field, Braunwald's Heart Disease, 11th Edition, remains your #1 source of information on rapidly changing clinical science, clinical and translational research, and evidence-based medicine. This award-winning text has been completely updated, providing a superior multimedia reference for every aspect of this fast-changing field, including new material about almost every topic in cardiology. A unique update program by Dr. Braunwald creates a "living textbook" by featuring weekly Hot off the Press, periodic Late-Breaking Clinical Trials (including links to authors' presentation slides), and monthly Focused Reviews. More than a dozen new chapters cover Chronic Lung Disorders and Cardiovascular Disease; Transcatheter Treatment of Congenital Heart Disease; Approach to the Patient with Valvular Heart Disease; Obesity and Cardiometabolic Disease; Environmental Exposures and CVD; Approach to the Patient with Cardiac Arrhythmias; Cardio-oncology, Precision Medicine, and more. New information on clinical cardiovascular genetics; MR PET; MR device compatibility; fibrosis; fusion imaging; OCT; IVUS; left atrial appendage exclusion approaches and other topics. Many new videos that elucidate coronary, peripheral, valvular, congenital heart diseases and other cardiovascular diseases. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC681 .H36 2019 - Also available online
Cardiology: an integrated approach An innovative, cardiology-specific text that blends basic science with the fundamentals of clinical medicine Cardiology: An Integrated Approach to Disease skillfully bridges the gap between the science and practice of medicine. This beautifully illustrated book seamlessly integrates the core elements of cell biology, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and pathology with clinical medicine. It is the perfect companion for medical students transitioning to their clinical years, as well as for practicing physicians who need a user-friendly update on the basic science underlying the practice of clinical medicine. * Full-color design includes approximately 340 images and 40 tables * Cases teach students how to apply principles to real-world patient situations * The latest developments in the field are incorporated throughout the text * End-of-chapter case-based questions with detailed explanations reinforce important concepts and assess understanding of the material
Call Number: RC667 .C372 2018x
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: cell and molecular biology Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Efficiently master essential cell and molecular biology information! Now in its second edition, Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Cell and Molecular Biology continues to provide a highly visual presentation of essential cell and molecular biology, focusing on topics related to human health and disease. It offers all the most popular features of the bestselling Lippincott Illustrated Reviews series, including abundant full-color, annotated illustrations, chapter overviews, an expanded outline format, chapter summaries, and review questions that link basic science to real-life clinical situations. Master all the latest cell and molecular biology knowledge, thanks to revisions throughout, including updated unit overviews and chapter summaries, which set goals for understanding and re-emphasize essential concepts from each chapter. Understand the practical applications with clinical boxes that reinforce key concepts by direct application to real-world scenarios, now with expanded information on specific cellular processes. Visualize key concepts more clearly with the aid of nearly 250 full-color, annotated illustrations. Extend your learning online with access to new animations and an interactive question bank.
Call Number: QH581.2 .C47 2019
Medical Writing: a guide for clinicians, educators and researchers This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Call Number: R119 .T395 2018
Operative Techniques: Shoulder and Elbow Surgery Part of the practical, highly illustrated Operative Techniques series, this fully revised title by Drs. Donald H. Lee and Robert J. Neviaser brings you up to speed with must-know surgical techniques in today's technically demanding shoulder and elbow surgery. Step-by-step, evidence-based guidance walks you through both common and unique cases you're likely to see in your practice, while tips, pearls, and pitfalls help you optimize outcomes. Features full-color intraoperative photos and detailed illustrations alongside expert technical guidance on instrumentation, placement, step-by-step instructions and more. A bulleted, highly templated format allows for quick understanding of surgical techniques. Retains the clear organization of the first edition with each chapter covering case history/indications, physical exam, imaging, surgical technique, tips, pearls and pitfalls, post-operative management and references for further reading. Includes new and comprehensive coverage of nerve transfers for shoulder and elbow restoration after upper trunk brachial plexus injuries, thoracic outlet syndrome, suprascapular nerve neuropathy, closed treatment of shoulder dislocations, and more. Provides access to nearly 70 videos online, including new videos on the surgical treatment of scapular fractures, arthroscopic distal clavicle resection, radiocapitellar replacement, endoscopic cubital tunnel release, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD557.5 .S5418 2019, also available online
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination Both a comprehensive lab manual and a practical workbook, the Student Laboratory Manual for Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination, 9h Edition, gives you the tools you need to master physical examination and health assessment skills. Corresponding to the Ball/Seidel textbook, this practical guide includes learning objectives, multiple-choice questions, terminology reviews, application activities, case studies, and critical thinking questions. The 9th edition has been thoroughly updated with an engaging interactive review at the beginning of each chapter and an enhanced emphasis on patient safety and healthcare quality, and clinical and diagnostic reasoning Multiple-choice questions mirror the questions formats of licensure exams for a variety of health disciplines. Terminology reviews and application activities increase your ability to comprehend the material through further reading and hands-on exercises. Case studies and critical thinking questions emphasize development of good communication skills, use of effective hands-on examination techniques, and reliance on clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research and evidence-based practice. NEW! Engaging, student-friendly Terminology Review Activities ensure mastery of the language of health assessment and physical examination. NEW! Enhanced emphasis on patient safety and healthcare quality with new Patient Safety Considerations equips you for safe clinical practice NEW! Enhanced emphasis on clinical reasoning fosters the development clinical judgment skills.
