Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery Prepare for success on certification exams and in perioperative nursing! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive text for nurses and surgical technologists training for a career in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. New to this edition is additional coverage of robotic surgery, along with review of evidence-based guidelines for practice. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert nurse - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to provide safe, high-quality care in the surgical setting. Over 400 general and specialty surgical interventions are covered, as well as many minimally invasive surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, outpatient clinic, or in a doctor's office. 900 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, and methods. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention and control, positioning, anesthesia and pain management, the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients, and more. Comprehensive practice exams on the Evolve companion website include 300 exam-style questions with rationales. Perioperative nursing considerations include assessment, nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, evaluation, discharge planning, and patient and family education. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnoses, outcomes, and interventions. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize the drugs most commonly used for each surgical procedure, including generic and trade names, indications, and pharmacokinetics. Patient and Family Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and postprocedural care, side effects and complications, home care, discharge instructions, and psychosocial care. Patient Safety boxes highlight Joint Commission initiatives for patient and staff safety in the surgical setting. Best Practice and Research Highlight boxes apply the latest scientific research to patient care. Critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter let you assess your understanding of important material. NEW! Robotic-Assisted Surgery boxes highlight a rapidly expanding surgical modality. NEW! Enhanced Recovery After Surgery boxes promote review of protocols for early recovery for patients undergoing major surgery. NEW! Patient Engagement Exemplar boxes optimize surgical outcomes by addressing AORN guidelines on the issues of patient care and involvement of the patient's family. NEW standards and AORN toolkits cover topics ranging from enhanced post-surgical recovery to prevention of pressure ulcers.
Call Number: RD99.24 .A44 2019
Discharge Planning Guide: tools for compliance Discharge planning has long been a challenge for organizations, but expected revisions to Medicare's Conditions of Participation(CoP) will increase the burden on healthcare facilities, especially in case management departments, by expanding the number and type of discharge plans that must be created. Discharge Planning Guide: Tools for Compliance, Fourth Edition, is a comprehensive resource on the changes to the CoPs, which are set to revamp discharge planning not just for hospitals, but for postacute providers as well. This book provides guidance on developing a discharge planning workflow during a time when hospitals must create discharge plans for a larger percentage of patients than ever. Essential functions of discharge planning, including patient choice, health literacy, communicating with caregivers, and delivery of notices, are presented in a clear and concise format. The book also covers the connection between discharge planning and the revenue cycle, including payment rules, billing and coding implications, and the appropriate use of several claims forms and condition codes. This book will help you: State the purposes of the Social Security Act, the Conditions of Participation and Conditions for Coverage (CoP/CfC), and the Interpretive Guidelines as each relates to discharge planning Identify sections of the CoPs for discharge planning that relate to discharge instructions Explain how utilization review, discharge planning, and case management interface with transition management Describe steps in monitoring the progress of a patient's discharge plan Describe the effect of the discharge planning process efficiency scores and preventable readmission Describe when to use the Medicare Outpatient Observation Notice (MOON) according to the Notice of Observation Treatment and Implication for Care Eligibility (NOTICE) Act for observation patients Discuss payment rules that affect discharge planning Describe types of discharges and transfers from acute care hospitals, critical access hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, and home health agencies Outline provisions of the Improving Medicare Post-Acute Care Transformation (IMPACT) Act of 2014 Discuss the revenue cycle implications discharge planning has for hospitals
Call Number: RA971.8 .B47 2016x
Family Health Care Nursing: theory, practice and research The 6th Edition of an AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Prepare for the real world of family nursing care! Explore family nursing the way it's practiced today--with a theory-guided, evidence-based approach to care throughout the family life cycle that responds to the needs of families and adapts to the changing dynamics of the health care system. From health promotion to end of life, a streamlined organization delivers the clinical guidance you need to care for families. Significantly updated and thoroughly revised, the 6th Edition reflects the art and science of family nursing practice in today's rapidly evolving healthcare environments. See what students are saying online about the previous edition... Excellent resource. "...very readable and up to standards of bachelors or graduate nursing programs. Nicely covers issues of families and health including how they are affected by socio-economic and cultural factors, how persons define family networks, and the role of nurses with regard to caring for families. Also does a thorough job discussing the theoretical basis of family nursing, gives numerous examples of current research and suggests areas in need of further research."-- Laura C. Five Stars. "Great book for a text book. Written in easy-to-digest language and full of good info."--Dayna J.
