Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Complete List of ALL new items
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Review and Resource Manual Are you looking into how to advance your professional development through certification? Need a reliable and credible reference resource? No matter where you are in the process, make sure you have the most valuable review and resource tool at your disposal. The Nursing Knowledge Center’s Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Review and Resource Manual is a must-have tool for nurses planning to take the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC) Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner certification exam. Based on the official ANCC certification exam test content outline, this review and resource manual will help you: Study and analyze comprehensive material and concepts written by nursing experts. Develop a recommended seven-step plan to equip you for the exam and map out what to do on the day of the exam. Prepare for and familiarize yourself with acute care nurse practitioner standards of practice. And much more ... Make the Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Review and Resource Manual a key resource in your certification preparation.
Call Number: RC954 .S72 2017
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing, Eight Edition Now in its eighth edition, this highly acclaimed, newly revised and expanded text continues to deliver innovative practice guidelines for evidence-based complementary and alternative therapies that can easily be incorporated into curriculum and applied directly to practice. The book describes holistic treatments that are culturally appropriate for clients across the life span and NCLEX(R)-relevant content appropriate for preparation of advanced practice nurses. The eighth edition reflects an expanding interest in these therapies worldwide and features numerous sidebars by international contributors who provide a global perspective that builds readers' understanding of the cultural derivations and uses of complementary therapies. The new edition also highlights digital and technical advances, provides key updates to foundations for practice, and describes cutting-edge research. Included is a description of the evolution and establishment of the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) and its current national agenda. Updated legal information regarding regulation and credentialing, enlarged safety and precaution content, and the inclusion of a broad range of therapies add to the utility of this new edition. The only book about complementary and alternative therapies written specifically for nurses that focuses on essential evidence for practice, the text uses a consistent format to present a definition and description of each therapy, a summary of how it evolved, and a rationale for its use. The scientific basis and research evidence for use of each therapy in a variety of specific patient populations is emphasized. Sidebars in each chapter describe the use of various therapies in different settings worldwide. All chapters provide practical guidelines for using the therapies to promote health and comfort while increasing patients' well-being and satisfaction with care. New to the Eighth Edition: Updated research-based content, including new cutting-edge referencesExpanded content about technology and digital resourcesNew Foreword and endorsements by prominent scholarsDescribes key steps in evolution of the NCCIH and its current national agendaHighlights indigenous culturally based therapiesNew chapter: "Systems of Care: Sowa Rigpa--The Tibetan Knowledge of Healing"New chapter: "Independent Personal Use of Complementary Therapies"New chapter: "Afterword: Creating a Preferred Future--Editors' Reflections"Updated information on legal concerns, regulation, and credentialingEnlarged safety and precaution contentHelpful tips for selecting practitionersUse of therapies for nurses' and patients' self-careStrategies for initiating institution-wide therapies and programs Key Features: Delivers comprehensive and current guidelines for therapy useWritten by highly respected nurse expertsEmploys a consistent format for ease of useDescribes instructional techniques and safety precautions for each therapyProvides a strong international focus
Call Number: RT41 .I53 2018
Essentials for Nursing Practice Get a solid foundation in essential nursing principles, concepts, and skills! Essentials for Nursing Practice, 9th Edition combines everything you need from your fundamentals course and streamlines it into a format that''s perfect for busy nursing students. The ninth edition retains many classic features, including chapter case studies, procedural guidelines, and special considerations for various age groups, along with new content including a chapter on Complementary and Alternative Therapies, interactive clinical case studies on Evolve, a new Reflective Learning section, and QSEN activities to encourage active learning. Thoroughly reviewed by nursing clinical experts and educators, this new edition ensures you learn nursing Essentials with the most accurate, up-to-date, and easy-to-understand book on the market. Progressive case studies are introduced at the beginning of the chapter and are then used to tie together the care plan, concept map, and clinical decision-making exercises. Focused