Call Number: RC76 .M65 2019x
Urodynamics Made Easy The Fourth Edition of Urodynamics Made Easy provides a concise and user-friendly guide to the principles and clinical practice of urodynamics as applied to the routine diagnosis and management of patients. The emphasis of this book is on the ethos behind the practice of urodynamics and how this needs to be integrated into the evaluation of all patients with lower urinary tract symptoms. It offers clear information presented in a visually appealing and easily accessible format. A great and simple teaching tool that will assist the novice as well as the more experienced practitioner Superbly illustrated in full colour. An invaluable and practical, yet comprehensive, resource for all those interested in growing their understanding of and expertise in pelvic floor diseases. This edition has been completely updated, especially in relation to the electronic urodynamic measuring devices now available. The clinical relevance has also been enhanced. Urodynamics made Easy provides an invaluable source of information to urologists, gynaecologists and urodynamic nurses, and will also be of interest to general surgeons, radiologists and general practitioners.
Call Number: RC901.9 .U76 2019
Management/Employee Development Books
ABC of Clinical Professionalism Clinical professionalism is a set of values, behaviours and relationships which underpins the public's trust in healthcare providers both as individuals and organisations. 'First, do no harm' is expressed most clearly today in the patient safety movement and the imperative for transparency and candour in the delivery of healthcare. Professional conduct is essential for safe and high quality clinical care. The ABC of Clinical Professionalism considers recent evidence on how healthcare practitioners maintain professionalism including how values are developed and affected by the working environment, the challenges of maintaining personal and organisational resilience and the ethical and regulatory framework in which practice is conducted. Topics covered include: Acquiring and developing professional values Patient-centred care Burnout and resilience Confidentiality and social media The culture of healthcare Ensuring patient safety Leadership and collaboration Ethical and legal aspects of professionalism Teaching and assessing professionalism Regulation of healthcare professionals The chapter authors come from a range of countries and have experience of working in multidisciplinary clinical teams, research, and in the training of future healthcare practitioners including their development as professionals.
Call Number: R118 .A23 2018
The Effective Health Care Supervisor The Effective Health Care Supervisor offers proven, hands-on, practical applications of both classic and current management principles in the healthcare setting. Packed with strategies, techniques, and tools to build or reinforce your management skills and meet the never-ending challenges that one may face daily as a healthcare supervisor, students and professionals alike will benefit from this classic guidebook that is now more reader-friendly and accessible. The Ninth Edition examines environmental changes and healthcare reform activities as well as updated and expanded information on HIPAA. Other current people-management topics such as social media in the work place, performance appraisals, recruitment issues, changes in overtime rules, and more are covered. This edition also offers new key terms in each chapter as well as a number of new end-of-chapter activities.
Call Number: RA971.35 .M278 2019
Fundamentals of Human Resources in Healthcare Erik L. Carlton, DrPH, is assistant professor of health systems management and policy and the director of the Master of Health Administration program at the University of Memphis School of Public Health, where he teaches courses in healthcare management leadership, population health management, healthcare quality and outcomes, and health policy and the organization of health systems. He also holds adjunct faculty appointments in preventive medicine and in advanced practice and doctoral studies and is an affiliate faculty member with the Center for Health Systems Improvement at the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center. Dr. Carlton¿s current research focuses on public health and healthcare leadership, the intersection of public health and primary care systems, and the integration of behavioral health into healthcare and public health systems. Dr. Carlton has nearly two decades of managerial and leadership experience in both private- and public-sector organizations. He has served as a consultant to numerous local health departments, hospital systems, and other healthcare organizations. He is a past chair of the Public Health Academics section of the Tennessee Public Health Association and a past treasurer of the Health Administration section of the American Public Health Association. Dr. Carlton is a behavioral health clinician licensed to practice in marriage and family therapy. He previously operated a private therapy practice, and he continues to consult with public health and healthcare organizations on behavioral health integration and strategies. Dr. Carlton holds a doctor of public health degree in health services management and a master of science degree in family studies (with an emphasis on marriage and family therapy), both from the University of Kentucky.