Call Number: RT120.F34 F35 2018
Fast Facts for Nurses about Home Infusion Therapy: the expert's best-practice guide in a nutshell Providing key information at a glance, this timely resource for the home care nurse offers clear, current practice guidelines for safely delivering IV therapy within the home. Written by one of the foremost experts in the field, the guide delivers not only evidence-based information in an easy-to-access, bulleted format, but also extensive descriptions, discussions, and rationale for in-depth consultation. It maintains a cogent focus on infection and complication prevention throughout and presents directives for achieving positive patient outcomes. It also focuses on patient education--an essential component of safe home infusion therapy;and includes case studies and Q&A sections to reinforce content. The guide addresses the foundations of home infusion therapy, including infusion access devices and infusion delivery methods. Effective and safe management of dehydration, antimicrobial infusions, and parenteral nutrition are addressed along with chemotherapy, pain management, cardiac-related infusion therapy, immunoglobulin infusion, and other home infusion therapies. Home care nurses who provide direct care, home care managers and educators, and nurses who provide home care discharge planning will find this Fast Facts guide to be an invaluable learning tool. Key FeaturesFocuses on patient selection, education, and monitoringDelivers evidence-based recommendationsPresents quick access bullet points along with in-depth informationDiscusses pediatric and geriatric implicationsIncludes case studies and critical thinking questions
Call Number: RM170 .G653 2017
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: concepts, theories, research & practice The Most Comprehensive Presentation of Transcultural Nursing Concepts Featuring the Newly Revised Sunrise Enabler! Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research & Practices, Fourth Edition offers theoretical and practical guidance on the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. Transcultural nursing is a vital, holistic approach that allows nurses and other healthcare providers to provide culturally congruent care for individuals, families, groups, and organizations within a context that is meaningful, beneficial, and inclusive of their healthcare values, beliefs, practices, traditions, communication styles, diverse roles,dietary preferences, and more. The text presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the future direction of transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture care of homeless mothers and children. The book chapters cover such topics as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan as well as translational research, globalization,conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles. Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts,Theories, Research, and Practices was edited by two experts in the field and uses Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality and the Ethnonursing Research Method to provide a useful blend of theory and practical clinical information.
Call Number: RT86.54 .L44 2018
The Measurement and Development of Empathy in Nursing This title was first published in 2000: Empathy is known to be crucial to helping relationships, but professional helpers, including nurses, do not normally display much empathy as it has not been measured in clients' terms and accordingly taught. This text examines a study in which a client-centred empathy scale was developed - the client-centred measure of empathy was found to be reliable and valid and a course designed to teach nurses to offer empathy in clients' terms was effective. The findings of the study have implications for the future design of nurse eduction and the goals of the health service.