Patient Assessment tables include actual questions to help you learn how to effectively phrase questions to patients as well as target physical assessment techniques. Nursing skills at the end of each chapter feature full-bleed coloring on the edge of the page to make them easy to locate. Safety guidelines for nursing skills sections precede each skills section to help you focus on safe and effective skills performance. Detailed care plans in the text and on Evolve demonstrate the application of the 5-step nursing process to individual patient problems to help you understand how a plan is developed and how to evaluate care. Unexpected outcomes and related interventions for skills alert you to possible problems and appropriate nursing action. Patient Teaching boxes help you plan effective teaching by first identifying an outcome, then developing strategies on how to teach, and finally, implementing measures to evaluate learning. Care of the Older Adult boxes highlight key aspects of nursing assessment and care for this growing population. Key points neatly summarize the most important content for each chapter to help you review and evaluate learning. Evidence-Based Practice boxes include a PICO question, summary of the results of a research study, and a F description of how the study has affected nursing practice - in every chapter. Patient-Centered Care boxes address racial and ethnic diversity along with the cultural differences that impact socioeconomic status, values, geography, and religion. 65 Skills and procedural guidelines provide clear, step-by-step instructions for providing safe nursing care. 5-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for clinical chapters. Concept maps visually demonstrate planning care for patients with multiple diagnoses. NOC outcomes, NIC interventions, and NANDA diagnoses are incorporated in care plans to reflect the standard used by institutions nationwide. NEW! Chapter on Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Therapies addresses new content now included on the NCLEX® exam. NEW! Clinical case studies guide you through creation of care plans and foster clinical thinking. NEW! UNIQUE! Reflective Learning section helps you better understand and reflect on your clinical and simulation experiences as you move through your first nursing course NEW! QSEN activities woven throughout help you process what you''ve learned and develop an eye for safety NEW! Updated standards and evidence throughout includes the newest INS and WOCN standards and mean you''ll be delivering the best care possible
Call Number: RT41 .P84 2019
Evidence-Based Sexual and Reproductive Health Care: policies, clinical procedures and related research Evidence-Based Sexual and Reproductive Health Care: Policies, Clinical Procedures, and Related Research is a unique text that takes a multi-disciplinary and evidence-based approach to clinical practice in sexual and reproductive health care. A comprehensive text, it explores the complex nature of sexual health related issues, contemporary management interventions, and the underpinning theories and concepts. With contributions from leading experts from around the globe, it features perspectives from a wide variety of fields, such as education, medicine, nursing, and the health professions.User-friendly and practical in approach, the text explores current and future developments, ongoing research, new treatment procedures, and emerging technological advancements. Also incorporated are group interactive techniques that encourage critical thinking around key issues explored in the chapters.
Call Number: RG110 .K93 2019
Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals For courses in nursing informatics. A practical guide to applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics Handbook of Informatics for Nurses & Healthcare Professionals is a complete, up-¿to-¿date overview of key issues related to adopting and applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics. It provides nurses and other healthcare professionals with a much-needed practical guide to using computer applications and healthcare information systems. The authors cover the concepts, skills, and tasks needed to achieve national IT goals to help transform healthcare delivery. The 6th edition reflects rapid changes in healthcare IT and informatics, and builds upon the expertise of contributors involved in day-to-day informatics practice, education, and research.
Call Number: RT50.5 .H43 2019
Midwifery and Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide Midwifery & Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive review designed to help midwives and women's health nurse practitioners prepare for their certification exams. Based on the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) and the National Certification Corporation (NCC) test blueprints, it contains nearly 1,000 questions with answers and rationales representing those found on the exams. The Fourth Edition also includes a new chapter on well woman care: menopause and beyond. Midwifery & Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide, Fourth Edition is published in partnership with the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) and endorsed by the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH). Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook and Navigate 2 TestPrep.