Call Number: RA971.35 .F85 2018x
Making Business Connections That Count: the gimmick-free guide to authentic online relationships with influencers and followers, six simple steps to success Make authentic connections with influencers without being sleazy or bothersome What if you could connect with 7-figure business owners right when your business begins? What if you could effortlessly get on the radar of influencers just by being yourself? Imagine how your small business would skyrocket with such connections! Four years ago, Michal was a lifelong employee and a shy introvert without a single business idea whatsoever. He did not know what a webinar was and had no Facebook account. Today Michal is active in several online communities, with authors, marketers, influencers and business owners. His works have been mentioned in Forbes and Business Insider. Michal interacts with millionaires and exchanges messages with Darren Hardy and David Allen. A rock star who has 2 million followers on Twitter featured his blog post. His books get reviewed and recommended by bestselling authors. In "Making Business Connections That Count" he explains how you can achieve similar results. In this book, you will learn: A foolproof method of getting on the radar of influencers Where to connect with top bloggers, podcasters and business owners How to provide value to them even if you are just starting out in an online business world How to drive your agenda without being perceived as bothersome How to stand out in the crowd of followers How to network with influencers even if you don't know a single blogger yet How to initiate contact when you need a favor What's the hidden networking superpower available to everyone How to bring value to the table since day one How to discern between genuine and superficial relationships When it's OK to ask for a favor How can you put up your offer so your partner will feel embarrassed to decline How to build friendships AND business connections How to make favors to big influencers without big time investment How to be authentic in your networking efforts, so you will never be mistaken with a sleazy salesman Buy this book now to create relationships with respectable peers and mentors, to boost your business AND performance! Scroll the top of this page and pick up your copy today!
Call Number: HD69.S8 S73 2018x
Mindfulness redesigned for the Twenty-First Century: let's not cage the hummingbird: a mindful path to resilience by April 24th, 2012 was one of the best days of my life. I sat on the stage, immersed in a dialog with His Holiness the Dalai Lama, the global embodiment of compassion. An hour into the discussion, I asked the audience this important question: "How many of you find meditation piece of cake, very easy?" To my total surprise, of the 500 attendees, literally the who's who of the meditation world, only one or two raised their hands. Over the next ten minutes, the Dalai Lama himself, in all his humility and grace, shared his personal struggles with meditation. (Watch the dialog between 1:05:45 and 1:14:30 at this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ca7faWkfmwc.) I walked away that day with a much more realistic expectation of how far meditation could take me. Later, I wondered, "If the world’s meditation leaders struggle with being in-the-moment and non-judgmental, what about all of us?" The chaos and pain I saw in the world created a sense of urgency. Inspired, I asked myself this very important question, “How would Buddha conceptualize mindfulness if he was to start afresh in the twenty-first century?” Mindfulness Redesigned encapsulates my answer to this question. In writing this book I haven’t tried to present a get-calm-quick kind of guide. Instead, drawing from thousands of research studies and my personal experience with helping tens of thousands of people, the book will help you: 1. Understand your brain (particularly neuroscience of focus, fear, fatigue, habits, compassion, forgiveness, hope, courage, curiosity, and meditation). 2. Answer these two important questions - Why redesign mindfulness? How to redesign mindfulness? The science and skills presented in the book will help you: • Deepen your relationships • Heal emotional wounds • Decrease sadness and anxiety • Sharpen your focus • Increase your resilience • Lower your burnout • Experience authentic joy • Develop self-compassion and self-forgiveness. The outcome will be freedom—from the traps of your past hurts, present chaos, future worries, and the brain’s negative traits. Free your inner hummingbird to fly—from the present moment to eternity, with the wings of wisdom and love. That freedom is yours, waiting to be claimed. Exercise that right today…now.
Call Number: RC49 .S553 2018x
Recruit Rockstars: the 10 step playbook to find the winners and ignite your business Ninety percent of business problems are actually recruiting problems in disguise. If you're filling your company's vacant positions with B-Players, you're playing with fire. Instead, hire Rockstars to build an organization with limitless potential. Recruit Rockstars shows you how to find, hire, and keep the best of the best. Top-tier executive recruiter Jeff Hyman has hired more than three thousand people over the course of his career. Now, he reveals his bulletproof 10-step method for landing the very best talent, based on data instead of gut feel. From sourcing and interviewing to closing and onboarding, you'll learn how to attract winners like a magnet and avoid the mistakes that result in bad hires. Assembling a team of driven and innovative Rockstars is the most powerful competitive advantage you can have in today's ever-changing business world. Recruit Rockstars will help you nail your numbers, impress your investors, and crush your competitors.