Call Number: RT86.3 .R48 2018x
Middle Range Theory for Nursing Three-time recipient of the AJN Book of the Year Award Praise for the third edition: "This is an outstanding edition of this book. It has great relevance for learning about, developing, and using middle range theories. It is very user friendly, yet scholarly." Score: 90, 4 Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews The fourth edition of this invaluable publication on middle range theory in nursing reflects the most current theoretical advances in the field. With five additional chapters, new content incorporates exemplars that bridge middle range theory to advanced nursing practice. Additional content for DNP programs includes two new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic Illness. This user-friendly text stresses how theory informs practice and research in the everyday world of nursing. Divided into four sections, content sets the stage for understanding middle range theory by elaborating on disciplinary perspectives, an organizing framework, and evaluation of the theory. Middle Range Theory for Nursing, Fourth Edition, presents a broad spectrum of 13 middle range theories. Each theory is broken down into its purpose, development, and conceptual underpinnings, and includes a model demonstrating the relationships among the concepts, and the use of the theory in research and practice. Including concept building for research through the lens of middle range theory, a rigorous 10-phase process that moves from a practice story to a conceptual foundation, and exemplars that clarify the concept building process, this new edition remains an essential text for advanced practice theory and research courses. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects new theoretical advancesFive completely new chaptersNew exemplars linking middle range theory to advanced nursing practiceNew content for DNP programsTwo new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic IllnessTwo articles from Advances in Nursing Science documenting a meta-perspective about middle range theory development over the decades Key Features: Provides a strong contextual foundation for understanding middle range theoryIntroduces the Ladder of Abstraction to clarify the "range" of nursing's theoretical foundationPresents 13 middle range theories with philosophical, conceptual, and empirical dimensions of each theoryExamines research application through exemplars demonstrating the use of middle range theory for advanced practice nursingIncludes Appendix summarizing middle range theories from 1988 to 2017
Call Number: RT84.5 .M537 2018
Policies and Procedures for Infusion Therapy: Neonate to Adolescent Policies and Procedures for Infusion Therapy: Neonate to Adolescent, 2nd edition (copyright 2016), has been revised to align with the Infusion Nurse Society’s (INS’) 2016 Infusion Therapy Standards of Practice to serve as a guide to clinical practice. The title of this edition has been adapted to recognize the differences not only from the adult population but also within the group itself. The format for this edition has been expanded to include both policy and procedures. Additional sections have been added consisting of key points, assessment, patient/caregiver education and home care/alternate site implications.
Call Number: RM170 .P6523 2016x
Policies and Procedures for Infusion Therapy of the Older Adult Policies and Procedures for Infusion Therapy of the Older Adult, 3rd edition, is a completely revised edition which reflects the Infusion Therapy Standards of Practice (2016). It is your updated guide to clinical practice for the older adult patient. This edition's format has been broadened to include both policies and procedures. Also, additional sections have been added that address key points, patient/caregiver education, assessment, and home care/alternate site implications.
Call Number: RM170 .P652 2016x
Reading Research: a user-friendly guide for health professionals Ideal for both students and health professionals alike, Reading Research: A User-Friendly Guide for Nurses and Health Professionals, 6th Edition is a practical beginner-level introduction to health sciences research. The text is written in a manner that assumes you have little or no experience with analyzing published research, and provides guidelines for reading and understanding research articles. It also covers important elements of published research, such as research methods, common terminology, data analysis and results. All chapters have been updated. The book also briefly discusses common barriers to the application of research results in practice. Concise overview of health sciences-related research maximizes your study time by including all popular types of research methodologies. UNIQUE! Tips boxes provide easy-to-follow, practical suggestions for those who are new to the subject. UNIQUE! Alert! boxes warn of common assumptions made when reading research. Accompanying website provides up-to-date links for relevant research projects and other research-related sites, and offers Reader's Companion Worksheets for qualitative, quantitative, mixed method, and systematic reviews. NEW! All chapters updated with the key terms and explanation of common research methods. NEW! Content on using the web, social media and avoiding predatory journals. NEW! Expansion on applying research to improve patient outcomes helps you to understand the importance of research. NEW! Introductory overview chapter gives you a better understanding of how the book is organized and how to utilize its content.
Call Number: R852 .D385 2018x
50 Studies Every Surgeon Should Know 50 Studies Every Surgeon Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of surgery. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics including: vascular, colorectal, bariatric, abdominal, hernial, and endocrine surgery, surgical outcomes, surgical oncology,trauma and surgical critical care, and studies of historical interest. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. An illustrative clinical case concludes each review, followed by brief information onother relevant studies. This book is a must-read for health care professionals and anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
Call Number: RD32 .A15 2018x
Acute Stroke Management in the First 24 Hours: a practical guide for clinicians Acute Stroke Management in the First 24 hours bridges the clinical application gap by offering a practice-based approach to treating ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke. The comprehensive text, written by international experts in the field of stroke care, covers all aspects of stroke care,including review of stroke systems, clinic features, neuroimaging diagnostic characteristics, and pre-hospital care and challenges. Practical clinical studies in each chapter engage readers in the discussion of common diagnostic pitfalls and work challenges. Chapters also include detailed figuresand management algorithms, making this book an easy-to-use reference guide ideal for first responders and clinicians working in emergency medicine, neurology, neurosurgery, and critical care.