Call Number: RG951 .M53 2018
The Nurse Manager's Survival Guide Nurses are already nurse managers. They must manage patient caseloads and care plans as well as supervise aides, technicians, and other care providers. But moving from this type of organic management to a defined nurse manager role is not a natural progression. Nurse managers must command a vast, diverse, and robust skill set, and those skills must first be defined, explained, and operationalized for success. In an environment that offers new managers little support, where do they turn?
Call Number: RT89 .M389 2017
Strategies for Theory Construction in Nursing For courses in nursing theory. The clearest, most useful introduction to theory development methods Strategies for Theory Construction in Nursing provides a straightforward, logically organized resource on theory development, from a nursing perspective. It places theory development in the context of both a rich history tracing back to the mid-¿20th century and of contemporary and emerging issues. Present¿-day coverage includes population- and domain-specific theories addressing the needs of diverse clients. Reflecting vast changes in nursing practice, the 7th edition covers advances both in theory development and in strategies for concept, statement, and theory development. It also builds further connections between nursing theory and evidence-based practice.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W34 2019
100 Hand Cases This is one of the best textbooks available out there on surgery of the hand and upper extremities. -- BIZ INDIA The authors are to be commended for their efforts....[This is] a useful revision aid for hand surgery examinations, for refreshing knowledge and also as a quick reference to confirm management plans before treating the patient. -- PMFA News 100 Hand Cases provides a clinical write-up of 100 typical cases from two globally recognized authorities who cross over between plastic surgery and orthopedics, the two specialties dedicated to training hand surgeons. The cases in this book share a concise approach consisting of: A description of the problem Key anatomy Workup Treatment Alternatives Principles and clinical pearls Pitfalls Classic references related to the case Full-color photographs and radiographs are included in each case, as well as a discussion of the authors' preferred treatment solution. Presented in a highly templated, high-yield format, 100 Hand Cases is an ideal quick reference for students and trainees preparing for clinics and the operating room, as well as busy surgeons in need of a brief reminder on key information.
Call Number: RD559 .B68 2016
Adult Congenital Heart Disease A practical approach to the investigation and treatment of adult congenital heart disease (ACHD), this fully updated Oxford Specialist Handbook is a concise and accessible overview of a complex condition. Packed with straightforward advice, management strategies and key clinical points, itequips clinicians with a sound understanding of the principles and physiology of ACHD.An ideal reference tool for cardiology trainees, general cardiologists and acute medicine physicians, this second edition of Adult Congenital Heart Disease has been fully reviewed to include new guidelines and increased illustations to aid understanding. Brand new chapters on epidemiology, heartfailure, device therapy and transition and transfer of care ensure that Adult Congenital Heart Disease remains the definitive guide to supporting clinicians throughout all aspects of the patient's care.
Call Number: RC687 .A453 2017
Immunotherapy in Translational Cancer Research A guide to state-of-the-art cancer immunotherapy in translational cancer research A volume in the Translational Oncology series, Immunotherapy in Translational Cancer Research explores the recent developments in the role that immunotherapy plays in the treatment of a wide range of cancers. The editors present key concepts, illustrative examples, and suggest alternative strategies in order to achieve individualized targeted therapy. Comprehensive in scope, Immunotherapy in Translational Cancer Research reviews the relevant history, current state, and the future of burgeoning cancer-fighting therapies. The book also includes critical information on drug development, clinical trials, and governmental resources and regulatory issues. Each chapter is created to feature: development of the immunotherapy; challenges that have been overcome in order to scale up and undertake clinical trials; and clinical experience and application of research. This authoritative volume is edited by a team of noted experts from MD Anderson Cancer Center, the world's foremost cancer research and care center and: Offers a comprehensive presentation of state-of-the-art cancer immunotherapy research that accelerates the pace of clinical cancer care Filled with the concepts, examples, and approaches for developing individualized therapy Explores the breath of treatments that reflect the complexity of the immune system itself Includes contributions from a panel international experts in the field of immunotherapy Designed for physicians, medical students, scientists, pharmaceutical executives, public health and public policy government leaders and community oncologists, this essential resource offers a guide to the bidirectional interaction between laboratory and clinic immunotherapy cancer research.