Call Number: HF5549.5.R44 H85 2018x
Servant Leadership in Action: how you can achieve great relationships and results "The only way to create great relationships and results is through servant leadership. It's all about putting other people first." - from the foreword by John Maxwell We've all seen the negative impact of self-serving leaders in every sector of our society. Not infrequently, they end up bringing down their entire organization. But there is another way: servant leadership. Servant leaders lead by serving their people, not by exalting themselves. This collection features forty-four renowned servant leadership experts and practitioners--prominent business executives, bestselling authors, and respected spiritual leaders--who offer advice and tools for implementing this proven, but for some still radical, leadership model. Edited by legendary business author and lifelong servant leader Ken Blanchard and his longtime editor Renee Broadwell, this is the most comprehensive and wide-ranging guide ever published for what is, in every sense, a better way to lead.
Call Number: HM1261 .S4725 2018
The Sinking Supervisor: keeping your head above water and thriving as a leader Supervisors and managers in today's economy face corporate hardships like no other time in history. In many environments, supervisors are being placed in their role with limited experience. Managers are too busy to provide guidance and develop, leaving the supervisor to struggle and sink. The title of this book alone, followed by the tagline "Keeping your head above water and thriving as a leader", defines the feeling of well over 90% of the leaders in the workforce. The demands of corporate America has increased dramatically and times are constantly changing. Supervisors often work countless hours and still struggle to get their jobs completed. Many supervisor and member of the executive leadership team work 60+ hours a week and never accomplish their task. As a result, households are being broken apart, corporations are being sued, and the overall health of our nation is declining. Leaders and supervisor are also failing to retain their employees. Supervisors and managers need real resources to assist them in doing their jobs, they need guidance from someone who has already excelled at the problems they are facing. For this very reason, "The Sinking Supervisor" was written. Inside "The Sinking Supervisor" you will notice key characteristics and traits needed by new and experienced supervisors to stay motivated, improve performance, manage and motivate employees, reduce high turnover rates, and improve production and quality. Showered with real life examples, "The Sinking Supervisor" explains that it takes more than self-motivation to perform adequately as a leader. Success takes organization, people management skills, planning, knowledge, and mental endurance to survive in today's workforce.The Sinking Supervisor Key Points Include:* A fool proof system for attacking emails.* How leaders react to confrontation with their peers.* Tips on avoiding HR complaints.* Handling HR complaints.* How to build a solid relationship with your manager.* Reasons why your manager may hate you.* A real leaders approach to creating deficiencies.* Detailed Step-by-Step guideline for automation and tracking. (Access to free download)* How true leaders and supervisors balance work and life.* How to hire the best employees.* How to fire the worst employees.* How to get organized and reduce stress as a supervisor or leader.* Actions that has led to multiple pay increases.* And much moreIncluded within "The Sinking Supervisor", you will also gain access to free resources such as coaching documents, excel spreadsheets, and leadership articles.This book is a must read for supervisors seeking ways to improve their leadership skills and build effective qualities that are transferable to the work place. Filled with strategic leadership advice, the knowledge gained through "The Sinking Supervisor" can be used to advance your leadership qualities. Whether you are a new supervisor or experienced supervisor, "The Sinking Supervisor" is an enjoyable read with a plethora of examples and actionable leadership advice and resources. This book can be classified as the ultimate self-help book for first time supervisors or experienced supervisors.
Call Number: HF5549.12 .S73 2018x
Successful Hiring: a easy to follow method Hiring new employees can be a challenge, especially if it is your first time or you've not been successful in the past. Don't be intimidated by the challenge or disappointed in the results. Successful Hiring will guide you through the hiring process from defining the position to the 30-#65533;day check-in. Do you want to hire an employee who will perform up to your expectations and grow with your company? Are you ready to hire your first employee but not sure where to start? Do you spend more time filling the same position in your organization than you do growing and hiring additional staff? Are you new to management and going through the hiring process for the first time? What you will find in Successful Hiring:✓ No jargon or fancy MBA words, just plain English✓ Logical explanations for each step, a reason behind the strategy✓ Easy implementation with "to#65533; do" lists for every chapter, actions you can take today✓ A method applicable to any type of business, whether you sell rocket ships or provide dog#65533;-walking services✓ Results to grow your business Some business owners just hire as quickly and cheaply as possible figuring they won't lose too much if it doesn't work out. In fact, they lose a lot -- you cannot grow a business that way.Successful Hiring will show you how to do the right work to get the results you are looking for.Some managers think that hiring an employment agency covers all the tasks of hiring new staff. There are actually several employer-#65533;side responsibilities that employment agencies do not cover. By missing these steps, the hiring and on-#65533;boarding process is not as effective as it could be.Successful Hiring clarifies your responsibilities, including how to work with the employment agency, to bring your dream employee on boardSome business owners just try to hire someone who is "self#65533;-directed", so they don't have to define the job or provide any management. That's like setting your cruise control on the highway and taking your hands off the wheel. It might work, for a short time. Or it could go horribly wrong and crash your business.Successful Hiring walks you through the steps of hiring the right person by defining the job first, so you can maintain control of your business direction.
Call Number: HF5549.5.S38 A53 2016x
What's New in Current Awareness?
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!