Call Number: RC388.5 .A38 2018x
The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Hematology Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Bridging the gap between science and clinical practice, The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Hematology, Fourth Edition, provides concise, up-to-date coverage of "need to know" information on the diagnosis and treatment of blood and bone marrow disorders. Written by nationally recognized experts and senior fellows at the National Institutes of Health, and at leading research institutions throughout the United States, this essential pocket reference is logically organized by disease category and features a reader-friendly format that includes tables, algorithms, illustrations, and bulleted lists that highlight key information. Discusses the pathophysiology, natural history, risk factors, diagnosis, management, and follow-up of common hematological diseases. Contains new information on diagnosis, treatment and management of myelodysplastic and myeloproliferative disorders; leukemias and lymphomas; disorders of hemostasis and thrombosis. Features new diagnostic and treatment strategies, updated references, and revised information throughout. Ideal for the student, resident, or fellow on a hematology or oncology service, as well as the internist, hospitalist, family practitioner, and pediatrician who sees patients with blood diseases. Perfect as an everyday reference or for board review. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Call Number: RC633 .B49 2019
Chromosome Abnormalities and Genetic Counseling Even as classic cytogenetics has given way to molecular karyotyping, and as new deletion and duplication syndromes are identified almost every day, the fundamental role of the genetics clinic remains mostly unchanged. Genetic counselors and medical geneticists explain the "unexplainable,"helping families understand why abnormalities occur and whether they're likely to occur again. Chromosome Abnormalities and Genetic Counseling is the genetics professional's definitive guide to navigating both chromosome disorders and the clinical questions of the families they impact. Combining a primer on these disorders with the most current approach to their best clinical approaches, thisclassic text is more than just a reference; it is a guide to how to think about these disorders, even as our technical understanding of them continues to evolve. Completely updated and still infused with the warmth and voice that have made it essential reading for professionals across medical genetics, this edition of Chromosome Abnormalities and Genetic Counseling represents a leap forward in clinical understanding and communication. It is, as ever,essential reading for the field.
Call Number: RB155.7 .G37 2018
Fischer's Mastery of Surgery, 2 Vols. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Here are the core procedures every general surgeon needs to master, in step-by-step detail with commentary from experts in the field. In two full-color volumes, Fischer's Mastery of Surgery, Seventh Edition includes the essentials of diagnosis, anatomy, and pre-operative planning while maintaining a focus on clear, step-by-step depictions and descriptions of procedures. This thoroughly revised edition brings you up to date with evidence-based approaches for virtually any surgery you'll be called upon to perform. Key Features Provides extensive coverage of vascular surgery as well as of common thoracic, breast, esophageal, endocrine, colorectal, gastric, pancreatic, liver, and biliary procedures. Walks you step by step through each procedure, with tips and cautions from leading surgeons. Includes background and history for each procedure, as well as diagnostic and postoperative considerations. Features more than 3,400 illustrations that offer a surgeon's-eye-view of the most advanced approaches. Concludes each chapter with expert editorial commentary that puts the chapter material in a broad context and provides helpful critiques of the most recent literature. Streamlines the table of contents to combine chapters on open and minimally invasive approaches. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Call Number: RD11 .M29 2019
Fundamentals of Urine and Body Fluid Analysis Learn to accurately analyze urine and body fluids with Fundamentals of Urine & Body Fluid Analysis, 4th Edition. Known for its clear writing style, logical organization, and vivid full-color illustrations, this renowned text covers the fundamental principles of urine and body fluids that are frequently encountered in the clinical laboratory. This includes the collection and analysis of urine, fecal specimens, vaginal secretions, and other body fluids such as cerebrospinal, synovial, seminal, amniotic, pleural, pericardial, and peritoneal fluids. In addition, author Nancy Brunzel also shares her own extensive knowledge and expertise in the field as she highlights key information and walks you through essential techniques and procedures - showing you how to correlate data with your knowledge of basic anatomy and physiology in order to understand pathologic processes. In all, this is the perfect book to help you master all aspects of urine and body fluid analysis. UNIQUE! Analysis of Vaginal Secretions chapter covers vaginal wet preps - a fluid collected and evaluated frequently in physician offices. UNIQUE! Image gallery on urine sediment houses 100 urine sediment micrographs to help you accurately identify urine sediment elements. UNIQUE! Chapter on microscopy provides valuable information as you complete clinical work with microscopes. Full color, high quality images aid in accurately identifying urine and body fluids at a microscopic level. Glossary at the end of the book provides accurate definitions at your fingertips. Excellent pedagogy includes key terms, learning objectives, case studies, and study questions to help provide a framework and learning pathway. NEW! Fully updated content provides the latest information and procedures in fluid analysis. NEW! Updated illustrations and micrographs paint a vivid picture of text concepts to ensure you can properly identify fluid elements.