Call Number: RC271.I45 I43 2018x
Introduction to Basic Cardiac Dysrhythmias Introduction to Basic Cardiac Dysrhythmias, Fifth Edition, uses clear, accessible language to explain how the heart functions and how to interpret ECGs. Designed for use by the spectrum of EMS, nursing, and other healthcare professionals, the Fifth Edition provides users with the critical knowledge needed to interpret dysrhythmias and determine the appropriate treatment.
Call Number: RC685.A65 A88 2019
A Notebook of Dermatopathology This is an invaluable collection of information designed to help residents, fellows, and students - as well as any already qualified medical professional interested in revising the essentials of skin conditions - to master the basics of skin pathology. Using the principle of pattern recognition, it simplifies the multitude of dermatopathologic signs by using easy-to-memorize images of what the key features look like - photomnemonics. There are also helpful sections on the technical aspects of dermatopathology and on the key findings at each level of the skin. Organized simply and abundantly illustrated, this text will be an indispensable guide to revision for all its readers.
Call Number: RL95 .M58 2018
Pocket Guide to Clinical Microbiology Quick reference to clinical microbiology If you work in the clinical laboratory, this pocket guide will help you confidently identify most organisms you could encounter. This useful updated edition continues to present valuable quick-reference information to the clinical microbiology community in a small package. Along with specifics on pathogenic microorganisms, there is updated information on effectively using essential molecular diagnostic techniques for today's challenges. You will find guidance on: MALDI-TOF MS performance for individual bacteria, mycobacteria, and fungi Nucleic acid amplification testing/PCR and help interpreting genetic sequencing results Susceptibility testing, with methods and interpretive criteria for most organism/antibiotic combinations Antimicrobial resistance mechanisms and resistance profiles for common organisms Paperback, 420 pages, index.
Call Number: QR46 .M92 2018
Reconstructive Foot and Ankle Surgery: Management of Complications Packed with superb illustrations, pearls, and pitfalls, Reconstructive Foot and Ankle Surgery: Management of Complications, 3rd Edition, delivers step-by-step guidance on essential elements of complex foot and ankle surgery. World-renowned surgeon Dr. Mark S. Myerson, along with expert co-author Dr. Anish R. Kadakia, provides detailed instruction on how to select the correct treatment for challenging disorders and manage complications after surgery. A highly templated, consistent format, abundant illustrations, and decades of real-life experience make this an easy-to-use resource for everyday practice as well as an authoritative reference for in-depth study. Includes "Complications Considered" boxes that help you avoid and manage commonly seen complications, as well as techniques, tips, and pitfalls boxes in every chapter. Features hundreds of high-quality x-ray images and full-color intraoperative photos throughout. Indicates corresponding surgical videos with clear and easy-to-spot call-outs within the text. Covers the most up-to-date techniques, new procedures, innovative approaches, and technological advances. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD563 .M96 2019 & Online
Rutherford's Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy, 2-Volume Set Through nine outstanding editions, Rutherford's Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy has been the gold standard text in this fast-changing, complex field. Published in association with the Society for Vascular Surgery, this state-of-the-art reference by Drs. Anton N. Sidawy and Bruce A. Perler is a must-have for vascular surgeons, interventionalists, vascular medicine specialists, and trainees, as well as general surgeons, interventional radiologists, and cardiologists that depend upon "Rutherford's" in their practice. It offers authoritative guidance from the most respected and innovative global thought leaders and clinical and basic science experts in the diagnosis and treatment of circulatory disease. Incorporates medical, endovascular, and surgical treatment, as well as diagnostic techniques, decision making, and fundamental vascular biology. Features all vascular imaging techniques, offering a non-invasive evaluation of both the morphology and hemodynamics of the vascular system. Provides unparalleled insight from multidisciplinary leaders worldwide, who share their expertise on the most appropriate contemporary and future treatment of circulatory disease. Employs a full-color layout, images and online video so you can view clinical and physical findings and operative techniques more vividly. Includes 40 new chapters incorporating a shorter, more focused format with a summary for each chapter that provides a quick access to key information - ideal for consultation situations as well as daily practice. Some of these chapters are organized in new sections dedicated to open operative exposure and vessel dissection techniques, diabetic foot, Pediatric Vascular Disease, and practice management issues; areas in the specialty that clinicians frequently face but seldom detailed in other vascular texts nor in earlier Rutherford editions. Covers hot topics such as endovascular therapy of aortic arch and thoracoabdominal aortic aneurysm disease, including the evolving management of aortic dissections. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD598.5 .V37 2019 Vol.1 & 2 Also available online.