Call Number: RB53 .B86 2018
Handbook of Geriatric Assessment Handbook of Geriatric Assessment, Fifth Edition is a multidisciplinary text that takes a contemporary approach in line with patient and family centered care. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it contains the latest information on geriatric assessments for older adults.Completely updated and revised, the Fifth Edition includes several new chapters, including demographic trends, age friendly health systems, payment reform and impact, the VA health system, self-care and management, impact on familial relations, vulnerable populations, building geriatric interdisciplinary teams, advanced care planning, caregiver information, spiritual assessment, senior hunger, and transitions of care.
Call Number: RC953 .G34 2019
Neurological Rehabilitation: spasticity and contractures in clinical practice and research This book is the first attempt at bringing together a volume of work from a range of professionals with an interest in spasticity. The framework for the definition was developed in part by the authors contributing chapters that make up this volume. The book represents the current "state-of-the-art" regarding definition, measurement, pathophysiology (all state-of-the-art summaries) and simultaneously gives clinicians guidance on clinical management. This work combines coverage of both spasticity and contractures as these two phenomena are often closely interrelated. Current researchers do not differentiate between these individual impairments and, as such, there is significant confusion in the literature. This book discusses both conditions and then separates them into their respective components. If these two conditions co-exist (which is generally the case), then the management of a patient will need to be customized to individual clinical presentation. The clinical sections of the book are all written by currently practicing, and research active, clinicians, and the earlier chapters are written by researchers currently working on spasticity.
Call Number: RC935.S64 N48 2018x
Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology Learn to develop the problem-solving skills necessary for success in the clinical setting! The Textbook of Diagnostic Microbiology, 6th Edition uses a reader-friendly "building-block" approach to the essentials of diagnostic microbiology. This updated edition has new content on viruses like Zika, an expanded molecular chapter, and the latest information on prevention, treatment modalities, and CDC guidelines. Updated photos offer clear examples of automated lab instruments, while case studies, review questions, and learning objectives present information in an easy-to-understand, accessible manner for students at every level. A building-block approach encourages you to use previously learned information to sharpen critical-thinking and problem-solving skills. Full-color design, with many full-color photomicrographs, prepares you for the reality of diagnostic microbiology. A case study at the beginning of each chapter provides you with the opportunity to form your own questions and answers through discussion points. Hands-on procedures describe exactly what takes place in the micro lab, making content more practical and relevant. Agents of bioterrorism chapter furnishes you with the most current information about this hot topic. Issues to Consider boxesencourages you to analyze important points. Case Checks throughout each chapter tie content to case studies for improved understanding. Bolded key terms at the beginning of each chapter equip you with a list of the most important and relevant terms in each chapter. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter supply you with a measurable outcome to achieve by completing the material. Review questions for each learning objective help you think critically about the information in each chapter, enhancing your comprehension and retention of material. Learning assessment questions at the conclusion of each chapter allow you to evaluate how well you have mastered the material. Points to Remember sections at the end of each chapter identify key concepts in a quick-reference, bulleted format. An editable and printable lab manual provides you with additional opportunities to learn course content using real-life scenarios with questions to reinforce concepts. Glossary of key terms at the end of the book supplies you with a quick reference for looking up definitions. NEW! Content about Zika and other viruses supplies students with the latest information on prevention, treatment modalities, and CDC guidelines. NEW! Expanded Molecular Diagnostics chapter analyzes and explains new and evolving techniques. NEW! Updated photos helps familiarize you with the equipment you'll use in the lab. NEW! Reorganized and refocused Mycology chapter helps you better understand the toxicity of fungi. NEW! Updated content throughout addresses the latest information in diagnostic microbiology.
Call Number: QR67 .T49 2019
WHO Classification of Head and Neck Tumours The WHO Classification of Head and Neck Tumours is the ninth volume in the 4th Edition of the WHO series on histological and genetic typing of human tumors. This authoritative, concise reference book provides an international standard for oncologists and pathologists and will serve as an indispensable guide for use in the design of studies evaluating response to therapy and clinical outcome. Diagnostic criteria, pathological features, and associated genetic alterations are described in a disease-oriented manner. Sections on all recognized neoplasms and their variants include new ICD-O codes, epidemiology, clinical features, macroscopy, pathology, genetics, and prognosis and predictive factors. The book, prepared by 135 authors from 35 countries, contains more than 600 color images and tables, and more than 2700 references. This book is in the series commonly referred to as the "Blue Book" series.
Call Number: RC280.H4 W46 2017x
WHO Classification of Tumours of Endocrine Organs The WHO Classification of Tumours of Endocrine Organs is the 10th volume in the 4th Edition of the WHO series on histological and genetic typing of human tumours. This authoritative, concise reference provides an international standard for oncologists and pathologists and will serve as an indispensable guide for use in the design of studies evaluating response to therapy and clinical outcome. Diagnostic criteria, pathological features, and associated genetic alterations are described in a disease-oriented manner. Sections on all recognized neoplasms and their variants include new ICD-O codes, epidemiology, clinical features, pathology, genetics, prognosis, and predictive factors. The book, prepared by 166 authors from 25 countries, contains more than 700 color images and tables and more than 3100 references.
Call Number: RC280.E55 W46 2017x
WHO Classification of Tumours of Haematopoietic and Lymphoid Tissues WHO Classification of Tumours of Haematopoietic and Lymphoid Tissues is a Revised Fourth Edition of the WHO series on histological and genetic typing of human tumours. This authoritative, concise reference provides an international standard for oncologists and pathologists and will serve as an indispensable guide for use in the design of studies monitoring response to therapy and clinical outcome. Diagnostic criteria, pathological features, and associated genetic alterations are described in a strictly disease-oriented manner. Sections on all recognized neoplasms and their variants further include new ICD-O codes, epidemiology, clinical features, macroscopy, prognosis, and predictive factors. This classification, prepared by 132 authors from 23 countries, contains about 1300 color images and tables and more than 4500 references.
Call Number: RC280.H47 W46 2017x
Management/Employee Development Books
Ask the Right Questions, Hire the Best People, Fourth Edition n this completely updated new edition, the best-selling author of 101 Great Answers to the Toughest Interview Questions and 101 Smart Questions to Ask on Your Interview takes you step-by-step through the hiring process. Whether you're replacing an employee who's leaving or creating a new position in your organization, Ron Fry shows you how to write a concise and accurate job description, identify key competencies, and how to translate them into a realistic set of search criteria. Ask the Right Questions, Hire the Best People also shows you: How to attract the best applicants. What to look for when you're screening resumes, in your office or online. What questions you should ask in the interview...and when to ask them. How to listen more effectively to what the applicant is really telling you. How to probe for information the applicant doesn't want to reveal. What questions the law permits and forbids. Whether you're an interviewing novice or a seasoned pro, you'll find all the answers you need in Ask the Right Questions, Hire the Best People, including new chapters on questions for managers and executives, identifying core competencies, and unearthing hidden objections.