Endovascular Treatment of Aortic Aneurysms: standard and advanced techniques Focusing on the latest safe and effective techniques, Endovascular Treatment of Aortic Aneurysms: Standard and Advanced Techniques provides step-by-step, comprehensive coverage of endovascular repairs of complex aneurysms of the aorta, from basic to advanced. Explains how to perform the techniques in a step-by-step manner, using high-quality images and practical tips and tricks to optimize results. Contains chapters devoted to the repair of leaks that may occur after a repair and the best ways to minimize radiation exposure. Presents information in a consistent, standardized format: introduction, indications for the technique, how to perform the technique, complications and techniques for rescue, and concluding thoughts.
Call Number: RC693 .E53 2018x
Management/Employee Development Books
Cost-Benefit Analysis and Health Care Evaluations Cost-benefit analysis is the only method of economic evaluation that can effectively indicate whether a health care treatment or intervention is worthwhile. In this thoroughly updated and revised second edition, Robert Brent expands the scope of the field by including the latest concepts and applications throughout all regions of the world. This book attempts to strengthen the link between cost-benefit analysis and the mainstream health care evaluation field, which is dominated by non-economists. The need to build a bridge between the two is more important than ever before, as the general understanding of cost-benefit analysis appears to have regressed.Case studies are used throughout to explain and illustrate the various methodologies being examined. In addition, the author now covers more of the statistical requirements that are necessary to understand and carry out health care evaluations, and follows an applied economics approach. Ultimately, he resolves a number of disputes and makes some new, but subtle, contributions by reinterpreting, correcting and extending existing work. The book covers the topic in an accessible manner, from the foundations to the frontiers of the field, and clearly explains all the necessary economic principles along the way. Cost-Benefit Analysis and Health Care Evaluations, Second Edition will be invaluable to students and researchers of health economics, public policy and health care policy, as well as policymakers and health care practitioners. It can also be used as a comprehensive introductory text by anyone with an interest in cost-benefit analysis. From this perspective, the new additional final chapter is particularly useful as it supplies a summary of CBA that highlights the main conclusions of the text in a single chapter.
Call Number: RA410.5 .C686 2016
The Emerging Healthcare Leader In the ever-changing healthcare environment, the profession of healthcare management needs strong leaders who will rise to the challenges of today and carry organizations into the future.The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide is an essential resource for those in the early stages of becoming a healthcare leader. Packed with tactics, tips, and straightforward examples, this book provides an indispensable guide for those who want to build a career in healthcare. Honestly and authentically, authors Laurie Baedke and Natalie Lamberton offer practical suggestions and share anecdotes, personal stories, and valuable lessons learned from their own professional experiences. They help you achieve your career goals with information on:¿ Developing self-awareness¿ Practicing self-management ¿ Cultivating your personal brand¿ Launching your career¿ Understanding and refining your leadership style¿ Learning and rebounding from failures¿ Networking and mentoring ¿ Maximizing your internship opportunities¿ Mastering the interview process This second edition includes new chapters on emotional intelligence and successful onboarding. Valuable content on technology, social media, personal brands, online presence, networking, and professional decorum has been refreshed and expanded. Four new "Notes to My 25-Year-Old Self" from distinguished healthcare leaders are sources of additional inspiration and insight for readers. The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide will help fearlessly launch your career with the confidence of good preparation.Brimming with refreshing insights and wisdom, The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide provides newcomers and industry veterans alike with resources to advance their career."More than theory, The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide is your road map for that journey. A refreshing and practical tool, this should be your handbook, your back-pocket how-to resource as you traverse the early years of your leadership career." -Rulon F. Stacey, PhD, FACHE, Chairman (2011-2012), American College of Healthcare Executives
Call Number: R729.5.H4 B34 2018
Emotional Agility: get unstuck, embrace change, and thrive in work and life #1 Wall Street Journal Best Seller USA Today Best Seller Amazon Best Book of the Year The counterintuitive approach to achieving your true potential, heralded by the Harvard Business Review as a groundbreaking idea of the year. The path to personal and professional fulfillment is rarely straight. Ask anyone who has achieved his or her biggest goals or whose relationships thrive and you'll hear stories of many unexpected detours along the way. What separates those who master these challenges and those who get derailed? The answer is agility--emotional agility. Emotional agility is a revolutionary, science-based approach that allows us to navigate life's twists and turns with self-acceptance, clear-sightedness, and an open mind. Renowned psychologist Susan David developed this concept after studying emotions, happiness, and achievement for more than twenty years. She found that no matter how intelligent or creative people are, or what type of personality they have, it is how they navigate their inner world--their thoughts, feelings, and self-talk--that ultimately determines how successful they will become. The way we respond to these internal experiences drives our actions, careers, relationships, happiness, health--everything that matters in our lives. As humans, we are all prone to common hooks--things like self-doubt, shame, sadness, fear, or anger--that can too easily steer us in the wrong direction. Emotionally agile people are not immune to stresses and setbacks. The key difference is that they know how to adapt, aligning their actions with their values and making small but powerful changes that lead to a lifetime of growth. Emotional agility is not about ignoring difficult emotions and thoughts; it's about holding them loosely, facing them courageously and compassionately, and then moving past them to bring the best of yourself forward. Drawing on her deep research, decades of international consulting, and her own experience overcoming adversity after losing her father at a young age, David shows how anyone can thrive in an uncertain world by becoming more emotionally agile. To guide us, she shares four key concepts that allow us to acknowledge uncomfortable experiences while simultaneously detaching from them, thereby allowing us to embrace our core values and adjust our actions so they can move us where we truly want to go. Written with authority, wit, and empathy, Emotional Agility serves as a road map for real behavioral change--a new way of acting that will help you reach your full potential, whoever you are and whatever you face.
Call Number: BF335 .D38 2016
Emotional Intelligence for a Compassionate World: workbook for enhancing emotional intelligence skills Emotional Intelligence skills and competencies are the fertile ground for creating a more compassionate world. Emotional Intelligence for a Compassionate World is an engaging, self-paced workbook for individuals and teams who want to increase their Emotional Intelligence. By enhancing these skills, individuals will enhance their ability to empathize with others and to act with compassion-and to be the change they wish to see in the world.The workbook includes:* An overview of Emotional Intelligence* A 30-item assessment of Emotional Intelligence skills* Scenarios to illustrate each of five dimensions of Emotional Intelligence* Exercises and activities for experiential learning* More than 50 practical, easy-to-implement techniques to enhance Emotional Intelligence skills* Action Plan guide to chart a path toward greater well-being and connection with others * Plan for Compassionate Action guide to help individuals apply Emotional Intelligence skills and bring more compassion to their lives and to the worldEmotional Intelligence for a Compassionate World is a step-by-step guide for enhancing and applying Emotional Intelligence skills-in individuals, in families, in the workplace, in communities, and in the interconnected societies of people throughout the world.