Call Number: HF5549.5.S38 F79 2018
Evidence-Based Practice in Action: comprehensive strategies, tools and tips from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics One of the biggest challenges of evidence-based practice (EBP) is translating knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action. Failure to execute EBP well is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience; rather, it comes down to lack of tools and practicality for implementing EBP into care. Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a unique, application-oriented EBP resource of The Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a detailed plan to guide nurses and healthcare leaders in promoting EBP adoption and implementation. This practical, easy-to-use guide directs healthcare leaders through preparing, implementing, and evaluating any EBP process model and provides tools for topic selection, literature searches, research and evidence review, implementation, and evaluation. The authors provide comprehensive building blocks along with strategies, tools, and tips to guide individuals and teams who make the important day-to-day decisions that ultimately affect patient outcomes. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT51 .E895 2017x
Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance Sound financial analysis and decision making require a thorough comprehension of theory, plus the insight and judgment that come from experience. Gapenski¿s Cases in Healthcare Finance gives students an opportunity to bridge the gap between learning theoretical concepts in the classroom and applying those concepts in the real world. By working the cases in this book, students who have a basic understanding of healthcare finance can better prepare for the multitude of problems they will face in practice.The book¿s 32 case studies feature a variety of healthcare settings¿from hospitals and clinics to medical practices, home health organizations, integrated delivery systems, and more. Each case focuses on a single issue related to a specific area of financial management, including:cost behavior and profit analysis, cost allocationpricing, planning, and budgeting, capital acquisition and allocation, financial condition analysis and forecasting, current asset management, and business valuation.The cases are supported by an extensive array of ancillary resources¿including spreadsheet models for both instructors and students, case questions and solutions, and PowerPoint slides¿all substantially updated and reorganized for this edition.Since 2000, this highly regarded book has been used in healthcare finance courses throughout the United States. Original author Louis C. Gapenski was recognized both nationally and internationally as an expert in healthcare finance. In the sixth edition, authors George H. Pink and Paula H. Song carry forward Dr. Gapenski¿s legacy to the field of healthcare administration. As the provision of healthcare continues to evolve and advance, this book will help students develop the insight and judgment they need as future leaders.
Call Number: RA971.3 .G367 2018
Health Care Ethics: critical issues for the 21st century Organized around the four central themes of healthcare ethics (theoretical foundations and issues for individuals, organizations, and society), Health Care Ethics, Fourth Edition brings together the insights of a diverse panel of leading experts in the fields of bioethics, long-term care, and health administration, among others. Students will build on this critical platform to develop an extensive toolbox of analytical and problem-solving skills. The fully revised and updated Fourth Edition addresses current changes in health care, including three new chapters covering ethical issues related to Health Information Management, Patient Safety, and Epidemics. All other chapters have been updated to reflect the most recent developments in medical technology and new challenges faced by health care professionals in the era of the ACA. New to the Fourth Edition * New chapter on issues facing health information management in healthcare settings including patient privacy. * New chapter on ethics and patient safety * New chapter on ethical issues related to epidemics such as Ebola and Zika, as well as a look at the issues related to immunizations * Coverage of new legislation and additional information about the moral status of gametes and embryos as it relates to abortion * Coverage of issues related to new technologies for reproduction. * New sections on healthy aging, nursing home concerns, and patient centered care for the deceased. * Coverage of the newest technology being considered for healthcare applications. He will tie these advances to ethics. * Coverage of the application of spirituality to the work setting to improve patient centered care * Updated coverage of the ACA and health care * Coverage of ethical issues related to the impact of simulation on disaster planning. * New information and examples relating to domestic violence * New section on health literacy and patient centered care. Each chapter in the Fourth Edition includes questions for discussion, food for thought, and additional readings. Supplemental materials will include a set of PowerPoint lecture slides, an instructor's manual, and suggested test items.
Call Number: R724 .M66 2019
Interview: the Art of the Interview: the Perfect Answers to Every Interview Question Free Bonus Giveaway at the End of the Book! Here's a quick question: What would you do if your boss ordered you to do something that is against your values? No, that's not a trick question because it is actually asked by most interviewers! If you are not sure what the best answer is, then what you can do is find the right guidance. The good news is that you can find the help you need from this book! In this book, you will discover the steps on how to prepare for any interview. But most importantly, you will be able to answer the most commonly asked interview questions. Each chapter will take you deeper into the sea of commonly asked interview questions and provide you with the right strategies as well as concrete sample responses on how to respond to every one of them. The questions range from the most basic, such as "How well do you manage your time?" to the most - shall we say - unusual, such as "How many cows does the state of Georgia have?" This guide is for anyone who is planning on going to any interview, regardless of whether you are applying for your much desired position at your dream company or a top MBA program. The purpose of this guide is to help you think for yourself and, at the same time, provide you with insider tips that usually only interviewers know. So update your resume, polish those black shoes, iron that dress shirt, and start practicing answering all the interview questions you could think of.
Call Number: HF5549.5.I6 S76 2016
Mindful Prevention of Burnout in Workplace Health Management: workplace health management, interdisciplinary concepts, biofeedback This book describes the causes of and methods to prevent states of exhaustion and burnout in professional contexts. It overviews a range of issues from human resource practices in commercial enterprises, to prevention of fatigue and preservation of the working individual’s vital energy. The book also addresses new measurement and training methods stemming from the latest applications of biofeedback, testing and training methods, and heart rate variability research, and their application in companies’ modern preventive management strategies, as well as in occupational and business psychotherapeutic practice. Approaching companies as social, living systems, prevention is discussed as a management tool in the corporate culture and as a strategic management decision. Selected case examples show the daily demands and challenges at the workplace and discuss work-life integration, on living and working “in flow,” and on the various facets of working persons’ energy. This book is suitable for a wide range of audiences including professionals implementing these tools and practices as well as graduate students studying these contexts.
Call Number: BF481 .M5613 2017x
Performance Improvement in Hospitals and Health Systems: managing analytics and quality in healthcare Healthcare Organizations offer significant opportunities for change and improvement in their overall performance. Hospitals and clinics are generally large, complex, and inefficient, and need serious development in process workflow and management systems, which will ultimately lead to better patient and financial outcomes. The National Academy of Medicine has stated that hospital systems are broken, and that they must begin by "... improving hospital efficiency and patient flow, and using operational management methods and information technologies." In fact, costs and quality are two of the important aspects of the "triple aim" in healthcare. One area that offers significant potential for improvement is through the application of performance improvement methods to patient and process flows. Performance improvement has a significant impact on a hospital's over financial and strategic performance. Performance improvement involves the deployment of quantitative and scientific methods to model and influence the functioning of organizations. Performance improvement professionals are tasked with managing a variety of activities, such as deploying new information technologies, serving as project managers for construction events, re-engineering departmental process workflow, eliminating bottlenecks, and improving the flow and movement of patients between resource-intensive clinical areas. All of these are high risk, and require use of advanced, sophisticated methods to improve efficiency and quality, while minimizing disruptions from change. This updated edition is a comprehensive and concise guide to performance improvement in healthcare. It describes the management engineering principles focused on designing optimal management and information systems and processes. Case studies and examples are integrated throughout all chapters.
Call Number: RA971 .P465 2018
Reignite: rekindle your life with power, passon and purpose Think about your job or career for a moment. Is your work pleasant, enjoyable, and inspiring? Does it provide you with opportunities to innovate and create using all of your natural talents and abilities? Does work energize you and bring you joy and happiness? Or, do you instead feel emotionally exhausted and cynical with a lack of any sense of personal accomplishment? If so, you are probably burned out. One thing is certain, you cannot live a life of happiness and passion driven purpose if you are burned out. Instead of finding deep satisfaction and happiness in your work it is probably something you have come to dread, like going back to work on Mondays. I should know. I became burned out once. I became burned out at my job as a family physician so I understand burnout. I know firsthand how personally and professionally devastating it can be and how costly it can become to organizations. I also learned what to do about it, how to FIX it! Learn how to transform from being burned out to ON FIRE and find new meaning in your career and life. Within the pages of this book, I will show you how.
Call Number: RC451.4.M44 G35 2018x
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Mark Spooner; and David A. Westbrook.
Call Number: H62 .H2455 2018
The Strategic Management of Healthcare Organizations A structured strategic management approach is needed to tackle the revolutionary change the health care system has been experiencing. Today, health care organizations have almost universally embraced the strategic perspective first developed in the business sector and now have developed strategic management processes that are uniquely their own. Health care leaders have found that strategic thinking, planning, and managing strategic momentum are essential for coping with the dynamics of the health care industry. Strategic Management has become the single clearest manifestation of effective leadership of health care organizations. The book has brand new case studies, updated examples and the inclusion of new Acts since the 2013 edition, as well as thorough, overall update.
Call Number: RA971 .D78 2018
What's New in Current Awareness?
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!