Call Number: BF576.3 .K47 2017x
Leadership: theory and practice In this fully updated Eight Edition of Leadership: Theory and Practice, a new chapter on Followership examines the central role followers play in the leadership process and unpacks the characteristics of both effective and ineffective followers. The new edition also includes a new Ethical Leadership Style Questionnaire and new coverage on the dark side of leadership and destructive leadership. Adopted at more than 1600 institutions in 89 countries and translated into 13 different languages, this market-leading text successfully combines an academically robust account of the major theories and models of leadership with an accessible style and special emphasis on how leadership theory can inform leadership practice. Peter G. Northouse uses a consistent structure for each chapter, allowing students to easily compare and contrast the various theories. Case studies and questionnaires provide students with practical examples and opportunities to deepen their personal understanding of their own leadership.
Call Number: R729.5.H4 B34 2018
Listening Well: the art of empathic understanding Are you a good listener? How well do you really know the people around you? A capacity for empathic understanding is hard-wired in our brains, but its full expression involves particular listening skills that are seldom learned through ordinary experience. Through clear explanation, specific examples, and practical exercises, Dr. Miller offers a step-by-step process for developing your skillfulness in empathic listening. With a solid basis in sixty years of scientific research, these communication skills are not limited to professionals, and can be learned and applied in your everyday life. Instead of assuming that you know the meaning of what you think you heard, empathic listening lets you develop a more accurate understanding and prevent miscommunication. Empathic understanding can help to deepen personal relationships, alleviate conflict, communicate across differences, and promote positive change. The author also discusses skills for expressing yourself clearly, and for strengthening close relationships and friendships. Through empathic understanding you have access to life experience far beyond your own, and over time, listening well and deeply becomes a way of being, fostering a compassionate and patient acceptance of human frailties--those of others as well as your own.
Call Number: BF323.L5 M55 2018x
Research Design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approach This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Call Number: H62 .C6963 2018
Uplifting Service: the proven path to delighting your customers, colleagues, and everyone else you meet New York Times Bestseller Uplifting Service: The Proven Path to Delighting Your Customers, Colleagues, and Everyone Else You MeetWe are deep in a service crisis. In the operating room, surgeons and their teams communicate in a very precise language; airplane pilots follow a strict protocol to take off and land safely every time; and, when launching a new product, companies lay out a plan that all employees follow. But when it comes to building a strong service culture, the path to success is usually much less clear. We relegate service to a single department guided by anecdotal wisdom and less-than-helpful clichÃ©s like the customer is always right.#157;With global economies transforming at record speed, we are largely unprepared for the service demands we face day and night from around the world. We promise our customers satisfaction and then allow internal politics and inefficient methods to frustrate our ability to deliver. With service so much a part of our daily lives, both in and outside the workplace, why aren't we doing it better? New York Times bestselling author Ron Kaufman knows the answer to this question, and not only believes we can do it better, but shows us how. In Uplifting Service he takes you on a journey into a new world of service that is guided by fundamental principles and actionable models. After more than two decades helping leaders transform their service cultures, Kaufman has discovered that while each successful team is different, the architecture they apply to build an uplifting service culture is the same.In this New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon.com bestselling book, Kaufman lays out the steps you can take to build a sustainable culture that delivers outstanding service every day. He offers the tools and practices that have been proven effective in businesses, governments, communities, and homes; on every continent; and in many languages. Through perspective-changing insights and case studies, you will learn how the world's best performing companies have changed the game through service”and how you too can follow this proven path to an uplifting transformation.
Call Number: HF5415.5 .K3865 2012x
Suggest a book!
Contact the Library if you'd like to recommend a book to add to the Library's collection!
New book notification
Want to get a monthly e-mail from the library that showcases new new library resources related to nursing/allied health, management, and employee development books we've added? Contact the Library and we'll sign you up!
Links to past New Resources lists: 2017, 2016, 2015
What's New in Current Awareness?